>> People are imperfect - ...
Is that really true? Unfortunately, this criterion is not used when Advani/ABV is concerned. Our ultra-pure birathers understand pragmatism only when their herrow is concerned. But maybe I am trying to convince someone who is biased. Theek hai. Indeed.
harbans wrote:Niku is jealous of Modi going to Ukh and flying out 15k Gujarati's, I hear from sources Nilu's planning to go and fly out 20 K Bihari's out too and take them back to Gujarat or Mumbai.
*Standard disclaimers and JMts*

Whatever, birather. I am willing to admit I'm not unbiased. Doesn't mean I cannot understand reality or try not to be objective about things. Whatever your takleef is, I'm sorry if I contributed to it. 'twas inadvertant is all I can say. My last on this sad exchange. G'bye.abhishek_sharma wrote:>> People are imperfect - ...
Of course the small detail is that SK was chucked out of BJP after 123muraliravi wrote:Saar, just wait for sanku saar to put a chanakyan spin on how kulkarni is actually helping bjp and how advani is a genius to keep him as his advisor. I hope some of the damage can be reversed by modi. Any updates on BJP-JVM alliance? Can Marandi return to BJP or have an alliance?fanne wrote:Humm guys hatts of to the person who put this article. But if anyone had cared about what I have been writing, I have cried horse on this guy here at BR for last 6-7 years. What is missing among many great stories that this guy is associated with from the above story is that - The new clere detergent was going to fail, the MPs were bribed/blackmailed. BJP tried to get a leg up and expose the bribing. A man by the name of Kulkarni headed that operation from BJP. He unexpectedly called IBN's Mr. Sardeshai's channel to record it secretly (now it is like India calling Musharaff to strategies how to save Kargil for India). As planned, IBN never showed that expose. I believe it was always planned that way. Advani problem is not that personally anything is wrong he has bad advisers. I hope the second one PA is also exposed. People in BJP who are not elected/ or are public figure, but have access to the power should be exposed.
However, why let reality get in the way of pet hates what?Kulkarni resigned from the BJP in 2009.
Any day a good conspiracy theory over some understanding of truth.

SK was chucked out in 2009 and admitted back into the BJP in 2012.
Hari ji; you agree that yo are biased, you also think that since swinging like a pendulum is a natural thing we must all participate in that exercise of going to meaningless extremes completely bereft of reason.Hari Seldon wrote:Whatever, birather. I am willing to admit I'm not unbiased. Doesn't mean I cannot understand reality or try not to be objective about things. Whatever your takleef is, I'm sorry if I contributed to it. 'twas inadvertant is all I can say. My last on this sad exchange. G'bye.abhishek_sharma wrote:>> People are imperfect - ...
But then there are people who do not wish to join the stampede though? And will point out calmly that stampeding is no avail and pointles.
Heck this thread has seen AAP types and "secularists" in congress mold fawning over Modi and telling us how he is different from BJP, every tom dick and harry has suddenly discovered Modi and how is is special compared to Sangh.
Of course the same lot was singing JHai ho to 123 and other shenanigans of the Manmohan-Maino mafia and feeling proud about it.
So yeah, expect some folks to say that the "born again" Modi cult has dal mein kala.
Last edited by Sanku on 24 Jun 2013 08:30, edited 1 time in total.
Short lived, he was chucked out again in six months.Arjun wrote:SK was chucked out in 2009 and admitted back into the BJP in 2012.
If Kulkarni quit BJP in 2009 then why is he still talking about BJP now?
I think the earlier quitting was naamke vaste and he still has ties to some groups/factions in BJP who want to use him as useless thunderbolts.
Is LKA really trying to preserve space for his progeny?
I think the earlier quitting was naamke vaste and he still has ties to some groups/factions in BJP who want to use him as useless thunderbolts.
Is LKA really trying to preserve space for his progeny?
Why not Ramana ? He clearly backstabbed BJP during 123 (along with Brajesh Mishra) clearly the interests for those he worked for, would still find his writings against BJP and Modi useful.ramana wrote:If Kulkarni quit BJP in 2009 then why is he still talking about BJP now?
It is to be noted that the noise of Advani vs Modi is coming from quarters which are most strongly congress hatchet men, Telegraph, HT, NDTV etc. Also the thing to note is that this is a fairly new development (till some time back Advani vs Gadkari was the news, or Gadkari vs Modi, or xyz vs abc)
I thought it was fairly transparent, why on earth is anyone on BRF giving any credence to it. Its bizarre.
Some gup-shup coulmns indicated that he was upset with the way he was ignored by his boss (when he was in jail for cash in parliament scam)ramana wrote:If Kulkarni quit BJP in 2009 then why is he still talking about BJP now?
Sanku- its quite simple really.Sanku wrote:Heck this thread has seen AAP types and "secularists" in congress mold fawning over Modi and telling us how he is different from BJP, every tom dick and harry has suddenly discovered Modi and how is is special compared to Sangh.
There is a regular set of diehard BJP supporters (mainly RJB type Hindutva folks). Unfortunately (for them) the RJB-type Hindutva folks are not numerically strong enough to get the BJP to win.
Both Advani and Modi expand the support-base for BJP - but in diametricaly opposite ways. Advani brings in the socialist types who are not necessarily RJB-Hindutva (Sudheendra Kulkarni, Nitish Kumar type). Modi brings in those who are business and economic growth -oriented, those who are governance-oriented, and those whose Hindutva vision is broader than RJB.
So lets not have denigration of the broader base of Modi supporters here. One way to look at Modi is to say that he is assisting the BJP go back to its Jana Sangh roots - and putting an end to the 'socialist' misadventure of the Advani-faction of BJP over the past decade or so.
>> Advani brings in the socialist types who are not necessarily RJB-Hindutva
It is somewhat ironic that Advani attracts people who are NOT RJB-supporters. I mean, who was the hero of RJB movement? (Of course, these days every Tom, Dick and Harry claims to be the BRAIN behind that rath-yatra.)
>> and putting an end to the 'socialist' misadventure of the Advani-faction of BJP
Socialist misadventure in last 10 years? What have they done in last 10 years? Was Advani ruling some country/state in last 10 years? I did not notice.
The people of this country did not vote for BJP in 2004. Therefore BJP or Advani don't have any responsibility for what happened in last 10 years.
And was the NDA govt socialist in any way? And if so, how can the home minister of that govt be held responsible for it?
It is somewhat ironic that Advani attracts people who are NOT RJB-supporters. I mean, who was the hero of RJB movement? (Of course, these days every Tom, Dick and Harry claims to be the BRAIN behind that rath-yatra.)
>> and putting an end to the 'socialist' misadventure of the Advani-faction of BJP
Socialist misadventure in last 10 years? What have they done in last 10 years? Was Advani ruling some country/state in last 10 years? I did not notice.
The people of this country did not vote for BJP in 2004. Therefore BJP or Advani don't have any responsibility for what happened in last 10 years.
And was the NDA govt socialist in any way? And if so, how can the home minister of that govt be held responsible for it?
Arjun -- I challenge the basic thesis of putting Modi as some what of a non-socialist politician, which you might not know is poison in India, and is a charge that Congress is trying hard to pin on him.Arjun wrote:Sanku- its quite simple really.Sanku wrote:Heck this thread has seen AAP types and "secularists" in congress mold fawning over Modi and telling us how he is different from BJP, every tom dick and harry has suddenly discovered Modi and how is is special compared to Sangh.
There is a regular set of diehard BJP supporters (mainly RJB type Hindutva folks). Unfortunately (for them) the RJB-type Hindutva folks are not numerically strong enough to get the BJP to win.
Both Advani and Modi expand the support-base for BJP - but in diametricaly opposite ways. Advani brings in the socialist types who are not necessarily RJB-Hindutva (Sudheendra Kulkarni, Nitish Kumar type). Modi brings in those who are business and economic growth -oriented, those who are governance-oriented, and those whose Hindutva vision is broader than RJB.
So lets not have denigration of the broader base of Modi supporters here. One way to look at Modi is to say that he is assisting the BJP go back to its Jana Sangh roots - and putting an end to the 'socialist' misadventure of the Advani-faction of BJP over the past decade or so.
Now while YOU (and I) may believe that socialism is bad, I would certainly not
1) accuse NaMo of not being ok with socialism -- he clearly follows the Sangh brand socialism -- as I pointed to before you should look at the concept of anyotdaya.
2) be any different from Advani's policies in any demonstrable way.
So sorry, I do not agree with your thesis of different economic policies between Modi and rest of BJP (forget even Advani) -- there is no real basis for it.
Secondly, I am not denigrating any one who wishes to support Modi, but those who are doing it on specious grounds, are in my view mischief mongers, and while I completely understand the big tent approach and the need to get most votes -- I also understand that some people (a lot of these days) are merely opportunists trying to make a hole in the tent from inside.
Chalo, for sanity, balance and my work's sake, am going to take sanyas from this dhaga for a while. Only.
Won't be able to keep away too long, if I know myself, though...
To quote Floyd..."G'bye, Blue sky".
Won't be able to keep away too long, if I know myself, though...

Abhishek, let me clarify my point again.
1) RJB Hindutva folks are NOT numerically strong enough to get a BJP government to power.
2) Ergo - the base needs to be expanded to other folks who are not necessarily RJB-Hindutva believers.
3) Both Advani and Modi realize this and trying to do this in different ways.
4) Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Advani. SK, Niku, Sushma Swaraj.....the common thread is 'socialism'.
5) Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Modi. It is folks interested in governance, right-wing economics, broader kind of Hindutva (both soft and hard) etc
What is my point ? My point is that it is hypocritical of Advani supporters to claim that they represent the 'pure' BJP and Modi is attracting the wrong sort. The same argument can very easily be thrown back at them.
Back to your points - yes the NDA was far more right-wing in economics than UPA-1 and 2. But there have always existed factions within the BJP - and it is fortunate that the saner elements won out while in power. Please google for where Advani was headed ideologically in the last couple of years....
1) RJB Hindutva folks are NOT numerically strong enough to get a BJP government to power.
2) Ergo - the base needs to be expanded to other folks who are not necessarily RJB-Hindutva believers.
3) Both Advani and Modi realize this and trying to do this in different ways.
4) Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Advani. SK, Niku, Sushma Swaraj.....the common thread is 'socialism'.
5) Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Modi. It is folks interested in governance, right-wing economics, broader kind of Hindutva (both soft and hard) etc
What is my point ? My point is that it is hypocritical of Advani supporters to claim that they represent the 'pure' BJP and Modi is attracting the wrong sort. The same argument can very easily be thrown back at them.
Back to your points - yes the NDA was far more right-wing in economics than UPA-1 and 2. But there have always existed factions within the BJP - and it is fortunate that the saner elements won out while in power. Please google for where Advani was headed ideologically in the last couple of years....
>> Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Advani. SK, Niku, Sushma Swaraj.....the common thread is 'socialism'.
Really? You think the common thread is "socialism"? The common thread is that they all want to be PM. Period. This debate looks like that story --"Seven blind men of Hindustan". Everyone believes whatever they want to believe.
>> But there have always existed factions within the BJP - and it is fortunate that the saner elements won out while in power.
And what makes you think that Advani was for those who lost that debate?
>> Please google for where Advani was headed ideologically in the last couple of years....
Hard to believe that he was moving towards Soviet-style collectivization. What did he say, btw?
Really? You think the common thread is "socialism"? The common thread is that they all want to be PM. Period. This debate looks like that story --"Seven blind men of Hindustan". Everyone believes whatever they want to believe.
>> But there have always existed factions within the BJP - and it is fortunate that the saner elements won out while in power.
And what makes you think that Advani was for those who lost that debate?
>> Please google for where Advani was headed ideologically in the last couple of years....
Hard to believe that he was moving towards Soviet-style collectivization. What did he say, btw?
>> My point is that it is hypocritical of Advani supporters to claim that they represent the 'pure' BJP and Modi is attracting the wrong sort. The same argument can very easily be thrown back at them.
The "pure" argument has been made by Modi supporters. So you will not need to throw "back" anything.
>> Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Modi. It is folks interested in governance, right-wing economics, broader kind of Hindutva (both soft and hard) etc
Modi attracts soft Hindutva folks too? And why is that a good thing? I have read here that ABV and Advani were guilty of burying the hard-Hindutva issues? Maybe you want to argue that Modi will bring the real stuff when he becomes the PM?
The "pure" argument has been made by Modi supporters. So you will not need to throw "back" anything.
>> Look at the kind of folks who are attracted to Modi. It is folks interested in governance, right-wing economics, broader kind of Hindutva (both soft and hard) etc
Modi attracts soft Hindutva folks too? And why is that a good thing? I have read here that ABV and Advani were guilty of burying the hard-Hindutva issues? Maybe you want to argue that Modi will bring the real stuff when he becomes the PM?
Non-socialist does not mean that one is not intent on the needs of the underprivileged and backward sections. In fact - Modi needs to repeatedly emphasize that his brand of economics works much better for the underprivileged than Niku's bikhari-nomics and Dynasty-nomics.Sanku wrote:Arjun -- I challenge the basic thesis of putting Modi as some what of a non-socialist politician, which you might not know is poison in India, and is a charge that Congress is trying hard to pin on him.
Industry and the market (Dalal Street) does differentiate between a Modi-led and non Modi-led BJP. A Modi-led BJP is percieved by the market as more focused on economic growth and better able to deliver.
My post was solely a response to Sanku's post where he casts aspersions on Modi supporters.abhishek_sharma wrote:The "pure" argument has been made by Modi supporters. So you will not need to throw "back" anything.
I am not one of those you refer to... I don't have anything at all against ABV. His NDA government was one of the best India had.Modi attracts soft Hindutva folks too? And why is that a good thing? I have read here that ABV and Advani were guilty of burying the hard-Hindutva issues? Maybe you want to argue that Modi will bring the real stuff when he becomes the PM?
As regards Advani - after his antics over the past few years, I am quite convinced he's become senile. Sad.
Nope! he quit (not chucked) unless he is lying.Sanku wrote:Short lived, he was chucked out again in six months.Arjun wrote:SK was chucked out in 2009 and admitted back into the BJP in 2012.

Samajhane waale samajh gaye, naa samjhae woh annari hain (some times just for the sake of scoring debating points). You are free to indulge in hair splitting.abhishek_sharma wrote:So Modi has some similarities with beef-eater Sonia Gandhi. They both do stuff without really believing in it.
Noted, with sadness.
Hair-splitting?
I am glad you can see flaws in your world-view. Continue making progress. You might even start making sense.

Good! be happy.abhishek_sharma wrote:Hair-splitting?![]()
Arjun it would be incorrect to say that because a Modi led BJP gets better acknowledgement from the street, it is more focused on economic growth. The reason here is more to do with the fact that Gujarat is a industrialized state, and business oriented, and a person who has been successful in Guj. would have proven credentials of working with industry and business, as well as the business would be familiar with him.Arjun wrote: Industry and the market (Dalal Street) does differentiate between a Modi-led and non Modi-led BJP. A Modi-led BJP is percieved by the market as more focused on economic growth and better able to deliver.
This is different from over all economic policy choices, basically, what I am saying is that given the same economic policy, the industry trusts Modi to do a better job in its implementation.
That is different from saying he has a different policy choice.
Its not just in implementation, but also in articulation of an economic policy focused on making Indian industry more competitive. Now that may well be Sangh policy (I have no reason to doubt that it is) - but there are no other public faces that we know of who've articulated aspects of this policy as well as Modi.Sanku wrote:basically, what I am saying is that given the same economic policy, the industry trusts Modi to do a better job in its implementation.
Why do you assume I am saying he has a different policy choice? For me the organization represents 50% and the key decision-maker the other 50%....The Sangh does have much better right wing credentials than the INC (Jana Sangh was known for its right wing economics, NDA was anyday better than UPA etc) - but that does not mean that it would never be subverted by Sudhindra Kulkarni type inflitrators. At the end of the day, an organization is just as good as its key decision makers.That is different from saying he has a different policy choice.
There are others like Jaitley, Yashwant Sinha (which may be a surprise to many here) who I think well off - but definitely not of Advani.
Let us face it - The entriched interests in India are difficult to dislodge. ABV is part of it. He never tried to remove them. People like Modi can not even become PM easily as they are not part of Delhi circute. The task of such rank outsider is huge. In the meanwhile he/she will be attacked by all and sundry and in every possible manner. Just one example - Scene from India Today TV - In Israt jahangir case - Old muslim mother searching for justice and immidiately NaMo waiving his hand. What kind of deep messages are being sending on NaMo by people who are not frinds of INC. The establishment will try to hunt and destroy NaMo if the same is possible.
Money bags from Mumbai are now forced to support NaMo as of now. INC will lose in 2014 for sure, but if NaMo will be PM is not so easy.
Did Namo actually claimed he rescued 15000 people from Uttarakhand?
My take is that after Rajiv, Indira and JLN he is the only leader to have nationwide acceptability. That's what scares people. Strong center with almost near majority for only one guy at the helm is what everyone is opposing.
This is the disruptive idea which everyone in current system is shocked by including establishment figures in BJP. Even if Modi doesn't become the PM this time, he would have successfully cast the dye.
Winds of anti establishment revolt are blowing all over the world, from Turkey to Brazil. Only we here are lucky enough to have a candidate with credentials to actually sail in them. Even Rahul Gandhi now tries to pose as anti establishment rank outsider. And he is. But the problem is his lack of connect.
Over the years people in Delhi have convinced themselves that they represent the best possible solution and fraternity to rule India. They feel anything else is fraught with danger. They may be correct. But I think Indians collectively are tired of the Delhi Sultanate all over again and they may be willing to take a chance now.
I can see changes in attitudes of people within my own office. The news of Namo rescuing 15K people is right now getting discussed thread bare as we have lunch.
My take is that after Rajiv, Indira and JLN he is the only leader to have nationwide acceptability. That's what scares people. Strong center with almost near majority for only one guy at the helm is what everyone is opposing.
This is the disruptive idea which everyone in current system is shocked by including establishment figures in BJP. Even if Modi doesn't become the PM this time, he would have successfully cast the dye.
Winds of anti establishment revolt are blowing all over the world, from Turkey to Brazil. Only we here are lucky enough to have a candidate with credentials to actually sail in them. Even Rahul Gandhi now tries to pose as anti establishment rank outsider. And he is. But the problem is his lack of connect.
Over the years people in Delhi have convinced themselves that they represent the best possible solution and fraternity to rule India. They feel anything else is fraught with danger. They may be correct. But I think Indians collectively are tired of the Delhi Sultanate all over again and they may be willing to take a chance now.
I can see changes in attitudes of people within my own office. The news of Namo rescuing 15K people is right now getting discussed thread bare as we have lunch.
No. No such communication from his side.rkirankr wrote:Did Namo actually claimed he rescued 15000 people from Uttarakhand?
^ Ok but did he claim it that way?
Good post, Sri. But I do have extreme difficulty with your calling a 5th generation dynast as an 'anti establishment rank outsider'. RG is pretty much the embodiment of the establishment and sycophantic feudalism in India.Sri wrote: Even Rahul Gandhi now tries to pose as anti establishment rank outsider. And he is.
No. That's why I said in an earlier post that the story is a plant.rkirankr wrote:^ Ok but did he claim it that way?
A plant that has subsequently used by people like MT and AM.
Flip side is even though NM hasn't validated or denied the story, many people believe it to be true. Clever strategy, I would think.
My personal belief is that the Gujarat Gov organized a well coordinated repatriation effort where they brought back all Gujaratis out of UK, AFTER they were evacuated by our other selfless heroes- the Indian Armed Forces.
+1Arjun wrote:Good post, Sri. But I do have extreme difficulty with your calling a 5th generation dynast as an 'anti establishment rank outsider'. RG is pretty much the embodiment of the establishment and sycophantic feudalism in India.Sri wrote: Even Rahul Gandhi now tries to pose as anti establishment rank outsider. And he is.
Gujarat govt has shown it is very good at disaster management'
Even a secular like Vicky Nanjappa is saying NaMo supervised evacuation of 15K people, so it must be true. Since NaMo is a gross-root leader and he even good at pulse and psyche of the nation and even good at micro-managing things to give a macro result.“The first thing the Gujarat government did was to appoint a relief commissioner, Poonam Singh Pandey. They then decided to use the BJP network in Uttarakhand and reached out to each unit seeking help. They sent in four officers in the ranks of IAS and IPS to oversee the work and assist the relief commissioner. Each of these officers who were sent in was originally from Uttarakhand but was working in the Gujarat cadre. This was done to ensure that there was no problem where the locations or the language was concerned. They were able to converse and move around with ease since they were familiar with the place and this helped a lot in the rescue operation,” Baluni noted.
“This team spread across the state. Their phone numbers were shared with BJP workers in the state who were told that the numbers should be shared with the pilgrims who could get in touch with the relief commissioner directly. This made it very easy to communicate, as a result of which the rescue operation was successful. Along with planes, the government of Gujarat also sent in 100 buses to rescue the pilgrims. All the workers were told that the pilgrims who were caught up should be provided food and water until the rescue team reaches there,” he said.
To me articulation would be part of implementation, as opposed to the ideological/policy framework.Arjun wrote:Its not just in implementation, but also in articulation of an economic policy focused on making Indian industry more competitive.Sanku wrote:basically, what I am saying is that given the same economic policy, the industry trusts Modi to do a better job in its implementation.
In which case, it is only a misunderstanding born of communication issues between us on this point. All is well.Why do you assume I am saying he has a different policy choice? FThat is different from saying he has a different policy choice.
Well YS, and Jaitely are supposed to be Advani "camp" if you believe the popular view on this thread. I dont think they are Advani camp, but certainly they have in the past derived their authority from support of Advani and ABV (being limited as mass leaders themselves) -- my point is, although there are different views within the Sangh, in the overall picture the collective will is seen, not even a full Swadesi person would be able to push a Swadesi agenda and he will have to follow the overall consensus agenda within the Sangh, and even a out and out free market captialist of extereme right will push through such a agenda.There are others like Jaitley, Yashwant Sinha (which may be a surprise to many here) who I think well off - but definitely not of Advani.
Jaswant Singh was supposedly very "Swantrara party" type right wing person, but his policies, were mostly continuation of YS's policies, who was distinctly more socialist (and hence preferred by RSS as swadesi patron) but who followed not so swadesi policies.
So collective has a far more tempering influence on a personality, much as we would like to think otherwise.
NaMo organized transport for people who had trekked upto the point vehicular traffic was possible
and yes it was around 15k people, note that on the 3rd evening press conference honorable CM janab
was gloating about 22k people rescued, that figure included the numbers by NaMo transport. then later on
lot of red faces were found running around the corridor of CM affice.
and yes it was around 15k people, note that on the 3rd evening press conference honorable CM janab
was gloating about 22k people rescued, that figure included the numbers by NaMo transport. then later on
lot of red faces were found running around the corridor of CM affice.
rajithn and rkirankr, I think it is true. Check below link.
Uttarakhand: Sonia Gandhi flags off relief mission after Narendra Modi's 'rescue' act
In Uttarakhand's massive tragedy and the Herculean rescue efforts now on, politics too has found a role. Narendra Modi's visit to the flood-ravaged hill state and alleged evacuation of 15,000 Gujaratis on the weekend has sparked a slanging match between his BJP and the Congress, which is now organising some visible relief programmes of its own.
Congress president Sonia Gandhi this morning flagged off 24 trucks carrying relief material to Uttarakhand from the party's Delhi headquarters. On stage with her were senior ministers and Congress number 2, Rahul Gandhi, who has now reached Uttarakhand to asses the situation.
Mr Gandhi was abroad last week when the massive floods hit Uttarakhand and today's flag-off was his first public appearance since then. A fact that the BJP has highlighted. Meenakshi Lekhi said, "Rahul Gandhi is needed and he is in a foreign country..."
Ms Lekhi was countering the Congress for slamming Mr Modi after media reports said that the Chief Minister of Gujarat had visited Uttarakhand with a team of officials and flew out the next day having ensured the evacuation of 15,000 people from his state.
Arjun Ji,Arjun wrote: Good post, Sri. But I do have extreme difficulty with your calling a 5th generation dynast as an 'anti establishment rank outsider'. RG is pretty much the embodiment of the establishment and sycophantic feudalism in India.
I disagree with you here. His claim to the throne is because of establishment. But he has himself had nothing to do with the establishment ever. He has kept himself far enough (by strategy?) from the current cabal that his followers do see him as someone from outside looking in.
Just like NM followers. NM has officially been part of the establishment. Years as CM and before that General Secretary of BJP. But still his ideas show him in different light and even though he says he will make the current machinery of governance work much better, we feel his idea is new.
Irony is RG a product of dynasty talks of changing the system for it to work better but NM part of the establishment talks of making use of current system better.
Thank you. The veracity of the news only makes me prouder.jagga wrote:rajithn and rkirankr, I think it is true. Check below link.
Uttarakhand: Sonia Gandhi flags off relief mission after Narendra Modi's 'rescue' actIn Uttarakhand's massive tragedy and the Herculean rescue efforts now on, politics too has found a role. Narendra Modi's visit to the flood-ravaged hill state and alleged evacuation of 15,000 Gujaratis on the weekend has sparked a slanging match between his BJP and the Congress, which is now organising some visible relief programmes of its own.
Congress president Sonia Gandhi this morning flagged off 24 trucks carrying relief material to Uttarakhand from the party's Delhi headquarters. On stage with her were senior ministers and Congress number 2, Rahul Gandhi, who has now reached Uttarakhand to asses the situation.
Mr Gandhi was abroad last week when the massive floods hit Uttarakhand and today's flag-off was his first public appearance since then. A fact that the BJP has highlighted. Meenakshi Lekhi said, "Rahul Gandhi is needed and he is in a foreign country..."
Ms Lekhi was countering the Congress for slamming Mr Modi after media reports said that the Chief Minister of Gujarat had visited Uttarakhand with a team of officials and flew out the next day having ensured the evacuation of 15,000 people from his state.