The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
sadhana wrote:Why do India and the Indian government have to be bashed on every single thread on BRF?
If moderators can not keep the thread on topic why have them (moderators and thread topics)? Name every thread MMS and INC bashing thread, because mostly that is all there is. Call it 'MMS Bashing Forum' : MBF or India Bashing Forum : IBF and be done with it. Calling it Bharat Rakshak Forum is false advertising.
shiv wrote:+1
ShauryaT wrote:++1
++++101
everyone happy now as we are super duper folks who can guide the illiterate forum members.
krisna wrote:
have a feeling that it is not a local nut case job.
The top law enforcement agencies are feeling safe now in voicing this too. They feel it is revenge for the drone strikes in pakistan and yemen. They feel certain that local nutjobs (white supremacists, anti govt whackos etc) would have gone after symbols of govt authority.
sadhana, Will answer you in a day. Please give me time.
Meanwhile the case is turning. If you see the flurry of anchors(all major networks) who were ready to announce the arrest and were all turned away the case is bigger than it seems. Most likely the NSA team is being briefed about the arrests etc and need time before the arrests are made.
The whole place was so Heavily photographed that there is no way that any one could have planted that bomb and have escaped being captured on a very high def camera.
The police have found the Pressure cooker, they would have found the bag that contained the pressure cooker, and they will see who was carrying it. They will also see if some one gave them the backpack from a car. They might even be able to see if these guys came in on a particular vehicle or via metro.
I suspect these guy(s) are probably in custody and getting special TLC just about now.
Ombaba and senior netas and defence secretaries and Pentagon must be planning nasty things if a videshi is involved. The foreign government in question would already have gotten the 2013 version of with us or against us - bomb you back to stone age etc or if it is a US ally, some quiet behind the scene talking.
The US media is 1. Misinformed, 2. some info they have - they have been asked to STFU and they agree. They are playing 'The unbending spirit of boston' stories 24 x 7.
Based on info from this post about another incident at Waco, Tx, it is hard to attribute this to accident but a non-accidental coincidence:
So why were people so quick to speculate about the holiday's possible significance? Undoubtedly because they were inspired by the fact that this week does contain a number of unhappy anniversaries: the Oklahoma City Bombing (April 19, 1995), the Waco assault (April 19, 1993), the Columbine School Shooting (April 20, 1999), and the Virginia Tech massacre (April 16, 2007), for starters. Two of those tragedies—the Virginia Tech massacre and the Waco assault—were on Monday, the Patriot's Day of those years
Time-pass speculation: Probably they caught one guy identified from the photos/videos and are yet to catch the second guy- and so don't want the second guy to know that the first guy is caught. Maybe even trying entrapment. This is what comes of watching crime TV shows.
This still looks like the work of local home grown nutcases. With so much information available in public domain these days, copycats fill find it easy to execute even if they do not belong to any group with political motivation. The reluctance to come out with early speculation on who they are on part of the government might even hint at that.
nachiket wrote:On second thought, if the IM turns out to be involved, maybe Ombaba will light a fire under Rajmata's mush to do something about them instead of running after imaginary Hindoo terrorists.
It must be realized that IM exists purely because of TSP. So long as TSP is funded, armed and her 'compulsions are understood', it will be a nightmare not only for India which bears the brunt of terrorism but also those who help TSP in the first place and 'understand her compulsions'.
sadhana wrote:Why do India and the Indian government have to be bashed on every single thread on BRF?
Do people experience extreme winter near equator? Do people need a refrigerator at North Pole? Probably not. Why? So if people are extremely critical of MMS' performance then maybe, just maybe, it is because the performance of GoI is really awful. Did you consider this hypothesis?
I did criticize Indian govt here. I did so because some people were falsely suggesting that the Indian govt took serious action against Shivraj Patil and Vilasrao Deshmukh. What did you expect from me? Should I listen to their false propaganda?
Name every thread MMS and INC bashing thread, because mostly that is all there is.
And you are claiming that reality is very different from the incompetence perceived by the forum members? How so? Why don't you start a thread where you can balance this "bias" by enlisting their thousands of great achievements?
Call it 'MMS Bashing Forum' : MBF or India Bashing Forum : IBF and be done with it. Calling it Bharat Rakshak Forum is false advertising.
Lahori logic. MMS bashing is not equivalent to India bashing. If you believe that one cannot be Bharat rakshak if he/she disagrees with the policies of Indian govt then you have some serious problems.
If moderators can not keep the thread on topic why have them (moderators and thread topics)? Name every thread MMS and INC bashing thread, because mostly that is all there is. Call it 'MMS Bashing Forum' : MBF or India Bashing Forum : IBF and be done with it. Calling it Bharat Rakshak Forum is false advertising.
abhishek_sharma wrote:
Lahori logic. MMS bashing is not equivalent to India bashing. If you believe that one cannot be Bharat rakshak if he/she disagrees with the policies of Indian govt then you have some serious problems.
It is the continuous lamentation that rankles. One is supposed to read the message and not think about the personalty of the person who writes the message. But lamentation about all that is lousy about India in a thread about Boston blasts forces one to ask whether the person writing the message should be requested to stop boring others to death about views that appear on every thread or simply put the person on the ignore list. Some people bore all the time and can easily, cheerfully and thankfully be put on the ignore list. Others such as yourself seem to be made of better stuff so it is a tough call to simply put you on the ignore list. So a request that you stop should be considered by you with a little sympathy. IMHO.
abhishek_sharma wrote:Well, one should not start a discussion on Indian govt in a thread on Boston blasts. But some people did so. (I did not.)
While this is a valid excuse for justifying what you said, it indicates that you are not particularly interested in staying on topic - especially when it comes to things that you might feel strongly about.
Feeling strongly about governance in India is understandable, but self control among the more thoughtful people who post would be a desirable characteristic to differentiate from the habitual caterwaulers who can easily be ignored.
There is MMS bashing, INC bashing and India bashing. if BRF thinks India and BJP are synonymous then you are the ones with the serious problem. it's one thing to bring up INC connections with terrorists on India related threads but this need to bash any or all Indians on occasion of a Boston incident is pure sickness.
>> it indicates that you are not particularly interested in staying on topic - especially when it comes to things that you might feel strongly about.
Yes, that is correct. Pointing out that Shivraj Patil and Deshmukh were not adequately punished for 26/11 is more important for me than being on-topic in a thread on a not very important event.
"It was a like a nuclear bomb went off," Mayor Tommy Muska said. "Big old mushroom cloud. There are a lot of people that got hurt. There are a lot of people that will not be here tomorrow."
Fire officials fear that the number of casualties could rise as high as 60 to 70 dead, said Dr. George Smith, the emergency management system director of the city.
"That's a really rough number, I'm getting that figure from firefighters, we don't know yet," he said.
"We have two EMS personnel that are dead for sure, and there may be three firefighters that are dead."
sadhana, i think we all are humans, where we allow freedom to have often cross a few yellow seas, but stay within the thread territorial waters. of course, when the bashing goes extreme and trolling begins, is when bradmins come in with a double edged sword. see, this is the same thing with FBI and other agencies.. especially in a multi bombing case,.. where once a lead is given, they will put a near RFID tag on the target and observe movements.. till all the members of the gang are in the net. so, if they say, they have not arrested any, means there are more terrorists in the chain...so, similarly, our bradims wait and get all commit real sins, and bans them.
sadhana wrote:if BRF thinks India and BJP are synonymous ...
This is how people start their straw man arguments.
As I said before, if you don't like the distribution of news here, feel free to correct the balance by posting positive news. You should not expect that others will automatically agree with your personal views on what constitutes India and her interests.
You are seriously suggesting I should start a thread called 'Bomb explosion in Boston without India,INC and MMS bashing' because moderators refuse to keep this thread on topic. Thanks but I'll pass.
No abhishek, every thread is about this... Sadhana's question is that berating the government of India appears to be the primary focus, or turns into a major focus, on virtually EVERY thread. No one is talking about defending the government or anything like that, but why is that constant lamentation on every thread is the question... What you are seeing is probably the slow deliberate suffocation to death of BRF by those who care only about that issue. It is not pretty. But ultimately it is a choice that members make. If this is how the forum goes down in relevance, then this is how it goes. Because the world outside it is slightly different...
Of course, the second most popular pastime seems to be the questioning of participants' motives. All rather sad. But it is a common, clever and tested technique. I would have taken a pretty much similar approach if I wanted to push things towards a circular and confused and crap on everyone virtual society. Sort of like what we are actually doing with Pakistan.
This is largely applicable only to this forum of course (maybe we should shut it down?), but there is creep going on into the Military Forum, into the Tech & Economy forum, not so much yet into the general discussions forum. The mandate of the forum was to lie to the right of centre, but no one will now objectively say we are anywhere in that zone.
Maybe, for fun, I should deactivate my account and sign in and play this little game of pushing things further to the right. Probably no need.
spectactors and even a finisher in a space blanket took advantage of the blast to loot a tent having finisher medals and t-shirts.
some of these stolen medals are up for sale on ebay now.
Thank you Abhishek. It is a relief to see there are still people who can see from multiple perspectives posting on the forum.
There is no "downhill skiing" issue here. If anything, you have demonstrated to people that posting and moderation can actually work, if people take a faceted view of things, and understand that there is more than one point of view, and can try to respect these without questioning the poster's motives.
So now Texas and the US has its own version of Bhopal,a major industrial accident,whatever.
Coming back to the Boston bombs,not claiming responsibility isn't typical jihadi/ungodly style.Could it be another Unabomber clone? Here's Te K's brother on the Boston bombings.
Too many agencies speaking anonymously. Same malaise as in India.
Actually America is worse since it has technology and spends millions and has deep sense of insecurity and identity crisis. So if that is what their Law Enforcement Agencies have to show then they are worse then our Good guys who work with limited resources and obstacles.
Philip wrote:So now Texas and the US has its own version of Bhopal,a major industrial accident,whatever.
Coming back to the Boston bombs,not claiming responsibility isn't typical jihadi/ungodly style.Could it be another Unabomber clone? Here's Te K's brother on the Boston bombings.
The newer versions of jihadi attacks changed their ways. No one is claiming these days. Even for 26/11 and also as recent as HYD blasts no one claimed.
Philip wrote:So now Texas and the US has its own version of Bhopal,a major industrial accident,whatever.
The newer versions of jihadi attacks changed their ways. No one is claiming these days. Even for 26/11 and also as recent as HYD blasts no one claimed.
So no more glory. They just want pure sadistic pleasure of people getting killed
In most continuing terror wars, even though there is no claim of responsibility, the attackers deliver a silent message. TSP has conducted 100s, perhaps 1000s of attacks against India including J&K, and they leave no doubt about their involvement even though they don't say anything publicly. They laugh their asses off in private, and after every attack, note how they will say some Kashmiri whose "human rights" have been violated may have conducted this attack, and this "core" issue needs to be addressed so as to prevent such attacks. Same thing after 26/11. That followed by usual chorus of US, Adhothi et. al repeating the same "core issue" mantra, and India impotently sulking and whining and crying means the message was delivered and attack was a success until the next one. There is no need to make any claim.
Ditto terror attacks that Israel and US undertake on Iran periodically. Neither US not Israel said anything after after some mysterious blasts in Iran, the stuxnet worm that took out Iranian reactors, the assassinations etc. But Iran knows who did it, and its champagne time at CIA/Mossad headquarters. Likewise, when Israelis murder top Arabs who are a thorn on their side, they don't say anything, but Arabs know who did it. And of course Iranians commit their own act of terror either directly or through their proxies against US/Israel, and of course don't take credit. But US & Israel know who the perpetrators were.
Now, coming to the Boston case, it is intriguing. I am veering away from the Jihadi angle. Reason being that in the absence of taking any claim, they have not gotten anything out of this. However, I do feel there is a domestic angle to this. And it could very well be a right wing tea party or NRA or anti-abortion Christian terrorist delivering a message to US govt and law enforcement. Again, we may not know all the details, but based on the modus operendi, he may have delivered the message he wanted to, to US govt. But its not going to make a difference, because as someone who posted that Salon article, if this was done by a local white boy, everybody from Obama's handlers, to think tanks to terrorism experts like Peter Bergen, you name it, will all fall silent, they will just ignore this guy. Unlike the case where if this was by a Jihadi, they have a lot of work to do peddling their grand theories. If its by a local white Christian boy, this will disappear from the news in a few days. Even F-16 pilots will also be disappointed that they won't get to use their toys, as will all west point graduates, football players, news reporters all will lose an opportunity to show their skills and patriotism.
The law enforcement having got the message will do what it has to in the background.
Now, coming to the Boston case, it is intriguing. I am veering away from the Jihadi angle. Reason being that in the absence of taking any claim, they have not gotten anything out of this. However, I do feel there is a domestic angle to this. And it could very well be a right wing tea party or NRA or anti-abortion Christian terrorist delivering a message to US govt and law enforcement. Again, we may not know all the details, but based on the modus operendi, he may have delivered the message he wanted to, to US govt. But its not going to make a difference, because as someone who posted that Salon article, if this was done by a local white boy, everybody from Obama's handlers, to think tanks to terrorism experts like Peter Bergen, you name it, will all fall silent, they will just ignore this guy. Unlike the case where if this was by a Jihadi, they have a lot of work to do peddling their grand theories. If its by a local white Christian boy, this will disappear from the news in a few days. Even F-16 pilots will also be disappointed that they won't get to use their toys, as will all west point graduates, football players, news reporters all will lose an opportunity to show their skills and patriotism.
The law enforcement having got the message will do what it has to in the background.
In other words, if you were in India and this was an Indian event, you would not be ruling out saffron terror.
That is a perfectly valid viewpoint and demands that no rash moves be made against the innocent. That seems to be as true for America as in India.
Incidentally the two men seen in the photo linked by Rajiv Lather above look like red blooded Americans to me - perhaps from the South - the type who would ride pick ups with guns and fly the American flag outside their homes. In fact I can even see an American flag on one man's belt. But then again I might be mistaken by doing such racial profiling.
[ethnic profiling. Deleted ramana]
Last edited by ramana on 18 Apr 2013 23:41, edited 1 time in total.
Reason:ramana
You are all profiling two men racially. They look like modern American youth to me. Maybe mixed parentage. Lovers of America's freedom. Looks like right wing terror all right. It's all about opposing government and sending messages to Obama in code.
Last edited by shiv on 18 Apr 2013 19:10, edited 1 time in total.
A Mississippi man accused of mailing letters with suspected ricin to national leaders believed he had uncovered a conspiracy to sell human body parts on the black market and claimed "various parties within the government" were trying to ruin his reputation.
Paul Kevin Curtis, 45, was arrested Wednesday at his home in Corinth, near the Tennessee state line. He was being held in the Lafayette County jail in Oxford, Miss., a booking officer, who declined to give his name, said Thursday. It was not immediately known what charges Curtis faced.