Sagar G wrote:I got your point harbans will stick to the individual's criticism only, but there is a view out there that if a person comes from certain schools/colleges/universities people automatically think that they are more educated/smart than others. It's true to a point but people tend to overdo with that view but yes not a point to be discussed on this thread.

What Modi said is totally right I remember very well being taught that before you visit temple or even do pooja in your house you have to take a bath and clean yourself. JR used missionary language and to top that failed in implementing his own idea.

SagarG, Jairam Ramesh would be like that only even if he graduated from local ZP high school.

Bringing in IIT will raise hackles of its graduates who are not of the same ilk.

Even JNU is known to be left wing bastion but it does produce nationlists.

In Indian political life the point of view comes from "bending to the wind" as the dishonorable judges advised VK Singh.
Not from the insititution.

RamaY wrote:I wonder what is politically more beneficial for NM, an alliance with TDP or YSRCP?
Ideally CBN although he changes color very often becoz Jagan is a crook + EJ. But as pointed out in AP thread, NM can't be PM w/o UP, BH, AP. Some arrangement in T and SA is necessary.

RamaY wrote:I wonder what is politically more beneficial for NM, an alliance with TDP or YSRCP?
Both are useless congress cronies BJP must target growing in southern and eastern part of India now. The time is right iron is hot strike the hammer.

ramana wrote:SagarG, Jairam Ramesh would be like that only even if he graduated from local ZP high school.

Bringing in IIT will raise hackles of its graduates who are not of the same ilk.

Even JNU is known to be left wing bastion but it does produce nationlists.

In Indian political life the point of view comes from "bending to the wind" as the dishonorable judges advised VK Singh.
Not from the insititution.
I didn't paint the entire IITians with the same brush but wanted to point out the general thinking that people from certain institutions are more smarter or entitled too. Anyway's I agree with you.

BJP has 2-3% votes in SA and 6-7% votes in T. If they align with CBN the 2-3% Muslim votes (C votes will go to Jagan) will be replaced by BJP votes in SA and the joint vote may put up a good fight in T. The other option is to align with TRS in T and do post-poll deals with CBN in SA. CBN gains nothing in SA by aligning with BJP - only in T. These in my opinion are the only two options.

vivek.rao wrote:If they align with YSRCP, my repsect for Modi will be all gone. Not with looter gang. No way. Politically beneficial for short term or not. It would be a reprehensible move

What would be the objective for Modi at this time?
To capture power.

YSRCP is INC B team form all appearances.
YSRCP has big sympathy wave in parts of AP.
YSRCP will give tough fight to TDP if its led by CBN

YSRCP is offering to align with BJP for its own reasons
Despite being a most loyal supporter of INC with funds, political power he has been jailed

TDP is showing reluctance even after double defeats to ally with BJP

Modi is objective should be to prevent INC from capturing power.
How can he do this?
- Make sure TDP wins
- And supports BJP to form the govt

BJP has to keep its options open to ensure TDP allies with it.
BJP has to ensure that its allies win in AP

Sagar G wrote:
Both are useless congress cronies BJP must target growing in southern and eastern part of India now. The time is right iron is hot strike the hammer.

No. In this election the primary goal should be to put a capable leader in power.
Ashok Sarraff

Post by Ashok Sarraff »

I guess NaMo has clearly stated his foremost objective: Congress-Mukt Bharat. IMO that goal should drive BJP's political decisions. Align with anyone that helps achievement of this noble goal. Other things can be taken care of later.

Hindutva ka apmaan ho chuka hai (Hindutva has been insulted already).
Pravin Togadiya ji is protecting my religion, I can rest in peace!

It is tonight's hot news... yuck, I'll rather watch some saas bahu serial.

Supratik wrote:
Sagar G wrote:

No. In this election the primary goal should be to put a capable leader in power.
That may turn out to be a `brilliant tactical strike', similar to that our neighbours are so fond of. Myself, I prefer the BJP utilise the NaMo wave to become an all India party, with a solid base in every state.

archan wrote:Hindutva ka apmaan ho chuka hai (Hindutva has been insulted already).

Which one? We all might be forced to do that.

archan wrote:Hindutva ka apmaan ho chuka hai (Hindutva has been insulted already).

What did you expect? The MSM has been desperate to divide the BJP and its affiliates. They will go to town with all they have now. IMO, there was no need for Modi to get into this controversy at all. He should have asked, `Why is it an either-or situation? Why do I have to choose between temples and toilets? And anyway, since when is it the business of the governments to build temples? Governments are supposed to build toilets and ensure proper sanitation, and have failed signally at that. That is what the governments should focus on. Temples are built by devotees, as and when they are required and as and when it suits the pleasure of the devotees. That is all there is to be said about it.'

Supratik wrote:
Ideally CBN although he changes color very often becoz Jagan is a crook + EJ. But as pointed out in AP thread, NM can't be PM w/o UP, BH, AP. Some arrangement in T and SA is necessary.
What is apparently not clear is how Hindutvavaadee are becoming slack in outlook. In democracy aam janataa is the king and has to be proactive in each and every step and facet of national life.

In fact aam janataa should be driving democracy and making every step of government agencies accountable in various aspects. This seems to be hijacked by secular pseudos and that is why inactivity leads to punishment of selective secularism. Fact is nothing can hijack it even presence of pseudo seculars pretending to be exclusively legitimate.

Now Jairam Ramesh (or was it Doggy?) has thrown Kashiram's statement of 'build a grand public toilet at RJB instead of a temple or a mosque' at NaMo and wants a response. The level of discourse in this country is more humiliating to Hindus than perhaps the neighborhood BD or TSP.

One insider news about Jairam Ramesh. This whole adhaar thingie or its equivalent (predecessor), was used in 2004 and perfected in 2009. Within Congress machinery, deep inside, away from media glare and all that, is a group (which has some very smart people, one IIT graduate with rank less than 10 or 20), that knows a person by his last name and address, who will vote for congress for money/liquor/saree. That group is managed by contractor/lobbies (NREGA gives that data bank), for whom these daily laborers work. These contractors in turn are managed by Congress managers. Jairam is the hub that holds that. This team does repeated scientific surveys (involving two of the three US survey agencies), decides on tickets and what not. With one person decision making (Rahul), from input from Jairam (who handles the technical side, after everything has been analysed), this is very efficient process. In most urban constituencies, these poor laborers who maybe 5%-20% of the electorate are managed and are the difference between victory and defeat.

Atri and Bji, Since you guys have long memories or capability to get the info, was BJP hijacked during the late 70s-80s? IOW did BJP become the INC of post-Independence India?

We are now seeing the Modi phase which is akin to the IG revolt against syndicate.

nageshks wrote:What did you expect? The MSM has been desperate to divide the BJP and its affiliates. They will go to town with all they have now.
MSM did not put words into Togadia's mouth, did they?

ramana wrote:Atri and Bji, Since you guys have long memories or capability to get the info, was BJP hijacked during the late 70s-80s? IOW did BJP become the INC of post-Independence India?

We are now seeing the Modi phase which is akin to the IG revolt against syndicate.
It is reverse, saar.. it is syndicate ousting IG type.. kind of what would have happened if Patel were PM instead of JLN..

Gus wrote:
nageshks wrote:What did you expect? The MSM has been desperate to divide the BJP and its affiliates. They will go to town with all they have now.
This is what Togadia is supposed to have said (exact words, or their translation, I guess) according to MSM.

"We are stunned and shocked to hear about the unnecessary mention of temples by Narendra Modi in a statement wherein he was talking about the need for better sanitation facilities in the country," the VHP international working president said in a statement.

"We too believe in the need for better hygiene. But the way temples were dragged in the matter was uncalled for. "It is nothing short of an insult to the Hindu society,"

I do not find myself in agreement with Togadia's words often, but in this case, I completely agree with Togadia that Modi's remarks were uncalled for.

Shauch is one of the core 10 ingredients of a Dharmic society/ person.

Narendra Modi got his enlightenment 22 years late: Jairam Ramesh on 'toilets before temples' remark
Jairam Ramesh has launched an acidic attack on Narendra Modi for his "more toilets than temples" comment, saying it is borne out of his "blind desire for the Prime Minister's position."

Mr Modi had said yesterday, "My identity is of a Hindutvawadi, but I say build toilets before you build temples," ruing the fact that many Indians still do not have access to basic sanitation. (Make toilets before temples: Narendra Modi tells students in Delhi)

The union minister told NDTV today, "He's got enlightenment finally, but 22 years too late. Had he had the same realization earlier India would have been spared the trauma of the Babri Masjid tragedy and subsequent events.. - the Bombay blasts, Godhra and its consequences. The communalization that took place on account of this temple movement, which was masterminded by Modi amongst others." :(( :((

And he added sarcastically, "But I am glad that Modi, 22 years later, is a changed man."

Mr Ramesh's ire is grounded in the fact that when he made a similar comment last year, he was subjected to not just sharp criticism from the BJP, but also gross acts vandalism by alleged members of BJP-affiliated outfits like the Bajrang Dal.

"BJP workers and supporters came and urinated in front my house. :rotfl: Where was Modi then? Where was he when I was being attacked by Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Prakash Javdekar and others?" he said today.

A year ago, almost to the day, Mr Ramesh, then Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation., had said, "I think toilets are more important than temples. No matter how many temples we go to, we are not going to get salvation. We need to give priority to toilets and cleanliness."

BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy slammed him saying, "It would be good for Mr Ramesh that out of his exuberance he stops making such comments which will destroy the fine fabric of religion and faith."

Atri wrote:
ramana wrote:Atri and Bji, Since you guys have long memories or capability to get the info, was BJP hijacked during the late 70s-80s? IOW did BJP become the INC of post-Independence India?

It is reverse, saar.. it is syndicate ousting IG type.. kind of what would have happened if Patel were PM instead of JLN..
Atri-ji,
Not to sound contrarian, but did the syndicate have any vastly different ideas about economic policies or minority appeasement? Morarji was against nationalisation of banks, but apart from that, there was no comprehensive attack on the socialistic thrust that IG spearheaded. As far as I can remember, only the Swatantra Party had a liberal economic policy. Even the Jan Sangh lurched between socialism and liberal economic policies.

And does anyone remember if the Swatantra party had any comprehensive counter to minority appeasement by the Congress?

vishvak wrote:Is making anti Hindu remarks secular? Shouldn't a minister talking like this be dragged to courts?

Such anti Hindu remarks are criminal in nature.

He could have said toilets are more important than places of worship but he didn't it means he has no standards at all.
so why didn't any of the so-called hindutva groups like VHP do just that ? talk is cheap.
I cant imagine anyone getting away with making similar comments about other religions.

I think Archanji answered RahulMji's question partially :D

But I think it is both the strength and weakness of Hinduism. Its lack of one specific way and one specific artifact. Hinduism is THE INTELLECT in every Hindu. It was the strength that protected Hinduism in spite of destruction of countless Hindu temples and forced conversions of tens of millions of Hindus. Every Hindu is a microcosm of Hinduism, thus as long as a single free intellect remains there, Hinduism exists.

At the same time this is also its weakness in putting a common face against enemy onslaught. My preferences that contradict others', say Archanji, would ensure that neither of us can be flag bearer of Hinduism.

nageshks wrote:
That may turn out to be a `brilliant tactical strike', similar to that our neighbours are so fond of. Myself, I prefer the BJP utilise the NaMo wave to become an all India party, with a solid base in every state.

I don't think that is smart. If the local BJP hasn't been able to make progress in 60 yrs they are unlikely do so in 6 mths. It is like NM wave taking over WB. I will be happy but unlikely to happen. Some alliances in T and SA is necessary.

vivek.rao wrote:If they align with YSRCP, my repsect for Modi will be all gone. Not with looter gang. No way. Politically beneficial for short term or not. It would be a reprehensible move
What would be the objective for Modi at this time?
To capture power.

YSRCP is INC B team form all appearances.
YSRCP has big sympathy wave in parts of AP.
YSRCP will give tough fight to TDP if its led by CBN

YSRCP is offering to align with BJP for its own reasons
Despite being a most loyal supporter of INC with funds, political power he has been jailed

TDP is showing reluctance even after double defeats to ally with BJP

Modi is objective should be to prevent INC from capturing power.
How can he do this?
- Make sure TDP wins
- And supports BJP to form the govt

BJP has to keep its options open to ensure TDP allies with it.
BJP has to ensure that its allies win in AP
Thanks Ramanaji for initial thoughts. I am still in contemplation mode.

What is the objective of NM and India in 2014 elections?
How should it be achieved?
What value YSRCP/TDP bring on to table?
If Andhras always voted for a strong/decisive leader (NTR, CBN, YSR) then will they vote for YSJ or CBN now?
Does CBN of 2013 demonstrate the same level of decisiveness and conviction as the CBN of 1995?
What social networks get separated from Congress-system if YSJ/CBN ally with NM?
What is the best combination to sweep both sides of AP (SA & T) - is it NM+YSJ or NM+CBN?
What damage will be done to congress-system if YSJ/CBN ally with NM?
Who will be a more loyal/reliable and capable partner to NM in AP, YSJ or CBN?

harbans wrote:Shauch is one of the core 10 ingredients of a Dharmic society/ person.
Satya vachan!

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 2#p1520502
DHRITI, KSHAMA, DAMAH, ASTYEYA,
SHAUCHA, INDRYIA-NIGRAHA
DHEE, VIDYA, SATYAM, AKRODHA
--- These are the ten indicators of a person performing dharma
5. SHAUCHA means cleanliness. The cleanliness here refers to the body, the mind, the environment and the thought process. It is not possible to perform dharma with an unclean body or unclean mind or in unclean surroundings or with unclean thoughts. SHAUCHA in our context therefore means your ability to cleanse and permanently keep clean you body, your mind, your surroundings and your thoughts.

Supratik wrote:
nageshks wrote:

I don't think that is smart. If the local BJP hasn't been able to make progress in 60 yrs they are unlikely do so in 6 mths. It is like NM wave taking over WB. I will be happy but unlikely to happen. Some alliances in T and SA is necessary.
Supratik-ji,
I don't think the BJP can take over Bengal in one election, unless it is an NTR type miracle. But whenever the local BJP has built up a base (this was true in both Andhra and Bengal in the late 90s - they had a solid base in Telangana in 1998 and they were growing into a reasonable force in northern Bengal), the Delhi based leadership has managed to destroy it by going into a `tactically brilliant' alliance with the TDP and the TMC respectively. In fact, very nearly the same thing happened in Karnataka in 1999 and Assam in 2001 as well, when the BJP went into an alliance with JD(U) and AGP, nearly destroying both parties. From the depths of that abyss, the BJP has been clawing back in Assam and Karnataka, and now AP as well, it seems - but this is more because the JD(U) in Karnataka and the AGP in Assam went into a death spiral in the wake of successive electoral defeats, and Chandrababu is following suit now. Going into an alliance simply makes it impossible for the BJP to grow, and the alliances often come at the expense of alienating the core principles of the BJP. The BJP's lack of growth in these areas can be blamed precisely on the Delhi leadership's penchant for alliances.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

^^ Jagan in the short term will divert you like Laloo/Mulyam. He is a baggage. The goal of Modi is Governance,Development and Appeasement of None. India First. We can't go this way of End justifies Means.

nageshks wrote: Atri-ji,
Not to sound contrarian, but did the syndicate have any vastly different ideas about economic policies or minority appeasement? Morarji was against nationalisation of banks, but apart from that, there was no comprehensive attack on the socialistic thrust that IG spearheaded. As far as I can remember, only the Swatantra Party had a liberal economic policy. Even the Jan Sangh lurched between socialism and liberal economic policies.

And does anyone remember if the Swatantra party had any comprehensive counter to minority appeasement by the Congress?

And why do you think NaMo has vastly different ideas from what PVNR envisioned and ABV carried out? at this moment, no one can afford to go all out like Swatantra party on economic right.. NaMo too will go slowly. His first job on economic front is bringing desh on trajectory that ABV left 10 years ago without overdoing it. Syndicate was more "federal" in structure (something NaMo repeatedly said), than IG. Under syndicate, India would have achieved more federal structure.

What I am worried about more is, whether India under syndicate would have received USSR support against Pakis and USA in 71 war or not? Things are different now, but it is the dilli-billi understanding of DIEnasty-Paki elite, AS elite which is forcing TSP to go easy on India while they are on watch. I time and again draw analogy from Panipat 3.0. I fear people might expel me from here for bringing Panipat everywhere. But it is really a fascinating moment of truth in Indian history. Indian force is forced to fight a two-front war, and until it defeats and finishes off the enemies on both fronts, whatever we (they) hoped to achieve cannot be achieved. Sensing that one is not prepared, Indian force chooses to molly-coddle the resident evil while trying to quarantine it. It successfully does but expends lot of resources and time - much cheaper would have been direct battle to death - but given the operational preparedness of Indian army (then and perhaps now) was in tatters to fight a two-front war forces the polity to compromise and allow the evil to survive.

It really confuses me. Why did not TSP attack India in April or June 1971 when Himalayan passes are open and when China could have pressurized India and India would have forced to fight a three-front war apart from 7th US fleet in IOR?

Any war with TSP is coupled with huge riots inside country, increased Jihadi and Maoist insurgency from Nepal, BD and rest of India, and increased missionary activity and increased chinese deployment on border. The genie is bottled (it is growing stronger within) by connections of dilli-billi who's only worry is to avoid this flare up while they are on the watch - Not on my watch - is the only concern.

harbans wrote:Shauch is one of the core 10 ingredients of a Dharmic society/ person.

So Shauch is cleanliness(in all pahses of life) and gutter/limited knowledge minds like Togadia and Jairam Ramesh thoguht it refers to toilets.

nageshks wrote:
Gus wrote:
This is what Togadia is supposed to have said (exact words, or their translation, I guess) according to MSM.

"We are stunned and shocked to hear about the unnecessary mention of temples by Narendra Modi in a statement wherein he was talking about the need for better sanitation facilities in the country," the VHP international working president said in a statement.

"We too believe in the need for better hygiene. But the way temples were dragged in the matter was uncalled for. "It is nothing short of an insult to the Hindu society,"

I do not find myself in agreement with Togadia's words often, but in this case, I completely agree with Togadia that Modi's remarks were uncalled for.
+ 1

Surprised to find myself in agreement with Togadia. What did NaMo hope to achieve with that statement? People revere him, for being a Hindutva leader & he is going pillar to post saying he is not. Doesn't make me any less NaMo fan but these kind of statements do more damage than good.

So Shauch is cleanliness(in all pahses of life) and gutter/limited knowledge minds like Togadia and Jairam Ramesh thoguht it refers to toilets.
Saar that's what NaMo also meant by Shauchalaya. He referred to sanitation facilities i.e. toilets.

Chandragupta wrote:
nageshks wrote:

+ 1

Surprised to find myself in agreement with Togadia. What did NaMo hope to achieve with that statement? People revere him, for being a Hindutva leader & he is going pillar to post saying he is not. Doesn't make me any less NaMo fan but these kind of statements do more damage than good.
“Dhrati Kshama Damah Asteyam Shouchamindriyanigrhah

Dhi vidya satyamakrodho dashakam dharma lakshanam”

Manu Maharaj on ten signs of Dharma.

Rahul M wrote: so why didn't any of the so-called hindutva groups like VHP do just that ? talk is cheap.
I cant imagine anyone getting away with making similar comments about other religions.

I think Archanji answered RahulMji's question partially :D

But I think it is both the strength and weakness of Hinduism. Its lack of one specific way and one specific artifact. Hinduism is THE INTELLECT in every Hindu. It was the strength that protected Hinduism in spite of destruction of countless Hindu temples and forced conversions of tens of millions of Hindus. Every Hindu is a microcosm of Hinduism, thus as long as a single free intellect remains there, Hinduism exists.

At the same time this is also its weakness in putting a common face against enemy onslaught. My preferences that contradict others', say Archanji, would ensure that neither of us can be flag bearer of Hinduism.
archan's comment echoes mine.

all it takes is one person (even you) or organisation to launch a case against the fellow. high falutin ideas like common face or flag bearer of hinduism are not needed.

p.s. enough of the 10 signs of a dharmic person line of discussion.
- Rahul.

The job of Raja is to built Shauchalayas (along with other infrastructure).. It isn't the job of Raja to build temples (at least not in current sekoolar era we live in).

There was a huge twitter war yesterday on this very issue. NaMo is displaying his Savarkaraite tendencies. I love him for that, but Savarkar was viewed slightly arrogant for such upfront views on Hindu reform. He could afford it because he was not in electoral politics and was a thinker. NaMo is in electoral politics and that too on very crucial cusp of Indian history. He should not take Hindus for granted. It is the dedicated cadres of RSS-parivar who will be working for him day and night all over - not some yuppy MBA learning kids. It matters to them.

It won't matter in this election. But people do remember such things.. hardly anyone saw this speech on TV with context. MSM played this out of context over and over again. very few people actually saw it entirely on youtube.

Also, he should spend more time on connecting with rural people. Urban votes, more or less are in his pocket now..

Chandragupta wrote:
ramana wrote:Shauch is one of the core 10 ingredients of a Dharmic society/ person.

Saar that's what NaMo also meant by Shauchalaya. He referred to sanitation facilities i.e. toilets.
No, Jairam said toilet is holier than temple.While, Modi said "Shouchalaya" first and "Devalaya" later and used the word devalaya (generic word applies to even mosques and churches).
Last edited by Sushupti on 03 Oct 2013 21:03, edited 1 time in total.

And let me tell everyone bluntly. Anybody who think that Modi insulted Hindus or Hinduism by that statement you all are advised to join Kangressi Shankaracharya Swami Swaroopananda Sarswati and protect Dhrma and Hinduism for Nehru dynasty.

nageshks wrote:
Supratik-ji,
I don't think the BJP can take over Bengal in one election, unless it is an NTR type miracle. But whenever the local BJP has built up a base (this was true in both Andhra and Bengal in the late 90s - they had a solid base in Telangana in 1998 and they were growing into a reasonable force in northern Bengal), the Delhi based leadership has managed to destroy it by going into a `tactically brilliant' alliance with the TDP and the TMC respectively. In fact, very nearly the same thing happened in Karnataka in 1999 and Assam in 2001 as well, when the BJP went into an alliance with JD(U) and AGP, nearly destroying both parties. From the depths of that abyss, the BJP has been clawing back in Assam and Karnataka, and now AP as well, it seems - but this is more because the JD(U) in Karnataka and the AGP in Assam went into a death spiral in the wake of successive electoral defeats, and Chandrababu is following suit now. Going into an alliance simply makes it impossible for the BJP to grow, and the alliances often come at the expense of alienating the core principles of the BJP. The BJP's lack of growth in these areas can be blamed precisely on the Delhi leadership's penchant for alliances.

WB has fundamental problems as the population has been brainwashed for 5 decades on socialist cool-aid. Anyway, what I meant was that NM can stretch the vote share of BJP to 9-10% in T and 5% in SA at best. Clearly that is not going to help. So alliances are necessary. However, if there is a NM wave BJP can bargain for more seats with alliance partners. Also if you study the growth of BJP in North and West it was through alliances in many places and later the alliance partner disintegrated leaving the BJP the main anti-INC party. You are seeing only the failures.

Sushupti saar, it is not about insulting Hindus. NaMo did not insult anyone & his statement is absolutely statesman like. I only question the need of making that statement & the way he said it. It was almost like he is trying to shed & amuse his own 'Hindutvawadi' image. That should be left in the gray. He should never comment on Hindutva, let his image be defined by his supporters.

Modi never speaks empty words.
Modi announces Rs 300-cr public toilets scheme for urban poor

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/m ... 958285.ece

CASE STUDIES

Title
IMPROVING SANITATION IN URBAN SLUMS THROUGH PROVISION OF INDIVIDUAL TOILETS, AHMEDABAD (GUJARAT)

http://www.niua.org/case_studies_des.as ... GUJARAT%29
Last edited by Sushupti on 03 Oct 2013 21:15, edited 1 time in total.