Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

The Sammy mega is actually a step back, but that is Sammy for you.

Pyaare,

Nokia Lumia 1520 paathar ki tara bhaari rehega. :P Jab Dili ke Nizammudin station peh chaarhenga, tho coolie Rs. 200 charge karega Nokia utaahne ke liya. :mrgreen:
Aur jab koi mujhe burre najar se dehke ga, tho Nokia ko haanth meh leka mooh thod jawab dengea! :rotfl:

Singha wrote:mahdi with his vast experience bedding women got that one right. only tall meaty women can love anything more than 4" ... and I dont mean that
Yes, you do. :D :D :D

Mort tau, itna dhobi ghaat mein kasrat karne ka kya fayeda agar ek chotta phone nahin utha sakte? To bibi ko kaise uthaogay?? :P

Aur zara Lumia 1020 to utha ke dekho....woh kaafi halka hai, kyon ki wireless charging integrated nahin hai.

^^^They way I understand inductive charging. It adds little weight, but the resistive heating it causes a device is not good. You can add inductive charging to any recent Sammy for under $50. :P

Dhobi ghaat mein utaahne ka kaam nahi hai, chaalane ka hai. :rotfl:

Raja Bose wrote:
Hey, look at this phone, I say to my girlfriend. That's not a phone. That's a tablet, she says. Exactly.
Actually when I showed my GHQ, my Lumia 928 clocking in at a measly 4.5", she handed it back to me and said "Here, take your TV back". :oops: :oops:
Payaare,

Galti kiya aap ne. Lumia 928 se GHQ ki flattering photo lena tha, fir dhekatha aap. Ek aur WP ka kaasht-meh-maar miljatha aap ko. :P

Singha wrote:mahdi with his vast experience bedding women got that one right. only tall meaty women can love anything more than 4" ... and I dont mean that
For some reason, Mahdi, like Clinton, b@nged unattractive women. They both could have gotten the best. Mrs Mahdi is just about okay, maybe the best among his catches.

The really hot women can be like Sammy Galaxy devices - shiny bling outside, crappy UX :)

is sammy s5 going to be bendable screens?

^^^Maybe. But until then take a look at the Note III to be introduced on Sept. 4th.

i note a color difference and some tiny geometric shape & numerical difference. that is all!

^^^and larger screen. The rest of it remains to be seen, and if it is like the SGS4, then expect it to actually be slightly smaller than its predecessor. I was very happy with the Note II.

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Maybe. But until then take a look at the Note III to be introduced on Sept. 4th.

ZOMG!!!! Innovation!!!! :eek: :mrgreen:

Mort Walker wrote:Lumia 928 se GHQ ki flattering photo lena tha, fir dhekatha aap. Ek aur WP ka kaasht-meh-maar miljatha aap ko. :P
Accha hai aap ne suna nahin usne Samsung Galaxy S4 ke baare mein kya kaha....."Cheap piece of $hit". :rotfl:

Inductive charging adds quite a bit of weight to the phone especially when integrated in the housing vs a separate detachable cover. That is why the Lumia 1020 feels so much lighter than the 920 despite having a huge lens, a bunch of more mechanical parts and a larger housing.

^^^Are you sure? How much more weight as the Qi standard should specify the field strength? The Lumia 1020 wireless charging shell is very light, where the plastic is most of the weight.

Raja Bose wrote: ZOMG!!!! Innovation!!!! :eek: :mrgreen:
It actually will be as Sammy incrementally has been improving their flagships at a steady pace on all aspects of their devices. Sammy will be crying :(( all right. Crying all the way to the bank with 10s of millions sold in a couple of months. :P

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Are you sure? How much more weight as the Qi standard should specify the field strength? The Lumia 1020 wireless charging shell is very light, where the plastic is most of the weight.
I don't think the weight is specified by Qi....when you integrate the inductive electronics into the phone itself, you have to take care of extra shielding etc. which adds weight, leads to other sensitive components getting moved around. In comparison the charging shell doesn't have those issues as its external. The weight difference is significant.
Raja Bose wrote: ZOMG!!!! Innovation!!!! :eek: :mrgreen:
It actually will be as Sammy incrementally has been improving their flagships at a steady pace on all aspects of their devices. Sammy will be crying :(( all right. Crying all the way to the bank with 10s of millions sold in a couple of months. :P
Read history, tau, read history.... :P

^^^What I meant is that the Qi standard would specify an inductive or magnetic field strength in teslas or A/m. With that the shielding could possibly be achieved by placing the inductive coil against the inside of the back case and behind the battery. The Nexus 4 and Nexus 7 2013 are Qi compatible. The Nexus 7 2013 is more than an ounce lighter than 2012, though it has a slightly smaller battery.

Singha wrote:I found the perfect new phone for RB

http://www.gizmodo.in/gadgets/Samsung-G ... 150223.cms
That has "colossal failure" written all over it. But then, what do I know? I thought the Note was ridiculous..

Mort Walker wrote:^^^What I meant is that the Qi standard would specify an inductive or magnetic field strength in teslas or A/m. With that the shielding could possibly be achieved by placing the inductive coil against the inside of the back case and behind the battery. The Nexus 4 and Nexus 7 2013 are Qi compatible. The Nexus 7 2013 is more than an ounce lighter than 2012, though it has a slightly smaller battery.
^^^It really depends on the phone chassis...it may not always be possible.

the galaxy mega 6.3 is actually the cousin of a 5.8 model. both are on sale in india for some time. nobody is buying these two losers...people who wanted big went for Note. the 5.8 is available for 22900.

they have made the bezels very narrow on the Note3. not sure if that will make it even more difficult to use as a camera without accidentally touching the screen.

Indian consumers love phablets, IDC says

NEW DELHI: The latest numbers for Indian smartphone market are out. And, they show a steep growth in the phablet category in the country. According to market research firm IDC, the number of smartphones shipped in India has grown by over 200% in the last one year. It said 9.3 million smartphones were shipped in Q2, 2013, compared to 3.5 million in Q2, 2012.
The growth was particularly significant in the phablet (the phones with large screens) category. IDC said the number of smartphones that have a screen size between 5 inches and 7 inches grew by 17 times in the last one year. The phablets constituted 30% of all smartphones shipped in Q2, 2013.
Compared to Q1, 2013, the number of smartphones shipped in India registered a 50% growth in the second quarter of this year, IDC said in a statement. "As the largest feature phone market in Asia Pacific region and second largest for smartphones, India recorded a 21% growth YoY and a modest 4% growth quarter over quarter for total mobile phones," said an IDC spokesperson.

"The growth in the India smartphone market is driven by consistent performance by local vendors, who accounted for more than half of the total smartphone market in Q2, 2013. These vendors have been scaling up operations, owing to rising migration of the user base from feature phones to smartphones," said Manasi Yadav, senior market analyst with IDC India.

Samsung leads the list of biggest smartphone vendors in India with a market share of 26%. Micromax is second with 22% share, while Karbonn is third with 13% share. Nokia and Sony each have 5% market share, while other companies account for 29% of smartphones shipped in India.

"Samsung maintained its leadership spot in Q2, 2013, with the newly launched Samsung Galaxy Star bringing in huge volumes at the low end," noted IDC. Phablets, a term used by the technology journalists to describe the large-screen phones that started appearing after Samsung launched Galaxy Note, was recently added to online dictionary maintained by Oxford University Press.

Singha wrote:the galaxy mega 6.3 is actually the cousin of a 5.8 model. both are on sale in india for some time. nobody is buying these two losers...people who wanted big went for Note. the 5.8 is available for 22900.

they have made the bezels very narrow on the Note3. not sure if that will make it even more difficult to use as a camera without accidentally touching the screen.
To make the mega 6.3 work well would require removing the Samsung bloat ware and TouchWiz UI. It may be a very nice phone if you were running pure Android on it. Just like all of Sammy's other phones. That said, the Galaxy S4 Google Play Edition without doubt is the best Android phone on the market. If you have a regular GSM version of the S4, rooting it and installing the AOSP Android 4.3 ROM is very easy since Samsung is very easy to mod for the casual user. Mind you, that less than 0.5% of all users will do this though.

Er nothing can fix the issue of wvga or similar on screens of such immense size. The note has a much better screen for its size i think. Same issue with their quattro and grand, screens appear pixelated.

Samsungs flagship lines note and s get the best hw...the rest struggle with android plus touchwiz weight.

tiger has a good refurb i7 asus laptop for $599. it does not say what gen of proc it is though.. wonder should i miss this deal?

pain points
1. refurb
2. 5400 rpm hdd
3. cpu specs not clear

rest is peachy!

Singha wrote:the galaxy mega 6.3 is actually the cousin of a 5.8 model. both are on sale in india for some time. nobody is buying these two losers...people who wanted big went for Note. the 5.8 is available for 22900.

To make the mega 6.3 work well would require removing the Samsung bloat ware and TouchWiz UI. It may be a very nice phone if you were running pure Android on it. Just like all of Sammy's other phones. That said, the Galaxy S4 Google Play Edition without doubt is the best Android phone on the market. If you have a regular GSM version of the S4, rooting it and installing the AOSP Android 4.3 ROM is very easy since Samsung is very easy to mod for the casual user. Mind you, that less than 0.5% of all users will do this though.
:rotfl: That is like saying Mayawati can win Miss Universe without a problem. All she needs to do is lose all her bloat, shed the flab, get her face changed thru extensive plastic surgery, get a tummy tuck, get her breasts changed and butt tucked.....thats it! Simple onlee! :lol:

Consumers after paying hundreds of bucks want devices which have good UX out of the box. They don't appreciate having to perform plastic surgery after purchase. Apparently lessons from The Mahdi still fall in deaf ears....despite FruitCo wiping the floor with the competition.

^^^False analogy. The use of any modern mobile computing device is one of compromises.

SaiK wrote:tiger has a good refurb i7 asus laptop for $599. it does not say what gen of proc it is though.. wonder should i miss this deal?

pain points
1. refurb
2. 5400 rpm hdd
3. cpu specs not clear

rest is peachy!
Warranty would be a concern. See if they have a cheap 1yr warranty. Also SSDs (or hybrid, if you want more storage) are cheap(er) now. I usually remove any original HDD and replace it with SSD on a lappy.

archan wrote:
SaiK wrote:tiger has a good refurb i7 asus laptop for $599. it does not say what gen of proc it is though.. wonder should i miss this deal?

pain points
1. refurb
2. 5400 rpm hdd
3. cpu specs not clear

rest is peachy!
Warranty would be a concern. See if they have a cheap 1yr warranty. Also SSDs (or hybrid, if you want more storage) are cheap(er) now. I usually remove any original HDD and replace it with SSD on a lappy.
Buy a squaretrade (ST) warranty for the Laptop and before that Google for 30% off discount codes for ST and also code for Tigerdirect too.

pain points
1. refurb
2. 5400 rpm hdd
3. cpu specs not clear

rest is peachy!
What kind of video card/GPU, memory, and screen resolution does it come with? Do you have a model number? That price can be either good or bad.
Square Trade warranties, depending on type can run between $100-$200. Would the final price be worth it?

Personally, I don't buy refurb laptops as the main board could be faulty. Sending it in for repair and getting it back to save $200 on an i7 is a hassle and IMHO, I would go new with an older type of CPU.

thanks archan & bijushet. wonderful inputs.

mort:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... -101760125

Mort Walker wrote:^^^False analogy. The use of any modern mobile computing device is one of compromises.
Not one which requires you to hack the damn thing to make it workable after paying a bunch of bucks for it. Do you have that weird expectation when you buy a TV, a fridge, a washing machine or a car? Get a clue before posting nonsense. :roll:

SaiK wrote:thanks archan & bijushet. wonderful inputs.

mort:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... -101760125

dont buy from tgdirect.

If i were you, I would track www.slickdeals.net every day and buy a good laptop from there.

I recently bought one from outlet.lenovo.com; they have good deals on refurbs there.

good brands; asus, samsung, apple, lenovo, sony.

avg.: acer, hp compaq acer dell

Raja Bose wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:^^^False analogy. The use of any modern mobile computing device is one of compromises.
Not one which requires you to hack the damn thing to make it workable after paying a bunch of bucks for it. Do you have that weird expectation when you buy a TV, a fridge, a washing machine or a car? Get a clue before posting nonsense. :roll:
The items you mentioned are not a valid comparison relative to disposable income. A phone is a relatively disposable item that has a life of a few years before being replaced. You are comparing durable goods with consumption goods.

Did you bother to read my original post to Singha-ji or was it instinctive reaction to anything related to Sammy? Singha-ji brought up a valid point about the resolution limit, but I fail to see how you equate Mayawati with Samsung? I clearly pointed out that only a very small minority of users will modify their device. The S4 GPE is a great device and people are aware that it isn't available subsidized and country limited through the Google Play Store.

We all know that you work in this industry and respect your opinions, but you need to put the hate aside and look at the facts. :cry:
Last edited by Mort Walker on 01 Sep 2013 19:17, edited 1 time in total.

i chatted with tiger folks... they dont have cpu spec on generation number etc. i said good bye!

SaiK wrote:i chatted with tiger folks... they dont have cpu spec on generation number etc. i said good bye!

I looked at that link, and the model appeared to have been introduced over 6 months ago. Touch screen laptops were just being introduced at mass market level, so I would anticipate problems with them in the first generation.

Raja Bose wrote:
Did you bother to read my original post to Singha-ji or was it instinctive reaction to anything related to Sammy? Singha-ji brought up a valid point about the resolution limit, but I fail to see how you equate Mayawati with Samsung? I clearly pointed out that only a very small minority of users will modify their device. The S4 GPE is a great device and people are aware that it isn't available subsidized and country limited through the Google Play Store.

We all know that you work in this industry and respect your opinions, but you need to put the hate aside and look at the facts. :cry:
Read the post again....I am referring to your post talking about how the Samsung GS4 is the best device IF you remove TouchWiz, IF you remove Samsung bloat, IF you install the AOSP ROM. Basically you think its perfectly fine to have a user shell out $600 and then hack their device to make it workable? Do you expect to flash the firmware of your car when you buy it so that it can run as advertised? :roll: Like I said earlier, get a clue. And don't let fanboism blind you to the facts....facts we see in stark nangapan everyday in our industry.

RB,

No. I didn't. I said the S4 GPE is the best Android phone on the market and offered a solution for the GSM S4, but only a small minority of users will do this. Samsung never intended this to be the case to operate their device outside of what they advertised. It just happens that the h/w is compatible. Just the facts, sir. No fanboyism. On a related note, there are also a very small minority of users who will in fact modify the firmware of their car to operate outside of what was advertised.
Mort Walker wrote:To make the mega 6.3 work well would require removing the Samsung bloat ware and TouchWiz UI. It may be a very nice phone if you were running pure Android on it. Just like all of Sammy's other phones. That said, the Galaxy S4 Google Play Edition without doubt is the best Android phone on the market. If you have a regular GSM version of the S4, rooting it and installing the AOSP Android 4.3 ROM is very easy since Samsung is very easy to mod for the casual user. Mind you, that less than 0.5% of all users will do this though.
I apologize if my writing is not clear to you, but you seem to have a visceral response to anything I write. Clearly, that is not my intention and I consider you as a friend whom I seek to glean knowledge from.

^^^I see, my apologies tau ji.

^^^No problem and again I'm sorry for being rude.

My contact for Lumia 1020 says the camera on the Lumia 1520 is going to be better and I should wait until December. I must admit a 6" Windows phablet does look appealing. I know institutional customers will jump on 6-7" Windows tablets like gangbusters. The Yum-bee-yaa / excel / project/ power point crowd will have multiple collective big-Os. :mrgreen: