The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Abhi_G wrote:Last updates about B'lore blast in Indian newspapers are 14 - 16 hours old. Shows the pathetic situation we are in. We are being destroyed little by little by a million cuts. The future of this country is really bleak. Sorry for the pessimistic post.
Saar stop lamenting. Newspapers stop press by late night and all new info that had to come was out by 6 PM yesterday evening - it is now 15 hours later and the blast site is probably still cordoned off for mop up of last bits and pieces. Same thing happened with Boston. US overnight (India daytime) was broadcasting same ol' crap repeatedly
50 years ago I have heard my elders howl exactly the way you are howling now. They are dead. The country will be alright. The only sad thing is Charminar is no longer available so I can't ask you to "Relax, have a Charminar."
SaiK wrote:at both boston and bangalore blast pics, the trees have withstood the blast better than metal vehicle boxes.. another pointer to blast proof vs strength of materials for vehicles we travel. amby days are gone, and most cars and bikes have very poor crash ratings compared to yesteryear models... they are more focused on crumple zone.
Bet Vehicles designed for blast protection much like crash protection might be a great selling point in desh
SaiK wrote:
Malleshwaram is a residential area in the heart of Bangalore, India's information technology hub. Throngs of people crowded around the explosion site and police had to push them back to allow sniffer dogs and bomb experts to gather evidence
I constantly fear for the tendency of indics to crowd and gather to watch anything incl train accidents and even bomb blast sites. a simian wanting max damage will first set off a small scooter bomb to gather the crowd..it would be big enough to register and attract tamasha watchers but not big enough to scare everyone off , then 30 mins later follow up with a car bomb parked nearby where the police cordon expected to end and crowd begin.
Singha wrote:I constantly fear for the tendency of indics to crowd and gather to watch anything incl train accidents and even bomb blast sites. a simian wanting max damage will first set off a small scooter bomb to gather the crowd..it would be big enough to register and attract tamasha watchers but not big enough to scare everyone off , then 30 mins later follow up with a car bomb parked nearby where the police cordon expected to end and crowd begin.
It has already happened - was it Zaveri bazaar? Mumbai attacks were a variant. Kasab was captured because of that.
Of course sooner or later a person riding/wheeling a bike will be seen. And then the crowd will win Even Dickvijay's appeals will not save the guy.
^^Anything can be made available in India if one are sufficiently connected and resourceful and more so if you have ideological/political reasons behind.
Ammonium nitrate is used as fertiliser and is freely available in any country. It is mnufactured in tens of thousands of tons in India. It is made in shitistan as well and used by Taliban for ied mubarak
Satya_anveshi wrote:Looking at the pictures posted by Krish ji on page 2, it appears to my noob eye, that bengalur blast was much more lethal than Boston's.
Saar in Boston the energy of the blast was absorbed by people. In Bangalore the vehicles absorbed the energy and spared people.
Shiv,what about "Scissors"? "For men of action,satisfaction...Scissors!"
Damn shame that these classics aren't available anymore and other "Classic" garbage has taken their place.I think that "Passing Show" is still around,but Ganesh beedis et al are thriving I'm told.
So what weed do we smoke to relax when we are faced with bomb blasts? Any helpful suggestions from smokers a "dying species" (pun intended!).
Hmm.. the suspects are Indian Mujahideen and NIA is also involved in the investigations. My pessimistic mind says that nothing is to going to happen with this case then. This would be again used for election gimmics and target the BJP. For best results from NIA and CBI, Hindu outfits should be there as suspects.
Singha wrote:I constantly fear for the tendency of indics to crowd and gather to watch anything incl train accidents and even bomb blast sites
The Chief Fire Officer for East Division in Bangalore was lamenting that when Carlton Towers burnt, the Skylift and the Turntable ladder of the Bangalore Fire Brigade was useless. Why? Because 10,000 people were out there on the road watching the fun, and the fire engines just could not reach the scene. So much for the civic consciouness of the people.
BTW, The Hindu reports that the Vehicle's owner has been identified. But this fellow says that he had sold the vehicle to another person, who has now gone missing. The latest purchaser of the bike is a member from a minority community (a Jain, an Iyer or Iyengar perhaps) . Police looking for suspect near Chennai
Sachin wrote:
The Chief Fire Officer for East Division in Bangalore was lamenting that when Carlton Towers burnt, the Skylift and the Turntable ladder of the Bangalore Fire Brigade was useless. Why? Because 10,000 people were out there on the road watching the fun, and the fire engines just could not reach the scene. So much for the civic consciouness of the people.
civic consciousness will not automatically come unless we include it in primary education and spread the awareness through constant and effective campaigns, like polio drive.
GD, The Khalistanis used to do that. Set off dual time delayed blasts. Its an ISI training technique. The folks in the Boston incident also wondered as to why the second explosion was timed to be near simultaneous?
Satya, B'Lore blast was nitrate based which is high energy explosive and Boston ones are gunpowder or smokeless powder which is not so high energy and were confined in stainless steel(more ductile, mallaeable so energy is used in deforming the vessels) rather than Aluminium(easily shattered and adds to the burn energy) vessels.
mms: Hello obama, my condolences over Boston Blasts.
Obama: Thanks a lot.. I heard there was a blast in Bengaluru. My condolences to you as well...
MMS: Let it go, Obama ji.. It is a usual thing in India. I am more concerned about Boston blast..
MMS found time to express his heartfelt condolences over Boston blast. But until this moment, there has not been a single statement about Bengaluru blast from PMO...
ramana wrote:And folks weere wndering why MMS gets bashed on this forum. Many Indians feel the same way as the above cartoon reflects!
ramana why blame MMS? Let the facts speak for themselves. Count the posts and pages of the two threads. We do that too, and pretend that MMS is the culprit. We are Macaulayites who get our inputs from Englisjh language media and the media that fill our eyes and ears hold our attention. It is cognitive bias to imagine that MMS is doing it. NDTV was doing it. We are doing it
We have given up! We know no one will be caught. Even if they are caught, immediately Sagarika, Katju, Tehelka, NDTV, Mulyam, Shinde will start calling how Muslim youth are being arrested without proof. Some crooked judge will release them all and ask the Govt. to pay compensation.
We wait for the next bomb to go off. The PAID scoundrels will blame RSS for this. The people just move on and vote for Soniaben or Jagan anna citing Hindu terrorists or free power or free money.
Shinde laughs at us saying people will forget scams and bomb blasts. A relative of mine said he supports CON party because if BJP comes to power they will reduce retirement age like NTR did. That is how he is concerned about India.
The NIA on Wednesday claimed to have cracked the February 21 twin blasts in Hyderabad, identifying Indian Mujahideen (IM) leader Yasin Bhatkal as one of the persons who planted the bombs.
Citing CCTV footage as its main evidence, the NIA has claimed that Yasin Bhatkal is seen with a bag in his hand, which he reportedly planted near the bus stand in Dilsukhnagar.
The second bomb on a bicycle nearby is reported to have been planted by Asadullah Akhtar alias Haddi, a resident of Azamgarh who is absconding since 2008.
The agency has informed the Home Ministry that it has "strong leads and evidence" to suggest that the twin blasts, which killed 18 people, were carried out by the IM. "The IM's hand is clear in the blasts, but the perpetrators are yet to be caught," confirmed a Home Ministry official.
The NIA probe team has cited instructions given by Riyaz Bhatkal to Imran Khan and Syed Maqbool, who are reported to have conducted a recce of some areas in Hyderabad in August last year. According to the NIA, while Syed Maqbool, Imran Khan and Obaid-ur-Rehman conducted the recce, a group led by Yasin Bhatkal and Assadullah Akhtar planted the bombs on the instructions of Riyaz Bhatkal and Iqbal Bhatkal.
A colleague was most unconcerned about Sanjay Dutt. I reminded him of the horrors of '93, and he says, he has forgotten and Indian's have a "big-heart". He had no idea of what Sanju baba had done. Too many MMS in India. But certainly the man on the top can have more effect. The other chota-mota one can still ignore.
What has happened is that Indians have become too self-centered and selfish,no need to blame the media desi or firang.Look at the Delhi gang-rape,the Jaipur accident,goondas murdering in our cities on the street in broad daylight with no bystanders bothering to intervene.The attitude is that as long as it does not "affect me",and I am OK,why should I get involved? You hear it at traffic accident sites,"don't touch the victim,it will become a police case".
The second point is that collectively,we do not protest whatsoever.This also stems from the first act,or rather inaction that stems from our deep rooted selfish interest.Since we do not come out onto the streets (or very rarely do as was seen in Delhi which gave a fright to our leaders),unlike protests seen around the world,they take us for granted.Indians come out onto the streets only when there is no water,power,etc. for long periods making ordinary life impossible.The machinery of the state then swings into action providing water tankers,emergency power for a few hours per day,etc.,etc.It is all firefighting.But when important political issues are at stake,like bringing in strong anti-terror laws and punishing the guilty swiftly after court verdicts,the "communal" mentality of parties esp. the Congress swings into action or rather inaction and for decades,the criminals who have been given the death sentence are left to rot in jail for electoral purposes!
Similarly our foreign and economic policy is held hostage to the same need,greed of power.Pak can bomb India any day,any time,anywhere,anyone,courtesy of the "invitation to bomb" by that most generous of PM's ever,Dr.Singh.I have along list of unprintable adjectives to describe this most venal and nauseating individual ,who has betrayed the nation's interests ad nauseum and instituted crony corruption to a degree never ever seen in our fair land. This servile ,ignoble specimen of the human species takes his inspiration from his western bum-chum bosses,and armed with an ideology of amorality well honed during his days as an IMF lackey,he lays waste the Indian economy "inviting" this time the global robber barons to loot and rape India economically under the false mantra of "growth",to which the poor of the nation cry out ,"for whom?" They however-or at least some of the most miserable and desperate of the lot,have acted,embraced Naxalism and vast swathes of the inaccessible interior of the country is now ruled by the Maoists.
But who cares? Where are the voices and footfalls of patriotic Indians leading the protests? Has the species of Indian that followed our gallant freedom fighters disappeared in just one generation since Independence?
There was some hope when the "Middle Class" came out onto the streets for the first time in the war against corruption led by Anna Hazare and his team of do-gooders.But this has fizzled out into a party of aadmis led by a joker who is now sending out e-mails asking for money! I sent a reply saying that his party's name would not be understood by South Indians.Did they matter at all or was his party a North Indian one,and if he was serious about votes,the best way would be a door to door campaign not taking the route of con-artists who proliferate the Net. No reply but I still get his con mail.
Some blame the stars,"it's our bad time",but as the bard wrote,the fault lies not in the stars but in ourselves.As Edmund Burke is supposed to have written,"For evil to flourish it is only neccessary for good people to do nothing".
PS: And so onto waiting for the next terrorist outrage and the replay of the farce involving the same actors and their stale lines of lies and chicanery.
Last edited by Philip on 19 Apr 2013 03:33, edited 1 time in total.
Singha wrote:I constantly fear for the tendency of indics to crowd and gather to watch anything incl train accidents and even bomb blast sites. a simian wanting max damage will first set off a small scooter bomb to gather the crowd..it would be big enough to register and attract tamasha watchers but not big enough to scare everyone off , then 30 mins later follow up with a car bomb parked nearby where the police cordon expected to end and crowd begin.
Worse thing happened in Ahmedabad, after the blasts when the victims were brought into civil hospital trauma center, and blood donors and relatives and other gathered around, a blast went off there. Of course nobody cared, even more people showed up at all kinds of hospitals. I was one of them and to this day I don't know whether it was a sane thing to do or was I just indulging in indic-giri.
Distinctly recollect that. The second blast was timed to go off some minutes after at that hospital and if I remember correctly patients from earlier blasts along with doctors, staff, relatives, blood donors and people willing to help around died there. Barbarians planned that but people still helped. Jay ho to people like you, sajjan!
after the recent major dilli rape incident, (of course there were many, and continuing), i was propagating the use of taser wands. now, i think we should empower citizens with wands that has tasers + metal detectors or have on leash trained sniffing dogs. must have for safety.
The cops in Bangalore should not be underestimated. If taken off the hafta collecting duties, these guys stay on top of pretty much everything. One of the SI's boasted that they can solve any crime within 48 hours, as they know the area they are posted in and the people residing in the area.
well as long as the criminal/terrorist is not having biryani in pindi, they can take whatever time and effort it takes to get the job done or just kill the terrorist before even they hit roads.
Zaveri Bazar blast-like device used in Bangalore explosion
NEW DELHI: Preliminary findings of the NSG's forensic experts have indicated that a metal container was used to assemble an IED which carried 800-900 grams of nitrate-based explosive materials. It was more like an incendiary device to cause fire. Though there was no shrapnel in it, the device appeared similar to what the banned terror outfit Indian Mujahideen (IM) had used in carrying out blast at Zaveri Bazar in Mumbai in 2011 and another explosion that led to a fire breaking out in a car outside Delhi's Jama Masjid in September, 2010.
Sources privy to the investigation said that the Improvised Explosive Device (IED) was certainly not a pipe bomb as suspected by the Bangalore Police earlier. The metal container — like the one used in Zaveri Bazar (2011) and Hyderabad blasts in February, 2013 — was kept on a motorcycle that changed hand thrice before being used in the blast on Wednesday. Motorcycle was used by the perpetrators even in the Zaveri Bazar blast.
Gutted bike with fake TN registration was sold thrice
A Karnataka Police team on Thursday questioned five people in Vellore and Kancheepuram in Tamil Nadu, in relation to the blast that rocked Bangalore on Wednesday. The blast injured 16 people.
According to police sources, the team which is taking the assistance of the Tamil Nadu Police, is interrogating the people with suspected links with the gutted bike with a fake Tamil Nadu registration plate. The bomb was planted on this bike.
These people include three from Vaniyambadi in Vellore district, including one Akbar Basha and Salim, the sources said. They could not provide more details. The sources added that they are being detained at a secret location.
Sorry to go OT. Anyone who actually lives in India and settles in will see that blaming one party is not the solution. Parties and politicians say and do the nastiest things to each other but the actual rot is a multiple levels - many of which can be addressed by concerted citizen and media action.
Every time we blame one party, we are only turning attention away from the fact that it is a class of empowered and privileged people across party lines who have paid bribes or used influence to get into government jobs or won the lottery to contest for a party seat are all guilty. How does a citizen get to know this? That is because, in the middle of all this there are honest and upright people and institutions who are constantly fighting. The rot is deep, but we will clean it up. Given time. There will be frustrations en route but that is not an excuse for giving up
vasu raya wrote:In haste! shows an alternate choice of target in retaliation to the Best Bakery blast conviction
I dont know if this bomb was placed in front of the BJP office after finding that a more lucrative target was found to be too well protected. Perhaps the bomb was all made, and it had to be placed some where. The criminals also may not have wanted the explosives to remain with them for a longer period of time, that would be causing more trouble.