AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections

Re: AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections

Lets also talk of Jai Andhra movement. Yes result was PVNR got out of CM post and went to Centre.
I am not sure of the details as I was a student in REC then. The campus clsoed down and we got holidays.

It was not the Telugus who removed those districts but the national leaders in Delhi. Aurangabad, Osmanabd went to Maharastra and Bellary went to Mysore and Ganjam to Orissa. People who lived in Hyd still were there. Growing up my best friends were from Kannada, Marathi and Hindi speaking kids. So waht are you blaming me for?
So where did I sing any songs!

And as for PVNR we know his family very intimately.

so will it be possible for Telangana and Andhra to cooperate and coexist without conflict?

I don't want to see a situation where both sides will keep voting in opposite parties as some kind of sick vengeance.

but as long as there exist regional parties confined to either state alone, that threat will remain. national parties will have the fear that they cannot piss off either side too much for fear of completely getting routed in that state. I hope eventually that's how Telangana and Andhra politics will evolve.

My family contacts with Telangana people started in 1915 way before there was any gleam of any state for Telugus in India!

TDP will be on both sides.

BJP also hopes to be on both sides.

INC will be on both sides once KCR merges. Already his minons are jumping ship.

YSRC's T section bailed out.

Commies are on both sides!

Meanwhile is this guy saying the right things? Its from Tehelka.
Some folks I know are saying that INC jumped into the ditch. Vinasha kale ....

Is COngress prepared for what comes after Telangana?

Parkala Prabhakar

The party is probably unwittingly trading off an uncertain and small win for a certain and bigger loss

In a deft move, the Congress Party has declared that it is in favour of constituting a Telangana state. Apparently, the leader of the ruling coalition expects to outmanoeuvre the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and other political formations and win a good number of seats from the region. Perhaps the Congress strategists have decided that this was the only way of arresting the steep decline the party is likely to suffer in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

The hype that was created around the decision-making process and the announcement by the Congress were all intended to generate as much political mileage as possible for the party. It is almost dressed as though a new state is born; that the Congress has ‘given’ a new state. But in fact, what happened was only a political party unable to make up its mind for years finally stating its position, one way or the other, on the issue. The only difference between the Congress decision and the decisions of other political parties is that now it is the leader of the ruling coalition. In fact, the 9 December 2009 statement by the then Home Minister who claimed that he spoke ‘on behalf of the Government of India’ is much more significant than what the Congress Working Committee said on 30 July 2013.

There has been a vigorous debate in civil society on the desirability or otherwise of dividing Andhra Pradesh. There is a body of argument that favours division which puts forth economic, political, historical, language and culture reasons. And there is a robust rebuttal of the separatist arguments and claims by those who champion unity and oppose bifurcation of the state. This debate threw up a range of issues. It interrogated the present model of governance, the model of development pursued in the state and the country, the consequences of refusing to decentralize political decision-making power, regional disparities that are real and imagined, jobless growth that some of the economic policies engendered, issues of land use- both urban and rural, and not the least, the elites using raw emotions based on caste, sub-region, religion in their pursuit of political power and to buttress their electoral chances.

However, the Congress (as well as other political formations) strangely refuses to engage in this discourse. Instead it looked at the whole issue merely as an occasion for electoral betting: how many seats can be won if bifurcation is favoured and how many seats can be gained if bifurcation is rejected. This was the cold realpolitik that seems to have informed the Congress decision. And the Congress strategists may be in for an unpleasant surprise this time.

They perhaps calculated that they will be able to win a substantial number of seats from the region by announcing that their party is in favour of division. But the pie of 17 seats is going to be a tough battle turf with TRS, BJP and TDP trying to show themselves as equally committed to the cause. This leaves the Congress as only one among several claimants and may make the outcome uncertain and the gains small. But what the Congress strategists will have to contend with is a certain rout in the much bigger pie of 25 seats in the coastal and Rayalaseema regions. On balance, the Congress is probably unwittingly trading off an uncertain and small win for a certain and bigger loss. The party’s desperation to clutch to any straw to see it through the 2014 hustings might really boomerang on it.

There is also a larger question that the Congress has to answer for itself. The grand old party which played a major role in shaping India since the Republic’s infancy will have to explain why it chose to depart from the linguistic state, which is the defining principle of the architecture of the country’s polity. Gandhiji wrote way back in 1930 to Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan endorsing the linguistic framework of reorganizing independent India. Nehru presided over the redrawing of the political map of the country. Indira Gandhi refused to depart from the linguistic framework and rode the storms in 1969 and 1972 in Andhra Pradesh itself. The Congress Working Committee as recently as 2011 ‘unanimously’ resolved to go for another States Reorganization Commission to look into several demands for new states across the country. Has the Congress prepared itself consciously to depart from this position and jettison linguistic states? Is it prepared to deal with at least a score of other demands for carving out states? Is it ready to allow pervasive clamour from all over the country, which may not always be peaceful, to consume the country’s political energies for drawing and redrawing state boundaries?

Parakala Prabhakar is a political commentator and Managing Director of RightFOLIO, a Hyderabad based Market Research and Brand Consulting firm

What I know is MG and other stalwarts came up with the idea of lingustic idenity in order to create a quick identity as the idea of India in those days was which India as the commies stlll wonder.

Doesn't Paritala Prabhakar run a show or something on TV? No idea which channel but did see a few of the discussions on kotta Andhra Pradeshu (kAPu - red flag to some here on BRF :twisted:) and telangANa split after PC's announcement. There was one person - who self-identified himself as an "intellectual" had a call-in program where an OU alumna living in US was ranting about how "all of us in US" should be coming back now that T people are asking everybody to go back to "Andhra" region. It was a "battle of the superstars of Jaywalking". The same "intellectual" was in another panel where there were all these ministers, MPs, and MLA - Vivekananda Reddy, Avula Sambashiva Rao, Harish Rao, Kondanda Ram , Kavita, etc. The "intellectual" and the "something or other" Action Comiittee student leader from OU Arts College - an young woman - had to beg to speak and were given a couple of minutes to air their views.

Only those who get down and dirty and start wrestling in the mud will be the ones to take a country forward, hopefully on a pluralistic and democratic ("secular" or not is irrelevant) path - rest would be peddling pedantic unworkable theories in the hope of buying officer commissions in the army and lead from the back.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 01 Aug 2013 06:13, edited 1 time in total.

ramana wrote:Lets also talk of Jai Andhra movement. Yes result was PVNR got out of CM post and went to Centre.
I am not sure of the details as I was a student in REC then. The campus clsoed down and we got holidays.
if you were a student in 1971, then you were even younger and a school student before. a teenager. and before that, a young child.

did that stop you from learning, knowing, and talking/explaining of the events of those times?

I give up to your intellect. If you want to tell me some thing do so or else ignore me. Stop following me.

In high school I was in Hyderabad at the thick of the agitation in Nizam college.

In college it was in Warangal where REC is located. Jai Andhra was in Vijayawada etc whcih if you look at the map is a bit far away from Warangal!!!!

Looks like I made a mistake thinking you want to talk.

so what is the long-term proposition for TDP then? at what point will Andhra and Telangana be "secure" enough to drop the regional party representation and go for a national party. INC is already there, so there kitty is always represented. but there is no national force that can balance out INC's machinations in the region. so how long will the tango of "Telugu vari atma gauravam" continue? when is there enough atma gauravam to hopefully start thinking of perhaps bharatiya atma gauravam?

p.s.: above is not a response to immediately preceding post.
Last edited by devesh on 01 Aug 2013 06:16, edited 1 time in total.

ramana wrote:I give up to your intellect. If you want to tell me some thing do so or else ignore me. Stop following me.

In high school I was in Hyderabad at the thick of the agitation in Nizam college.

In college it was in Warangal where REC is located. Jai Andhra was in Vijayawada etc whcih if you look at the map is a bit far away from Warangal!!!!

Looks like I made a mistake thinking you want to talk.

ok, looks like frustration is taking hold. you are the one who justified your non-chalant skipping of certain important issues by saying, "I was a student." so, the natural question is if "studentship" is a hindrance to knowing of a major agitation/movement in the State, then similar hurdles must be present for previous occasions also, no?

but that's ok. we can stay away from each other.

Good for you. I was being honest and you want to attribute motives to me!
That all right many have done that in the past and will do so in the future.

Wow! Talk about saffron on saffron.

Devesh garu - Cool andi.... No need to be Parasurama.

RamaY wrote:Wow! Talk about saffron on saffron.

Devesh garu - Cool andi.... No need to be Parasurama.
no point rehashing the unpleasantness. it's all about "non-Telugus fostering it, and gullible Telanganites 'falling' for it", as far as ramana ji is concerned. all else gets swept under "haven for Telugus". when questioned why the architects of this "haven" foisted their own "separation" movement as soon as there was even a hint that a Telangana leader could potentially hurt their land-owning/feudal interests, I am told that my "intellect" is haywire.

well, I began with "no point", and ended up doing it anyway... :-?

devesh, you, a telanagANite, start spouting words like "shapaTham" you would cause a little bit of cognitive dissonance in "seema" and Vina AvarE's conception of the world. Let us start on a path where there are less not more letters in the language. I propose "sabadam", "ardham" etc.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 01 Aug 2013 06:38, edited 1 time in total.

matrimc wrote:
ShyamSP wrote: Many relatively well-off non-T folks have option to "buy" the security service. Poor non-T will have
to use their own muscle to survive.
You are making Hyderabad and T out to be some kind of wild west. They are neither more nor less prone to violence as everybody else in India.
Let me assert that what I wrote was first hand information from one area in Hyderabad. It could be that T violence was drama and was done by a few goondas but they need to show they are nice over next many years.

those words I "spouted" were a sarcastic jest to ShyamSP's "kaurava" comment. you should read his "spouting" too. they were sarcastic comments. and neither of us has continued that beyond those 2 posts.

ShaymSP garu, you took the name of Kaleshwaram. What do you know about the place? Have you visited the trivENi sangamam? I can understand the angst of loss in investment, but then risk in investment (especially real estate and especially in erstwhile AP) is par for the course.

devesh wrote:those words I "spouted" were a sarcastic jest to ShyamSP's "kaurava" comment. you should read his "spouting" too. they were sarcastic comments. and neither of us has continued that beyond those 2 posts.
devesh garu, you are not getting the irony, please think through.

Devesh garu...

Now that t-state is formed, you should start being extra nice to Andhras. For some unexplainable reason we love to be united with Telangana even though there is a reason for Telangana unhappiness.

It is not graceful to beat a wounded heart.

VenkataS wrote: Hyderabad has the highest (and best quality) number of educational institutions in the state including IIT, IIIT, ISB, Center for English and Foreign languages, University of Hyderabad, JNTU, OSMANIA which is a huge advantage in attracting future industrial investments. The new AP will have none of these advantages.
The rest of Telangana got a raw deal in educational institutions. The only other university is Kakatiya University which does not even have an Engineering College. IIT (may be IIIT, ISB and many other institutions) are central govt. funded. That means, students all over India have an equal right.
Last edited by hanumadu on 01 Aug 2013 07:07, edited 1 time in total.

devesh wrote:Since then, it's been a downhill slide. at no point did Naidu show even the slightest indication of introspection and clear-headed assessment of why TDP lost. this might sound like an empty statement now, but I was an ardent supporter of that party in 2004, and the totally bottomless fall they suffered was as inexplicable to me as the BJP's own fall in that election. he has blamed BJP, Advani, RSS, Modi, and everybody else that there is to blame.
+1. It is CBN's own ego (adequately massaged as a poster boy of WB) that has led to this downfall. Once defeated in 2009, he should have slowly paved way for somebody from NTR's family to take over (yes I am advocating a dynastic takeover here to project the aspirations of Telugus). Unless BJP emerges as a counterpoint to Congress in AP (seema-andhra now), this charade of liliputian regional parties boxing above their weight will continue.

Regarding BJP, during the rule of TDP, they purposely kept BJP weak. Now is the time for BJP to build its own strength. In the end, strength respects strength.

On the split, I had many things to say (till I lost connection due to MySql error)., now just will say this:

For Telanganites (singing in Telugu) : "Maa Telangana Telugu Thalli ki Malle-pu danda ..."
For SeemaAndhra (singing in Telugu) : "Maa SeemaAndhra Telugu Thalli ki Malle-pu danda ..."

SeemaAndhra anger should be turned rightly against Congress. Here is a reason why: http://www.indianexpress.com/news/sonia ... s/1149596/.

And here - she says, for all the emotional, cultural, socio-economic issues - just keep quiet - (or in Telugu - noru muuvu) - http://www.dnaindia.com/india/1868301/r ... ss-leaders

hanumadu wrote:The only other university is Kakatiya University which does not even have an Engineering College.
Is KITS a private college?

disha wrote: - just keep quiet - (or in Telugu - noru muuvu) -
Sir, are you paraphrasing (correct ITRANS would be nOru muyyi) or she literally said that?

matrimc wrote:
hanumadu wrote:The only other university is Kakatiya University which does not even have an Engineering College.
Is KITS a private college?
yessir, KITS is a private engineering college. There is no university engineering college.

matrimc wrote:
ramana wrote:NTR showed the way but failed due to other factors.
He had many weaknesses - ego, caste related nepotism and dynastic tendencies. CBN broke the dynastic streak (after a coup in the family) which was brought back by YSR, I suppose. Putra (sometimes putri) moham has always been Indian polity's Bête noire.
Since the same can be applied to JLN, IG, RG and SG., to look at things objectively - he did spark back and won on the plank of "Telugu Atma-gauravam". One can fault him for his putra-moh, but whose fault is it that TDP has not been able to gain back that lost glory?

matrimc wrote:
disha wrote: - just keep quiet - (or in Telugu - noru muuvu) -
Sir, are you paraphrasing (correct ITRANS would be nOru muyyi) or she literally said that?
I am para-phrasing. She did not literally say that - but why is she curtailing free speech? The reason people are quite is that they are shell shocked.

In this political rigmarole, Telugus have been used as doormat.

ramana wrote:Vina just for the record why are you so :lol: at Andhra Pradesh being split. You have been vehment about this since Dec 2009. You can have your views by why the extra glee? How did your family get affected from that? Would like to know the angst for it looks like its deep seated.

Fom what I know of you are Tamil origin from Kerala and settled in B'Lore after graduating from elite institutions in India and US.
So how and why are you bothered about far away Andhra Pradesh?

BTW you have caused a lot of grief to many members (not all Telugu) about this item.

You can choose to answer here or in OT thread.
I simply haven't been able to understand what exactly this entire R&D (Rhona & Dhona) on the part of Seemandhra folks to Telangana is all about. The bulk of the stuff seems to be about Hyderabad. Well, if you are living in HYD, no one is going to kick you out, deprive you of your basic fundamental rights or any sort of rights, it is a non event really. If you are from Vijaywada and want to do business in Hyd, you can do it just as earlier, if you want to buy and sell property, yes, same as earlier, just like you would do it in any other place, like say Madras or Bangalore.

Come on guys , come out of it. This entire thing is a non event and I really don't see anyreason for any R&D here at all, other than some mirth and merriment.

As for this "new capital" business, I simply fail to understand the need for a giant metro for the Mantris and Baboons to be around to make a nuisance of themselves. I repeat, create an Albany or Sacramento equivalent and build a few high rises and one secretariat and on assembly building and kick those critters out to that backwater.

Coastal Andhra is richly endowed with land, water and a brilliant entrepreneurial people (but please do something about the business ethics while you are at it). It can and will become an economic and cultural powerhouse.

In this Telengana and Seemandhra split, I actually see win win, the Telengana folks get what they want and are happy and the Seemandhra folks (okay they will still have to carry arid Rayalseema ,but that is the perfect place for intensive industrialization) and can create a great future.

This R&D really makes me go :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

The only guys who would seriously do serious R&D are the guys who have salted away large amounts of black money in HYD, are into some serious illegal stuff, all the real estate sharks and scoundrels (horror stories of an apartment /land parcel in Hyd getting sold to multiple folks abound), the kind of stuff that can survive only with political cover and control of the political apparatus, which now will be lost in Hyd. In anycase, I think it is only good if that kind of business model is wiped out for good for everyone.
Last edited by vina on 01 Aug 2013 07:42, edited 1 time in total.

On Putra-vyamoh. Look at this bloody bugger. While every one was agitated in the days before annoucement, he was working with Producer of his son's movie and attending movie events. He is one of the characters that contributed to the division also. He leveraged his fame to come to politics to loot only. Politics is pure money business for him.

http://greatandhra.com/viewnews.php?id= ... 15&scat=16
...Apparently, sources say Chiru knew before hand that the Telangana announcement is going to happen. This is the key reason why he told Dil Raju to postpone ‘Yevadu’ to a safer date...

matrimc wrote: He had many weaknesses - ego, caste related nepotism and dynastic tendencies. CBN broke the dynastic streak (after a coup in the family) which was brought back by YSR, I suppose. Putra (sometimes putri) moham has always been Indian polity's Bête noire.
How is CBN taking over TDP not dynastic politics? It was still all in the family. CBN was always the successor of NTR. NTR's sons were not really active in politics. After he became the CM, he started sidelining the other family members - his co brother and his brothers-in-law. He did back track and asked for their help after he lost. His son is married to Balakrishna's daughter, perhaps more of a political marriage.

vina wrote: I simply haven't been able to understand what exactly this entire R&D (Rhona & Dhona) on the part of Seemandhra folks to Telangana is all about. The bulk of the stuff seems to be about Hyderabad. Well, if you are living in HYD, no one is going to kick you out, deprive you of your basic fundamental rights or any sort of rights, it is a non event really. If you are from Vijaywada and want to do business in Hyd, you can do it just as earlier, if you want to buy and sell property, yes, same as earlier, just like you would do it in any other place, like say Madras or Bangalore.
You have not stayed in Hyd'bad or Vijaywada or Guntur or Kurnool or Ongole or all of the above - my favourite is Cuddapah for all wrong reasons. Have you? If you have spent some time there - you would not have stated any of the above.
Come on guys , come out of it. This entire thing is a non event and I really don't see anyreason for any R&D here at all, other than some mirth and merriment.
Tell that to hundereds of people who have committed suicide.
As for this "new capital" business, I simply fail to understand the need for a giant metro for the Mantris and Baboons to be around to make a nuisance of themselves. I repeat, create an Albany or Sacramento equivalent and build a few high rises and one secretariat and on assembly building and kick those critters out to that backwater.
That is what Gujaratis did in Gandhinagar.
The only guys who would seriously do serious R&D are the guys who have salted away large amounts of black money in HYD, are into some serious illegal stuff, all the real estate sharks and scoundrels (horror stories of an apartment /land parcel in Hyd getting sold to multiple folks abound), the kind of stuff that can survive only with political cover and control of the political apparatus, which now will be lost in Hyd. In anycase, I think it is only good if that kind of business model is wiped out for good for everyone.
Do you know the legality behind the "land parcel in Hyd getting sold to multiple folks"?

matrimc wrote:Doesn't Paritala Prabhakar run a show or something on TV....
I think he is husband of Nirmala Seetaraman -BJP's spokesperson.

To me among all the CMs NTR seems to be least efficient. But most of the Telangana folks for some reason likes him better than CBN. Again this is not based on any development statistics. Other than dramabaazi what is his achievement? Regarding other NTR family members being not part of CBN is who are those others? Harikrishna - other that wine and women what are his credentials? Even if CBN gives everything to Harikrishna, can he even be capable of revival in one district? Balakrishna - another Rahul G type duffer and is just capable of few movies here and there. There is no real good descendent in the family. The family is bought up on the wealth and laurels of NTR and that is it. CBN and Dagguapti are rivals not after CBN became CM and they are always at loggerheads even before TDP was formed. His wife went to congress and what are her great achievements. They are not capable to lead even 100 people. Forget about organizing a cadre based party to the level of CBN. All I can say is CBN is an Abhimanyu destined to lose in a checkmate.

Loss of Telangana's faith in Coastal folks has nothing to do with Telugu pride or some other nonsense. There was never faith first of all and it was always with apprehensions only. They did not like the cut throat capitalism based entrepreneurship of the other side. Even before they got some breathing space after the Nizam's brutality and for every percent of their growth they have to compete with a 10% grown monster of the other side. By the time they came from thousand to lakhs, the other side folks are roaming with crores. By the time these guys grew to crores they are throwing 100s of crores. As an example, in the recent panchayat elections where each village is not more than 6000 to 7000 voters, the candidates spent 10 lacs to 20 lacs. Even in T the spending level reached 5 lacs.

I don't belong to agrarian community and we have marital relations with both coastal and T regions for generations. I have glimpse of truth & false from both sides.

Except for 1983 election of NTR, there is really no Telugu pride based unity. The life in AP is always materialistic and the level of materialism of coastal folks is something that does not fit into T region. Then the question is why are these two regions clubbed into one state? The folks who did that (T folks may not agree) are real nationalists of India and they visualized a revival of centuries old identities to all Indians. Andhra/Telugu identity is what they tried to revive to get India into strong foundations. They tried to get the country out of western, Arabic and British based artificially created states such as Madras, Bombay and Mysore. They tried to rescue from the British created and endorsed by brown sahebs/capitalist parties such as Justice party. This bloody justice party was rampant even in Vijayawada/Guntur and that was the reason for T.Prakasam to set up tents in Kurnool and call it as capital before Hyderabad was merged.

For Vina types and other Indians this may look like foolish because until you are part of it you will never get it. But we are brought up on stories from our late grand fathers who used to take visas in Vijayawada ( there is something called Nizam gate even now in Vijayawada) to visit relatives in Nizam. Operation Polo armed forces were fed by the villagers in Nandigama and other such border areas to launch on the Nizam. Good that most of them died but they will not appreciate this divison by another white woman (with whom they fought in those days).

It is not an economic loss. There will be two monstrous economies. It is the loss of political clout and a detour to a revivalism of a core entity envisioned by founding fathers of the nation. Life will not have any change and we will again fight puntikoora zindabad, gongura go back :)

anyone know what is going to happen to the 2 dams on godavari... ..ichampalli and Polavaram... ..at one stage polavaram was to be 1,000 TMC dam, our own 3 gorges.... it would be devastating if all the wrangling meant they could not be built.
------------------------------------------------

kakinada folks are some of the hardest working and smart folks i know. They will do just fine. rayalseema folks should form a triumvirate w/ bengluru/chennai... ...establish kurnool as the state capital and develop the city on the krishna... ...3 powerful cities, would be time to plot world domination....

devesh wrote: no point rehashing the unpleasantness. it's all about "non-Telugus fostering it, and gullible Telanganites 'falling' for it", as far as ramana ji is concerned. all else gets swept under "haven for Telugus". when questioned why the architects of this "haven" foisted their own "separation" movement as soon as there was even a hint that a Telangana leader could potentially hurt their land-owning/feudal interests, I am told that my "intellect" is haywire.

well, I began with "no point", and ended up doing it anyway... :-?
We discussed this before. This land reforms are non-starters anywhere in the world. The places where they had some success such as W.Bengal are disasters in economic growth. For somethings we criticize left and for somethings we try to fall into that trap. The more free capital was allowed, the more growth we have seen. Whether it is US or Europe or India, in a free economy there will all be some disadvantages who cannot get on the same track. Unfortunate but reality.

Again, T folks always think land reforms would has stopped the costal ones from sell an acre in W.G to buy 10 acres in Nizamabad. But land reforms would have been decimated by Reddys and Velamas of T. It will be unfair to call coastal capitalists always as some villians. In the end all this economic rhetorical blame actually aligns perfectly with what Naxals preach day to day.

Whatever it is, I am still unhappy with this 10 yr common capital. I see it as something fishy for a future trouble. They can put some tents in wherever they want with temporary lavatories and start a capital. AP need a new capital asap and leave HYD for T. 10 year stuff is fishy.

mupalla, you would definitely need an interim place before the shift happens.. and we all know, how planning to implementation happens in desh. now, i would like to hear your alternative plan.

Muppalla wrote:To me among all the CMs NTR seems to be least efficient. But most of the Telangana folks for some reason likes him better than CBN. Again this is not based on any development statistics. Other than dramabaazi what is his achievement? Regarding other NTR family members being not part of CBN is who are those others? Harikrishna - other that wine and women what are his credentials? Even if CBN gives everything to Harikrishna, can he even be capable of revival in one district? Balakrishna - another Rahul G type duffer and is just capable of few movies here and there. There is no real good descendent in the family. The family is bought up on the wealth and laurels of NTR and that is it. CBN and Dagguapti are rivals not after CBN became CM and they are always at loggerheads even before TDP was formed. His wife went to congress and what are her great achievements. They are not capable to lead even 100 people. Forget about organizing a cadre based party to the level of CBN. All I can say is CBN is an Abhimanyu destined to lose in a checkmate.
Agree, NTR's sons were duffers, but they did not have any pretensions of leading TDP either. At most they wanted their own sphere of infleunce. Naidu denied them even that but later had to reconcile. Like others stated here before, he wanted to be every thing himself. Daggubati might have been a rival to CBN, but no body had any doubt who the heir apparent was. Can you imagine NTR's daughter being in Congress?

NTR was a super star. First time around he won on account of that. Second time, congress screwed up. There were three CMs in the 5 years before TDP came to power the next time. And then Lakshmi Parvathi happened :). Rest is history.

SaiK wrote:mupalla, you would definitely need an interim place before the shift happens.. and we all know, how planning to implementation happens in desh. now, i would like to hear your alternative plan.
I don't know how much you have visited AP. It will be less than few months to temporarily start Assembly session in Vijayawada or Vizag. The city corporation building as good as AP assembly building in HYD. If there is a will there is a way. Okay granted take two years in a state that claims to have computerized a lot. 10 years is fishy stuff.

Mupalla wrote:capitalist parties such as Justice party
Most of the Justice Party Luminaries were Telugu! Thyagaraja Chetty , Raja of Panagal, Munisamy Naidu, Raja of Bobbili, and of course EV Ramaswamy (who was Kannadiga!) .

They were the guys who founded the "Non Brahmin" movement in the then Madras state, the progeny of which are the *MK parties of today, which added a layer of "Tamil" Chauvinism on top (a significant % of population in even deep south like Rajapalayam, etc and a whole bunch of castes like Chettys and Goldsmiths and Reddis are telugu speaking in TN, but they are classified as Tamil and the Telugu spoken in TN and that of Andhra is quite different though probably mutually intelligible) . When my dad was a kid growing up in Madras, and went to school (Hindu High School, Triplicane), the teacher used to write one line in Tamil and the next in Tamil!

So when Andhra went separate, it is unfortunate that you guys couldn't take back the poisonous anti brahminism that the Justice Party types injected into the polity here, which turned further toxic with an aggressive exclusivist Tamil movement.

Mupalla wrote:capitalist parties such as Justice party
Most of the Justice Party Luminaries were Telugu! Thyagaraja Chetty , Raja of Panagal, Munisamy Naidu, Raja of Bobbili, and of course EV Ramaswamy (who was Kannadiga!) .

They were the guys who founded the "Non Brahmin" movement in the then Madras state, the progeny of which are the *MK parties of today, which added a layer of "Tamil" Chauvinism on top (a significant % of population in even deep south like Rajapalayam, etc and a whole bunch of castes like Chettys and Goldsmiths and Reddis are telugu speaking in TN, but they are classified as Tamil and the Telugu spoken in TN and that of Andhra is quite different though probably mutually intelligible) . When my dad was a kid growing up in Madras, and went to school (Hindu High School, Triplicane), the teacher used to write one line in Tamil and the next in Tamil!

So when Andhra went separate, it is unfortunate that you guys couldn't take back the poisonous anti brahminism that the Justice Party types injected into the polity here, which turned further toxic with an aggressive exclusivist Tamil movement.
Now we understand Tamilians' angst :D

vina, not just telugu... ..half of them were brahmin themselves, of one type or another... ...the other half were maratha.... ..yes, tamil self respect & all... :-) these are the remanants of the vijaynagara folk who fled to TN many centuries ago... ..lots of kanada speakers in there too...
Last edited by Theo_Fidel on 01 Aug 2013 09:52, edited 1 time in total.

vina wrote: So when Andhra went separate, it is unfortunate that you guys couldn't take back the poisonous anti brahminism that the Justice Party types injected into the polity here, which turned further toxic with an aggressive exclusivist Tamil movement.
You are right and rightly Telugus did not bring the junk :). That was my reference too. Telugus not only left it in TN but defeated it after the split in the formation. The virulent anti-brahminism of Jutice party started in TN (may be the water has it :) ) has tentacles in Vijayawada and Guntur. T.Prakasam fought it as first CM. The whole point of denying Vijayawada as capital and putting tents in Kurnool was that. In addition, Telangana merger was a boon because it is mixture of multiple cultures and no single ism can dominate. That balance that protected the AP from falling into junk will go away but now it is a modern era and hence different problems. He was the first to start government based supply chain system that actually removed a lot of middlemen between farmer and consumer. This was the reason for him to be booted out.