nageshks wrote:As an aside, both Shiromani Akali Dal and Shiv Sena have agreed to back Modi.http://ibnlive.in.com/news/allies-back- ... 37-64.html
Peshwas/Maratha... Checked
Khalsa.................Checked
Surajmal Jaat.........Checked
Rajputs................Checked
Chalukya...............Checked
Manu More shall join Soon
Narender Modi Should be renamed Nandimithra Modi Todin.

KJoishy wrote:I read that Namo touched the feet of Sushma Swaraj and MM Joshi. Joshi I understand, he is an elder, but it is uncustomary to touch the feet of someone younger than yourself. Namo was born in 1950 and SS was born in 1952.

Is there something I am missing?
I don't know the context of NaMo touching feet of SS, but in my part of the woods, we touch the feet of sisters, even if they are younger. For example, I don't have a sister but whenever I go home, I touch feet of all my cousin sisters - some of whom are less than half my age.

Have nothing to say, says Modi's family

On one of Narendra’s Modi’s biggest days, his family — with whom he lived until he was 16 years old — chose to not react at all.

Asked about the elevation of the Gujarat chief minister to the BJP’s candidate for prime minister, 70-year-old Somabhai Modi, the eldest of Modi’s five siblings, said cryptically, “If I had anything to say, and if my reaction had any value, I would not have been living in this ashram. We have nothing to say and there is no reaction from our side.”

Somabhai, who retired as a Public Health Department inspector in Mehsana, now runs an old age home in the family’s native village Vadnagar, and stays in a room in the staff quarters on the premises.

Pressed for a more detailed response, he said, “If it is something good for the brother, it is certainly good for the family as well, and we would be happy.”

The 63-year-old Gujarat chief minister has been publicly seen only with his 94-year-old mother Hira ba, his pictures with whom he posted after his victory in the December 2012 assembly elections. She does not live with him.

In an interview given to The Indian Express in November 2012, Somabhai had said that the family had had no communication from Modi since he left their home in 1967. He is invited to all family functions, but never turns up, Somabhai had said. “The last time I met him was during a public event two months back,” Somabhai said.

The youngest of Modi’s four brothers, Pankaj, 52, also declined to comment on Modi’s elevation. “I have no comments,” he said.

Pankaj Modi works in the information department in Gandhinagar. Their mother, Hira ba, lives with him.

Prahlad, 58, the brother immediately older to Pankaj, lives in Ahmedabad, and is the president of the Fair Price Shop Dealers’ Association.

Reached a few hours before the official announcement in New Delhi, Prahlad Modi said, “I can’t speak on this development. Nothing is clear and there are differences within the BJP. I will be able to say anything only after the dust has settled. Besides, I need to ask bhaisaheb (Narendra Modi), who has told me not to speak at this stage.”

Amrutbhai, 68, who is second to Somabhai, lives in Ahmedabad’s Ranip area, at the address officially listed as Narendra Modi’s in the electoral rolls. Amrutbhai retired as a worker in Anil Starch Mill in Ahmedabad’s Naroda area four years ago.

Modi is the third of the siblings, elder to Prahlad and Pankaj. The five brothers have a sister, Basantiben (55), who teaches in a government school in Visnagar, about 12 km from Vadnagar.

http://m.indianexpress.com/news/have-no ... y/1168902/

Sagrawal wrote:switched on tv for a minute and found Lomdi on CNN-IBN and NDTV. Switched back to Twitter.
Lombdi kaun hai bhai? :?:

Lilo wrote:Amendments

Already there in Bhajapa manifesto
1)Abrogation of 370
2)Common civil code
3) others which I forgot

To be added anew a few from the top of my head
1)Police reforms (with a NaMo(a person who always batted for federalism) at the helm even CMs like JJ and Mayawati and Mamta will be finally willing.)
2)More federalism .
3) New Indic definition to Secularism - that every thing dharmic is innately Secular.
Last bit not the least-- TO STOP naming any new schemes or buildings after Teflon family. Total ban and a criminal offence with no bail :rotfl: :((

NaMo has named all schemes in Gujarat in Indic culture with apt meanings and real Indians who worked for our nation.

The NAC bases it's functioning on assumptions and cocktail cliches like these:

-All religions preach peace or No religion preaches violence
-We are all the same people and have the same likes and dislikes
-You can't clap with one hand
-A stable Pakistan is good for India
-We cannot change neighbors, we have to live with them
-Pakistani's are really friendly when we meet outside
-Paki's are too pragmatic to use Nuclear weapons, nothing is going to happen
-Extremism in all religions is bad
-India-Pakistan combined will beat all other countries

And each of these 'very noddable after a few drinks' suggestions is FALSE. Hence the failure of all policies based on these wild card cliches is inevitably bound to happen.

Atri wrote:
Sushupti wrote:I heard NaMO saying "Kashmir se Kanyakumari aur Attock se Katak tak". on timesnow
Yes... Old adage from Maratha times.. Attock se Katak aur Kashmir se tanjavur are the recurring phrases seen in many Maratha era letters because that was the extent of their rule at zenith.. Suvarnarekha river was the boundary to the east after half of coastal Bengal which is now called Odisha was retained by Marthas after Alivardy-Maratha treaty of 1751. Katak was the capital of Maratha ruled Bengal province. Plenty of Marathas seen in Katak even today..
Hmm I thought the name Attock was a British named place. I looked up in wiki and there is nothing about the name. It does not sound Bharatiya.
Vipin_Upadhyay

Post by Vipin_Upadhyay »

I have never seen such enthusiasm of cadres & ground level workers. Pure joy & excitement in their voice tells the whole story!

[youtube]qUSKfjkQnKQ&feature[/youtube]

KJoishy wrote:
Atri wrote:I heard NaMO saying "Kashmir se Kanyakumari aur Attock se Katak tak". on timesnow

Yes... Old adage from Maratha times.. Attock se Katak aur Kashmir se tanjavur are the recurring phrases seen in many Maratha era letters because that was the extent of their rule at zenith.. Suvarnarekha river was the boundary to the east after half of coastal Bengal which is now called Odisha was retained by Marthas after Alivardy-Maratha treaty of 1751. Katak was the capital of Maratha ruled Bengal province. Plenty of Marathas seen in Katak even today..
Hmm I thought the name Attock was a British named place. I looked up in wiki and there is nothing about the name. It does not sound Bharatiya.
Read here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attock_Fort

Bade Dino Mein Khushi Ka Din Aaya .

KJoishy wrote: Hmm I thought the name Attock was a British named place. I looked up in wiki and there is nothing about the name. It does not sound Bharatiya.
Attock

KJoishy wrote:
Sagrawal wrote:switched on tv for a minute and found Lomdi on CNN-IBN and NDTV. Switched back to Twitter.
Lombdi kaun hai bhai? :?:
Sudheendra Kulkarni.

This guy is a double whammy. He allows the NDTV/CNNIBN types to project their "neutrality" by announcing him as "a guest associated with the BJP" (Burkha did this on The Buck Stops Here 2 days ago, even though Kulkarni has been kicked out of the BJP.) Given the platform, of course, he goes on to spray non-stop venom against Modi.

He is like one of those "Republican In Name Only" types... Chuck Hagel etc... whom MSNBC used to bring on to represent the "moderate, dissenting Republican point of view" during the Obama campaign. This allows the channel to project its "neutrality" while demonizing the mainstream of the opposition party as having gone over to crazy extremist domination. Look for this trick to be used often in the paid media game plan from now on.

KJoishy wrote:
Atri wrote:
No.. Atak - अटक (Attock is anglicized name like Katak is written as Cuttack) has been the name of the city for long.. situated on the ford of river Sindhu.. The fort of Atak is strategically very important place which oversees the landing ground of anyone who crossed Sindhu in pre-modern times. Even today, that fort is blocked for people and TSPA has important base in that region. They conquered Atak in March 1758 and then Peshawar in April.. Shinde army remained there for next 20-22 months before Abdali's new invasion wave forced them to leave and return to Delhi thus kick-starting the Panipat campaign..

You may find the details in maratha history thread..

SaiK wrote:we had an eye doctor in the south by the name modi
we shall have an eye opener soon in the south by the name modi

;)
That was Dr M.C Modi who began his mass eye operations from 1943.
My dad interacted with him at times through his Lions Club. Dr Modi died in 2005.

.NaMo NaMo Song By Modi-Fying India .
M Joshi

Post by M Joshi »

Sushupti wrote:Have nothing to say, says Modi's family

http://m.indianexpress.com/news/have-no ... y/1168902/
So among the 5 brothers, NaMo is the middle one. Now, where have we heard that before. :)

Who will be Presiding over Ashvamedha Yagya requiring the Ahuti of many Unwanted elements burdening Bharat Bhumi with their Sins?

Lilo wrote:Amendments

Already there in Bhajapa manifesto
1)Abrogation of 370
2)Common civil code
3) others which I forgot

To be added anew a few from the top of my head
1)Police reforms (with a NaMo(a person who always batted for federalism) at the helm even CMs like JJ and Mayawati and Mamta will be finally willing.)
2)More federalism .
3) New Indic definition to Secularism - that every thing dharmic is innately Secular.

1)Kashi-Mathura-Ayodhya
2)Arming desh to the teeth
3)Dismembering Pakistan
4)Rewriting history books

It's all in that subramanium Swamy video.

I can imagine if NaMo becomes PM then this thread will definitely cross a 1000 mark.

Atri, it is sad that the same maratha clan who fought for hindutva and reversed the wheel of islamisation in this country are fighting against the very principle. They really don't need Congress to rule Maharashtra and congress for decades is not allowing them anything beyond Maharashtra. Then why congress? BT tried to bring them back but not much success. Only if NaMo can do the magic...

money is thicker than one fore fathers!! Poweful person may take Daood as his baap if it will fetch him some money!!

Fanne you are right.

panduranghari wrote:
It's all in that subramanium Swamy video.
Which video?

Edit: Found it - http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... QdrebTcuhM

Atri in economy thread

:P

I thought I heard "Attuck", and thought it was a city that I did not know. Then my mind raced to "Attock" in Pakistan, did he really mean city? Methinks, such 'idea' has a far reaching implications no? I mean, here is a person who shows more proof of how big he can think ; with history + future in perspective.

I think it should be causing takleef in some quarters. Here is a country, a.k.a India, that routinely down plays Chinese and Pakistani incursions and here is a new leader including lost territories of India into Indian discussions.

I hope he was talking about the Pakistani Attock :-)

No Country for Grumpy Old Man.

Looks like LKA and Azam Khan are two upset sulking grumpy men and can hangout together like those in Lion King!

Marten garu,

Bliss to not lose heart. There are many ways to help than direct campaigning.

I have a feeling that BSY will be taken to Hastina so the issue is not pestered in Ktaka

Ramana, at the end of the day, everyone in BJP-- Rajnath, LKA and Modi-- handled this in the best possible way.

If LKA strongly opposed the elevation of Modi to PM candidate, or its announcement at this time... an opinion he is definitely entitled to have... there were many ways in which he could have gone about acting on it. He could have pretended to acquiesce and sabotaged Modi later; he could have prolonged the announcement indefinitely by further blackmail and resignation drama; he could have gone to the PWB meeting and made a big scene of opposing Modi, supplying the waiting hordes of Paid Media with lots of ammunition for their "BJP is Divided" narrative.

At the end of the day he chose to stick to his position (which again, he is entitled to do) and stay away from the PWB meeting with quiet dignity. Of course, it would better if he had been genuinely persuaded by Rajnath Singh to embrace the elevation of Modi, but regardless of how the Paid Media tries to blow this out of proportion, there is nothing wrong with the manner in which he conducted himself while sticking to his stance.

Sabotage, of course, will continue through the likes of Sudheendra Kulkarni etc. But unless we can ascertain that Kulkarni is working as an agent of Advani, Sushma or Ananth Kumar... we must now admit the far more likely possibility that Kulkarni is being sponsored by the Maino Regime (he was involved in "Cash for Votes" after all).

All said and done, unless and until we actually see future statements or actions from Advani, Sushma or others to directly undermine Modi... it seems reasonable to conclude that the BJP has come out of this episode marching forward under a united leadership. Unnecessarily raking up pre-announcement conflicts beyond this point will only compromise our own narrative.
Last edited by Rudradev on 14 Sep 2013 03:23, edited 1 time in total.

SwamyG wrote:I thought I heard "Attuck", and thought it was a city that I did not know. Then my mind raced to "Attock" in Pakistan, did he really mean city? Methinks, such 'idea' has a far reaching implications no? I mean, here is a person who shows more proof of how big he can think ; with history + future in perspective.

I think it should be causing takleef in some quarters. Here is a country, a.k.a India, that routinely down plays Chinese and Pakistani incursions and here is a new leader including lost territories of India into Indian discussions.

I hope he was talking about the Pakistani Attock :-)
He IS talking about pakistani (well, erstwhile Indian) Attock..

"From Attock to Cuttack" - this phrase by definition means the Attock which is now in Pakistan on banks of Sindhu..nof course the marathi version of it is used figuratively to denote a huge success, it is not so popular among the north Indian "Hindusthani" crowd to invoke attock as frequently as a person from Mh will do.

Another such adage is "Rumshaam" - Rum (Rome) to Shaam (Siam - ASEAN). The whole "known world".

Interesting tidbit
There were reasons of a more personal nature too. Sangh chief Mohan Bhagwat’s father Madhukar Bhagwat was one of Modi’s role models, Sangh sources in Gujarat said. Madhukar was the first swayamsevak sent to work in Gujarat in 1940 to establish the Sangh there.

Modi was drawn to the Sangh as a teenager working in an Ahmedabad tea stall run by his uncle. Under Madhukar’s tutelage, he was absorbed into the Sangh and assigned to sweep and mop its office in Ahmedabad and cook meals for the swayamsevaks.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1130914/j ... 348736.jsp

Narendra Modi's speech at Ahmedabad airport after declared as BJP's PM candidate

Given below is rough translation of what Mr. Modi spoke:

You were waiting for me. I also wanted to rush back quickly, but I could only arrive here at 10.30 pm. The way you have welcomed the party’s decision with your presence here at this time in such a good number, you deserve my thanks from heart.

We can see the power of BJP’s internal democracy in this entire process. You can see how one political party gives respect to voice of a small party worker.

A person like me who started political career at most common level is given such a great honor and love in BJP. The root cause responsible for that is party’s character.

The great leaders like Atalji, Advaniji planted this big tree. We now need to make it even bigger through our hard work, our sweat.

Today BJP is the only ray of hope for common man of this nation. The country is in sad mood, and only BJP will be able to rescue them from such situation. Only BJP can lift this nation to new heights of development. It is our responsibility to see that the hopes, and desire of people are safe.

In past, there was a ten years period starting from 1988 when the nation was in similar situation that we witnessed during another ten years period starting from year 2004. The nation touched its bottom, and in such circumstances, the nation selected Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee. BJP-led NDA was given opportunity to serve the nation. The nation put trust that the dreams of 21st century will be fulfilled by this government. Unfortunately this entire decade starting from year 2004 not only washed away Atalji’s previous hard work and NDA’s performance, but pushed the nation to such a situation, that trust is not intact in any single sector.

We are the people who have invested our life for the cause expressed in ‘Bharat mata ki jay’ slogan. A BJP worker can’t merely witness the present situation of Bharat mata. Those deprived, backward, tribal, poor need to be rescued from current problematic situation.

Our party is a united party, cadre based party, a party with team spirit. Team is this party’s strength to fullfill nation’s hopes an desires.

http://deshgujarat.com/2013/09/14/what- ... portvideo/

He could have pretended to acquiesce and sabotaged Modi later
Err he has been and is going to be trying his best to sabotage Modi at every point

men like LKA will never go away gracefully for the greater good

what's in the hand of Gadkari?

^^^^ Sushupti ji That is a great pic and please keep it in your library.

One question. Can we finally lay to rest all the "D4" conspiracy theories that so much bandwidth was wasted on? SS, Jaitley and Naidu were all sharing the dais with Modi weren't they? Lol purush's refusal to attend didn't seem to have any effect on them.

Suraj wrote:Good to see Modi finally being selected unequivocally. I hope he also has a strong candidate for Home Minister. Lol Purush as ABV's pick was a significant weak spot in his cabinet.
Amit Shah

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/amit ... 60593.html
Very few people know that if terror attacks in India are under check today, Shah's role in solving the 2008 Ahmedabad bomb blasts by Indian Mujahideen terrorists as Gujarat Minister of State for Home is one of the main factors responsible for it. Gujarat Police officials, who probed the terror attack that left 56 people dead and 200 injured, openly admit even today that it was Shah's intelligence and diligence and Modi's unstinted guidance that enabled them in solving that case in 21 days flat, a record of sorts when compared with the murky record of Indian police in probing terror cases. The solving of that crucial case immediately brought down the frequency of IM attacks since its flanks stood exposed. No wonder then that Shah could be in the Home Ministry at the Centre If Modi becomes PM in 2014.

nachiket wrote:One question. Can we finally lay to rest all the "D4" conspiracy theories that so much bandwidth was wasted on? SS, Jaitley and Naidu were all sharing the dais with Modi weren't they? Lol purush's refusal to attend didn't seem to have any effect on them.
Late Promod Mahajan once said, it will be easier to move from ABV to LKA to MMJ or similar. It will be tough to move and find one out of next layer. But the prediction was that it will be something that has to evolve between the leaders in that layer which was handled very well. However, aberration that was not prediction is someone from older layer will become an impediment.

Rudradev wrote:Maybe Shyam Saran could be brought back in.

Anyway. Everyone is counting unhatched chickens so I thought I'd thrown my own into the coop :mrgreen:
Sorry Rudradev ji, I've already booked NSA post for Shri RSN Singh.

Also Defence Minister Gen. (Retd.) Shri. V.K. Singh.

See both these posts are already taken. 8)

Please help in choosing a new CBI, IB, RAW chiefs so that they can help in the game changer that will change the game with end of several hundred years of Dilli Billi hold on India. Dynasty should end like the way the kingdom ended in Last emperor movie. That error or indifference of ABV has to be rectified. The destruction started by PVNR was paused and hence it has risen again.

Modi ji - I pray to Ganesha today that to bless you so that you don't lose focus of this aspect when you get the opportunity by over focusing on just governance. This is the fundamental for a permanent good governance.

so many hours have gone.. sanku maharaj has not congratulated modi. sounds like he has taken sanyas.