next : corruption is a state of mind.
sorry gurus, I underwent surgery a week back and bed. May have to be like this for two more months. So difficult to do better job with old tab.Lilo wrote:Narayana rao ji,
Please to do some thing about the autocarrect on your phone wa.
"Lankan" and "Chiranjeevi Andrew" just sent me to a wild goose chase with googal chacha.
VIP treatment for alleged hate mongers? BJP MLAs Sangeet Som, Suresh Rana get saluted in jail
The tide is wakai turning or what? Lower level sarkari afsars are often quite attuned to changing political winds. Or maybe its just my fervent imagination.MLAs Sangeet Som and Suresh Rana are being given VIP treatment in jail. The duo were being saluted in prison and were given a guided tour by the jail authorities.
The jailor of the prison was caught on camera saluting Sangeet Som while the MLA was being taken into the jail. But soon after the BJP leaders were taken into the prison, the jailor said the duo, Sangeet Som and Suresh Rana, will be treated like other prisoners and no "special treatment" will be accorded to them.
The police are the first victims of riots in many places. We have seen this even in Mumbai. So their conduct is but natural.
Sorry for the nag N ji, wishing for your recovery then !Narayana Rao wrote:sorry gurus, I underwent surgery a week back and bed. May have to be like this for two more months. So difficult to do better job with old tab.Lilo wrote:Narayana rao ji,
Please to do some thing about the autocarrect on your phone wa.
"Lankan" and "Chiranjeevi Andrew" just sent me to a wild goose chase with googal chacha.
Thank u sir,
Has Nilankani or anyone from his company made any money out of Aadhar Card? Is this data retained where and by whom? Something seems to be fishy with this fellow joining INC.
Diggy raja is back with a bang on twitter
A must watch debate - http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/the-bi ... ind/291509
Hats off Sri Subrahmanyam Swamy. Your clarity of thought will awake Bharatiya intellect - Dhiyo Yonah Prachodayat!
He asked the audience a question
and turned the tables on the seculars and Islamists.
Hats off Sri Subrahmanyam Swamy. Your clarity of thought will awake Bharatiya intellect - Dhiyo Yonah Prachodayat!
He asked the audience a question

There was no deception and there is nothing wrong in what he wrote. If u can write things frm hindu perspective why u deny others the right to do the same?brihaspati wrote:I will anticipate the defender of Maulana's image : he was writing this without believing in what he was writing- for it was all a pretense/deception/rhetoric to convince and woo the "fanatical" muslim away from the idea of Pakistan. To be convincing enough he had to write all this stuff. He himself was a "nationalist" who did not think as he wrote.
Apart from this any other invention of lofty motivations would be of interest and most welcome.
Vinod Sharma @vinod_sharma 3h
2) In 2007, when Karan Thapar first saw Modi as PM and wanted him killed, there was no leadership failure in UPA 1; LKA was going strong too
any one knows about this? any info?
2) In 2007, when Karan Thapar first saw Modi as PM and wanted him killed, there was no leadership failure in UPA 1; LKA was going strong too
ramay, my concerns are not on the secularism as much as hindusim as one whole. if that was the case, then s swamy need not be even standing on the podium, not india having to face this problem now of this discrimination of jobs and edcuation by quota system. i would like you to ponder within than take secularism as catalyst to go block on hinduism as a whole, but it should come within.. all sects should join together first.. not just for voting. so in that regard, i am not with swamy.
Marten whats the point? Its not like you are under any eye bee watch!!!
I long ago said NN was the PM replacement for MMS for the UPA.
The guy has a big ego with small brain.
I read his autobiography at a friend's house. It was signed copy.
The book is very shallow.
I long ago said NN was the PM replacement for MMS for the UPA.
The guy has a big ego with small brain.
I read his autobiography at a friend's house. It was signed copy.
The book is very shallow.
Sorry to diappoint you but i only act when things go beyond crazy. Never scooted ever and never would not from u at least. Yawn and awk thoo!Hari Seldon wrote:^Doubt any will be forthcoming, Bji. This dhaga has seen its share (and then some) of sh00t-n-scooters who parach00te in and indignantly spray ad(ho)monishment around whenever the discussion highlights the psec superstructure of the state.
back to regular programming:
Modi upset with Sushma for raking up Sonia Gandhi's foreign origin issue
Understandable. Why paint a halo of innocent victimhood around sonyaben? Would be great for NM if she's seen as the next PM candidate (even better than rahul donning that mantle)...
Nice! You really want to have this discussion on this thread? Dont u already have a thread to show your intelligence by showing nehru's stupidity?Jhujar wrote:Maulana is nationalistic to those who still believe in Nehru"s stupidity.brihaspati wrote:I will anticipate the defender of Maulana's image : he was writing this without believing in what he was writing- for it was all a pretense/deception/rhetoric to convince and woo the "fanatical" muslim away from the idea of Pakistan. To be convincing enough he had to write all this stuff. He himself was a "nationalist" who did not think as he wrote.
Apart from this any other invention of lofty motivations would be of interest and most welcome.
If i answer ghese replies the thread gets derailed if i dont than hari calls me scooter.
here ramay, the kangrez is planning for DoS style attack
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/the-bu ... topstories
Great blogs
http://realitycheck.wordpress.com/2013/ ... -of-india/
Independence day thoughts on the Idea of India and Modi
http://realitycheck.wordpress.com/2013/ ... -of-india/
Independence day thoughts on the Idea of India and Modi
Adhoc consociate model not constitutional
The Indian system is unique and in a terrible way. In all the above examples, the consociate arrangement was arrived at after extensive deliberations, the rules are clear, the ratios are clear. You can plan your lives accordingly. If you look at the Indian case, the Indian constitution does not codify any group rights, let alone, power sharing. To the best of my knowledge, at no point did the Constituent assembly even consider such a scheme of group accommodation; with the exception of the SC reservation issue. If you look at what is happening around us today, the trend is undeniable, there is a clamour for power sharing which is being sponsored on by the state. The instruments are a never ending stream of invidious schemes with unclear purposes ; we have the caste census, exclusive benefits, vetos and boycotts, carving out districts with minority population, resistance by inside groups to accommodate groups like Jats, Gujjars, Marathas, a Nitish sytle rearrangement of power sharing by sub caste classification, laws that exempt certain religions from state takings of private educational property and so on. The key to note is that the whole system is ad-hoc purely in proportion to intensity of political participation by groups. This operates in a regime of secrecy where key data about who gets what is not readily accessible. Given the secrecy, the negotiations for power sharing are incredibly complex at every level. The sheer amount of energy expended in jostling around like this is incredible and comes at the expense of the national interest. There are no big projects, no set of national principles, no goal or purpose big enough. The main goal is securing a seat at the table where these “transactional deals a.k.a accommodations” are done almost always at the expense of minority groups and non-participants. I’d go a bit farther and say this : This is what keeps us in squalid third world status.
Modi vs Nitish in the context of the Food Security Bill.
Nitish Kumar had a condition, now downgraded to a suggestion for supporting the Food Security Bill. He insists on 5 members of the proposed 7 member Food Security Commission being from Women, Minority, OBC, EBC, and “Deprived” . He also wants exclusion of “urban elites”. The cost of the bill to the nation, the rationale for classification of included and excluded, the conditions attached to states like Bihar being major net recipients are all distant thoughts. To him, the yet to be formed NFSC needs power sharing, now. This is a high stakes game because the Food Security Commission will determine inter-se status of groups regarding their inclusion. The factions in his mind are so entrenched that ‘urban elites’ who actually pay disproportionately for the goodies are in fact persona non-grata when it comes to identification. Once these outside groups are eliminated, the great transactional micro level negotiations start about who is in / out. I am not attributing any malice to Nitish, he is in fact the perfect Idea of India guy, When he says, “Sabhko saath leeke chalna hai” – make no mistake, he is talking, perhaps without realizing ,about the consociational mutual veto which I mentioned earlier. Nothing moves unless everyone on the inside of the grand coalition agrees.
I wonder how come we have such articulate/clear thinking bloggers but the entire media is a piece of crap except 3 or 4 columnists such as Pratap Bhanu Mehta.Narendra Modi’s letter to the Prime Minister could not offer starker contrast. In the very first point, he makes it clear what he wants. He desires NO discretion about who will be included in the free food program. Pause for a minute.
An Indian politician who does not seek the magic wand of adhoc classification. I cannot recall anyone in recent times who took this position. The caste composition of the yet to be formed commission could not be of lesser importance to him. What he seeks is upfront clear guidelines of inclusion, exclusion, revision. He also thinks that in the absence of clear guidelines an adhoc system of classification will emerge and he expects that to be judicially challenged. This is the closest we have to a Rule of Law guy. That he is pushing for a more expensive general scheme is to completely miss the point. According to him, the Rule of Law style Food Security Bill is necessarily more expensive than adhoc beneficiary selection. Cant trade it in.
Mitron, this Independence Day, think about what you want. The frenetic activity you see in adhoc consociationalism also known as Idea of India has no larger purpose, will solve no big ticket item. We will sink further into third world status if this is left unchecked.
>>I wonder how come we have such articulate/clear thinking bloggers but the entire media is a piece of crap except 3 or 4 columnists such as Pratap Bhanu Mehta.
Media plus significant sections of the articulate elite in India are all handpicked chamchas of the INC system who grew with the right contacts in the system so far.. why would they rock the boat? Even after they go abroad, and enjoy the fruits of a meritocratic system, they will continue to support the INC.
When Amul Baby rules, mind is a state of corruption.SaiK wrote:next : corruption is a state of mind.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed ... 66159.aspxvivek.rao wrote:Vinod Sharma @vinod_sharma 3h
I just fixed itRaja Bose wrote:When Amul Baby rules, 1 billion mind is in a state of corruption.SaiK wrote:next : corruption is a state of mind.

RamaY wrote:A must watch debate - http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/the-bi ... ind/291509
He asked the audience a questionand turned the tables on the seculars and Islamists.
OK for the busy types..
Subbu swamy says
1/ communal politics will remain as long as people identify themselves with caste, religion etc and not nation.
2/ he wants country to be united. But since the Muslims and Christians are not coming together, he want to start with Hindus, which are 80% of the population.
3/ he wants all Indians to realize that they have same genes, and their ancestors were Hindus.
4/ then when the (sic) secular youth says they want to go above these identities and call themselves as Indians, he asks them a question - how many of you want a UNIFORM CIVIL CODE, then they all go YES and he says that's what I am saying. The SP Muslim guy (the one who asked if the IM terrorist was arrested because he was a muslim) goes NOOOOO
4/ then he tells the youth that India has thousands of years of identity and once people become clear about that identity, then caste, religion will go away.
The only problem is when (sic) secular people like you call MAKARA secular & nationalist but Bji communal.Katare wrote:There was no deception and there is nothing wrong in what he wrote. If u can write things frm hindu perspective why u deny others the right to do the same?brihaspati wrote:I will anticipate the defender of Maulana's image : he was writing this without believing in what he was writing- for it was all a pretense/deception/rhetoric to convince and woo the "fanatical" muslim away from the idea of Pakistan. To be convincing enough he had to write all this stuff. He himself was a "nationalist" who did not think as he wrote.
prahaar wrote:http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed ... 66159.aspxvivek.rao wrote:Vinod Sharma @vinod_sharma 3h
This Schmuck Karan Thapar - looks like he had access to the deeper levels of congi strategic apparatus - ordinarily such an accurate prediction of Endgame is OK if Congis predicted this by logic. I become fearful that instead of logical prediction this info came about to congis from deep inside RSS and other BJP's strategic apparatus which deal with leadership succession policy. All the events feared and supposedly predicted by congis back in 2007 as expressed in the article have come to pass now.Narendra Modi’s stunning victory will change Indian politics decisively, perhaps dramatically, possibly desperately. I have no doubt it’s a turning point. Actually, it will amount to several turning points. For the Congress and for the Left, just as much as for the BJP and the NDA. First
related stories
A Modi temple in Gujarat
the BJP. Nothing has galvanised the party so comprehensively since Advani’s rathyatra of 1989, imbuing it with a sense of hope, even a sense of purpose. In Modi, the BJP has discovered three elements it was anxiously searching for — leadership, issues to stand for and the first hope that it can win a majority on its own.
Of course, Advani will continue as its prime ministerial candidate, but Modi is the future. The succession is settled. No other second generation leader can match him. And as for the argument that Modi cannot take centrestage in Delhi because the NDA allies won’t accept him, the counter is that with Modi at the helm, the BJP could attempt to win on its own. The NDA may no longer be critical.
The key question is can Moditva work outside Gujarat? It depends on how you define it. If you believe it combines strong personal leadership and integrity, with an appeal to regional pride or robust nationalism — admittedly with strong communal undertones — and a stress on development, I see no reason why it can’t translate throughout the country. Even the fact that it alienates minorities is counterbalanced by the promise of uniting Hindus as never before. And if in Gujarat it could cut across divisions of caste, wealth and location, then it can hope to do so elsewhere as well.
Modi and Moditva is, therefore, the challenge facing the Congress, the UPA and the Left. I don’t deny it has to be fought ideologically, but that also calls for the projection of a single personality who, in herself, embodies the fight. She has to rival Modi’s appeal — both his magnetism and his myth — and symbolise the alternate vision.
Perhaps there is only one person who can do that. The pronoun ‘she’ was used deliberately. It’s Sonia Gandhi. It may be an irony that an Italian-born woman, a widow who till 1998 detested politics, should transform into one of the twin poles of Indian politics, but it could also be an inescapable fact. No other person from the anti-BJP parties has the appeal or the nation-wide image to rival Modi.
Of course, Sonia has a lot to learn. Amongst the most important is the capacity to articulate ideas that catch like fire, and the ability to sell herself to the India beyond the Hindustan Times Leadership Summit. At the moment she provokes curiosity or, perhaps, awe. Now she needs to create a following.
For the rest of us, voters rather than politicians, commentators but not participants, we also have to make a critical choice. We can either accept the idea of Modi and Moditva and adapt and adjust to it, or overcome our concerns with the Gandhi dynasty and Sonia in particular, and join the fight she must lead.
If I’m right, the middle ground is shrinking, even disappearing. The emergence of a dominant idea on the saffron front and, in response, the creation of an equal but counterveiling force on the other will squeeze out everything else. The more Moditva grows, the more its opposite has to be strengthened. Increasingly the choice will be one or the other. We will have to take sides.
Where does this leave the regional parties and the Left? They may retain their identity, even their present base, but they will have to line-up behind Modi or Sonia, in the saffron camp or the liberal/secular one. They may even have to submerge themselves within the broad appeal of the camp they belong to.
Only the sudden removal of Narendra Modi can stop this. For he is the agent forcing this change. And whilst he’s with us, he will do just that. I have no doubt Indian politics after Sunday the 23rd is another country. We have to live with new challenges. Some of us have to accept new leaders
Makes one wonder what is their trump card to stop Modi - without having to kill him.They knew all these years that Modi is the man they will face in final battle. They must be holding back levers for latter use.
My fear is that congress is still having internal moles in even orgs like RSS and that should be taken care of by Mohan Bhagwat , By retiring or transplanting old hands and elevating newer unseen new hands.
Are the Congi trumps just limited to Paid Media and D4 etc in dilli ?... The judiciary which if logically is in congi pocket. Is till date quite benign when it came to Modi. Wonder what are the threats by yindoo nationalists that are preventing congis from incriminating Modi ?
Last edited by Lilo on 23 Sep 2013 02:52, edited 3 times in total.
That BjP spokes person need to learn from Subbu swamy... I would have said the following.SaiK wrote:here ramay, the kangrez is planning for DoS style attack
1. First let congress have some internal democracy and figure out who would be their PM candidate. Then we can have a debate between NM and Congress-PM candidate
2. Until then RG is nothing to the nation but son of Sonia Gandhi, yuvraj of MMS, current PM
3. If the likes of Diggi raja and Manish Tiwari were the ones who are itching for a debate, that is being done partially thru tv debates like this, for example our young SN member with that girl of congress.
4. It is stupidity to say India is too big, complex etc to have a presidential style like USA. Then I wonder how did a much smaller west-minister system of Britian is suitable to India. Is Britain any more complex society than USA in 1947?
5. Coming to individual politics, perhaps they should ask Congress that question. If party is more important than individuals, why did MKG insist for Nehru instead of SCB, and IG instead of Was it pattabi sitaramayya etc? Why does MMS want to work under RG?
prahaar wrote:http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed ... 66159.aspxvivek.rao wrote:Vinod Sharma @vinod_sharma 3h
WOW!Only the sudden removal of Narendra Modi can stop this. For he is the agent forcing this change. And whilst he’s with us, he will do just that. I have no doubt Indian politics after Sunday the 23rd is another country. We have to live with new challenges. Some of us have to accept new leaders.
He is sending a message to Sonia to eliminate him physically way back in 2007.
Don't forget Karan Thapar is of the Nehru family clump.
His father should have been court martialed for the 1962 debacle for allowing Krishna Menon and Nehru to play toy soldiers.
Yeah, KT is the quintessential punju-dilli billi with extensive contacts on the other side of the border as well, per a guy who met him (punju family who were in central govt).. and hence routinely pulls the people like us argument.. KT was apparently best buddies with Benazir and co at Cambridge/Oxford or wherever that breed studied etc..he is fully of a Gujral pappi-jhappi kind but with the additional trait of being politically well connected and pretty sly..
All these media types who "rose" in english media seem to be a fairly similar socio-economic strata (ie well enough and with family in plum positions, and hence wealthy during even license raj) and well connected to INC
I would like to push the envelope a bit here.Karan M wrote:Yeah, KT is the quintessential punju-dilli billi with extensive contacts on the other side of the border as well, per a guy who met him (punju family who were in central govt).. KT was apparently best buddies with Benazir and co at Cambridge/Oxford or wherever that breed studied etc..he is fully of a Gujral pappi-jhappi kind but with the additional trait of being politically well connected and pretty sly..
All these media types who "rose" in english media seem to be a fairly similar socio-economic strata and well connected to INC
I wouldn't call the likes of KT as Pappi Jhappis. They are nothing but closet Islamists. The kind of people who became Mansabdars/Feudals under Islamic rule, so they too can behave like Islamics - raping women, collecting jijya etc.
There are many Hindu feudals in Nizam state, who displayed More Islamic Than Muslims (MITM) during Nizam rule sporting Islamic topis, Urdu speaking, pawn chewing, women raping, jijya collecting etc. When people talk about Nizam rule in Telangana, they are talking about these guys, in addition to, the true believers.
Imagine if some one supporting BJP wrote a column like this in HT. The whole #PAIDMEDIA, intellectuals, NYTIMEs would calling for head of Modi even if Modi does not know who the hell that guy is.
From Burkha Dutt to Sagarika, the paid media keeps crying Modi is a Hitler because some tweet posted by an alleged Modi supporter.
Ram, dont put ur words in my mouth. Ppl like me dont like that when ppl like u do that. U dont get to decide who is communal or nationalist any more than i do. So if u start it should be willing to take it too.RamaY wrote:There was no deception and there is nothing wrong in what he wrote. If u can write things frm hindu perspective why u deny others the right to do the same?Katare wrote:]I will anticipate the defender of Maulana's image : he was writing this without believing in what he was writing- for it was all a pretense/deception/rhetoric to convince and woo the "fanatical" muslim away from the idea of Pakistan. To be convincing enough he had to write all this stuff. He himself was a "nationalist" who did not think as he wrote.
The only problem is when (sic) secular people like you call MAKARA secular & nationalist but Bji communal.
Yeah, there are these guys who live off the privilege of being the insiders and ruling their own community on behalf of the masters.RamaY wrote:I would like to push the envelope a bit here.Karan M wrote:Yeah, KT is the quintessential punju-dilli billi with extensive contacts on the other side of the border as well, per a guy who met him (punju family who were in central govt).. KT was apparently best buddies with Benazir and co at Cambridge/Oxford or wherever that breed studied etc..he is fully of a Gujral pappi-jhappi kind but with the additional trait of being politically well connected and pretty sly..
All these media types who "rose" in english media seem to be a fairly similar socio-economic strata and well connected to INC
I wouldn't call the likes of KT as Pappi Jhappis. They are nothing but closet Islamists. The kind of people who became Mansabdars/Feudals under Islamic rule, so they too can behave like Islamics - raping women, collecting jijya etc.
There are many Hindu feudals in Nizam state, who displayed More Islamic Than Muslims (MITM) during Nizam rule sporting Islamic topis, Urdu speaking, pawn chewing, women raping, jijya collecting etc. When people talk about Nizam rule in Telangana, they are talking about these guys, in addition to, the true believers.
They existed across the length and breadth of Hindu society in the past, enjoying their position as interlocutors on behalf of their gora or mughal/daccani sultanate masters.
Only because the capital is in Delhi the pappi-jhappi gang has got more visibility. Otherwise there is no dearth of such types across regions.
But there are also the arrogant dhimmis...full of make believe liberalism BS, but who get very upset when somebody calls them out on their rubbish..
Funny thing about all the above frauds - especially the latter group (liberal dhimmis or dummies) - is that they mostly enjoy a comfortable standard of living in societies which crack down like heck on all these Islamist loons or even justify how their new nations of residence commit quasi-genocide in the name of democracy.
But if you mention anything about the fraud that is p-secism in India, these same dudes will moan and wail about how extremist the non INC gang is
Actually, it is these cretins who are the biggest problem for India, rather then the uncouth scoundrels who riot after Friday prayers. The pseudo intellectuals are the ones who cripple a response to such provocations and make the victim into the accused.
Last edited by Karan M on 23 Sep 2013 03:57, edited 1 time in total.
Please read your own post Katareji.
You are saying you know why MAKA wrote what he wrote than MAKA
that is called More MAKA Than MAKA (MMTM).
You are saying you know why MAKA wrote what he wrote than MAKA

karanM garu, Congress is the new name of this feudal group, since the days of JLN. Even MKG fell into this trap. I wonder what skeletons he had to hide for this.
MKG pure and simple had started suffering from megalomania. Same as JLN. Societies like India at the time, with too many oppressed people, economically distraught, end up hoping for a saviour who will rescue them. MKG tapped into Hindu society's fascination for saints/ascetics/self renunciation, went along with the Mahatma tag, and was the only game in town (Lala Lajpat Rai and many others were taken care of by the Brits)...RamaY wrote:karanM garu, Congress is the new name of this feudal group, since the days of JLN. Even MKG fell into this trap. I wonder what skeletons he had to hide for this.
He would not have been an issue if there were other people who countered him. But his entire process of decision making (fasts and hold everyone to hostage) was seriously an issue as was his dogmatic and childish belief in "turning the other cheek". Complete and total loony tunes cowardice. All that correspondence with Leo Tolstoy et al. Hinduism on the other hand is a faith that sees nothing wrong in the harshest of sacrifices and the most brutal of conflicts, if dharma is under threat. MKG is a perfect example of how a powerful man, with a confused worldview can end up causing a lot of issues without even realizing what he was doing.
What is this suppose to mean?RamaY wrote:Please read your own post Katareji.
You are saying you know why MAKA wrote what he wrote than MAKAthat is called More MAKA Than MAKA (MMTM).
I said what he wrote has nothing wrong in it and makes sense to me. No need to put any spin on it. Your understanding of him may be different and that is OK by me.
Is this NaMo thread or we are done with him and moving into past
Is it not called Past Forward whininding
Narayana Rao wrote: sorry gurus, I underwent surgery a week back and bed. May have to be like this for two more months. So difficult to do better job with old tab.
hope you recover well and quickly Rao garu.
Get well soon Narayana Rao garu.Narayana Rao wrote: sorry gurus, I underwent surgery a week back and bed. May have to be like this for two more months. So difficult to do better job with old tab.
^^ Get well soon Narayan Rao garu. Let me know when next you are visiting my neck of the woods.
BJP to UPA govt: We are not cheerleaders who will clap for you while you continue to indulge in corruption
Meanwhile, elsewhere, another beseiged and desperate neta makes brave noises.
Nation is in crisis under Congress: Chandrababu Naidu hints at returning to NDA fold
BJP to UPA govt: We are not cheerleaders who will clap for you while you continue to indulge in corruption
Brave words indeed, coming after the BJP failed to get a single one of its amendments on FSB passed. Anyway, one can always rationalize such things given enough 'faith' I guess.Rajnath said, "BJP does not do politics of just forming government, we do politics of building a nation."
Meanwhile, elsewhere, another beseiged and desperate neta makes brave noises.
Nation is in crisis under Congress: Chandrababu Naidu hints at returning to NDA fold
CBN wanted Rajnath to "moderate" BJP's T-stance apparently, something Rajnath has expressed inability to do.The former NDA convener said Andhra Pradesh was in "disaster" as UPA government was treating the issue of division of the state as an "internal affair" of Congress.
Naidu tests waters for NDA tie-up
Sept. 22: Telugu Desam chief N. Chandrababu Naidu today dropped the first public hint that he wasn’t against doing business with the BJP again and that Narendra Modi’s leadership might not be a deterrent.
Naidu, part of the BJP-led NDA before quitting almost a decade ago, told a channel in Delhi that it was important for the non-Congress spectrum to array against the UPA.
The comments come against the backdrop of calls from sections of the Desam to join hands with the Modi-chaperoned BJP amid concerns the Andhra party could be isolated in an ongoing realignment of forces spurred by the moves on Telangana.
Naidu yesterday met Haryana satrap Om Prakash Chautala, AGP boss Prafulla Kumar Mahanta and a top BJP leader over lunch hosted by Akali Dal MP Naresh Gujral, whose party is part of the NDA. Both Naidu and Mahanta refused comment on the talks, saying “it was too early”.
The Desam chief also met BJP president Rajnath Singh separately yesterday. “There was no conversation on alliances, pre-or-post-polls. He (Naidu) explained his stand on Andhra. I made it clear there would be no compromise on our position to back Telangana,” Rajnath said.
Desam sources say Naidu — on a limb ever since he was voted out in Andhra in 2004 — is looking to play a “role” of “relevance” in the depleted NDA. Naidu, the sources said, is trying to bring “smaller” unattached parties together under a front that could eventually become part of the NDA.
He is reportedly eyeing a one-on-one with Modi. But an aide of the Gujarat chief minister said the BJP is yet to firm up its view on Andhra and added Jaganmohan Reddy was also a “factor” that couldn’t be ignored as in a hunt for allies
. The Congress, too, is wooing Jagan for a merger.
Naidu came under pressure from colleagues to look at a BJP tie-up after Modi’s August 11 Hyderabad rally that drew big crowds. He had been cautious initially over fears about minority votes, though setbacks in successive bypolls have suggested little headway in the Desam’s attempts to win back the group.
Naidu also appears “disillusioned” with the Left, his on-off ally, for not being sufficiently “pro-active” in sewing up an alternative non-Congress front. He isn’t enamoured of Mulayam Singh Yadav either as he feels he is “naturally” inclined towards the Congress.
At home, Naidu has seen odds stack up. The Desam is isolated in Telangana, pitted against the TRS and the Congress. In Seemandhra, the Desam is up against Jagan’s YSR Congress and the Congress. Sections within the Desam expect a leg-up in 2014 if they can ride on the BJP’s votes.
Naidu’s MLA count has fallen from 92 in the 2009 polls, which he had fought with the Left, to 78. Pro-Telangana MLAs defected to the TRS and anti-statehood ones to Jagan.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1130923/j ... 380692.jsp
Sept. 22: Telugu Desam chief N. Chandrababu Naidu today dropped the first public hint that he wasn’t against doing business with the BJP again and that Narendra Modi’s leadership might not be a deterrent.
Naidu, part of the BJP-led NDA before quitting almost a decade ago, told a channel in Delhi that it was important for the non-Congress spectrum to array against the UPA.
The comments come against the backdrop of calls from sections of the Desam to join hands with the Modi-chaperoned BJP amid concerns the Andhra party could be isolated in an ongoing realignment of forces spurred by the moves on Telangana.
Naidu yesterday met Haryana satrap Om Prakash Chautala, AGP boss Prafulla Kumar Mahanta and a top BJP leader over lunch hosted by Akali Dal MP Naresh Gujral, whose party is part of the NDA. Both Naidu and Mahanta refused comment on the talks, saying “it was too early”.
The Desam chief also met BJP president Rajnath Singh separately yesterday. “There was no conversation on alliances, pre-or-post-polls. He (Naidu) explained his stand on Andhra. I made it clear there would be no compromise on our position to back Telangana,” Rajnath said.
Desam sources say Naidu — on a limb ever since he was voted out in Andhra in 2004 — is looking to play a “role” of “relevance” in the depleted NDA. Naidu, the sources said, is trying to bring “smaller” unattached parties together under a front that could eventually become part of the NDA.
He is reportedly eyeing a one-on-one with Modi. But an aide of the Gujarat chief minister said the BJP is yet to firm up its view on Andhra and added Jaganmohan Reddy was also a “factor” that couldn’t be ignored as in a hunt for allies

Naidu came under pressure from colleagues to look at a BJP tie-up after Modi’s August 11 Hyderabad rally that drew big crowds. He had been cautious initially over fears about minority votes, though setbacks in successive bypolls have suggested little headway in the Desam’s attempts to win back the group.
Naidu also appears “disillusioned” with the Left, his on-off ally, for not being sufficiently “pro-active” in sewing up an alternative non-Congress front. He isn’t enamoured of Mulayam Singh Yadav either as he feels he is “naturally” inclined towards the Congress.
At home, Naidu has seen odds stack up. The Desam is isolated in Telangana, pitted against the TRS and the Congress. In Seemandhra, the Desam is up against Jagan’s YSR Congress and the Congress. Sections within the Desam expect a leg-up in 2014 if they can ride on the BJP’s votes.
Naidu’s MLA count has fallen from 92 in the 2009 polls, which he had fought with the Left, to 78. Pro-Telangana MLAs defected to the TRS and anti-statehood ones to Jagan.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1130923/j ... 380692.jsp