What is your source for this "fact" as you say ???NRao wrote:The fact that they have pretty much shut down the AMCA program and moved most, if not everyone, to the LCA MK-I certification effort shows where their newly formed focus is - so that topic should be laid to rest.
LCA News and Discussions
Re: LCA News and Discussions
Sorry, thought this was common knowledge. No?Sagar G wrote:What is your source for this "fact" as you say ???NRao wrote:The fact that they have pretty much shut down the AMCA program and moved most, if not everyone, to the LCA MK-I certification effort shows where their newly formed focus is - so that topic should be laid to rest.
April 21, 2013 :: Tejas grounds Medium Combat Aircraft project
Is this considered DDM?
And the Russian source on the previous page.
OMG "TAAAAAP Defence Ministry Source", yup it's absolutely legitThe reason for the sudden decision to send the AMCA project—which began in right earnest in 2006 as the Medium Combat Aircraft (MCA) development in 2006—to cold storage is to help ADA to focus all its energies to first work on completing the much-delayed LCA project. “The AMCA has been put on hold for the moment. This decision was taken recently to let the ADA focus on the LCA project,” top Defence Ministry sources told The Sunday Standard. The AMCA project, for which the IAF provided the final Air Staff Qualitative Requirements (ASQR) in April 2010, may be taken up at a later date, sources said. But that will still be far away in the future.

You also said that "shut down the AMCA program moved most, if not everyone, to the LCA MK-I certification effort". Which "TAAAAP Defence Ministry Source" confirmed this ???
I apologise for my lack of knowledge regarding this matter since I certainly don't have any "TAAAAP Defence Ministry Source".
Probing the article further there is....
andThe much-touted Tejas has taken 30 years already, at an escalated project cost of Rs 5,489 crore. Since the LCA project was sanctioned in 1983 at a cost of Rs 560 crore, the time overrun has resulted in a 10-fold increase in the project cost. The plane is yet to get even its Initial Operational Clearance (IOC) so that the IAF could take the plane for a spin. But sources pointed out that the LCA still lacks certain critical capabilities, including a reliable radar, and is deficient in at least 100 technical parameters. “The plane cannot fly on its own. It needs a lifeline in the form of support and monitoring of its systems from the ground by technicians,” they TAAAAAP Defence Ministry Source of course said.
Deja Vu anyone ??? This crap was printed before and IIRC was discussed here and in AMCA thread where it was shown factually that this allegation was wrong and motivated. But of course who can question "TAAAAAP Defence Ministry Source".The LCA, in fact, gave creditable flying displays during the AeroIndia show in Yelahanka in Bangalore in February this year, and followed it up with weapons firing to hit both ground and aerial targets during the Iron Fist fire power display by the IAF in the Rajasthan’s Pokhran ranges, again in February this year. “The common man thinks the plane is doing fine, its engine sounds great and the manoeuvres are perfect. But those flying and weapons firing displays are done with ground monitoring and support. The plane is still not ready to flying on its own,” sources stressed. Their guess is the LCA may not meet its schedule of obtaining the IOC before July this year and it could take till December this year or early next year before it is ready. To give an example of LCA’s troubles, the sources noted that LCA was grounded for three months between September and December 2012 following problems with its landing gear. “Normally, a combat plane is ready for its next sortie following a 30-minute attention from ground service personnel soon after it has returned from a mission. In the case of LCA, after a single sortie of about an hour or so, it needs three days of servicing before it can go for its next sortie,” they said.
This sounds like an argument for the LCA project to go on for another 3 decades merely to satisfy academic interests instead of fulfilling the practical goals and the reasons why the Indian tax payers have sunk so much time and money into the LCA program - the need for a reliable fighter aircraft to bolster the security of India today.NRao wrote: I think, seriously, that the IAF should accept a rolling IOC/FOC (something they have done when it comes to foreign efforts - MKI in particular). IF the MoD + IAF (and others) are going to insist on a hard date for IOC/FOC, the LCA (and perhaps even the AMCA) are doomed to fail. Sadly something we seem to be witnessing WRT the Arjun. Heck even the likes of Toyota have recalls with years of experience under their belt.
Any pedantic indulgences should not come at the cost of national security needs. Every day the LCA project is delayed from achieving the FOC is another day an Indian pilot is forced to risk his life with a Mig-21 costing the Indian Taxpayer tremendous money on training new pilots apart from the real cost in lives and livelihoods.
If close to 2200 test flights haven't been enough then they need to be more aggressive with their testing regimen because the LCA project is a real world urgent requirement that the IAF is counting on - there no choices but to set firm deadlines and as the ones bankrolling the LCA program, the GoI has every right to set firm deadlines and metrics for the scientists to meet and force them to do so, otherwise it would be negligent on their part to not demand timely results as the custodians of our national security and our tax money.
Unlike a Toyota, the Indian Air Force pilot when given the call has no choice but to get into his Mig-21 because there is nothing better or safer available. The LCA is urgently needed and it is proper that the Politicians have made this goal a priority as it ought to have been from the very start. No project or enterprise anywhere is allowed to go on indefinitely without delivering results.
Well put Brando.It is only in the last few years that the GOI has realised the importance of the LCA project,as the financial implications of acquiring MIG-21 replacements in the hundreds stare at the govt. in the face.With the callous mismanagement of the economy leading to rampant inflation,declining industrial output,corporate India investing abroad-thanks to babudom and corruption,the rupee in free-fall,I seriously wonder whether the GOI actually has the money to actually buy from abroad even where decisions have been made.Petrol prices have been hiked 4 times in a month(!) and the GOI's best brains (ha!ha!) of Dr.Singh,PC and Mntek,are clueless as to how to stem the rot.As a wise old owl tells me repeatedly,the election will be won by the side that "knows its onions".
One supposes that the babus and PSU honchos expect the armed forces to maintain their falling-apart fleets of aircraft and helos with red tape and string,just as they do with their files!
what is hidden is the status of testing... we only know numbers, and way too abstract data to even discuss anything. we can only go by schedule out in public, and perhaps certain features displayed. what is important for all schedule slips, is to RTI the fact, (not tech details), where are they in terms of meeting the schedule. weekly updates from now, with time to delivery and target reachable or not, and how they are slipping.
will some ears clean up now, and pay attention to public cry? team lca - please show progress for aam eyes.
+1 to Brando . doing a Phd/MS r&d thesis project is way different from a commercial product. many of us have done both and all realize the much higher level of testing and "last 10%" effort needed to make it robust, well documented, customer centric etc. not too many product cos are successful because its a hard thing to do. HAL via Tejas and Dhruv is making the transition from a licensed assembler and maintainer to a OEM which has to figure out everything itself with no imported manuals or "consultants" to help. obviously its painful but there is no ther way fwd.
the idea of keeping the Mig-21s flying until 2020 is scary. their engines are the same R-25 and nothing has changed in last few yrs to indicate it is any easier to get their spare parts. I dont now how flying hrs are being kept up or whether some risky regimes have been deleted from Mig-21 flying. there is a quiet blackout on how our Mig21 bison fleet is faring, uptimes etc.
lesson is that a story is done, only when it is operationalized and user capabilities enhanced.
SaiK wrote:lesson is that a story is done, only when it is operationalized and user capabilities enhanced.
Very, very true. Just that for the MK-I it will happen when it happens. I would expect it would be far smaller cycle for the MK-II and even smaller for the AMCA. I just wish the FGFA had gone through a greater design change than it has to date - allowing Indians to actually experience the testing phase from a lot more experienced Russians.
I just do not think one can take any shortcuts for testing and the posts we see of the number of test flights per version, is really of no use. It does not tell us what was tested and were they successful. Just that that number of flights occurred. Establishing a baseline for a rookie nation is going to take a long time. But it is a necessary step.
Anyways ............................
Check out the website guys, they have got extra large pictures , nice for wallpapers
freakin awesome !! these pics made my morning ! 

Brilliant pics! Even with underwing stores the LCA is going to be a very small bird and difficult to pick up.I wonder what the RCS of the LCA is in this configuration.
night shot is great. looks like they are using those yellow tapes as "stress gauge" thing ...?
Some chaiwala news on NP1. They are planning to have the next flight of it on the 29th.
of July ? if true, then tumhaare mooh mae ghee shakkar !
I think I just heard an LCA fly overhead..

Great pics.
Is there any significance to the black & white square blocks on the launch rail?
Does it indicate the number of times its been used?
Is there any significance to the black & white square blocks on the launch rail?
Does it indicate the number of times its been used?
the black and white squares are used for camera alignment for filming stores release tests
Check the forth picture...first time seeing those on her
Kartik, can you drop a line at jois(number thirteen)at google mail. needed to write you for a friend in bengaluru.Kartik wrote:I think I just heard an LCA fly overhead..
I am sure you would have seen it before.krishnan wrote:Check the forth picture...first time seeing those on her
From weapons trials

From 2012 detachment

From 2013 calendar

Indranil,there was some debate about the shape of the aux. scoop a long time ago,as to why it was horizontal and not in a vertical config. as we see on other aircraft.Is it because there is no space left for such an alignment ,the fuselage being packed with eqpt.Has there been any official answer for such ?
sorry pragnya whats the email id again?pragnya wrote:Kartik, can you drop a line at jois(number thirteen)at google mail. needed to write you for a friend in bengaluru.Kartik wrote:I think I just heard an LCA fly overhead..
- Location: Doing Nijikaran, Udharikaran and Baazarikaran to Commies and Assorted Leftists
Look closely at the differences between the LSP-3/5 and LSP-7. You can see aerodynamic differences. Apart from the inlet on the spine, in the tail, there is an extension so that the wing-tail fairing ends smoothly at the end rather than an abrupt termination at the LSP-3/5. Also, a small pinching of the fuselage on the flanks in the rear in the LSP-7 ? I am not sure .
Probably the nose has change as well, dunno, cant make out.
Philip sir,Philip wrote:Indranil,there was some debate about the shape of the aux. scoop a long time ago,as to why it was horizontal and not in a vertical config. as we see on other aircraft.Is it because there is no space left for such an alignment ,the fuselage being packed with eqpt.Has there been any official answer for such ?
Kartik and I were having that discussion after the article by Prof. Prodyut Das. The vertical and the horizontal arrangements have nothing to do with space. Then they found out that they needed to decrease the drag. In very layman's terms, anything which is blunt creates more drag. So they smoothened APU intake and just had a slit in this smoothened hump. At that time, the slit looked quite small to in comparison to the previous intake size. Actually, I was expecting a NACA airduct(I had made a comment on the same as well and Raghuk had replied that it was just a slit). But I assumed that ADA must have done the calculations well. But, looks like they did not.
I don't know about the pinching of the fuselage. I don't see the change. But the other changes were there from the time LSP-7 was rolled out. In fact they have discussing and publishing these changes for some time now. Kartik and I thought that it would be part of Mk2 (as the paper also spoke about the fuselage plug). But we were pleasantly surprised to see the changes in LSP7 itself. I am quite sure you will be seeing redesigned pylons as well sometime soon. I would be jumping, if I see the MLG doors being used at airbrakes (they have done some studies).vina wrote:Look closely at the differences between the LSP-3/5 and LSP-7. You can see aerodynamic differences. Apart from the inlet on the spine, in the tail, there is an extension so that the wing-tail fairing ends smoothly at the end rather than an abrupt termination at the LSP-3/5. Also, a small pinching of the fuselage on the flanks in the rear in the LSP-7 ? I am not sure .
Kartik. Yes it is July unless they find something else which needs a fix.Kartik wrote:of July ? if true, then tumhaare mooh mae ghee shakkar !
[email protected]Kartik wrote:sorry pragnya whats the email id again?
where are the lsp-8s? i don't get to see pics and videos at all. 

Saik-ji you are missing something, those are such a beautiful pictures, 

- BRFite -Trainee
Regarding aerodynamic changes planned for LCA: http://drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/dss/2009/main/2-CEMILAC.pdf
In case not posted earlier
why bring in old articles without specifying what you are intending to bring out to topic?
what is the new study on the table?
There's a few useful snippets in here:SanthoshS wrote:Regarding aerodynamic changes planned for LCA: http://drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/dss/2009/main/2-CEMILAC.pdf
3.3 Sustained Turn Rate Improvement using Levcon
Leading Edge Controller (Levcon) is an secondary
control surface located at the leading edge of the wing
and the fuselage. The Levcon is initially planned in LCA
Navy for the low landing speed capability and other cruise
performance. An important requirement of a fighter aircraft
is the Sustained Turn Rate (STR). The fighter variant of
Tejas is not meeting the STR requirement of ASR. The STR
is a strong function of the aerodynamic efficiency. From
the wind tunnel results it was found that the Levcon produce
higher L/D (Fig. 17). A detailed study to implement Levcon
in fighter and identification of other design constraints is
under progress.
That article is from 2009.titash wrote:There's a few useful snippets in here:SanthoshS wrote:Regarding aerodynamic changes planned for LCA: http://drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/dss/2009/main/2-CEMILAC.pdf
would not the wing tip design better benefit the sustained turn rate than levcons?
That does not make sense at all.SaiK wrote:would not the wing tip design better benefit the sustained turn rate than levcons?
i was thinking the pointier the tip, better is the turn rate because it would aid the stall in tight turns. i could be wrong or perhaps it might lose speed.
Tip shape for better speed and lower noise is a very helicopter specific area Saik sahaab IMHO. But even there its kind of very minor but significant enough to be worth the effort.
Cheers!
Cheers!