The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
darshhan wrote:Even feminists in US do not seem much concerned about rapes and violence against women from a moral point of view. It is almost like they have actually accepted threat of rape and violence as an inseperable part of women's life.
Eh what?
This is my observation and I could be wrong. What I meant is that feminists is US are more interested in Legislation aspect(law and order) and Political correctness rather than moral or charater aspect. The problem with this approach is that already 3.1% of US population is under correctional supervision(probation, parole or prison) as per wikipedia and yet number of crimes including rapes, trafficking etc are extremely high. With the US economy under growing pressure this situation is unsustainable.
If the moral code of the society is broken, no police force/judiciary/regulations etc can ensure the basic safety and security that we take granted for. All these tools will simply be swamped.
darshhan wrote:Even feminists in US do not seem much concerned about rapes and violence against women from a moral point of view. It is almost like they have actually accepted threat of rape and violence as an inseperable part of women's life.
Eh what?
Maybe he means the bestial Texas Gangrape and murder case.....Did American feminists make as much of an issue of it in American media as Indian feminists (both men and women) have justifiably done so in the Delhi case?
Arjun wrote:
Maybe he means the bestial Texas Gangrape and murder case.....Did American feminists make as much of an issue of it in American media as Indian feminists (both men and women) have justifiably done so in the Delhi case?
In India not just feminist brigade but even the normal population is outraged at such a violent incident. In US even the feminists are not outraged.
Advait wrote:eklavya, so what you are saying is that we should have another committee, run by self-appointed community leaders and NGOs, and women quota (aurat hi aurat ka dard samjti hai attitude).
How will that system be any better.
Having elected sheriffs/police chief every year will be more direct and democratic = more efficient and honest
Elected Police chief ==Politician ==More Efficient and honest.
Advait wrote:eklavya, so what you are saying is that we should have another committee, run by self-appointed community leaders and NGOs, and women quota (aurat hi aurat ka dard samjti hai attitude).
How will that system be any better.
Having elected sheriffs/police chief every year will be more direct and democratic = more efficient and honest
Elected Police chief ==Politician ==More Efficient and honest.
Good logic.
Definitely more accountable than the appointed ones .
This electing of Police Chiefs is peculiar to USA. It not a good system and often plays to the prejudices to the electing crowd, exactly the wrong thing to do in India. It often results in un-qualified folks and down right crazies getting elected.
Witness one Joe Arapaio of Arizona, who harasses poor illegal immigrant essentially because he is a vicious bully and the population wants them to self deport. Not wise to follow USA in this department.
----------------------------------------------
I agree with ravig on this.
Note that the lower middle class / non-english speaking crowd is a complete no show at these protests. They are the vast majority of Delhi.
No for most of the lower communities the status of women is NOT an issue at all. They are firmly second class and there are no issues about this. I have not seen any protests organized by the lower class women around here.
It is only folks like me who are unable to return to India permanently due to the daily harassment who feel takleff.
Theo_Fidel wrote:
Note that the lower middle class / non-english speaking crowd is a complete no show at these protests. They are the vast majority of Delhi.
Certainly not true.
It is only folks like me who are unable to return to India permanently due to the daily harassment who feel takleff.
People like you dont feel daily harassment in India, come on. This one wont wash. You are not the lower middle class crowd (assuming we agree that lower classes have it more difficult in some senses)
For those still not convinced how Bollywood Iconized pestering is taking it's toll here's todays score from UP:
A girl suffered 90 per cent burn injuries after allegedly being set on fire by a man at Loharra village in Hathras district on Tuesday. The only fault of the girl was that she objected to pestering by the man. While the victim is said to be battling for life in a hospital associated with the medical college affiliated to Aligarh Muslim University, the police have not taken any action against the accused so far. According to reports, the accused, Arjun, who is already married, was stalking and pestering the girl since long.
"The youth had asked the woman to marry him but she turned down the proposition. Spurned, he started threatening her, but she ignored them. On Monday night, when the woman was on her way home from Thane station, Kave attacked her. Injured on her neck and hands, she is being treated in hospital," he said.
Meanwhile, Mumbai Cops try their best to regress and segregate society as best they can while spurned men slash victims and throw acid..
Mumbai police is at it again. Despite drawing widespread condemnation in recent times for their highhandedness, misplaced priorities and political kowtowing, the Mulund police rounded up 16 couples aged between 15 and 24 from a public garden adjoining the Sanjay Gandhi National Park (SGNP) over the weekend and marched them to the police station.
I think Harbans ji had posted sometime back a hypothesis - that crimes against women of higher severity is proportional to, or a fixed percentage of, crimes against women of lower severity...I am not sure if that hypothesis holds in its entirety in the case of India.
Yes, there has to be a link with low level lewd behavior to these bus, car drag girl and rape type cases for certain. I posted the Normal Accident Theory to provide an analogy. Safety was considerably enhanced in Industrial and Mission critical environs by focusing on the low level minor accidents and documenting these carefully across the industry. By focusing on them and documenting them correctly, many Industries achieved near zero causalities due to safety incidents. I am certain that someone who has made lewdness a habit, in X times of lewdness has sexually tried to force himself to some extent a percentage of that x times. And for x times that he has tried to force himself to an extent, possible once it would translate to a rape. And in a group the percent figures will go sharply up. Hence if we correct low level lewdness we might be looking at one key solution to curbing violence against women.
One little incident from 2 weeks ago. My wife & I were at an internet cafe in Chattisgarh. Local banda shows up and sits next his 'friend' but really closer to my wife. Slowly he starts moving his arms and sliding over. I noticed this, being the finely tuned 'protective' Indian male. And marched in their to evict the banda. Internet cafe owner, local Punjabi practicing Sikh, got mad at me for walking in with my slippers on. He definitely knew what was going on but subtly encouraged it. This is in his own business mind you. And some one my wife's family knew directly, next to their house. I read them both the riot act and behaved unfortunately like the classic offensive NRI type.
Another one from yesterday, I was in front of the Vadapalani Temple at 3:00 PM with my wife. For some reason I had stepped into a shop and my wife was standing by the road. Local taxi wallah shows up, notices my wife standing, crosses all the way to the wrong side, brings the car right up to my wife, bumps her and beeep beeeeep beeep, tries to show her who is boss. I ran down their and once he realized I was her husband and 6'-5" and coming for his ass, the little 5' pip squeak panicked, ran over a hawkers blanket of toys and made a get away.
I could go on and on and on....
Indian women put up with a LOT of nonsense.
chaanakya wrote:
Elected Police chief ==Politician ==More Efficient and honest==More Accountable
Theek Hai
bhai.
Chanakya ji, you didn't get my point. Yes Politicians are corrupt and inefficient and they are also not accountable. Indeed elections are unable to stop the rot in our political class. But then if we do some homework we can create a much better framework for electing Police chiefs. Some points in support of electing police chiefs.
1. A police chief has a specific task. To reduce Crime and increasing safety of the population while maintaining the freedoms accorded to the people by the constitution. His work or lack of it will be immediately visible. Hence one can define accountability in the case of a police chief. Now contrast this with the role of a politician which is harder to define.
2. A police chief is responsible for a particular area only. In contrast a politician can have overlapping interests.
3. With respect to police chief elections, they do not have to be spaced after 5 yrs. 3 Yrs spacing between such elections should be maximum. Plus recall option should be there.
Theo_Fidel wrote:
Witness one Joe Arapaio of Arizona, who harasses poor illegal immigrant essentially because he is a vicious bully and the population wants them to self deport. Not wise to follow USA in this department.
Wish we had leaders who did the same when it came to continued demographic conquest of Assam and West Bengal by Bangladeshi islamists.
Theo_Fidel wrote:
Totally wrong. It is actually lower middle class which is sustaining these protests. Look at the video of the protestor who tried to save the dead cop.
Sorry, instead of finding a solution to safety, we have gotten into comparison with other nations. Why is this? why not then compare about law and order, policies, process and other democratic merit based social living?
The problem here is what we need to resolve, and stop this comparison that our evil is better than your evil. We should see how we can be better than other nations rather, so that should be all the comparison about.
Long way to go... even in this thread. what are we talking?
Will the protests against the Delhi gang rape reach rural India?
In the backwaters of India, in rural areas still governed by feudal mindsets, rapes and gang rapes continue with impunity. The candle flame wave being carried through Delhi’s foggy, winter nights is not reaching this India.
Western media reports have claimed that this incident has "shaken India" and "left a country in a crisis". But which India are they talking about? It is the urban, educated, mostly middle class India that is revealing a visibly scarred conscience. Away from there, in the backwaters of the country, in rural areas still governed by feudal mindsets, off the nation’s radar, rapes and gang rapes continue with impunity. The candle flame wave being carried through Delhi’s foggy, winter nights is not reaching this India.
Long unaddressed social, cultural and economic issues are the cause of this disconnect. The alleged perpetrators of the Delhi gang rape come from the underbelly of Indian society; from India’s slums - notorious for their poverty and squalor. Their questioning by police has revealed dysfunctional and apathetic childhoods.
Despite the ‘India rising’ story of the last few years, the country retains an entrenched patriarchal mindset, which extends from the home to institutional settings. From the very outset, the socialisation of women in the domestic space is redolent of unabashedly misogynistic practices. Akin to the submissive role Indian Goddesses play to their husbands in popular Hindu mythology, Indian women remain subaltern to their husbands. A city domestic worker’s comments, justifying her husband’s violence towards her, are telling: ‘My husband is good. But if I don’t obey, ofcourse he’ll beat me up. That is nothing unusual."
According to the National Crime Records Bureau’s data for 2011, in 94.2% cases the perpetrator of a rape is known to the victim. This abhorrent statistic evidences reprehensible, familial patriarchal attitudes. Disconcertingly, women themselves sometimes encourage the notion of the inherent superiority of men. This plays out in the importance they ascribe to the raising of their sons as compared to that of their daughters. Mothers giving their sons preferential treatment is common practice.
Sons are viewed as a blessing, daughters a scourge. So the birth of a son is celebrated. He is viewed as an asset: on marriage, he will add to the family’s finances by way of his bride’s dowry. (Dowry, the material wealth gifted to the bride, groom and the groom’s family by the bride’s family– a social practice unarguably demeaning to women, is still widely practiced. This abhorrent practice reduces a woman to a liability to be transferred from father to husband.) Dowry related deaths and female foeticides remain rampant in India.
There is also institutional collusion in the abasement of women. India’s unequivocally sexist rape laws are a case in point. When a rape happens the victim is viewed as a repository of shame, when really the moniker ought to be accorded to the perpetrators. When rape cases come to the fore, the laws are framed so that it is routinely the behaviour of the woman which is scrutinised and pilloried not that of the assailant. Consequently, rather than the laws being a deterrent for the perpetrators, they become a deterrent for the victim to report the case. Unsurprisingly, an FIR (a first hand report made to the police) is filed in only 12% of the cases.
To tackle India’s disgraceful record of crimes against women, we must address these systemic issues. The recent events have provided a rallying call to those who want the country's malfunctioning and indolent judicial system reformed. The public are demanding fast track courts to try those accused of rape. But in a country where there are 12 judges for a million people, any gains in speed of rape cases would come at the cost of other trials. What is needed is a comprehensive reform of the judicial system that sees it being better financed. Currently, a very miniscule percentage of the GDP is spent on the judiciary.
Better and fairer legislation, judicial reform, more female police officers (a dismal 7% of India’s police officers are women) are more immediate measures to tackle the rise in crimes against women. But simultaneously and most crucially, the prevailing medieval attitudes towards women have to be challenged, contested and transformed.
Theo_Fidel wrote:
Indian women put up with a LOT of nonsense.
Well, hard luck Theo, you seem to be getting more than your fair share of trouble. However I still will not take your personal experiences and generally extrapolate it.
Also I am surprised, generally the typical NRI types are rarely in a situation where they attract the kind of attention you talk of. Certainly not in character.
Sanku wrote:Also I am surprised, generally the typical NRI types are rarely in a situation where they attract the kind of attention you talk of. Certainly not in character.
Actually, I see this harassment around me all the time, people in India are inured to it.
Theo_Fidel wrote:
It seems to suggest that these protests were only in Delhi, where as any number of smaller towns saw the protests. Perhaps it did not occur in the particular neck of woods in S. Tn that is your touch stone (which is fine btw) ---- however, it sounds slightly unreasonable to say that the issue was not taken up overall.
Sanku wrote:Also I am surprised, generally the typical NRI types are rarely in a situation where they attract the kind of attention you talk of. Certainly not in character.
Actually, I see this harassment around me all the time, people in India are inured to it.
Yes Theo, everyone is not a realized soul that you are, you have seen the light.
Others are idiots.
You only know -- you actually have seen the other world, others are not so lucky na.
Theo_Fidel wrote:Whats with the personal attacks Sanku?
Does not become you.
No personal attack Theo, I just threw up my hands at your saying that you can see things but others cant -- what can I say to that. You are right we are wrong, we are just inured after all, right?
Seriously do you even see what you are saying here? I think you should introspect, you are taking your own narrow personal experiences and projecting it, at the same time you are running down Indians in general.
If Indians are indeed as at odds with your perspective, perhaps it is better that you don't speak for them or worry about them at all? Seriously.
Because it clearly seem that what you think is good for India and what you think of India is not going to be taken to kindly. (and please dont tell me that you are the ONE and others need to be educated -- such arrogance is not becoming on you)
In the backwaters of India, in rural areas still governed by feudal mindsets, rapes and gang rapes continue with impunity. The candle flame wave being carried through Delhi’s foggy, winter nights is not reaching this India.
Western media reports have claimed that this incident has "shaken India" and "left a country in a crisis". But which India are they talking about? It is the urban, educated, mostly middle class India that is revealing a visibly scarred conscience. Away from there, in the backwaters of the country, in rural areas still governed by feudal mindsets, off the nation’s radar, rapes and gang rapes continue with impunity. The candle flame wave being carried through Delhi’s foggy, winter nights is not reaching this India.
Long unaddressed social, cultural and economic issues are the cause of this disconnect. The alleged perpetrators of the Delhi gang rape come from the underbelly of Indian society; from India’s slums - notorious for their poverty and squalor. Their questioning by police has revealed dysfunctional and apathetic childhoods.
Despite the ‘India rising’ story of the last few years, the country retains an entrenched patriarchal mindset, which extends from the home to institutional settings. From the very outset, the socialisation of women in the domestic space is redolent of unabashedly misogynistic practices. Akin to the submissive role Indian Goddesses play to their husbands in popular Hindu mythology, Indian women remain subaltern to their husbands. A city domestic worker’s comments, justifying her husband’s violence towards her, are telling: ‘My husband is good. But if I don’t obey, ofcourse he’ll beat me up. That is nothing unusual."
According to the National Crime Records Bureau’s data for 2011, in 94.2% cases the perpetrator of a rape is known to the victim. This abhorrent statistic evidences reprehensible, familial patriarchal attitudes. Disconcertingly, women themselves sometimes encourage the notion of the inherent superiority of men. This plays out in the importance they ascribe to the raising of their sons as compared to that of their daughters. Mothers giving their sons preferential treatment is common practice.
Sons are viewed as a blessing, daughters a scourge. So the birth of a son is celebrated. He is viewed as an asset: on marriage, he will add to the family’s finances by way of his bride’s dowry. (Dowry, the material wealth gifted to the bride, groom and the groom’s family by the bride’s family– a social practice unarguably demeaning to women, is still widely practiced. This abhorrent practice reduces a woman to a liability to be transferred from father to husband.) Dowry related deaths and female foeticides remain rampant in India.
There is also institutional collusion in the abasement of women. India’s unequivocally sexist rape laws are a case in point. When a rape happens the victim is viewed as a repository of shame, when really the moniker ought to be accorded to the perpetrators. When rape cases come to the fore, the laws are framed so that it is routinely the behaviour of the woman which is scrutinised and pilloried not that of the assailant. Consequently, rather than the laws being a deterrent for the perpetrators, they become a deterrent for the victim to report the case. Unsurprisingly, an FIR (a first hand report made to the police) is filed in only 12% of the cases.
To tackle India’s disgraceful record of crimes against women, we must address these systemic issues. The recent events have provided a rallying call to those who want the country's malfunctioning and indolent judicial system reformed. The public are demanding fast track courts to try those accused of rape. But in a country where there are 12 judges for a million people, any gains in speed of rape cases would come at the cost of other trials. What is needed is a comprehensive reform of the judicial system that sees it being better financed. Currently, a very miniscule percentage of the GDP is spent on the judiciary.
Better and fairer legislation, judicial reform, more female police officers (a dismal 7% of India’s police officers are women) are more immediate measures to tackle the rise in crimes against women. But simultaneously and most crucially, the prevailing medieval attitudes towards women have to be challenged, contested and transformed.
Something more important than candle flame is reaching interiors too. New Perceptions. The new generation has started to perceive women differently compared to oldies. This change is mostly positive. Perhaps you are unable to see it.
Change takes its own time. India including North India has started changing. People have started throwing the shackles that were introduced due to islamic invasions. Yes there are hindrances. Moral and Character development is not exactly the highest priority for our education system. Commodification of women is rife in mass media. But despite all this we are making progress.
Of course you can always argue based on a certain outlier events.
Last edited by darshhan on 01 Jan 2013 18:19, edited 1 time in total.
Sanku wrote:Because it clearly seem that what you think is good for India and what you think of India is not going to be taken to kindly.
Maaf kee jiye, boss. Not running down Indians at all.
The reason I post on this forum is so I can talk to other Indians without being PC. In my real life I and most folks can't say a word and must meekly 'adjust' onlee. I think like me, folks see stuff but are helpless.
In 3 days my family will leave and I have to head into the heart of S.TN for the next 3 months. So please bear with me as I post more nonsense questionable stuff that I see and hear there.
darshhan wrote:
Chanakya ji, you didn't get my point. Yes Politicians are corrupt and inefficient and they are also not accountable. Indeed elections are unable to stop the rot in our political class. But then if we do some homework we can create a much better framework for electing Police chiefs. Some points in support of electing police chiefs.
1. A police chief has a specific task. To reduce Crime and increasing safety of the population while maintaining the freedoms accorded to the people by the constitution. His work or lack of it will be immediately visible. Hence one can define accountability in the case of a police chief. Now contrast this with the role of a politician which is harder to define.
2. A police chief is responsible for a particular area only. In contrast a politician can have overlapping interests.
3. With respect to police chief elections, they do not have to be spaced after 5 yrs. 3 Yrs spacing between such elections should be maximum. Plus recall option should be there.
Guys feel free to add to these points.
A pitfall comes to mind.
What would stop the police chief from playing vote bank politics? The problem with current police system is the political influence. How would directly making them politicians remove the influence?
Today known criminals are not hanged after court sentences because of vote banks. Tomorrow, known criminals won't even be arrested and investigated even if the Govt of the day may be pushing for it.
Electing police chiefs is similar to outsourcing police work to private enterprises. Communities rich in votes or money will be the only ones protected.
For this to be even thought of we would first require a change in our voting system. If voting for the public is made mandatory and the winner is selected after receiving more than 50% of the votes, then maybe it could work.....
Theo_Fidel wrote: So please bear with me as I post more nonsense questionable stuff that I see and hear there.
Well Theo take care that you dont turn into a "gutter inspector" type of mold and since we are not being PC -- I must say quite often you do sound some thing like would warm the cockles of a typical Macaulay like Brit.
Be careful where you are going is what I would say.
What would stop the police chief from playing vote bank politics? The problem with current police system is the political influence. How would directly making them politicians remove the influence?
Today known criminals are not hanged after court sentences because of vote banks. Tomorrow, known criminals won't even be arrested and investigated even if the Govt of the day may be pushing for it.
Electing police chiefs is similar to outsourcing police work to private enterprises. Communities rich in votes or money will be the only ones protected.
For this to be even thought of we would first require a change in our voting system. If voting for the public is made mandatory and the winner is selected after receiving more than 50% of the votes, then maybe it could work.....
Yogendra ji, Identity and vote bank politics is the 800 pound guerrilla that will always be present when we talk of electoral conditions. Yes there is every chance that vote bank politics will be brought into such contests. We can only hope that since security is a basic need for population they will or will eventually rise above identity politics and will vote for the right person.
Secondly since this is a specialized job, electorate should be able to benchmark candidates against certain parameters and thus gauge their suitabilty. In comparison when legislative or parliamentary elections are held, voters think " all the candidates are corrupt so I vote for my own caste" . While electing police chiefs/sheriffs this scenario should be avoided.
I will think of other points. In my opinion this is actually a better option for Policing.
Six people were arrested and a hunt was on for four others over a woman’s gang rape in Tamil Nadu, police said Wednesday.
The 20-year-old was raped on Monday near Virudhachalam town. The incident came to light on Tuesday evening after she lodged a complaint.
“Six people have been remanded and we are on the lookout for the remaining four,” a police official in Virudhachalam told IANS.
The 10 accused attacked and gang raped the victim when she was talking to a male relative, police said. Her relative was tied up before the sexual assault.
This urge to post every other rape case in India should best be avoided here at BRF. And anyway it is not the right forum or thread to do so. People who wish to know can find out on various news aggregator websites.
We as Indians know the extent of problems that India faces and we should strive to correct them instead of sensationalizing events like our brain dead leftist bufoons in media and elsewhere. Whose only motto is " Never let a Crisis go waste"
With furore that's going on regaring the Delhi rape+murder case, one group that's been totally silent is the honorable judges and justices of the Indian judicial system. Has anyone seen/read any statement from the honorable Chief Justice of India? Or from someone lower in the rungs of the judicial heirarchy?
Has anyone come forward (even a retired judge) saying that the judicial system, as it currently stands may have contributed to the problem? Their total silence is deafening. All that has happened is that a commission has been set up (Justice Verma) and he'll give his report 3 months hence- because he's been asked to.
Why the silence from the rest? Their comment is very relevant and important to the national debate on this topic. I would argue that it is even central to the national debate on handling this issue of rape/murder-how is a rape case is tried and why does it take so long, is something that the judiciary owes an answer to the rest of the country. My question to them is: can the judiciary fix their own problem? If they can, the should say how, and get on with it. If they cannot, then it is their duty to come out and say that it is out of their hands.
Last edited by SriKumar on 01 Jan 2013 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
chaanakya wrote:
Elected Police chief ==Politician ==More Efficient and honest==More Accountable
Theek Hai
bhai.
Chanakya ji, you didn't get my point. Yes Politicians are corrupt and inefficient and they are also not accountable. Indeed elections are unable to stop the rot in our political class. But then if we do some homework we can create a much better framework for electing Police chiefs. Some points in support of electing police chiefs. .
We can create much better framework but as always we dont seem to be doing it. There is gap in theory and practice.
SriKumar wrote:With furore that's going on regaring the Delhi rape+murder case, one group that's been totally silent is the honorable judges and justices of the Indian judicial system. Has anyone seen/read any statement from the honorable Chief Justice of India? Or from someone lower in the rungs of the judicial heirarchy?
Has anyone come forward (even a retired judge) saying that the judicial system, as it currently stands may have contributed to the problem? Their total silence is deafening. All that has happened is that a commission has been set up (Justice Verma) and he'll give his report 3 months hence- because he's been asked to.
Why the silence from the rest? Their comment is very relevant and important to the national debate on this topic. I would argue that it is even central to the debate on solutions-how is a rape case is tried and why does it take so long, is something that the judiciary owes an answer to the rest of the country. My question to them is: can the judiciary fix their own problem? If they can, the should say how, and get on with it. If they cannot, then it is their duty to come out and say that it is out of their hands.
Good point. Delhi High Court is monitoring the case. SC has directed all High Courts to issue instructions to all sessions courts to conduct day to day hearings and refrain from adjouring the case on frivolous grounds under 309 of CrPC. It has observed that if witnesses are present all efforts should be made to record their statement in Examination in chief and cross examination and reexamination . It has put blame on Advocates who seek adjournment on false/frivolous pretext.
The Bench, referring to regular adjournments being sought, said: “We are distressed to note that it is almost a common practice and regular occurrence that trial courts flout the said command with impunity. Even when witnesses are present, cases are adjourned on far less serious reasons or even on flippant grounds.”
Adjournments were granted for the asking, quite often to suit the convenience of the advocate, the Bench said. “We make it clear that the legislature has frowned upon granting adjournments on that ground. At any rate, inconvenience of an advocate is not a ‘special reason’ for bypassing the mandate of Section 309 of the Cr.PC [power to court to adjourn proceedings].”
The Bench directed all High Courts to issue circulars to subordinate courts to strictly adhere to the prescribed procedure to ensure speedy trial and also rule out any manoeuvring taking place by granting an undue, long adjournment for the mere asking. “When witnesses of a party are present, the court should make every possible endeavour to record their evidence and they should not be called back again. Work fixation of the court should be so arranged as not to direct the presence of witnesses whose evidence cannot be recorded. Similarly, cross-examination should be complete immediately after the examination-in-chief and, if need be, within a short time thereafter. No long adjournment should be allowed.”
SC cant issue statements like others can do. But They have issued enough directions to executives to do their work rightly only political class doesnt seem to get its act together.
Clearly that is not enough.
Last edited by chaanakya on 01 Jan 2013 19:51, edited 1 time in total.
I think it is high time that Section 309 of CrPC is amended to take away the power of court to adjourn the hearing. But then we need more judges ( about five times of present numbers ) and Political executives are sitting on that recommendations of Law Commission. It suits them. If cases are decided then many of them can not get elected since they would get sentenced to jail for more than three years term. Once convicted they cant stand for election.
I think there is need to do some reforms in election laws as well.
SriKumar wrote:With furore that's going on regaring the Delhi rape+murder case, one group that's been totally silent is the honorable judges and justices of the Indian judicial system. Has anyone seen/read any statement from the honorable Chief Justice of India? Or from someone lower in the rungs of the judicial heirarchy?
Why the silence from the rest? Their comment is very relevant and important to the national debate on this topic. I would argue that it is even central to the national debate on handling this issue of rape/murder-how is a rape case is tried and why does it take so long, is something that the judiciary owes an answer to the rest of the country. My question to them is: can the judiciary fix their own problem? If they can, the should say how, and get on with it. If they cannot, then it is their duty to come out and say that it is out of their hands.
Sri Kumar, The silence or noise is created by media. Don't read too much into it. Until unless media gives space to judges how can one know what they are thinking.