India-Russia: News & Analysis

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Russia: News & Analysis

nvishal wrote:Is Islam in Saudi Arabia safe, because Saudis are so pious or is it safe because Islam is followed by over a billion people all over the world?
Firstly, you're making an assumption that hinduism is similar to islam or christianity.

Secondly, the success of a program depends on constant funding. The saudis have a valuable resource and it works for them. If you want to counter the radicalization activities in south or north india, simply choke this supply of funds.

Thirdly, much of the worlds population is naturally attracted to prophets. These magic performing baba type characters - sai baba, nirmal baba, sri satya sai etc. You just can't remove them(naturally or forcefully) and expect to leave the void open forever. The void will eventually pull something back in. Two popular fills available in the open market are characters like mohammed and jesus christ, the former a megalomaniac and the latter a wandering baba performing magic on the way; tantric class. This is exactly what is happening in some parts of rural maharashtra which used to be contain conclaves of sai baba devotees. As the popularity of sai baba begins to fade away, these people have shifted base to a globally popular baba - jesus christ.

Two megalomaniacs are eventually going to be at each others necks. The lull is simply because islam doesn't have an equal footing. Not yet.

nvishal wrote:You misunderstand me on my thoughts. What I would like more than anything is for islam to get an equal footing with christianity in europe and the rest of the west. In fact, i would very much like to encourage those so-called hindu white converts in the west to switch to islam.
Hmm, this is a very interesting thought - I often think exactly the same thing, but am not sure about it, or the extent of it. Could you say more about your thinking behind this? Perhaps on another thread...

About Indic footprints outside the subcontinent - I think there ought to be some level of spread, with funnels towards Indic culture. This is not a "fantasy", it is a dharmic responsibility.

The Russia/Slavic zone is particularly important in this regard, because:
1. It is distinct, a sort of Pakhanistan of Europe (or TSP is the Balkans of India)
2. It has very deep "Aryan" memes, which they think is because of ancient links to Zoroastrianism. I once asked a romanian friend what religion his people followed before Christianity. I expected something along the lines of Roman paganism. But his immediate reply was "Zoroastrianism". Now there are a lot of others who talk of the Vedas. We need to capitalize on that, otherwise I see certain sections of the Iranic diaspora cultivating them.

There is a general winding up of important institutiosn from the periphery to Moscow. Putin is worried about something or planning to face up to a multifront fight. I see the very same patterns as Stalin from 1934-1942. Verified directly from Russian language publci domain resources. RajeshA ji might throw some light based on Deutschland views and resources?

brihaspati wrote:RajeshA ji might throw some light based on Deutschland views and resources?
brihaspati garu,

I can't really comment on this. The Federal Government is having an internal fight over how far it can go in criticizing Putin's politics of "Steered Democracy". I haven't come across Putin's policies of central consolidation in Moscow.

Carl wrote:About Indic footprints outside the subcontinent - I think there ought to be some level of spread, with funnels towards Indic culture. This is not a "fantasy", it is a dharmic responsibility
Towards what goals or purpose? Give me a clear objective

My understanding is that a more dharmic world serves no purpose for us. A more dharmic world will hardly normalize relations between races and ethnic groups. This is the same goal that drives the christians and the muslims but has that changed anything for them? They're quest is more likely to set mother earth on fire before the world turns to christian or muslim.

To understand the societal structure of the world, you'll first have to agree that there can never be any normalcy. With this view, you can now set real objectives. The real objective is to choose from any of this:

1) Christianity v/s islam (indian religions avoid them and absorb blows if any)
2) Christianity v/s islam v/s indian religions
3) Christianity + islam v/s indian religions

Theoretically, all the above three are possible. But practically, only two are being followed.

The first option is what I'm suggesting
The second option is non existent on the ground. I guess they follow their nature.
The third option is what is happening in many indian states. Opposites usually repel each other. If indian religions didn't exist, christianity and islam would have been at each others throat. Here the expected result is that the two gang up on the third.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... probe.html

Russia's defence minister faces questioning over fraud probe
Russia's defence minister could face questioning over accusations that a state agency formerly under his control sold off key military real estate to commercial companies at far below its market value.

Serdyukov had to quit , Shoygu appointed as new DM

The New Face of Russian Defense Policy

nvishal wrote:
Carl wrote:About Indic footprints outside the subcontinent - I think there ought to be some level of spread, with funnels towards Indic culture. This is not a "fantasy", it is a dharmic responsibility
Towards what goals or purpose? Give me a clear objective
Sorry I forgot to respond. I have responded in this post in GDF Deracination thread.

There is a reason why we love the Rooskies and Rodina

Russian ambassador in India touches Advani's feet
Russian Ambassador to India Alexander M Kadakin broke away from diplomatic protocol to touch Advani's feet when he reach the latter's residence to wish him.

Such a gesture is virtually unheard of in diplomatic circles and many were surprised to hear about it. Most diplomats and heads of state or government only go to the extent of folding their hands in a "namaste" to wish an Indian leader. Shaking of hands is the norm in such meetings.

Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/adva ... 28272.html

Sanku jee Touching some ones feet is just a mark of respect specially if they are elderly to you ,dont read too much into it.

Austin wrote:Sanku jee Touching some ones feet is just a mark of respect specially if they are elderly to you ,dont read too much into it.

Not in South India, AFAIK. The only time I was required to touch the feet was on my wedding day. We never asked my son to touch anyone's feet but he has become a 'hugger'
Last edited by saip on 09 Nov 2012 08:49, edited 1 time in total.

Hey! What is happening? Why is the word required underlined?

Admins: Please get rid of that link. I tried but it didnt work.
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

We Want John Kerry As New US Secretary Of State: Moscow

http://www.ibtimes.com/we-want-john-ker ... cow-864928

Austin wrote:Sanku jee Touching some ones feet is just a mark of respect specially if they are elderly to you ,dont read too much into it.
Unusual for Russian Amby (no spring chicken himself) to follow a Indian custom which most Indians do not follow in "professional interactions" dont you think.

An extent of respect that Russians show for Indian "system" and Indians in general is fairly honest and deep rooted (no show baazi like Bush for example) -- this much at least is easy to read, if not more :wink:

sooraj wrote:We Want John Kerry As New US Secretary Of State: Moscow

http://www.ibtimes.com/we-want-john-ker ... cow-864928
Looks like Moscow and Islamabad are the two doing cheer-leading for Heinz Ketchup Sautan. But we Indians, we are SDRE onlee, so Dark Rice it is! :mrgreen:

X-posting:
Putin is now going to allow appointment of deputies to each school principal in Chechnya - who will have to be aalims. These deputies will have to have graduated from their local Islamic "educational institution" or "open university/distance education" in "Islamic curriculum" - and will be responsible for "moral education" of children in correct Islamic ways.

Grozny according to women - turns into an Arabic lookig city on Fridays, with increasing sociala nd clearical and vigilante pressure fro women to cover up, hizab now compulsory whenever women go into any state institution, and both the hizab and Arabic dress is being insisted upon - which is different from the traditional dress in Chechnya.

Instead of English as a foreign language, from the coming year, it will be Arabic that will be offered in schools. Putin's compromise - perhaps based on demographic calculations, is intriguing and an indicator of where the future is going in CAR.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

^^^^ Arabic dress, Arabic language, Arabic social mores being imposed on a non-Arab culture -- no wonder, Islam is called as Arab nationalism in disguise. Non-Arabs are fools to fall for the trick.

Putin to Jews: Russia is Your Friend
Moscow’s Jewish Museum and Tolerance Center is like no other Jewish Museum. First, there’s its size: according to its organizers, it’s the largest Jewish history museum in the world. Then, there are the exhibits. A Russian news site called it “Jewish Disneyland.” One exhibit in the massive, state-of-the-art institution virtually displays Jewish historical clothing on the observer and transports viewers back in time to important locations in Jewish history. But what really sets the Center apart is not its size or its contents. It’s the location, in the heart of the capital of Russia, and the warm affection it receives from the Russian president.
Vladamir Putin gave the Center a large donation—a month of his salary—and he has been personally involved with the Center for over half a decade. Israeli President Shimon Peres, who attended the opening ceremony, said of Putin and Russia, “I came here to say thank you. Thank you for a thousand years of hospitality.”
Other Jews, interviewed by the New York Times, similarly gushed with enthusiasm and praise. Russia’s chief rabbi (and a close ally of Putin’s) said Jews “have never felt as comfortable in Russia as today.” Aleksandr A. Dobrovinsky, a lawyer, who teared up when he saw an exhibit on Odessa, said, ”What the president has done, I simply tip my hat to him.”
Putin’s relationship with the international Jewish community has warmed over the years to outright affection. Russia, the Times notes, wants Jews to come back.
Putin also has a strategic interest in Israel.
Back in 2009 Russia agreed to buy Israeli surveillance drones in a deal possibly worth as much as $100 million. Russia stepped in as Israel’s defender-in-chief at the UN in October, killing a UNESCO initiative that criticized Israel. In June, on his first trip abroad since returning to office, President Putin went to Jerusalem, where he visited the Western Wall. In the wake of Putin’s visit, representatives from Gazprom announced they were setting up a subsidiary to help develop Israel’s giant gas reserves. Russia and Israel also share a number of security concerns, including Islamist regimes in the Middle East and beyond, and the rise of Turkey both politically and in the energy geopolitics of the Middle East and Europe.
It’s a relationship that’s worth watching—a burgeoning friendship that will have an important impact on regional politics. These are interesting times.

Drug Flow to Decrease as US Troops Leave Afghanistan – Official
MOSCOW, November 10 (RIA Novosti) – The withdrawal of US forces from Afghanistan will reduce drug trafficking to Russia, Viktor Ivanov, the head of the Federal Drug Control Service, said on Saturday.

“I am convinced that the flow of [Afghan] drugs to Russia will decrease as soon as Americans withdraw from Afghanistan,” Ivanov told the Ekho Moskvy radio station.

Ivanov, who had previously criticized the anti-drug efforts of US and NATO forces in Afghanistan, said he hailed the withdrawal scheduled for the end of 2014.

He also said that more than 100,000 people aged 15-34 died of drug abuse in Russia in 2011.

Ivanov said earlier that 30 tons of drugs, mostly from Afghanistan in the form of heroin, are trafficked into Russia annually.

For Russia, deepening friendship with India is a top foreign policy priority - VLADIMIR PUTIN
I am glad to have an opportunity to address the readers of one of the most influential Indian newspapers — The Hindu. As my visit to New Delhi is beginning, I would like to outline approaches to further development of the strategic partnership between India and Russia.

This year marked the 65 anniversary of diplomatic relations between our countries. During the past decades we have acquired vast experience of working together and achieved progress in a range of fields. Political epochs changed but the principles of bilateral ties, such as mutual confidence and equality, remained the same. I would like to stress that deepening of friendship and cooperation with India is among the top priorities of our foreign policy. And now we have every reason to say that they have really unique special and privileged character.

The Declaration on Strategic Partnership between India and Russia signed in October 2000 became a truly historic step. The developments in the first decade of the 21 century confirmed that it was a particularly significant and timely step. In fact, today we, the whole civilization, face serious challenges. These are unbalanced global development, economic and social instability, lack of confidence and security.

In that situation India and Russia show an example of responsible leadership and collective actions in the international arena.

Multipolar world

We have a common goal — to make the world we live in more just, democratic and secure and to facilitate resolving global and regional problems, including the situation in the Middle East and North Africa, and in Afghanistan.

I would like to note that our joint work in the BRICS has become increasingly intensive. The authority of that association is growing every year, and that is quite natural. Our proposed initiatives are aimed at establishing new architecture for a multipolar world order. The same constructive approach is also reflected in our interaction in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization and other multilateral formats. We expect a meaningful dialogue with the Indian side within the framework of Russia’s presidency in the G20 that has begun.

Joint steps in the international arena, participation in the development of rules of global trade and enhancing business, scientific and technological and humanitarian ties form the basis for achieving a new quality of partnership.

We attach particular significance to bilateral trade and investment relations. The growing economic potential of India and Russia is mutually complementary in many respects. Our trade turnover has overcome the consequences of the global crisis, and in 2012 we expect to reach record numbers, over $10 billion. Our next goal is to reach $20 billion by 2015.

To this end, we should engage all reserves and maintain direct contacts between business communities and promote establishing efficient investment, technological and industry alliances in the most dynamic and promising fields, for instance, in the energy industry, primarily the nuclear one.

The construction of the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant with the use of the most reliable and up-to-date technologies and standards became a major breakthrough project in that field. The beginning of operation of the first power unit of that plant will allow to significantly reduce the energy deficiency in southern States of India, and eventually eliminate it completely, after the launch of the second and other power units. We expect that the implementation of our arrangements on the construction of new NPPs in India will begin in the nearest future.

We hope for significant returns from long-term projects in steel industry, hydrocarbon production, car and aircraft manufacturing, chemical and pharmaceuticals industries, in the field of information and biotechnologies. Important benchmarks are set in the Integrated Long-Term Program of Cooperation in the sphere of science, technology and innovation until 2020. Its main task is to ensure that our scientists conduct fundamental and applied research in order to create new technologies, equipment and materials.

The joint operation of Russian global navigation satellite system GLONASS opens up broad prospects. The package of respective bilateral agreements has already been signed. We intend to promote practical interaction in that important area.

The strategic nature of the partnership between India and Russia is witnessed by the unprecedented level of our military and technical cooperation. The licensed production and joint development of advanced armaments rather than just purchasing military products becomes a key area of activities.

Serious attention is being paid to developing a fifth generation multifunctional fighter plane and a multipurpose transport aircraft. The product of our designers, the ‘BrahMos’ cruise missile, has successfully passed all tests. Today experts are thinking of its aircraft version.

I am confident that such a multivector cooperation will allow our countries not only to reach leading positions as a range of hi-technology projects are concerned, but will help to successfully advance joint products to markets of third countries.

Humanitarian cooperation has a particular significance for India and Russia, which are states with great cultural heritage and potential. The centuries-old history and culture of India, majestic architectural monuments and museums of Delhi, Agra and Mumbai have a unique attractive force. In its turn, Indian citizens with interest discover the wealth of Russian music, literature and art. The Festival of Russian Culture in India and All-Russian Festival of Modern Cinema and Culture of India which were successfully held this year have convincingly proved it once again.

I am confident that awareness-raising and educational projects should be more actively promoted and tourism and youth exchanges developed. In fact, they enrich our citizens and add new contents to human dimension of bilateral relations which becomes all the more significant and relevant today.

The India-Russia summit in New Delhi was preceded by painstaking and comprehensive preparations. We have a clear vision of major vectors of future-oriented joint work. I am confident that the summit talks will be constructive, as they always were, and their outcome will give a powerful impetus to a strategic partnership for the benefit of our two countries and peoples, in the interests of peace and stability in Eurasia and on our common planet.

I will take the liberty to outline joint prospects for strategic partnership between India and Russia in the 21 century. These are deepening of cooperation in knowledge-intensive fields based on strong historic traditions, advancement of joint products to international markets, further increasing of the share of high value added products in the trade turnover, enhancing the role and effectiveness of Indian-Russian interaction in international affairs, and the widest possible realization of the potential of cultural and humanitarian contacts.

I sincerely wish to the people of friendly India peace, well-being and new impressive achievements.

(Vladimir Putin is President of Russia. He arrives in New Delhi on Monday)

Putin visit: Krishna to Kudankulam on Indian agenda
Exactly a year ago, a news-break by IANS rocked the Indian parliament about an imminent legal ban on the Bhagvad Gita, Hinduism's revered text and philosophical treatise, in Russia, forcing Moscow's intervention.

The crisis blew over and the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (Iskcon), the official name of the Hare Krishna Movement, continued to exercise the right to distribute the Gita's Russian translation.

A year later, a bigger crisis looms. A cocktail of religious idiosyncrasy and byzantine municipal laws is leading to Iskcon's eviction from its only temple in Moscow on January 15.

The socio-religious group with following across the world, including top business leaders of Indian origin, has now invoked Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to take the matter up when Russian President Valdimir Putin visits New Delhi for the 13th India-Russia Annual Summit on Monday.

Putin, on his part, has a woe list of his own, ranging from Russian telecom major Sistema's $3.2-billion investment in India that is stuck in litigation and the stalled nuclear plant in Kudankulam.

In a letter addressed to Pulok Chatterji, principal secretary to the Indian prime minister, and backed by dozens of legal documents and translations, Iskcon has urged that their plight be heard, the imminent destruction of the temple on January 15 is red-flagged and the Russians told in clear terms that eviction from the makeshift premises — an iron shack constructed after the main temple was razed in 2004 — would be unacceptable to India.

A chilling video of devotees of Lord Krishna braving the minus 18 degree Moscow temperatures, a few still pictures and a petition have also been shared with Chatterji and other interlocutors, including External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid.

The city's only Hindu temple was bulldozed in 2004. After much outcry in India, including by actor Hema Malini and some top industrialists, the prime minister intervened with Putin and Iskcon was allowed to construct a corrugated iron shack with no sewers or heating, with the promise that they would be able to replace it with a more dignified permanent temple.

The Moscow city administration is now citing “improprieties” in their own allotment order, as the structure allegedly “violates the urban planning code” and “has no legal ground”.

Manmohan Singh and Putin are poised to sign almost a dozen bilateral agreements. But India is also expected to tell Russia that it cannot really intervene in the Sistema imbroglio directly as the courts are seized of the matter and a curative petition has already been filed by the company.

Earlier this year, the Supreme Court had ordered the award of 122 telecom licences and related airwave in 2008 cancelled. The Russian telecom company was among the licensees.

But queering the pitch, Russian Ambassador to India Alexander Kadakin said on Friday that Sistema's matter was a “political” and not a “judicial” decision. Similarly, speaking on issues relating to the Kudankulam nuclear project, Kadakin described Kudankulam 3 and 4 as the “grandsons” of Kudankulam 1 and 2.

He stressed that the agreements for 3 and 4 were finalised in 2008 and hence, should not come under the purview of the 2010 civil nuclear liability law. The cleavage is obvious because unlike New Delhi, Moscow has a system of the executive advising the judiciary.

Krishna devotees do hope the 13th India-Russia Annual Summit has something for them to cheer in the New Year.

Merry Christmas HoHoHo.

A long tiring flight from Moscow and yet Putin spent just 15 hours in India ? The deals that have been signed are not that extraordinary that needed Putin here. There must therefore be something else behind the scene. Did he came here to convey some message to Man Mohan Singh about some Russian moves in the neighbourhood ?

Maybe just a "protocol visit" and some deals gathered together to show a modicum of substance ... Protocol to both reduce concerns of a drift in the relationship and because I think Putin is going elsewhere in Asia after. Would have been a bit of a slight in our protocol minded eyes if that had happened, unless we really didn't care much for the indo-Russian relationship any more, which we do. Kadakin's interview hits many of the right spots, very clearly indicating the sense of drift was beginning to creep in. Do we have an ambassador in Moscow yet, for instance?

The official visit wont last for more than a day which is Govt to Govt talks since most things are done and decided before the visit and the actual meetings are photo-op moment and press conference.

Its only when you have big business delegation and end up visiting few places that you end up spending 2-3 days.

India Russia ties are far below its economic potential right now even if they achieve $20 billion by 2015 is far too low , Considering China Russia has crossed the $100 billion mark ...our trade tied really need to be around $50-60 billion by 2015

here is brief of Putins Press Conference last week Vladimir Putin's press conference
Putin on anti-American rhetoric: fight back

Russian President Vladimir Putin considers himself "a bad Christian" because he doesn't think it's right to "turn the other cheek" and prefers to fight back, including when it comes to international relations.

"When it comes to anti-American or anti-Western rhetoric, I don't think we need any anti-rhetoric actually. Maybe I am a bad Christian, but I am not ready to turn the other cheek, so to say. I think if we are challenged, we should fight back, otherwise we'll keep getting hurt," the President said.

Wonder we will hear Desi baboos or netas saying things like this instead of bending over to show the other cheek!

sum wrote:Wonder we will hear Desi baboos or netas saying things like this instead of bending over to show the other cheek!
They wont thats because they are Good Christians :P

They will bend over to show both "cheeks" my friends,not because they are bad Christians,but because they are bad Indians!

Durable ties: Vladimir Putin’s India visit had more positive outcomes than assumed
On Christmas eve, Russian president Vladimir Putin undertook a lightning, 15 hour visit to New Delhi, meeting prime minister Manmohan Singh and other ministers. The visit has largely been seen in negative light: Russia has linked the grant of a 10 year tax holiday on ONGCBSE 0.39 % Videsh Ltd's (OVL's) sputtering acquisition, Imperial Energy, to the restoration of the licences of Sistema, which operated telecom services under the brand MTS in India. In February, Sistema's licences were among the 122 scrapped by a court.
However, the biggest deal that was signed concerns civil nuclear energy, whose prospects are bright in India, despite some hiccups over starting the first two reactors at Kudankulam. Under the new deal, Russia is committed to building one new nuclear power plant capable of generating 1,000 MW, every year, for the next 18 years. At roughly $2.5 billion per plant, the deal works out to a staggering $45 billion and will take India's nuclear energy capacity to over 20,000 MW. There are other positives as well: India's largest bank, SBIBSE 1.84 %, has tied up with Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF), the country's sovereign wealth fund, to invest around $2 billion jointly in both countries. Cooperation in satellite technology, through a tie-up between MTNLBSE -0.18 % and Glonass will also be a booster for both nations. It is clear that trade and investment in defence, energy and infrastructure are the ties that bind the two nations. It is time to diversify the trade basket to include technology, pharmaceuticals, processed food and other manufactures.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 822137.cms
Russian nod for India’s bid to link south with central Asia
By Indrani Bagchi,

NEW DELHI: India's pet project to link south with central Asia got support from Russian president Vladimir Putin. During their talks in New Delhi last week, Singh and Putin agreed to unfreeze the north-south corridor through Iran within the next year. India has taken the lead role in pushing for the completion of this project.

Indian officials said they would push for the completion of the corridor and were willing to step in, if Iran found it difficult to accomplish the task. The corridor is, by and large complete, they said, except for a section inside Iran between Qazvin-Rasht-Astara. The corridor is useless unless the Iranian section is completed. Although the agreement was inked by India, Iran, Russia and Oman in 2001, Tehran has dragged its feet on the project.

Now, the urgency for completion of the project is due to the imminent drawdown of NATO forces from Afghanistan in 2014. New Delhi figures that this project will be a game-changer for its trade and open Indian economy to the rising economies in central Asia, by connecting India with Afghanistan and beyond, bypassing Pakistan.

India's aims in the region is coalescing with Russia, which is paying greater attention to it's "near abroad". Russia is concerned about the rise of Islamic extremism in its southern periphery and one of the ways of countering this is to open these landlocked nations to trade and connectivity with India.

Another reason for both Russia and India to concentrate on central Asia is the growing influence and presence of China in this region, which has raised concerns in Moscow and New Delhi. China is far ahead of both Russia and India in establishing connectivity with the central Asian countries — China's aims being to stabilize its own western periphery, with the restive province of Xinjiang as the focus. Beijing has already built an intricate set of oil and gas pipelines to Kazakhstan, and a Turkmenistan-Uzbekistan-Kazakhstan-China gas pipeline. In 2011, the trade turnover between China and the five central Asian countries reached $16.98 billion. Beijing is currently working on a rail link to Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan. China's progress, frankly, puts India's sluggish initiatives in the shade.

India has recently received help from other quarters. Turkey has stepped in, offering itself as a more viable transit route for the corridor, given its already-developed connections with central Asian nations and Russia. On the other hand, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan have both asked Indian leaders to consider connecting them to the corridor.

The Northern Distribution Network (NDN), which is being used by the US to transport supplies and weapons to its forces in Afghanistan by steering clear of Pakistan, is on offer for trade and connectivity in the post-2014 environment, said sources. Tajikistan has offered to connect itself to the Zaranj-Delaram road and Afghanistan's garland highway, which will give it access to Iran's Chahbahar port.

All of this is certain to raise Iran's geo-political profile that India and Russia support. Iran, however, has been tardy in putting its own infrastructure in order. However, Iranian diplomats have recently gone on record to say that they have completed "70% of works on construction of Qazvin-Rasht-Astara railroad within the framework of North-South Transport Corridor project."

Iran, India and Afghanistan have recently started to coordinate work on the Chahbahar port project.
Again, here, the delay is on the Iranian side. India has offered to undertake the development of the port in Iran — over $5 billion of India's oil payments to Iran are sitting in Indian banks in Indian currency, and the idea is that this could be used in the port's development.

The Chahbahar port would be a lifeline for landlocked Afghanistan, by reducing its dependence on Pakistan.
It would also act as a bridge to connect central Asia with India. Ultimately, it promises to open up vast markets in Eurasian countries to Indian goods and services, cutting travel and freight time and cost.

Uzbek and Kazakh leaders have pressed India to complete the project because it would open up the Indian energy market to these countries. Kazakhstan has offered the Satpayev block to India and is slated to become a key uranium supplier to India's civilian nuclear sector. But lack of connectivity is a serious deterrent at present, said officials. In fact, its cheaper to bring goods to India through China from these countries!

But the focus is to complete the missing section in Iran. Of the 375-km-long Qazvin-Astara-Rasht route, around 300 km is located in Iran. While, 8.5km of railways will be built in Azerbaijan.

I doubt Uncle, Saudi and Pakistan can allow this to happen, if this happens it will unravel the whole geopolitics of USA-UK- Wahabis Saudi- Paki-China, not soemthing these guys want or allow.

So Putin's visit WAS about post-American Afghanistan, only the canvas was wider - it is about post-American Central Asia, and indeed about whole of Asia - because it is about containing China's influence in a region that is culturally dominated by India and politically dominated by Russia.

Indo-Russian ties based on “substance, not rhetoric” - Ajai Malhotra

In an exclusive interview with RIR, the Indian Ambassador to Russia talks about the entire gamut of bilateral issues.

Russia rants at India’s military buys
- Head of air show team claims costly western purchases lack logic
SUJAN DUTTA
The Russian Knights arrive in formation in their Su-27s on the third day of Aero India 2013 at Yelahanka airforce base in Bangalore on Friday. (AFP)

Bangalore, Feb. 8: The Russian bear raged here today.

Viktor Komardin, the head of the Russian delegation to India’s military airshow Aero India, alleged that Delhi has bought aircraft, submarines and weapons from western countries at inflated prices “without military logic”.

Komardin is also the deputy chief of the Russian state arms exporter, Rosoboronexport.

He questioned the financial logic of the Indian government to procure weapons systems from countries that were not as longstanding partners as Russia despite getting no transfer of technology. “Ask your minister of finance. May be he has so much money to spare and India has no social problems,” he responded, barely able to conceal the sarcasm.

Komardin called a group of journalists to a small room in the Russian pavilion here and said his ire was directed against the Indian media that was not accurately reflecting Russia’s “rootedness” in the Indian armed forces. But he said the decisions to buy the Boeing-made C-17 Globemaster and Lockheed Martin-made C-130J Hercules (both US firms) transport aircraft were big mistakes because they were not suited to Indian military needs.

Such decisions are made by the government of India and not by the Indian media.

“It is not fair. Arms sales in military technology projects are now all politics. Billions of dollars are paid for procurements without transfer of technology. It is improper, it is unfair,” Komardin said. “I accept politics but fair should be fair. Russia is a strategic partner of India. We want to be dealt with as partners,” he added.

The angry remarks came even as a team of the Russian Knights, an aerobatic team from Moscow, landed here this afternoon after a three-day delay that a member of his delegation confirmed was caused “by delay in internal security clearance”. The issue was resolved only after Russian ambassador Alexander M. Kadakin requested national security adviser Shiv Shankar Menon to intervene.

A spokesperson for the Russian Knights team said after landing in Bangalore: “We were held up in Delhi for legal issues raised by the government of India and we could come here only because of diplomatic intervention.” The Knights had a similar problem in the UK in December and that was put down to incomplete paperwork by the Russians.

Komardin said India was also buying weapons and equipment from companies and countries that were also selling to Pakistan. The French, he said, had sold Agusta submarines to Pakistan and were selling Scorpene submarines to India. Lockheed Martin had sold Hercules aircraft to both Pakistan and India. Boeing, too, was selling to both Pakistan and India.

“But we do not do it, India does not want us to do it and we are a friend as a friend can be. We do not turn our backs to India.”

Komardin put out figures that are not officially borne out. He alleged India had bought 10 C-17 Globemaster aircraft for $10 billion though the long-haul strategic airlifters did not configure into the Indian military mindset.

“These aircraft are used for trans-Atlantic and transpacific requirements by the US military. What are they? Just big cargo planes. And you overlook the Il-76 that you (India) have been using for 20 years!” he said.

The C-17 contracted by India in 2009 through the Pentagon’s foreign military sales programme cost half the figure of $10 billion that Komardin quoted. The aircraft are bigger than the IL-76 procured from Russia. A C-17 can carry 75 tonnes and an IL-76, loads of 50 tonnes each.

Even as Komardin was railing against the shift in Indian military procurement policies, Boeing was taking another team of Indian journalists in a C-17 on a sortie over Bangalore’s skies to give them a feel of the aircraft.

The C-130J Hercules that the Indian Air Force has procured, he said, cannot accommodate the Russian-supplied Smerch multi-barelled rocket launchers. This would tell on the Indian armed forces’ operational abilities. (Because we didnt buy it for that purpose )
An Mi-26 salvages a Chinook helicopter. File picture

Komardin said Russia also thinks the choice of the Boeing-made Chinook helicopter for the IAF’s heavy-lift needs was wrong.

“What is the Chinook compared to (the Russian) Mi-26 (that was also in the competition)? It is a baby. The Mi-26 can lift the Chinook by the neck!” he said.

This is true. About three years ago, a Chinook helicopter of the US forces that went down in Afghanistan was salvaged by a chartered MI-26. Photographs of the MI-26 with the Chinook underslung have since been widely publicised.

The IAF has selected the Chinook for negotiations but the twin-rotor helicopter has not yet been contracted.

Komardin said Russia has $7-billion worth of arms transfer projects with India going currently, compared to the contracts that were signed with other countries. “I am pained that despite this, I find the Russian role in building India’s defence industry diminished,” he said.

Next year, it would be the 50th anniversary since India first signed a licensed production agreement with (the former) Soviet Russia for the MiG 21 FL fighter aircraft. Russia now has more than two dozen licence production agreements going with India. Among the projects are land systems involving tanks and armoured personnel carriers for the army, aircraft such as the Sukhoi 30 MKi for the air force and the Gorshkov carrier for the navy.

Asked about erratic supplies of spares for Russian-origin equipment and delays in deliveries, Komardin fumed that was also the case with other suppliers. He said the French had delayed the delivery of Scorpene submarines to the Indian Navy by three years, as the delivery of the Goshkov carrier has been delayed. “But there is talk in India of imposing penalties on us and not on the French,” he rued.

He said the equipment that India was procuring from Russia’s competitors would not stand the test in harsh conditions in the subcontinent.

“Russian armament is robust for warfighting, not effete. If we will sell you a chair, we will sell you a chair that lasts, not decorate it with foam and leather that will not last,” he said.

Komardin said that unlike its competitors, Russia did not want to publicise its defence deals with India “because we do not believe in disclosing Indian national secrets”.

^Komardin is offering unnecessary rhetoric. Just looking at the kind of military equipment india buys from both US and Russia gives away the nature of relationship india has with them.
RSoami

Post by RSoami »

Not everything he is saying is wrong.. There is certainly a lot of negative publicity in the media regarding the weapons that they sell us and he is right that western sales aren god sent for India. If there are some problems that India is facing vis a vis Russia, they are generic and will face with other suppliers too.