Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

BhairavP

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Post by BhairavP »

Singha wrote:have sammy tablets been rooted by the xda forum tribe? would make a great pure android product given the high hw specs.
WIP.
forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=44123665

Raja Bose wrote:
Singha wrote:I am just waiting for the 625, 725 and 825 to appear in a couple months with 4.5-5.2" screens to select my sidearm and throw my samsung in the bin.
....and so another turd from Sammy hits the trash bin :rotfl: tsk tsk....what will Mortu tau think :lol:

People here who think Sammy is so successful today becoz it is doing something revolutionary and magical which has never been done before, have probably never studied the history of this industry. History repeats itself. You can be successful for a while despite dishing out turds but that doesn't buy you customer loyalty or stickiness. And it doesn't matter if you design your own SoCs or cardboard packaging - all those are secondary when yellow stuff hits the fan. GB learned that the hard way, perhaps Sammy is next. Simple lesson history teaches us: $hit don't stick but it sure stinks.

No.

I have never understood why you criticize Samsung so much. Why are they inferior, to say, HTC or someone else?

Suppose I counter by saying that smartphones are like soap these days, and you just need to distribute them better, features need to be okay, but distribution top notch (like Sammy) ?

^^Except smartphones are not soap. They are still very personal devices for the user. What goes inside them may be commodity soap but the parts which come in contact with the user cannot be treated as soap ingredients unless you want your soap to feel and smell like pig lard :mrgreen:

Like I said those observations I made are not empirical...the same $hit has happened before in our industry and will happen again....its kalyug onlee.

Mort Walker wrote:Pyaare,

True. But if you're Sammy, then you're already making a Galaxy of refrigerators, dishwashers, microwave ovens, ovens, cooktops, vacuums, washing machines, dryers, TVs, stereos, cameras, PCs, laptops, and tablets. :P That really is unprecedented and the only parallel in history I see is GE.
Tau ji, GB at one point used to make everything from tyres, to TVs to PCs. So do all those dodgy chipanda companies like Haier...big deal :P As usual you are confusing the question of Sammy being able to maintain its current success in mobile devices with its ability to survive by jumping onto something else like tractors and sprockets. 2 totally different questions, mere tau. Kabhi soch ke dekhna. :mrgreen:

^^^I dunno. IMHO, Sammy Electronics today is a bigger CE than anyone else was in their heyday. Let us agree to disagree, and if not, I will default and say you are right. Chalo.

In the mean time, do you know if the Lumia 1020 is pentaband for HSPA+ capability?

^^Arrey tau, there is no disagreement. We are just talking about 2 different things.

Yes 1020 is pentaband iirc.

a gallery of pics claiming to be the new cheaper iphone 5C
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Apple-iP ... d46144#20-

but this "cheap" iphone will apparently be $490 !! which means it will be DOA in developing markets and make no dent in android mid range market share.

I am planning to get this munnaphone or its bigger 72x brother if KB deposits my annual bonus on time this year
http://www.nokia.com/global/products/phone/lumia625/

I am getting irritated by this iphone-wa-4-wala that keeps repeatedly going into enlarged mode. only shutdown helps, but getting the shutdown means, I have to somehow get the red right arrow to accept.. and it traverses 2 1/2 screens by width.. crap.

Mort Walker wrote:Don't be surprised Sammy starts cranking out Galaxy WPs should it gather steam.
Then they will face the same problem with GB that GB would face with Sammy if it goes with Android. Like I said nothing special going on. :mrgreen:

rajaji,

jara black swan nassim taleb 101 padhiyega....

predicting future by looking at past is not good.

^^^Actually go and read The Life of Reason, where it says "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it". You learn lessons from history and don't repeat the same mistakes. Ussi mein akalmandi hai. There is no magical pixie dust which makes things happen in the real world, reality is harsh and tangible.

Raja Bose wrote: Yes 1020 is pentaband iirc.
That is good to know. Still trying to get one.

mort, i would like the past repeat.. like the youthful days, etc.

^^^Sorry, I don't understand SaiK speak. I'm just a duffer.

Who is better Takloo of Mickey or Bawarchi of Appil?

apologies mort, that was in response to rbullah.. inadvertant mort name came in that.. dang, your name is getting stronger and stronger.

from historical mistakes, you want to avoid them for the future, but from pleasent experiences, one would want the past to repeat quite as often as possible.

KJoishy wrote:Who is better Takloo of Mickey or Bawarchi of Appil?
No, no, keep the nicknames consistent. Takla is Bezos. Ballmer is Uncle Fester.

Kaffir! Takla is CEO of Amazon not Mickey. :P After Billu Dada left Mickey under Uncle Fester didn't crash and burn and has grown its revenues and profits consistently without missing a beat. In fact Mickey has managed to do something which it could never really do under Billu Dada, which is break into new product categories and businesses. Under Bawarchi, we will have to wait and see how FruitCo does coz till now he has been cruising on the Mahdi's momentum. Typically for a very successful company, it takes ~3 years before momentum runs out and one can see results from such changes. Till then its hard to credit Bawarchi for anything.

Uncle Fester is straight and Bawarchi is a fudge packer. Not that I am judging. Although I like AAPL products s/w+h/w better.

^^Better than Sammy :eek:

^^^I like JK Shin too for mobile devices. I use them all. Phone: Sammy, Tablet: iPad, Laptop: Lenovo Stink Pad Ultrabook, Home Desktop: iMac, Work Desktop: Dell Linux Workstation.

Mort Walker wrote:^^^I like JK Shin too for mobile devices. I use them all. Phone: Sammy, Tablet: iPad, Laptop: Lenovo Stink Pad Ultrabook, Home Desktop: iMac, Work Desktop: Dell Linux Workstation.
Looks like Indian Air Force inventory with every arms manufacturing country getting a chunk of the pie. :mrgreen:

Mort Walker wrote:^^^I like JK Shin too for mobile devices. I use them all. Phone: Sammy, Tablet: iPad, Laptop: Lenovo Stink Pad Ultrabook, Home Desktop: iMac, Work Desktop: Dell Linux Workstation.
No Notion Ink Adam?! :mrgreen:

^^^I thought about the Notion Ink for a while, but it was too little too late for me. That list is what is in my pocket and bag right now; as there are other IT devices I'm using along with cameras and stereos (something that was big in the 1960s all the way through the 1990s for all EEs as a matter of pride and the last stereo component I spent at least $2K on was a couple of years ago). I am the embodiment of a fool and his money are soon parted, and until then I await the Lumia 1020.

BTW, browsing BRF using the Kindle Paper White experimental browser makes for a shitty UX.

^^^browsing on eink display?? No wonder its shitty UX.

saw this on gizmodo:
Don't look now, but Lenovo just became an industry bellwether. While reporting strong first quarter results that include a record $8.8 billion in revenue and $170 million in profit, the tech giant revealed that its combined smartphone and tablet sales have overtaken those of its PCs. Yes, you read that correctly -- the world's largest PC vendor is now a mobile-first company, unlike previous title holders such as HP. It's not hard to explain the shift, however. About 42 percent of Lenovo's total sales come from its native China, where the company's predominantly Android-based phones and tablets fare very well. The firm's Windows PCs and tablets are also performing above industry averages, but CEO Yang Yuanqing makes it clear that Lenovo is quickly becoming a "PC Plus" brand -- IdeaPads and ThinkPads are just parts of a larger puzzle.

Ah sorry guys, am new here.. Uncle Fester seems perfect hahahaha!

pandyan wrote:Mort - Laptop: Lenovo Stink Pad Ultrabook

why do you call it stink pad? which model are you using?
It's a joke. I'm using an Thinkpad X1 Carbon Ultrabook i7 with 8 GB RAM and 64-bit Win 7. It's still slower than my 2 yr old MBP for web browsing and Office.

^^^But slightly faster than my 2 yr old 11.6" MBA on the same applications. That I sold and no longer have. The 16:9 aspect ratio on that small of a screen is a pain to be useful.

pandyan wrote:KJo - are you sending some secret feedback to yahoo? there seems to be lot of activity on the home page
Marissa motorma is focussed on design. The Yahoo weather app for android is beautifully designed.

^^^I always found the Accuweather app to be the best in visual design. Marissa Motorham needs to do more than put lipstick on pigs....some Yahoo fellas who run in the morning were going :(( :(( about the hard a$$ workload now :mrgreen:

Anujan wrote:Marissa motorma is focussed on design. The Yahoo weather app for android is beautifully designed.
It is a beautiful app, but for the rest of us east of the Rockies, we need something a little more informative for severe weather that contains a NOAA weather radio alert.

Raja Bose wrote:WP ka kya hai....woh Mickey ka stake in the ground hai in mobile. Just like ChromeOS is for Chacha. Anyhow finally J00T00b war ended today with Mickey releasing a J00T00b Windows Phone app which Chacha approves of.
I think you spoke too soon sir.
Google blocks Windows Phone Youtube App again

Wife's Sony Xperia Mini Pro went kaput and had to look around for a new phone.

Finally, after much looking around, bought the LUMIA 520...checked lot of phones in sub-20K category and frankly, the whole segment is filled with phones without much differentiation. Sammy in its usual carpet-bombing approach has some devices with large screen and dual core processors and 1GB RAM...others have similar devices in 15K-20K range but more 'normal' sized screens. Sony has the best camera IMO in this category along with a really sharp display.

Putting the point of me being a NOKIA loyal customer aside, I think their phones 520-620-720 are really very good products. The 520 is the best phone out there IMO in sub-15K category. It costed us INR 9,800/-. While 620 is priced around 4K higher, the only differentiation is the pixel density. From my interactions with NOKIA store staff, I was able to gather that 520 and 720 are their best selling models. IMO, the salability of a product can be gauged by observing how well the product holds a price point in today's hyper competitive market. And 720 has managed to hold the price pretty well. 520 started at INR 10.5K and is at INR 9.8K.

620 sales are not great because IMO, there is no differentiation here from 520. 625 with much bigger screen and better specs should be able to address that. Same goes for 820...price has come down pretty rapidly from launch price to less INR 24K. Here again, 825 may be able to help.

Was talking to friend who works with a big Telecom operator in India...as per him, while no where comparable to Android devices, NOKIA seems to have done really well with WP8 phones...as compared to the nadir they had hit.

625 is already release in some markets and expected to retail in india Sept end. its only drawback could be 512mb ram...some games may need 1gb ram these days.

725 and 825 might come towards end of the year.

I am not planning any gaming or office/excel use unlike my wife who does both. so either of these 3 new models would work for me - music, maps, mails, web browser and photos would be my main activity. for that I need atleast a 4.3" screen and more hires the better.

samsung could do with some pruning of their product line and higher specs. just dumping stuff with odds and ends on the teeming mass of pandaphones makes them look like pandas themselves.

What do the jingos think about the Ubuntu edge?
Has anyone contributed?
manish

Post by manish »

Here it comes...Nokia to launch Windows RT tablet in September, alleged pictures leak
Rumoured to run off a Snapdragon 800 SoC on a 10.1" display.

ArmenT wrote:
Raja Bose wrote:WP ka kya hai....woh Mickey ka stake in the ground hai in mobile. Just like ChromeOS is for Chacha. Anyhow finally J00T00b war ended today with Mickey releasing a J00T00b Windows Phone app which Chacha approves of.
I think you spoke too soon sir.
Google blocks Windows Phone Youtube App again
....and the war continues. :lol: If this really blows up it will form a precedence for anti trust cases on services as opposed to siloed software products.

How is this anti trust? Anti trust applies only if you use your monopoly in one area to acquire monopoly in another.

1. Does YouTube have monopoly in video?
2. Does not having YouTube on WP favor android given that it exists for iOS too?

That way M$ can also be sued for antitrust for not having office on android or fruitco for not having icloud or iTunes for android and iOS.

Given that that should work out something soon for YouTube on WP.

QCOM is really killing it in the SoC business. Nvidia has only itself to blame....refusing to reduce footprint of its Tegra, not to mention optimizing power consumption. Sammy is its own major customer for SoCs....dunno if any other major player is seriously considering Exynos? :-?