Karan M wrote:I don't get this eating beef = evil stuff at all btw. I have hangups, others dont. Did our ancestors never eat beef?
If a man has a good life, respects his hindu faith etc and then eats beef, he becomes a non Hindu? Massive self goal IMHO. As long as eating beef is not akin to showing up the man/rebellion, don't see what the issue is..
Only Bos Indicus is proscribed. Bos Taurus should not be a problem! At least that is how I solved my "problem"!

How do we know this so called Vedic Cow eating Brahmins were not palm offs by Abrahmics trying to break core Dharmic habits. Anyways OT. Won't answer here. Every Indic trait was not Dharmic, even ancient times. There were expectations to be achieved. Cruelty to animals was certainly an avoidable trait to follow.

RajeshA wrote: Only Bos Indicus is proscribed. Bos Taurus should not be a problem! At least that is how I solved my "problem"!
There shouldn't be a problem in the first place. Eating Bos Indicus should not make you any less of a Hindu. Just a slightly different one from the majority. Anyone saying otherwise is committing an own goal. That is the argument.

TV9 - Sachin Tendulkar to campaign for Congress

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yLoiPOdzLtA

MP polls: Sachin Tendulkar, Shahrukh Khan to campaign for Congress

http://news.oneindia.in/bhopal/mp-assem ... 06831.html
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Sushupti wrote:Image

Big deal, both are idiots of 1st order w.r.t to politics/elections. I dont think they can influence one vote. Dozens of cricket stars/bollywood stars flock to Namo's office often. I think he sees it as time-waste to use them for campaign.

RajeshA wrote: Only Bos Indicus is proscribed. Bos Taurus should not be a problem! At least that is how I solved my "problem"!
There shouldn't be a problem in the first place. Eating Bos Indicus should not make you any less of a Hindu. Just a slightly different one from the majority. Anyone saying otherwise is committing an own goal. That is the argument.
nachiket ji,

Being Hindu is something that was discussed in the Bharatiya thread, and I was of the opinion, that Hindu identity has nothing to do with religion.

In short one who protects and fights for continued blooming of Bharatiya Sabhyata, preservation and enrichment of Bharatiya Sanskriti, for Bharatvarsha and for the rule of Dharma over Bharat is a Hindu.

muraliravi wrote:
Sushupti wrote:

Big deal, both are idiots of 1st order w.r.t to politics/elections. I dont think they can influence one vote. Dozens of cricket stars/bollywood stars flock to Namo's office often. I think he sees it as time-waste to use them for campaign.
Narendra Modi, a dream boy? BJP state units say no to film personalities for rallies; demand only Modi

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 455202.cms

There is a legal point being missed. Sachin Tendulkar is a nominated MP and per the Constitution nominated MPs cannot campign for political parties.

Most likely they will say he was member of the INC and got nominated by them.
But in what category?

Om baba, the front representative baba of Shobhan Sarkar, could be former con race supporter Om Awasthi from Merath. Post end of emergency he took sanyaas it seems.

so if SRT campaigns for INC, then can he be considered as being a card carrying member of INC? or even then, is there some illogical mind-numbing excuse waiting to be unleashed?

WTF!! (Couldn't find a thread for it)
Will Islamabad lay claim to the Unnao ‘treasure’?

Why should Pakistan be interested in archeological digging in India? It may be recalled that it was rumoured in 1976 that a treasure belonging to the Kachwaha rulers of Amber had been stacked in the Jaigarh Fort, Jaipur. The Income Tax authorities used metal detectors to carry out a search for ‘treasure’ between June-November 1976. However, it proved to be a futile exercise.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/News-Feed ... 38237.aspx
Is it an attempt to shipout the treasure looted by Sanjay Gandhi?

SRT won't campaign for congress. He is to nationalistic to be drawn into this dirt. If he does he is putting his credibility on line. To what end? To help congress? When the winds of change are blowing, does SRT have no sense to see this? Or does he think he can bat this way to 272 seats?

SRT will be able to do much more if he stays apolitical. Becoming a MP was a big mistake. Hope he does not commit harakiri.

The thread title is still "Narendra Modi vs the Dynasty: Contrasting Ideas of India". We are discussing from beef eating, Sachin, treasure to everything politics here :-)

vishvak wrote:Om baba, the front representative baba of Shobhan Sarkar, could be former con race supporter Om Awasthi from Merath. Post end of emergency he took sanyaas it seems.

ABP News special: Politics over excavation in Unnao

nachiket wrote:Looking at this thread and others on this forum, I get the feeling the others won't find me "pure" enough to be one.

the more saffron Vs less saffron :lol:

you think SRT is not a congressi...you must be less saffron (along with some other adjectives...self-proclaimed scientist whatever...)
you think asaram is not in the clear yet and let's wait for more information etc - you must be less saffron

the meat thing is confusing i must admit..are you more saffron if you eat meat and be a spirit warrior and be one with the tribals and eat lizards and be called 'dances with boars' ....or are you more saffron if you avoid meat and be a tree hugging eat what is only spilled in the roads.. :rotfl:

Well, according to Hindhu scriptures, cow slaughter is a big no no.

About eating beef, there seem to be several points in Hindhuism:
a) Hindhuism literally allows people to eat any and every meat. The only exception, as far as I understand is, human meat and cow meat. Basically, one is free to eat meat of buffalo, pig, giraffe, lion, elephant, rat, hen, peacock, ...etc according to Hindhuism. But, no cow meat and human meat.
b) Eating dog meat is considered a lowly.
c) Without exception, Hindhuism is also quite clear that not eating meat is higher than eating meat.
d) Eating meat is different from killing an animal. Because one can eat the meat after the animal is already dead(perhaps, killed by someone else or dead due to other reasons). So, one could still eat cow meat without killing the cows. This happens in certain areas in India. This is how certain sections of Hindhus got introduced to cow meat. During many great famines, people resorted to all sorts of behaviours to survive. One such behaviour was for poorer sections to scavenging for food. That included eating the meet of dead cows. This phenomenon seems to have developed in the jihadhi and brit rule(particularly in the brit rule).
e) Killing a cow is a strict no no. Perhaps, killing a cow is a bigger crime than killing a human being as far as Hindhuism is concerned.

I wonder if people would eat so much meat if they were forced to themselves rear the animal and make the kills every time they eat meat.

To argue that cow slaughter is not a big issue in Hindhuism is simply wrong. Modi himself understands the importance of cow of Hindhus quite well. He actually raised this issue in KT elections.

I think there are different phases in Modi's campaign. For sometime, Modi's whole campaign was centered around Hindhuism and Saadhu Sanths. Then, he went to another phase(without ditching the previous phase). In this phase, he is trying to gain the support of the fence sitters. In the final leg, I think he'll return to his core audience. Thats how I envision it. But, I think the Sb4D was faux pas and should not have been said.

Now, this kongi baba along with that statement may be used by the kongis to make it seem as if this is the Modi's advani-jinnah moment. So, to neutralize it, I think Modi needs to do some Hindhuthva posturing immediately.

-----
Sanku saar,
its given that lotus will always talk Hindhuthva. But, Modi needs to talk Hindhuthva otherwise kongis and their media will project it as a secular shift(like Lol Purush).
Sushupti wrote:Now it is safe to say that he was involved in match-fixing.

There is a youtube video (see the Tehelka/Manoj Prabhakar driven match fixing expose series) which shows a BCCI official mentioning the exact opposite. That in a match, the bookies had paid off several members of the team and put pressure on the juniors to fall in line. They went to SRT and Ganguly, and both held the line so to swing the match in India's favour.
Saar,
the person who told that story is totally unreliable. According to him, there never was any match fixing in the kirket. Yet, he wrote a book on match fixing in kirket. Basically, he keeps changing his stand to suit the prevailing winds. Such people's words should not be taken seriously.
Rudradev wrote:I have never met SRT but am acquainted with his wife's family. South Mumbai types with palatial flat, Alibaug beach house, club memberships, and many "artist/writer" jholawala hangers-on. Very vocally anti Hindootvavadi in the '92 days. I wouldn't be surprised if SRT was eating beef long before he met Wasim Akram.
His major successes seem to have happened after he met his wife. As he grew closer to his wife(girlfriend), more success he seems to have enjoyed. Within an year of their marriage, he got a chance to captain the team. But he had really poor run there and resigned. After that, he enjoyed a real purple patch for some time.

All in all, his wife is very luck for him.
Sushupti wrote:
Narayana Rao wrote:Just reading in state wide elections thead that Tendulkar will canvas for congress in Delhi. It seems he joined mafia. Great move. Already a RS member and will be minister if upa3 comes.

Now it is safe to say that he was involved in match-fixing.
If I remember correctly, there was a video where a bookie(an ex-ranji cricketer) made this allegation on SRT indirectly. He said that some new bowler was chosen. That bowler was told that he would have to give away runs. He would get a particular over(say 11th over). That player was taken to a nice hotel and gals were pimped to him to keep in nice spirits.

On the match day, he got the chance to bowl. And as said, it was 11th over. But, the bowler was too tense and he backed out of it at the last moment and did not make the signal that he was going to give away runs.

But, the crucial point is the fixers were able to fix when he was going to get the bowling. That means the captain was fixed. Who was the kaptaan? You guess...

that story was told by a bookie. Don't know how true it is.
I don't get this eating beef = evil stuff at all btw. I have hangups, others dont. Did our ancestors never eat beef?
If a man has a good life, respects his hindu faith etc and then eats beef, he becomes a non Hindu? Massive self goal IMHO. As long as eating beef is not akin to showing up the man/rebellion, don't see what the issue is..
Saar,
what does respecting Hindhu faith mean? Hindhu faith says not to eat beef or at least don't hurt cows and don't support anyone who does that. So, how can one respect the Hindhu faith and still eat beef? The only excuse can be ignorance. One can only claim that they don't know about this Hindhu injunction. But, if one knows it and yet violates it, then they cannot be said to be respecting the Hindhu faith.

My point is not whether people should eat beef or not. Its up to them to decide for themselves. But, there should be clarity on what is allowed and not allowed in Hindhuism. That should not be misrepresented, even in our own minds. Obviously, all of us were not born with a beef piece in our mouths. So, we can give up if we want to. Similarly, we can take it up if we want to. So, the choice is always left to the people. But, whether it is supported by the Hindhuism or not is a more important question that is above the whims and fancies of people.

But, I agree with you. Just because a person was force fed the beef does not make him a non-Hindhu. He has enough prayas-chittha karmas available if need be.

-----
About gold:
ASI may succeed in finding the gold. Because the kongi baba seems very confident. He says he is ready to cut his head if the gold is not found in that letter.

Anyway, even if that baba has real powers, I am not impressed. Miracles and magical powers may be enough in X-ism. But in Hindhuism, what matter is how the powers and strengths are used. Ravana had more magical powers than Shri Rama. But Hindhus worship Rama, not Ravana. Because what matter is Dharma, not magical powers or strength or beauty....etc.

And that Kongi baba or his front should explain why they are not writing letters to Antonio demanding apologies denying the existence of Shri Rama in court affidavits on Ram Sethu.

nachiket ji, bait and switch tactics aside, I'll concede that this thread has a strong pro-Namo tilt. I don't there's anything wrong with that.

the "dissent" is among few people who have been warning for a while that Modi should be not become equated with Hindutva. that one person should never become the flag bearer so completely, that his failures become failures of the movement.

there are many who argue that there is nothing wrong in doing that at the current moment b/c Modi is the best leader to take Hindutva forward.

that is content of this thread, summed up in a few lines.

I think some guys are taking Hindutva thingy too seriously. Modi himself says best form of secularism is development and to me that is Hindutva ; ghar mein goo khao ya suar usse kisi ko kya padi hai ?

Back to regular programming guys. There is the off-topic thread.....Who ever took this foto, should be invited to our photo dhaaga.

courtesy: http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/o ... epage=true which talks about Modi making a u-turn.

First and foremost goal of Hindutva should be the destruction of residues of Arabic/Turko and Whiteman's colonialism in India. I don't see Modi compromising on it yet. CVB is the proof.

Cross posting from states election thread.
Atri wrote:Wasn't Sachin Tendulkar's mother in law, who is a scottish lady, the classmate of Smt Soniya Gandhi ji?? remembered reading it somewhere..
Thanks for this Gyan Atri Ji.

On 24 May 1995,[47] at the age of 22, Tendulkar married Anjali, a paediatrician and daughter of Gujarati industrialist Anand Mehta and British social worker AnnabelMehta.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sachin_Ten ... sonal_life

http://www.hindustantimes.com/photos-ne ... 84928.aspx

Last edited by Sushupti on 22 Oct 2013 03:50, edited 4 times in total.

:oops: :oops:

JohneeG, until and unless you invented Hinduism, I am gonna take whatever you said about cows etc as your opinion, not fact. Tomorrow somebody will come and say eating fish is non Hindu. Then what. Respecting Hinduism means respecting Hindus across India all of whom have different practises. Some amount of homogeneity is good and a given, but when you folks start drawing lines saying x is not Hindu, y is, then I am going to plain and simple ask you- who went and made you the doyen of Hinduism or a God? Do you have a timeline of when eating cows was declared verboten in Hinduism? And on what basis? Per your arbitrary line in the sand, a man who leads a virtuous life, helps others, respects God/s but eats a cow now and then is a non Hindu.. whereas you'll be perfectly ok with an opportunist who exploits others but is a full vegetarian. Who is the better Hindu here?

And for that bit about human flesh. All these things get pretty hokey.. Let's take this..as an extreme example..So an air crash survivor has to eat/scavenge human flesh to survive to return to his family who are his number 1 priority... so he becomes a non Hindu? What then? An extreme case to point out that all these man made rules held as inviolate by some of y'all will fail in some cases.

This sort of stuff was exactly what was used to whittle away people from Hinduism by those who wanted it to be gone, in the past, and folks fell into the trap hook, line and sinker. Ah, that guy eats meat, touches nightsoil, is a scavenger - oh wait, if his shadow even falls on me, I will have a bath. Ah wait, widows -unclean. Wont visit their house, even though I am a holy so holy dude who is supposed to be above all this. Two real world examples I know of, no propaganda nothing.. such was the state of affairs. I am glad that the people whose ancestors, who committed such silly acts grew up, are still Hindus and won't do such stupid things today. But those who experienced the other side of this behaviour - they may have ended up becoming Buddhists or have a resentment against their fellow Hindus. And today, we have to work towards correcting those issues. Such a waste of time and energy, to have these pointless divisions amongst our own selves.

And now its beef/what have you. Its tiny in the overall scheme of things. You may disagree and absolutely detest the thought of eating beef. That's fine. But don't go telling me or others that those eating beef are any less Hindu than you. That doesn't fly boss.

As far as I am concerned, a person who respects SD- in all its flavours, is willing to defend it, and does not undertake actions out of malice, and tries to do good, is good enough to be a Hindu. All the rest is secondary. He/she should have the maturity to understand that there are Hindus who hate non veg, as there are those who love it. Live and let live and keep personal notions of who is a better Hindu (with or without the extra h) at home.
Last edited by Karan M on 22 Oct 2013 04:02, edited 2 times in total.

prescribing blanket rules of "excommunication" for silly things like meat eating is ultimate stupidity.

and all of this is OT thread material. we should stop before mods decide to axe.

So what is the real reason for Sid departing? Modi effect?

devesh wrote:nachiket ji, bait and switch tactics aside, I'll concede that this thread has a strong pro-Namo tilt. I don't there's anything wrong with that.

the "dissent" is among few people who have been warning for a while that Modi should be not become equated with Hindutva. that one person should never become the flag bearer so completely, that his failures become failures of the movement.

there are many who argue that there is nothing wrong in doing that at the current moment b/c Modi is the best leader to take Hindutva forward.

that is content of this thread, summed up in a few lines.
Saar, were you referring to someone else's post? I have no issues with the thread having a pro-Modi tilt. I'm one of the people supporting him. I have also argued for cutting him some slack during the entire "shouchalaya" episode because of this very reason. He is the best we've got as of now. No point in unnecessarily opposing him because of some small perceived "failure" on his part. You can criticize him all you want after he gets elected. Right now, there needs to be a united front to give him the best chance to do so.

RoyG wrote:So what is the real reason for Sid departing? Modi effect?
S. Swamy effect. What the newspaper Hindu did was purely and simply illegal. They had no option but ask Sid V. to depart and what a guy - felt he was entitled to be the editor - left with a bunch of sour grapes.

One can still hold Hindu newspaper for continuing with Sid V. this long. At the end of the day, without a mouthpiece editorial - they will be running like a headless chicken for a brief while.

^Sir can you write more on this on a separate thread lest Mods make a bakra out of us ? It would be interesting to know as to how someone like SV who became a herrow after 2002 is being shown the door.

something about having a foreigner is violation because of no FDI in print news? sounds a but doozy..but who knows.

Gus wrote:something about having a foreigner is violation because of no FDI in print news? sounds a but doozy..but who knows.
Honestly there seems to be a coup. Malini Parthasarthy has taken over as editor.

So competitive rally-organizing politics, eh? I like the idea... the enthu levels among the cadre are to be seen to be believed... seems almost like half the battle won. What a difference from a scenario where some dilli-billi (say LKA or SS or 'no PM candidate pre-poll') were chosen to lead the campaign...

x-posting from state polls dhaga...
muraliravi wrote:OK, so getting ready for Jhansi:

Modi's hoarding becomes talk of the town
Tuesday, 22 October 2013 | PNS | Lucknow | in Lucknow

A hoarding at the main crossing of Jhansi has become the talk of the town. It carries a picture of Narendra Modi with a message "Main aa raha hun (I am coming)". This innovative billboard is the announcement of BJP Prime Ministerial candidate’s public meeting in this Bundelkhand city on October 25.

"As Modi is communicative during his speech so is his hoarding. He is making an announcement "Main aa raha hun" and then asks "aap aayenge na" (will you come!)", BJP spokesman Vijay Bahadur Pathak said.

He said this Narendra Modi hoarding has aroused interest of people in Jhansi and has already become the talk of the town as many of them coming there just to see the billboard.

The hoarding has Narendra Modi’s picture and a countdown watch saying how many days, hours and minutes left for the rally.

The hoarding put up by one Ravi Sharma shows the confidence Modi’s Kanpur rally has given to the BJP workers. They are all geared up for another show of strength when party workers from seven Bundelkhand districts would be expected to come down to GIC Grounds to listen to Modi Senior party leaders have started a series of meetings to make Modi’s this rally another success. This region has only three BJP legislators. The list includes Uma Bharati who won election from Charkhari in 2012 assembly polls. She missed the Kanpur rally but is expected to share dais with Modi in Jhansi.

"The massive crowd in Kanpur has thrown a big challenge for us. Now, we will have to make Jhansi rally bigger and better than Kanpur. It would not be difficult as there is Modi wave all round the country. Not only party workers even the common man on the streets want to come and listen to Modi. This is a very big success for us as BJP has been able to connect with the aam aadmi on the street," BJP state president Lakshmi Kant Bajpai said.

He however refuses to give the number. "It would be big. Even bigger than Kanpur rally," he said.

Unless there is a sabotage and large scale sell off by the sub-regional satraps the tide is clearly getting to top speed. Modi is getting BJP to cross 200 for the first time.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Muppalla wrote:Unless there is a sabotage and large scale sell off by the sub-regional satraps the tide is clearly getting to top speed. Modi is getting BJP to cross 200 for the first time.
Muppalla ji,

it is happening. I think modi tried to get inld on board, sushma jumped the gun yesterday and said that bjp will ally only with hjc. she has too much problem with chautala.

RoyG wrote:
Gus wrote:something about having a foreigner is violation because of no FDI in print news? sounds a but doozy..but who knows.
Honestly there seems to be a coup. Malini Parthasarthy has taken over as editor.
N. Ram is supposed to have engineered this. She is supposed to have voted with him.

I will soon publicly ask via newspaper advt requesting all BJP leaders to remove Tridevalaya issue from BJP manifesto. I do NOT represent all Tridevalayavaadies. And I will request all Tridevalayavaadies to publicly request BJP leaders to remove Tridevalaya issue from BJP manifesto. If they remove IMO, it is insult to Tridevalayavaadies and Tridevalaya issue that this Tridevalaya issue is still in BJP manifesto.

The behavior of BJP leaders in past 25 years now proves to me that 25 years back, none was serious about Tridevalaya issue. And leaders who came in past 25 years are no different. NaMo has publicly dumped Tridevalaya issue in a very clever language that he cant be faulted. So now should Tridevalayavaadies hope that Varun Ghandy will become PM in 2024 and take up Tridevalaya issue, and continue to vote for BJP ? And tomorrow, if CPM or Congress adds Tridevalaya issue in their manifesto, should we Tridevalayavaadies vote for them as well on this issue?

IMO, all Tridevalayavaadies should OPENLY request BJP leaders to remove Tridevalaya issue from BJP manifesto. It is better for a battered wife to take divorce and move on, rather than hoping that hubby will change , become sober one day, and keep on putting up with hubby's whims.

nachiket wrote: Saar, were you referring to someone else's post? I have no issues with the thread having a pro-Modi tilt. I'm one of the people supporting him. I have also argued for cutting him some slack during the entire "shouchalaya" episode because of this very reason. He is the best we've got as of now. No point in unnecessarily opposing him because of some small perceived "failure" on his part. You can criticize him all you want after he gets elected. Right now, there needs to be a united front to give him the best chance to do so.

yes, the "bait and switch" was regarding someone else's post. as for Modi, well join the thread. people like you are actually in the majority on this thread. on the shouchalaya issue, Modi rubbed me the wrong way. but many don't think so. so, no, you won't be hounded out of here for that. :)

Nitish Kumar cannot stop Modi from entering Bihar: Rabri

“Lalu Prasad had the guts to stop the rath of LK Advani but Nitish Kumar does not have the strength to stop Narendra Modi,” she was quoted as saying by party spokesman Randhir Yadav.

http://www.firstpost.com/politics/nitis ... ef_article

Sushupti wrote:Image
Sec vs Sec. This is going to be fun. This whole media business is a huge bubble getting ready to burst. These people got hooked on cheap money from congress but with the economic crisis and Modi threatening to dislodge them they got nothing left to give.

Check this guy tweets on election politics in cow belt of UP and Bihar. No body understand it like him. Sanku will have liquid oxygen experience. LKA related tweets (Oxygen) will not let him die while ABV related tweets (liquid) will not let him live.

https://twitter.com/PingVond