Indian Economy - News & Discussion 27 May 2012

Yugandhar

Re: Indian Economy - News & Discussion 27 May 2012

Post by Yugandhar »

A recent article in the journal Nature Biotechnology has an interesting article.

Innovative drugs and vaccines in China, India and Brazil
volume 30 number 10 OCTOBER 2012 nature biotechnology

they looked at the number of pharma companies and the number of innovative products which are not copycat stuff from the 3 countries and the data is really revealing. Indian companies have out performed and are far more innovative than the chinese.

India’s battle to retain its investment-grade credit rating

From the anti-India slanted economist rag. TIFWIW.

SIT report on Maruti violence says workers’ aim was to kill

It looks like its back to militant trade unionism in India.
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

What accounts for the 15 year backslide in the GHI score?

We can discount China's score as Shanghai statistics, but even taken in isolation India's performance is inexcusable, considering the increase in Indian GDP in the last 15 years.

Indian pov on economics.

Thread cleaned up. Please stick to topic.
alexis

Post by alexis »

arnab wrote:
Saar hand waving is not a substitute for analysis (neither is quoting newspaper reporters :) ). Please ask yourself the following questions - what is the motivation for investing in a particular location? How critical is tax exemptions in this decision making?
Sir, please take a look at the investments which happened in IT parks and SEZs compared to other parts of the same city (initially; gradually all parts of cities develop). You will easily understand the motivation.

The withdrawal of SEZ exemptions caused a lot of investments plans to be dropped. I dont need IMF to tell me otherwise; i have witnessed this myself in my profession.
arnab wrote: Finally - you will need to prove that without tax incentives companies will not be willing to invest in the country and create jobs (specially when it has been repeatedly shown that tax incentives are not critical for investment).
Tax incentives are a big incentive for investments. Please look at the history of investment in wind turbines in India. Most investments were made due to accelerated depreciation available. This is similar in other countries.

Investments will happen if there are returns; If tax incentives create returns higher that cost of capital, investments would happen.
arnab wrote: Also - regarding whether governments have the 'right' to tax people - I'm afraid they do. Who was it that said - "taxation is the price we pay for living in a civilised society"? Alternatively - you are free to vote with your feet and move with your family to the tax free utopia of Saudi Arabia :)
I did not argue against taxation! i said if tax levels are too high, people will lose motivation to work harder.
arnab

Post by arnab »

alexis wrote:
arnab wrote:
Saar hand waving is not a substitute for analysis (neither is quoting newspaper reporters :) ). Please ask yourself the following questions - what is the motivation for investing in a particular location? How critical is tax exemptions in this decision making?
Sir, please take a look at the investments which happened in IT parks and SEZs compared to other parts of the same city (initially; gradually all parts of cities develop). You will easily understand the motivation.

The withdrawal of SEZ exemptions caused a lot of investments plans to be dropped. I dont need IMF to tell me otherwise; i have witnessed this myself in my profession.
arnab wrote: Finally - you will need to prove that without tax incentives companies will not be willing to invest in the country and create jobs (specially when it has been repeatedly shown that tax incentives are not critical for investment).
Tax incentives are a big incentive for investments. Please look at the history of investment in wind turbines in India. Most investments were made due to accelerated depreciation available. This is similar in other countries.

Investments will happen if there are returns; If tax incentives create returns higher that cost of capital, investments would happen.
arnab wrote: Also - regarding whether governments have the 'right' to tax people - I'm afraid they do. Who was it that said - "taxation is the price we pay for living in a civilised society"? Alternatively - you are free to vote with your feet and move with your family to the tax free utopia of Saudi Arabia :)
I did not argue against taxation! i said if tax levels are too high, people will lose motivation to work harder.
Saar are you claiming that the tax incentives associated with IT parks and SEZs were all that was required to boost investment? If that was the case why not turn the entire India into one big IT park and SEZ and provide the same tax incentives to the whole of India? Investment will automatically boom no?

Yes that 'tax levels are too high' chestnut has been around for a long while - known as the laffer curve. Unfortunately no one has been able to figure out how high is too high.
alexis

Post by alexis »

Saar are you claiming that the tax incentives associated with IT parks and SEZs were all that was required to boost investment? If that was the case why not turn the entire India into one big IT park and SEZ and provide the same tax incentives to the whole of India? Investment will automatically boom no?
U said they will have no effect! The fact that investment is happening in these areas and not in surrounding areas show the effect of taxes on investment decisions.

If the Govt is willing to provide tax incentives in whole of India, investments will obviously improve; this has been resorted by many nations. However as you said "taxation is the price we pay for living in a civilised society" and govt wont be able to provide the basic services for any civilised society.

arnab wrote:Yes that 'tax levels are too high' chestnut has been around for a long while - known as the laffer curve. Unfortunately no one has been able to figure out how high is too high.
Welcome back Ji. Was starting to miss the Comprehension capabilities .

Mis-Unphorchunately , this academic business and trying to go from "Laffer Curve" to deciding "how much is high or low" smacks of classic St. Stephens /DSE/JNU/ISI cretinism and the fundamental ignorance of something called Epistemology (that Pill-o-so-pee is never the something the Leftist/Socialist/Commie ideology pushing quacks in those places ever even acknowledge, because that will shake to the foundations their oh so confident assertions of their make believe world and sand castles built on quackery and math models with assumptions for those to work that run into multiple pages longer than the conclusions.. but I digress).

Trying to get "confident prescriptions" with certainty out of such "theories" and ramming that down the throats of the poor hapless Indian population is of course their historical record with of course disastrous calculations, the only saving grace being our democracy, however flawed or we would have had our own versions of the "Gleat Reap Folwald".

That said, it amazes me why the Dilli E-Con-O-Mix ding dongs can never actually look at real life experiences and readily available data and make intelligent and sane conclusions, but rather persist with some grand theories and their imperfect applications (and oh.. then magically that imperfect applications become "true", because they are backed by "theory" and "science" . haa. haa. and hence true!), while experiential and real world studies make for far better basis of decision making and a good reality check , because they are based on actual real world experiences, and not pulled out of some Dilli-Ding dong's (St Stephens, JNU, DSE,ISI kind of place) Musharraf!

In plain Inglees.. Why don't we look around the world and see economies and regions that closely approximate ours. (I would suggest, ASEAN , China and S. Africa , Brazil), see who we compete against the most (ASEAN and China) going forward and benchmark our taxes and business costs to those! Zimble, Easy, Clean, based on reality. Oh no, but that would not be "scientific" for the Dilli Ding-Dongs would it ? :P

The issue is

Who decides what is the optimal interest rate? GoI
Who decides what tax incentives to be given to industry? GoI
Who collects the taxes on behalf of all Indians? GoI

What is the influencing economic ideology of GoI since independence? Socialism
What is the influencing economic ideological center? JNU, ISI etc.

Who gets blamed for economic ills of the nation? Indians and Indian industry
Who blames others for economic ills of the nation? Socialists, commies, JNU wallahs

Who gets free money from GoI? EU/IMF, Naxalites and NGOs thru NREGA and Socialist/Secular netas thru corruption

Whose fault it is for every economic ill of the nation? RSS, Hindutvavadis and NRIs

Source: Sakshi News Paper 2012 Oct 18

Fishermen in Ramayampet, Medak, Andhra Pradesh were surprised to find two bags full of smart cards in their fishing nets.

These are NREGA smart cards issued by ICICI bank. Nearly 10,000 smart cards are present in these two bags.

Now we know how NREGA is really helping Indian poor (the Congress variety) and is contributing to the economic growth.

arnab

Post by arnab »

alexis wrote: U said they will have no effect! The fact that investment is happening in these areas and not in surrounding areas show the effect of taxes on investment decisions.

If the Govt is willing to provide tax incentives in whole of India, investments will obviously improve; this has been resorted by many nations. However as you said "taxation is the price we pay for living in a civilised society" and govt wont be able to provide the basic services for any civilised society.
Saar that is why I asked - if it was so easy then why does GOI need to go for this 'special' economic zone shone business? All it needs to do is extend those facilities to the rest of the land. As the IMF /WB papers showed - Tax incentives are not significant. What you need (and what SEZs offer) is ease of doing business - single window clearances, good infrastructure, no crazy labour regulations. These are the critical issues for investment - not a bunch of alterations to the tax code. Since unfortunately those cannot be provided to the whole of India - GOI has created SEZs
Last edited by arnab on 19 Oct 2012 04:20, edited 3 times in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

vina wrote:That said, it amazes me why the Dilli E-Con-O-Mix ding dongs can never actually look at real life experiences and readily available data and make intelligent and sane conclusions, but rather persist with some grand theories and their imperfect applications (and oh.. then magically that imperfect applications become "true", because they are backed by "theory" and "science" . haa. haa. and hence true!), while experiential and real world studies make for far better basis of decision making and a good reality check , because they are based on actual real world experiences, and not pulled out of some Dilli-Ding dong's (St Stephens, JNU, DSE,ISI kind of place) Musharraf!

In plain Inglees.. Why don't we look around the world and see economies and regions that closely approximate ours. (I would suggest, ASEAN , China and S. Africa , Brazil), see who we compete against the most (ASEAN and China) going forward and benchmark our taxes and business costs to those! Zimble, Easy, Clean, based on reality. Oh no, but that would not be "scientific" for the Dilli Ding-Dongs would it ? :P
Well the easiest place to look would be the US when Laffer made these suggestions to Reagan. Taxes were reduced - and the US wound up with some of the largest deficits in history around that time. People forget this of course - also given that the US had a recession in the early 80s, the US govt deficits were perhaps quite welcome :)

And then guess what, Gerorge Bush junior cut taxes even further (and started a war) - the results are here for all to see.

Taxes are not the only factor which impacts cost of business - and I'm sure you know that. How about we build the kind of infrastructure that exists in the ASEAN region. Besides, the base rates of taxes already broadly conform to the 'rest of the world' standards. So this 'race to the bottom' by offering ever increasing tax sops is going to provide dimnishing marginal returns. It is therefore better to focus on the true drivers of investment.

Well the easiest place to look would be the US
Lo Ji . I said like/similar/"Humsaaya Mulk" ( ..oops that does not mean Paki Land) and said ASEAN and China and you go all the way to USA , why because Laffer Baba was Amreeki huh ?

Why go there ji ? Why look at our OWN record. We once had 99% marginal rates, including wealth tax and inheritance tax and ding dong tax and everything that the St Stephens /DSE/ISI/JNU pedigreed Oxbridge returned Bablog could vaccuum up from their class room notes in those places and we had piss poor investment rates. A marginally better investment climate and A DROP in tax rates, saw massive pick up of investment and growth.

Now how low to go ji ? Indonesia/Malaysia/China kind of rates methings would be best. But then, the St Stephens/DSE/ISI/JNU ding dong Baba Log want to build a France/Sweden style welfare state and hand outs and protections with a Turd world E-Con-O-Mee and a stunted economy.

Talk of putting cart before horse huh ? Desh Ki Bahu's former homeland is bankrupt & kaput because of the unsustainable welfare dole outs (Italy is essentially a giant votes for doling out jobs scam, esp in S. Italy, while the North Italy is more German in it's work and industrial ethic). Desh Ki Bahu, instead of replicating Turin in India, wants to replicate Siciliy! What to do ji ? Sicily can continue to be the parasite of Turin forever, Mis-Unphorchunately, in India, Dilli is the parasite on the rest of India forever. Huh ?

Bulk of India is a strong individualistic people with a history of self sufficiency and capitalism and not welfare doleouts and mai baap (except maybe modern Bengal with it's addiction to the Commie message of state doling out welfare and mai baap). Dilli Ding dongs think that entire India is like them, looking for Baksheesh handouts and hence spend a lot of time modeling "welfare dole outs" and mai baap and creating reasons for their own existence, rather than putting themselves out of existence and getting out of the way and letting the people of India prosper.

After all, it is like this. Capitalism promises "Universal Opulence", while Communism/Socialism promises "Dicatorship of the Proletariat where everyone gets just enough bread and water and literally nothing else" . It is the difference between the glitzy glittering with all the song and dance Bollywood vs a dark dreary Tollywood film (shot with deep shadows in black and white film) with an undertone of pathos!

Between Bollywood and Tollywood, guess which one the Mango Maanush in India plonks his money down on ?
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Government plans Rs.40,000 crore fund for rural development

http://in.news.yahoo.com/government-pla ... nance.html
The government is planning to set up a Rs.40,000-crore flexi-fund to help states address specific rural development needs.

The fund will be available to states from the next financial year till the end of the 12th Five-Year Plan in March 2017. The central government will have a 70 per cent share in the fund.

"For the first time, we are putting together a flexi-fund of Rs.40,000 crore that will be available to all states to spend on rural development scheme," Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh said at a joint press conference with Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia.

The minister said the fund would ensure better targeting of state-specific projects.

"The fund will ensure better targeting and the states will be free to use funds as per their requirements," Ramesh said.

The fund would be available as an additional amount that can be spent either on existing centrally-sponsored schemes of the rural development ministry and the drinking water and sanitation ministry.

The 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17) has proposed an allocation of Rs.490,000 crore to the rural development ministry and Rs.100,000 crore to the drinking water and sanitation ministry.

Ahluwalia said there is a need for a restructuring of the existing rural development ministry schemes, saying that those "need to be made more flexible".

"We are taking a fresh look at social sector schemes," he said.

Different states face different development challenges and Ramesh had spoken against "too much centralisation" in the programmes.

"The biggest problem today is that all rural development work is based on national guidelines that cannot take care of the specific problems of states," reports had quoted him as saying earlier.

His ministry believes the setting up of the flexi-fund would send a powerful signal about the government's commitment to cooperative federalism.

The fund proposal would be placed before the cabinet for approval.

It is not right to say that ASEAN/China are lightly taxed. In fact by several measures the share of GDP taken by the Panda Government + local government + SOE's is by far the highest in the world. By one estimate 65%. Panda does not have to tax because it already owns everything! It would only be taxing itself. Even in ASEAN, Malaysia/Brunei is an oil state. don't really have to tax but still do. Indonesia is a resource rentier state, does not tax but still has 30% highest rate. Thailand personal tax rate highest 37% and corporate tax rate highest is 30%.

Lets also keep in mind that Chidambaram's dream budget which cut tax to 30% did not cause a huge surge of investment. In India, more than taxes, it always comes down to savings vs investment rate and the direct corollary being the interest rate. The real revolution 1990 was the dramatic collapse of the bank interest rate and the opening of productive lending to all sectors of society. Before 1990 effective bank interest rates to the private sector were often in the 20%-25% range. The dinosaur PSU's got essentially free money that they squandered and the private sector made up for this with crippling interest rates. In 1990, with the end of the license raj, private sector and PSU's finally got equal access to credit. Since then the PSU's have been crushed and the private sector is many many multiples in size of the PSU sector. Prior to 1990, PSU's were much larger than private sector. It was this dynamic that absolutely crushed the economy. This dynamic continues even now where the high interest rates have curbed growth as private sector pulls back.

WRT tax, any progressive tax rate that keeps the plutocrats on a tight leash is to be supported. It is unwise for India to develop too much inequality at this stage of development. Economic and political instability will result.
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

Though I'm as pro-market as anyone, I have to say that I agree with Theo that tax rates in India aren't particularly high. The highest marginal tax rate for personal returns is 30%, similar for corporate returns, and there is no state income tax.

What you get for your taxes is, of course, close to nothing -- but that argues for improving how the tax proceeds are used, not for reducing tax rates further.

I think arnab is right that there are a number of things other than tax rates that are more important for investment in India right now. Starting with basic infrastructure that is taken for granted in dozens of other countries, but is apparently insurmountably difficult to provide in India -- things like reliable power supply, water supply and roads -- would be a good start.

India's problem is the miniscule tax-base, rather than the tax-rate. Too few Indians actually pay taxes. The tax-base has to be widened if the govt. wants to increase revenue and fix the deficit.

nawabs wrote:Government plans Rs.40,000 crore fund for rural development

http://in.news.yahoo.com/government-pla ... nance.html
It would be nice to say these funds are only available for specific purposes within villages, for example building of toilets :evil:

With a Rs 10,000 per toilet, India can build ~60 toilets per each of its 600,000 villages.

And at least that would be an achievement for this idiotic UPA2 govt. This can be called Rajiv Toilet program.

This UPA2 govt is throwing money at schemes that cannot be audited/traced for tangible development.

nachiket wrote:India's problem is the miniscule tax-base, rather than the tax-rate.
I don't think this is strictly correct either. Everyone pays taxes in India. Just not income tax due to low income base. Since we have both a CST and VAT everyone pays both state and central tax. It is a regressive tax as poor pay more tax as a portion of their income.

It is true however that at 17%-18% of GDP India's tax compared to GDP is low. But this is a different argument.

By that logic, those who pay income tax in India face double taxation, since they don't get to deduct CST and VAT from the income tax they pay. The USA is a tax haven compared to the outrageously high tax rates in India.

vera_k wrote:By that logic, those who pay income tax in India face double taxation, since they don't get to deduct CST and VAT from the income tax they pay. The USA is a tax haven compared to the outrageously high tax rates in India.
Then what about those especially corporations who pay

1) income Tax
1a) Shareholder pays Dividend Tax on Company profits which have been taxed once
1b) In case of related company transactions- from this year covering Domestic companies, you have deduct TDS, pay import of service and then
2) Wealth Tax
3) VAT and CST inlocal states
4) customs Duty
5) Excise duty
6) Service Tax, Import of Service, Place of Service
7) End user - i.e Aam Admi who buys a Car / White goods/ soap/ packaged food products pays all 3,4,5 above
8) Professional Tax.
9) Entertainment Tax
10) Registration duties for Property
11) PF & ESI
12) Shops and Establishments Act,
13) Factories act, Industrial Disputes Act
A few taxes to name a few

Tata group revenue tops $100 bn; profit slips to near $5 bn
Salt-to-software conglomerate Tatas have become the country's first business house to attain USD 100 billion revenue, even as the group's profit slipped to near USD five billion in the last fiscal year.

The total revenue of the Tata group, which has over 100 companies including 31 listed entities, rose by about 20 per cent in the last fiscal 2011-12 to USD 100.09 billion, from USD 83.3 billion in the previous year.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Well the easiest place to look would be the US
Lo Ji . I said like/similar/"Humsaaya Mulk" ( ..oops that does not mean Paki Land) and said ASEAN and China and you go all the way to USA , why because Laffer Baba was Amreeki huh ?

Why go there ji ? Why look at our OWN record. We once had 99% marginal rates, including wealth tax and inheritance tax and ding dong tax and everything that the St Stephens /DSE/ISI/JNU pedigreed Oxbridge returned Bablog could vaccuum up from their class room notes in those places and we had piss poor investment rates. A marginally better investment climate and A DROP in tax rates, saw massive pick up of investment and growth.
arrey vina ji - even Laffer ji didn't try to posit a relationship between investment and tax rates - so why go there ji? :)
What laffer ji said was that the relationship between tax rates and tax revenue for the government would be some sort of an inverted U, with a tax rate between 0 and 100 plotted on the x axis. Now neither laffer nor anybody else has been able to prove with any certainty of which tax rate hits the sweet-spot of maximising tax revenue for the gormint :) because of interaction of so many factors that impact on tax revenues.
Now can I help it if MBA / strategee types think that there is a unidirectional relationship between tax rates and investment? In other words can you turn India into a zero tax rate paying country and wait for the messiah called private sector (and strong individualistic people) to take 'advantage' of this wonderful investment climate and provide all the goods and services that the people need? (after all you seemed to have worked out that a reduction in tax rates from 99 per cent saw a huge boom in investment in india, so therefore such a policy can continue for ever!). If not - given that India's tax rates broadly conform to the 'rest of the world' (including ASEAN region) already, how long do you expect this one-trick pony to continue to have an impact?
Secondly - I know there is this groupthink on BRF that it is GOI's (congress) whatever's 'socialistic' policies that are keeping india down - unfortunately India does not have socialism, what it has is 'politics of patronage' (a throwback on our earlier feudal structure) which rewards a group of people through public tax funds for their continued loyalty. GOI has abrogated its responsibility of providing decent primary education and healthcare to its citizens. That role has been taken up by the private sector. This is not socialism in practice. The so called capitalistic countries are far more socialist than India's constitutionally defined socialism.
alexis

Post by alexis »

arnab wrote:
alexis wrote: U said they will have no effect! The fact that investment is happening in these areas and not in surrounding areas show the effect of taxes on investment decisions.

Saar that is why I asked - if it was so easy then why does GOI need to go for this 'special' economic zone shone business? All it needs to do is extend those facilities to the rest of the land. As the IMF /WB papers showed - Tax incentives are not significant. What you need (and what SEZs offer) is ease of doing business - single window clearances, good infrastructure, no crazy labour regulations. These are the critical issues for investment - not a bunch of alterations to the tax code. Since unfortunately those cannot be provided to the whole of India - GOI has created SEZs
No doubt that "window clearances, good infrastructure, no crazy labour regulations" are important. We are talking about taxes influence on investments, other thing remaining the same.

Since we are not able to offer "window clearances, good infrastructure, no crazy labour regulations" throughout India, we should atleast provide some other incentive for business, no?

However, please tell me why people route money through Mauritius than directly to India? Why is vodafone case is said to be causing investment in India to drop?

Please note that i am not arguing for reduction in tax rate per se. If the money so collected is utilised properly, i am all for it. However, it is the questionable means of distribution of this wealth through all the so called "rural schemes" that is causing me khujli...

Aadhar and direct payment should help in targetting the beneficiaries directly rather than fattening the pockets of the politicians and baboos that is the outcome of all these schemes

http://www.rediff.com/business/report/d ... 121022.htm
Dr Reddy's to acquire OctoPlus for euro 27.4 million
"Drug maker Dr Reddy's Laboratories on Monday said it has decided to acquire Netherlands-based OctoPlus NV, a speciality pharmaceutical company, for about 27.4 million euros (about Rs 1.93 billion).
In a joint statement with OctoPlus, DRL said both the companies have reached conditional agreement in connection with an intended public offer by DRL or a wholly owned subsidiary of DRL, for all issued and outstanding ordinary shares in the capital of OctoPlus at an offer price of 0.52 euro in cash for each OctoPlus share........."
arnab

Post by arnab »

alexis wrote:No doubt that "window clearances, good infrastructure, no crazy labour regulations" are important. We are talking about taxes influence on investments, other thing remaining the same.

Since we are not able to offer "window clearances, good infrastructure, no crazy labour regulations" throughout India, we should atleast provide some other incentive for business, no?

However, please tell me why people route money through Mauritius than directly to India? Why is vodafone case is said to be causing investment in India to drop?

Please note that i am not arguing for reduction in tax rate per se. If the money so collected is utilised properly, i am all for it. However, it is the questionable means of distribution of this wealth through all the so called "rural schemes" that is causing me khujli...

Aadhar and direct payment should help in targetting the beneficiaries directly rather than fattening the pockets of the politicians and baboos that is the outcome of all these schemes
Am a bit busy at the moment but will try to quickly respond to this. Presumably you are talking about the raft of concessions / subsidies allowed to companies through which they manage to lower their tax liabilities from the existing base level (the highest marginal rate being around 30 per cent) to something even lower to say around 22 per cent. If you think that is going to incentivise industry to invest more, IMO I do not think so.

What such concessions typically do is distort the incentive structure and increase the scam quotient in the economy (which is already pretty high thanks to a venal political and bureaucratic class). As you yourself have pointed out - the large investment through mauritius was a classic example of the distortionary effect of providing additional sops for foreign investment. What was happenning was indian business was circulating domestic money through shell companies in Mauritius to take advantange of this concession! Such concessions also allow the govt officials (tax, customs etc) to extract bribes and penalise genuine investment opportunities. So the first rule of Tax administration ought to be KISS (keep it simple stupid!). Again as I have been reiterating the biggest bang for the buck for investment will come through institutional changes - infrastructure, policy frameworks and legal frameworks; not through an odd tax concession thrown in.

Second - on a broader question on the principle of taxation. There is no getting around the fact that one of the roles of tax policy is 'redistribution'. The fact that we have progressive tax rates depending on the level of income suggests that we are endorsing the redistributive principle. This is also why indirect taxes (such as VAT) are inherently regressive because they are levied on the same rate and does not distinguish based on income. To argue otherwise would be to make an argument like - 'Anil Ambani should get the most concessions from GOI because he pays the most taxes'. (not that it does not happen, mind you :) )

I completely agree with the point that direct and better targetting of beneficiaries in a transparent manner is what is required.
Last edited by arnab on 23 Oct 2012 05:55, edited 1 time in total.

arnab wrote:arrey vina ji - even Laffer ji didn't try to posit a relationship between investment and tax rates - so why go there ji? :)

What laffer ji said was that the relationship between tax rates and tax revenue for the government would be some sort of an inverted U, with a tax rate between 0 and 100 plotted on the x axis. Now neither laffer nor anybody else has been able to prove with any certainty of which tax rate hits the sweet-spot of maximising tax revenue for the gormint :) because of interaction of so many factors that impact on tax revenues.
True. But Laffer Ji, even with the US experience sort of "broved" (well in e-Con-O-mix, you can only "broove" and not "proove" with any amount of dignity as in physical sciences, but I digress, such is the nature of the beast) that the marginal tax rates in the US with all that "welfare ding dong hand outs and big gobmint " was too high, and even the current German boom has it's roots in the hard reforms to the socialist morass by the Socialists themselves (thank you Gerhard Schroeder, Frau Merkel must be saying) .The other Oiero trash of the Scandinavian variety followed suit (the Stockholm school of e-Con-O-Mix of Welfarists would be doing somersaults in their graves). The effect of taxes and it's distortions to the supply and demand curves and of course productivity are undergrad e-Con-o-mix text book stuff.
arnab wrote:Now can I help it if MBA / strategee types think that there is a unidirectional relationship between tax rates and investment? In other words can you turn India into a zero tax rate paying country and wait for the messiah called private sector (and strong individualistic people) to take 'advantage' of this wonderful investment climate and provide all the goods and services that the people need? (after all you seemed to have worked out that a reduction in tax rates from 99 per cent saw a huge boom in investment in india, so therefore such a policy can continue for ever!). If not - given that India's tax rates broadly conform to the 'rest of the world' (including ASEAN region) already, how long do you expect this one-trick pony to continue to have an impact?
Ahh.. But YumBeeYea Stratejee do not do "analysis" of the e-con-o-mix kind by assuming "Ceteres Paribus" (all else being same same/equal equal) or using JNU ding-dong Prabhat Patnaik's proclivities of throwing out words like "Dirigisme" or "Metropolitan" . They do realize that context matters, and "Ceteres Paribus" for the USA is very different from the "Ceteres Paribus" for Yindia and you cant do equal equal between the two, just because JNU ding dong decrees "dirigisme" and "ceteres paribus" . For eg, the second greatest invention of Yindoos after the Shoonya /Zero is something called "No Objection Certificate" aka NOC , invented by our own Babooos.. Want to build a toilet, GET AN NOC, want to plant a tree GET AN NOC, want to dig a well ..you get the idea.. Now when does anyone in the US get an NOC I ask you.

The thicket of mai baap red tape and regulations/mindless nuisance that accompanied the mai baap license permit raj largely exists intact in most parts and the reforms etc opened out only a minuscule area. Of course this thicket of mindless nuisance is the source of corruption and patronage and no wonder they cant get rid of it.

For eg, I just got back from Chennai, where they opened brand new modern abattoir with the latest and greatest cutting edge tech costing 60 crores , but cannot get it opened, because the "traditional butchers" are opposed to it, because they say they will go out of work (around 3000 guys, the new modern abattoir will employ 300 in 2 shifts with one shift for exports only).. Heck no, so, you need to eat meat in Chennai with the beasts butchered in primitive and unhygienic conditions in the name of "socialism" . So, Laffer Ji's "ceteres paribus" is very different from the Prabhat Patnaik's "dirigiste" "ceteres paribus" onree no ? So, you cant transfer the US experience circa 2012 to India of 2012, but rather broad ideas from the 1970s of the US to the 2012 of India !
Secondly - I know there is this groupthink on BRF that it is GOI's (congress) whatever's 'socialistic' policies that are keeping india down - unfortunately India does not have socialism, what it has is 'politics of patronage' (a throwback on our earlier feudal structure) which rewards a group of people through public tax funds for their continued loyalty. GOI has abrogated its responsibility of providing decent primary education and healthcare to its citizens. That role has been taken up by the private sector. This is not socialism in practice. The so called capitalistic countries are far more socialist than India's constitutionally defined socialism.
Ah, I see, India does not have "True Socialism" , but a corrupted version that calls itself socialism.

1) Why did communism fail in the Soviet Union and E. Europe?
It was never communism in the ideal sense, but a deviant brutal variant. True communism would have succeeded.

2) Why are Islamic countries mostly such intolerant, brutal and terrible places.
None of those countries follow the true faith and hence "Truly Islamic". If they were , they would be like how it was during the times of the Prophet.

3) Why is it that though India is socialistic (has it in the constitution), there is so much deprivation, inequality and lack of basic health education and shelter..
India never was truly Socialistic.. If only it was 'truly Socialistic' ... you get the idea now.. :lol: :lol: :lol:
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

I agree that income tax rates are comparable to that of US or even lower than that. Spending tax is on the higher side with 13.5% VAT which used to be around 5% in US when I did RTI 10 years ago. I visualize my tax money going into funding the military( protects me from external aggression ), central para-miliary forces ( protects me from riots etc ), schools( provided me with education that I monetized ), DRDO and similar technical institutions( funds techies like me who are putting in their prime time and making me proud ), high ways ( gives me the driving thrill of US ) ....

The marginal tax rates may be similar, but the effective tax rates are unfavorable towards India, because of the effect of various exemptions and deductions. This article that looks at how much room countries have to raise taxes to finance deficits, reports India has the second highest effective income tax, next only to Italy.

Effective tax rates
arnab

Post by arnab »

vina wrote:True. But Laffer Ji, even with the US experience sort of "broved" (well in e-Con-O-mix, you can only "broove" and not "proove" with any amount of dignity as in physical sciences, but I digress, such is the nature of the beast) that the marginal tax rates in the US with all that "welfare ding dong hand outs and big gobmint " was too high.
alas he broved nothing of that sort - Haven't you been reading what I wrote? :) US cut taxes - US deficits rose sky high. The whole growth story of the US in the 80s was a cyclical effect. GB Jr tried to follow the Reagan example and cut taxes even more. See the US today - structurally now taxes will never keep up with govt expenditure! This was never the case in the pre 80s. Some of the greatest industrial progress in the US also happenned in that era. Go figure.
For eg, the second greatest invention of Yindoos after the Shoonya /Zero is something called "No Objection Certificate" aka NOC , invented by our own Babooos.. Want to build a toilet, GET AN NOC, want to plant a tree GET AN NOC, want to dig a well ..you get the idea.. Now when does anyone in the US get an NOC I ask you.

The thicket of mai baap red tape and regulations/mindless nuisance that accompanied the mai baap license permit raj largely exists intact in most parts and the reforms etc opened out only a minuscule area. Of course this thicket of mindless nuisance is the source of corruption and patronage and no wonder they cant get rid of it.

For eg, I just got back from Chennai, where they opened brand new modern abattoir with the latest and greatest cutting edge tech costing 60 crores , but cannot get it opened, because the "traditional butchers" are opposed to it, because they say they will go out of work (around 3000 guys, the new modern abattoir will employ 300 in 2 shifts with one shift for exports only).. Heck no, so, you need to eat meat in Chennai with the beasts butchered in primitive and unhygienic conditions in the name of "socialism" . So, Laffer Ji's "ceteres paribus" is very different from the Prabhat Patnaik's "dirigiste" "ceteres paribus" onree no ? So, you cant transfer the US experience circa 2012 to India of 2012, but rather broad ideas from the 1970s of the US to the 2012 of India !

See you are proving my point - you are talking taxes but giving examples of the need for regulatory reforms. Which is what I have been asking for all this while :) Now the only thing I need to do is convince you it was your idea all along :)
3) Why is it that though India is socialistic (has it in the constitution), there is so much deprivation, inequality and lack of basic health education and shelter..
India never was truly Socialistic.. If only it was 'truly Socialistic' ... you get the idea now.. :lol: :lol:
India is poor /inequal because it has borrowed the worst of capitalism and socialism. The US for instance has the worst record of poverty amongst advanced nations. This despite spending so much on social security. BTW - if you want to see the worst of capitalism - sub-saharan africa migt be a good place to start.
The US was (is still) unable to offer health care to all its citizens. It has inflated the price of education way beyond what is affordable to the US middle class. Indian IITs and other top institutions offered cheap education (a good aspect of 'socialism' see) - which allowed a host of lower middle class indians access to quality education. Now with the mushrooming to 'don'(ation) college all over India - we are certainly going the US way.

Interesting discussion going on about whether to tax or not to tax corporates. :-)

Without taking sides, can I ask if anyone has considered the amount of "taxation" (in terms of wasted resources and opportunity cost, bad infra etc) burdens our corporates? We need the infra and we need the money to build. However, more importantly we need the political will to go and build that infra with same messianic zeal that the Chinese leadership adopted. Well may be not take it to the extreme that they've done but certainly the present situation in India is a mess.

Meanwhile, in other news here's a Bloomberg report on how things can be moving in supply chain due to multibrand retail:

Wal-Mart Entry Spurs TCI Spending on Logistics: Corporate India
The company will spend 1.5 billion rupees ($28 million) in the year to March 31 to add more trucks and build warehouses, Joint Managing Director Vineet Agarwal said in an interview. The spending may help Transport Corp.’s supply chain division, which offers warehousing and packaging, to expand more than 20 percent annually through 2017, he said.

The operator plans to add 1,000 more trucks in five years, Agarwal said, as India’s decision to allow foreign investment in retail stores will help create more supermarkets and boost transportation of farm and factory products. Deutsche Post AG (DPW)’s DHL Supply Chain last week said it would invest 100 million euros ($131 million) to strengthen operations in the country.
It's worth noting that these investments have been announced even before Walmart, Tesco and others have put a dime on the table. I believe this is known as the cascading effect of liberalisation.

Here's a nice quote from Agarwal:
“There’ll be investments in farmgate infrastructure once foreign supermarkets set up shop,” Agarwal said in New Delhi. “At that point, certain amount of logistics, including cold reefers and dry goods movement, will be required. We’re prepared to handle that.
The bolded portion of that quote explains why it's not economically feasible for private sector players (as well as the GoI for the matter due to fiscal prudence) to go out and build the farmgate infra in the hope that somebody will find use for it. The investment will happen only when there's a demand and that demand could and will come from the entry of multibrand retail players.
Entry of foreign supermarket chains will spur investments in warehousing, inventory management and computer systems, according to Zenith International Research & Academic Foundation in India. This will help reduce cost for retailers and boost consumer spending, according to Zenith.

The size of logistics industry in the country is about $90 billion to $125 billion, according to a study by Deloitte in India and the Indian Chamber of Commerce. Investments in logistics infrastructure may drive economic growth this decade, according to the study. Logistics accounts for 13 percent of the nation’s gross domestic product.

DHL Supply Chain said Oct. 16 that it will add 5 million square feet of warehousing space in eight cities including Mumbai, Bangalore and Chennai. The company also plans to upgrade its fleet of vehicles, it said in a statement.
A dose of reality which ties in with I wrote at the start of this post:
Transporters have to contend with congested highways in India, where infrastructure is ranked worse than Guatemala’s by the World Economic Forum. Traffic snarls cost Asia’s third- biggest economy $5.5 billion annually, according to the Indian Institute of Management in Kolkata and Transport Corp. Trucks take 65 hours to travel the 1,374 kilometers (854 miles) between Mumbai and New Delhi because of traffic and stoppages at toll plazas and state borders.
Road construction is lagging behind an August 2009 target of 20 kilometers a day as slowing economic growth and high interest rates discourage builders from bidding for projects.

Prime Minister Singh’s government has targeted a spending of $1 trillion on roads, ports and railways in the five years through 2017. Authorities are also planning to award $2.3 billion of state-funded highway contracts this year.

“Whatever we’re doing is not enough,” Agarwal said. “Work on everything from roads, ports to railways is going very slowly.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

vera_k wrote:The marginal tax rates may be similar, but the effective tax rates are unfavorable towards India, because of the effect of various exemptions and deductions. This article that looks at how much room countries have to raise taxes to finance deficits, reports India has the second highest effective income tax, next only to Italy.

Effective tax rates
Not sure why SSN deductions are bracketed with TAX. SSN deductions are savings and will be paid back to you but TAX is a complete outgo.

subhamoy.das wrote:
vera_k wrote:The marginal tax rates may be similar, but the effective tax rates are unfavorable towards India, because of the effect of various exemptions and deductions. This article that looks at how much room countries have to raise taxes to finance deficits, reports India has the second highest effective income tax, next only to Italy.

Effective tax rates
Not sure why SSN deductions are bracketed with TAX. SSN deductions are savings and will be paid back to you but TAX is a complete outgo.
Pure BS, SSN deductions were deducted in the 4 and half months I worked in the USA. Now USA retirees are benefitting from my dedections, meanwhile I have to run pillar to post to PF transferred in the right account in India.

For me SSN deductions are a tax on a poor SDRE from a poor country.

This is incorrect.
SSN is a pay as you go system. It is very much a tax.

IIRC if you file your 1040 NR correctly with the India double taxation treaty you will get you SSN contribution back.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

Its is a TAX for guest workers with less than 10 years of work log in US. But for US citizens and green card holders you will get it back when u reach retirement age. I fail to see how you are saying it is very much a TAX. It is like PPF in India which is given back to you at retirement age with inflation adjustments and I would like to see this as a bank deposit maintained by the govt on your behalf

India a tough place for doing business: World Bank report
India continues to be a tough place for doing business even as the country has improved regulator processes for starting enterprises and trading across borders, according to World Bank and IFC.

In terms of ease of doing business, India is ranked 132nd among 185 countries. The nation's position for 2013 is unchanged from 2012.

Singapore is at the top position, followed by 'Hong Kong SAR, China' at second place and New Zealand at third spot.

Other nations in the top 10 are the US (4th), Denmark (5th), the UK (7th), Norway (6th), Korea (8th), Georgia (9th) and Australia (10th).

India is the lowest ranked among BRIC nations. Brazil (130th), Russia (112nd), China (91th) and 'Taiwan, China' (16th).

India is also below neighbouring Pakistan (107th) and Nepal (108th).