Support for BCCI backed cricket with Pakistan?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Support for BCCI backed cricket with Pakistan?

Setting up this poll to see how members feel about this topic

Re: Support for BCCI backed cricket with Pakistan?

We have so many other countries, against whom or with whom we can play cricket! Why need we play with Pakistan? There should be a complete boycott of cricket matches that BCCI organizes with Pakistan. Also there is no need to have Pakistani players in IPL.

In fact, if BCCI does not desist from playing with Pakistan, the boycott should be expanded to cover other initiatives by BCCI!

I stand for piss in South Asia. So give the brothers one more or two more chance.

Before BCCI boycotts pakistan , i have boycotted BCCI . No more watching India matches. Anyways, this team is not worth watching as well , pakistan or no pakistan.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

I feel may be players like Yuvraj can openly take a stance that they don't appreciate the idea of playing TSP using their Facebook and twitter accounts atleast, if not very openly.

That can have greater impact.

venug wrote:I feel may be players like Yuvraj can openly take a stance that they don't appreciate the idea of playing TSP using their Facebook and twitter accounts atleast, if not very openly.

That can have greater impact.
If they do, there will be life ban of them and any media wanting to talk to them.

Would you put your career and family on the line! The best they can do is feign injury and not play the series.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

That is a possibility if one or two players do it. what if all 11 issues statements similar in tone. feigning injury is fine too, just not play with terrorists with bats.

Added later: It is said that even mobsters and thieves have code of conduct, why not our players.
Last edited by member_22872 on 18 Dec 2012 19:55, edited 1 time in total.

I voted for no dealing with the terrorist abomination. The eunuchs, including cricket fans in India who blindly repeat the cliche "cricket and politics don't mix" need to be drilled into the vacuous brains that terrorism is not politics. India and TSP are no disagreeing over some trade tariffs to interfere with cricket, TSP use of terror as an instrument of state policy to undo India in not politics, its a diabolical mindset, and one doesn't indulge in an act of friendship with such killers by playing cricket.

We are big brothers so we must show big heart.

Dont ask me why big brothers cannot have big cajoons. We are led by .....

RamaY wrote:We are big brothers so we must show big heart.

Dont ask me why big brothers cannot have big cajoons. We are led by .....
Big brothers need big haath for big thaparh. Instead we have only Thapars to throw at the Pakis!

Post by amdavadi »

we should be boycotting BCCI. They are the one inviting porkis to India.

I agree no dealings with terrroists.

amdavadi wrote:we should be boycotting BCCI. They are the one inviting porkis to India.
Lets see how many Indians, the modern/liberal/educated variety, will go to watch these matches by paying money.

Lets also see how many posts we will have covering this match in our own krikket thread.

Lets be serious.. we can't behave same as the terrorists... lets show insaniyat.. and play krikket...

No cricket. But we cannot stop "dealing" with Pakistan, to be differentiated from making deals with Pakistan. If we stop dealing with them, they will continue to deal with us using infiltration and terrorism. BCCI needs a kick in the butt, but they are taking advantage of the fact that Indians are suckers for cricket. It is easy for me to talk. I don't like cricket anyway.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

I voted for more piss and aman ki tamasha
What's the point me boycotting Paki goods here in US while whole country is sold out by leaders to TSP
From sir kreek to Kirkit sub kuch Dawood Bahia ka dua hi
Chali apun thi choot&$sa Nadaan hai

Kaun kaun kithne pani hum kya janee

voted for no cricket till they renounce terror. This is equivalent to number 1 option as the very basis of puksitan is terror on India. It is in their blood.
IMO both 1 and 2 are same with different flavour.

Not voting as the true reason for playing kirket with TSP is not mentioned.

We are yindoo baniyas, every thing that we do is to make money. So not playing kirket with that TSP looses us an opportunity to make us money.

Though i voted for 1st, i feel

1. this series will be used by BCCI and dhoni to get some pride back by winning against the pigs esp the drubbing they got from england, people will forgot anything if we beat the pigs
2. india should trash them so much that those pigs feel humiliated and even stop accepting any invitation

I don't intend to get into a cricket discussion, but I hope, and I am serious, that TSP trashes India. At least that way, the millions of eunuchs and ruling elite who are celebrating cricket with the terrorists over the dead bodies of 26/11 will develop some anger at TSP. I already told you guys, I am boycotting this tamasha. On my business trip to Mumbai, I had a few hours to kill before embarking on my flight back to US, and I took the opportunity to go to the Gateway of India in front of the Taj and just reflected on the act of war that TSP unleashed on 26/11. I vowed then to boycott this sell out.

The hard-fought defeat to a more superior Eng team is any day more honorable and dignified than the mightiest kirket victory over the unrepentant terrorists.

Talking about Indian players taking a stand, I doubt anybody has the b@lls to do so. And besides, they are all fighting for their places, and so the last thing they want is to do something "controversial". After all, as per the prevalent eunuch thinking in India, "cricket and politics should be separate"; how does one go against that sentiment without being ridiculed? Gambhir was called a "Hindu extremist" by many a pseudo secularists for merely dedicating the WC 2011 win to the victims of 26/11.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

I completely understand that it is not easy job for the players to take a stance. It does indeed need lot of courage and even possible action against them. But, Like Mody's comment about Sir Creek, which made GoI issue a statement, BCCI will be cornered. We in India love two things across the board: cricketers and movie stars. What they do and what they say has greater value than what many a patriot says. And if cricket players take a stance, the whole cricket loving Bacha-Bacha will stand with them and it will be difficult for any BCCI to allow TSP cricket team to set foot and do you think BCCI will have the guta to ruin players careers which is backed by millions? It won't be easy. Why not use the sentiment value Cricketers and movie stars can generate to stop TSP's Aman ki tamasha?

You have to strike when the iron is hot. Let them make a statement with 26/11, justice, TSP's role as a terrorist nation, Kalia's torture at barbarians hands and TSP's cricketing in India in the same breathe and see what BCCI can do.

venug wrote:I completely understand that it is not easy job for the players to take a stance. It does indeed need lot of courage and even possible action against them. But, Like Mody's comment about Sir Creek, which made GoI issue a statement, BCCI will be cornered. We in India love two things across the board: cricketers and movie stars. What they do and what they say has greater value than what many a patriot says. And if cricket players take a stance, the whole cricket loving Bacha-Bacha will stand with them and it will be difficult for any BCCI to allow TSP cricket team to set foot and do you think BCCI will have the guta to ruin players careers which is backed by millions? It won't be easy. Why not use the sentiment value Cricketers and movie stars can generate to stop TSP's Aman ki tamasha?

You have to strike when the iron is hot. Let them make a statement with 26/11, justice, TSP's role as a terrorist nation, Kalia's torture at barbarians hands and TSP's cricketing in India in the same breathe and see what BCCI can do.
It is difficult for players to take stand because this initiative is not coming merely from BCCI, but from GOI and highest political echelons of power with full co-operation from the media(and its backers:phoren and local). So, players who step out of line will face great punishment.

But, if there is one player who has the ability and the responsibility to take a stand, then it is Sachin Tendulkar.

Sachin Tendulkar, at this point in time, is simultaneously a sportsman and a politician. So, he cannot take the escape route of saying the sports and politics cannot be mixed, after all he acquired his political position through sports.

Sachin Tendulkar has the stature to take a stand and withstand the potential reactions of the people in power. He can serve as a rallying figure around whom other players can also voice their opinions. Sachin Tendulkar's opinions cannot be brushed aside by BCCI without blowback. Fans can also rally around Sachin. He is also the senior-most player apart from the most popular player. He hails from Mumbai which suffered the 26/11. So, there is also local connection apart from a national responsibility.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

JohneeG garu, yes what you say is true. If this is something coming from greater powers, then there is even more a reason for players to take a stand. Few dharnas, few voices against this means nothing. But I agree players can rally around a central figure like Tendulkar to give him morale support and what he says can have more impact.

Come on Sachin Tendulkar is definetly a smart guy, and while he can make toothless political comments about reforming India's Olympic council etc, he dare not take a stance against TSP. Or else, given his popularity, TSP ISI will send green signal to their immense asset base in Mumbai to do the needful, and he knows that. Of course, if there was even a semblance of an opposition to this sell out from those in power, he would garner more support, and ISI might have to think carefuly before issuing the command. Besides, Indian cricket media is dominated by cowards like Manjrekar and Bhogle both of whom shiver in their undies at TSP's TFTA prowess and how "big" Afridi's palms are. Bhogle appears the pseudo secular coward ever so defensive in explaining India's POV (that India looses often against Eng/Aus make that task that much harder). Plus Read those useless toadies on cricinfo. The deck is heavily stacked against any cricketer wanting to take a stand, and I have not seen any evidence that any of them want to. It has to come from the top. If I am not mistaken, even the BJP big wigs went along with this kirket tamasha. So the sell out on this kirket issue is complete. I guess the lure of money, dead bodies of 26/11 notwithstanding. What a shame.

Sorry to say but Tendulkar has never shown any guts when it comes to being politically incorrect. Tendulkar has only one really good life skill and he is getting too old even for that. Best is to let the man retire in peace and build temples in his honor and not ask him to do anything more.

so many views, yet so few votes?

^ we should force every poster that posted in krikket thread to vote here. if they dont vote, they should be sent to nukkad for retraining in

CRS, Dont even think that. No matter how vile the DIEnasty is it should be defeated by viler forces. See what happened after Panipat?
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/co ... 97759.html
Pakistan's tour of the West Indies in July 2013 is likely to be split into two parts in order to accommodate the PCB's plan of hosting India in August for a series that is yet to be confirmed. Pakistan were due to play two Tests, five ODIs and two Twenty20s in the Caribbean in June and July but now they will only play either Tests or limited-overs matches to create a window for India.

According to the FTP, West Indies are scheduled to host Pakistan from the last week in June to the last week in July but they also have a tri-series against India and Sri Lanka during that time. To avoid the clash with Pakistan, the WICB had asked the PCB if their Caribbean tour could be rescheduled to August. That, however, would interfere with the PCB's hopes of hosting India, so Pakistan's West Indies tour had to be split.

ESPNcricinfo understands that after the upcoming limited-over series in India starting on December 25, the PCB is hoping to invite India to play another series in Pakistan.

"The limited-over series isn't [just] what we wanted," a PCB official said. "We wanted long-term bonding with India on reciprocal basis, and to extend our relationship we will invite India to play a series next year in August. We will find a way to at least keep the window open."

Cricket ties between Pakistan and India were put on ice following the 2008 terror attacks in Mumbai and the upcoming series will be the first in four years.

Pakistan had also sought a postponement of its scheduled tour of Zimbabwe later this month so that they can tour India. Pakistan were scheduled to tour Zimbabwe before their South Africa visit in 2013, but Zimbabwe Cricket agreed to put it off.
Gov. and BCCI seriously out of their mind.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Remember SRT is now in the same company as MMS
Rajya Sabha MP

If he is the typical MArathi manush he will dissent and at least forego his auto magic selection

3000 pigs gonna be in india , 1000 per match of split into the 3 matches....thats a lot

The Pakistan Cricket Board is still awaiting the 3000 tickets promised to it by the BCCI for the much-anticipated Twenty20 [ Images ] and ODI series in India [ Images ] later this month.

A PCB source said that although a long list of requests had been received by the three travel agencies designated to handle the requests from Pakistanis wishing to travel to India for the matches, none had been processed due to non availability of tickets.

"The process outlined by the Indian High Commission is clear, the special visas will only be processed and issued if the applicants apply with tickets for the venues they want to travel to," the source disclosed.

"The problem facing the PCB and the travel agencies is that since they haven't got the tickets as yet from the BCCI, they can't process any of the requests."

Another source said the BCCI had recommended names of some hotels where the Pakistani visitors can stay during their visit to India but even they are not yet complete.

"The main problem is that the PCB has only authorised these three travel agencies to deal with requests for the matches in India. And until they don't have the tickets, they can't do anything," he said.

The source feared that with time running out, the requests may have to be diverted to the last two ODIs particularly the last one in Delhi [ Images ].

"The PCB will only know how many tickets the BCCI has allocated for each venue when they get the tickets," the source said.

The Pakistan team is due to leave for India on Saturday for the long-awaited series that will last till January 6.

The source said the PCB was constantly reminding the BCCI to send the tickets.

I hope all of them are screened for polio. We wiped it out with great effort. Don't want these buggers to come and unravel the whole campaign. :evil:

kenop wrote:I hope paki gormind listens to them or they don't allow the disgusting thing to happen
The Taliban on Saturday described the Pakistani cricket team's tour of India as a "disgusting gesture" and held out the threats of violence against India.

In a statement emailed to journalists, Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan spokesman Ihsanullah Ihsan said the "visit of Pakistani team to India is a disgusting gesture. Pakistan's government is doing all this on the orders of their god America and in fear of India".

He held out a threat of violence against India.

"God willing, mujahideen of Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan will soon clear the debt of blood of martyrs with India".

In the statement titled 'Forgetting the blood of Kashmiris?', Ihsan said the Pakistani cricket team is visiting at a time when "India is the one forbidding Kashmiri Muslim nation to freedom".

Ihsan further claimed that "they (India) are also due to pay for the blood of our hero, Shaheed Ajmal Qasab".

The Pakistani Taliban had last month threatened to target Indians in retaliation for the execution of Ajmal Kasab, the lone surviving Pakistani terrorist involved in the 2008 Mumbai attacks.
Here is the 24ct proof. The Indians who oppose cricket ties with Pakistan == paki Taliban.

Now that we took care of Yindutva terrorists, we should go ahead with the Indo-Pak krikket series.

Sachin is not playing the pakis. I get a feeling he announced retirement to avoid playing the pakis. He could have made this series into his last one, but instead he chose to retire before it. Maybe he read this thread... 8)

The sale of tickets for the Chennai ODI is attracting large crowds today. I heard one person say on TV that there is always stiff competition 'between brothers' and so the match would be interesting to watch. Simply pathetic.

Somehow i have never felt that Cricket with Paki's has helped India-Pak relations, and this is the very basis because of which GoI/ BCCI thinks Indo Pak cricket ties will improve things. The Jihadi hatred is clearly visible in many Paki players..matches are not played in the spirit of the game, but as if the culmination is an endorsement of Jihad by Paki's over SDRE Hindu Baniya types. The matches irrespective of results always to me tries and reinforces that perspective. Whether it's Imran, Inzamam, Waqar leading they all play with that fervor. Somehow i don't like competiting against a Jihadi in a possible win or loss situation. I want to jihadi mindset types kicked and only kicked, not given the benefit of competition which the BCCI and Aman types think helps. Did not all major terror strikes in India take place when Cricket ties were alive and well? Hence over the years personally i have hardly been patronizing Indo-Pak cricket, even where India gave a major whopping to the Jihadi types. The second reason is security. There is always the element that the Pakis will try to embarrass India in India by creating a major security incident. Why take that risk for these Paki's.