Discussion on Indian Epics, Texts, Treatises & Kathas

Re: Discussion on Indian Epics, Texts, Treatises & Kathas

^^huh! once you have made up your mind what can one explain or not. You have stated your conviction as the thesis in your statements.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Tony ji had posted the below in the Buddhism-Political Contributions thread:
And your Dvaita and Advaita discredit each other. Your Vaishnavas and Saivas discredit each other, your Upanishads discredit your Vedas, etc. Also Sankara's Advaita was conceived by Gaudapada which is a rip off of Nagarjuna's Madhyamika.
I know energy has many forms, didn't know noise too has many forms. And it is getting irritatingly shrill.
venug wrote:... Daivata and Advaita are parts of Vedas too, Hindu philosophers who are interested in one stream of thought expounded on them, no conflict unless you want it to be so. Similarly no conflict between Shiva and Vishnu either, JohneeG ji too had posted, here:
Shivaaya Vishnu Roopaaya Shiva Roopaaya Vishanave |
Shivasya Hrudayam Vishnur Vishnuscha Hrudayam Shivaha ||
Yatha Shivamayo Vishnuhu Yevam Vishnu Mayaha Shivaha |
Yathaantharam Na Paschyaami Thatha Me Swasthi Ra Yushi ||

Wasting time gurus. Let him rant.

On animal-sacrifice and meat-eating (on rare, solemn occasions of yajna):

This is Skandasvāmi's (circa 4th-5th century) opinion, the earliest surviving commentator on the Rg Veda. His point is that the tradition's justification is the efficacy of the sacrifice in the context of a paśubandha-that the rite is nonfunctional without the animal offering on the one hand, and that the act of violence occurs in a circumscribed space. Capital and fossil fuels, the extraction of both of which creates massive suffering on a world wide scale, is justified for the same reason, that these things are necessary in order for the world order to function. In the second case (of overuse in the world), there is an ativyāpti or over application of the sphere of influence within which acts of violence are justified as necessities. Ethically speaking there is no question that the second action is more reprehensible than the first, though that does not make the first activity somehow morally neutral.

Agnimitra, I am reading Dr V.M. Apte's "Religious and Social Life in the Grihya Sutras" written in 1939. Its from archive.org

Amazing how the customs haven't changed much. We now allow sugar instead of Khandasari jaggery! Bombay Rawa instead of broken wheat.

The curd rice recipe is the same even now. Only it has polished white rice now.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

When Dasaratha performs aswamedha yagna, the description of how the horse was killed is bit graphic and gruesome. Kausalya(?) also had to sleep with the horse carcass one night without any fear.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Another interesting tit-bit is when Sri Rama and Lakshmana fall to the ground bound by naga-astra, Garuda comes to their rescue. But interestingly he addresses Sri Rama as a close friend, even though he very well knew the true form of Sri Rama. That puzzles me about the nature of relationship between Garuda and Maha Vishnu, do they consider themselves as close friends unlike Hanuman and Sri Rama or something else that I don't understand?
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

venug wrote:When Dasaratha performs aswamedha yagna, the description of how the horse was killed is bit graphic and gruesome. Kausalya(?) also had to sleep with the horse carcass one night without any fear.
It is/was a ritual...the sense that the horse sacrificed (allowed to be sacrificed) is rewarded by Queen of the King (Who performed Ashwamedha) honoring the horse. In reality what happened.. other Gurus may add. (Jaimini's Ashwamedha may have more elaborate details).

BTW.. same thing was done by Draupadi when Yudhishthir performed Ashwamedha yajna (after the war).
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

venug wrote:Another interesting tit-bit is when Sri Rama and Lakshmana fall to the ground bound by naga-astra, Garuda comes to their rescue. But interestingly he addresses Sri Rama as a close friend, even though he very well knew the true form of Sri Rama. That puzzles me about the nature of relationship between Garuda and Maha Vishnu, do they consider themselves as close friends unlike Hanuman and Sri Rama or something else that I don't understand?
These types of issues arise when narration from one Ramayana is combined with narration of Valmiki Ramayana (This is not to say that Valmiki Ramayana is internally consistent...100%. Well, it is not and I truly admire the courage of redactors to copy it as is....to the best of their ability.. for posterity.. us.)

Ramayana have few mentions of Rama and Laxmana being compared with Indra and Vishnu. And this sequence is worth taking into account. Rama is compared with Indra and Laxmana is compared with Vishunu. (Also, if my memory serves me right, Vishnu is described as younger brother of Indra).

Venug,
My understanding is per Shri RamcharitraManas(and I recite Shri Ramcharitmanas, but studied Valmiki Ramayan when I was probably 12-14 years of age (as a substitute to Amar Chitra Katha, by then I had read almost all ACK, so do not remember what is there), is that Ravana had a boon that he will not be killed by anyone except human and vanaras. Lord took Avatara as human in human capacity (unlike Shri Krishna, where Shri Krishna claimed multiple times that he is the supreme lord). So (if it is possible for God to forget that he is God), he did no miracles, he did everything that human could do (only that he did it better than anyone else). So touching Ahiliya and turning her back into human (from stone) was because his guru Vishwamitra asked him to. Even after Ravana is killed, Lord Brahma says to Rama that you are God, he replies back, you know best, in fact all Human's are God as they ahve divinity in them.
So it may be that when Garuda came, he came to Human God, and when Rama askes why you help, he says I am your friend. On another note, if I remember my ACK right, when Lord Vishnu gives boon to Garuda, he accepts him as his friend (though Garuda may treat him as his Lord).
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Nilesh ji, thank you. That is very interesting comparison. I couldn't have guessed such a comparison. I would think the comparison would be:
Rama->Maha Vishnu and Sesha->Lakshmana.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

fanne ji, your explanation makes sense. Yes could be Garuda didn't want to divulge Sri Rama's true form. It sometimes is difficult to imagine Sri Rama doesn't know who he really is. Also couple of times he refers obliquely to Sita as five headed serpent to mean Gayatri. Only other person to know Sita's true form is Anasuya(?)

fanne wrote: is that Ravana had a boon that he will not be killed by anyone except human and vanaras. Lord took Avatara as human in human capacity
That is what I remember too. In fact, Ravana had this fantastic ego that they - humans and vanaras - are so inconsequential that he can easily defeat them in a duel/battle/war.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 10 Oct 2013 06:59, edited 1 time in total.

Actually many sears knew Ram's true form (It was Treta yuga after all, contrast that with Dwapar, where, Duryodhana/shishupala etc does not get Lords true form, even when told by other, and then contrast with today's Kaliyuga, where sears are hunted)...In one of the shrams Rama visits (I forget the name of the Rishi), the guru dakshina asked is that the student get the teacher darshan of the Lord, when Rama arrives, the student takes him to his teacher (fter waiting years) to fulfill his dakshina. In fact while Rama returns, many Rishis say they knew the future, but just kept mum.

See some of the great episodes from Ramanad Sagr, where Shri Ram says he is human and learned sages say he is God (and more), see first few minutes please
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOLIhT1uyp4
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

fanne wrote:Actually many sears knew Ram's true form (It was Treta yuga after all, contrast that with Dwapar, where, Duryodhana/shishupala etc does not get Lords true form, even when told by other, and then contrast with today's Kaliyuga, where sears are hunted)...In one of the shrams Rama visits (I forget the name of the Rishi), the guru dakshina asked is that the student get the teacher darshan of the Lord, when Rama arrives, the student takes him to his teacher (fter waiting years) to fulfill his dakshina. In fact while Rama returns, many Rishis say they knew the future, but just kept mum.

See some of the great episodes from Ramanad Sagr, where Shri Ram says he is human and learned sages say he is God (and more), see first few minutes please
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOLIhT1uyp4
Fanne ji,

What you said (many seers knowing true form of Rama) can also be said about Krishna (in Dwapara Yuga).

Both in Ramayana (Shabari, many sages) and Mahabharata (Bhishma, Vyasa, Yudhishthir, Vidur...etc.).... there were few who recognized special (manifested or unmanifested) divine qualities of Rama or Krishna, even during their (Rama/Krishna) times.

TonySoprano wrote:
VikramS wrote:The irony of the EJ poison is that the EJs themselves have destroyed native cultures globally, completely crushed them, taken their lands, their people. On the other hand in India the tribals & adivasis have continued to live in the same regions over tens of centuries.

So the people who have committed cultural & physical genocide are now preaching to the adivasis about how their country-men have abused them?
Please see in Arthashaastra how Chanakya advised rulers to deal with Adivasis (he said to poison them with liquour...sound familiar?).
Chanakya acquired the support of 'Vanvaasis'(not 'Adhivaasis'). This support was instrumental in overthrowing the Nandhas.

So, Chanakya had Vanvaasi friends and allies. So, your rant has no meaning. Anyway, when you make a claim, then try to furnish some sources for your claims. Almost always, all your claims are based on nothing more than your personal bias and vivid anti-Hindhu imagination. You remind me of one Gottipatti. He was also very similar to you. The lack of logic is the common trait apart from hating the Hindhuism.

So, please provide sources to back up your claims on Chanakya's 'hate' for Vanvaasis.
TonySoprano wrote: Buddy I am no fan of Christianity, look at some of my posts in "Global Christianity" thread. Please stop calling all those who criticize Hindus/caste system as agents of EJ or Ummah, and please what does a war (I doubt ancient civilizations could sustain "hundreds of thousands" of dead) have to do with a deliberate murder of six tribals? Vyasa has described them as "nirdosha" when you read Mahabharata. Again I beg of you to accept these shortcomings of Hindu society and work towards a more egalitarian future instead of having "all WAS well" mentality in regards to ancient Bharat.
You may or maynot be a fan of EJs or colonials or commies. But most of what you write is inspired from their point of view. So, even if you are not aware of it, you are still peddling their point of view.

No, those six tribals were not murdered. It was a case of accident.

See,
Kunthi organized a feast for people. All segments of society(and prominently the Brahmins) were invited. Tribals also came to the feast. These six tribals also attended that party. They became drunk and slept in some corner of the palace. After the feast, when everyone left, Bhima put the mansion on fire. Because they knew the plan of Dhuryodhana's aide Purochana to put the mansion on fire on that day. So, they acted before Purochana and escaped through the tunnel that was dug for them by a miner sent by the Vidhura.

Pandavas did not know of the tribals being in the mansion. Purochana died along with the six tribals. People of Varaanavatha concluded that perhaps the Pandavas died and Purochana also died. They immediately realized that this must have been the plan of Dhuryodhana. Everyone realized that this must have been a conspiracy to kill Pandavas.

Pandavas did not go back to Hasthinapura because they realized that their lives were now in danger and Dhuryodhana could and would attempt further assassinations. Dhuryodhana had all the state power at his disposal.

Pandavas returned to Hasthinapura only after they acquired relation with Dhurpadha(Paanchaala). Then, Dhurtha-rashtra decided to split the kingdom. He could not completely deny Pandava claim anymore, yet he did not want to deny his own son either. So, he found this splitting as a convenient method. Even here, he cheated the Pandavas. He gave them uninhabited parts of the Kingdom.

Pandavas established city in that uninhabited parts by clearing the forests. Then, they launched Dighvijaya Yathra after covertly killing Jarasandha. Finally, they performed Rajsuya. Dhuryodhana acquired the Pandava wealth by cheating them again(in a game of dice). He went further and ended up insulting their wife(this was his big mistake).

Then we have the complete genocide of the aboriginal (possibly Mongoloid) Nagas in the infamous Khandavan forest burning where innocent animals along with the Nagas were burnt alive by Krishna and Arjuna on the orders of a Brahmin (Agni in disguise it turns out). There is the heartbreaking story of the wife of Naga Takshak being murdered by the coward Arjuna as she sacrifice herself to save her son (later killed by deceit by Arjuna in Kurukshetra war). Its worth noting that these two incidents are glossed over or sanitized by many Hindu apologists (please see the version depicted by BR Chopra for example).
BR Chopra version is entertainment. Thats all.

Nagas are not mongoloid, miyan. If you want to use your imagination(and say 'most probably'), then each to his own. One can claim that Arjuna was mongoloid and Nagas are Caucasians 'most probably'. Anyone can claim anything.

And anyway, Arjuna married a Naga princess named Ulupi. So, that busts your silly theories about persecution of Nagas by the Pandavas. Infact, Arjuna was revived after death by Ulupi.

Next, Takshaka was the friend and ally of Indhra. Indhra is the King of Gods. You are cleverly trying to portray Agni as Brahmin and hence responsible for the persecution of Nagas. Then, what would you say about Indhra protecting Takshaka?

And, Nagas did not reside in Khaandava. Only Takshaka and his family stayed there. The Nagas reside underwater. Their capital is called Bhogavathi. Takshaka already left Khaandava. His wife died in Khaandava. So, where is the persecution of Nagas by Paandavas that you claim? So, one Naga died in Khaandava. She was the wife of Takshaka. Takshaka's son escaped from Khaandava thanks to Indhra. So, where is the genocide of Nagas that you claim?

Nagas are the sons of Kadhru and Kashyapa. Kashyapa is also the father of Dhevas, Dhaithyas, Manushyas, animals and plants according to the MB.

Shesha left the Nagas because he was unhappy with their behaviour. He did tapasya and obtained the grace of Lord Vishnu.(And Garooda is the vehicle and banner of Vishnu) Eventually, Takshaka was saved from the Garooda by Shiva. Vaasuki became the adornment of Lord Shiva. Ganesha also uses the snakes as his adornments. And Kaaliya was saved from Garooda by Krushna.

Jarathkaaru, a rushi, married sister of Vaasuki. And Aasthika was born. BTW, finally, Nagas were saved by Aasthika, a brahmin boy. The original curse was given by the Kadhru, mother of Nagas. That curse was upheld by Lord Brahma because the nagas were cause for the death of many.

fanne, The new Ramayana on ZeeTv had that episode where that rishi awaits Rama's arrival and then becomes swargavasi.

I am somewhat busy at work. Will resume posting in Narendra Kohli thread in a few days. Sorry.

http://books.google.com/books?id=b7gOBW ... ni&f=false

Going by kacha's story, i feel it was devas all the way giving problems to asuras. Why were the devas after sanjivini? they had already taken the amrut after churning the ocean.

scroll down, it narrates, "in those days devas and asuras get to freely marry their cousins" - does this mean they married their cousins or cousins of devas and asuras do an inter-gana marrij?

SaiK, Shukracharya was reviving the ausuras after they were killed by the devas. Hence they sent Kacha to Shukracharya. Kacha was Brihaspati's son.

Shukracharya did not teach Kacha the mrutasanjivini mantra. He was forced to do that when the ausras got hold of Kacha and burnt him and mixed the ashes in liquor and fed it to Shukra. Davayani his daughter was in love with Kacha and implored her father to revive him. But if he did that he would himself die. So he taught the mantra and told Kacha to tear his stomach , come out and revive him. He did that. Now Devayani wants Kacha to marry her. He comes up with lame excuse that having emerged from Shukra's stomach he was akin to being her brother. Now he has his anatomy confused per the modern mind.

Devayani later married Yayati and is of the founding dynasty of the Yadavas and eventually the Pandavas.

Ramanaji

Small correction. It was Puru, Yayati's son thru sarmishta that is root person of Kauravas and Pandavas. The sons of Yayati and Devayani did not accept Yayati's request, hence were asked to go to distant places and start their kingdoms there.

I meant Yayati is the progenitor. She married him and is thus part of the founding family.

thank you ramana. got the context now.

In Virata Paravam a phrase occurs: "desha kalaadi". Kripacharya says to Karna "You don't know desha kaaladi ways and always speak inappropriately". "Desha" means place including state or nation/kingdom. Kaala means time. The meaning of Kripa's admonition is Karna doesn't know when and what to say! "There is a time and place for everything" is the English saying.

On the contrary, Sugriva embraces Hanuman in Valmiki Ramayana just before the group sets of in the Southern direction and says to him" You are a person who is aware of desha kalaadi and are the most likely to find Sita"

I think our forum would be much better if we understood the meaning of this phrase and learn to use it here and in our lives.

I am including myself though I have tried to conform to it by and large.

it reflects tech buzz word for me - states and time. info, state transition based on time... and he can store complete state transitions with time and events.

ramana, I was close per:

Before the Beginning and After the End: Beyond the Universe of Physics ... By Rishi Kumar Mishra

http://books.google.com/books?id=ML3p93 ... la&f=false

It is Space-Time

also defined here:
http://www.swamij.com/yoga-sutras-24953.htm

so, vayu putra could teach us these lessons:
- how to keep your breath in space and time continuum
- how various strategies and living systems are controlled by space & time alone
- almost everything in the universe can be modeled with this concept
- how much control or imagination we have to predict/model?

also, for me onlee: how much space and time i should allocate myself for posting on BRF. what info space I should try to reach within what time, or period. what spaces i should let it go.

both the refs in Ramayana and MB are to the control of mind over the tongue keeping time and place in view. That is not do inappropriate things.

right.. it also requires that minimum knowledge to reason if the given path is appropriate or not. there may be only subtle difference in certain boundary values to analyze and difficult to judge putting ourselves like a cat on the wall.

johneeG wrote:...
Nagas are not mongoloid, miyan. If you want to use your imagination(and say 'most probably'), then each to his own. One can claim that Arjuna was mongoloid and Nagas are Caucasians 'most probably'. Anyone can claim anything.

And anyway, Arjuna married a Naga princess named Ulupi. So, that busts your silly theories about persecution of Nagas by the Pandavas. Infact, Arjuna was revived after death by Ulupi.

One other thing to mention is that the king of Nagas was actually related to Kunti. When Bheema was a boy, he was poisoned by Duryodhana when they went on a picnic, and when Bheema fell asleep, they tied him and dropped him into river Ganga. He sank and went to Naga loka, where the snakes bit him, and that sort of acted against the poison of Duryodhana, and he woke up. He then started fighting with the snakes when the Naga elders rushed there. On hearing his antecedents, the king was happy and welcomed him , and asked him to drink a special drink where each cup of it would give him strength equal to 1000 elephants. he managed to drink 8 cups and hence is supposed to have strength of 8000 elephants.

To claim Nagas were some unrelated folks who were suppressed is plain fantasy.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

ramana wrote:A few more nuggets.
- Duryodhana doesnt accept Bhisma's calender counting and sends a spy to ask Yudhistir if the exile period is over or not and accepts his word.
- When Urvasi gives shaap to Arjun to turn into a eunuch (Brihannala) Indra gives a boon that it will last only for one year and again right at time of go-grahana the disguise goes away again saying the one year is over.

My thinking is at the end of Dwapara and beginning of Kali the calender was changing from Lunar to Solar and hence this quandary.

Solar calender adherents were few in number but had important positions.
Duryodhana not accepting Bhishma's calculations and sending spy to Yudhi... Do you have Mahabharata Chapter/text references? I could not find them.
---------------

I went through Vana, Virata and Udyoga Parvas. Tired and exhausted. But was worth the effort. Now I have to do write up.

At high level, these are the conclusions...

- Pandavas completed 13 years by Solar calendar calculations.
-Useful byproducts of this investigation led to:

(1) time of the beginning of Pandava's exile (+/-1 month)
(2) Day of Uttara-Abhimanyu wedding could be estimated to be a period of 17 days (wedding occurred during this 17 day period)
(3) Day of Purohit of King Drupada leaving for Hastinapur could be estimated.
(4) Day of Kichaka Vadha could be estimated and also days when Arjuna came into the open and when all 5 Pandavas came out in the open from their Ajnatvas.

stay tuned....

Nilesh, Ch Koteswara Rao quotes the Andhra Mahabharatham about the episode of sending a spy to verify if exile period is over. Its in last chapter of Virata Parvam.

Also its about 15 days when Kichaka lays eyes on Sairandhri. And is dead two days later. She says to Sudeshna give me 13 days time to spend in Virata Nagara and would leave after doing good to the kingdom.

Also when the wrestler comes to Virata Nagar its 4 months of exile started.

Ch K Rao is very sure that the exile is over on the day of Dakshina Go Grahana when four of the Pandavas routed the Susarma's forces.

In Andhra Pradesh the traditional day when Arjuna routed the Kauravas is Vijaya Dasami.
Vamsi.R

Post by Vamsi.R »

can gurus please tell me a mahabharata book which is un-biased and un-abridged .
when i say un-biased,what i mean is that many books portray pandava's as righty and mighty and kourava's as cruel and wicked. but from little i have read here and there i have observed that even kouravas are equally brilliant and powerful etc

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parashurama Taking pity on her plight, the avatar agreed to fight his former student on her behalf. The battle lasted twenty-three days, by the end of which, both warriors were bloodied and filled with arrows. Bhishma had knowledge of the divine deadly weapon Prashwapa, which had the power to put a foe to sleep, and of which Parashurama was unaware. When he was about to use the celestial weaponry, all Gods rushed to Bhishma and asked him to hold his hand, as it would humiliate his guru. Out of respect, Bhishma acquiesced.
In the new much animated cgi MB version that runs on TV, the story was different. both bhishma and parashurama sends brahmastra and ?(from parasuram) and Lord siva consumes both weapons.

Now I did not understand why did Parshurama agreed to fight against Bhishma?

Nilesh Oak

Link:

http://www.telugubhakti.com/TELUGUPAGES ... ent405.htm

While marriage preparations were going in the Virata City, Suyodhana, along with Bheeshma, Drona and others was proceeding towards Hastinapura. On the way, they made a halt at one place.

Suyodhana entertained a doubt about the words of Bhishma with regard to completion of 13 years period. He consulted Karna and Sakuni. At their instance, he sent one emissary to Yudhishtira. That emissary spoke to Yudhishtira: "Dharmaja! Arjuna revealed himself before Kouravas even before completion of one year period of exile. It is our opinion. You better calculate the period of 12 years and one year exile and decide whatever is just and proper" said emissary.

Those words of the emissary sounded that "you have deliberately violated our agreement of 13years. Hence you have to go back to forest for 12 years."

Yudhishtira smiled and said: "We have completed 12years of living in forest and one year in exile successfully. Kindly tell these words to Suyodhana in the presence of Bhishma and Drona" said Yudhishtira. The emisaary returnedback to Suyodhana and told the same words.

Without disclosing the fact of sending emissary to Yudhishtira, Suyodhana told Bhishma: "We unnecessarily fought with Arjuna. We have not examiend the fact in detail whether Pandavas completed their 13 years as agreed and whether Arjuna revealed himself even before comletion of one year of exile. Let us decide about it" said Suyodhana.

"Suyodhana! please stop that discussion. Others will laught at us. Beholding Arjuna, I told you that they have completed the 13 years period, calculating the additional days occurring for every two years. Nofurther discussion is necessary. Let us go back to Hastinapura." said Bheeshma. Accordingly Suyodhana proceeded to Hastinapuram.

Vamsi, The Kauravas were adhramic even if they acted on occassion with brilliance. For instance personally Karna did a lot of charities but he was the prime instigator if not the only one to induce/encourage Duryodhana in his mis deeds.
Modern writers portray the good in Kauravas to equal the Pandavas to give blow to Sanathana Dharma. They don't care about the goodness in the Kauravas,
That is vakra bhasa and vakra tarakam.
MB is about dharma and dharma only.
It has complex characters.

Vamsi.R wrote:can gurus please tell me a mahabharata book which is un-biased and un-abridged .
when i say un-biased,what i mean is that many books portray pandava's as righty and mighty and kourava's as cruel and wicked. but from little i have read here and there i have observed that even kouravas are equally brilliant and powerful etc
Check out Kisari Mohan Ganguly's edition of Mahabharata, supposed to be one of the authentic translations of the text as is.

In Kannada, I have read parts of the Vyasa Bharatha with Sanskrit shlokas and kannada meaning/translations. It is a set of 30 or 32 books I think. May be available in other languages too.
Nilesh Oak

Post by Nilesh Oak »

Vamsi R,

What language(s) of translation (Mahabharata along with Sanskrit verses) is amenable to you? Sanskrit & Hindi, Sanskrit & English, etc..?

English or Telugu sir, u know any free download books?
L Ram

Post by L Ram »

Narayana Rao wrote:English or Telugu sir, u know any free download books?
You may be intrested in these links.

http://www.telugubhakti.com/telugupages ... bharat.htm

http://www.telugubhakti.com/telugupages ... ayanam.htm
Vamsi.R

Post by Vamsi.R »

L Ram wrote:
Narayana Rao wrote:English or Telugu sir, u know any free download books?
You may be intrested in these links.

http://www.telugubhakti.com/telugupages ... bharat.htm

http://www.telugubhakti.com/telugupages ... ayanam.htm
i have finished reading mahabharata from that website.. and can safely say that i was not satisfied with the info in it
Vamsi.R

Post by Vamsi.R »

Nilesh Oak wrote:Vamsi R,

What language(s) of translation (Mahabharata along with Sanskrit verses) is amenable to you? Sanskrit & Hindi, Sanskrit & English, etc..?
As Narayana Ji said english or telugu will do :)