Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

Am I finding a great deal of pseudosecularity on the forum or have I missed the posts. What were the released names, occupations and what geographic region do they appear to be from. Any pix?

The six men who had gangraped and then murderously assaulted the 23-year-old paramedical student have been charged with murder following the death of the girl at a Singapore hospital early on Saturday morning. All of them have been arrested and five of them, who are above the age of 18 years, sent to Tihar Jail while the sixth accused has been sent to a judicial remand home as he has claimed that he is a minor.
The six accused are Ram Singh, Mukesh Singh, Vinay Sharma, Pawan Gupta, Akshay Singh alias Thakur and a boy claiming to be minor. Ram Singh used to drive the bus inside which the girl was raped and beaten up with an iron rod along with her male friend who tried to save her. Ram Singh is the main accused in the case and Mukesh is his brother and used to work as a cleaner.
Vinay Sharma is an assistant gym instructor and Pawan Gupta is a fruit seller. The bus in which the horrific crime was committed was tracked down to Delhi's RK Puram, Sector 3. While Ram Singh was arrested from RK Puram, his brother Mukesh was arrested from Rajasthan. Vinay Sharma and Pawan Gupta were also arrested from RK Puram. Akshay Singh alias Thakur was tracked to Bihar and arrested while the minor accused was arrested from his native place in Uttar Pradesh.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-new ... 82392.aspx
Anatomy of the gangrape accused:

Ram Singh, 33
Bus driver for two schools in Delhi and Noida each

Marital Status: Single

Role: Main accused.

A local bully in south Delhi's Ravi Das slum cluster, he was drunk at the time of the incident and triggered the altercation which snowballed into the horror

Details: Was tracked using CCTV footage of the bus Status: Arrested, claims to have 'remorse', sent to 14- day judicial custody.

Mukesh Singh, 31
Driver-cum-cleaner

Role: Was driving the bus. He is the younger brother of Ram Singh. He assaulted the girl and later attempted to destroy evidence

Details: Was among the only remaining family member that Ram Singh had left at the slum cluster

Pawan Gupta, 18
Fruit vendor

Role: He assaulted the victim's friend. He also helped in throwing the couple off the vehicle.

Details: Lived in Ravi Das camp with his family. He quit studies after Class 9. His mother maintains that he was not friends with the other accused.

Status: Arrested, expressed 'remorse' for assault, says did not rape the girl.

Vijay Sharma, 20
Assistant trainer in a gym

Role: He brutally assaulted the girl's friend before sexually assaulting her. Had held him down as others beat him with iron rod.

Details: Was nabbed from his house in Ravi Das camp a day after the incident.

Status: Arrested, admitted to his involvement and sought capital punishment.

A juvenile
Name withheld. Cleaner-cum-helper

Role: Among the three persons who most demonically assaulted the girl. He solicited the couple on to the bus. He sexually assaulted her and kept brutalising her even after she lost consciousness.

Details: A runaway from a broken home, he was nabbed from Anand Vihar ISBT Status: Produced at Juvenile Justice Board.

Akshay Kr Singh, 20
Helper on Ram Singh's bus

Marital Status: Married, with two children

Role: Cooked food for Ram Singh's alcohol-fuelled 'party' on the fateful afternoon. Was the second man to have sexually assaulted the victim.

Details: Police nabbed him from his native village in Bihar's Aurangabad

If looked at from a law & order standpoint then the 6 (7? - whatever) + the beat cop, not on police duty mind you but on hafta collection(self before service) duty are directly culpable.

Specifically and for this particular case, it is clear that if the beat cop had done his job this girl would not have been raped on that bus and that she would not have died that night.

Additionally, the IG of DP must at the very least take the moral blame for failure of leadership. Fat chance of all this happening.

If we look at it beyond this specific case to the phenomena of the sickening frequency and of rapes then it is more than a law and order issue.

Its becomes a social issue and all agencies that participate in and have an influence over society must be critically examined.

Other than the list above, I do not hold any one responsible for the girls brutal gang rape & torture leading to her death. Neither the Dad who sends his daughter to study Engineering nor any NGO.

They are elements of a larger social structure

It is in this context that many NGO's who could potentially have considerable influence are found lacking. They are more interested for all sorts of reasons in maintaining the status quo or at least not taking leadership a position in changing the status-quo.

The French girl who I mentioned earlier had a mind of her own and ws not the one who would take being treated the way she was lightly (Jane do, hamse bade hain, swami antaryami hain issliye chhod do ) types. The particular NGO had a pattern of similar behaviour to anyone who was not submissive and servile.

Eventually the NGO was black listed by the college and will not be getting any more interns from this college. It is a significant blot & a blow to an NGO which is already under resourced. The people who remain there there are mostly "Yes sir" types. Do this - "Yes Sir". That man is bad "Yes Sir", At 2:00 PM - Do not leave until I come "Yes Sir" eventually comes at 2:00 AM. Yes man has not moved till then.

As for my predicament, the "poor Baba's" as somebody has called them were hardly poor baba's. These are well educated, articulate men of God I am talking about.

When institutions who have the intellect, capacity and resources to set a standard are found lacking then where is the leadership going to come from?I find it very difficult to take everything else they say seriously when the basic fundamentals of humane and civil behaviour are found wanting.

When the senior Doctor saw me, I did not get ay much kindness- I was tottering on my feet, giddy and all I got was a hectoring along the lines of "This is what happens when you don't follow instructions" IOW you have a mind of your own, you therefore, asked for it now you suffer! And the hoi polloi queue for blessings. I find it ironic.

I do not agree with the attitude that some things, people and institutions are above reproach simply because they carry a certain name, were founded by so and so or have a large following.

Moving on the depraved orgy continues:

Parents want gang rapists hanged
Further attacks sparked fresh demonstrations in two other cities - on opposite sides of the country. In Jagannathpur in West Bengal, a 45-year-old woman was raped by six men before being beaten to death and her body dumped. When her husband tried to stop the attack he was beaten and fed poison.

In Ahmedabad, in Gujarat, a 14-year-old girl who was kidnapped and raped by two men attempted suicide on Sunday.
Very Painful but true.
The Hindu newspaper said attention on the Delhi rape victim, and on subsequent attacks, had forced India to examine the ''ugly, rotting interior of our society … the culture of patriarchy that produces, sanctions and makes excuses for violence against women''.
I camped in Mirzapur district for 4 days (that's all I could take) and visited many villages. I was lucky in that I was able to freely enter any house that I wished and ask any questions that I liked which I did. The conditions of & attitudes towards women both by men and particularly by women is horrifying to say the least.

Conditions will improve for all once the conditions for a dalit/tribal, poor, quadriplegic woman with an un-married child, living in a remote village and diagnosed with and publicly known to all in the village as having AIDS improve. That is the standard - at least for me.

I feel this will peter out not because the families don;t feel the pain. It will peter precisely because families feel so much pain that they will hunker down. They know they cannot fight & beat the system so most will take a dim view of the women in their lives risking life limb and therefore, "ghar ki izzat" to participate in the change.

There is nothing more important than "ghar ki izzat" - every thing else is sub-ordinate to this.

They will check that house doors and windows are locked every 30 minutes and peer out of windows every now and then to see their particular house and family is safe. An enterprising family member may even check under the bed every so often.

Every wants change or indeed a revolution but everybody wants a Bhagat Singh or Jhansi ki Rani in their neigbours house - not their own.
Last edited by rahulm on 01 Jan 2013 11:05, edited 3 times in total.

Ram Singh's 2 room setup at Ravidas Camp, R. K. Puram Sec III

The minor being a Muslim is not such a big deal. We need to understand that in these parts Muslims ******** and Hindu ******** are pretty well mixed up. It is almost like the Mumbai underworld. There are more then enough such cases of crimes where religion was not in issue to begiin with. This is part of what I meant when in the Elections thread I mentioned that Yadavs in UP are like Mughals of yore. Also the 'Ravidass camp' could indicate some caste political angle too.

But now I understand why amongst the very first reportage by some English langage papers there was a big account of how the house of the adult guy Mahesh carried Gita and calenders of Hindu deities. If and to the extent Kongis are trying to hide the religion angle, I would not hold that against them. But the hipocracy is that it is these Kongis who have started and remained unrepentent about the whole social downfall.

Saale Mughal gaye, Angrez aaye, Angrez gaye to Kongressi aaye. Is it any wonder that everyone of these have established a constituency of 5th columnists in India.

The law and order problem (as distinct from harassment of women) is political in nature. Delhi has been a lawless city since 1984. The same networks that allowed the perpetrators of the anti-Sikh riots to go scot-free have been expanding into new avenues of business.

Re. rahulm ji - "As for my predicament, the "poor Baba's" as somebody has called them were hardly poor baba's. These are well educated, articulate men of God I am talking about."

So what you are also a well schooled man. What difference did that make. Dhak ke teen paat. You had one of your mates treated in a way you did not like and you could not find an L-spanner. Or did the two of you just went on to complete your kaar seva or internship or WT_?

Would you elaborate on your profession? Would you like to share what 'instructions' were given to you and in what context?

And the head baba not speaking with the poor french girl. Is that it? I guess he also gave her poor marks in her internship? Mean b_s_..d.

And now that you are in wonderland why do cannot you let us wallow in our misery? Is it because misery needs company?

vera_k wrote:The law and order problem (as distinct from harassment of women) is political in nature. Delhi has been a lawless city since 1984. The same networks that allowed the perpetrators of the anti-Sikh riots to go scot-free have been expanding into new avenues of business.

But you can have cake. Nahi kya?

DP and NCR region is properly de-sensitised by now to the less than secular concerns. (corrected)

What you may not have noticed (or probably you have) that for the last year and a half certain quaters in the city do not come out to protest even on what are apparently common grounds and even when all the protests take place in thier den.
Last edited by member_20317 on 01 Jan 2013 11:23, edited 2 times in total.

vera_k wrote:The law and order problem (as distinct from harassment of women) is political in nature. Delhi has been a lawless city since 1984. The same networks that allowed the perpetrators of the anti-Sikh riots to go scot-free have been expanding into new avenues of business.
Absolutely, the root of the problem.

When the big tree fell, it was something else that it shook.

What happened in 1984 after the riots that Delhi became a lawless city?
alexis

Post by alexis »

I am surprised at some posts in the forum trying to give a religious and conspiracy undertone to this unfortunate incident. Our society needs to change its behaviour to women. The concept of women being second class citizens is wide-spread not limited to a particular community or religion.

Only strong enforcement of law can prevent such incidents in the long run.

Post by Klaus »

De-moralizing time for all of us. One tends to agree with rahulm's undertone on righteousness being followed only in word but not in spirit. One feels that society is too far gone for any hope of reform, we can just work toward a total reset.

In-coherent thoughts and rants only, I'm afraid.
shyam

Post by shyam »

How come everybody is blaming the culture that is thousands of years old and nobody is blaming the bollywood that makes culture of violence cool?

A hedonist lifestyle is acceptable because this is what everybody wants to do and it is fashionable to have Sankhya bal in your favour if you are a secular guy. But when this very Sankhya Bal wants to do something to Dr. Frankenstien's fiancee, then the doctor acts like a lamb.

When moderation is advised it becomes a party pooping idea. So you must unleash a Honey Singh onto an unsuspecting population because they have such ideas in US and US is a benchmark for modernity. But when guys get ideas from Honey Singh and go overboard on a New year night then you have a hue and cry. How many around here have raised even a murmur against Honey Singhs. He is an upper cast b_s_a_d, does he have any kind of support amongst the conservative babas? It is the uber secular tequila shot college goers that are supporting him and the disco wale. And after this it are the new money b_s_a_ds supporting this nonsense and then following these two come the Ram Singhs/Mahesh Singhs.

The secularists need these lumpen elements because these control the voting booths so they would not do anything about them.

Bade wrote:habal, but looks alone can deceive you, though the resemblances to people from that region are strong.

When they released the names of the accused, some info on their day jobs (for schools) was also revealed. So can it be a total cover-up ? But not showing their pics, after taking care of the security of their immediate family, is something to dwell on. What are the motives ?
That is a legal procedure/requirement. Till they are identified in the TIP and court they should not be shown in pictures. Else defense would take the argument that they are framed and identified on basis of Pictures not by eyewitness. Of course it is one of the arguments and could be refuted by other evidence. yet case becomes little weak.

https://twitter.com/drshazianawaz/statu ... 60/photo/1

Another set of pictures I have seen.

Now this one is intriguing. It seems that the minor is being declared a minor based on some bone density test?
https://twitter.com/shalini_mishtie/sta ... 3106265088

https://twitter.com/ShivAroor/status/281980916790878208

5th accused in #DelhiGangrape case arrested. Mohammed Afroz alias Raju from Badaun. Breaking on #HeadlinesToday via @Ankit_Tyagi01

Anantha wrote:[url]http://www.hindustantimes.com/Indi ... 83362.aspx[/url]

Panic gripped the Ravidass Camp slum cluster in south Delhi’s RK Puram Sector 3 on Monday evening where some youth tried to bomb the house of prime accused in gangrape of a 23-year-old woman. Following the botched bid to explode crude bombs near the house of Ram Singh, local residents nabbed a man while his two accomplices managed to escape. The youth was later handed over to the police.

This case is getting weird by the day. We are unable to see all the facts.
why is the govt so scared that it shipped the families of victims out? Are any politician's sons involved in the rape and murder? What is being covered up?
Family has to perform other rituals, 13th day ceremony etc in her native village. One of the newsreports in The Hindu had statement of her uncle from Village to that effect. HT spin is unnecessary.

http://india.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/12/ ... -in-delhi/

This Tejindar Pal Singh Bagga is an interesting fellow. Shows his displeasure
kenop

Post by kenop »

VikramS wrote:http://india.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/12/ ... -in-delhi/

This Tejindar Pal Singh Bagga is an interesting fellow. Shows his displeasure
He is the guy who roughed up Prashant Bhushan for his Kashmir comment, went onstage to shout at Arundhati Roy and Geelani (?) at a IIC seminar last year.
In the recent times he has given up having such outbursts and goes the legal way (serving notices, sending representations and lodging FIRs) on stuff that bother him. He gave the first call for protest at India Gate. And, he is not mentioned anywhere in the Indian media.
https://twitter.com/tajinderbagga

The fear of a popular mass uprising as we are seeing in the Middle East and the overthrow of its corrupt ruling elite.It just needs one latter-day "Beant Singh" to send the country into chaos.The "Arab Spring" warnings have not been lost upon our ruling elite and as if in immediate answer to my post,Sharad Pawar has just accused the Congress of treating its UPA allies shabbily. Pawar has seen the "Modi finger's writ" ,apologies to Khayyam,the moving bus's rape,and is now preparing the groundwork to "move on" come the next hustings!
Last edited by Philip on 01 Jan 2013 15:41, edited 1 time in total.

कपिल यादव ‏@bkapilyadav
1 who cries 4 d safety of country will b in jail #ReleaseTajinder & 1 who make provocative speech will b free #ArrestOwaisi @tajinderbagga

Retweeted by Tajinder Pal S Bagga

VikramS wrote: Now this one is intriguing. It seems that the minor is being declared a minor based on some bone density test?
No. Not bone density. Growing bones (under the age of 16-18) show characteristic appearances on X rays which are unmistakable. When growth stops - those changes disappear soon so by age 18-20 they are all gone. In any case body size is recognizably smaller than adult size in people under 14 years of age.

Why not name and honour Delhi rape victim? Shashi Tharoor tweets

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 844967.cms
Tharoor, the minister of state for human resources development, also said the revised anti-rape legislation should be named after the victim if her parents do not have any objection.

"Wondering what interest is served by continuing anonymity of #DelhGangRape victim. Why not name&honour her as a real person w/own identity?" he asked on micro-blogging site Twitter.

"Unless her parents object, she should be honoured&the revised anti-rape law named after her. She was a human being w/a name,not just a symbol," Tharoor, who is known for speaking his mind, said.

Under the law, the identity of a rape victim cannot be disclosed and printing or publishing the name or any matter which may make known the identity of any person against whom rape is committed is an offence under section 228-A of Indian Penal Code.

KJoishy wrote:Not sure if her picture was posted here before.
What a sad story.

http://www.independentaustralia.net/Wor ... rbhaya.jpg
If this image purports to be one of the raped girl, the lower right inset (in hospital) is clearly fake. I can state several reasons, medical and otherwise as to why it is fake.
Indeed, the hospital picture is clearly fake
yogendra

Post by yogendra »

The picture is of a different victim.
http://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/ ... n-20100810
kenop

Post by kenop »

The hospital picture was used on hindustantimes clearly marked as "representation only" or something like that.

In honor of Sheila Dixit who is th CM while the offense was comitted, they should name the law after her! Or the Commissioner or Ommissioner.

Biggest Mystery question of the Year 2012 and not likely to be answered during 2013.

Who granted pardon to 6 Rapists cum murderers convicted and sentenced to Death upheld by SC.

Pratibha Patil The then President or P Chidambaram, The then Home Minister.

Congress has a lot to answer in either case.

Anyone remembers Bhanwari Devi Case. A Congress Minister in Rajasthan was booked who had illicit relation .

Now why would Congress want Death Punishment. Many of its Members would be facing certain gallows.

VikramS wrote: Now this one is intriguing. It seems that the minor is being declared a minor based on some bone density test?
No. Not bone density. Growing bones (under the age of 16-18) show characteristic appearances on X rays which are unmistakable. When growth stops - those changes disappear soon so by age 18-20 they are all gone. In any case body size is recognizably smaller than adult size in people under 14 years of age.
Shiv garu, I have that query for you. Can uterus be really taken out in that manner described in some reports?? Can you confirm?
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Thats exactly the tweet I made couple of days ago. If you want to implement chemical castration start from parliament.

On side note this whole chemical castration is sham. The effects wear out in 3 months. We need medicines that have permenent effect not just some hormonal suppression

From what this 'minor' has done looks his 'bone' density is adult only. Imagine this guy coming out after 3 years..too dangerous.

chaanakya wrote: Shiv garu, I have that query for you. Can uterus be really taken out in that manner described in some reports?? Can you confirm?
I did not read the reports but I read about some of the internal injuries and that a rod was pushed into the vagina. The uterus is connected to the outside by a tube called the vagina. That tube can be punctured by any sharp object. If you shove a metal rod up a vagina one can cause a horrific injury where the vagina gets internally ripped and detaches the uterus which can conceivably lie detached and free inside the abdominal cavity along with much bleeding. But what lies in there are intestines and their blood vessels which are even more delicate and can easily be ripped. Injury to the blood supply of the intestine could be the possible reason why the girl was left with dead intestines - most of which had to be removed leaving her in a state where she had only a few inches of intestine left. This condition has a very poor chance of survival - but it is not zero. Hence the talk of intestinal transplant. Infection sets in when the intestines are torn and hence the girl had infection. Shock, infection and multiple organ failure is the usual mode of death after such horrific injuries.

None of the rapists must be spared and they must not be killed. They must be made to suffer.

Let me add a pisko aside. When I joined medical college, all of us, fresh out of school, were thrown into a room full of preserved dead bodies which we later dissected. One classmate of mine, a minor (we were all under 18 then) used a dissection instrument to explore the vagina of one of the dead bodies. Needless to say, all that happened was that the instrument tore through the vagina and caused a puncture that was visible months later when we dissected and saw what was inside.

The point I want to make is that young people are curious about sexual organs and if you hide the idea of sex and suppress it, suppress talk of sex, cover up women, segregate men and women - you are only promoting curiosity to the extent that men will use their physical superiority to satisfy their curiosity and lust.

So much for burqas, hijabs and stopping girls from wearing skirts to school.

It is really sadistic/crude for a rapist to do such things on a person with no anesthesia. There are several psychos roaming around with no plans to arrest the psychos and put them in assylums.

chaanakya wrote:Why not name and honour Delhi rape victim? Shashi Tharoor tweets

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 844967.cms
Tharoor, the minister of state for human resources development, also said the revised anti-rape legislation should be named after the victim if her parents do not have any objection."Wondering what interest is served by continuing anonymity of #DelhGangRape victim. Why not name&honour her as a real person w/own identity?" he asked on micro-blogging site Twitter."Unless her parents object, she should be honoured&the revised anti-rape law named after her. She was a human being w/a name,not just a symbol," Tharoor, who is known for speaking his mind, said.Under the law, the identity of a rape victim cannot be disclosed and printing or publishing the name or any matter which may make known the identity of any person against whom rape is committed is an offence under section 228-A of Indian Penal Code.
The honor for the name must go to Chacha Parivar. Call it JLN Rape law.

Every time that i think of this incident i feel extremely sad and angry wondering how someone could do this to a lady. If given a choice i would say Chop of the hands/legs and toungue of the sadists and allow them to live. Then they would suffer for life for what they did to her

Was Pratibha on other channels?? which ones? who were the shameless ones and did they ask her about her pardons??

What if the juvenile's documents were fake to give the correct age? It appears from the description of events, he was the most active assaulter and rapist. There was a report from UCLA research that students were able to find age via DNA /saliva test - Not sure about the study and practice however. The point is, he should be tried like a normal criminal.

---> Soon, this thread will become outdated... and we will ask which rape?
yesterday: 17-year-old raped by two in Delhi on December 31 night /ToIlet.
Manny

Post by Manny »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city ... 848610.cms

New year, old shame: 17-year-old raped by two in Delhi on December 31 night

NEW DELHI: Just hours before Nirbhaya's ashes were immersed in the Ganga, a 17-year-old girl studying in class XI of a prominent south Delhi school was allegedly sedated and raped by two men at a New Year's party in the upscale Safdarjung Enclave area of south Delhi, police sources told TOI on Tuesday.

The two accused, who work in leading IT companies, were arrested late at night after the girl approached the police. They live in Sarojini Nagar with their families. Both are in their late 20s. While one is a computer engineer with an IT company, the other works in the HR department of a blue-chip tech and consulting multinational, an officer said.

The accused were produced in Saket court on Tuesday afternoon and later sent to Tihar jail. The whole operation was kept under wraps by the police. TOI attempted to call senior police officers to confirm the report and also sent text messages but got no response.

Sources in Delhi Police revealed that the girl had said in her statement that one of the accused had befriended her on a social networking site a few months ago. The accused had expressed his wish to meet the victim several times and use to chat with her online.

On New Year's Eve, the accused convinced the girl to meet at a south Delhi market after which he coaxed her to accompany him in his car to an undisclosed location. As per the girl`s statement, the accused gave her a drink which was laced with a heavy dose of sedatives after which she began to feel dizzy.

The girl alleged that the accused then took turns to rape her inside the flat and then left her alone. They even threatened her with dire consequences if she disclosed the incident to anyone.

However, the girl managed to flee from their clutches after the accused left her alone and went out. She rushed to Safdarjung Enclave police station after taking an auto and reported the incident to the cops.

the "prominent South Delhi school" doesn't happen to be in Vasant Vihar does it?
when I went there to school, it was a pretty safe area. from what I gather, it's still a relatively safe zone. VV, RK Puram, Vasant Kunj, etc are supposed to be pretty women-friendly compared to rest of Delhi.