Doesnt look too bad? Are these numbers final?nawabs wrote:2007 Karnataka ULB : BJP 1180, JDS 1502, CONG 1606 ... 2013 As of now BJP 814, JDS 870 , CONG 1812 , KJP 258 & IND 629
Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
No.Still a sizable chunk of seats left to be declared.
What does this have to do with the NaMo thread?Sushupti wrote:Here is another Navratna of LKA's team.
More here ....
According to Urdu daily Aalmi Sahara, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

But yes, every body should be kicked out.
Sushpti-ji along with Sita Ram Goel and Na Modi are all that is needed. Yeddy will provide the funds for the party and outside support.
Dream team.

Till when will LKA keep haunting the BJP? He is already 85, but the guy just doesn't know when to retreat to the background and make space for others younger than him. Some people just never know when they have overstayed their welcome.
No Sankuji , it is bad. In 2007, people felt Yeddi was cheated and should be given the chance. There was some anger against son of soil for spoiling Yeddi's chances as CM. More important he was still in BJP.Sanku wrote:Doesnt look too bad? Are these numbers final?nawabs wrote:2007 Karnataka ULB : BJP 1180, JDS 1502, CONG 1606 ... 2013 As of now BJP 814, JDS 870 , CONG 1812 , KJP 258 & IND 629
Now BJP is a divided house. More than their rule or misrule, their constant infighting and "resort" politics gave a bad name.
Also no Yeddy to lead them . AK struggled to win his seat last time. Will be good if he is able to keep his seat this time.
They seem to have lost the coastal belt too, where Sangh Parivar was working for years now.
It will be nothing short of miracle if BJP comes back to Power.
the BJP can only be led by one person at present and likewise the INC would unravel if Rajamata were to take LOA.
only the chinese/rus model of a strong central ruler seems to glue together indian political parties.
I have already accepted that BJP will lose state elections in Kkta. Heck they lost Rjasthan due infighting, UK and lost HP without infighting, and these were states where BJP is/was entrenched and had performed well.rkirankr wrote: It will be nothing short of miracle if BJP comes back to Power.
Kkta is the worst amongst the BJP ruled state in terms of BJP strength and performance.
It stands to reason that Kkta is lost for the moment.
The question is two fold
1) Can they recover, or will they go UP way (instead of say Rajsthan way, where they bounced back)
2) How soon -- can they get some +ve traction by 2014?
Those are the important questions right now IMVHO.
But BJP did always survive without "A" leader. Are you saying the model does not scale as BJP gets bigger?Singha wrote:the BJP can only be led by one person at present and likewise the INC would unravel if Rajamata were to take LOA.
Sanku ji, What is survival means? Bhaashans, songs and then winning some and sitting in opposition. Contesting for the sake of contesting like it is doing in UP and AP. So it want to become like it was in 1980s.Sanku wrote:But BJP did always survive without "A" leader. Are you saying the model does not scale as BJP gets bigger?Singha wrote:the BJP can only be led by one person at present and likewise the INC would unravel if Rajamata were to take LOA.
Respectfully, you are arguing like Amatya Rakshash (Kartikeyan) - the legendary last Prime Minister of Nanadas. All is well and Nandas are not the reason for the wrought in the Kingdom.
At this time win or no-win, even if BJP needs to survive as a force in Indian politics, it has to stop its delusions of "Party with a difference", "combined leadership" etc. It has to play the game of the land and win the game. Game changing comes later. It has to be the Cricket model where UK and Aussies used to have veto powers. India still played the game and when it got powers, it brought in IPL and other changes. A "Game changer" moment.
Coastal KA is (was??) more or less Sangh heartland in KA - the Mangalore Lok Sabha seat has been held for over two decades unchallenged by BJP, despite best efforts by local opposition biggies such as Veerappa Moily, Oscar Fernandes and Janardhana Poojary (of the loan mela fame). But heavy defeat even there!Sachin wrote:Latest ResultsSupratik wrote:Massive defeat for BJP in KT.
BJP is pretty much trounced in all places except Bangalore Urban. Congress seems to be on the lead all across the board.
One important factor was that a string of incidents including the infamous Church, pub and homestay attacks which received really wide publicity ensured that BJP lost whatever little minority votes (mainly from the fairly influential local RC Christian community) that it had. Widespread corruption and finally the unceremonious exit of the local BJP leader Sadananda Gowda just added the final push to completely seal their fate in the region.
And curiously enough, most of the alleged key conspirators of all those attacks who were with outfits such as Sri Ram Sene, BD etc have all jumped ship to JD(S)/Congress already well before the elections per reports. Anyone surprised?
Sanku ji, What is survival means? .[/quote]Muppalla wrote: But BJP did always survive without "A" leader. Are you saying the model does not scale as BJP gets bigger?
Jan Sangh/BJP have gone through good and bad times. Even during the 90s when they were seeing the best time politically, they never had A leader.
I would like BJP to win with that model rather than turn into a congress frankly. I dont see too much value in having two congresses.
I dont see why you are calling me Amatya Rakashas -- not that I mind

Actually I am not even saying corrupts should be kept out totally -- my position is that beating a dead horse is right now counterproductive. Focus should be on what is next. For some one of your posting stature specifically.
UP BJP names state committee
http://www.asianage.com/india/bjp-names ... mittee-121
http://post.jagran.com/uttar-pradesh-bj ... 1361610627
http://www.asianage.com/india/bjp-names ... mittee-121
Uttar Pradesh BJP’s mission organization falls flatThat the BJP is now promoting dynasty in politics is now evident since sons of senior party leaders have found a place of prominence in the BJP list.The party has obviously played safe by taking care to accommodate all factions and groups within the party on the eve of Lok Sabha elections.Rajvir Singh, son of Mr Kalyan Singh, has been made the vice-president along with another politician son, Gopal Tandon, who is BJP MP Lalji Tandon’s son.Other vice-presidents include Shiv Pratap Shukla, Hardwar Dubey, Kishna Paswan, Ashok Katiyar, Sarita Bhadauria and Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti.Pankaj Singh, son of national BJP president Rajnath Singh,has been appointed as general secretary along with Ramnath Kovid, Swatantra Dev Singh and Devendra Singh Chauhan. Rakesh Kumar Jain has been appointed as general secretary of the organisation.
http://post.jagran.com/uttar-pradesh-bj ... 1361610627
The Uttar Pradesh BJP’s efforts to conduct elections for district and mahanagar presidents seem to be falling flat thanks to the laxity in its ‘mission organization’. The party is yet to constitute mandal, district and state working committees after the 11 months of their dissolution.The delay in holding organizational polls is a recipe for criticism of Uttar Pradesh BJP president Laxmikant Vajpayee. The rival groups have made complaints against the state BJP chief in this regard.
The Sangh has very good base and n/w all across the state. People still believe in Hindutva, sangh and all that. Only that BJP has failed to live up to the expectations.Sanku wrote: I have already accepted that BJP will lose state elections in Kkta. Heck they lost Rjasthan due infighting, UK and lost HP without infighting, and these were states where BJP is/was entrenched and had performed well.
Kkta is the worst amongst the BJP ruled state in terms of BJP strength and performance.
It stands to reason that Kkta is lost for the moment.
The question is two fold
1) Can they recover, or will they go UP way (instead of say Rajsthan way, where they bounced back)
2) How soon -- can they get some +ve traction by 2014?
Those are the important questions right now IMVHO.
After losing the assembly, hopefully if they do not drift like BJP central leadership, then there is hope. Unfortunately here now there is no Vasundharaje type of leader. Atleast not visible yet. There are really good leaders in the cabinet but not mass leaders. Shettar I believe is a decent and nice type of guy. He and Sadanand Gowda should be able to do something. However I think all the leaders and their factions will start fighting after the defeat and it will be a sad sight. To see them destroy what they all along with Yeddy had built painstakingly for many decades.
The positive thing - well cong is no better when it comes to infighting. They can hurt each other in 2014.
KJP and BJP should now realise that to counter cong , if not merge, they should atleast have seat sharing for the 2014
Sadhu RKiranR ji. I hope while Yeddi can not be accommodated directly, there are other ways of keeping him in.rkirankr wrote: KJP and BJP should now realise that to counter cong , if not merge, they should atleast have seat sharing for the 2014
Andhera Pradesh
http://greatandhra.com/viewnews.php?id= ... 15&scat=16
YSR Congress party honorary president Y S Vijayalakshmi’s statement in an interview to The Economic Times that her party would back the Congress party in post-poll scenario has come as a major weapon for the Telugu Desam Party to launch a counter attack against her son Y S Jaganmohan Reddy.
The TDP, which has been under constant attack all these days from the YSR Congress party that the former had colluded with the Congress, has now got a chance to bounce back.
Sanku,
You should have read the Ktaka figures a little more carefully, so that you don't have to rely on someone else. What I can infer is,
1. If you add all now of 2007 & 13, there aren't too many seats left to be declared
2. Add yeddy&BJP, there is a loss of about 100 seats onlee
3. Even with split of BJP votes Kangress gained onlee 200 seats
4. JD(S) lost half its seats
5. Kangress could garner only 200 of the lost seats of JD(S)
6. Yeddy could not (or did not want to) eat into BJP VOTES
7. Independents gained most (why)?
May be you can take on the closet analysts now
You should have read the Ktaka figures a little more carefully, so that you don't have to rely on someone else. What I can infer is,
1. If you add all now of 2007 & 13, there aren't too many seats left to be declared
Thank you Geeth bhai.geeth wrote: May be you can take on the closet analysts now
I also did some math. BJP+Yeddi+Yeddi's split and Independents (a portion belongs to REddy brothers) is all intact. So the mantra is give a horse s h i t to so called anti-corruption and so called "party with a difference" and try to get back the same base even if it has to lick yeddi and Reddy. First principle has to be to defeat congress (the bigger enemy) than even corruption. If Rajnath can achieve that and push out Advani's "high moral ground" role then there is some hope.Sanku wrote:Thank you Geeth bhai.geeth wrote: May be you can take on the closet analysts now
At this pace BJP will not get more than 9 seats in LS.
I am definitely not beating a dead horse. I am not even harsh on Advani as compared to my harshness on purer-saffron elements like Govindacharya.Sanku wrote: Actually I am not even saying corrupts should be kept out totally -- my position is that beating a dead horse is right now counterproductive. Focus should be on what is next. For some one of your posting stature specifically.
But this elephant has to be exposed and relegated to make the force more pragmatic. Respect is different from results. I argued with my Grandfather, my father. Similarly I have an issue with Advani's style whom I supported 100% about five year ago. It is definitely the time to shut his mouth and also definitely time to make him no one if he doesn't listen.
In a armed fight if you just only keep thinking the bullets will just go into you. Advani can only make bullets enter you and he at this time has no other capablility.
geeth wrote:Sanku,
So that means there is some chance in Karnataka even now. Provided off course people get to sit together and work out their differences.
Muppalla ji you are mixing up two issues I think, there is a element of how much "pragmatic" should BJP be and how much pure should it be. There is another element of Advani being now older politician, and not having the strength to push forth the agenda as much as possible.Muppalla wrote: But this elephant has to be exposed and relegated to make the force more pragmatic. Respect is different from results. I argued with my Grandfather, my father. Similarly I have an issue with Advani's style whom I supported 100% about five year ago. .
I prefer a different balance than you on the former, I think that model of relatively purity can also be successful (must be made successful) -- to the other, I would just kind of not take Advani too seriously, while giving him older statesman respect.
HT
Maharashtra Politics update
Amidst allegations against Nationalist Congress Party ministers and fighting between opposition parties, little is being said about the happenings in the state Congress – the ruling party that hopes to return to power in 2014.
There is considerable unease within the party, which is divided into 3 groups – those who support chief minister Prithivraj Chavan, those who are strongly against him and those who are against him but don’t want to say much.
Chavan’s supporters think he has done what none of his predecessors have – force the mighty NCP to eat humble pie. They think Chavan provided ammunition against NCP ministers including deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar and ensured the NCP was put in the dock over allegations of corruption.
The other two groups within the Congress, however, do not accept the theory. Reining in the NCP is fine, but what the Congress is doing to improve its tally is not clear yet, they say, and point out what happened in the 2012 civic polls where the party did not win a single major city.
There is no coordination between the party and the government and the party has not got political benefit out of being in power, they say.
Though it is facing allegation after allegation, top NCP leaders regularly sit in the party office to interact with partyworkers, its entire top brass keeps touring the state to strengthen the party organisation on the ground and strategies are planned to ensure the party gets credit for decisions taken by the government, they point out.
The dynamics with the Congress has changed over the past few months. Many in the party thought Chavan would shift to the Centre in the reshuffle but that was ruled out in the last reshuffle. Knowing that he will stay in the state, Chavan has dug in his heels and started flattening his opponents – either from the NCP or within his party.
Chavan and state Congress president Manikrao Thakre do not see eye to eye. All India Congress Committee in charge of Maharashtra Mohan Prakash is not exactly happy with the CM. Several senior leaders of the party (including senior ministers in the cabinet who do not want to invite Chavan’s ire) have chosen to keep quiet. Will this unease in the Congress go or turn into a bitter war in the run-up to the 2014 elections?
BJP’s tricky situation with Raj
As MNS chief Raj Thackeray targeted their party, BJP’s political managers were surprised, shocked and angry. The party has been dreaming about a Sena-BJP-MNS axis to win the next assembly polls.
Initially when Raj started criticising the Sena-BJP for not doing the Opposition’s job effectively, they were surprised. When he named a party MP close to former party president while attacking deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar over the irrigation scam, they were shocked. When the MNS chief on Sunday accused party leaders of striking deals with the ruling party they got angry. Now Opposition leader in the Assembly Eknath Khadse has challenged Raj to prove his allegations.
BJP state leaders too are considering snapping ties with the MNS – which would mean Raj’s party losing power in the Nashik Municipal Corporation, the first ever civic body it won last year. So, are they finally crossing swords? A section in the BJP does not want the party to give up on MNS yet.
They think Raj can be brought on board after the polls. After all, staying away from power for five more years seems to be too disturbing.
BSY-commissioned survey picks H D Kumaraswamy as best CM
Mar 13, 2013, 02.11AM IST TNN[ Mohua Chatterjee ]
NEW DELHI: The total rout of the ruling BJP in the urban local bodies poll on Monday may have come as no surprise to its leaders. The results reflected almost the same pattern that a survey on the political mood conducted between December 6 and 25, 2012, in all the 224 assembly segments across the state, had shown - a clear defeat for BJP.
The survey was commissioned by former Karnataka CM and BJP strongman B S Yeddyurappa (BJP), who floated his own Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) after quitting BJP. It was to gauge KJP's prospects in the assembly elections coming up in a couple of months. But BJP leaders in the state would have access to the results, as KJP members are essentially rebels from BJP.
The survey conducted on a sample size of 22,400 registered voters representing urban and rural constituencies and including different social segments shows that a good 70% were against re-electing BJP and just 19% favoured repeating the government.
On the question over who would be the best choice for CM, JD(S) leader and former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy emerged on top with 28.7% respondents preferring him over rest of the five names in question.
Yeddyurappa (KJP) is the second choice with 22.9% in his favour, SM Krishna (Congress) is third with 16.9% in favour, Siddaramaiah (Congress) 11.6%, followed by Jagadish Shettar (BJP) with 4.2% and Ananth Kumar (BJP) with 2.4%
. JD(S) and BJP ended up with the same number of seats (905) in the just completed civic polls.
http://m.timesofindia.com/city/bangalor ... 939693.cms
Mar 13, 2013, 02.11AM IST TNN[ Mohua Chatterjee ]
NEW DELHI: The total rout of the ruling BJP in the urban local bodies poll on Monday may have come as no surprise to its leaders. The results reflected almost the same pattern that a survey on the political mood conducted between December 6 and 25, 2012, in all the 224 assembly segments across the state, had shown - a clear defeat for BJP.
The survey was commissioned by former Karnataka CM and BJP strongman B S Yeddyurappa (BJP), who floated his own Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) after quitting BJP. It was to gauge KJP's prospects in the assembly elections coming up in a couple of months. But BJP leaders in the state would have access to the results, as KJP members are essentially rebels from BJP.
The survey conducted on a sample size of 22,400 registered voters representing urban and rural constituencies and including different social segments shows that a good 70% were against re-electing BJP and just 19% favoured repeating the government.
On the question over who would be the best choice for CM, JD(S) leader and former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy emerged on top with 28.7% respondents preferring him over rest of the five names in question.
Yeddyurappa (KJP) is the second choice with 22.9% in his favour, SM Krishna (Congress) is third with 16.9% in favour, Siddaramaiah (Congress) 11.6%, followed by Jagadish Shettar (BJP) with 4.2% and Ananth Kumar (BJP) with 2.4%

http://m.timesofindia.com/city/bangalor ... 939693.cms
Yeddy “I feel hurt seeing the party that I built over the last 40 years wilting away,”
http://www.deccanherald.com/content/318 ... -rout.html
What a bloody hypocrite, after doing everything in order to "if not mine then no one elses" he is now shedding crocodile tears.Sushupti wrote:Yeddy “I feel hurt seeing the party that I built over the last 40 years wilting away,”
To play the devil's advocate, I feel that BJP did not support Yeddy during his crisis times. All was happy to some how get him out of the CM chair. Now compare this with folks like PJ Kurien getting a steady support from INC. I hope at least now BJP realises that folks like Yeddy are a basic requirement.Sanku wrote:What a bloody hypocrite, after doing everything in order to "if not mine then no one elses" he is now shedding crocodile tears.
I understand your point, but supporting people like Kurien? I shudder, why do we prefer BJP if it does behaves like Congress?Sachin wrote:To play the devil's advocate, I feel that BJP did not support Yeddy during his crisis times. All was happy to some how get him out of the CM chair. Now compare this with folks like PJ Kurien getting a steady support from INC. I hope at least now BJP realises that folks like Yeddy are a basic requirement.Sanku wrote:What a bloody hypocrite, after doing everything in order to "if not mine then no one elses" he is now shedding crocodile tears.
Also, the lack of support for Yeddi while true, should not have turned Yeddi into anti BJP types, if India spurns me, should I turn a Jihadi?
Why is he a basic requirement? Was he the only leader who built the BJP in Karnataka?Sachin wrote:To play the devil's advocate, I feel that BJP did not support Yeddy during his crisis times. All was happy to some how get him out of the CM chair. Now compare this with folks like PJ Kurien getting a steady support from INC. I hope at least now BJP realises that folks like Yeddy are a basic requirement.Sanku wrote:What a bloody hypocrite, after doing everything in order to "if not mine then no one elses" he is now shedding crocodile tears.
Besides whining endlessly what did he achieve?
^^^ I tend to go with Sachin's perspective here.
Yes, Yeddy did build the BJP in K'taka. His contribution was unique (as in, someone else in his place wouldn't necessarily be able to pull off the same thing).
And yes, the party treated BSY shabbily. I have no doubt the useless Mr Anant kr who should be denied a LS/RS ticket next time is behind his ouster.
RNS and NM should invite BSY back in to the BJP fold with full honors and kick Anant Kr out for good, IMO. After all, if we could take back Kalyan Singh and Uma Bharti, why not BSY?
Yes, Yeddy did build the BJP in K'taka. His contribution was unique (as in, someone else in his place wouldn't necessarily be able to pull off the same thing).
And yes, the party treated BSY shabbily. I have no doubt the useless Mr Anant kr who should be denied a LS/RS ticket next time is behind his ouster.
RNS and NM should invite BSY back in to the BJP fold with full honors and kick Anant Kr out for good, IMO. After all, if we could take back Kalyan Singh and Uma Bharti, why not BSY?
For that Yeddi has to undergo the same realization that the other two went through. Yeddi is not exactly blameless here.Hari Seldon wrote: After all, if we could take back Kalyan Singh and Uma Bharti, why not BSY?
More proof that MNS is a Congress front
BJP washes its hands of Raj Thackeray
MNS chief Raj Thackeray questioning the integrity of BJP leader Eknath Khadse in the House has stung the BJP hard, making the party state leaders pledge to have nothing to do with Raj Thackeray or his party in future.
The BJP state leaders, who until recently had been trying to rope in Raj Thackeray to strengthen their poll battle against the Cong-NCP, is now eyeing Raj with suspicion and saying he is playing into the hands of the ruling alliance.
The attack on Khadse has not only distanced the BJP from the MNS, it has also served to bring it closer to ally Shiv Sena, a U-turn from the BJP state leaders' efforts to ally with the MNS, even at the cost of souring ties with the Sena.
On Tuesday, BJP state president Sudhir Mungantiwar summed up the mood in the BJP-Sena. "MNS is a closed chapter now. We have nothing to do with Raj," he said.
Don't think the party treated him shabbily at all. BJP is supposed to be a party with a difference (or at least they claim to be) so they asked the scam-tainted CM to step down until he can clear himself. Gadkari was asked to do the same also (no matter how late). Even after stepping down he wanted S Gowda to be made CM which can done, then he wanted Shettar to be made CM - that was done too. Basically made BJP dance to his tunes and when they stopped dancing he quit in a huff.Hari Seldon wrote:^^^ I tend to go with Sachin's perspective here.
No,its not as simple as that .Dilli billis spurned yeddyurappa and he is battling in his home turf.if India spurns me, should I turn a Jihadi?
yeddyurappa wanted 'meagre' rent.The rent that Karunanidhi,YSR charged exorbitantly,what pawar charges very reasonably,what Cong-BJP(Mahajan for instance) think is par for the course in the spirit that the ruler should get tribute.To be fair,BJP is far far bettr than Cong,but it aslso accepts rent.akalis expect it.SMKrishna was given rent,but SMK was not an extortioner.
yeddyurappa wanted some money.The bulk was going to the reddy brothers.It was an 'intra-dravidian' issue.Sugriva would not allow Vibhishana to join Sri Rama.But Bhagavan said that Vibhishana too was his devotee who had done sharnaagathi.
What did the ram bhakths in Delhi do? Sushma idiot swaraaj had no respect for the 'vanaraas' of Bellary.She did not think for a minute that reddys were mining barrons(who neverthless considered bellary as home).Yeddyurappa was the lingayat organiser.I asked Gunjur in this forum for his opinion.He said kannadigas wanted the mineral wealth to be used for the state.
1)The BJP could have nationalised the mines.
2)The BJP could have decided that reddys were efficient and there was trickle down and everything was well.
3)Yeddyurappa deserved 'reasonable' rent and BJP could have brokered a deal between yeddyurappa and reddys.
The dilli billis treated the telugu-kannadiga issue as problem between vanaraas,allowed it to fester and finally destroy reddys,yeddyurapa and the BJP in KA.So much for morality,nationalism,rama bhakthi.
One can expect the same in lanka(where BJP will not take a firm stand against tamizh separatism/exaggeration(Yashwant Sinha made a ridiculous statement two days back)while supporting the human rights of tamils,TN-KA kaveri dispute, reservations(fair deal for all and no appeasement) ,seek redressal of telengana grievances in united AP(BJP is committed to Telengana),ensure implementation of SC verdict on Kaveri,while supporting kannadiga minority rights in Udagamandalam/Hosur(in my view,BJP should speak for such people without fear because TN has a liberal dravidian tradition as well as a narrow chauvinist strain).
But as VP Singh said,BJP is only a party of Aryavartha,despite its tall claims.
merlinji,
How can BJP be a party with a difference.Are BJP politicians not human beings? Are they not aware of whats happening around them?Whats wrong with yeddyurappa wanting low rent from mining barons when he belonged the numerically largest caste when thats the norm among dominant peasant castes south of the vindhyas
It was the duty of BJP billis to address the issue and reach an amicable settlement between reddys and lingayats.This is a problem we will continuously see in Kasargod,mullaiperiyar,Belgaum,Abohar-Fazilka,SYL,rajput-ahir-jat in North India.
During Justice Party times,there was a fantastic relationship between kammas and mudaliars in Madras presidency inspite of their differences.
Fine, if Yeddy was not the man who made BJP in KA what it is today, let the BJP show the true blue leader (or group of leaders) who made it possible. I dont think they have that set of people ready. Statements like "party with a difference" etc. is good for people to be proud off, but in politics (in India as of today) a set of very honest people would stand no chance. It is like the Malayalam saying;"a simpleton/straight forward chap would cause you the same harm which your enemy would cause you". So if BJP is expecting to have a leader who has been a Raja Harishchandara to take them to victory in KA, they would have to wait for a pretty long time. An entrenched INC would use every single agency to throw muck at any good candidate in BJP, and BJP itself would set a very high benchmark; and then they expect to winmerlin wrote:Don't think the party treated him shabbily at all. BJP is supposed to be a party with a difference (or at least they claim to be) so they asked the scam-tainted CM to step down until he can clear himself.

This is where a few leaders like K. Karunakaran stand out. He was no angel, but ensured that things did not go totally bersek or people became totally unruleable.
svenkat-ji; BJP has goofed up in Kkta. There is no doubt about it. That is my central point. The question here is different, if Yeddi was denied rent, should he have destroyed BJP and then weep over the ruins, or should he have shown better judgement?svenkat wrote:It was the duty of BJP billis to address the issue and reach an amicable settlement between reddys and lingayats.This is a problem we will continuously see in Kasargod,mullaiperiyar,Belgaum,Abohar-Fazilka,SYL,rajput-ahir-jat in North India.if India spurns me, should I turn a Jihadi?
What did Kalyan Singh gain by showing his "mardangi" (manhood) when it was told that the BJP workers were pissed with him hanging out with A women member of BJP and giving everyone else the ungli (shades of Shobha Karanje here?) -- thankfully Uma Bharti could not damage MP.
Who gains in this partisan rift. Yeddi is supposed to be better than a avg rent seeker right. At least some leadership power.
And oh please dont do this aryavartha stuff. This is the exact same story with Kalyan Singh in UP. Except that Kalyan Singh's did not cause as much damage as Yeddi is doing.
Last edited by Sanku on 13 Mar 2013 16:50, edited 1 time in total.
SVenkatji, you come across as someone who considers peninsular India as something totally different from rest of India (and at the same time being homogeneous peninsular block). Based on my limited experience, there are vast differences even within Narmada valley/Krishna Valley. Western India has large variations in aspirations/resources between MP/Guj/MH.
Do you actually believe in this Dravidian/Non-Dravidian divide or is it the elites in these regions believe in this? I am totally confused.
Not necessarily Yeddi may not be THE maker, but he is strong enough to damage BJP through infighting. Forget big leaders like Yeddi any number of smaller leaders have sunk a party during elections. (Left in Kerala anybody?)Sachin wrote:Fine, if Yeddy was not the man who made BJP in KA what it is today, let the BJP show the true blue leader (or group of leaders) who made it possible.merlin wrote:Don't think the party treated him shabbily at all. BJP is supposed to be a party with a difference (or at least they claim to be) so they asked the scam-tainted CM to step down until he can clear himself.
The issue here is not whether Yeddi made BJP, if he did, he would have enough power to not see the daily revolt he saw when he was in the seat, the issue is that Yeddi is not too big to take the state with him and not too small to be a non-entity.
He is in the middle range and causing enough muddle.
prahaarji,
I am aconfused guy.I will let that question pass.
Sankuji,
Noted your reply.Nothing to add.BSY was not cut out for the job,I agree.
Sankuji,
Sir, this is not an affront to you, so do not take it that way. This is an honest question to understand the reason to take this line of argument (I am also not questioning whether it is based on ground reality). I just wanted to know that whether a person from Mysore talking with a Hyderabadi think about themselves as being Dravidians, and whether a Mysore guy talking with a person from Gwalior think about talking to a non-Dravidian person?svenkat wrote:prahaarji,
Sankuji,
svenkat-ji, I think it is important that all the Yeddi's of the world realize that if they don't hang together, they will most assuredly hang separately,svenkat wrote: Sankuji,
I am a proponent of a patch up between BJP and Yeddi, both are needed.