Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Raja Bose wrote:
Mort Walker wrote: ... may give Google Docs/Drive another chance.
Before that Google Docs/Drive teams needs to get off their mush and actually build a good solid product which can compete. Till date, they have shown no inclination to do that and if Office365 doesn't light a fire under their mush, they are doomed.
Google Docs is the dumps. Terrible to work with any inserted figures. I was trying to help my son do some science report on Google docs and gave up in frustration and moved to Libre Office. He wants to buy MS Office which I am resisting, but may have to plunk down those $100 bucks to get one for his MBP (unless MS discontinues that sales model and moves to lease AKA "yearly MS tax" model).

I use Google Docs as it is integrated into Gmail hence, no need to fire up something else. The fundamental problem with Google Docs is I cannot trust it not to screw up/lose my data (has happened multiple times) hence, never use it for anything more than reading an attachment. Any document creation/editing is done in Office onlee.

Singha wrote:has it really added much value to your lives, shifting from image to image to eke out some N% gain? are you on your phones all the time or untethered and off the electric grid for days to make charging it at home such a problem?

does it bother you that much?
I keep changing my ROM as and when new one is released from xda developers website. It hardly takes about 45 minutes or less to re install everything. do it with charging and wi fi on. everythig is done automagically. :mrgreen:
It is also fun learning new things. feels like geek. 8)

Of course huge improvement with battery life , and many others small fixes.
I have also changed shq's phone so much she was mad at me intially. now getting used to it.

Amazing that phones on froyo(like mine) now works on JB 4.2.2 easily.

is there any ram or processor minimum to get into JB 4.2 ?
what tool do you use .... I had used odin once earlier...and didnt get much success with kies

anmol wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:If we look at desktop/laptop OS comparison Win8 is not where Win7 or Vista was after it was released. Windoze is a necessary evil, the UX is not pleasant, but we have no choice due to running all legacy applications and IT dept. applications.

Exactly, Microsoft KNOWS that they can take this risk... no matter what people say but Windows will still sell and keep its share. And from MS pOV this is necessary evil in order to promote winrt. And I don't know why people forget that they have done this in past: MSDos to Windows. People had similar reaction with new UX... but stayed for same reason you stated. But then people started to like the new UX lot more than DOS.

Not a good analogy. MS (or PC) DOS was essentially text based and going to a GUI was a big deal when Windows 1.04 came out in 1987. (I first got to use it in a university lab). The jump from XP to WinRT/8 is not as dramatic a change in the UX. True that WinRT/8 has touch screen capability, but at this time most Windoze devices are not touch screen. I haven't stayed with Windoze, in fact I am now using OS X more frequently and Linux, and Windoze has been something that is a necessary evil.

Singha wrote:is there any ram or processor minimum to get into JB 4.2 ?
what tool do you use .... I had used odin once earlier...and didnt get much success with kies
Try installing the latest version of Kies (2.5.3.xxx) on your desktop. It is much better than in the past.

Singha wrote:is there any ram or processor minimum to get into JB 4.2 ?
I do everything from http://forum.xda-developers.com/

I search for my phone model and do the rest accordingly.

Ex my phone is HTC inspire 4g-- go to desire HD forum and follow them.
(Inspire 4g= desire hd).
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2002349
similarly for other phones.

PS- am a noobie- know nothing of intricate details, roms etc-- how things work-- just follow the xda forum.

Seems Windows 8 uptake is sluggish to say the least. Probably comparable to Vista if not slower. Claiming that Windows 8 is a success is a bit of a stretch -- Microsoft claimed for a long time that Vista was a resounding success, before resigning to facts. Same thing is going to happen to Windows 8 after some time I think. I am not sure that Microsoft knew that uptake would be this sluggish either.

That doesnt mean that M$ is finished as a company. Vista bombed, they did just fine. What they are losing is opportunity cost. They could have made a lot more money if the uptake had been as fast as XP. The other effect is going to be subtle and over the longer run. CIOs planning their fleet are going to probably invest in cloud-based products and services, rather than weathering the pain of M$ coming up with uninspired and radical changes on them.

Comparisons with DOS/Win 3.1 is not valid either. That transition did not happen in the middle of a shift in the way products and services are deployed and a shift in the kind of devices people use.

Win8 wins or loses is ortho to MS fate long term.
BhairavP

Post by BhairavP »

Boss got a new Sammy tablet, the ATIV PC Pro - just setting up his Skydrive and running him through Windows 8. Stupid MS - why can't Outlook have it's own Live Tile?

http://www.theverge.com/2013/4/8/420368 ... d-bundling
A group of companies including Microsoft, Nokia, and Oracle has filed a new antitrust complaint in the EU, alleging that Google’s Android mobile OS gives an unfair advantage to the company’s mobile applications. The group, called Fairsearch Europe, states in a press release that while the core Android OS is free, OEMs that want to license Google's mobile apps like Maps, YouTube, or the Play store, need to take the whole Google Apps suite and give it "prominent default placement on the phone." The group adds that Google’s "predatory" practice of offering Android "below-cost" also makes it difficult for competing software makers to recoup their investments.

From Mickey's perspective Win8 not selling as well as Win XYZ really doesn't make a difference except some short-term loss of revenue gained from that specific version of Windows. If people buy one version of Windows in lieu of another, Mickey still makes the same amount of money so its concern would be people switching en masse to OS X/Linux which has not happened yet. In terms of services, Mickey is pretty much moving into the cloud as is everybody else - however, Fruit Co is a bit of a mystery in this context right now. One thing Mickey have succeeded in executing well is that the look and feel and UX of their cloud services is pretty much consistent to what they have in native - outlook.com feels like the current version of outlook, Word on Office365 feels like the native MS Word ityadi. Chacha has been lagging in this department for a long time for reasons best known to its bada babus so they need to shape up in order to be competitive in this area.

Singha wrote:what tool do you use .... I had used odin once earlier...and didnt get much success with kies
I use Clockwork Recoverymod for most upgrades. I use ODIN to flash back to stock. ODIN is dangerous though, it's softbricked my phone a few times. You have to be sure USB connection doesn't blink when the copy is happening. Marten, yes Kies is sammy specific.

I used clockwork recovery earlier, now I have ext 4 for recovery which is common with many ROMs.

I go on wifi to upload everything -- avoid removing the sim card or sd card to load info.
Also I do not connect to PC at all.

BhairavP wrote:Boss got a new Sammy tablet, the ATIV PC Pro - just setting up his Skydrive and running him through Windows 8. Stupid MS - why can't Outlook have it's own Live Tile?
It does have its live.. you need to pin it to start in Mail app. Also you can pin Outlook.com in IE too..

Anujan wrote:http://www.theverge.com/2013/4/8/420368 ... d-bundling
A group of companies including Microsoft, Nokia, and Oracle has filed a new antitrust complaint in the EU, alleging that Google’s Android mobile OS gives an unfair advantage to the company’s mobile applications. The group, called Fairsearch Europe, states in a press release that while the core Android OS is free, OEMs that want to license Google's mobile apps like Maps, YouTube, or the Play store, need to take the whole Google Apps suite and give it "prominent default placement on the phone." The group adds that Google’s "predatory" practice of offering Android "below-cost" also makes it difficult for competing software makers to recoup their investments.
I was wondering when MS and Oracle will work together....

^^^Prominent placement is done by the OEM not GOOG. AAPL has YouTube without Maps until recently, but it was AAPL deliberately keeping out Google Maps. Don't know if this suit is going to fly.

Marten wrote: Can Kies be used with any other 'droid device? Thought it was specific to Sammy.
PS: Genuine question. I follow XDA too, and do not have any 'droid phones so please forgive any inherent stupidity in the question.
Kies is Sammy specific onlee.

Mort Walker wrote: So, if JB is a failure, then we should also include iOS 6.0 as a failure too. :)
Raja Bose wrote: Exactly - hence, get the fallacy of the anal-e-cyst logic? :P
Mort Walker wrote: Except that Win8 sales are really lack luster, so anal-cysts are right to a point. This morning I just recommended to a fellow engineer to get a Win8 laptop with a Win7 downgrade (but that was only after I suggested he get a MB Pro in the first place).
Are we 'unncesarily' treating every new Windows upgrade as a new OS and putting it to market tests? Who cares if a user 'wants' to upgrade to latest version of WinOS or not? Currently 90% of PCs are still with MS.

Compared to this, only 60% of mobiles are with iOS.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usage_shar ... ng_systems

Unlike mobiles, the PC users cannot be forced to upgrade as the PC eco-system is much larger???

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Prominent placement is done by the OEM not GOOG. AAPL has YouTube without Maps until recently, but it was AAPL deliberately keeping out Google Maps. Don't know if this suit is going to fly.
FruitCo is not part of OHA.

RamaY wrote:Compared to this, only 60% of mobiles are with iOS.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usage_shar ... ng_systems

Unlike mobiles, the PC users cannot be forced to upgrade as the PC eco-system is much larger???
This remains a BIG mystery as in terms of sales it is Android that is having ~60% share, but in usage its iOS. I mean, Google gets its info when one connects Android phone to web for first time... so these droids are connected... but somehow are not being detected as much as sales.

anmol wrote: This remains a BIG mystery as in terms of sales it is Android that is having ~60% share, but in usage its iOS. I mean, Google gets its info when one connects Android phone to web for first time... so these droids are connected... but somehow are not being detected as much as sales.
The 60% share may be for phones. FruitCo has a huge lead in tablets. So overall, devices using iOS may be more.

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Prominent placement is done by the OEM not GOOG. AAPL has YouTube without Maps until recently, but it was AAPL deliberately keeping out Google Maps. Don't know if this suit is going to fly.
Mickey has done a chankian thing by filing the suit in the EU. Those oiropeans are crazy. IIRC they had forced Mickey to stop bundling IE with Windows once upon a time. Mickey is now trying to use the same anti-trust laws for their benefit.

EU doesn't care - either ways it bankrolls their bunga bunga junkets.

the huge fines that the shakedown artistes(EU) levy where does it go? does it get distributed to the Govts or the EU bureaucracy eats it all to sustain itself?

meantime the $150 thinkgeek jacket for those who need 22 pockets.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... bWfsnrEbKc

anmol wrote:That PR guy is doing a GREAT job, people may think that this is HUGE PR disaster... but it really is great free publicity for next-xbox.
Apparently that PR abdul wants to spend more time with his family :wink: http://www.theverge.com/2013/4/10/42108 ... -microsoft
Adam Orth, the Microsoft Studios creative director who came under fire for controversial comments on "always-on" consoles, has left the company. The news was first reported by Game Informer, and Polygon has independently confirmed his departure with two sources. It's unclear, however, whether Orth was fired or left his position voluntarily. Microsoft declined to comment to Polygon, saying "We do not comment on private personnel matters."
M$ console wants to be always on because they want it to function like a set-top box. Recording TV programs and such. Maybe even a home media/file server. Internet abduls probably didnt think from that angle.

PC Sales Still in a Slump, Despite New Offerings
On Wednesday, the research firm IDC reported that worldwide PC shipments declined 13.9 percent during the first three months of the year compared with the same period a year earlier.

To put those numbers into perspective, that is the most severe decline in the PC market since IDC began tracking the business almost two decades ago and almost double the rate of decline that the firm was expecting for the quarter :idea: (one should just see their own forecast vs their own reported actuals to see how often they get it right).
“At this point, unfortunately, it seems clear that the Windows 8 launch not only failed to provide a positive boost to the PC market, but appears to have slowed the market, :shock: ” Bob O’Donnell, program vice president for clients and displays at IDC, said in a statement. He said that “radical changes” to elements like the user interface and higher costs had made PCs less attractive compared with tablets and other devices.

“Microsoft will have to make some very tough decisions moving forward if it wants to help reinvigorate the PC market,” Mr. O’Donnell added.

Lo ji. Verizon CEO claims that it is he who sold the idea of putting LTE into an iPhone to steve jobs.

http://appleinsider.com/articles/13/04/ ... the-iphone

Next up. LG CEO claims that he is the one who convinced Steve Jobs for putting a screen on a phone.

But it was Samsung which convinced the Mahdi to put a processor in the iPhone. :twisted:
Always-on XBox is always-on becoz it is a set-top box. This is Mickey's TV offering and it is leveraging the dominant XBox install base so Chacha and Fruit Co better shape up. AppleTV cannot be forever Bawarchi's closet hobby :mrgreen:

http://www.firstpost.com/tech/apples-bu ... 94580.html

the EMI and exchange scheme by apple and samsung are to prevent the breakout move by karbonn, xolo and mmx above the 15K mark where margins are higher and also increase volume on higher end products.
Last edited by Singha on 11 Apr 2013 18:37, edited 1 time in total.

Anyone here do android development.

How do I start going about it? Any tips and tricks ?

Please email me at

r w n a n o attttt geemale dawt qaum

Raja Bose wrote:Always-on XBox is always-on becoz it is a set-top box. This is Mickey's TV offering and it is leveraging the dominant XBox install base so Chacha and Fruit Co better shape up. AppleTV cannot be forever Bawarchi's closet hobby :mrgreen:
I have both and the XBox gets more use, but not for content because I refuse to pay the annual M$FT Xbox Gold Live membership just so I can watch Netflix and do kitab-e-chehra. If MSFT doesn't allow used games, I am no longer interested in XBox and will sell it. I'm not paying $50 for games. AppleTV will get another look given its low price, and although its GPU will be limited, it will be good enough given the cost of games are low too. If AAPL can get its act together on AppleTV and make it a media center for content games with a low price, then XBox will only remain for the hard core gamers.

I doubt Mickey will deliberately allow FruitCo to do that especially given they are at a huge advantage now in living room gaming and want to muscle into the TV business using that leverage. Mickey does have a lot of relationships with TV style content providers (traditional and online) given it used to be in the TV/channel business for quite a while.

WTH wants to do kitab-e-chehra on TV?! I fail to see the need to have it on TV - what additional benefit does it provide?

So what programming language(s) you would use on android?

xbox reminds me that I have not connected kids kinet to the net. is that good or bad? i want to prevent them browsing or have parental controls.

Raja Bose wrote:I doubt Mickey will deliberately allow FruitCo to do that especially given they are at a huge advantage now in living room gaming and want to muscle into the TV business using that leverage. Mickey does have a lot of relationships with TV style content providers (traditional and online) given it used to be in the TV/channel business for quite a while.

WTH wants to do kitab-e-chehra on TV?! I fail to see the need to have it on TV - what additional benefit does it provide?

Well, MSFT is putting out some bad vibes with the new Xbox about used games. My kids like to take their games and go to friend's house to play Xbox and vice-versa. If games are tied IP address, then Xbox (and Sony PSwhatever) are doomed. Even some of my friends prefer to use PS3 because the games cost about the same, but you don't have to pay annual membership and it has BD player. For the tech savvy, the PS3 also networks nicely in to home networks to get content off of a media server.

Some people use Xbox to get to kitab-e-chehra. It is one of the so-called advertised benefits of annual gold membership.

SaiK wrote:So what programming language(s) you would use on android?

xbox reminds me that I have not connected kids kinet to the net. is that good or bad? i want to prevent them browsing or have parental controls.

Xbox browser works, but is clunky in IMHO, so that becomes a defacto parental control. :wink:

raja bose jee

not that easy.....

Is it possible to get Hindi channels like Sony using a Roku?
My Comcast cable bills are through the roof and I need some succor!!

try dish net.