Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis

Pakistaniyat in Nigeria!
Nine polio health workers shot dead in Nigeria
Gunmen on motorbikes shot dead nine health workers who were administering polio vaccinations in two separate attacks in Nigeria’s main northern city of Kano yesterday.

...Some influential Muslim leaders in Kano openly oppose polio vaccination, saying it is a conspiracy against Muslim children.
In a prime time TV Commercial, a Tacit Acceptance of Islam in America

Moroccan Filmmakers Turn Attention to Islam
Over the past few years, Islamism has become a recurrent topic in Moroccan films. Are we walking in the footsteps of Egypt, where it's rare to find works that do not evoke the Muslim Brotherhood? Let’s decipher this.
A UAE newspaper feature: Islam offers Mexican student in US converts and gets new life in the UAE
Mr Garcia was drawn to the faith after meeting a group of students from Saudi Arabia who did not fit the media's stereotype."Among them there was one guy called Ahmad who started talking to me about Islam," he said. "I didn't want to learn at first."

Ahmad gave him brochures which he accepted only "out of politeness", but soon read them and Islam started to making sense.

However, when a renowned Muslim preacher, Yusuf Estes, himself a convert, delivered a lecture at the university, Ahmad arranged for Mr Garcia to meet him backstage.

"When Estes saw me he hugged me, then I started crying. I don't know why," he said.
He told the preacher he was too scared of his parents to convert, so the preacher suggested he return after "growing up".

That was all the prompting Mr Garcia needed. He took Mr Estes's hand, walked out on stage in front of 400 people and announced that he was a Muslim.

"My Saudi friends received a salary from the embassy there every month. Each one of them would put US$100 (Dh367) aside for me."

...The Emirati told him he would speak to some people in the UAE and fix his problem. One week later, the Emirati returned and told him everything had been arranged for him to move to the American University of Sharjah, where he would be fully sponsored by a sheikh.

I am reading this book Wanted Women by Deborah Scroggins

http://www.amazon.com/Wanted-Women-Fait ... 0060898976

A very well written account of pan islamists and their war.
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

This includes our very own Zakir Naik.
Preachers of hate who spread their violent word on British TV channels
Muslim fundamentalists have used British television channels to preach in favour of violent crime and killing “apostates”.

The communications watchdog, Ofcom, has made a series of rulings against channels which allowed “inflammatory” material to be broadcast in breach of rules which forbid extreme opinions gaining a platform on British television.

The cases, disclosed today, include examples of an imam telling viewers that those who disrespect the prophet Mohammed should be killed, and another broadcaster saying homosexuals should be beaten and tortured.

The stations were found to have committed serious breaches of the broadcasting code by allowing the extreme opinions to be aired unchallenged.

Last night experts warned that the extent and seriousness of the broadcasting breaches raises questions over whether extreme Muslim speakers who were previously confined to small audiences in mosques are able to reach thousands more people by broadcasting intolerant teachings on television.

Although the channels have tiny audiences compared to the mainstream, they are targeted at Muslim communities, including people of Pakistani background, with some of the content being broadcast in Urdu and other languages.

The cases identified by Ofcom include:

* An Islamic scholar who told viewers: “It is your duty ... to kill those who insult Prophet Mohammed.”

* A preacher banned from coming to Britain who used the channel - which he co-owns - to say anyone who left Islam should be put to death.

* A phone-in presenter who advocated “eliminating” anyone who disrespected Mohammed.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/ ... nnels.html

BCs Have Badnaamed The Pagri

Muslim group appeals to gun shop to stop selling target of skeleton wearing turban
Michigan gun store will stop selling targets that depict a skeleton holding an AK-47 and wearing a turban after a Muslim civil liberties group voiced concern that the target may cause gun owners to have a negative view of all Muslims.According to the Detroit Free Press, Dawud Walid, the executive director of the Michigan chapter of the Council on American-Islamic Relations, or CAIR, voiced his concerns to the owner of Target Sports, in Royal Oak. After Walid met with the owner, the paper reports, he promised to stop selling the item. But when Walid called Ohio-based Thompson Target, which manufactures the life-sized target called "Crazy-Bones," to ask them to stop making the product, he says he was met with some resistance.

Jhujar wrote: Muslim group appeals to gun shop to stop selling target of skeleton wearing turban
Then how about Achmed, the dead terrorist? (of the "Jingle bombs.." fame) ;).

Putting a Muslim in charge of the C.I.A. is like putting a fox in charge of the hen house.
http://noisyroom.net/blog/2013/02/10/pu ... hen-house/
A war that has pitted us against radical Islamic groups such as al Qaida which was led by Osama bin Laden and the Taliban, both of which were created by The Muslim Brotherhood. A war that has cost us over 8,000 American lives which include almost 3,000 civilians killed on September 11, 2001 and the remainder in U.S. servicemen and women killed in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Well, suppose no longer because that is exactly what is happening today. Now read the details from the Australian web site Winds of Jihad and The Investigative Project on Terrorism.
“John Brennan did convert to Islam when he served in an official capacity on behalf of the United States in Saudi Arabia.”
by sheikyermami on February 9, 2013.John Brennan, President Obama’s nominee for Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, converted to Islam while working in Saudi Arabia, states former FBI agent, John Guandolo. John Guandolo wrote the first Muslim Brotherhood training manual for the FBI. Watch the detailed story in this explosive interview.Brennan “marvelled at the majesty of the hajj and the holy two mosques” while he was the station chief of the CIA in Soddy Barbaria. This is the turd who told us that the Muslim Brotherhood is “largely secular”, “jihad is a legitimate tenet of Islam”and the same Brennan called for a stop to “Iran bashing.” He has helped strip language about “radical Islam” and similar terms from government vernacular, choosing instead to refer to “violent extremism.” When it comes to jihad, he stubbornly maintains the word does not belong in conversations about terror, no matter what the terrorists themselves say.
Creeping Sharia asked this very question back in a February 2010 post. In that video, Brennan stated “Those Who Are Anti-Islam are a National Security Threat.” It has since been deleted from the web. Yesterday, a former U.S. Marine and FBI agent confirmed on the trentovision radio/tv show that indeed John Brennan did convert to Islam. Watch to the end.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlni3UpY ... ed#t=2140s

Nigerian radio journalists held over nine 'polio' deaths
Three radio journalists have been arrested in northern Nigeria after allegedly sparking the killings of at least nine women, who were shot while trying to administer polio vaccines.
Iran brings moderate Islam to Indonesia: :mrgreen:
Moderate Islam unveiled in Indonesia
(Ahlul Bayt News Agency) - The book was unveiled in a conference arranged at the university by Iran’s Islamic Culture and Relations Organization in a bid to counter the growing extremist movements in the Sulawesi region.

The conference was held in the presence of a large number of Indonesian students, professors and religious figures like Saeid Aghil al-Monavar and Dr. Arshad, and Iran’s cultural attaché to Indonesia Mohammad Ali Rabani.

The conference began with unveiling of the Moderate Islam written by Dr. Mostman Arshad, head of Shazeliyeh sect {Sufi tariqah, mostly based in the Maghreb} and speaker of the Assembly of Elites of Sulawesi island.

In an address, Rabani highlighted the greatness of Islamic mysticism, and stated that given its vast potentials, it can safeguard the religion [and subsequently the society] against extremist acts driven from clan dissensions in the Islamic Ummah.
Islamic Ministry claims Christians, Freemasons secretly working to “eradicate” Islam in the Maldives
Minister of Islamic Affairs Sheikh Mohamed Shaheem Ali Saeed has warned that Christians and Freemasons are working to “create doubts” on Islam within the hearts of young Maldivians.

Local media reported the Islamic Minister as claiming there is a “strong psychological war” conducted by “various Christian organisations” to “wipe out” Islam from the Maldives.

Shaheem further claimed that the Freemasons – a secretive society originating from Europe – was carrying out activities “in secret” within the Maldives.

Shaheem was speaking at a ceremony to mark the 886th anniversary of the Maldives’ conversion to Islam from Buddhism, in accordance to the legend taught in Maldivian schools.
“We have got a lot to do to strengthen Islamic faith through the national curriculum. We have to clarify the doubts being cast in the hearts of young generation. We can only overcome this through unified collaboration,” the Minister added.

President Mohamed Waheed Hassan Manik meanwhile expressed similar sentiment to the Islamic Minister, asking the public to be cautious of activities being carried out to allow other faiths into the country.

Waheed said the Maldives had remained an independent and sovereign nation because it was a “100 percent Islamic state”, and that the “unity and brotherly bond” between people was the result of Islam.

“It saddens me to say that despite the existence of such a bond, today we’re seeing a little weakening of that bond. We need to seriously think about this, especially when the introduction of multi-party politics has resulted in deterioration of familial bonds and social well being,” he said, in his address.
The story of how Maldives embraced Islam

The legend of how the nation converted to Islam is one that is still taught to children studying in Maldivian schools.

According to the story, an evil demon named ‘Rannamaari’ appeared from the sea on the first of every month, and would only leave the islanders alone after the sacrifice of a virgin girl.

Every month the islanders selected a girl to be sacrificed for the demon, only to discover her body on the beach the following morning.

This continued until one day a Muslim traveller named Abul Barakathul Yousuful Baru Bary arrived in Male’ and happened to stay in the house of the next virgin girl selected for sacrifice.

As he saw the whole family weeping in sorrow he asked what was going on, and learnt about the procedure..

He then decided to disguise himself as the virgin girl and go to the temple instead. The following morning the islanders found him alive and reciting the verses of the Quran.

The King and his people were impressed that the demon never appeared after that incident, and decided to embrace Islam from that day onwards.

The story itself is now dismissed by the young generation as a myth, with many people believing instead that it was the King himself allegedly raping and murdering the virgin girls every month.

Carl wrote:
The legend of how the nation converted to Islam is one that is still taught to children studying in Maldivian schools.According to the story, an evil demon named ‘Rannamaari’ appeared from the sea on the first of every month, and would only leave the islanders alone after the sacrifice of a virgin girl.Every month the islanders selected a girl to be sacrificed for the demon, only to discover her body on the beach the following morning.This continued until one day a Muslim traveller named Abul Barakathul Yousuful Baru Bary arrived in Male’ and happened to stay in the house of the next virgin girl selected for sacrifice.As he saw the whole family weeping in sorrow he asked what was going on, and learnt about the procedure.He then decided to disguise himself as the virgin girl and go to the temple instead. The following morning the islanders found him alive and reciting the verses of the Quran.The King and his people were impressed that the demon never appeared after that incident, and decided to embrace Islam from that day onwards
Some interesting comments from that website comment section
@symbolic meaning: Aboo Barakaath dressing up as a virgin, and reciting the Koran while waiting for Rannamaari is part of the myth.
Since you have begun changing the myth to suit your view, let’s change it some more and make the myth more plausible:
When the Maharaja (in the guise of Rannamaari) came to claim his virgin, Aboo Barakaath jumped up, wrestled him down and raised his skirt to reveal his Moroccan cock.
Aboo then gave two options to the Maharaja: either be sodomized, or convert to Islam. We know what happened. The Maharaja converted, but disappeared shortly after because he wasn’t able to get over his fear of Aboo.
Also, Minivan News, since many are objecting to the myth of the cross-dressing mullah (lol), why not mention the real story? The one recorded in the loamafaanu where the monks were beheaded and religion was forced upon the islanders. Then, as is now, religion was used by the ruling class as a tool for their economic and political advantage. It was a used to make us afraid of the outside world, the symbolic Rannamaari, so that we’d be obedient citizens bowing down to our feudal lords and their clerics.

10 People Who Are Secret Muslims
Kya Kahiye Aise logo Se Jinki Fitrat Chuppi Rahe, Naqli Chehra Samne ayye , asli soorat Chuupi Rahe
It's pretty well known at this point that a majority of people who publicly claim not to be Muslim are actually Muslim. Here are ten prominent examples.
1. Barack Obama
The world's most famous secret Muslim. There's so much proof this one barely even counts as a secret anymore.
2. Michelle Obama
There's no proof for this one, but we can just assume.
3. John Brennan
The man who has played a central role in killing thousands of Muslims with sky robots actually converted to Islam in Saudi Arabia in the nineties, according to a former FBI agent.
4. Anthony Weiner
Though outwardly he appears the epitome of a New York Jew, Weiner converted to Islam when he married his (openly) Muslim wife, Huma Abedin, according to respected person Robert Spencer. Other respected people, such as public relations consultant Eliana Benador, agree that this is what happened, because after Weiner's crotch shots, a New York imam was like (paraphrasing), "Eh, it's cool, he's a fellow Muslim."
5. Grover Norquist
Norquist may be the world's foremost anti-tax crusader, but one crusade he doesn't like is ... the Crusades, any of them. Norquist claims to be a "boring white bread Methodist," but, like Weiner, he converted to Islam in order to marry Palestinian Samah Alrayyes and is also probably a Muslim Brotherhood operative.
6. Hillary Clinton
Clinton revealed her Muslimness in this photo taken at the grave of Pakistani poet Muhammad Iqbal in 2009.
7. Valerie Jarrett
Obama's right-hand woman was born to American parents in pre-revolution Iran. Ergo, Muslim.
8. Bobby Jindal
Jindal claims he's a Hindu turned Catholic, but an anonymous blogger at jindalisamuslim.wordpress.com has been promising since March of 2011 to post "proof-positive" information about the Louisiana governor's true religion and we're sure he's going to get around to it any day now. In the meantime, the Internet's commenters agree: Muslim.9. Some Random Family Court Judge in Florida
His name is Elijah Williams. Case closed.
10. Prince Charles
The Prince of Wales and future Caliph of the British Caliphate has said nice things about Islam and toured a mosque once and appreciates ancient Islamic calligraphy, so he's a Muslim too.

Concepts of Mohammadden Brotherhood, being part of an overarching “Ummah” etc. goes out of the window in a burst of Green on Green persecution as the UAE deports members of the minority Shia sect of Mohammaddenism who originated in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan:

UAE and Pakistan: harassing the ‘heretics’

Turkey: Dress tests
Supposedly chaste new uniforms for Turkish Airlines (THY) cabin attendants have triggered mirth and horror in the cyberworld.
Friends mention that even in Turkish universities, there is a creeping Islamism. An HoD once stopped and asked a female proff to wear longer skirts! Gulen has worked hard and patiently for 40 years, and pushed his disciples into positions in academia, the police and government.

X Posted from the TSP thread.

Results of poll by Gallup on the attitudes of citizens of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to the West.

The citizens of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan certainly come across as being a lot of namak haramis. But then I guess that they are indoctrinated to believe that all aid by Kaafir Dhimmi Non-Mohammaddens is nothing more than the rightful entitled Jaziya owed to the momin of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan:

Pakistani Disapproval of U.S. Leadership Soars in 2012

Watching yesterdays daily show... And the interview is with head of OIC and he says thus...

The terrorists are a fringe minority of Muslims. More than 1 billion Muslims are peaceful and have a voice of reason. No Muslim supports terrorists.

Then comes the real nugget :rotfl:

If you think you can kill terrorists, then every terrorist killing breeds 10 terrorists.

Where is the new breed terrorists come from?

From the silent majority of Muslims.

So all Muslims are Potential terrorists when another Muslim terrorist is killed, because no body knows which 10 are bred by the dead muslim
Last edited by RamaY on 17 Feb 2013 02:17, edited 1 time in total.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Don't know if this is true, but ghastly nonetheless - not very different from acts in kerala where members of a certain community seem to be getting their thrills by mutilating dogs...

SWEDEN: Four Tunisian Muslims behead a cat and brag about it on Facebook and Twitter
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

The ‘Epidemic’ of Sexual Harassment—and Rape—in Morsi’s Egypt
A study by the Egyptian Center for Women’s Rights said that 98% of foreign female visitors and 83% of Egyptian women have experienced sexual harassment. Sixty-two percent of men admitted to harassing women, while 53% blame women for “bringing it on.”

Jhujar wrote:10 People Who Are Secret Muslims
pass the pipe man..don't hog it.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

Also, Minivan News, since many are objecting to the myth of the cross-dressing mullah (lol), why not mention the real story? The one recorded in the loamafaanu where the monks were beheaded and religion was forced upon the islanders.
I do believe that Islam had an easy ride in Buddhist populations as there was no tradition of fighting the enemy.

How come they met resistance in Myanmar and Thailand?

Anindya wrote:Don't know if this is true, but ghastly nonetheless - not very different from acts in kerala where members of a certain community seem to be getting their thrills by mutilating dogs...

SWEDEN: Four Tunisian Muslims behead a cat and brag about it on Facebook and Twitter
Actually their act has no Islamic sanction - cats are not Naajis (aka Impure) so you can see other Islamics commenting and cursing their act citing alKitab, Hadiths etc regarding cats in below link
http://sameerbook.com/jonews/koktail-news/15023.html -NSFW

Dogs are fair game though, so Kerala Islamists have their "divine" sanction from Sharia in their aim to exterminate them and more so if they use the chance to get some practice in hacking the Kafir .

Carl wrote:

The legend of how the nation converted to Islam is one that is still taught to children studying in Maldivian schools.

According to the story, an evil demon named ‘Rannamaari’ appeared from the sea on the first of every month, and would only leave the islanders alone after the sacrifice of a virgin girl.

Every month the islanders selected a girl to be sacrificed for the demon, only to discover her body on the beach the following morning.

This continued until one day a Muslim traveller named Abul Barakathul Yousuful Baru Bary arrived in Male’ and happened to stay in the house of the next virgin girl selected for sacrifice.

As he saw the whole family weeping in sorrow he asked what was going on, and learnt about the procedure..

He then decided to disguise himself as the virgin girl and go to the temple instead. The following morning the islanders found him alive and reciting the verses of the Quran.

The King and his people were impressed that the demon never appeared after that incident, and decided to embrace Islam from that day onwards.

The story itself is now dismissed by the young generation as a myth, with many people believing instead that it was the King himself allegedly raping and murdering the virgin girls every month.

reminds me of recent history.

But how do they know. What if it was Abul Barakathul Yousuful Baru Bary who did the rapes and killings and planted stories about the king?

ravi_g wrote:
But how do they know. What if it was Abul Barakathul Yousuful Baru Bary who did the rapes and killings and planted stories about the king?
See, Ravi, that's why you are a kufr and not a momeen. You rely too much on logic, case law and jury of peers. If you truly believed al-kitab and all that's written in it, you would never doubt the word of another arabi momeen. Just for doubting his word, a thousand stribes on you. And, in the next life, you will come back as a 72-year old virgin.

Dear Muslim Celebrities: Why do you play the Communal Card?
In such diverse and unifying India, time and again, we see some very silly, unwarranted and dangerous communal cards being played by some celebrities. This column focuses on a few such cards being played by celebrities who happen to have Muslim names or parents. Sanjay Dutt, Emraan Hashmi, Shah Rukh Khan, Mohammed Azharuddin and Shabana Azmi have been picked to “talk” to, in this column.

So let's talk to them : Hello celebrities. Let's get it straight. Each one of you have been very successful in your art, politics or sports field. Majority of your fans didn't care about your father's name, mother's name, place of birth, religious affiliation, spouse's religion, children's beliefs, your visits to places of worship (or the lack of it), your income class, your foreign trips, your meetings with other nationalities or other religious groups, your paper/TV/book subscription, your charity donation to religious or non-religious groups, your competence in any religious area, your dress at your home or during festivals... the list goes on...

Then why the heck do you play communal card at the drop of a hat, defaming the supremely accommodating, truly secular Indian society? Yes, there may be irritating apples in India, but they are far outnumbered by people who give a damn about your background or belief, and respect you for what you are capable of in the field of art, sports and others.

1) Let's start with Sanjay Dutt : In 2009, you said this: “I was there (in jail) for 3.5 years and was tortured because my mother was a Muslim, and I was a Muslim's son.” in public. [link]

Sir, Are you not ashamed to say such a thing, after decades of love, affection and support given by the Indian society?

You are married three times and your first two wives were Hindus -- Richa Sharma and Rhea Pillai.

In spite of being caught with an illegal AK 56 gun at your home, that too during a very sensitive early 1990s of Mumbai, your loyal fans adored you as Munna Bhai during later years. They never deserted you. In fact, your loyal fans (yes, most are Hindus), prayed for you, putting your picture next to their beloved God Ganesha.

Source: Sanjay-Dutt
You have been exposed by media of having links with dangerous gangsters, but people have pardoned you. [Link]

You have admitted even in the Supreme Court that you had dinner with India's most wanted terrorist and gangster. But still people watch your movies. [Link]

Your father has been elected to Indian parliament 5 times and your sister is also a politician just like you.

So, sir, why play sick communal card bringing disrepute to your entire fan following, the system you has made you a celebrity and your own country? Fight a case by its merit in the court if needed, but not by playing victim in the public. Should we say shame on you?

2) Let's now talk to Emran Hashmi: In 2009 you claimed: “I had finalised a deal to buy a flat, but the society refused to issue a No Objection Certificate because I am a Muslim”. [Link]

Dude, you had problem buying one property, and suddenly you realize you are a Muslim and that must be the reason?

No Indian stuff here please!

Syrian activist group says nearly 300 kidnapped in Syria in retaliation for bus abduction

Duniya Mei Loggo ko Dokha kabhi Ho Jaata Hai : Shia Orr sunni Ko aise deal kiya Jaata Hai

– An activist group says pro-government gunmen have kidnapped more than 300 people in northwestern Syria in retaliation for the abduction of 42 Shiite Muslims this week.
The Britain-based Syrian says the tit-for-tat kidnappings in predominantly Sunni Muslim Idlib province could trigger sectarian clashes in the area.The Observatory said the 42 Shiites, mainly women and children, were snatched Thursday from a bus that was traveling from the Shiite villages of Foua and Kfarya to the capital Damascus.Observatory director Rami Abdul-Rahman said Saturday it was not clear who kidnapped the Shiites.The U.N. Special Representative on Sexual Violence in Conflict, Zainab Hawa Bangura, called for the release of the women.She said "allegations of abduction and rape of women and girls by armed groups have been received."

Islamic Sectarianism News goes here.

Jamwal ji...

Pls keep track of that wimmen. Let's see how resilient Tunisia is.

Anjem Choudary called benefits 'Jihadseeker's allowance'

'Claim jobseeker's allowance and plan holy war': Hate preacher pocketing £25,000 a year in benefits calls on fanatics to live off the state
The Sun newspaper secretly filmed him saying Islam will overrun Europe, David Cameron and Barack Obama should be killed and calling the Queen 'ugly'.
The father-of-four takes home more than £25,000 a year in benefits and lives in a £320,000 house in Leytonstone, East London.
In another video a grinning Choudary is recorded telling his disciples that it is justifiable to take money from non-believers.
He said: 'The normal situation is to take money from the kuffar. You work, give us the money, Allahu Akhbar (God is great).

Oz: Doors slamming on anti-Islam MP
DEBBIE Robinson measures freedom of speech by the number of hotels and other venues that have agreed, then abruptly refused, to provide a stage for anti-Islamic Dutch MP Geert Wilders on his Australian speaking tour.

...Most cite damage to their reputation, others the potential damage to walls and windows from protesters. "We are afraid we may offend people," she said. "It is this huge fear factor."
British worker 'among those kidnapped in Nigeria'
A British construction worker is believed to be among seven foreigners kidnapped in a raid by suspected Islamic extremists on a compound in northern Nigeria.
Sri Lanka hardline group calls for halal boycott
A new hardline Sinhalese Buddhist group in Sri Lanka has called for the abolition of the Muslim halal system of certifying foods and other goods.

The Bodu Bala Sena, or Buddhist Strength Force, also said foreign propagators of religions should leave the country within a month.

...The calls come at a time of mounting religious tension in the country.

There have been several attacks on both mosques and Muslim-owned businesses as well as on Christian churches and the clergy, the BBC's Charles Haviland reports from Colombo.

...The group's secretary-general, Venerable Galaboda Aththe Gnanasara, told the crowds that "only monks can save this race", referring to Sinhalese.

He claimed that Christian and Muslim extremists were threatening Buddhists, and said hundreds of monks were ready to fight. "Our country is a Sinhalese one and we are its unofficial police," he said.

...one member of the group, Dilanthe Withanage, accused "some" unnamed countries of "funding Christian fundamentalists as well as Muslim fundamentalists" in Sri Lanka.

..."Any moment, the ethnic riot will start between Sinhalese and Muslims," said Mujeebur Rahuman of the opposition United National Party.

...Muslims constitute about 10% and have generally had good relations with the Sinhalese majority.

Muslim preacher urges followers to claim 'Jihad Seeker's Allowance'
Anjem Choudary was secretly filmed mocking non-Muslims for working in 9-5 jobs their whole lives, and told followers that some revered Islamic figures had only ever worked one or two days a year.

“The rest of the year they were busy with jihad [holy war] and things like that,” he said. “People will say, ‘Ah, but you are not working’.

“But the normal situation is for you to take money from the kuffar [non-believers].

“So we take Jihad Seeker’s Allowance. You need to get support.”
Ridiculing the daily lives of UK workers, Choudary said: “You find people are busy working the whole of their life. They wake up at 7 o’clock. They go to work at 9 o’clock.

“They work for eight, nine hours a day. They come home at 7 o’clock, watch EastEnders, sleep, and they do that for 40 years of their life. That is called slavery.”

Choudary, a father-of-four, claims more than £25,000 a year in benefits, £8,000 more than the take-home pay of some soldiers fighting the Taliban in Afghanistan, according to the Sun, which covertly filmed the preacher at three meetings.

At another meeting in Slough infiltrated by the Sun, Choudary was filmed proclaiming that Islam was taking over Europe.

“Now we are taking over Birmingham and populating it,” he said.

“Brussels is 30 per cent, 40 per cent Muslim and Amsterdam. Bradford is 17 per cent Muslim.

“These people are like a tsunami going across Europe. And over here we’re just relaxing, taking over Bradford brother. The reality is changing.”

Choudary, who has been banned twice from running organisations under the Terrorism Act, told an audience at a community centre in Bethnal Green, East London, that David Cameron, Barack Obama and the leaders of Pakistan and Egypt were the devil (shaitan) and should be killed.

“What ultimately do we want to happen to them?” asked Choudary. “Maybe I’m the only one who wants the shaitan to be killed. The shaitan should be finished. There should be no shaitan.

“Democracy, freedom, secularism, the parliament, all the MPs and the Presidents, all the kuffar’s ideas, everything the people worship, we have to believe that they are bad and we have got to reject them.”
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/9875954 ... wance.html

Blogger murdered in Dhaka

by Zoglul Kamal posted on February 15, 2013 07:53PM GMT

Ahmed Rajib Haider, 26, was an active participant of the ongoing nonstop demonstrations at Shahbagh demanding death sentences for all ‘war criminals’.

Officer-in-Charge of Pallabi Police Station Abdul Latif Sheikh told bdnews24.com that they recovered Shuvo’s body from Laalmatia’s Palashnagar.

He said a scarf was wrapped around the blogger’s throat.

Another source

Shahbagh blogger killed in Pallabi

A blogger and online activist, who was active in the Shahbagh movement, was killed in the capital’s Pallabi area Friday night, prompting the Shahbagh protesters to return to their 24-hour demonstration.

Police recovered the body of 30-year-old Ahmed Rajib Haider, full with indiscriminate stab injuries, from near his Kalshi residence in Mirpur.

Aggrieved by the news of the killing of fellow activist, organisers of the Shahbagh movement vowed to continue their movement for 24 hours
Shahbagh protester killed
Staff Correspondent, bdnews24.com

Ahmed Rajib Haider, 26, was an active participant of the ongoing nonstop demonstrations at Shahbagh demanding death sentences for all ‘war criminals’.

Officer-in-Charge of Pallabi Police Station Abdul Latif Sheikh told bdnews24.com that they recovered Shuvo’s body from Laalmatia’s Palashnagar around 9pm.

He said the face bore signs of slashes. A scarf was wrapped around the blogger’s throat, Sheikh added.

This was not a simple mugging case as police said the deceased’s laptop was found near the body of the architect.

The OC said Haider lived in Palashnagar and was murdered near his residence.

After the news of the murder spread, Imran H Sarker, a member of the Blogger and Online Activist Network, announced to continue their demonstration without pause in a change of plan.

“We’ve been hit. One of our bloggers has been murdered in Mirpur. In this situation, we cannot return from the streets and we won’t,” Sarker had said.

The demonstrators at Shahbagh observed a minute’s silence. They chanted slogans promising to avenge Haider’s death, shouting the slogan, “Rajib Bhaier Rokto Britha jete debona (We won’t let the sacrifice of brother Rajib count for nothing).

Earlier the day, Sarker had announced daily seven-hour protests.

Pallabi police Sub Inspector Matiar Rahman told bdnews24.com that the deceased used to work at a private firm. The blogger went out of his residence after 5pm.

Haider’s relatives said that he used to regularly write blogs and had been active in the Shahbagh demonstration demanding death sentences for all ‘war criminals’.

The online activist’s Facebook account was ‘Thaba Baba’. In his last status update around 3pm on Friday, he urged everyone to boycott all institutions controlled or funded by Jamaat-e-Islami.

Roughly translated into English, the status reads, “It is necessary to fix an outline about where and how to boycott [the Jamaat-leaning institutions]… As there are chances that ownerships of those institutions that we’ll boycott for being Jamaat affiliated will change overnight… through a simple exchange of [company] shares.”

He continued, “But I can say one thing from my position, boycott widely known Jamaat affiliated products and institutions, for example, their mouthpiece ‘Sangram’ or their educational institutions-coaching centres and their cultural organisations.”

.Paychology of Islam and Muslims .
Dr . Nicolai Sennels

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... asKz9axKrc
akashganga

Post by akashganga »

I have learned a lot by reading many posts in this thread. It looks like Shia/Sunni divergence started with the family feud in the family of the founder of islam. Shia sect follows Ali son in law of the founder as opposed to Sunni sect. If this was essentially a family feud then what a tragedy these two sects have been killing each other for 1300 years.

akashganga wrote:If this was essentially a family feud then what a tragedy these two sects have been killing each other for 1300 years.
It was more than just a family feud. It was a crisis of moral leadership - which unites power and wealth with values.
--------------------

Malaysia: Provision Of Islam In Federal Constitution Not In Vain - Former CJ
KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 19 (Bernama) -- Article 3(1) of the Federal Constitution which states that Islam in the religion of the Federation is not a provision in vain, said former Chief Justice Tun Abdul Hamid Mohamad.

He said with this provision, Malaysia is known to the world as an Islamic country.

"To the world, Malaysia is not only seen as an Islamic country but an exemplary Islamic country. Malaysia is also regarded as an example of a developed Islamic country of this era," he said.

Abdul Hamid said this when tabling his working paper titled 'Islam and Interpretation of the Constitution by Courts in Malaysia' at a a discourse organised by the Institute of Islamic Understanding Malaysia (IKIM) here today.

He said the Malaysian government had spent millions of ringgit for the development of Islamic banking, Islamic finance and takaful so much so the country was a leaders in these fields.

Abdul Hamid said the people could also carry out Islamic activities such as building universities, colleges, mosques and schools.

"Imagine if Article 3(1) of the Federal Constitution is not there, could all this be done?" he said.

On secularism, Abdul Hamid, referring to the judgement of the Supreme Court in the case of Che Omar Che Soh against the Public Prosecutor in 1988, said in the judgement the word secular was mentioned three times.

"The first, secular institutions was mentioned when quoting a book by M.B.Hooker. Two other instances, secular law was used when referring to laws effective on the day of independence," he said.

Abdul Hamid said the word secular was used in the judgement not to describe the country, but to describe the institutions and laws.

"In my opinion, its use is not accurate and the word was used uncessarily. Because of group and political interests, it was quoted out of context to say that Malaysia is a secular country although the Federal Constitution never once used the word," he added.

Also referring to case judgement which was heard by five judges and written by former chief justice Tun Salleh Abas, Abdul Hamid said they also agreed with the judgement that Article 3(1) itself does not make all laws contridicting with the Syariah not valid and void.

He said civil lawyers often did not know that existing laws were compliant and similar to the Syariah, while syariah members did not know that Syariah principles were made into laws....
Fla. imam takes stand, denies Taliban connection
MIAMI — An elderly Muslim cleric on trial for allegedly funneling tens of thousands of dollars to the Pakistani Taliban terrorist organization vehemently denied Tuesday any connection to Islamic extremists and insisted he does not harbor anti-U.S. views.

Taking the witness stand in his own defense, 77-year-old Hafiz Khan rejected U.S. government charges that he sent at least $50,000 to the Taliban for use in violent attacks against both U.S. and Pakistani government interests overseas.

"We are innocent of these accusations," said Khan, speaking in Pashto through an interpreter. "We have no connection with them whatsoever. We hate them."

Khan, who became a naturalized U.S. citizen after arriving here in 1994, said he is proud to live in this country, is registered to vote and does not even know how to fire a gun. Frequently stroking his flowing white beard and adjusting his skullcap, the imam of a downtown Miami mosque said he does not own a television and concentrates mainly on Islamic studies and teaching — something he feels utterly free to do in the U.S. because of its guaranteed rights.

"It is really a good thing to be a citizen of the United States," Khan said.

The prosecution's case is built largely on FBI wiretaps and recorded in-person conversations in which Khan is heard apparently praising attacks committed by the Pakistani Taliban, including some in which U.S. personnel were killed. The Taliban is also linked to al-Qaida and to attempted attacks in the U.S., such as the failed 2010 bombing in New York's bustling Times Square.

In some of those calls, Khan appears to be advocating the overthrow of Pakistan's government, such as one in which he says that "God should turn the government upside down and let it be scattered completely."

In testimony Tuesday, Khan said he was angered by the Pakistani army's decision to temporarily shut down a religious school, or madrassa, that he owns in his ancestral Swat Valley. Khan said he was also upset by what he viewed as overly aggressive and violent army actions against dissidents and the poor in their 2009 campaign against the Taliban.
One witness who did testify said he handled some $30,000 of Khan's transactions in Pakistan, insisting they were for innocent and business purposes not connected to the Taliban.

It was clear Tuesday that Khan sought to focus the jury's attention on the madrassa, which was started in 1967. He said boys and girls were both taught at the school, with many from poor families getting a free education and free room and board.

"It is not our tradition that we take money for teaching religious subjects," Khan said.
Bringing Islam to Cedar City
(Cedar City, UT) - There are currently more than 270 Middle Eastern students who have made the 8,000-mile voyage from home to attend Southern Utah University, bringing with them a unique culture that is unknown to most in the southern Utah community.

On Wednesday, February 20, however, the SUU Multicultural and International Center, along with the Michael O. Leavitt Center for Politics and Public Service and the SUU Saudi Club, is bringing Islam to Cedar City for a night of open discussion about the Islam culture and Muslim religion.

Jhujar wrote:.Paychology of Islam and Muslims .
Dr . Nicolai Sennels
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... asKz9axKrc
Many excellent insights on the ways of Islamists and their Ideology - too bad the program was aired on an EvanJehadi channel .
akashganga

Post by akashganga »

Carl wrote:
akashganga wrote:If this was essentially a family feud then what a tragedy these two sects have been killing each other for 1300 years.
It was more than just a family feud. It was a crisis of moral leadership - which unites power and wealth with values.
--------------------
There was never any moral leadership starting from the founder himself. You are either with me or face my sword.

Islam or death? Egypt's Christians targeted by new terror group
( whats the difference)
http://www.foxnews.com/world/2013/02/21 ... z2Le02297g
A group of Christian priests from a local Coptic church in Egypt were told to convert to Islam or face death, according to an Arabic news site.
The incident, which comes in the midst of continued persecution and pressure on Egypt’s Christian community, took place this week in the town of Safaga, near the Red Sea, the El Balad site reported.According to El Balad, the threats are from a new group in Egypt, Jihad al-Kufr, whose name translates to Jihad against non-believers or non-Muslims. The group targets non-Muslims, and reportedly pressures them to convert to Islam.“It’s not the first time. This is happening every day,” said Adel Guindy, president of Coptic Solidarity and a member of Egypt’s Coptic community who travels between Paris and Cairo. “This one incident caught the attention of the news agencies, but there are worse things happening to the Christians every day in Egypt,” he said.Christians have felt increasingly at risk since the fall of former President Hosni Mubarak in 2011, which resulted in the rise of President Mohammed Morsi and the Muslim Brotherhood movement.“It has definitely worsened under the revolution. Once the worst part of the society surfaced -- the Islamists -- the Copts are paying a heavy price. The West doesn’t really feel our pain. It’s a war of attrition,” Guindy said.

akashganga wrote:There was never any moral leadership starting from the founder himself. You are either with me or face my sword.
Sorry, it was not that simple externally, though maybe that was always the undercurrent. We may not agree with that brand of moral leadership, but we have to understand it in all its subtleties, seductive as well as repugnant, inspiring as well as deluding, sterling boldness as well as fork-tongued cunning. Etc. Only after we can appreciate the subtlety, can we inject a valid purva-paksha into the equal-equal politically correct "no criticizing religion" discourse in India.
-----------------------------------------------

Londonistan: Muslim students take legal advice after City University shuts down Friday prayer meeting
Muslim students at a London university who had their weekly Friday prayer meeting on campus shut down because they refused to allow staff members to view and pre-authorise their sermons before delivery have told The Independent that they are seeking legal advice.

City University ordered the students to submit their weekly khutbah sermon in advance of the gatherings so that they could check “the quality and appropriateness of what is being delivered.” The students refused saying the demand amounted to outright censorship on campus.

...The argument here is that all Muslims are being punished for the alleged indiscretions of a minority in the distant past. This is at odds with the ethos of such institutions and the law.”

City University has previously struggled with radicalism from its Islamic Society. In 2010 the Quilliam Foundation, an anti-extremism think-tank, published a report accusing its members of intimidating other students, particularly those on the campus newspaper, as well as gay, Jewish and female students.

In one sermon, which was recorded, the speaker said: “The Islamic state teaches to cut the hand of the thief. Yes it does. And it also teaches us to stone the adulterer. When they tell us that, the Islamic state tells us and teaches us to kill the apostate, yes it does.”

...A source at the University told The Independent that the decision to close down the Friday prayers was not triggered by a single recent event or a recent rise in concern of radicalism. Instead it was taken after “long and careful consideration”.

...The government has repeatedly ordered Universities to take a tougher stance against Islamist radicalism on campus. In 2011 a cross-parliamentary group of MPs and peers claimed fundamentalism was still flourishing. However, many universities and academics are loathe to monitor or crack down on radicalism given that campuses are exactly the kind of places where free speech, radical thinking and the countering of extremist ideas should be openly encouraged...
Bangladesh Blocks ‘Anti-Islam’ Blogs
Amid growing public unrest, Bangladesh has blocked some internet sites and blogs for ‘hurting religious feelings’ in the majority Muslim nation, as rival protests resumed between Jamaat-e-Islami supporters and young protesters supporting bloggers.

“We've taken the actions in line with the country's ICT (Information Communication Technology) Act,” Giasuddin Ahmed, vice chairman of the country's telecommunications regulator, told Agence France Presse (AFP).

Ahmed added that least two websites had been blocked as well as removing 10 blog posts for “spreading hatred, provoking social disorder and hurting religious feelings of the people”.

Authorities have also asked blog operators to "moderate" their posts to try to filter out anti-religious writings, another official said....

Carl wrote:
akashganga wrote:There was never any moral leadership starting from the founder himself. You are either with me or face my sword.
Sorry, it was not that simple externally, though maybe that was always the undercurrent. We may not agree with that brand of moral leadership, but we have to understand it in all its subtleties, seductive as well as repugnant, inspiring as well as deluding, sterling boldness as well as fork-tongued cunning. Etc. Only after we can appreciate the subtlety, can we inject a valid purva-paksha into the equal-equal politically correct "no criticizing religion" discourse in India.
Blogged something on this today:

Moral equivalence - Exterior manifestations vs. Undercurrents
Anti-corruption movements for political reform and social justice seem to have one thing in common - seeking a better moral leadership for things like "justice" and re-directing the national sense of purpose. Various ideologies are moving into this space, each vending its version of justice and purpose, its iconic personalities, its enemies, its solutions. Some of these are presented as purely political-economic ideologies, some as religious, some as social ethics. But the question of what is moral is really interesting, and ultimately focuses on a personal exemplar: historical, epic, mythological - or more honestly its usually some mixture of all three, no matter which culture one examines.

In this regard, how does one adjudicate what is a superior morality? The personal exemplars of morality from different civilizational contexts are all complex personalities. Some of the exterior actions and words attributed to the same persona strike me as seductive and others repugnant, some as inspired and others fantasia, some as sterling boldness and other as fork-tongued cunning. Only if I can find a way to appreciate the subtleties, can I create a valid purva-paksha (comparative counter-proposal) to think about it "objectively" - or at least according to a supra-subjective scale of truth. I feel a need for this, because public discourse is swamped with the usual wishy-washy politically correct "no criticizing religion" discourse in India (or the West). Too many times the people who moderate the national discourse pass off a false moral equivalence by a practiced sleight of hand.