It will be nice to breed engineers for defense equipment line itself, catch them young groom them well, and we will be a front line defense equipment manufacturing country.
Also Indian corporates (PSU) need to learn how to be accountable and sympathetic to defence needs and the Armed forces will have to learn to adjust to the vagaries of domestic supply. The experience cannot be guaranteed to be happy, but it is a necessary one - like a 7 foot man marrying a 4 foot 4 inch woman.Raghuraj wrote: It will be nice to breed engineers for defense equipment line itself, catch them young groom them well, and we will be a front line defense equipment manufacturing country.
There are philosophical differences in the way a conventional army might fight versus what the US might do.pentaiah wrote: We need anti tank missiles with top kill ability and heavy duty artillery of all kinds in addition doctrine wise IA is very conventional and conservative as well, while innovative at application of the tools at hand
They failed in Kosovo for the same reason that they failed in Karbala - doctrine. They thought they could get helicopters to conduct deep strikes and interdiction against dispersed Serb forces. The difficulty of that task was compounded by bad intelligence and a relatively strong SHORAD system that previous air attacks had not degraded. And BTW, the Apaches were brought in because fixed wing aircraft had difficulty locating, much less destroying, the pockets of resistance. Your 300 Brimstone and CBU-105 equipped planes would fare little better in that scenarioSingha wrote:also the apache was supposed to be the big white hope in serbia war when the air campaign was unable to locate and destroy hidden serb assets (they later shifted to bombing water treatment and power plants as "dual use" to increase civilian suffering and pressure the milosevic govt).
Point taken on the twin engines. But IR suppression? I'll wait for public domain confirmation of that. A more sophisticated targeting and weapons suite? I think not. Not right now, in any case.Singha wrote:superior target acqusition and fire control, IR signature suppression, twin engines
er every gunship helo incl LCH has IR sig suppression , LCH also has twin engines..
Bookish knowledge... paper spec... all that's just hand waving. We don't have an Arjun tank driver or an LCA pilot on BRF either, but we still discuss those weapons in detail, no?Singha wrote:and all this superior stuff is just bookish knowledge...we dont have a apache pilot here to tell us what is the real capability and weak points of the paper spec we read on the web. same goes for LCH, we know nothing of its avionics and sensor's real capabilities.
Said uncle came up with the Apaches to fight off a Soviet armoured invasion. All this dominance business didn't exist then.pentaiah wrote: Uncle is in a different kettle. He has complete dominance in ECM EW
milindc wrote:Desi Bofors to plug gap in Army’s long-range firepower
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 841177.cms
OFB has developed two prototypes of the 155mm\45-calibre guns, one with 68% indigenous parts and the other with 46%, that have been "satisfactorily tested in validation firings" in Pokran and Balasore over the last five months
<sniped>
"user-trials" in June [that would be 3 months away]
<sniped>
The Army has projected an initial requirement for 414 of these guns, each of which will cost over Rs 11 crore, as part of its long-delayed artillery modernization programme. [~2 million USD to a gun]
Let me complicate the issueRaghuraj wrote: Find N in following equation![]()
Cost of 1 Apache = Cost of LCH X N
Please find M in below equation![]()
Now Arms carried by 1 Apache = Arms Carried by 1 LCH X M
Raja Bose wrote:We are equipping our choppers with arty guns?
Sigh, let's make this a little easier to understand, shall we? CAS ≠ deep interdiction. Heavy attack chopper good at CAS. No good at deep interdiction. Simple, ja?Singha wrote:They thought they could get helicopters to conduct deep strikes and interdiction against dispersed Serb forces. The difficulty of that task was compounded by bad intelligence and a relatively strong SHORAD system that previous air attacks had not degraded.
and that is precisely the situation vs TSP and Cheen we will face because no way is IAF strong enough to attain total air superiority over these (unlike the NATO over serbia).
You obviously seem to be fully aware of the specifics of the SEAD/DEAD missions the IAF has in mind for the LCH (not the Apache). Why don't you share with the rest of us what these are, and why these will involve deep operations and little else?Singha wrote:IAF is claiming it will do SEAD/DEAD - how in this situation?
Er, nobody claimed that the Apache will be sued to penetrate "300km inside TSP at treetop level". It is being procured for a very specific role - air support for the strike corps - and excels in that role. If you have evidence that the Apache is a spectacular failure at close air support, and that the LCH would be a better option instead, let us have it instead of all the hand-waving and strawman arguments.Singha wrote:And BTW, the Apaches were brought in because fixed wing aircraft had difficulty locating, much less destroying, the pockets of resistance. Your 300 Brimstone and CBU-105 equipped planes would fare little better in that scenario.
yes and the apache will penetrate 300km inside TSP at treetop level or high subsonic like the rafa/jags/tejas/m2k and drop 16 hellfires on a enemy formation streaming to the front before escaping at supersonic speed, while still retaining 2 AAMs each for self-defence shots?
This time around, they have no other options. and this is after all an upgrade of the the proven FH-77B, so the user trials should hopefully not throw up any new surprise requirements that the original FH-77B didn't fulfill.Surya wrote:before I get excited by the 114 count order there exists the small tasks of passing user trials.
knowing how our trials go on and on and on
I will wait.....
I think you've misunderstood his point.Kartik wrote:This time around, they have no other options. and this is after all an upgrade of the the proven FH-77B, so the user trials should hopefully not throw up any new surprise requirements that the original FH-77B didn't fulfill.Surya wrote:before I get excited by the 114 count order there exists the small tasks of passing user trials.
knowing how our trials go on and on and on
I will wait.....
The original requirement for 414 of these guns should hopefully come through in the second part of the order.
vishnu.nv wrote: Regarding helicopters
IMHO we lived this far without Apaches, and I don’t think a squadron of gold plated apaches will make that much difference.
Good to hear from you after a long time.
As for the impact of Apaches given the numbers being acquired - well, attack helicopters in our service or that in service of PA (AH-1 Cobra) are considered to be an important threat to armored columns of both nations. Apaches simply take the threat to a new level with the kind of technological advancement they bring. Also, IAF has had only 2 x Squadrons of Mi-35 for quite some while - between IA and IAF, they might have well felt that given the threat scenario, heavy attack helicopters of this type and number suffices. And one on one replacement of Mi-35 with AH-64D would be OK to meet the threat scenario currently available and likely to present itself in future. Threat scenario which is best tackled by helicopter of AH-64D type.
Note that only half of these have the long bow radar.
Longbow Apaches can share targeting information with those without Longbow Apaches. And this actually shows that IAF has done a detailed analysis of threat scenario. Had purchase of Apaches been a mindless exercise of the kind being insinuated here on BRF, IAF would have spent another couple of hundred million dollars and asked for 22 Longbow sets.
A war time loses will be high as far as chopper fleet is concerned for IA/IAF, this is mainly because of the proliferation of quality manpad’s in PA/PAF.
Which actually means that you need a dedicated hunter-killer machine to ensure you take out enemy targets while suffering minimum damage. The AN/APG-78 set ensures that Apaches can achieve their missions with best possible results.
We should be concentrating in getting the choppers (LCH, Rudra etc) in numbers and getting these assets to standard through upgrades based on the operational performance.
Well, 179 LCH are already confirmed by IA and IAF. 60 Rudra have been ordered for by the IA. And this is only an initial number. So, why the whine about numbers? But for the Strike Corps, all other Corps from NE to North to Gujarat are going to have their Combat Aviation Bde centered around LCH. What more do the Services need to do to prove their 'credentials' as far as this chopper is concerned?
As far as the LCH not in production view point, we haven’t retired our MI-35’s yet.
We don't know how long in the tooth Mi-35 are really.
We could live another 3-4 years without Apaches, as we are doing the same without artillery guns, LUH and MRCA. Interact with HAL, get things up to the speed and get it in to production. The apaches are of high standards and a huge success as far as American AF/Army is concerned. We need to work on LCH and make it to the Apache standards, buying gold plated won’t help our economy or war fighting capability in long run.
You need to understand a fundamental point - the LIGHT in LCH is there for a reason. In its present form, LCH cannot be considered as alternative for heavy attack helicopters like Apaches or Tiger. Development and Production of LCH are different from requirement for Apaches. This is one point which people do not seem to be getting. Import of Apaches has not withheld the development and induction of LCH. And in numbers. This is not Arjun versus T-90. Where deal for T-90 has impeded the induction of Arjun in numbers.
Apaches are a sub-set of overall requirement of attack helicopters. A LCH cannot simply morph into something like Tiger or Apache through iterative development. Any Indian development in this domain of heavy attack helicopter will have to be a fresh program.
Development and subsequent induction of LCH meets the larger requirement for Attack Helicopters by IA. Requirement which does not require an Apache or Tiger class of helicopters.
This is puerly my view point
And the above is mine.![]()
KartikThis time around, they have no other options. and this is after all an upgrade of the the proven FH-77B, so the user trials should hopefully not throw up any new surprise requirements that the original FH-77B didn't fulf
That was in Sierra Leone and you are right, Mi-35 did do an amazing job there. The unit involved was a Gorkha Rifles unit, I think. Not only with IAF, but also in the hands of some experienced PMCs who inflicted pretty heavy damage on rebels there.The MI-35 proved itself in our African peacekeeping missions .There was a very colourful report a few years ago where our boys-a large number, who were trapped by rebels in some remorete outpost (I can't remember whic country at the moment),made a unique escape travelling a couple of hundred kms I think on foot, through inhospitabel jungle,pursued by the rebels,under cover all the way by our attack helos,whch according to western sources/reports did a fantastic job by "shooting everything that moved" .They gave such a pasting to the rebels who never attacked an Indian post again.The Brits later copied our example and id something similar.
unfortunately this sounded great on paper and warsaw pact exercises but not too practical in AfghanisthanThe uniqueness of the MI-35 is that it can also carry a significant number of troops who can be flown right into action where needed to mop up or support troops already on the ground.
I agree!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!vishnu.nv wrote:Regarding helicopters
IMHO we lived this far without Apaches, and I don’t think a squadron of gold plated apaches will make that much difference. Note that only half of these have the long bow radar. A war time loses will be high as far as chopper fleet is concerned for IA/IAF, this is mainly because of the proliferation of quality manpad’s in PA/PAF. We should be concentrating in getting the choppers (LCH, Rudra etc) in numbers and getting these assets to standard through upgrades based on the operational performance.
As far as the LCH not in production view point, we haven’t retired our MI-35’s yet. We could live another 3-4 years without Apaches, as we are doing the same without artillery guns, LUH and MRCA. Interact with HAL, get things up to the speed and get it in to production.
The apaches are of high standards and a huge success as far as American AF/Army is concerned. We need to work on LCH and make it to the Apache standards, buying gold plated won’t help our economy or war fighting capability in long run.
This is puerly my view point
There could be a number of reasons for going with the US product and not all would be military related - some will be political and yet others commercial. I cannot say, but I would guess none of us would have a complete picture of such events.IMHO we lived this far without Apaches,
I JUST googled to find that India could/would/should be ordering more Apaches!!! This time for the Army. How many? Do not know - there could be figures out there, but I did not chase that (yet).and I don’t think a squadron of gold plated apaches will make that much difference.
Nothing to be alarmed about - not all are expected to have the Longbow radar.Note that only half of these have the long bow radar.
I think there were discussions on this matter. It sure is a concern, but if it is a major concern, then perhaps the Longbow/Apache is among the best to handle it at the moment. ?????????A war time loses will be high as far as chopper fleet is concerned for IA/IAF, this is mainly because of the proliferation of quality manpad’s in PA/PAF.
Been hearing that for eons. But, such efforts take a lot of time. Does not mean that India go after a lot more Apaches, but, until such helos are proven there will always be a gap to be filled.We should be concentrating in getting the choppers (LCH, Rudra etc) in numbers and getting these assets to standard through upgrades based on the operational performance.
In that case why did the IAF ask for the Apache type of a helo? That too twice. (Just curious.)As far as the LCH not in production view point, we haven’t retired our MI-35’s yet.
Oh, that diluting and distracting argument again!!!! What has not living with the MMRCA or guns to do with living with Apaches?We could live another 3-4 years without Apaches, as we are doing the same without artillery guns, LUH and MRCA.
IA/IAF do not have the luxury to wait for events to happen and at times they have to dictate the ground situation. I have not followed the Apache acquire (A Russian helo was rejected?), but certainly the someone saw the need for such machines.Interact with HAL, get things up to the speed and get it in to production.
The apaches are of high standards and a huge success as far as American AF/Army is concerned. We need to work on LCH and make it to the Apache standards, buying gold plated won’t help our economy or war fighting capability in long run.