Anand K

Post by Anand K »

I am sorry but I didn't get the memo about "following your orders to the letter in the dhaaga that you have created". If had seen admonishments on that note to other posters before me who made such ghastly transgressions, I might not have pipped in. The contrasting ideas of India thingie is old hat in BRF and is covered in a number threads..... And I got the feeling that this discussion was more about Modi's chances in fulfilling whatever expectations people here have for him. The run-up thread is more diffused....

BTW, what about the path of "Moditva" to wards the stated goals changing the nature of "Moditva". And similar promises from other organizations? Actions vs words? My point once again is you can't have a fix-all antidote and overpowering ideology for India. All that's possible is a general set of guiding principles, careful set goals, stepping gingerly and minor course corrections.... IMO other paths will lead to too much damage, no matter what the shiny future is promised to be. Now if that opinion shatters your world, please do apply for "turfing" me out of the thread and gasp... the forum.

Seriously... :roll:

well..you cannot keep asking questions and not answer any.

Anand K wrote: Now if that opinion sours your milk, please do apply for "turfing" me out of the thread and gasp... the forum.
You haven't understood me...You are free to continue to 'add value' to this thread. But politics is always about alternatives and choosing the best of what is out there.

While you raise questions on Moditva - you've got to be equally open on responding on questions raised about the alternative, ie the Dynasty. And 'they are a bunch of rapists - but at least now I am used to their technique' is not a reasonable answer. If that's the kind of answer you insist on giving in the future when probed about your support for the Dynasty - then yes, that would constitute trolling.

MODI = Man(n) Of Development and Integrity and this is what Congies cannot digest

However even if he is declared PM candidate I dont think 2013/14 is going to make him PM. His PM candiature will utmost bring the congies to the lower 100s but they are noways out and they will go for a khichdi govt which will last for 2 years and the elections after that is the vital make or break for Modi/congies where one will get good convincing majority until then let us keep writing and wearing out our keyboards
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

Again, the "Dynasty" is not the Center-piece or the Big Evil..... nor is it pitted against this "Moditva". At least not yet. I gave my views on what role the Dynasty serves in the INC organization and the nature of the INC.

The fight is between an imagined future focused, direct (and IMO no-prisoners confrontational) & immediate approach versus boilerplate Slight Perturbation approach. The approach differs, the end result in mind is the same I guess. Except maybe the Hindutva reconquest of the subcontinent. The first approach is desired by many here and they feel this will be followed in the national stage, but again I beg to differ. Also, I feel the second approach followed is because of the experience of six decades, the mountain of intelligence reports over the years, the sociology studies and the war gamings etc etc.... and also some lazy vote bank politics and greed.

I mean.... the whole point of the term "Moditva" (that supporting commentators coined) as against BJPitva/RSSitva is because people saw that BJP in power for 6 years went easy the moment they took the hot seat and did not exactly fulfill aspirations, eh? Also IMHO it's a matter of pure conjecture if the BJP would have acted different if it had say 300 seats in the LS... uneasy lies the head that wears the crown and all that. The fact that Modi did a good job in Gujarat (again, partly due to innate nature of the state) and his methods there makes people hope he will deliver.
Parkalaam. Interesting days ahead... and I really mean it!

Anand K wrote:The fact that Modi did a good job in Gujarat (again, partly due to innate nature of the state) and his methods there makes people hope he will deliver.
What is this "innate nature of the state" excuse, boss ? What do you think is the growth rate of Israel ? And why has the innate nature of Jews (supposedly the most enterprising and intelligent in the world) not helped them grow more than 4% ?

divide and rule
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

I refuse to say that the following factors did not ease the way for the undoubtedly redoubtable bulldozer that is Narendra Modi. :P

Few fault lines to be a hindrance - the caste fights petered out in the 80s (KHAM out of steam), the Muslim population of approx 9%..
Industrious nature of Gujjulog,
Homeland of almost all major captains of Industry
Key location as a maritime region with good ports and infra
Vast diaspora and huge remittances from NRIs
Historically weak State Congress

BTW, I don't fully subscribe to the "Gujarat is a Hindutva Laboratory" Theory..... Godhra might have brought things to the limelight but the "behavior" shaped much before. I wish to quote a nice write-up on Gujaratis..... and Indians in general. Guess who? 8)
Gujaratis are from the heartland of India, and they exhibit many of its mystifying characteristics... they have a long tradition of ahimsa, one that caused the rise of a certain Mohandas, son of Karamchand. They are vegetarian, "non-martial", mainly known for being devout lovers of Lakshmi. Their idea of an adventure is to sneak across the border to Rajasthan for VAT Shikshtinine, or to the local dhaba for Cheeken Teeka. Most look and act like they would not hurt a fly - yet, these are the same people who periodically organize themselves in terrifying gangs that overwhelm all attemts to maintain or impose control. These gangs, with typical Gujarati attention to detail, arm themselves with voter rolls and ration card records, then they proceed to root out intended victims from hiding places, then they rape, mutilate and murder wives and daughters while husbands are tied and watch helplessly... and the rest of the country reels in horror and pretends that there is no evil Gujarati lurking in its heart. Yet, the ugly Gujarati lives in every Indian, and manifests himself ever so often: against Sikhs in Delhi, Muslims in Bombay... the list is as long as it is dishonorable. And so it was in Khadia, Ahmedabad, that nervous and watchful eyes of IB, CBI, RSS, and every other Indian organization in the alphabet soup began to pick up the first warning signs.

Every Indian politician worth his (or famously, her) salt knows about this ugly Indian, knows about that emotional but not irrational tipping point that can change an often callous or indifferent citizenery into a frothing, ravening horde... a horde that can rip apart in days what has taken the country decades to nurture... So priority number one for every ruling dispensation in New Delhi and in every state and union territory is the same: prevent this ugly Indian from coming out, whatever it takes. The easiest way is to be brutal, and few countries can be as brutal on its citizens as India is. But even brutality stops working after a point, so every ruler of India tries, first and foremost, to avoid that eventuality. Indian politicians, truth be told, are not afraid of Indians dying. Thousands of avoidable deaths take place in India every day, thousands of indignities that pass with barely a ripple across the psyche of the nation. And yet, even a single act of omission or commission can sometimes cause the amorphous mass to crystallize into Vishnu's Vikraal Swarup, into Shiva's Rudra Swarup, into Kaali, Durga, Mahachandi.

Arjun,
Sorry to say you're asking for trouble. If you really consider someone a troll, kindly don't engage only. Deeds speak louder than words. In your case too they are speaking in the wrong direction only. Clearly self-control issues are there when faced with scratching the bich of an itch. What to do, been there done that only...

Thanks for the initiative taken in opening this dhaaga, btw. I guess it is losing its USP and its stand-alone purpose. Best to merge it with the general poll results dhaga where the range and scope of topics debatable is larger only.

Well, the issue of whether he is a troll or not got confirmed with the last post from him, which includes the following gem:
Yet, the ugly Gujarati lives in every Indian, and manifests himself ever so often: against Sikhs in Delhi, Muslims in Bombay...
So here we have Gujaratis being blamed for the pogrom against Sikhs in Delhi and Muslims in Bombay !!

Hari bhai - unless you draw some of them out, its difficult to get the clincher as regards their intentions.

Question really is what power one has on these forums to evict trolls once they are confirmed...If the above is sufficient evidence for official acknowledgement of his trolling - that would help us all. If not, your suggestion (not replying) is the better course. I have reported the post in any case.
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... ati#p74322

Report this blast from the past. :)

But as usual, your frothing missed the forest for the trees.
Last edited by Anand K on 10 Jan 2013 19:19, edited 1 time in total.

This one is an old timer. I recall his song and dance and grand declarations of leaving the forum "permanently" given its moral and other intellectual corruption/falling stds etc etc. Drawing them out didn't take much, apparently. Anyway, each to his/her own. Yawn and move on.
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

Why this kolaveri vsudhir-ji? I have onlee the greatest respect for you. :wink:

Anyway, yawn and move on. Jai Ho.

Virupaksha: Rahul no doubt is part of the ruling class, I do not deny that. There are others out there in almost all parties. Loners without off springs or siblings are not the norm. What is important is will Rahul work against a set of ideas that you or others do not espouse. If that is the case then it does to matter if he is part or not part of a dynasty. That is where is his past and present becomes important for the future. I think the talk of dynasty is all maya, and will not get him disqualified nor get NaMo elected.

Ultimately it boils down to the grassroots support and organizational skill, plus clan and caste factor.

<duplicate post.....content deleted>
Last edited by SwamyG on 11 Jan 2013 08:58, edited 1 time in total.

Rahul Gandhi does not exist. His only existence is as the grandson of Indira, nothing more.

Minhaz Merchant as usual on the dot: Leading from behind
It is important to note that neither Mrs. Gandhi nor her heir apparent Rahul Gandhi have said a word on Pakistan’s atrocity either. This is leading by silence, not leading from the front. It is the principal reason why India has a leadership deficit.

Whether it is silence over Pakistan’s killing of Indian soldiers across the LoC or over Akbaruddin Owaisi’s hate speech and subsequent arrest, India's political leadership has abdicated its responsibility.
But what of Mrs. Gandhi? How has she been able to wield absolute power without absolute accountability? How do otherwise intelligent and self-respecting ministers defer to her so reverentially, even at the cost of snubbing the Prime Minister who, zen-like, seems not to mind?

Is this obsequeousness a part of our political culture, so deeply embedded that if afflicts the brightest and bravest in both government and media? The short answer: yes.

The unquestioning acceptance of Rahul Gandhi as the next Congress president should embarrass Congressmen and women. It does nothing of the kind. Real democratic leaders like Barack Obama or David Cameron could get elected from anywhere in their respective countries.

That does not hold true for most of our dynastic leaders – across parties. Electoral legitimacy, when so severely circumscribed, will lose validity far more rapidly, as Indian democracy evolves, than dynasts today think.

Arjun:
I am not sure why we need to 'divide' the economy to begin with? We have numerous accounts of economy and state administration in Indian history - be it from Kautilya, Sukracharya or Tiruvalluvar. There has been stress on good governance and sound economic policies. Guidance is aplenty in Mahabharata or Ramayana. Yet, we continue to 'divide' the economy into 'right' and 'left'.

Neatly bracketed or neatly boxed? You see what you want to see.

1. I think INC is populist, not 'left' or 'right'. It does what it has to do get votes. However, it was PVNR with MMS and PC that launched the liberalism that we now continue to cherish. Two of the stalwarts are still active albeit totally unfit for their current role or leadership. I agree INC is known for appeasement of minorities. However, they are not the only party that works on 'caste'. All parties utilizes the caste factor - including Modi. Why else did he let Narahiri Amin in?

2. Dynasty per se is not a problem. We have the Thackerays in Shiva Sena. We had Vasundra Raje & Hemant Singh. We have the Karunanidhi dynasty in DMK. We have the Ramdoss family in PMK. We have Nehru-Gandhi family in INC. We have the Mahajans in BJP. There is the NTR family, YSR family in AP. We have, like you mention, Menaka and Varun in BJP. We have Prakash and Sukhbir in Akali. We have Akhilesh and Mulayam in UP. Probably there are several more lesser known political families in each and every state. What matters is if the elected leader is competent and doing his or her job.

3. Agreed.

4. True, Modi has shown his leadership in Gujarat. Sonia has shown her leadership (puppeteering if you may) from behind the scenes, she has controlled INC and UPA in the last decade or so.

Every other post, you cannot blurt out that comparing Modi and Dynasty is unbearable to you. You started this dhaaga of comparison, and you better deal if questions are thrown at you, no?

SwamyG, I think I know your position on Dynasty...Its obviously not a repugnant concept for you - while it remains one for me and for several others. Clearly I do think that the tribe of those like me who find it disgusting is only increasing in India. If you feel otherwise, that's fine as well.
SwamyG wrote:Yet, we continue to 'divide' the economy into 'right' and 'left'.
'Right' and 'Left' are terminologies used for convenience. Like I have stressed often enough, we could very well label them Bhagwati and Amartya Sen models, if you prefer.
Every other post, you cannot blurt out that comparing Modi and Dynasty is unbearable to you.
Where have I said that ? Like you rightly suggested - this thread is to contrast the relative ideologies and leadership qualities of the two.

I have ZERO objection to folks contrasting Modi and the Dynasty and their respective ideologies on this thread - that is the purpose of this thread after all.

Maybe you are referring to one of my statements that I find a comparison of Modi and Dynasty leadership styles ridiculous. That's my personal perception out there of the vast gulf between relative leadership abilities of the two, that I am referring to - doesn't mean I have any objection to your making your opinion known on this matter.

SwamyG, I have tried to pin down why exactly you would have anything against an 'anti-dynasty' stand. My take is that somehow you have allowed yourself to believe that 'anti-dynasty' == 'anti-inheritance'.

What you fail to realise that there is only one dynasty in India. SDREs are not worth having dynasties. Who the hell would put in the requisite effort of hagiography to support it.

SwamyG for an active internet hindu like you (with all due respect from another internet hindu :)) 'anti-dynasty' == 'anti-drithrashtra'. And in fact inheritances are an essential pre-requisite if you want to beat the dynasty.

Hope this helps
pratik

Post by pratik »

After living most of mylife overseas... I have finally decided to surrender my indian citizenship. As i have lost the hope of my Bharat. (Due to this recent LoC event and No Government response; General Anti-Hindu attitude of central government; Ladies safety.... We have failed everywhere)
I am feeling sad ..but also accept that we (Indians) are not MAHAN any more..

I also do not understand that why we are keep debating weapons, defence quipments etc here... If our armed forces do not wants to use it..

Good bye to my love Bharat and Hello to Australia...

Having said that Shri Narendra Modi is my last hope. If he becomes the PM of this country, i will come back. Because i am seeing the glimpse of Narendra (Swami Vivekanand) and Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel in him.

God bless India.

Deadly silence on MSM regarding VG-2013

pratik wrote:Ladies safety.... We have failed everywhere)
I am feeling sad ..but also accept that we (Indians) are not MAHAN any more..
Bharat does not OWE YOU success, safety for ladies, good roads, railways, good governance.

Neither if you were living in India, nor if you are abroad. It is for everyone to take responsiblity for the conditions around them and either do something about them, or not. Either ways, no one OWES anyone else any sort of "high performance".

cheers

The mess created by italian mafia is too much this time around and I do not expect them to win much more than 100 seats. So wait for good times.

Narayana Rao wrote:The mess created by italian mafia is too much this time around and I do not expect them to win much more than 100 seats. So wait for good times.
Sec-Left coalition will help them achieve the numbers. They will still be heavyweights.

Now this is the kind of bogus reporting that our media does:

http://www.firstpost.com/business/modi- ... cat_mumbai
Howver, not everything seems to be going well for the Vibrant Gujarat summit. Only about 15 percent of the total investment pledged during the first four summits actually materialised.[duh, that is the normal business success rate. Quite to the contrary this shows how much Modi chases his business] There has been a steady dip in the commissioning of large scale projects of over Rs 10 crore in the past few years. While in 2005, a phenomenal 422 projects worth 16,500 crore began commercial production, the number dipped to 75 projects in 2011[just out of downturn if Gujjus have the confidence to start commercial production in 75, it goes to show how much confidence these Gujjus have in the system they have set up for themselves].

Another DNA report points out that “40% projects, for which MoUs were signed at Vibrant Gujarat Summits from 2003 to 2011, have been commissioned as of December 2012, more than 20% projects have failed to fructify and have been shelved.”[how the bloody hell does this figure gel with the earlier 15%. Do these guys really believe they can take the people for a ride]

The Congress says not only has fresh investment slowed down since the first version of the summit, employment generation too has been sliding. GPCC President Arjun Modhvadia said, “As of today, there has been a 70 per cent decline in projects being commissioned as compared to 1995. Modi is a master at creating a lot of noise.” [note how Modhvadia hides the tick size of investments]

As if on que.

http://profit.ndtv.com/news/economy/art ... eet-316012
India Inc. promises Modi much investment, as always, at Vibrant Gujarat meet
NDTV | Updated On: January 11, 2013 17:06 (IST)

Of the Rs. 67.8 lakh crore in investment proposed at the 2009 event, just 8.5 per cent had been spent as of November 2011, according to state government data

What are these guys smoking. Do they even know how many zeros are there in the resulting figure. And this is just the private investment.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Why is Narendra Modi Opposed?

http://centreright.in/2013/01/why-naren ... PAKRFIcanJ

[ Editor's Note : The author of this post is a research scholar from JNU. But he would like to remain anonymous due to considerations about the left leaning culture in his centre and especially the hatred for Modi prevalent there.]

India Inc showers praises on Narendra Modi, Gujarat
Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi today came in for fulsome praise from India Inc with RIL chairman Mukesh Ambani hailing him as a leader with "grand vision" and his younger brother Anil Ambani of ADAG putting him in the league of Mahatma Gandhi and Sardar Patel.

"In Narendra Bhai, we have a leader with a grand vision...Gujarat has been a pioneer state in infrastructure giving it an innate advantage," Mukesh Ambani said at the Vibrant Gujarat Summit which got off on Friday.
Of course, these are all communal money minded folk who just dont know what they say and they are actually bad for the country.

Places like S.TN and other places certainly don't require these communal industrialists to progress.

Even if 1 person out of these industrialists had said half of this about the GoI policies or about R-Baba-ji, the DDM would have been ablaze with this headlines for next 4-5 days

^^Yup. Money talks. And when it does, people listen.

We talk of UPA/Dynasty mismanagement etc and NM's great governance model. But words are cheap.

Let the money do the talking. Increasingly we'll see the smart money going to where the governance is. Sure, paid media will spin out of control, bury inconvenient facts (like it is doing on the ongoing vibrant guj summit) and so on but even then it can only do so much in a social-media active world. or so I hope.

Guys,

Keep on looking down on the rest of India and insulting other states and regions, regions that are BTW wealthier or as wealthy as GJ.

It will win you a lot of friends and supporters.

Moditva at present seems to be ignore/insult anyone you think is poorer than you.

Though I personally find it abhorring the concept of dynasty, movie moguls and other charlatans in power, there is some contrasting data from TN. Its ranking has essentially remained unchanged for long in terms of business friendliness, despite rampant corruption and general law and order issues. So business friendliness alone cannot be a yardstick to discriminate good from bad.

Vibrant Gujarat 2013 opens to grandeur, promise

Hard to miss the sense of optimism pervading the Gujarat story, especially when contrasted with the gloom and doom economic atmosphere in the rest of the country. The overseas delegates clearly recognize this - doubt that in this kind of economy they would have flown down in such large numbers to any other state event.

Amidst the chants of 'Ashamed to be an Indian' post the Delhi rape and general feeling of lack of governance - starting to hear more of 'proud to be a Gujarati'.
“We began from Gujarat and we come back here again and again to invest. We have committed investment of Rs 100,000 crore in Gujarat. We will expand our operations in Gujarat in Jamnagar and Hazira,” he said, adding Reliance was proud to be called a “Gujarati company”.

Folks, Modi = Gujarat is exactly th regional image that DIE would like to portray.
You need to take what he has done for development of Gujarat in all spheres and articulate how he would do the same on national level.

Theo_Fidel wrote:Guys,

Keep on looking down on the rest of India and insulting other states and regions, regions that are BTW wealthier or as wealthy as GJ.

Moditva at present seems to be ignore/insult anyone you think is poorer than you.
@Theo_Fidel, you are an esteemed member who contributes greatly to the forum. My contributions to the forum are nowhere near that(this is a disclaimer before I make my statement). About the concept of Moditva, you are making generalized blanket statements. To make that claim about Moditva without any proof is not correct. If you make it as a claim, you need to provide data to prove that claim.

Just because you do not like NM (this is my claim based on your reactions which are sans proof), does not make your statement valid.

ramana wrote:Folks, Modi = Gujarat is exactly th regional image that DIE would like to portray.
You need to take what he has done for development of Gujarat in all spheres and articulate how he would do the same on national level.
Ramanaji, it is a trap that most data oriented (rational) people fall into. They provide proof based on the available data. Now, since NM has been CM of Gujarat, there is data only about Gujarat. Tomorrow even if Modi manages to win 200 seats for BJP (say at a vote share of 25%), people will malign Moditva by saying it serves only 25%. Only now (in 2012) he is considered a CM based on his development agenda (by some), the goal post has been shifted.

There is no way the naysayers are going to be satisfied about any articulation about Moditva at national level. There are some things which get acceptance ONLY ex post facto.

Prahaar,

At the risk of starting a flame war...

Don't make assumptions about other people that you are not sure about. I don't dislike NM at all. I don't buy all this holocaust nonsense that is projected about him as being more evil than Hitler. I think the GOTUS is stupid for denying him a visa, and the GOI is venal for not fighting for his rights at very least because he is a citizen and has rights.

I do believe however that he is just another 'Neta', and I treat him like I treat every other Neta, with a horse sized pile of skepticism, like all Neta's he is in this for himself. The more outrageous the claim the stronger my BS meter goes off. I don't believe in this flawless human being and bhagwans on earth nonsense. I don't believe GJ or S.TN for that matter, is paradise on earth or that it has discovered some superior civilization. It is a successful, well administered state of India and I'm thrilled to see it prosper. Just as I would be thrilled to see Azamgarh or Odisha or Ladakh or Lakshadweep prosper.

The prosperity of GJ and S.TN only matters in so much as it makes India richer and stronger. Nothing less and nothing more.
Last edited by Theo_Fidel on 11 Jan 2013 21:34, edited 1 time in total.

Theo_Fidel wrote:Guys,

What is "Rest of India"? Isn't it relative?

You are the first one to insult S.TN, talking as if they are not from India with distinct culture, politics and vision.

On top of it, you always avoided repeated questions on what that S.TN identity, vision and needs are.

People like you are the real reason for backwardness, isolation and problems of "rest of india".