Sickular Social Justice and Governance

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?284015
The Take It Too Easy Polity
With prices of utilities climbing apace and delivery short and inefficient, the great Indian hoodwink continues

Nine years on, alas, it is not just the poor and forgotten millions in rural India who are waiting for long-pro­m­ised basic amenities like clean potable water, electricity, public tra­n­sport­at­ion, working sewerage systems, good roads, neighbourhood sch­ools, gas connections and suppl­ies. No, all this sounds like a fantastic dream for most people outside privileged gated communities. Life in the teeming cities, especially in urban slums, poor and middle-class localities, is getting tou­gher—bordering on the unbearable.
And this is not a Delhi or Mumbai phenomenon alone—the state of affa­irs in most cities is no less ala­r­ming. Over the past year, consumers in cities in Andhra Pradesh, Karn­ataka, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra among oth­er states staged protests against hikes in power tariffs. Supp­orted by political parties, Hyderabad’s consu­mers rece­ntly took to the streets against a fuel surcharge adju­stment that has alm­ost doubled the power bill for many. Con­sumers in West Bengal have been up in arms over insufficient delivery of LPG cylinders. There have been mini riots over the build-up of roadside garbage in Kerala’s cities. And so on.
For someone like Lata, a housemaid, the answer is unclouded: she will not vote for the ruling Congress government in Delhi as she is angry at its failure to provide piped water in her colony. Every month she, like others in her neighbourhood, has to indiv­idually pay the private contractor in Sangam Vihar, a colony in south Delhi, Rs 500-1,500 for supplying borewell water once a week. Lata considers herself one of the lucky ones; many Delhi colonies don’t get water supply even once a fortnight.
The failure of Governance somehow is going to catch up with SCUM of the earth some day. How long can these creeps create sickular bogey and keep hoodwinking majority of the people will be key to their success?

Guys,
Can we get back to the regular and sane programming? Why are we trying to impress or convert Theo ji? He is entitled to his views, I can write in one line what will it take Theo ji to vote Modi (or never to vote), but I guess that will be too unpalatable to all of us (as Indians we have become expert in ignoring the elephant in the room, or put in a dharmic way, afraid to call the obvious truth). So at least we can move on and not get the thread derailed. Theo ji has his one vote (and then probably million like him, have millions of vote), he is free to cast is as he seems fit. There is nothing you can say or do will make that change. Let’s understand and realize that truth and move on. There is little sense in going for the reason for it, because when it comes to that, the reason may be simple yet very crass for our taste.
rgds,

Theo_Fidel wrote:Swamyg,

That is probably OT on this thread.
We can continue elsewhere but I think you know my views. Mostly westernized EJ macaulayite etc :)
No I do not care if it is Western or Eastern, Hindu or Christian; I want to know what would make Modi appealing to your community. That is what I am after.

Disha: Thanks for that link.

http://www.firstpost.com/politics/bjp-c ... 42393.html
BJP conclave from Friday, may discuss elevation of Modi

To the CON media's takleef (heartburn due to the possibility of the mighty getting PM gaddi) and delight (any discussion about Modiw ill raise TRP ratings for these morons ..), teh conclave is starting...
The internal security situation in the wake of the Hyderabad blasts, series of scams including the chopper deal, economic slowdown and relations with Pakistan will be some of the issues that will figure prominently at the BJP conclave to be held in New Delhi from Friday.

The BJP National Executive and Council will meet for three days to chalk out its strategy for the forthcoming assembly and general elections and thrash out details of how to take on the UPA government by highlighting its ‘failures’ on the economic and security front.

This conclave is crucial as it will be the first such meeting after the election of Rajnath Singh as the BJP chief.

Sources said significant decisions like appointment of the new team of central office-bearers and elevation of Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi and his Madhya Pradesh counterpart Shivraj Singh Chouhan to the Central Parliamentary Board are likely to take place after the conclave. But these issues may come up for discussion informally during the meet.
The Economic Resolution will point out the ‘wrong economic policies’ of the Manmohan Singh government and insist that this has led to continuing price rise, fall in GDP growth to 5 percent, plight of farmers who have been driven to suicide, lack of foreign investment in multi-brand retail sector despite the UPA decision, among other issues.
They may also discuss maal-nootrition in maharastra too :rotfl:

http://www.firstpost.com/india/drought- ... 41607.html
Drought in Maharashtra: The state govt’s skewed policies are to blame
In a scathing editorial in the Hindu, Magsaysay award winner and journalist P Sainath argues that it isn’t purely rising demand, but a flawed water allocation policy by the Maharashtra government that is to be blamed for the shortage of water in the state.
The editorial points to the rise of water parks in the state, golf courses that have sparked conflict with farmers, water meant for industrial projects being diverted for private developers of real estate projects, and the encouragement for sugar and rose crops despite the fact they were consuming more than a rational share of water resources.
Pointing out the power of the sugar crop lobby in the state, one reportedly patronised by Agriculture minister and NCP Chief Sharad Pawar, Sainath says:
Even as foodcrop declines, fully two-thirds of Maharashtra’s sugarcane is grown in drought-prone or water scarce areas. At least one Collector had called for sugarcane crushing in his district to be suspended during this crisis. The sugar factories there together use up to 90 lakh litres a day. Given the power the sugar barons wield, the Collector is more likely to be suspended than the crushing.
These Internet Hindus are plotting to make the Hitler PM. Why did he not talk about the maal-nootrition in Gujarat?

Sorry if posted before:

RAM JETHMALANI in Ethics and Power:
Let truth be known about Modi
India was made to believe that Modi was complacent while riots seared Gujarat. Evidence indicates otherwise.

@ disha

Relax yaar. Hope you've seen Django Unchained. Uske jaise kool hona maangtha hai

SwamyG wrote:That is probably OT on this thread.
We can continue elsewhere but I think you know my views. Mostly westernized EJ macaulayite etc :)
No I do not care if it is Western or Eastern, Hindu or Christian; I want to know what would make Modi appealing to your community. That is what I am after.
SwamyG,

You are still getting this a bit off. I don't think any electorate in India is monolithic. A certain section of my community will vote for Modi or the parties behind him. Keep in mind a few years back Kanyakumari with 45% christian population had a BJP MP.

The question is one of winning more votes to your side. It all comes down to policies and how they are presented. Talk about lowering education costs, esp. higher education and making it universally available. Talk about policies on how you plan to empower women. Congress says reservations, what is your alternate plan? Just being pro-growth is not a policy.

WRT labor the big problem around here is contract labor. The state government has prostrated itself to the big businesses and refuses to enforce even the most basic of job condition rules. One large local enterprise furloughed its entire work force of 800 folks for 8 weeks without notice saying they are contract labor. Yet it required everyone to show up and sign the register everyday to keep their jobs. How do we balance this?

devesh wrote:the real point of pain is that someone who is assertive and un-apologizing about his Hindu roots has managed to climb the ladder by purely his own merits, while actually being continuously hampered and obstructed by the ruling Secular regime. this is the real pain. all else is carefully constructed P-sec/minority maya.
Brilliantly put.

This itself is going to cause takleef... :mrgreen:
Nationally as well as internationally. It puts a perspective to what 'international' means really and how P-sec 'international' regimes have been able to put down talented people under excuses.

Given a fair chance unhindered by propaganda, a lot of such people could come up across the globe leading to lot more supposedly-unagreeable P-sec tamasha.

An example is Andhra Pradesh where blatantly corrupt are voted for, and such arguments are never seen. It becomes a choice only in Gujarat but never in Andhra Pradesh.

All the hens I am raising have a strange growth of flesh and it looks unmistakably like a cock.
Can NM fix this?

My friends neighbor's dog has a wart on its left bum? Can you Moditvadis find out what your beloved leader has to say about this?

Women have an inalienable right to justice for rights to free workplace and equality in social upliftment of female victims of rape by gay men.
NM has not proven himself here. Ha!

Go suck some thumbs you lil fanboys...you cannae match my esoteric thoughts..

ramanaji, still need to go far, but thank you, am honored.
Theo_Fidel wrote: WRT labor the big problem around here is contract labor. The state government has prostrated itself to the big businesses and refuses to enforce even the most basic of job condition rules. One large local enterprise furloughed its entire work force of 800 folks for 8 weeks without notice saying they are contract labor. Yet it required everyone to show up and sign the register everyday to keep their jobs. How do we balance this?
Looks like y'all need a healthy dose of Kerala's trade unionism over there in NCJ, Theo-saar. But a man with significant holdings as you, will find it a double-edged weapon :lol:

Your point on Kanyakumari's past BJP MP is significant and not many folks here would understand what sort of deal making it took to pull that off. One of BJP's earliest candidates for Trivandrum East assembly seat was a Mrs Rachel Mathai. That the she actually never lost standing inside the her community is a tribute to the careful handling by the local BJP as well as her reputation as a maverick. Another gentlemen who is a super-senior of ours in college and is considered one of the finest (and humorous - gives ROTFL speeches) of Kerala Cadre IAS is Dr Babu Paul
He confirmed that the former Additional Chief Secretary, D. Babu Paul, was chairing the election committee of the Union Minister of State for Defence, O. Rajagopal, who is contesting from Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha constituency.
Strange are the ways of politics in India and one cannot have a "you are with us or against us" Dubya paradigm, as some seem to be hinting to Theo-saar. This thread is interesting, because Shree Modi is slowly becoming a viable (dont know the winnability yet, as it is dependent on NDA deal making) PM candidate and forum can try to patiently talk it out. We have 14 odd months to figure out some middle grounds.

Theo_Fidel wrote:<snip>

The question is one of winning more votes to your side. It all comes down to policies and how they are presented. Talk about lowering education costs, esp. higher education and making it universally available. Talk about policies on how you plan to empower women. Congress says reservations, what is your alternate plan? Just being pro-growth is not a policy.

There are a lot of posts here itself about the bolded parts done by NaMo and also lot of videos and articles in inernet.
1) education
2) higher education
3) universally applicable scholarships including to girl child.
4) free education for girl child is a reality in Gujarat.
5) no caste/religious based reservations as far as possible. only economically disadvanted sections + constitutionally approved ones for caste etc.

-----------------------------------
congress only has reservations for some.
----------------------------------

This post is not for you Theo.
only used your post.
Just to highlight again NaMo and BJP govts in Hindi heartland are far far better than any other seen from congis and its partners by a long long shot.

^^ NM is the best candidate around. And not because I say so or (gasp!) NM says so but because actions speak way louder than words.

Mainority takleefs will always abound. However, there is hope as seen among GJ muslims, good sections of whom have voted for NM, become BJP candidates in the municipal polls etc.

The kind of scrutiny that has focused on NM would be enough to generate enough heat to start a fission reaction in men of lesser calibre. Am fully certain a Sonia or Rahul couldn't have taken a teenyfraction of that kinda searing heat.

Good too, coz NM has emerged stronger ('baptized' by fire, shall we say?). He keeps his cards close to his chest when it comes to particular details coz of proven INC actions in the past to malign, subvert or trip his programs. However, he has been pretty open about his vision and direction. He has shown that he means what he says and folks have had to really twist his words to find anything remotely objectionable in them.

Yup, back to sane programming would be nice.

http://www.rediff.com/business/slide-sh ... 0227.htm#3
Unemployment lowest in Gujarat, highest in Kerala

An inter-state comparison shows that the unemployment rate per 1,000 people was the lowest in Gujarat where just 18 persons were unemployed and the highest in Kerala and Bihar where as many as 73 were unemployed in urban areas.
But but what about malnootrishion in Gujarat?

BJP’s domination forces Centre to discontinue ranking of states

http://deshgujarat.com/2013/02/27/congr ... glesvideo/

Can Hindutva do Yoga?
Mapping out tendencies, weaknesses and strengths.

Budget lacks strategy and vision for India's development: Modi
Coming down heavily on the budget, he said that there is a lack of co-ordination between the 12th Five Year Plan and the budget presented for the year 2013-14 by Union finance minister P Chidambaram.

Modi said that the budget is the reflection of the non-performance during UPA-II's five-year rule and it indicates that it has no connection with the reality of the common man.

"The budget seems like the government wants to pass time for One more year, as it does not have anything to fulfil the aspirations of the common man," Modi said.

"The UPA government which is embroiled in corruption and suffering from policy paralysis, has lost the last opportunity to take trustworthy steps to address challenges plaguing the Indian economy and show political will to put the country back on path of growth," Modi said.

"Instead of taking decisive steps to control surging inflation, the budget has pushed the people into an atmosphere of gloom," Modi said.

"This budget has no road map for monetary discipline, curbs on non-plan expenditure or financial strategy to bring down fiscal deficit which are essential for GDP growth," Modi said.

"There is little provision in the budget for skill development or employment generation for youth. Instead of utilising the demographic dividend of the country in form of the young population, the government ignoring them," Modi said.

"No seriousness is reflected in the budget to attract investments in social or infrastructure sectors," Modi said.

"The union government's debt is more than the combined debt of all states of the country," Modi said, adding that there is no attempt to encourage growth in states.

Modi also said that there is no road map for growth of agriculture, villages and those sections of society which got left behind.

Carl wrote:Can Hindutva do Yoga?
Carl ji, you have raised some known points with great clarity.

I have one difference of opinion thought. You mention a chance of a Hindutva Left with the likes of K.N. Govindacharya walking out of the BJP.

The way I see it, other countries were at one point or the other separated from their parent civilization and these countries are today facing the pal mein shola pal mein masha kind of dilemma.

We OTOH were lucky. We never became Anaath and the Sanchit Karm of the civilization came in to help us in our difficult times. If we are not careful we would extinguish this Sanchit Karm. Basically our ancestors did a good job and we are enjoying the fruits. For example the Baniya community has been very good at running businesses (in capacity of owners as well as in the capacity of managers) and have done their part in disseminating their work ethics. All varnas have come out with flying colours in India and Vaishyas are no different. Both the mainstream Sanghis and the offbeat ideologues like Shri Govindacharya ji have been strongly aware of this fact. The point of difference was not the left-right divide. Rather there was a commonality in the precedence given to domestic businesses. The point of difference was on the view w.r.t. a clutch of policy matters that prima facie created a rift between the entrepreneurs who functioned in the domestic market and those of a more international outlook. You see if you want to tap into the international flows then you need to open up too. This stream of thought won out. The second stream which focused on the local entrepreneurs functioning in local markets using local resources has since been on the backfoot. Govindacharya ji is batting for the latter group which has a strong presence within the Sangh.

Govindacharya ji will be ill at odds with a lot of ideas that the traditional Left espouses.

Basically I see this as an internal debate between diversification vs. consolidation. My personal lot was tied up with the Diversifiers till some time back. There were some low lying fruits to be had there. But now the pendulum has swung for me and the low lying fruits are on the consolidation side of things. Infrastructure, Consumption story, Land and gold holdings are all entirely indigenous ideas that can work only and only with local entrepreneurial skills.

I believe NM has a great role to play over here in the consolidation phase.

The greatest irony of our intellectual community is they are all have single digit IQs. These dimwits and idiots like Kajtu are an affront to our intelligence. The morons think that corruption, policies, economics, growth, development, business confidence all are irrelevant and work in isolation. The only relevant to these scumbags is 2002 since it fills their pockets.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/busi ... 733805.cms
Economic growth declines to 4.5%; Sensex tanks 291 points to 3-month low
Economy grew by 4.5 per cent in the October-December period of the current financial year, pulled down by poor performance of farm, manufacturing and mining sectors.

The gross domestic product (GDP) had expanded by 6 per cent in the same period of last fiscal.

The economic growth in the first nine months of this fiscal (April-December) stood at 5 per cent, lower than 6.6 per cent in the year-ago period.

The economy had grown by 5.5 per cent and 5.3 per cent in the first quarter and the second quarter, respectively, of 2012-13.

In October-December 2012-13, manufacturing sector grew marginally by 2.5 per cent, against 0.7 per cent growth in the same period of 2011-12, according to data released by the Central Statistical Organisation (CSO) today.

Farm sector output expanded by just 1.1 per cent in the October-December period this fiscal, against 4.1 per cent in the same quarter last fiscal.

Mining and quarrying sector, however, showed some improvement and contracted by 1.4 per cent during the quarter, as against a decline in output by 2.6 per cent in the third quarter of 2011-12.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?283987

Vindo Mehta spews venom on Modi and then wails about book business.
Yet the question Justice Katju raises will not so easily go away: is Modi ready to be PM? Make no mist­ake, that’s the real issue; not Katju’s selective criticism of non-Congress governments. It’s a question still unanswered. Many months bef­ore the 1996 election, L.K. Advani wisely ruled out contending for the top job because he recognised his candidature violated the idea of India.

I know that, in certain quarters, the idea of India has become a mocking phrase. We’re told that there are several ideas of India and only pse­udo-secularists like me insist there is only one. Well, not just pseudo-secularists but most of the BJP leadership supports my contention. That is why we see a frantic search to find an Atal Behari Vajpayee-type figure to carry all sections of the population. I am certain as 2014 approaches efforts will be made to dress up Modi in Vajpayee’s clothes. Oh, coming back to Katju. Should he have said what he did? Of course not.
On the Last Pages

I recently visited some leading bookshops in South Delhi, signing copies of my Sanjay biography. It wasn’t a happy exp­erience. Though The Sanjay Story was selling reasonably well, the tales of woe I heard at all the shops had me close to tears. Business was really bad. In the sluggish economy, people had stopped buying books. Many iconic bookshops had closed down. To make matters worse, internet retailers like Flipkart and Amazon were offering mighty discounts, up to 45 per cent on hardbacks, next day delivery and no advance payment.

A proprietor recounted confronting a customer who spent hours browsing in the shop but never made a single purchase. “Are you going to buy anything or just keep looking?” he asked.
With disarming honesty, the person answered that he came to the shop only to check out new arrivals. The actual buying he did was on Flipkart!
Will this moron ever connect the aspiration, development, governance, accountability propounded by Modi has direct relevance to the growth of this nation. We are suffering from idiocy across the board in print media, TV media, top institutions.

When you know Finance Minister who failed to inspire any one with his last chance to fix the economy attacks Modi indirectly and praises Nitish, you know how much kujli/burning sensation Modi is causing in CON schmucks.

Based on this idiotic administration's record, they think Social justice means Make every one equally poor.

The budget is about scoring cheap political point for this god-damn administration.

http://www.firstpost.com/economy/chidus ... 44033.html
Chidu’s budget takeaway – disdain for Modi, love for Nitish
But the politician in Palaniappan Chidambaram took a different route to send out a political message of a different kind – he named Bihar eloquently to woo JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar and announce rejection of what the Congress refers to as the Narendra Modi development model, albeit without directly naming him or Gujarat.

He used a quote from Nobel prize winner economist Joseph Stiglitz in the opening paragraphs of his budget speech to make his point against Modi and contrast that to credit of Congress-led UPA government at the Centre: “There is a compelling moral case for equity; but it is also necessary if there is to be sustained growth. A country’s most important resource is its people. We have examples of states growing at a fast rate but leaving behind women, the scheduled castes, the scheduled tribes, the minorities, and some backward classes.”

Though he did not mention Modi or Gujarat, this has been Congress’s standard criticism against Modi. During November-December 2012, it had tried hard to make it an election issue against him. It’s a different matter though that the finance minister mentioned the work in progress for the smart industrial city of Dholera in Gujarat while referring to the Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor.

Chidambaram then asserted that “the UPA does not accept that model (the Gujarat model). The UPA government believes in inclusive development, with emphasis on improving human development indicators.”

A little later, the finance minister gave the thumbs up to the Bihar chief minister’s pet project, Nalanda University: “The reconstruction of the Nalanda University has gathered momentum. The government is committed to the creation of Nalanda University as a centre of educational excellence.” He also referred to Bihar for increasing its contribution in rice production and so on.

‏@centerofright

NDA GDP Growth trends with UPA1 & UPA 2

UPA 1 2004 - 2009 Growth trend

UPA 2 2009 - 2013 GDP growth trend

so next time some one comes up and say UPA growth rate better than NDA, show them where the trends took us at End of NDA Govt and UPA govt

Theo ji, what about education!

Yes education deserves priority. It also need to be privatized further. The rentals aspect of this sector need to be curtailed while the maintenance of standards cannot be compromised upon. The content itself needs to be changed in a way that matches with the challenges we face today. But then Gujarat is not found wanting here. NM will carry this over to the rest of the country is something we can hope for. I mean, there's hardly anything to be discussed on these matters. Unless you can bring something up, say for example the presence of something that bothers you.

The same goes for women's issues.

How to you engage on these matters?

http://www.gulte.com/news/15167/Terrori ... nce-Ambani
Home grown terrorist group Indian Mujahideen has thrown its claws on businessman Mukesh Ambani this time. A letter was received by Reliance office in this context and the probe is on about it.

Indian Mujahideen has sent a letter Reliance Industries chairman Mukesh Ambani threatening him of dire consequences if he continues his support to Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi. With Modi's brand name getting popular for his communal stand, the terror outfit warned Ambani not to join hands with him.
I feel Dogvijay wrote this letter or is it Shinde or Chidu or Sonia herself? :rotfl:

Meanwhile, the Fiberals are pooping in their pants... Wonder what this Mullah is upto? Did he feel Muslims won't vote for him or is it that Hindus in UP are deserting like a snake that deserts all its babies.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/sp-wo ... v/1080698/
SP would change view towards BJP: Mulayam Singh Yadav

Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav today surprised everyone in Lok Sabha by saying that his party would change its view towards BJP, if it changes its "policy and mindset" towards Muslims and Kashmir.
In his speech on the Motion of Thanks to the President's Address, Yadav also attacked the government alleging that it has failed on issues like economy, internal security as well as foreign policy.
He said his party has "no differences" with the BJP on the issues of patriotism, language and border security, but stopped short of reaching out to the main opposition party.
"If you change your views about Muslims and Kashmir, we will change our views towards you," he said.
In an unusual move, Yadav also praised BJP President Rajnath Singh for speaking about "socialism" in his speech on the Motion of Thanks to the President's Address.
Yadav said Ram Temple issue is a closed chapter and BJP cannot raise that issue again.
"The temple issue is over. You can not raise that issue again," he said looking at the BJP members.
"We have differences with the BJP on the issue of Masjid," the SP leader said.
Yadav said, "Muslims are best makers of ornaments and you (BJP) and those who are sitting on the other side (treasury benches) are the one who wear the ornaments."
He also used opportunity to take a dig at the BJP for its alleged anti-Muslim politics, saying the party cadre's attitude towards minorities could be changed through morning RSS trainings in its sakhas
Katju is asking "Yu tu Mullah yam? Yu tu falling for Modi?"

And Sharad Pawar also made similar statements that there is no diff between INC and BJP!

vijayk wrote:Meanwhile, the Fiberals are pooping in their pants... Wonder what this Mullah is upto? Did he feel Muslims won't vote for him or is it that Hindus in UP are deserting like a snake that deserts all its babies.
Or the most important point is "are UP muslims going to vote NM?"

Earlier people were worried about NM's ability to win alliances...

Note to self: Dont be over confident

I think the rats are all sure that the UPA ship is going to sink.

First, crackpots like Guha, Katju callModi Hitler after SRCC speech, response and everywhere these scums go, even taxi drivers want Modi. The economy is sinking and there is despondency.

Then they realize that the best option is to divide BJP or allies.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?283987

Vindo Mehta wants Vajapyee in BJP who will be soft towards these scums and DIEnasty and weak against India's enemies.

Now Chidu in the budget speech praises Nitish and attacks Modi model to encourage NDA split in Bihar. Now Mullah wants to make up with BJP if they behave. So the idea is to encourage Advani or harmless and pretend they will be their allies if Modi is pushed out. As we have seen, the idiot Nitish already falling for it. I am sure if Advani and his buddies will start the hul chul. All these scumbags know that once Modi is pushed out, BJP is a toast.

ravi_g wrote:
I have one difference of opinion thought. You mention a chance of a Hindutva Left with the likes of K.N. Govindacharya walking out of the BJP.

The way I see it, other countries were at one point or the other separated from their parent civilization and these countries are today facing the pal mein shola pal mein masha kind of dilemma.

We OTOH were lucky. We never became Anaath and the Sanchit Karm of the civilization came in to help us in our difficult times.
Absolutely agree ravi_g ji. The "split" should not violate the decorum of Bharatiya sanskaars. More importantly, it should be undertaken to create a "complementarity of opposites", rather than conflict or "walking out" in a way that tears the fabric.
ravi_g wrote:The point of difference was on the view w.r.t. a clutch of policy matters that prima facie created a rift between the entrepreneurs who functioned in the domestic market and those of a more international outlook. You see if you want to tap into the international flows then you need to open up too. This stream of thought won out. The second stream which focused on the local entrepreneurs functioning in local markets using local resources has since been on the backfoot. Govindacharya ji is batting for the latter group which has a strong presence within the Sangh.
Yes. This tension between "swadeshi" versus "integration with global environment" can either help Bharat to expand, or it can introduce big new external factors in an already compromised situation (see the media and foreign investment in it, for example). We want this tension to play out so that those among our vaishya mandalas who go in for diversification and form extra-national interests...do so keeping in mind their responsibility to dharma and building a new rashtra. The previous detriment caused by older Buddhist and other mercantile networks has been discussed on BRF before.

So by playing both sides of the aisle in a wise way, diversification and consolidation can both go hand in hand for the sake of nation-building.
ravi_g wrote:Govindacharya ji will be ill at odds with a lot of ideas that the traditional Left espouses.
Thank God for that. The current Left needs to be replaced by offering proactive attention and solutions for the "causes" it exploits - not by adopting their methods and "solutions". In replacing it, the Leftist leadership has to be destroyed or rendered powerless. Many of its cadres, though, can defect and be won over.
ravi_g wrote:Basically I see this as an internal debate between diversification vs. consolidation. My personal lot was tied up with the Diversifiers till some time back. There were some low lying fruits to be had there. But now the pendulum has swung for me and the low lying fruits are on the consolidation side of things. Infrastructure, Consumption story, Land and gold holdings are all entirely indigenous ideas that can work only and only with local entrepreneurial skills.

I believe NM has a great role to play over here in the consolidation phase.
I hope so!

vijayk wrote:
I feel Dogvijay wrote this letter or is it Shinde or Chidu or Sonia herself? :rotfl:
RSS, wrote this letter damaging the reputation of IM :mrgreen:
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

He used a quote from Nobel prize winner economist Joseph Stiglitz in the opening paragraphs of his budget speech to make his point against Modi and contrast that to credit of Congress-led UPA government at the Centre:
This is the anglophile deracinated elite suffering from inferiority complex. How many American politicians would quote some Indian to justify American internal policies?

Since this thread is also about the defining features of each side's ideology, blaming the ills of its misgovernance on the majority community seems to have been a defining feature of the Dynasty since its inception.

Have zero economic management ability - blame it on Hindus and call it the natural 'Hindu growth rate'
Sexual violence on women increasing in Dynasty-ruled states - blame it on Hindu culture
Islamic terror on the rise in India - reverse the game and blame it all on majority communalism
Low HDI metrics in India - blame it on Brahministic culture of suppressing 'the lower castes'

Surprising that there haven't been more articles in web magazines (Firstpost etc) that have dissected this standard modus operandi of the Dynasty over several decades.

The good news is that the performance in several states, most importantly Gujarat, is only NOW convincing ordinary Indians about the complete bankruptcy and venality of the Dynasty's ideology.

pawarful MH politician made it public yday he thinks no diff between sikular UPA and saffron NDA in politics.
=> he is willing to support whoever wins in 2014.

be interesting to see how sikular nitish, didi, mayawati and mulayam really are push come to shove.

An article that finally recognizes the Dynasty's special 'talent' for achieving the impossible: Budget 2013: Achieving the impossible, three times in a row. Surjit Bhalla is one of India's leading economic commentators...
By any yardstick, UPA-2’s performance has been the worst ever for India, and the worst among most comparable countries in the world. It takes a lot of ‘talent’ to do the following: (1) Increase the inflation rate from 5% to more than 10% in the short space of 3 years. And to keep it sustained at double-digit levels for 4 consecutive years. No other country has been able to achieve this feat. (2) Decelerate growth by a full 5 percentage points in the short space of 2 years, 2010-11 to 2012-13. No other country in the world, with the possible exception of Greece, has been able to achieve this decline. Actually, I lie—even Greece does better than UPA-2 India. GDP growth in Greece was minus 3.5% in 2010 and is estimated to be minus 6% in 2012, a decline only half that of India. (3) Considerable worsening of the current account deficit (CAD)—estimated to be close to 5% of GDP in fiscal year 2013-14, a decline of 3 percentage points since 2009. Incidentally, Greece shows an improvement of 4 percentage points in its current account deficit to a level close to minus 6% of GDP, not that far from India.

VP Singh by declaring OBC reservation spared India 30-40 years of dynasty rule.
Congress considering 50% job quota for women as Sonia leads the charge for equality

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/in ... z2MGdE776O

ravi_g wrote:
Carl ji, you have raised some known points with great clarity.

I totally disagree with such classification. To me Govindacharya types are just nut cases and if they have brains they are Ambhi Kumars of modern India. By giving them Left, Right, hindutva etc, we are unnecessarily giving them respect which they do not deserve. I really don't care what they did in the past or how brilliant they were. When it matters they have become enemy of the national aspirations of the state. If they die, I only wish hell for such folks.

There are several storied in Hindu philosophy. In telugu it is called as Pandita Vs paamara. Translation is Pandit Vs commoner. The sins done by Pandit (Brahmins) have more punishment than those committed by commoners. If you are knowledged and your ego/self interest takes precedence over your preached-duty then you have to rot in hell.

There's a growing interest in Narendra Modi as BJP's PM candidate, says Arun Jaitley
But the crowning of Modi continues to be a nail-biting political thriller with BJP planning to wait for the election results before biting the bullet. Jaitley said, "When the appropriate time comes, the best within the system takes over. Even when we had the tallest leader in our party, Atal Behari Vajpayee, it was only on the eve of the 1996 elections, that Advani announced Atalji's name as leader of the party."
While taking a potshot at the Congress' dynasty politics, Jaitley promised an announcement on BJP's PM face soon. "There are parties which have become crowd around a family and the next leadership is known when the next-era parent is born. But in structural political parties, like Left and BJP, members have to struggle for 30-40 years before they get a place in the first row. In England, party conferences project a shadow Prime Minister. In the US primaries are held. There's no such system in India, but the Indian equivalent of the US primaries has begun in the BJP. You will soon know the name of our leader."
Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

Teesta Setalvad minting money in riot victims name
But despite collecting foreign donation of Rs 63 lakh in the account of Citizens for Justice and Peace (CJP) and Rs 88 lakh in the account of Sabrang Trust, nothing has been passed on to the members of society...
From the false promises given by these NGOs during the last 10 years, it is proved beyond doubt that these NGOs and outsiders are involved in making money for themselves in the name of providing financial support to us by projecting us in poor condition," the victims alleged in the letter.
-Ankit

Muppalla wrote:I totally disagree with such classification. To me Govindacharya types are just nut cases and if they have brains they are Ambhi Kumars of modern India. By giving them Left, Right, hindutva etc, we are unnecessarily giving them respect which they do not deserve. I really don't care what they did in the past or how brilliant they were. When it matters they have become enemy of the national aspirations of the state.
OK. Could you explain what exactly Govindacharya types are doing that makes them "enemy of the national aspirations of the state"? Thanks.