Discussion on Indian Epics, Texts, Treatises & Kathas

Re: Discussion on Indian Epics, Texts, Treatises & Kathas

VikasRaina wrote:Did Sanjay also see the vishwaroop of Sri Krishna while narrating events of MBH war.

i would sa so for he describes it to Drithrastra.

The BG has two speakers:Krishna and Sanjaya, two listeners:Arjuna and Drithrastra.

However only one pair was Guru-Sishya and the other speaker and listener.
The first pair benefited while the latter did not.

Interesting.. in the sense bhagwad gita starts with "sanjaya uvacha".. so how come none of those learnings from BG, drithrastra was not benefited?

Here is an apocrypha (cannot find an appropriate word for this in Indic, so please don't jump on me) I heard just recently. It could be Valimiki or Tulasi in the story but heard it associated with Tulasi.

tulasi just finished reciting his sundara kAnDa to a group of audience. One tEjaswin mahA purusha came up to tulasi and told him in no uncertain terms that his description of ashOka vana (ashOka vATika) is wrong as all the flowers in the garden were red - not white as tulasi described in his verse. tulasi insisted that the flowers indeed were white. The tEjaswin told him that tulasi cannot be right because he has seen ashOka vATika as it was at that time and he is hanuman himself who came in person to tulasi's recitation of sundara kAnDa. tulasi answered that the flowers were indeed white but hanumAn perceived them to be red in color as his were red with anger after seeing an emaciated and sad sita mAta incarcerated in the vATika.

Just posting without comments to ponder over.

dhritarAshTra is described to have seen it during sree krishna rAyabAra. krishna grants him drishTi to see the vishwaroopa and in fact grants him the boon of restored vision, but dhritarAshTra declines the offer by saying that he is satisfied with vishwaroopa darshana.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

ramana wrote: What would be the title and where can we get it?
Bookganga.com

type P V Vartak or Dr P V Vartak and it will list all the books.

The title (translation of Wastav Ramayana) in English is - A Realistic Approach To The Valmiki Ramayana

His other books are also worth reading...
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

matrimc wrote:Here is an apocrypha (cannot find an appropriate word for this in Indic, so please don't jump on me) I heard just recently. It could be Valimiki or Tulasi in the story but heard it associated with Tulasi.

tulasi just finished reciting his sundara kAnDa to a group of audience. One tEjaswin mahA purusha came up to tulasi and told him in no uncertain terms that his description of ashOka vana (ashOka vATika) is wrong as all the flowers in the garden were red - not white as tulasi described in his verse. tulasi insisted that the flowers indeed were white. The tEjaswin told him that tulasi cannot be right because he has seen ashOka vATika as it was at that time and he is hanuman himself who came in person to tulasi's recitation of sundara kAnDa. tulasi answered that the flowers were indeed white but hanumAn perceived them to be red in color as his were red with anger after seeing an emaciated and sad sita mAta incarcerated in the vATika.

Just posting without comments to ponder over.
Matrimc ji,

This story has flourished under 'devotional' developments - Devotion to Rama, Krishna.. i.e. deification of them.

I had heard this story ...same story-no difference.. EXCEPT Tejaswin was replaced by Samartha Ramadas Swami (must be Marathi version of the story) and Tulsi was replaced by Rama himself. Basically, in the story form I heard, when Ramadas was writing (17th Century CE!) about Rama, he wrote the flowers to be white, Hanuman shown ups and insist that flowers were Red. To solve the quarrel, Rama shows up and provides above explanation to the satisfaction of all.

----------
The moral here is that - IMO- even though one of two may be (and most likely is) factually wrong, both of them had right intent....i.e. to capture the details to the best of their ability.

Purana as a ancient literature class falls into (again IMO) this category. They have ardent desire to capture the glorious details of ancient history, but they are in the habit of filling the blanks.. when they should have stated.. "WE DON'T KNOW".

matrimc wrote:dhritarAshTra is described to have seen it during sree krishna rAyabAra. krishna grants him drishTi to see the vishwaroopa and in fact grants him the boon of restored vision, but dhritarAshTra declines the offer by saying that he is satisfied with vishwaroopa darshana.
i am trying to read the message.. the darshan is again a manifestation of human forms, however it is to say it so extra-ordinary by the human-form/structure/view.

what is the viswaroop(am) convey to humans?

I also have similar questions. Almost all of BG is abstract. Arjuna might have understood what sree Krishna Bhagwan conveyed. But, a possible future ruler, he would face situations where he need to explain his actions to the citizenry. So vishwaroopam is a version that can be explained to simple folks. The same with dritharashtra, duryodhana, and karna. Any of them had a chance to become the emperor after the war as the outcome was uncertain. May be it is not a physical manifestation at all but stands for something else. Is it amenable to analysis? Shouldn't it be taken as some sort of mystical experience? Duryodhana did not understand it - i mean the message of a lrger vision for bharatha varsha - and Krishna made him pay for it by letting the war be fought in an adharmic way and the leaders who would have been bad for our way of life had been destroyed.

One might wonder what is "dharmic way" of fighting a war in those times. I think it is akin to Geneva convention of today. One does not torture and kill presmued spies a la what happened in Pakistan. But if pushed into corner, there is nothing wrong in defending one's way of life by whatever means possible.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 16 Jun 2013 22:10, edited 1 time in total.

SaiK wrote:Interesting.. in the sense bhagwad gita starts with "sanjaya uvacha".. so how come none of those learnings from BG, drithrastra was not benefited?
Good question. To benefit one must be in a learning mode. Drithrastra was in a listening mode.

Arjuna was in a learning mode and benefited from Sri Krishna's teachings.

The viswaroopam darshan for Arjuna was to convince him that Vishnu is the creator and destroyer and that Arjuna is only an instrument of His.

And soon after, Arjuna requests He resume his normal roop, and he appears as the four armed Vishnu.

Second Chapter is the essence of Gita. The remaining 15 are the elaboration. Chapter 18 is wind-up.

Sure, such polymorphic message consumption is definitely the abstraction framework of BG. I was more wanting to know more about the formation of the viswaroopam itself. Whatever the force that created such concepts, I was more on the lines of looking for the deeper motivations. Clues and reverse mapping is a possibility to trace back to such thoughts. Also, form the structure, how did that viswaroop definition fulfilled various behavior model - example implemented by dhirasthra, arjuna, et al.. and many more have seen this roopam. The contexts are entirely different. I am yet to see the connectivity.

PS: just got to read ramana's post on submit:
so, sounds like the viswaroopam is the trust model for the characters.

matrimc wrote:... One might wonder what is "dharmic way" of fighting a war in those times. I think it is akin to Geneva convention of today. One does not torture and kill presmued spies a la what happened in Pakistan.But if pushed into corner, there is nothing wrong in defending one's way of life by whatever means possible.
That did not read right - clarifying that the orange sentence does not apply to the green. Applies to India in that if it comes down to survival, then it may have to resort to even nuclear weapons. But as long as everybody lives by a creed of "live and let live" and not start engaging in adharmic behavior there is no problem.

(saiK, How about now?)
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 18 Jun 2013 00:02, edited 1 time in total.

matrimc, slight OT: It appears bright red for me. I need to fix up an appt with aankh dakku soon... but 'll wait for confirmations.

I thought, dharma-karma is universal, and I never thought it is very specific to Earth zones.

See if it looks better now. OT Otherwise I may have to fix an appointment with my eye dakku soon :lol:

As per dharma-karma, Pakistani behavior is not in line with that. So, obviously they would have to be ready for push back when they attack the constitution or do not follow international agreements they are signatories to. That is a casus belli, isn't it? So is it with Chinese too. But internal matters are different though. Long term behavorial changes are what everybody should be after.

okay, we are in sync now. cancel your dakku schedule. ;). this is more like divya (divine safron color) roopa dharshan now!

paki behavior is beyond even asuric (kuiper) belt (consider an universal space for them), perhaps a comet orbit is ideal living space for their thoughts.

I wonder if Sri Krishna actually morphed into something that was like Vishwaroopa or did Arjuna for that nano second lost all fetters of human consciousnesses and became one with God. He became one with this whole universe hence the Vishwaroopam.

Maybe that is why what Arjuna could perceive what was not perceived by Dhrathrashta and Sanjay as they were simply observer of the event and not a participants.
Did Arjuna benefit from BG in the long run ?
He cried on the death of Abhimanyu, vowed crazily to kill Jayadratha or immolate himself, Found it very hard to kill Bhishama and Dronacharya and eventually lamented when on the path to heaven.

> Did Arjuna benefit from BG in the long run? [1]

> He cried on the death of Abhimanyu, vowed crazily to kill Jayadratha or immolate himself, [2]

Vikas, Orange and Green - Oranges and Granny Smiths. :) What is the panchatantra katha about the three fish named deergha drishThi, deergha kAlagnuDu and laghu drishThi (not toally sure about the last name, please correct if you know).

Green is in it for the short run - professional wailing and all, where as Orange is in it for eons into the future.

are you talking about the idiot, intelligent and wise fish? these fishes heard fishermen discussing about fishing next day at the pond.. so, the wise fish said, i am going to sneak into another larger pond by EoD/night. The intelligent one said, naah, i am going lay dead, so the fishermen will ignore me. the idiot said, big deal! I can wriggle out of the net, let me see what could go wrong.

this one? or is this some stale tale i kept telling my kids?

That is the one.

well, apologies for screwing that story up... here is the correct one:
http://www.indianhindunames.com/panchat ... fishes.htm

I doubt if BG was told by krishna as it is. It is impossible. They were in middle of battle ground. It takes one and half to two hours to recite whole BG ( 700 verses). Given that it was first time, it takes time for krishna to think and arjuna to respond and sink. Easily 3-4 hours. Impossible in middle of battle field. Most probably krishna explained some concise stuff to arjuna in max 15-20 minutes and vyasa elaborated on it for the benefit of reader.

Atri wrote:I doubt if BG was told by krishna as it is. It is impossible. They were in middle of battle ground. It takes one and half to two hours to recite whole BG ( 700 verses). Given that it was first time, it takes time for krishna to think and arjuna to respond and sink. Easily 3-4 hours. Impossible in middle of battle field. Most probably krishna explained some concise stuff to arjuna in max 15-20 minutes and vyasa elaborated on it for the benefit of reader.
:idea: Yes according to today's standards, but, BG recitation of 700 shlokas can be completed in less than two hours that includes sanjay/dhrutrashtra's and narration 11th chapter. This is possible, as lord does not have to think and arjun langot friend will not take much time to grasp. This was told in a car, arjun was sitting by his driver, taking view of the positions and formations of battlefield.

VikasRaina wrote:I wonder if Sri Krishna actually morphed into something that was like Vishwaroopa or did Arjuna for that nano second lost all fetters of human consciousnesses and became one with God. He became one with this whole universe hence the Vishwaroopam.

Maybe that is why what Arjuna could perceive what was not perceived by Dhrathrashta and Sanjay as they were simply observer of the event and not a participants.
Did Arjuna benefit from BG in the long run ?
He cried on the death of Abhimanyu, vowed crazily to kill Jayadratha or immolate himself, Found it very hard to kill Bhishama and Dronacharya and eventually lamented when on the path to heaven.
Saar, BG's whole purpose was to restore memory. IIRC, Arjun confessed he benefitted (not, if he is lying)

Chapter 18, Verse 73.
Arjuna said, My dear Krsna, O infallible one, my illusion is now gone. I have regained my memory by Your mercy, and I am now firm and free from doubt and am prepared to act according to Your instructions.

Though Sanjay was opinionated
Chapter 18, Verse 78.
Wherever there is Krsna, the master of all mystics, and wherever there is Arjuna, the supreme archer, there will also certainly be opulence, victory, extraordinary power, and morality. That is my opinion.

In short, lord krishna's car was bugged. Sanjay planted a transmitter mic and heard every word spoken in the car. He filtered/added some info to dhritrashtra and then he must have given the script/printout to Veda Vyasa-ji. He put it in meters and metaphors so that it can be remembered and recited easily for good.

Arjun and Lord were actually talking in a casual was like two friends (they were, indeed) were talking.

Dost1 = Meri phat rahi hai ye sab ko dekh ke, mere mama chacha se kaise ladu? Inko kaise maru?
Dost2= Abey saale, tu inko nahi marega to teri aur tere pure khandan ki ye log vaat laga denge. Achchha sun, dont worry, i have latest tech and outdo this guys but before that clarify your mind and believe me.

==

Arjuna
Seeing my friends and relatives present before me in such a fighting spirit, I feel the limbs of my body quivering and my mouth drying up.

Chapter 1, Verse 29.
My whole body is trembling, and my hair is standing on end. My bow Gandiva is slipping from my hand, and my skin is burning.

Chapter 1, Verse 30.
I am now unable to stand here any longer. I am forgetting myself, and my mind is reeling. I foresee only evil, O killer of the Kesi demon.

Chapter 1, Verse 31.
I do not see how any good can come from killing my own kinsmen in this battle, nor can I, my dear Krsna, desire any subsequent victory, kingdom, or happiness.

Chapter 1, Verse 32-35.
O Govinda, of what avail to us are kingdoms, happiness or even life itself when all those for whom we may desire them are now arrayed in this battlefield? O Madhusudana, when teachers, fathers, sons, grandfathers, maternal uncles, fathers-in-law, grandsons, brothers-in-law and all relatives are ready to give up their lives and properties and are standing before me, then why should I wish to kill them, though I may survive? O maintainer of all creatures, I am not prepared to fight with them even in exchange for the three worlds, let alone this earth.

Chapter 1, Verse 36.
Sin will overcome us if we slay such aggressors. Therefore it is not proper for us to kill the sons of Dhrtarastra and our friends. What should we gain, O Krsna, husband of the goddess of fortune, and how could we be happy by killing our own kinsmen?

Chapter 1, Verse 37-38.
O Janardana, although these men, overtaken by greed, see no fault in killing one's family or quarreling with friends, why should we, with knowledge of the sin, engage in these acts?

Chapter 1, Verse 39.
With the destruction of dynasty, the eternal family tradition is vanquished, and thus the rest of the family becomes involved in irreligious practice.

Chapter 1, Verse 40.
When irreligion is prominent in the family, O Krsna, the women of the family become corrupt, and from the degradation of womanhood, O descendant of Vrsni, comes unwanted progeny.

Chapter 1, Verse 41.
When there is increase of unwanted population, a hellish situation is created both for the family and for those who destroy the family tradition. In such corrupt families, there is no offering of oblations of food and water to the ancestors.

Chapter 1, Verse 42.
Due to the evil deeds of the destroyers of family tradition, all kinds of community projects and family welfare activities are devastated.

Chapter 1, Verse 43.
O Krsna, maintainer of the people, I have heard by disciplic succession that those who destroy family traditions dwell always in hell.

Chapter 1, Verse 44.
Alas, how strange it is that we are preparing to commit greatly sinful acts, driven by the desire to enjoy royal happiness.

Chapter 1, Verse 45.
I would consider it better for the sons of Dhrtarastra to kill me unarmed and unresisting, rather than to fight with them.
See how big the doubt and fear 'I feel the limbs of my body quivering'=='meri phat rahi hai' can be told by a Maharshi like VV

Nilesh Oak wrote:
VikasRaina wrote:Did Sanjay also see the vishwaroop of Sri Krishna while narrating events of MBH war.
Apparently he (Sanjay) did.

At least we can make a case for it, based on Bhagavad Gita 11:9-14, where Sanjay described what Arjuna saw.

However, other than these Shlok, What was Vishwarup Darshan is based on first person account of Arjuna (BhagvadGita 11:15-31) and Krishna's own descriptons (Bhagavad Gita 11:5:8, but also 11:47-49.

And while what exactly Arjuna saw (perceived) is anybody's guess.. Krishna explains it as Jnana-Darshan that became possible through Arjuna's devotion (trust) in Krishna. (Bhagvad Gita 11:54)
--------
Are we witnessing a case of sophisticated hypnotism? I wonder.
Lord Krishna gave Arjun a pair of 'goggle' - a special pair of 'chakshu' to see Lord in his full glory, not suitable for ordinary charma-chakshu.

well recitation is one thing, and understanding is one thing.. normally humans can intake quick, and memorize, but it takes its own time to realize various parts of the understanding to get the nirvana moment. i doubt if arjuna himself was human to memorize, understand, learn and react within 2 hours. well, perhaps that is the reason the viswaroopam came.. a kind of cop-man-show by lord krishna, to say, get it!?! now move.. lock the targets and fire...

actually, arjun is more docile than bhishma in my learning.

It requires krupa of lord krishna to understand BG. It takes time, sometimes it is instantaneous, understanding and sense of interpretation depends on past karma.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

Atri wrote:I doubt if BG was told by krishna as it is. It is impossible. They were in middle of battle ground. It takes one and half to two hours to recite whole BG ( 700 verses). Given that it was first time, it takes time for krishna to think and arjuna to respond and sink. Easily 3-4 hours. Impossible in middle of battle field. Most probably krishna explained some concise stuff to arjuna in max 15-20 minutes and vyasa elaborated on it for the benefit of reader.
Om to that.

Also as Ramana Garu said.. the gist of BG is in 2nd chapter. There is much truth in it. Even when Vyasa expanded it (Vyasa is using this as an opportunity to expand on the subject... great instructors are master digressors!------and even in this expanded view of 18 chapters, first 5 can be seen as the gist of what Vyasa wanted to convey... beginning 6 are appendices...and 18 as summary.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

Murugan wrote:Arjun and Lord were actually talking in a casual was like two friends (they were, indeed) were talking.

Dost1 = Meri phat rahi hai ye sab ko dekh ke, mere mama chacha se kaise ladu? Inko kaise maru?
Dost2= Abey saale, tu inko nahi marega to teri aur tere pure khandan ki ye log vaat laga denge. Achchha sun, dont worry, i have latest tech and outdo this guys but before that clarify your mind and believe me.
Good one. Afterall Krishna grew up being a cowboy and cowhand and thus his tone is indeed appropriate...

Same is seen... when he says.

Kuthastva kshmalamidam vishame samupasthitam
Anarya justam aswargayam a-kirti, karma arjuna

Arjuna ko galiya hi diya hai! Of course in response Arjuna sent the train on all together different track...

Or may be as some way of universal telepathy - that Arjun could experience - is what I heard from an elder. Wouldn't take so much time.

best rebuke is - क्लैब्यं मा स्म गमः पार्थ नैततत्त्वय्युपपद्यते । क्षुद्रं हृदयदौर्बल्यं त्यक्त्वोत्तिष्ठ परन्तप - literally "Stop being an impotent Eunuch Arjun, set aside the wuss-ness in your heart, stand up and start being a Man !!!!"

:D man that's brutal when spoken with right amount of disgust and sharpness. Especially sharp because Arjuna spent last year incognito as a eunuch, just prior to war..

Nilesh Oak wrote: Om to that.

Also as Ramana Garu said.. the gist of BG is in 2nd chapter. There is much truth in it. Even when Vyasa expanded it (Vyasa is using this as an opportunity to expand on the subject... great instructors are master digressors!------and even in this expanded view of 18 chapters, first 5 can be seen as the gist of what Vyasa wanted to convey... beginning 6 are appendices...and 18 as summary.
Also, lot of words and shlokas are repeated in different ways and combinations. It is all to make readers internalize the ideas being conveyed. In fact if one looks at the shlokas, some are of really high-quality and hang together better thna the others.

Murugan wrote:..sometimes it is instantaneous, understanding and sense of interpretation depends on past karma.
or depends on past learning, if that is not karma.

Some people doubt if BG was really recited on the battlefield or if it was a component added later. There is hardly any reference to knowledge of BG post first day. Some folks claim that it was Sankara who came up with the knowledge of Gita and somehow got it added to MBH.

VikasRaina wrote:Some people doubt if BG was really recited on the battlefield or if it was a component added later. There is hardly any reference to knowledge of BG post first day. Some folks claim that it was Sankara who came up with the knowledge of Gita and somehow got it added to MBH.
Vikas ji download this book for free from here: "Krishna : The Man and His Philosophy" you'll get many answers. :-)

Many references in near Death experience (like proof of heaven...I have read at least 100 of them), goes like this, answers to questions from God come instantaneously and without effort. Complex knowledge that may take many lifetime to learn are imparted within fraction of seconds (or at the same time question arises). I would imagine that is what would have happened, if God willed it. In Prashar Sanhita, it is said that the knowledge was highly diluted because men in Kaliyuga may not understand it. Having read astrology (and I can say having studied the most complex sciences at best of the places), it is way beyond fluid flow or Material Science. But men at that time must have known it. Today I doubt even the best astrologer knows and uses 10% of it. I do Aditya Hriday Strotam daily (for past many years, know the Hindi part as back of my hand, but still forget sometimes), the sanskrit part is hard and even after many thousand days, I cant recite it, but Lord Rama was able to do it the very first time he heard it.
In my school days, I know that some concepts in Math or Physics I would understand something that would take someone else 1000s times more time (they lacked aptitude in science, they were great artist etc). So to judge that It will take me X days or hours to learn or recite Gita and thus it must have taken the Lord and Arjuna that much time is height of arrogance!!
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

VikasRaina wrote:Some people doubt if BG was really recited on the battlefield or if it was a component added later. There is hardly any reference to knowledge of BG post first day. Some folks claim that it was Sankara who came up with the knowledge of Gita and somehow got it added to MBH.
VikasRaina ji,

It would help if you can specify who those 'Some people' are. Most of the doubts become clear just knowing who it is that is objecting (not always).

No character of Mahabharata (or Ramayana) talked in 'verses'- shlok- Anustubh Chhanda, so it should be clear to all that this is the work of authors- Vyasa(or Valmiki) who put together in 'verse' form for easy memorizing.

As to Mahabharata, Vyasa is very clear on his objective - to document happening of Kuru dynasty but also to summarize knowledge of Dharma, Artha , Kama of his time.

--------
Ditto on your second reference to ... Shankara adding it to MBH.
---------------
A straightforward reading of Gita along with adjacent Parva of MBH (Udyoga,Bhishma, Drona etc.)... it is not difficult at all to see that Gita is very much part of rest of MBH by same author.

I have heard from learned gurus that BG was quoted left right and centre before shankaracharya. It is also told that BG comprised some 2000 verses picked from here and there from MB. Adya Shankaracharya compiled the present BG we read and recited today and BG became essential part of Prasthan Trayi (Upanishads, Brahmasutra and BG) == a vehicle to attain the ultimate wisdom.

In Jo-Hari window chart, one area is called Dark Self of Unknown Area - unknown area to one and others too. By gurukrupa and/or by self discovery one becomes aware of capabilities lying within. We may find 'uneducated' farmers and labourers quoting BG in small god forsaken places in Bharat. Sometimes such people give you insight even an Oxford educated BG lover does not know! And these guys can recite whole BG with perfect pronunciation and with meaning though they are illiterate.

BG does not hold reservation for any. God says even sinners can attain moksha and the process may be faster than non-sinners (!)

api cet su-duracaro
bhajate mam ananya-bhak
sadhur eva sa mantavyah
samyag vyavasito hi sah

Even if one commits the most abominable actions, if he is engaged in my service, he is to be considered saintly because he is properly situated.

Faster a sinner becomes Dharmatma

sipram bhavati dharmatma
sasvac-chantim nigacchati
kaunteya pratijanihi
na me bhaktah pranasyati

He quickly becomes righteous and attains lasting peace. O son of Kunti, declare it boldly that My devotee never perishes.

Guys with very little or no knowledge will take little more time to understand Nilesh Oak-ji's book, with knowledge of precession it will be very easy to understand his work, and not much of astronomy knowledge is required. Someone friend with Nilesh-ji will grasp it immediately and in better way. I asked my 17 year old cousin with no prior knowledge of astronomy to read Nilesh-ji's book, and he grasped it in one go and now he can speak on book for at least 5 minutes but his elder brother is afraid of the subject only.

How long arjun might have taken is simply an unnecessary guesswork.

It is said that in the company of "Guru-jan" and jeevan-mukta souls like Sri RamaKrishna Paramhansa, All questions are instantaneously answered without them even uttering a word. It is as if the level of awareness reaches another level.
Probably same thing happened with Arjuna.

On second thought, Maybe Sri Krishna and Arjuna uvacha did take time. No where it is mentioned that they finished the discussion in 2 hours flat.
Even if Arjuna understood everything in an instant, Sanjay still had to narrate the whole conversation to the blind King word for word.
BG was revealed by God while Arjuna probably was still waiting for instructions by the GHQ to move his Company forward and get into the actual shooting game knowing that there were thousands of warriors involved and it was not like charge of the light brigade where everyone just ran towards the opponent.

Thats true.

A siddha guru's drashti matra makes difference.

VikasRaina wrote: On second thought, Maybe Sri Krishna and Arjuna uvacha did take time. No where it is mentioned that they finished the discussion in 2 hours flat.
Here is one answer from book "Krishna: The Man and His Philosophy"

Krishna: The Man and His Philosophy
-by Osho

CHAPTER 16. ATHEISM, THEISM AND REALITY

The other question is equally significant. It takes four hours to go through the whole of the GEETA.

So it is a relevant question: how was such a lengthy dialogue possible in the midst of two inimical armies standing on the battlefield – ready to begin a decisive war like the Mahabharat? It does not seem probable How could they have suspended fighting for four long hours?

Someone must have raised the question: were they there to fight or to listen to a four-hour spiritual discourse? The question deserves consideration.

A historian, would say the dialogue of the GEETA in its original form must have been a brief one, which was elaborated in the course of time.

And if we put this question to one who is an authority on the GEETA, he will say the GEETA is an interpolation; it looks completely out of context in relation to the war of the Mahabharat. It seems the Mahabharat in its original text did have the GEETA as one of its parts, and was extended later by some ingenuous poet. It does not fit in where it is found in the Mahabharat. Certainly a war is no occasion for such a long spiritual discourse.

But I don’t accept the theory that the GEETA is an interpolation, nor do I believe it to be a later elaboration of a brief dialogue. I would like to explain it with the help of an anecdote from the life of Vivekananda.

When Vivekananda visited Germany, he was the guest of Duschen, a great scholar of Indology. He was as great an authority as Max Muller, and in many respects Duschen possessed deeper insights than Muller. He was the first western scholar who understood the UPANISHADS and the GEETA, and his translations of the UPANISHADS became well-known. It was Duschen’s translation of the UPANISHADS that thrilled Schopenhauer so much that he put the book on his head and went dancing in the streets of his town.

Schopenhauer said the UPANISHAD was not a book to be read but a song to be sung, a dance to be danced. And Schopenhauer was not an ordinary man, he was a renowned philosopher known for his very serious and sad temperament. He was a pessimist and a total stranger to things like music and dance. He believed that life is essentially painful, and happiness is just a bait to lure us into suffering.

The same person burst into a dance when he first read Duschen’s translation of the
UPANISHADS.

Vivekananda was Duschen’s guest. On a fine morning, Duschen was in his study going through a book in the German language. He had been with this book for some days and had been able to read only half of it.

Vivekananda entered Duschen’s study to say hello, and Duschen mentioned the book he was reading saying it was a great book.

When Vivekananda said he would like to have the book for an hour Vivekananda knew little of German so his host said that he would not be able to understand. Vivekananda then quipped, ”Is it guaranteed that one who knows German well will understand it?” Duschen agreed that it is not. Vivekananda added, ”Then the contrary can also be true: that one knowing less of German will understand it. However, you lend me the book.”

Duschen asked, ”How can you finish reading this book in just two days’ time that you are going to spend with me? I have been with this book for fifteen days and have hardly been able to read half of it.” His guest said with a grin, ”I am Vivekananda, not Duschen.” And Vivekananda took the book and left the study.

Vivekananda returned to Duschen’s study just after an hour, carrying the book in his hand. When Duschen enquired if he had read the book, Vivekananda said, ”I have not only read it, but understood it.” Duschen was amazed but he did not leave Vivekananda before putting him to test if he had really understood the book. He asked some searching questions from the chapters he himself had read, and he was dumb founded to see that Vivekananda had gotten it so well. He exclaimed, Vivekananda! It is incredible!

How did you work this miracle?”

His guest said with a smile, ”There are ways and ways of reading – ordinary ways as well as extraordinary ways.”

Most of us are familiar with the ordinary way of reading, and it is enough if we can read and understand even a dozen books in a lifetime. But there are different ways of reading. There are people who take a book in their hands, close their eyes and then throw them away. They are finished with their reading. This is called the psychic way of reading something.

As I understand it, Krishna does not speak to Arjuna through words; he communicates with him at the psychic level. It is such a wordless, silent communication between two persons that a third person standing close by will never know it. No other people present at Kurukshetra could hear it; otherwise a crowd would have gathered round Arjuna’s chariot. At least the Pandava brothers were sure to join them.

Even the Kauravas would not have resisted the temptation to listen to this unique dialogue. If a spoken dialogue between Krishna and Arjuna had taken place, lasting for four long hours, anything – including fighting – could have happened. But nothing of the kind occurred. No, it was an inner communion between the two, a psychic communication, It is significant that while no one present on the battlefield has any inkling of this dialogue, Sanjaya, who is far away from the battlefield, hears and relates it to Kaurava’s blind father Dhritarashtra.

Sitting in his home, Dhritarashtra anxiously asks Sanjaya, ”On the field of Kurukshetra my people and the sons of Pandu have gathered together, eager for battle. What are they doing?” They are miles from the battlefield and yet Sanjaya makes a verbatim report to Dhritarashtra. He tells him that when the two armies are arrayed and eager for fight, Arjuna feels depressed and confused and desists from fighting. And Krishna persuades him to come out of his despondency to fight as a warrior should fight. How does Sanjaya know this from such a distance?

This is a telepathic communication. Sanjaya is in telepathic contact with Kurukshetra and everything happening there. Otherwise he has no way to know and relate the goings-on at the battlefield. So first of all the dialogue happens between two persons at the psychic level and it is again at the psychic level that Sanjaya hears it and relates it in words to Dhritarashtra.

Dhritarashtra is the first person to receive the Geeta, and then the whole world receives it. That is how it found its way to the whole world and a place in the epic of the Mahabharat. Transcribed into words it now takes four hours to go through the whole text. But it is just possible the whole thing happened within four
moments. Maybe, it happened beyond time.