Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Islamism & Islamophobia Abroad - News & Analysis

jamwal ji,

theological differences which can be packaged as legally accepted and not accepted are necessary if Western societies and countries want to legally undertake something against Islam. If they want to do so, they need to formulate some prohibitions which affect only Muslims but not Christians. That seems to be difficult.

Some time ago, the Europeans thought about banning Halaal practices, but then that would have affected Jews as well, and then after the Jewish Holocaust, one can't do that either. There were some voices which suggested banning circumcision, but that affects the Jews as well. Only headscarf is left as an issue.

Also on values it is difficult for Christian majority countries to try and ban something in Islam as these values need not be expressed explicitly.

Nor can one start banning material from the holy books for reasons of spreading hate, e.g. in Qu'ran, because all that is available in the Bible as well.

RajeshA wrote:Nor can one start banning material from the holy books for reasons of spreading hate, e.g. in Qu'ran, because all that is available in the Bible as well.
But there's a big difference in interpretation. Most of the hate-speech and bloodcurdling violence of the Qur'an has its counterpart in the Old Testament, not the New Testament of Jesus' gospels. This NT is a very interesting and unique twist in the Desert religious traditions, and its something for Indics to recognize and harness. Secondly, Christian theology doesn't require Christians to mimic the actions and behaviors of Old Testament prophets, or even of Jesus himself. Whereas Islamic theology does. That's a huge difference. Guys like Robert Spencer make that point again and again. (Now if present day Western liberalism could find this theological opening useful in pulling Christendom out of the Dark Ages, there's no reason why it cannot serve as an entry point for Dharma, too.) In any case, we should recognize that crucial difference and promote it.

For that matter, there is plenty of violence in Indic, especially Hindu, texts also. But that by no means indicates a moral equivalence. Contents plus Context makes the whole, and the "undercurrents" create circumstances in which to act out.

Moral equivalence - Exterior manifestations vs. Undercurrents

This NT is a very interesting and unique twist in the Desert religious traditions, and its something for Indics to recognize and harness.

Yes indeed.

http://www.evilbible.com/what_would_jesus_do.htm

Oh and people who don't accept Jesus's particular view of reality get to burn in hell-forever courtesy of the NT.

^^ sanjaykumar, Who said that wasn't there in it? But at the same time he refused to fight the occupying Roman Army, he defied the binding character of Rabbinic law, etc. That's what I meant by "twist". It creates an interesting loophole.

About including a novel by an Iranian expat in classroom curricula.
Sex, Violence, and Radical Islam: Why 'Persepolis' Belongs in Public Schools
Administrators in Chicago may think they're protecting students by limiting access to a controversial graphic novel. But they're missing a chance to impart real knowledge.
Murad Ibrahim: 'Islam as a means to progress' - i.e. grant autonomy whenever Moslem enclaves create an insurgency in a non-Moslem country..
After 40 years of fighting and 15 years of negotiations the Philippines government is expected to sign a final agreement with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) in just a few weeks, creating a semi-autonomous state in Mindanao called Bangsamoro.

This possible deal is a landmark event not just for the Philippines but beyond - with many believing there are lessons to learn on how to deal with armed insurgents.
UK: Channel 4 in talks to broadcast morning prayers during Ramadan
Channel 4 has announced a special series of programming to mark the month of Ramadan, which may include broadcasting morning prayers.

The channel is “in discussion” about airing morning prayers every day.

A spokesperson said details were still being worked on, and it could be that prayers are “marked” rather than broadcast to viewers.

Channel 4 called the programming “another first”. Chief creative officer Jay Hunt said: “I don’t think it’s going too far to say that it’s literally something that no other channel would do.”

I think it belongs here. Must read:

How Islam uses Secularism against Democracy
http://indianexponent.com/17093/how-isl ... cracy.html
Ishaan Mohan Bagga

Co-founder of Indian Exponent. Left-wing Liberal Socialist Democrat, Ishaan is a
Delhi based journalist, political commentator and entrepreneur. He writes about
Political and Social developments in India and the world.

Criticizing Islam is not politically correct – The term is ‘Islamophobia’. You
better keep your doubts about Islam to yourself else you’ll be quickly tagged as
one with an anti-Islamic agenda. A Hindu right winger. An RSS agent. A Kafir. A
Non-Believer.
Islam’s Natural Immunity To Change

Though, Islam has managed to stay completely immune to these changes. The rules
of Islam make it impervious to any modern ideas. That evil genius wrote a 100%
air-tight religion. As a result, the present version of Islam has lasted way
past it’s expiration date. While more tame versions like Sufism and Ahmadism
have largely been discarded as pseudo-Islam.

This is the result of the extreme emphasis in Koran to preserve Islam in it’s
original form. The original form of Islam – is a dogma with a single goal of
world domination. If it’s goal was limited to spread the message of Allah then
it would have been similar to the other organised religions of the world. Other
religions don’t hard-sell their God, not at least at the gun-point like Islam.
At worst they lure you with freebies – but Islam fully sponsors the killing of
non-believers. This is similar to ‘the lord’ of the Old Testament of Bible,
except that ancient barbarism is thriving under Islam. The Kingdom of Allah is a
barbaric place and it hates change, progression, evolution – of any kind.

Full Disclosure: I’m not an atheist. But I do have my doubts about the existence
of God. Am I a spiritualist? Sure, may be. My father is a Hindu. I don’t care
about religion that much. I bow my head when I pass a temple, mosque or a church
because my father taught me to, when I was a kid. I have watched my share of
mythological TV shows – because everybody watched them in the family. They were
comically entertaining. I have had close friends from all religions – thanks to
India’s diversity.

Though, I rarely visit places of worship – I find them boring. I find Hindu
temples unnecessary wet (just my opinion)! I have visited Gurudwaras and I find
the musical prayers very comfortable and soothing. Haridwar’s evening prayers
and sound of morning-namaz are my second favorite on this list, peacefulness-wise.
I find Zen-Buddhism’s teaching most close to taking you anywhere near a
spiritual-awakening. I also find the principles of Jainism’s universal ahimsa
highly commendable, if not follow-able.

I’m your everyday liberal and I do not have extreme thoughts (good or bad) about
any religion, including the one I was born into. Religion doesn’t figure into my
list of everyday priorities at all. If you’re nodding your head by now, I’m you.
Jesus was crucified, Buddha took samadhi, Mahavira took the oath of complete non-violence,
but Mohammad lived by the sword. Is it a surprise that he taught his followers
that it’s ok to slain the non-believers? Islam starts brain-washing a child from
his formative years that how kafir is the enemy. This is the message of Allah.
Jihad involves the spread of Islam through violence – and it is one of the key
duties of every Muslim. Most people in our world are born into a religion.
Choosing your own religion is still a very radical idea in most parts of the
world. According to Islam, every non-Muslim is born into sin. You don’t get a
choice – either convert, or die. This is not a religion, this is a battle-plan.

Imagine if the notoriously sham holy-man of India – Nirmal Baba – with a huge
following becomes a religion in 200 years and has millions of followers. Does
that mean his religion is genuine? Telling people what they want to hear –
serves as a good strategy for him to make simpletons believe into his divinity.
This is 21st century. There’re many scam artists like him across the world. If
in today’s age of science – such con-men can accumulate large crowds – imagine
what a cake-walk it would be for the tricksters of 570 AD.

Mohammad was a very intelligent man. He didn’t control people by acquiring power
through political means – he became their warrior prophet instead. He knew
religion will create a much bigger army for him. He told his followers what they
wanted to hear. He recognized Moses / Jesus and added his name to the list of
prophets. He told them that Allah speaks through him. He was charismatic –
people believed him. His audience were barbaric tribal men – so he gave them
rules which appealed to them. And what do men want? More wives, more sex, easy
divorce. He gave them that. He told them it’s ok to hit your wives to discipline
them. He also told them that temporary marriage is ok because Allah allows it.
Women were never his audience, which kind of explains the condition of women in
Islamic countries.

One man could take as many wives – so powerful rich men acquired as many ladies
as they could. They were thankful to Mohammad for providing them with large army
of followers, more women than ever, easy pro-men laws, treating women like
property, legalizing perversions like incest, pedophilia etc. Now, there were
many poor men left who couldn’t get any ladies – so Mohammad very cunningly used
this artificially created deficiency of women and gave these sexually-frustrated
men the dream of 72 beautiful virgins in heaven. That was the gift of Allah to
his soldiers. This marketing strategy is still working for Islam.

Mohammad gave the message of Muslim brotherhood, not human brotherhood. He told
them that wherever they’re it is their foremost duty to spread Islam. He told
them that their allegiance to other Muslims is far superior to their countrymen.
He told them all non-believers are Kafirs – who should be converted or killed.

He created Islam like a franchise – wherever it goes – it remains loyal to the ‘message
of Allah’ over Everything Else. Now if this message of Allah was that of harmony,
then Islam would have actually been a relgion of peace, like it claims. Instead
their very prophet is the biggest endorser of violence. You should notice that
wherever Islam is in minority, it is the most ardent supporter of secularism –
but the moment it becomes a majority – all principles of secularism and
religious freedom are lost. An Islamic state has no place for non-believers –
and it’s only goal is the spread of Islam. This is sneaky stuff. That is why
there’s nothing like ‘liberal Islam’ or ‘secular Islam’.

I think it belongs here. Must read:

Ishaan Mohan Bagga

Co-founder of Indian Exponent. Left-wing Liberal Socialist Democrat, Ishaan is a

Criticizing Islam is not politically correct – The term is ‘Islamophobia’. You
better keep your doubts about Islam to yourself else you’ll be quickly tagged as
one with an anti-Islamic agenda. A Hindu right winger. An RSS agent. A Kafir. A
Non-Believer.
Islam’s Natural Immunity To Change

Though, Islam has managed to stay completely immune to these changes. The rules
of Islam make it impervious to any modern ideas. That evil genius wrote a 100%
air-tight religion. As a result, the present version of Islam has lasted way
past it’s expiration date. While more tame versions like Sufism and Ahmadism
have largely been discarded as pseudo-Islam.

This is the result of the extreme emphasis in Koran to preserve Islam in it’s
original form. The original form of Islam – is a dogma with a single goal of
world domination. If it’s goal was limited to spread the message of Allah then
it would have been similar to the other organised religions of the world. Other
religions don’t hard-sell their God, not at least at the gun-point like Islam.
At worst they lure you with freebies – but Islam fully sponsors the killing of
non-believers. This is similar to ‘the lord’ of the Old Testament of Bible,
except that ancient barbarism is thriving under Islam. The Kingdom of Allah is a
barbaric place and it hates change, progression, evolution – of any kind.

Full Disclosure: I’m not an atheist. But I do have my doubts about the existence
of God. Am I a spiritualist? Sure, may be. My father is a Hindu. I don’t care
about religion that much. I bow my head when I pass a temple, mosque or a church
because my father taught me to, when I was a kid. I have watched my share of
mythological TV shows – because everybody watched them in the family. They were
comically entertaining. I have had close friends from all religions – thanks to
India’s diversity.

Though, I rarely visit places of worship – I find them boring. I find Hindu
temples unnecessary wet (just my opinion)! I have visited Gurudwaras and I find
the musical prayers very comfortable and soothing. Haridwar’s evening prayers
and sound of morning-namaz are my second favorite on this list, peacefulness-wise.
I find Zen-Buddhism’s teaching most close to taking you anywhere near a
spiritual-awakening. I also find the principles of Jainism’s universal ahimsa
highly commendable, if not follow-able.

I’m your everyday liberal and I do not have extreme thoughts (good or bad) about
any religion, including the one I was born into. Religion doesn’t figure into my
list of everyday priorities at all. If you’re nodding your head by now, I’m you.
Jesus was crucified, Buddha took samadhi, Mahavira took the oath of complete non-violence,
but Mohammad lived by the sword. Is it a surprise that he taught his followers
that it’s ok to slain the non-believers? Islam starts brain-washing a child from
his formative years that how kafir is the enemy. This is the message of Allah.
Jihad involves the spread of Islam through violence – and it is one of the key
duties of every Muslim. Most people in our world are born into a religion.
Choosing your own religion is still a very radical idea in most parts of the
world. According to Islam, every non-Muslim is born into sin. You don’t get a
choice – either convert, or die. This is not a religion, this is a battle-plan.

Imagine if the notoriously sham holy-man of India – Nirmal Baba – with a huge
following becomes a religion in 200 years and has millions of followers. Does
that mean his religion is genuine? Telling people what they want to hear –
serves as a good strategy for him to make simpletons believe into his divinity.
This is 21st century. There’re many scam artists like him across the world. If
in today’s age of science – such con-men can accumulate large crowds – imagine
what a cake-walk it would be for the tricksters of 570 AD.

Mohammad was a very intelligent man. He didn’t control people by acquiring power
through political means – he became their warrior prophet instead. He knew
religion will create a much bigger army for him. He told his followers what they
wanted to hear. He recognized Moses / Jesus and added his name to the list of
prophets. He told them that Allah speaks through him. He was charismatic –
people believed him. His audience were barbaric tribal men – so he gave them
rules which appealed to them. And what do men want? More wives, more sex, easy
divorce. He gave them that. He told them it’s ok to hit your wives to discipline
them. He also told them that temporary marriage is ok because Allah allows it.
Women were never his audience, which kind of explains the condition of women in
Islamic countries.

One man could take as many wives – so powerful rich men acquired as many ladies
as they could. They were thankful to Mohammad for providing them with large army
of followers, more women than ever, easy pro-men laws, treating women like
property, legalizing perversions like incest, pedophilia etc. Now, there were
many poor men left who couldn’t get any ladies – so Mohammad very cunningly used
this artificially created deficiency of women and gave these sexually-frustrated
men the dream of 72 beautiful virgins in heaven. That was the gift of Allah to
his soldiers. This marketing strategy is still working for Islam.

Mohammad gave the message of Muslim brotherhood, not human brotherhood. He told
them that wherever they’re it is their foremost duty to spread Islam. He told
them that their allegiance to other Muslims is far superior to their countrymen.
He told them all non-believers are Kafirs – who should be converted or killed.

He created Islam like a franchise – wherever it goes – it remains loyal to the ‘message
of Allah’ over Everything Else. Now if this message of Allah was that of harmony,
then Islam would have actually been a relgion of peace, like it claims. Instead
their very prophet is the biggest endorser of violence. You should notice that
wherever Islam is in minority, it is the most ardent supporter of secularism –
but the moment it becomes a majority – all principles of secularism and
religious freedom are lost. An Islamic state has no place for non-believers –
and it’s only goal is the spread of Islam. This is sneaky stuff. That is why
there’s nothing like ‘liberal Islam’ or ‘secular Islam’.

Jamwal ji,

I'm afraid this does not belong here. This is neither from ABROAD nor is it from a non-Hindu PoV. This belongs in "Understanding Islamic Society" Thread!

Thank you

by Carl
How did Guru Nanak gain entrance to mosques during his travels in the ME? Maybe he was considered a wandering seeker.
Guru Nanak traveled all over the known knowledge centers at his time 1469-1526.

http://www.sikhiwiki.org/index.php/The_ ... Guru_Nanak

He traveled with his two friends One Jat (Bhai Bala Sandhu) http://www.sikhiwiki.org/index.php/Bhai_Bala and one Low caste Muslim Mirasi Mardana. http://www.sikhiwiki.org/index.php/Mardana both were older than Guru Nanak.

Mardana he played an instrument called "Rebab" when Guru Nanak Sang the Gurbani (in Indian Ragas) telling people about Dharma.

Mardana wanted to do Haj once in his life and Guru Nanak wanted to learn about Islam (after having learned about Dharmas of India) traveled to Middle EASt. There are Gurdwaras at Baghdad, Tehran and at Dubai commemorating this travel.

"For his fourth odyssey (1518-1521) Guru Nanak decided to take part in the hajj, starting in Punjab he traveled to Sind where he caught a boat headed West to Jeddah then he traveled South East by foot to Mecca, also called Makkah, then he started his trip home traveling East to Medina (lit. the city), Basra and Baghdad. He then traveled through Iran crossing to Kabul in Afghanistan and back through Peshawar to the Punjab.

On the way to Mecca Guru Sahib visited Sheikh Braham who was the eleventh successor to the Muslim holy sage Baba Sheikh Farid at Pakpattan across the Sutlej from Lahore.

Guru Nanak Ji During the visit to mecca also stopped at Vadodara, Junagarh & Lakhpat. Lakhpat is about 20 Km from Korini village where there is a big Sarovar in memory of the visit by Guru Nanak Dev ji. From Lakhpat Guru crossed to Somiani port in Sind for going to Mecca Medina (Saudi Arabia).

He put on the blue attire worn by hajjis. (Today all male Hajjis must wear a simple two piece white garment of rough homespun cloth.) He took a fakir’s staff, or stick in his hand. The Guru carried a book of his sacred songs or hymns. Like the hajjis, he had with him a lota or jug. He also carried a prayer mat like the hajjis. Dressed thus, he looked like a typical hajji. All along, he acted in every way as hajjis did. Bhai Mardana, a Muslim, was with him he also dressed as a hajji.

Guru Nanak arrived in Mecca, dressed in Navy-blue dress (Neel Bastar) with Bala and Mardana. Nanak and Bala had discourses while Mardana is having Ziarat (prayers) inside Mecca. All three are dressed in blue, the colour in which the Fourth Veda was wrapped when brought by Krishna from under the throne of Indra which upon being thrown to earth is the Ka'aba (by Kahan-nabi). The stool on which Indra rested his feet is also in North Saudi Arabia, a less known shrine. Thus, Nanak dressed in Neela Bana: Neel Bastar lai kaprey pahirey, Turk -pathani amal kiya (adorned navy-blue dress adopting Turki form). Later, as the Tenth Nanak (Guru Gobind Singh), discarded it by saying: Neel bastar lai kaprey faare, Turk pathani amal giya (adorned blue-attire torn, discarding the Turk Pathani form). Out of this form the Nihang sect originated.

It is also said that Baba Nanak used the name 'Abdul Mazeed' when he reached mecca.
Guru Jee then debarked on the Arabian coast at Jeddah. From there, he walked on foot reaching Mecca in due course. By the time he arrived in Mecca, he was very tired. His feet were sore and he needed rest. So he lay down to rest himself. He knew quite well that no Muslim would lie with his feet towards the Kaaba. But he wanted to draw the attention of the hajjis, so that he could teach them his wisdom.

While Muslims hold that Adam landed in Shri Lanka, when expelled from Heaven, they hold that Eve landed in Jeddah a name derived from Jaddah, the Arabic word for "grandmother" or the mother of all mankind.

At Mecca, Nanak was found sleeping with his feet towards the Kaaba, before which the Mohammedans prostrated themselves when performing their prayer. Kazi Rukan-ud-din, who observed this, angrily remarked: "Infidel! How dare you dishonor God’s place by turning your feet towards Him?" He also kicked Nanak. The Guru did not show any anger. In fact, he was never angry with anybody. He smiled at him. In a calm, sweet voice he said to Jivan, "Brother, don’t be angry. I am very tired. I need rest. I respect the House of God as much as any one. Please turn my feet in a direction in which God or the House of God is not."

The Qazi took hold of the Guru’s feet. He dragged them in the opposite direction. Then he lifted his eyes. He saw the Kaaba standing in the direction of the Guru’s feet. He turned the Guru’s feet in another direction. The Kaaba was seen standing in that direction. Qazi dragged the Guru’s feet to this side and that. He dragged them round and round. The Kaaba was seen to be going round and round. It was always, in the direction of the Guru’s feet. His feet were always towards the Kaaba. The Qazi was struck with wonder. He then recognized the glory of Guru Nanak.

Kazi Rukan-ud-di and the other hajjis were all filled with wonder. Jiwan let go of the Guru’s feet. The Guru got up and said, ‘Don’t you see that God’s House is in every direction? I tell you He dwells in every place, in every heart. He is in your hearts. He is also in mine.’

In the morning, a number of learned hajjis gathered around the Guru. They held religious discussions with him. He satisfied every one of them. He explained to them his golden rules of life and religion. They listened to him with utmost attention. They agreed to live and act as advised by him.

The Kazis and the Mullahs assembled to question Nanak on the subject of religion and God, Who has extended His Creation and no one can fathom the secrets of Nature. The muslim priest opened a book and asked him ‘Who is superior – Hindu or Mullalman.’ Baba Nanak answered ‘Oh Hajis, without performance of good deeds, both Hindu and Muslims will lament. Both will be denied shelter in God’s court on the basis of their respective religions alone. The colour of the flower called Kasumbh (Carthamus Tinctoria) is washed away by water (so labels are fragile). The followers of both religions are quarrelling, but of them are equal in the eyes of God. The world has gone astray as it pursues the path of sin.

It is also said One of them said to the Guru, ‘Holy Sir, give me something which will always remind me of you.’ The Guru gave him his pair of sandals. They were respectfully kept in the Kaaba for some time. That Muslim fakir then returned to India. He brought the sandals with him. He kept them in his temple at Uch in Bahawalpur, now in Pakistan.
Nanak Shah Fakir, Hindu’s Guru; Muslim’s Pir."

Here is the exact Shabad from Sri Guru Granth Sahib that Guru Nanak Dev ji , it was retold by Bhai Bala and thus it starts with "Baba Aakhe Hajian" i.e. Baba aka Nanak told them.

"
Read this for more
http://sikheducation.blogspot.com/2010/ ... -turn.html

At that time between 1521-1524 when Guru Nanak traveled Mecca, Medina and Jeddah were under the ottomon empire and this specific area was ruled by Hashimites who are peaceful (now pushed to Jordan) as oppose to the Wahabis today.
akashganga

Post by akashganga »

jamwal wrote:I think it belongs here. Must read:

Ishaan Mohan Bagga

Vast majority of those who critically analyze islam are either hindus or judeo/christians from west. This guy claims to be a left wing liberal. It is hard to find any left wing liberal to speak truth about islam. Kudos to him for writing truth about islam.

SBajwa ji, thank you. In an appropriate thread, could you also give more info about Guru Nanak ji's travels to Tibet? Thanks.

How a Christian compares Christianity with Islam:
Islam - Friend or Foe?

Again, this is written with the help of a British Iranian woman.

It seems to me that a certain section of expat Iranians are at the intellectual and artistic high-end of promoting Islamism in Western society. It doesn't matter that they're from a Shi'a background. In personal conversations they speak for Islam as a whole, and many of them are very fraternal with Naqshbandis.
---------------

Meanwhile:
Christians in the Middle East - Ever more fearful

DHS criticized for extending preferential treatment to Saudi citizens

http://topstories.foxnews.mobi/quickPag ... pageNum=-1

More US-engineered Islamism? A good example of why the GOTUS keeps the Muslim Brotherhood so close.

Last stop Dallas, next stop Damascus? Ghassan Hitto - the IT executive who wants to govern Syria
Just last year Ghassan Hitto was an IT executive in Dallas whose focus was probably lines of code or how to deliver a project on time. But today he was giving a speech in Istanbul in which he insisted his new priority was to utilise “all conceivable means” to topple President Bashar al-Assad and provide desperately-needed aid to the beleaguered people of Syria.

The bespectacled 50-year-old, who was elected the new head of the opposition transitional government in the early hours of Tuesday, now has the daunting task of building legitimacy for his fledgling administration, despite lacking the support of many high-profile members of his own coalition.
Mr Hitto, who was born in Damascus but left Syria in the early 1980s, will need to garner support both from the international community and on the ground if the transitional body is to have any chance of success. After more than 20 years outside Syria, where he has next to no public profile, that presents a significant challenge.

“I have backed the idea of an alternative government for a long time,” said veteran opposition figure Haitham al-Maleh. “But I put my ballot in without a name because there were no candidates from inside Syria. I want a prime minister from inside Syria.”
In his speech, Mr Hitto ruled out negotiations with the regime until Bashar al-Assad stepped down, which will disappoint Western nations – including Britain – which had been pushing for a more pragmatic stance. :wink:

Mr Hitto, who has Kurdish roots, left his job in Dallas late last year and moved to Turkey where he has been co-ordinating relief efforts as director of the coalition’s Assistance Co-ordination Unit. His eldest son, Obaida, a former football player, has also been actively involved in the revolution, sneaking into the country last year to assist the rebel forces.
Alongside the legitimacy issues caused by the expatriate nature of the opposition, the coalition has also been beset by divisions between Islamists and liberal members, and Mr Hitto’s election was no different. And despite being touted as a “consensus candidate” that could unite both sides, former Syrian National Council head Burhan Ghalioun and prominent dissidents Walid al Bunni and Kamal al-Labwani were among those who abstained from the vote.

Mr al-Labwani told The Independent that outnumbered liberals could do little to get their voices heard and said he planned to resign from the coalition.

“The government is controlled by the Muslim Brotherhood and the Qatar government,” Mr al-Labwani said. “We will be against this government and will not give it legality. Democracy is from the land and from the people not from a council that is composed by the government of Qatar.”
Known for being religiously pious, Mr Hitto had been an active member of the Muslim community in the US. He headed the board of the largest Islamic school in the country and was also a board member of the local chapter of the Muslim American Society, according to friends. The society was set up by the Muslim Brotherhood but now downplays its links to the organisation.

Dallas-based security adviser Mohamed Elibiary, who has known Mr Hitto for the past 10-years described him as “more of an intellectual Islamic activist than a rank and file Islamist type”. “He is broadly respected amongst various segments of the Muslim community including by Muslim Brotherhood members,” he said, adding that he was a “consummate hard negotiating diplomat.”

Nigeria: Dozens killed in Kano bombing
At least 41 people died in a suicide car bomb that struck a bus station in a Christian neighbourhood in Kano, northern Nigeria's busiest commercial centre, in the most deadly attack in nine months that is blamed on Islamic extremists, an official said on Tuesday.
---------

For Islamists, image is everything. Once I was having a casual conversation with an Iranian lady - a liberal "Green Movement" 'rebel' at that - and she made a "joke" about Zoroastrians drinking cow piss. So I pointed out that there are several authentic hadith of the Prophet's companions drinking Muhammad's (pbuh) piss, and theological assertions that it saves one from Hellfire, etc. Her jesting and good humour evaporated pretty quickly, and she first denied it and said it must be some Sunni hadith. I said I could show it to her in Shi'a sources, and then she admitted that such esoteric things were there, but that for the sake of the 'image' of Islam in today's times such things are not spoken about publicly because they may be used against it. This seemed to be a perfectly logical and acceptable explanation to her.

Egypt: Mufti Called On Unesco to Rectify Islam's Image
Grand Mufti Shawqi Allam on Monday 18/3/2013 called on the UNESCO to exert more efforts to rectify the image of Islam in the West. Allam said interfaith and intercultural dialogue should be based on acknowledging the cultural identity of any civilization without being dominated by another.

The mufti made the remarks during a meeting with visiting chairperson of the UNESCO General Conference Katalin Bogyay and Hungarian Ambassador in Cairo Peter Kevic.
-----------------------

Speaking of piss...since theology shows that the emotional state in which urine is emitted or even consumed can have such deep and subtle implications for the Hereafter, it logically follows that things like "desecration" and "blasphemy" should also be discussed with the same depth and subtlety, as demonstrated by these Amrikhani ulema:

Lawyer: Urinating on bodies was not desecration
Another Marine in the video who already pleaded guilty, Sgt. Edward W. Deptola, testified they surprised and killed the insurgent fighters after marching for miles through the night to take sniper positions on rooftops of a rural cluster of family compounds. Deptola said he, Richards and others urinated on the enemy fighters out of anger.

"Killing them wasn't enough," Deptola said, "because of what they had done to us, done to us in the past 10 years and what all terrorists have done to us in the past 30 years."

Military prosecutors said urinating on the corpses and videotaping it amounted to desecrating their bodies, a claim Richard's civilian lawyer denied. Richards and the other Marines did nothing to mutilate the bodies and were merely relieving the tension of their dangerous mission, said civilian defense lawyer Guy Womack, a retired Marine lieutenant colonel. :mrgreen:

"It was black humor," Womack said. "It was in poor taste. We're not saying it was OK, but it was not desecration."
--------------------------

Sri Lankan (and Myanmarese) Buddhist treatment of Moslems is increasingly in focus
Sri Lanka’s Muslim minority is increasingly finding itself the target of Sinhala-Buddhist nationalists: a campaign against halal, attacks on mosques, boycott of their businesses, hate speech, intimidation and threats. Many concerned social activists, researchers and commentators have attempted to grapple with current manifestations of this phenomenon with a view to shaping meaningful and effective responses by furthering our understanding of its socio-political and economic dimensions.

I see, so after dealing with their Hindoo problem they are going to solve their Muhammadan problem.

It will be interesting to see what lessons this holds for India.

Wounds Inflicted on Humanity by Islam

The Dhimmi Revolution
The last reason for our aversion to the history of political Islam is our shame. Islam put over a million Europeans into slavery. Since Muslims can’t be enslaved, it was a white Christian who was the Turkish sultan’s sex slave. These are things that we do not want to face.Jews don’t want to acknowledge the history of political Islam, because they were dhimmis, second class citizens or semi-slaves, just like the Christians. Jews like to recall how they were advisors and physicians to powerful Muslims, but no matter what the Jew did or what position he held, he was still a dhimmi. There is no compromise between being equal and being a dhimmi
Why should a Hindu want to recall the shame of slavery and the destruction of their temples and cities? After Hindu craftsmen built the Taj Mahal, the Muslim ruler, Shah Jahan, had their right hands cut off so that they could not build anything as beautiful for anyone else. The practice of suttee, the widow throwing herself on the husband’s funeral pyre, came about as a response to the rape and brutality of the Islamic jihad as it sweep over ancient Hindustan.
Blacks don’t want to face the fact that it was a Muslim who rounded up their ancestors in Africa to wholesale to the white slave trader. The Arab is the true master of the African. Blacks can’t accept the common bond they share with whites: that both Europeans and Africans were slaves under Islam. Blacks like to imagine Islam is their counterweight to white power, not that Islam has ruled them for 1400 years.Dualistic logic. Dualistic ethics. Fear. Shame. There is no compromise. These are the reasons we don’t want to know about Islam’s political history, doctrine or ethics.The history of political Islam details the destruction of Christianity in the Middle East, Egypt, Turkey and North Africa. Half of Christianity was lost. Before Islam, North Africa was the southern part of Europe (part of the Roman Empire). Around 60 million Christians were slaughtered during the jihadic conquest.Half of the glorious Hindu civilization was annihilated and 80 million Hindus killed.The first Western Buddhists were the Greeks descended from Alexander the Great’s army in what is now Afghanistan. Jihad destroyed all Buddhism along the silk route. About 10 million Buddhists died. The conquest of Buddhism is the practical result of pacifism.Zoroasterianism was eliminated from Persia.The Jews became permanent dhimmis throughout Islam.In Africa over 120 million Christians and animists have died over the last 1400 ears of jihad.Approximately 270 million [see endnote] nonbelievers died over the last 1400 years in the jihad of political Islam. These are the Tears of Jihad, a subject which is not taught in any school.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

In Memory: Yana
Posted on March 21, 2013 by caraschulz

I’m at a loss for how to write this obituary, this tribute to a life lost so horribly. The usual forms a reporter uses won’t work in this situation. I don’t know her birth date or the exact day she died, and because I don’t want to put others in harm’s way in Syria, I can’t even use her real name.

What I do know is that this is the last email I received from Yana in June of 2012.

I know she lived in an area of Syria where the fighting was intense and foreign fighters, allied with local Sunni fundamentalists, had taken over the adjoining area. When she, like other Pagans in the area, no longer responded to attempts at communication, I hoped she had fled with her family or was staying quiet to avoid detection. She told me the rebels were targeting women and she was especially afraid they would find out she was Pagan.

See January 2013 article: In Syria and Egypt, Pagan voices fall silent (http://pncminnesota.com/2013/01/17/in-s ... ll-silent/)

What happened to her is so ugly I’m struggling to … I can’t even finish that sentence. I’ll just tell you what I have learned, and although i trust this source, there is no way for me to independently confirm this. Some time in late June, Yana’s brother, who had become radicalized, informed the rebels that his sister was a Pagan. They took her, tortured her, then her brother publicly denounced her as a whore and a witch. After that, she was drug out onto the street, raped, and killed. What I remember about Yana is she was always joking, always smiling. She injected joy into everything she did, from talking about the Gods she honored to showing off her latest hair style. She had more hair combs than anyone I’ve ever known. She wanted to come to America and eat bacon. She was fascinated and repelled by the thought of bacon so I would tell her about putting it in chocolate and on maple ice cream. She was nervous about getting married. Her father doted on her and she worried a husband might not be so kind or forgiving of her free spirit. She told me younger men like to show how manly they are so she thought about telling her parents to find an older man for her to marry. It was hard to see her become less exuberant as the fighting started, and then drew closer. To see fear creep in and hear from her less often. How sad she was that she never left her home anymore because it wasn’t safe.

Yana is just one of the estimated 70,000 people who have died in the fighting in Syria. What may have started out as a fight for freedom quickly turned into something far less noble as foreign fighters, terrorists, and local Sunni fanatics purged the ranks of the pro-democracy movement and asserted control – with the help of foreign (including US) funding and weapons. Yana wasn’t a warrior, that wasn’t her path in life, but she died as one.

Hail Yana! May Nemesis seek justice for you so the Kore can welcome you to the Fortunate Isles. Until then, I will set out bacon and hair combs for you each month at the Deipnon. Hail Yana!

http://pncminnesota.com/2013/01/17/in-s ... ll-silent/

Colorado == Mumbai ?
Aurora, Colo., theater shooter James Holmes converts to Islam
By Jessica Chasmar

The Washington Times

Thursday, March 21, 2013

The man who shot up an Aurora, Colo., movie theater during a screening of "The Dark Knight Rises" last summer has reportedly converted to Islam and prays up to five times a day.

A prison source say the beard James Holmes sported in court last months represents his new-found faith. The source said Mr. Holmes has turned Muslim as a way of justifying his horrific crimes on July 20 which left 12 people dead and 58 people wounded, the Daily Mail reports.

"He has brainwashed himself into believing he was on his own personal jihad and that his victims were infidels," the source told the National Enquirer.

Mr. Holmes now prays five times a day, sticks to a strict Muslim diet and spends hours each day studying the Koran, the source told the Enquirer.

But most Muslim inmates are not happy with the convict's new religion.

"None of them condone forms of terrorism or extremism," the source added. "And they don't want their religion to be connected to that awful shooting."

Mr. Holmes is charged with 166 counts, mostly for murder and attempted murder, the Mail reports. He could be executed or spend the rest of his life in prison if convicted. A Colorado judge entered a not guilty plea on his behalf earlier this month.

© Copyright 2013 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

S. Africa: MP calls for ‘jihad’ against rapists
Durban - DA MP Rafeek Shah has called for a jihad against rapists, saying there is “no greater evil” than the violation of women and children. The call was made at the launch of an anti-rape campaign by the DA in KwaZulu-Natal.

Shah, a Muslim theologian, said the word jihad meant “a concerted effort and struggle for a noble cause”. He said that it had often been “misappropriated” to mean a “holy war”.
----------------

Another vigilante incident in Egypt:
Mob Kills Alleged Thief in Egypt Vigilante Attack
----------------

President Assad Vows to Clean Syria of Extremists
It was one of the most stunning assassinations of the two-year civil war and marked a new low in the conflict: while suicide bombings blamed on Islamic extremists fighting with the rebels have become common, the latest attack was the first time a suicide bomber detonated his explosives inside a mosque.

Tunisian Woman Sent to a Psychiatric Hospital for Posting Topless Photos on Facebook
Amina, a 19-year-old who hoped to join the radical protest group Femen, is also threatened with death by stoning.

Amina, a 19-year-old Tunisian aspirant to the radical, Ukraine-born feminist group Femen has been delivered by her parents to a psychiatric hospital in Tunis, according to reports received by Femen leader Inna Shevchenko in Paris. Amina (her last name is unknown) had posted topless photos of herself on the Femen web page she created for the group in Tunisia several weeks ago. One photo shows her topless, smoking a cigarette, with "My Body is My Own and Not the Source of Anyone's Honor" scrawled in Arabic across her chest. Another shows her raising her middle fingers to the camera, with "****** Your Morals," written on her torso. The site was subsequently hacked and temporarily plastered with citations from the Quran.

The head of the Commission for the Promotion of Virtue and the Prevention of Vice in Tunisia, Almi Adel, a Salafi Islamic preacher, has called for Amina to be "stoned to death" for posting the images. He warned that Amina's action could cause "epidemics and disasters" and "could be contagious and give ideas to other women." Media reports say Tunisian secular law would punish her with up to two years in prison.

"Amina and I were in contact by phone until four days ago, when she disappeared," Shevchenko told me from Paris in a Skype interview on Friday afternoon. "Her phone went dead and her Facebook page was removed, which also meant I lost all my correspondence with her. I can't get hold of her." Since late February, she and Amina had been discussing Femen's ideology and the inauguration of a branch of the movement in Tunisia.

Shevchenko was also alerted to a video in which Amina's aunt declared that the aspiring Femen member "is now with her family. She had decided to kill herself and so posted nude pictures of herself online," which Shevchenko characterized as "a typical way of reacting to a woman's demand to be free--they say she's gone crazy or is being too emotional."

Carl wrote: President Assad Vows to Clean Syria of Extremists
It was one of the most stunning assassinations of the two-year civil war and marked a new low in the conflict: while suicide bombings blamed on Islamic extremists fighting with the rebels have become common, the latest attack was the first time a suicide bomber detonated his explosives inside a mosque.
Fox News reports this with a comment that "this means Assad is strong and confident and not going anywhere.

http://www.mediaite.com/tv/conservative ... had-signs/
Watch the Video
eller’s organization America’s Freedom Defense Initiative has purchased a series of controversial new advertisements on San Francisco buses and subways that feature quotes from notable members of the global Muslim community. The quotes feature caustic language about Jews and gays along with Jihad imagery.“Our ads were designed to show the reality of Jihad, showing the actual quotes from high-profile Muslims like the prime minister of Turkey, the Fort Hood Jihadi, the Times Square bomber. To increase awareness about the ideology that sanctions violence and the supremacism of Jihad,” she said.

Putin's method of dealing with Radical Islam - European security summit

Putin promises to cut off French journalist's d1ck at European security summit. Very illuminating! Watch the reaction of Javier Solana and Jose Manuel Barosso.

pankajs wrote:Putin's method of dealing with Radical Islam - European security summit

Putin promises to cut off French journalist's d1ck at European security summit. Very illuminating! Watch the reaction of Javier Solana and Jose Manuel Barosso.
When I see clips like this I grow more desperate to see someone like Modi rise to the top. Ugh, he threatened to cut the guys d*ck off and everyone just sat there powerless and in a state of shock.
Last edited by RoyG on 24 Mar 2013 03:44, edited 1 time in total.

pankajs wrote:Putin's method of dealing with Radical Islam - European security summit

Good reply, ****** europeans think that they are the torch bearers of Hooman Rights even after being at the forefront of violating the same.
akashganga

Post by akashganga »

sanjaykumar wrote:This NT is a very interesting and unique twist in the Desert religious traditions, and its something for Indics to recognize and harness.

Yes indeed.

http://www.evilbible.com/what_would_jesus_do.htm

Oh and people who don't accept Jesus's particular view of reality get to burn in hell-forever courtesy of the NT.
Both islam and christianity are founded by a single individual. Christians in the west reformed to some extent, but now justify their religion by selectively quoting jesus. Muslims also try to trick using sufi mask. All these single founder religions which started at a particular time in the past will disappear sometime in future. Only truth will prevail which is beyond time and space. This is what vedanta says. Satyameva Jayate.

Putin :twisted:

We need a prostration smiley!
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Sharia in action in the mainstream media: Muslim gang-rapes across Europe underreported in press

http://www.jihadwatch.org/2013/03/shari ... l#comments

"First they came for the Hindus"
"End McCarthyism against Hindus"
"Stop Academic Jihad"
"In memory of Free Speech 1776-2013. Killed at Wharton by the English Department."
Dhimmi’s pursuing the agenda of Jihad challenged by the forces of counter Jihad:

Nearly 200 Indian-Americans take to streets against Wharton snub to Narendra Modi

Interesting protest outside Wharton.

QUITE vocal, large etc.

Saala...Wharton folks screwed up big time on this one. They would have faced much LESSER brouhaha if they had had the video conference....than if they had disallowed it. Look at the amount of doo doo they faced. Its quite a protest, as protests go....for the States.

Reminds me of one of the large anti-gay rallies or anti-abortion rallies.

***** Websites Among Most Visited In Islamic Countries

Data collected by Alexa, a subsidiary of Amazon.com that tracks Web traffic around the world, revealed that ***** sites were among the most visited Internet destinations in Egypt, Tunisia and Lebanon.

Five ***** sites in Egypt and Lebanon, and seven in Tunisia, broke the list of the top 100 most visited sites in each country, according to Al Arabiya. Two ***** sites ranked in the top 25 most visited in Egypt.

***** is forbidden in much of the Islamic world, and Egypt banned online ***** last week. Yet some critics said that people will find ways to get their ***** fix regardless of government prohibitions.

Open environment Nahi laana: intellectual challenge Nahi Laana"Ki Malsi in bolti band hai

Saudi Arabia's top cleric criticizes Twitter users
RIYADH, Saudi Arabia (AP) — Saudi Arabia's top religious cleric has criticized the social media website Twitter, calling it "a council for jokesters" and a place for unjust, incorrect messages. :lol: Grand Mufti Sheik Abdul-Aziz Al-Sheik made his remarks late Friday during a speech to other Saudi clerics.Twitter has been used by youth activists to galvanize protests in the Arab Spring uprisings, as well as by regional governments seeking to communicate with the public.The mufti's remarks come on the same day that the imam at Mecca's Grand Mosque said people have the right to express themselves, but must do so cautiously in order to protect the nation's prestige and unity.Rights groups have criticized Saudi Arabia for its limited freedoms and its ultraconservative mores.

AFRICA: RISE OF ISLAM FUELS CHRISTIAN PERSECUTION
In the wake of the “Arab Spring” across northern Africa, Islam has been on the rise throughout the continent, and with it, violent persecution against Christians.

Christians in Tanzania, for example, are on alert after an Assemblies of God pastor was killed while attempting to stop Muslim youth from killing two Christian meat cutters. Pastor Mathayo Kachili died on the scene from injuries sustained during the brutal beating by the Muslim teenagers.

International Christian Concern says that this attack set off a two-week string of violent anti-Christian attacks in Tanzania’s northwestern Geita region.

Only days after the pastor was killed, Muslim militants on the island of Zanzibar killed a Father Evarist Mushi, a Catholic priest.

International Christian Concern’s Africa analyst William Stark told WND in an interview that the priest’s murder links violence in Africa to terrorist activity throughout the region.

...Stark adds that the Muslims in Tanzania are radicalizing at a rapid rate.

“I would agree that the latest series of attacks is likely the beginning of a trend,” Stark said. “Radicalized Muslim youths are being used to commit terrible acts of violence in both Kenya and Tanzania.
Eritrea

Earlier this month, the Christian advocacy and aid group Open Doors reported to Worthy News that in Eritrea – an African nation that borders Ethiopia and the Red Sea on the Horn of Africa – authorities arrested, detained and publicly beat 125 Christians.
Nigeria

Last week, a bomb attack in the mostly Christian Sabon Gari district of Kano, Nigeria, killed 25 and wounded 60 others.

No group has claimed responsibility for the attack, but in a statement to the press, World Watch Monitor says the attack bears the marks of Islamic terror: “The manner of attack is, however, similar to previous ones by the Islamist Boko Haram group. Its scale prompted Christian, Muslim and political leaders to urge the federal government to take urgent measures to avert a major crisis.”

The attack comes at the same time a Nigerian Catholic priest lashed out against Boko Haram’s attacks that have destroyed 50 churches in his diocese.
Libya

In Libya, there are reports from earlier this month that four more Egyptian Christians have been detained for allegedly proselytizing. The arrests came only days after a report that an Egyptian Christian died in prison from wounds receiving while being tortured.

The four were allegedly arrested at a security checkpoint outside the Libyan city of Misrata.
Sudan

In the East African nation of Sudan, meanwhile, Christians are fleeing in droves.

The Christian human rights group Barnabas Aid reported this past week that another 1,500 Christians have been safely airlifted from Khartoum to the recently formed nation of South Sudan.

The airlift is part of Barnabas Aid’s Exodus Project, which has taken over 3,500 Christians to safety.

In a statement for the press, International Director for Barnabas Fund President Patrick Sookhdeao says he’s pleased with the progress, but asks for help.

“It has been a great privilege for us to be able to help suffering Christians … begin a new life in a place where they can be free to practice their faith in peace and have opportunities to improve their circumstances,” Sookhdeo said. “There are thousands of others who need rescuing, so please do support our Exodus campaign and help us to change many more lives.”
Murder of Christian Pastors Evidence of a Broader Issue in East Africa
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Insight: Little optimism for breakthrough in Thailand's forgotten jihad
Mahrosu Jantarawadee symbolizes the divide between Muslims and Buddhists in southern Thailand - a martyr to some, a murderer to others. He was born, killed and buried in Bacho, an area of rice fields and rubber plantations the Thai military calls a "red zone" of insurgent activity.

Hundreds of mourners cried "God is great!" at his funeral in Duku village. Mahrosu's family and neighbors believe he died while fighting a holy war against a Thai government whose harsh assimilation policies have suppressed their religion, language and culture.

Mahrosu is no hero to the authorities or to the relatives of his alleged victims. The Thai military links him to an eight-year streak of gun and bomb attacks that killed at least 25 people. Sometimes, said the military, he shot his victims and then set their bodies alight. His mug shot appears on posters at heavily fortified police stations across the region.

One of his alleged victims was teacher Cholatee Jarenchol, 51, shot twice in the head in front of hundreds of children at a Bacho school on January 23. The children included Cholatee's seven-year-old daughter. "She's scared she'll be killed next," her mother Fauziah, 47, said.

Cholatee was one of at least 157 teachers killed by suspected insurgents since 2004, ostensibly for being government employees.

China jails 20 on jihad, separatism charges in restive Xinjiang
Chinese courts have sentenced 20 people to up to life in jail on charges of separatism and plotting to carry out jihad in the restive far western region of Xinjiang, the government said on Wednesday.

The courts in Kashgar and Bayingol said the 20 - all ethnic Uighurs judging by their names - had had their "thoughts poisoned by religious extremism", and used cell phones and DVDs "to spread Muslim religious propaganda", the Xinjiang government said on its official news website (www.ts.cn).

Some of them bought weapons to kill policemen as part of their jihad and spread propaganda related to the banned East Turkestan Islamic Movement, the report said, a group which China says wages a violent campaign for a separate state.

From "The Berkeley Daily Planet":
Islam Honors Women in Society
American women were struggling to pursue a higher education as society believed that they were incompatible in developing their intellectual skills.

It was not until 1972 in which Title IX of the Education Codes of the Higher Education Act Amendments prohibited gender discrimination in federally funded institution. Seeing it as a door to opportunity, women began to become involved in an advanced education.

For Muslim women, we are fortunate that we didn’t have to wait until 1972 for our status, rights and role to be recognized because Islam already set systematic guidelines as mentioned in the Quran and through the practice of Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him).
-----------------------

The middle class and radical Islam in Russia

Video report in the link.
-----------------------

Magdi Allam Misunderstands Islam and Christianity
A prominent anti-Islam advocate’s hatred of Islam has now led him to abandon his Catholic faith:

Magdi Cristiano Allam, an Egyptian-born Muslim whom Pope Benedict publicly baptised at Easter five years ago in St Peter’s Basilica has announced that he is leaving the Church because it has taken too soft a stand against Islam.

“My conversion to Catholicism, which came at the hands of Benedict XVI during the Easter Vigil on 22 March 2008, I now consider finished in combination with the end of his pontificate,” Mr Allam wrote on Monday in the right-wing Milan daily, Il Giornale. . . .

“The thing that drove me away from the Church more than any other factor was religious relativism, in particular the legitimisation of Islam as a true religion,” he said. Mr Allam said Islam was “an intrinsically violent ideology” that had to be courageously opposed as “incompatible with our civilisation and fundamental human rights.”
------------------------

CAIR Says Sponsors of Tenn. Anti-Islam Bill 'Sink' to New Low
The Washington-based Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), the nation's largest Muslim civil rights and advocacy organization, today said a Tennessee state legislator who sponsored an anti-Islam bill in 2011 sunk to a new low when he raised concerns that a mop sink in the state capitol building might actually be a facility for Muslim religious ablutions.

According to the Associated Press, State Senator Bill Ketron (R-Murfreesboro) asked Senate Clerk Russell Humphrey whether there was religious significance to the floor-level sink in a men's restroom. Legislative Administration Director Connie Ridley described the function of the sink in response to media inquiries, saying: "It is, in layman's terms, a mop sink." :mrgreen:

Egyptian Cleric: U.S. Aid is a Jizya Tax
According to Egyptian cleric Dr. Khaled, our payments to Egypt constitute a payment of jizya, the tax laid upon non-Muslims living under sharia in return for dhimmi status (whereby they can be left alone, albeit as second-class citizens). He explained: “If the revolution declares a framework for dealing with the West and America — they will accept it, kiss our hands, and double the aid they give us. We consider this aid to be jizya, not regular aid. . . . They pay it for the right of passage through our airspace and territorial waters. . . . They pay so that we will let them be.”

So US is doing the same with Pakistan too