manju

Post by manju »

Singha wrote:NM in my opinion needs to and is practising the old soviet "deep battle" concept or even earlier the mongol tactic of crossing 100s of miles of desert and grassland and appearing in some unexpected point. attacking with surprise at multiple points ... and then withdrawing...his 'raids' on dilli , always with sudden appearance of splittists and counter revolutionary elements who melt away post raid, his popularity with nri's , legates and consuls of foreign nations trekking to his big Yurt to discuss dark deeds....every time someone screams "Namo" in the darkness of the foliage around lutyens delhi.... panic stricken run by courtiers and retainers to form a pike circle around the palace and start shooting arrows randomly at moving shadows.

deny them sleep.
Man, you are too good!! :D
Vril

Post by Vril »

https://www.change.org/en-IN/petitions/ ... tate#share

Petition to WIEF by "Saffron Senoritas"
We, Saffron Senoritas demand that your express Regret to the Constitutionally Elected Head of an Indian State for the wanton insult to the much revered figure and also to the damage it caused to the image of India.

Saffron Senoritas/Senoras – a group of Hindu women spread over the world — strongly condemn the petition by a bunch of leftists in Academia who want to throttle the voice of emerging India and also condemn the Wharton India Economic forum [WIEF] for buckling under pressure from these so called ‘Progressives’.

India is passing through extra-ordinary situation wherein it faces challenges regarding security of women and humongous corruption including in defence deals. Last few months have shown that in the capital of the country women are not safe even during day time. Many feel that we have entered an era of evil people like the King of the Kauravas Duryodhana ruling the country with temerity and impudence.

Coupled with this, is the level of corruption witnessed in the last few years and the audacity with which the ruling groups are going about this issue, hoping that newer loot will make public forget older one.

In this gloomy situation enters Shri Narendra Modi- as a whiff of fresh air- who has demonstrated that development can take place without politicians indulging in massive corruption.

He has also demonstrated that if handled with an iron hand law and order can be maintained.

He has shown remarkable ability to perform in all aspects of development.

When he speaks people listen with pin drop silence as witnessed in the case of a recent event at one of India’s premier colleges Shriram college of Commerce.

We thought that WIEF wanted to hear his point of view regarding development model for India and how to get there without sacrificing our culture/ethos and civilizational roots. We were given to understand that WIEF of Wharton Business School invited him to be the key note speaker since we did not find any indication from his website or that of Gujarat Government anything regarding the same.

We are not going into the malicious and inflammatory petition (to Ban Modi from Speaking at Wharton) initiated by left loonies and friends of Fai since the petition deserves to be thrown into nearest garbage bin. WIEF which belongs to the Wharton business school did a ridiculous act by recognizing such a scurrilous and slanderous petition not based on facts but on innuendos and rumors. It may be added that the petition was signed by a number of people who were not even on the Faculty of Wharton but from the Social Sciences of various other Universities.

The people of Gujarat have given a fitting reply to such malicious allegations not once but thrice in the last 11 years. Of course the petitioners do not recognise democratic India nor respect its electoral system since they are part of a generally discredited minority of which the kindest thing one can say is Left Loonies.

We observed that no professor from the business school signed it. It is up to WIEF and Wharton Business School faculty to ponder over the issue of allowing ‘left loonies’ and friends of Fai (Ghulam Nabi Fai who has been arrested and sentenced to 2 years in Prison in the USA on charges of assisting ISI of Pakistan) in social science departments to bully and blackmail mainstream academia.

The left loonies and friends of Fai of Indian origin are there to earn a few dollars more. We know that and their desperation about green cards and citizenship is well known. Let them enjoy it. But let them not interfere in the affairs of the sovereign democratic republic of India. They may have many sponsors and ulterior motives. But they will not succeed.

The current bunch of students will go away but Wharton should recognize that it has earned the displeasure and condemnation of millions of Indians. That would be irreparable in the long run damaging its relationship with middle class India.

We are confident that neither Mr. Modi nor millions of his followers are affected by this episode. This note is to inform Wharton how much they have damaged their reputation for perceived fairness.

Note: Saffron Senoritas /Senoras is a global group of Hindu women consisting of home makers/software engineers/doctors/lawyers/ accountants /designers/writers/journalists etc. Saffron represent in Hindu system all that is noble, glorious and worthy of sacrifice.

I'm glad Wharton snubbed Modi. Just look at his soaring popularity because of it.

Seriously it is Wharton's loss and problem; also it has all the rights to pick and chose its speakers. Insult to India, Modi ityadi are stretching things to the level of being ludicrous. It is not squishing freedom of speech or anything of that sort. What Modi needs is solid and sane supporters, not ridiculous whiners. The fence-sitters and good people who can be influenced will be chased away. Like the 'left loonies', Modi has some loonies on his side. And, hopefully these loonies do not spoil the elections for Modi.

^Thats a joke right?
anjan

Post by anjan »

SwamyG wrote:Seriously it is Wharton's loss and problem; also it has all the rights to pick and chose its speakers. Insult to India, Modi ityadi are stretching things to the level of being ludicrous.
It is no insult but it is the pointer to a serious problem when Indians use foreigners to lend legitimacy to what should be domestic political positions. Part of it is the "International" nature of the socialist system. Part of it is just pure mental colonialism. It's nauseating to see Manishankar Aiyar go on about his chaddi buddies - ministers in her majesty's government.

Edit: I meant to ask, driven away to what? Parties with sane supporters/members like Diggy Raja and Aiyar? With Diggy I almost believe he's running a study to see just how obnoxious you can get and still get people to vote for you.
member_23367

Post by member_23367 »

^^^ Talking of Mani Aiyar,here's an interesting blast from the past.

Don't invite the likes of Mani. If you must, limit them to two pegs'
Dec 3, 2000, 02.14PM IST TNN

ENCOUNTER/Amar SinghNone of the Capital's glitterati was prepared for the extremely ugly exchanges that took place at a social evening last month between Congress MP Mani Shankar and Samajwadi Party leader Amar Singh. Starting off as a wordy duel, it degenerated into a physical one, much to the embarrassment of all present. However, it was a thoroughly unrepentant Amar Singh who gave STOI a blow-by-blow account of what happened. Excerpts from an interview:
What was the provocation for the brawl at Satish Gujral's party?
In spite of being greatly provoked, I kept my cool for a very long time. The party was in honour of H.K. Dua, press advisor to the Prime Minister and a good friend of mine, who'd recently got married. Practically everybody who matters was there. Mani came up to me absolutely drunk and charged: `You are a racist. You prevented Sonia Gandhi from becoming the Prime Minister only because she's a foreigner.' I kept quiet.
Did you think it wasn't worth countering? Or was it because you did stall her premiership?
I did not prevent her from becoming the PM. It was the collective decision of Samajwadi Party MPs and MLAs under Mulayam Singh's leadership. As a spokesperson it was my duty to articulate the party's view.
Surely that wasn't provocation enough?
Mani didn't stop at that. He called me an opportunist, a political weather cock. I countered: I was with Mulayam and I'm still with him. It's you who, when denied a Congress seat, went over to Mamata and when she spurned you, you came back, calling her names. Mani shot back: `You are a broker of industrialists, you are Ambani's dog.' Without losing my shirt, I replied: Fine, as far as the Ambanis are concerned you people are virgins. Your party has not taken a single penny from them. As for proximity with industrialists the Congress has been in close touch with many of them. I told him: Yeh tu nahi, sharaab bol raha hai. To which Mani replied: `Mera dil aur dimaag bol raha hai'. Continuing in the same vein I said: Mote Mani Shankar, sharaab ke nashe mein dhhut tera sara shareer dol raha hai.
He was not offended?
He just wanted to provoke me, and when I didn't get provoked, he said, `What sort of a Thakur are you?' He just wanted to pick up a fight.
Why would he do that?
So that he could go back and tell Soniaji, I fixed Amar Singh, I'm the only one who could do it, and thus ensure a berth in the Congress Working Committee. I told Mani, I know your gameplan. I'm not going to help you get into Soniaji's charmed circle. To which he said, `You are under-estimating my clout with her, I write all her speeches. I did it for Rajiv.' Sure, how can anybody forget those infamous lines, `Mein VP Singh ki naani yaad karadoonga. God help the leader and the party which has a speech writer like you, I replied. He gave a maa ki gali. I said politely, but firmly, I can also abuse your mother, but I won't stoop so low. For god's sake don't provoke the beast in me.
But he did?
He was irrepressible... He said, `We belong to the Oxford and Cambridge set... your leader can't even articulate himself in English... Oh that bloody Mulayam -- he looks just like me. It could be because my father visited UP at some point. Why don't you check with Mulayam's mother'. :D This was crossing all limits. I grabbed him by the neck and did what I had to do.
You beat him up?
I did much less than what he deserved.
You said that knowing his gameplan you refused to get provoked. Why did you get provoked?
Mulayam Singh is very close to my heart. He is my leader. I'm sorry about what I did. I don't think it was right.
So you regret what you did?
I don't. I'm human, I'm not an angel. I got provoked when he talked about my leader's mother in such a derogatory manner. As a member of civil society I'm ashamed.
You embarrassed your hosts!?
If the hosts invite such characters, give them too much to drink and don't intervene when things get out of control, I'm sorry, I can't help it.
Is such behaviour befitting of MPs?
Normally, in such an episode, people's sympathies are with the victim. But in this case, the person who was kicked, enjoyed no sympathy.
That may be your perception.
That's the truth. It was people's collective desire to put him in his place. Even the hosts sent me flowers the next day with a `sorry' note.
Maybe they sent him one as well.
I don't know, I didn't check. But they told everybody that it was Mani who started it all.
Given all this, should there be a code of conduct for guests? Should defaulters be kept out?
I don't care whether I'm invited or not. I don't care if it causes embarrassment but I'm not prepared to take s...t from the likes of Mani Shankar Aiyar.
What is the solution to such rowdyism?
Don't invite unsavoury characters who can't hold their drink. If you must, limit them to two pegs. If they exceed their quota or misbehave, have them thrown out.
Sakina Yusuf Khan
In the interest of fairness the STOI called Mr Mani Shankar Aiyar for his version of the encounter. His reply was: ``I have nothing to say about that goonda. It's about time you people also stopped talking about it. Excuse me.'' He banged the phone down.

Sanjay Jha believes BJP pays its followers on twitter. Yep, Congress is in deep sh*t if they are resorting to lies like this. :rotfl:

(38:00)

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/left-r ... /267541?hp

SwamyG wrote:Seriously it is Wharton's loss and problem; also it has all the rights to pick and chose its speakers. Insult to India, Modi ityadi are stretching things to the level of being ludicrous. It is not squishing freedom of speech or anything of that sort. What Modi needs is solid and sane supporters, not ridiculous whiners. The fence-sitters and good people who can be influenced will be chased away. Like the 'left loonies', Modi has some loonies on his side. And, hopefully these loonies do not spoil the elections for Modi.
Swamy, simple pooch. Say I invite you to my house one day. You graciously accept and make time in your schedule to attend. Then a few days before the event I send you a message saying "sorry, I don't want you to come to my house because my wife can't stand you." Is it "loony", or perfectly reasonable, for you to feel insulted? Just per any norms of civil society anywhere in the world, I mean.

Furthermore. Let's say you were once accused willy-nilly of some crime, but the criminal justice system determined that there were no grounds to even charge you, let alone try you. What if I mention in my regrets message that "my wife doesn't want a criminal coming over to our house?" Can that be reasonably construed as an insult to the capacity and integrity of the criminal justice system, which found no grounds to charge you with any crime? Or is that "loony" as well?

On the "freedom of speech" issue, that's entirely relevant for a nation and society which hypes its commitment to freedom of speech as a core constitutional value. Yes, Wharton was free to invite or not invite. If it had not invited Modi in the first place, no question about freedom of speech would apply. But having invited him, to rescind the invitation entirely on the grounds that Modi is a person whose ideology should not be given a forum for expression... how is that not a complete violation of freedom of expression? Is this a sane, or a "loony" conclusion?

Whartoon's principles are at the same pedastal as jaichand's patriotism.

Personally, am hajaar glad this incident happened. Allows US based desi folks an issue to discuss about NM. And the more one talks and hears about NM - the more his impressive development record come up despite sneers and trickery from the loony left.

MISSIONARY MAN

New Delhi: Narendra Modi’s struggles may be rooted to his indomitable individuality. He has no time for dynasty to which the political establishment pays lasting homage. He rejects the identities of caste and community and addresses Gujaratis as an indivisible number of 6 crore people who have voted him chief minister three times in a row. His political economic genius is his own and like Churchill’s wartime brilliance does not come from having studied in any of the so-called great universities. The Indian establishment that dreads individuality and talent will try to keep him out but young India which has risen above narrow identities sees him as the future. Narendra Modi will come and on his own terms.

Modi left home at the age of 16 and never went back. He apparently does not romanticize this phase of his life but it tells something of his character. Not many Indians of the post-independence generations have done such a thing and are still less likely to do so now. It does not make them inferior but it renders Modi different. Fewer people know that he spent two years at Dakshineshwar, where Ramakrishna Paramahamsa attained enlightenment, and that he cares to dwell on sharing a first name with Paramahamsa’s greatest disciple, Swami Vivekananda.

All this perforce makes Narendra Modi a loner. According to people who know him, he has no friends. He is politically close to Arun Jaitley, on good terms with Ram Jethmalani, respects J.Jayalalithaa, and so forth. But always, there is a reserve about Modi, an invisible wall that keeps him separate. He has no hangers-on. No one can claim any intimacy with him, and certainly not the industrialists who get the odd photo-opportunity with the Gujarat chief minister. When he is in Delhi for a government or party meeting, he checks into Gujarat Bhawan just in time, and departs the capital at the first opportunity. No late-night parties for him, or secret assignations. Narendra Modi is clueless about leisure. It is work, work and work.

Clubby Delhi does not like such people. It is scared. It is understandable that the Congress party and the Nehru-Gandhi dynasty so oppose him. But he also strikes fear among the middlemen of Delhi who have survived regime-change because of their astonishing capacity to network. They tried with Modi and failed. He is immune to networking.

Nor does he succumb to rent-seekers. Why is his own party in Gujarat and in the Centre, the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangha and the Vishwa Hindu Parishad unhappy with him? Because he does not tolerate their rent-seeking or interference in Gujarat’s affairs. In his challenge to Modi in the 2012 assembly election, Keshubhai Patel obtained covert support across the political class. Keshubhai supporters known to this writer advanced the stock caste and communal calculations to predict Modi’s defeat. Whilst a small honest section of the Central bureaucracy is looking forward to work with Modi, the majority are terrified that he will clean up their rackets.

In other words, Narendra Modi is a game-changer unknown to Delhi who is feared and loathed and therefore to be countered. He speaks the blunt truth which jars the compromised political establishment of the Centre, Left and Right and the main actors of the ruling and opposition parties. He has become a political giant in spite of the shrill and mendacious mainstream media campaign. Ten years of brutal personal assaults have made him invincible. In a limited sense, Modi is the creation of his opponents.

With other self-made men, Modi shares a quality that exults in “virtuous exertion”. The end to such exertion is exertion itself. He will exert the system to reinvent India and, among other things, unleash its entrepreneurial panther energies. Those that go to Big Bazaar for its modest prices would encounter products of many new manufacturers based in Gujarat. That is a preview of how Modi will make India a manufacturing colossus. To listen to some of his plans for Gujarat is to be spell-bound.

The opposition to Narendra Modi from his own party at the Centre, however, would not make easy his shift to Delhi. He knows this and is said to be untroubled. His view is that the country should want him enough to lead it. He puts more faith in the people than in his own party. All the same, he will come to Delhi on his terms. He will not be a nightwatchman. Most of us may never gain an understanding of the man who may be India’s prime minister after 2014, but those would that left home forever at 16.

http://www.newsinsight.net/Missionaryma ... age=page-1

RoyG wrote:Sanjay Jha believes BJP pays its followers on twitter. Yep, Congress is in deep sh*t if they are resorting to lies like this. :rotfl:

(38:00)

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/left-r ... /267541?hp
Tavleen Singh called Sanjay Jha and his twitterNarega guys on social media monkeys with AK-47.

Reluctant Rahul To Dodge Cage Fight With Modi?

http://blogs.the-american-interest.com/ ... with-modi/

Rudradev: It is eerily close. I had a friend, whose wife could not stand us and people from a region, sadly our friendship withered away. Sure there was anger at the way she stereotyped some people... Long story short I never thought it was an insult to me, my wife or people from the region. It was her problem.
Wharton does not prevent Modi from exercising his rights to speak in other places. In your example, your wife has all rights to invite and cancel the invitation. It does not infringe my freedom, because your house is not a public square, it is your private residence. All Wharton is saying is sorry we will not host you.
If your wife bases her decision on rumors, and rightly or wrongly arrives at a particular conclusion it is within her rights to not host me in your residence. I could get angry and all worked up, but it is your house.

SwamyG wrote:Wharton does not prevent Modi from exercising his rights to speak in other places.
Sorry, your logic does not apply.

Wharton School actually wanted to listen to Modi and continue to want to do so...and they were prevented from exercising their right to invite whomsoever they wanted to listen to - by a bunch of third-world goons from U-Penn that used mafia blackmail tactics. The U-Penn mafia was interfering with Modi's right to speak with his supporters as well as WIEF's right to hear out whomsoever they wanted to.

Arun Menon wrote:^Thats a joke right?
No. I was the person to say that this is good for Modi. Wharton is not an end goal. However he can milk this for real good.

If others influenced Wharton it is still within the rights of Wharton to cancel the invitation. Your freedom does not extend into my house. Should Wharton have done this? Nope. But it is done now. Big deal, move on or one can keep crying 'mommy, mommy he does not want to invite me to his birthday party'. And Modi supporters can behave crazy on the Internet with online petitions and such and crying foul. Rather one would appreciate how this episode is used as an evidence of bias and influence of vested parties and individual. Creating a strong case that would resonate with aam admi is important than a bunch of thin skinned people running like headless chicken on the Internet. Is this what Modi would want you to do?

SwamyG wrote:If others influenced Wharton it is still within the rights of Wharton to cancel the invitation. Your freedom does not extend into my house. Should Wharton have done this? Nope. But it is done now. Big deal, move on or one can keep crying 'mommy, mommy he does not want to invite me to his birthday party'. And Modi supporters can behave crazy on the Internet with online petitions and such and crying foul. Rather one would appreciate how this episode is used as an evidence of bias and influence of vested parties and individual. Creating a strong case that would resonate with aam admi is important than a bunch of thin skinned people running like headless chicken on the Internet. Is this what Modi would want you to do?
Was it an insult aimed at Modi? Yes. Did Modi say anything about this? No. So there is no thick/thin skin of Modi in picture.

So it is the upper aam aadmi talking about it in twitter. The upper aam aadmi are making those cases themselves. Did Modi ask Dhume to not go? No.

Personally I would say this malicious and insulting behavior of wharton deserves all the condemnation it is getting and more.

Oh! Nobody is questioning wharton's rights, just as it is the now the right of upper aam aadmis to disparage it. Now are you saying that the upper aam aadmis, mostly twitteratis do not have this rights?

SwamyG wrote:If others influenced Wharton it is still within the rights of Wharton to cancel the invitation. Your freedom does not extend into my house. Should Wharton have done this? Nope. But it is done now. Big deal, move on or one can keep crying 'mommy, mommy he does not want to invite me to his birthday party'. And Modi supporters can behave crazy on the Internet with online petitions and such and crying foul. Rather one would appreciate how this episode is used as an evidence of bias and influence of vested parties and individual. Creating a strong case that would resonate with aam admi is important than a bunch of thin skinned people running like headless chicken on the Internet. Is this what Modi would want you to do?
Certainly it is within Wharton's legal right - nobody is claiming otherwise. Obviously it is not a legally strong case of 'freedom of expression' being violated. If that were the case, instead of wasting time on petitions, folks would have directly approached the US courts.

But here is where you are wrong - this IS definitely a case that brings up serious questions involving freedom of expression (specifically in the context of an upcoming election). And this is a precedent-setting discussion on what behavior is appropriate for such occasions, and impinges strongly on future such invites and the question of Modi not having a visa for the US.

Secondly, you are making two major assumptions that are not correct- 1) That all of the folks who are involved in raising matters on this issue are solely motivated by the need to support Modi and 2) That raising the issue of "freedom of expression" is not helping Modi.

On 1) many of the folks raising the issue are motivated simply by the rights and wrongs of the case itself rather than any support for Modi and on 2) this is also benefiting Modi simply because it is ensuring that the anti-Modi mafia is dissuaded from more such goondaisms both in India and outside.

SwamyG garu,

One can be well within their rights and be an a$$.

Clearly wharton in this case was an a$$ and saying this out loud doesnt mean one is questioning their rights.

Sushupti wrote:Reluctant Rahul To Dodge Cage Fight With Modi?

So Walter Russel Mead "predicts" (i.e prefers) that "reluctant" Raul will become PM over NaMo (who is destined to be waiting forever) Hain ji ?

This clearly shows for whom a certain section (the Anglo-American Atlanticist type) in the American establishment is rooting for in this "cage fight"...

A signal for Indian nationalists to redouble their efforts to bring NaMo to the helm .

The opposition to Narendra Modi from his own party at the Centre, however, would not make easy his shift to Delhi. He knows this and is said to be untroubled. His view is that the country should want him enough to lead it. He puts more faith in the people than in his own party. All the same, he will come to Delhi on his terms. He will not be a nightwatchman. Most of us may never gain an understanding of the man who may be India’s prime minister after 2014, but those would that left home forever at 16.
Wow. Am spellbound only. All over again. NaMo namaha. The country's tryst with destiny that Nehru eulogized so much only got us limited independence from UKstan. The tryst with destiny that gets us freedom from the UKstani predatory state system - the neta-babu-inspector-collector nexus is yet to come. Freedom of enterprise, of innovation, of expression, bring it on. And NaMo shall herald it, inshallah.

SwamyG wrote:Rudradev: It is eerily close. I had a friend, whose wife could not stand us and people from a region, sadly our friendship withered away. Sure there was anger at the way she stereotyped some people... Long story short I never thought it was an insult to me, my wife or people from the region. It was her problem.
Not really the same thing. If your friend stops associating with you because of his wife's issues, that's his prerogative, and her problem. It's unfortunate, maybe, but not an insult.

However-- if your friend, knowing the issue, still invites you to his house... which you accept in good faith... and then he tells you not to come because of that very issue. That's different, isn't it? Nothing unreasonable about regarding that as an insult. It shows a disrespect for your time and sentiments if nothing else.
Wharton does not prevent Modi from exercising his rights to speak in other places. In your example, your wife has all rights to invite and cancel the invitation. It does not infringe my freedom, because your house is not a public square, it is your private residence.All Wharton is saying is sorry we will not host you.
Wharton has no authority anywhere but on its own campus. As a part of the U Penn system, they have made a public commitment to the standards of open expression expected of any reputable academic institution, on their own campus.

See U Penn's guidelines on free expression here:

http://provost.upenn.edu/policies/pennb ... expression

By denying Modi a forum at Wharton, there is no question that U Penn stands in violation of its own guidelines. Is this strong enough to pursue a legal case upon, perhaps not. But the hypocrisy is clear and blatant... and there's nothing unreasonable about calling that out.
If your wife bases her decision on rumors, and rightly or wrongly arrives at a particular conclusion it is within her rights to not host me in your residence. I could get angry and all worked up, but it is your house.
The question is not how you feel about it... it's "what kind of a person is your friend's wife!" THAT's what needs to be addressed head-on. Her bigotry has risen to the surface in an embarrassing (for your former friend) episode. People who object to your friend's wife's bigotry have every right to cite this incident as evidence of her character... regardless of whether they do so out of concern for avenging your H&D.

Applying the analogy back to UPenn and Modi... the "wife" is the Turdjoys and Loombas who have traditionally baited India out of anti-Hindu bigotry, and served as sepoys for the Western project to undermine Indian interests. "You" are Modi... and just as you wouldn't be angry or worked up, neither has Modi himself made even the slightest comment on the affair!

The whole business has two distinct benefits. One, it garners more support and more sympathy for Modi. Two, because of the attendant publicity, it exposes the sepoys for what they are. What's your problem with people who decide to take on the sepoys by using this incident to batter them? How does such activity affect Modi's electoral chances one way or the other?
Last edited by Rudradev on 07 Mar 2013 08:15, edited 1 time in total.

Virupaksha wrote:SwamyG garu,

One can be well within their rights and be an a$$.

Clearly wharton in this case was an a$$ and saying this out loud doesnt mean one is questioning their rights.
Yup, that I agree. My point is specific to the behavior of some jeeva-janthus. The more Modi's opponents make themselves look like an ass the merrier for Modi. However, in the process no need for Modi's supporters to make an ass of themselves, no?

Arjun: this is not a case of freedom of expression. Period.

SwamyG wrote:However, in the process no need for Modi's supporters to make an ass of themselves, no?
Can you be specific? Who among Modi's supporters have made asses of themselves regarding this incident, and how exactly?

I have a question.Hexawares CEO has decided not to go to warton.Will there be pressure on Hexaware from US customers to change its position by threatening it on contracts etc?

SwamyG wrote:Arjun: this is not a case of freedom of expression. Period.
Do you agree that Rushdie / Jaipur Litfest issue was about freedom of expression? Yes / No?

If the answer to that is Yes, then how is the Modi case any different ?

You can feel free to hold any opinion you want - unfortunately it does not square up with reality.

Rudradev wrote:
SwamyG wrote:However, in the process no need for Modi's supporters to make an ass of themselves, no?
Can you be specific? Who among Modi's supporters have made asses of themselves regarding this incident, and how exactly?
All the social media who have gone about crying hoarse about it being India's insult, creating petitions, talking about freedom of expression ityadi. Even NitiCental went overboard.

I felt sorry for my friend, and his condition. And that is how I would feel, if he was truly helpless and was naive to imagine. If he nourished an ulterior motive to particular insult me, then it is a different issue - like Duryodhana inviting Pandavas for the game of dice. Good faith and intentions matter, incompetency does not matter.

The bigotry and negativity of the people who opposed Modi is loud and clear. And it is expected those people are called out.

I sort of agree with swamyg gaaru.The white man will not give up so easily.The white establishment has just started.The hairbird,warton,beeb,NYT will now launch full frontal attack,now they know that Narendrabhai is THE UNDISPUTED leader of Hindu India.They will lose every ugly tactic,use Churchianity/christism,indian sepoys.We cannot be reacting all the time.They will targetting our economy,institutions.We should be ready for the full fledged assault,rather than be complaining.This is an ALL OUT war,no holds barred.

svenkat wrote:The white man will not give up so easily.The white establishment has just started.
Frankly this case has less to do with "the white man" and more to do with Dynasty scum carrying their garbage from India to the US.

Arjunji, please think about the 3.5 friends analogy, who gives these sepoys/gungadins the influence to do these things? and for whom are they doing this?
--------

Arjun wrote:
SwamyG wrote:Arjun: this is not a case of freedom of expression. Period.
Do you agree that Rushdie / Jaipur Litfest issue was about freedom of expression? Yes / No?

You can feel free to hold any opinion you want - unfortunately it does not square up with reality.
Why try to stretch so much saar? Is Modi prevented from expressing his opinions, or assembling his team, can he canvass, can he write , etc etc? If yes, then his freedom of expression is fine. He does not have the right, just like you do not have the right to come to my home and talk about a particular topic. I have the right to hate you and not invite you, however illogical and unreasonable it might be. It is my freedom. I cannot prevent you from going to Rudradev's home by blocking your car. I have the right to influence Rudradev from not inviting you. Rudradev has the right to ignore me.

Reality? :rotfl:

SwamyG wrote:Why try to stretch so much saar? Is Modi prevented from expressing his opinions, or assembling his team, can he canvass, can he write , etc etc? If yes, then his freedom of expression is fine. He does not have the right, just like you do not have the right to come to my home and talk about a particular topic. I have the right to hate you and not invite you, however illogical and unreasonable it might be. It is my freedom. I cannot prevent you from going to Rudradev's home by blocking your car. I have the right to influence Rudradev from not inviting you. Rudradev has the right to ignore me.
All of what you stated above applies to the Jaipur Litfest. But then everybody else is agreed in regarding that particular issue as one of 'freedom of expression'.

Am I correct in assuming you don't think Rushdie/Litfest issue relates to freedom of expression?

Sushupti wrote:Twitter is filled with buzz that congress's symbol of "Hand" is the inspiration behind Raul's decision to remain unmarried. :D

That was too good.
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

Party Symbols

Apparently K Karunakaran brought Indira Gandhi to some of the major temples of Kerala after the party split again in 1978. He was actually one of her chief lieutenants in those Janata Party times and wielded tremendous influence. The old INC symbols were Pair of Yoked Bullocks (till '69) and Cow-and-calf ('69-'78). The BJS OTOH had a Lamp for it's symbol till merger with Janatha.

PS: There's also the story about a neta from AP suggesting the palm symbol in the 11th hour (before an EC deadline) due to simplicity. TN Sheshan as EC once tried to ban using body parts as party symbols..... and after retirement became an INC candidate.
Last edited by Anand K on 07 Mar 2013 09:29, edited 2 times in total.

SwmayG --> At least in a limited way, in Wharton, the freedom of expression was indeed murdered, not ALONE for Modi, but also of the students. They had a particular wish to express themselves, and that was denied.

Why is that not a problem? (Modi not withstanding)

I think we need to go overboard as well >> Aar paar ki ladai types.

Lilo wrote:
Sushupti wrote:Reluctant Rahul To Dodge Cage Fight With Modi?

So Walter Russel Mead "predicts" (i.e prefers) that "reluctant" Raul will become PM over NaMo (who is destined to be waiting forever) Hain ji ?

This clearly shows for whom a certain section (the Anglo-American Atlanticist type) in the American establishment is rooting for in this "cage fight"...

A signal for Indian nationalists to redouble their efforts to bring NaMo to the helm .
Don't dismiss Walter Russell Mead lightly. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walter_Russell_Mead)

These are the kind of folks who are in charge of EVM binaries and own a big chunk of the Indian media.

If they decide to stop Modi they can do it quite easily.

Get a judgment against him from the Courts. (See how this could work through judges linked to foreign NGOs - Plea to recuse judge for his daughter's link to Teesta)

Orchestrate a campaign in the Indian media.

Manipulate individuals in RSS and BJP by threatening to expose their foreign bank accounts.

Manage EVMs etc etc.

It could even be arranged to have Modi bumped off by Jihadists, but there many options short of that.

Modi is a baby in comparison.

Ramdev refuses to endorse Modi as PM - http://daily.bhaskar.com/article/GUJ-AH ... 1-PHO.html
When asked to comment on eligibility of Gujarat CM Narendra Modi for the country’s top executive post, Ramdev exuded a strange silence which kept everyone present guessing. He, however, said that ‘it was early to comment on Modi's candidature'.
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

Atul Nishar and Gautam Adani are two good Gujju baniyas who made it good.. I'm happy they are standing up for what is right.

SwamyG wrote:
Arjun wrote: Do you agree that Rushdie / Jaipur Litfest issue was about freedom of expression? Yes / No?

Why try to stretch so much saar? Is Modi prevented from expressing his opinions, or assembling his team, can he canvass, can he write , etc etc? If yes, then his freedom of expression is fine. He does not have the right, just like you do not have the right to come to my home and talk about a particular topic. I have the right to hate you and not invite you, however illogical and unreasonable it might be. It is my freedom. I cannot prevent you from going to Rudradev's home by blocking your car. I have the right to influence Rudradev from not inviting you. Rudradev has the right to ignore me.

Reality? :rotfl:

:rotfl: Jai ho. Loved you for this.

But then in a limited way the freedom did die its millionth death. Chalta hai. Then again, Kongis wanted this silly debate to dominate people's mindspace for some time. They got it.

NM should learn how the groundsmen work on the pitch and the outfield.