AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections
Re: AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections
BJP is not a party that can be run like INC or TDP. the later 2 can get by on purely political calculations (actually, even TDP has limits on how far it can go with pure political opportunism; it is learning the lesson the hard way; INC seems like the only force which has been kicking strong with only political/power opportunism for 3 generations now). BJP can't sustain itself that way. they tried it a few times and failed. the only places where they have a hold in the long term is places where their cadre and members have ideological commitment. BJP will not find that in the current Kosta climate. they'll have to wait. whatever gains they make will be temporary at best. I wouldn't waste my time. instead of going after illusory seats in SA, they should try to re-emerge in Telangana. there was a time when they could have easily aimed to be the king maker in that region. alliance with TDP destroyed their base. hopefully, they won't make that mistake again.
This reminds me of the Paki 'historian' who wrote some time back how Indus valley civilization was different from the "main land India" and how there are "differences" between the Indus valley and Ganga valley which goes much further and it has nothing to do with Muslims who only 'exploited' it later on. When people are forced to justify a unnatural separation based on current political realities, i guss they had to invent or misrepresent history to justify their current separation.devesh wrote:the current division goes back a long, long time. I think it even precedes the Palnati battle. the Muslims simply exploited it for their own benefit.
Rony, It has already been pointed out not to compare the current situation to Pakis.
History revisionism can be positive and negative. Historical revisionism is based on newer scientific facts/truths (Science as barometer) can be positive. Even in my opinion feminist revisionism of history can be positive too as history missed from female viewpoint. For everything else you need to take with bucket of salt. Revisionism from class struggle angle and modern angle may be okay but when it comes to India, Marxist viewpoint try to massage both national history (time-bound) and Hinduism (timeless) in same angle.Rony wrote:This reminds me of the Paki 'historian' who wrote some time back how Indus valley civilization was different from the "main land India" and how there are "differences" between the Indus valley and Ganga valley which goes much further and it has nothing to do with Muslims who only 'exploited' it later on. When people are forced to justify a unnatural separation based on current political realities, i guss they had to invent or misrepresent history to justify their current separation.devesh wrote:the current division goes back a long, long time. I think it even precedes the Palnati battle. the Muslims simply exploited it for their own benefit.
Islamic viewpoint history or historical viewpoint doesn't exist before Muhammed. So Paki historian point of view they are correct but should that what they say be the history?
From Telangana viewpoint, any Andhra history that was there cease to exist before Telangana struggle, may be before 1969. Telangana point of view they are correct but should that be the history?
Devesh, who in most cases seem to talk on Dharma side, brushes Satya aside when it comes to his home zone.

Rony wrote:This reminds me of the Paki 'historian' who wrote some time back how Indus valley civilization was different from the "main land India" and how there are "differences" between the Indus valley and Ganga valley which goes much further and it has nothing to do with Muslims who only 'exploited' it later on. When people are forced to justify a unnatural separation based on current political realities, i guss they had to invent or misrepresent history to justify their current separation.devesh wrote:the current division goes back a long, long time. I think it even precedes the Palnati battle. the Muslims simply exploited it for their own benefit.
then you need to refute my post based on its points. specifically, I said a few things about the expansion of Kakatiya from the interior into the coastal areas. neither combining nor separating Telangana and Kosta has anything to do with "naturalness".
All I'm saying is that even during Kakatiya times, the Coastal areas weren't that enthusiastic about being under the political authority of Warangal. there was only one section of the Coastal elites which joined Kakatiya since the beginning. all others joined after being shown the "error" of their ways, so to speak.
unless you come up with some points that pose an alternative that is based in facts, your moronic analogy of "Telangana" == "Pakistan" is meaningless to me. and quite frankly, it's getting old. you need to find something else to bait people into exploding. the Paki analogy is at least 3 years old on BRF.
Vengi was continuous kingdom from Vemulawada to Rajamehendri. Kakatiyas ventured into taking over Vengi but failed so they established Orugallu as their Capital and eventually took over Vengi. All their marital relationships were with what you call "Coastal" people.devesh wrote:Rony wrote: This reminds me of the Paki 'historian' who wrote some time back how Indus valley civilization was different from the "main land India" and how there are "differences" between the Indus valley and Ganga valley which goes much further and it has nothing to do with Muslims who only 'exploited' it later on. When people are forced to justify a unnatural separation based on current political realities, i guss they had to invent or misrepresent history to justify their current separation.
then you need to refute my post based on its points. specifically, I said a few things about the expansion of Kakatiya from the interior into the coastal areas. neither combining nor separating Telangana and Kosta has anything to do with "naturalness".
All I'm saying is that even during Kakatiya times, the Coastal areas weren't that enthusiastic about being under the political authority of Warangal. there was only one section of the Coastal elites which joined Kakatiya since the beginning. all others joined after being shown the "error" of their ways, so to speak.
unless you come up with some points that pose an alternative that is based in facts, your moronic analogy of "Telangana" == "Pakistan" is meaningless to me. and quite frankly, it's getting old. you need to find something else to bait people into exploding. the Paki analogy is at least 3 years old on BRF.
You're mind is working with "Telangana" and "Coastal" and your history is from that angle. For Kakatiya they didn't know Telangana (word didn't exist).
For Kakatiyas, currrent-day Karimnagar, Warangal, Nalgonda, Khammam, Krishna, Guntur, and Godavari districts roughly form their core area sort of inherited from Vengi. In fact other areas they had to acquire. Nayakas are from every where and they moved in their kingdom, sort of federation. There may be Nayakas moved from Nalgonda areas to South and many Nayakas moved from "Coastal" areas to interiors into "Telangana". It is only post Kakatiya Nayakas are more powerful and elevated to King status. From that time we see Velama, Kamma, Kapu, Reddy Nayakas ruling the kingdoms, small or big.
There is nothing wrong bringing analogy of similiar revisionism whether it is from Islamic lands or Marxist lands.
ShyamSP,
your definition of Vengi is completely new to me. nowhere have I read that Vengi had the boundaries that you mention. I have yet to come across a single map which corroborates your version. you need to show some history book or something which has your version, because every source that I've read so far contradicts what you said. maybe, I haven't explored the issue deeply enough. So, please provide some source material that I can go through.
Read today's PP. Bhang kha karke likha hai
Sorry, there is nothing "moronic" in what i said and nothing wrong in doing a comparative analogy.Just because this anology is old does not make it incorrect either. If you put your blinkered glasses away and see things as they are, you will also make the same "moronic analogy".devesh wrote:unless you come up with some points that pose an alternative that is based in facts, your moronic analogy of "Telangana" == "Pakistan" is meaningless to me. and quite frankly, it's getting old. you need to find something else to bait people into exploding. the Paki analogy is at least 3 years old on BRF.
1.Replace AP with India and Telangana agitation with Pakistan movement
2.Replace the lies which are being fed about Andhra (capitalists) boogeyman "exploiting" innocent t-vadis with the lies fed about Hindu ( Bania ) boogeyman exploiting innocent muslims
3. Replace Congress political goals with British political and strategic goals
4. Replace Congress strategy of encouraging KCR and TRS with the British strategy of encouraging Jinnah and ML.
5. Replace the opposition in India at that time to the division of India with the opposition in Andhra today with the division of Andhra.
6. Replace the mocking of "effeminate rice eating and telugu/tenglish speaking" Andhras by self proclaimed tfta wheat/chapati eating, turdu speaking T-vadis with the mocking of effiminate Hindus by the tfta paki muslims.
7.Replace the misuse of history by telangana seperatists to jusjtify their seperation with the misuse of history by the muslim seperatists in 40s.
I can go on and on . It is so on your face that its hard to ignore it.
Of course there are obvious differences too like Pakis and Muslims seeking seperation from India as opposed to from a state.But for United Samaikandhrites, psychologically speaking, AP is a "nation" for Telugus within a larger Indian nation and breaking away from it especially with how all this division is being done without any consensus on anything is similar to how Akhand bharath types felt when Pakistan was imposed on them by outsiders with the help of local muslim separatists.
With respect to your "facts", one can point any such facts or psudo-facts from our long history and from some specific pockets of time and justify a separation of any state from India or even sub regions from a state. It is one thing to support seperate states on the basis of development (in telenagana case, even this criteria is not valid) and another matter to bring in real and imagined "facts" from history and justify the current separation.
Sushupti ji, all I can say is YSRCP might gain a toehold in Telangana. Jagan is not as "down" in T as many people might believe.
If that fella can make dent in T then what is the difference of T? If he wins even one seat there then T simple does not deserve to have a state. I still think he is more hype than real. We will see a completely different thing than all the analysis and folklore stories of AP.devesh wrote:Sushupti ji, all I can say is YSRCP might gain a toehold in Telangana. Jagan is not as "down" in T as many people might believe.
elections in India are not coercion-free. the "Reddy" name has value. the social welfare platform of his father is an added bonus.
I've said that Telangana politics itself will, in the short term, fracture along predictable factions. there will be an R vs V fight to see who is the new "king". but they won't go all out on each other. they have a very strong collaborative streak for centuries now. they don't mind the Ashraf as an ally. as in the past, they will ally with Ashrafs and make sure their domains are not impinged on. and the R's will always have the sympathetic ear of their brethren in the East and South. this is where Jagan and other powerful R's from Kosta will come in.
can't stress this factor enough. the one factor which aided the T-feudals in the past is gone now: their armed strongholds have been dismantled. and many have been forced to sell off land and convert real estate in countryside to liquid cash. this is not an exaggeration. since the 70's, entire clans have sold off literally vast swathes of rural land and moved to cities and towns.
you can call us T-vadis as many names as you want. but inadvertently, without even knowing it, we are igniting a process that will take the region out of the control of the old-feudals who allied with Islamics (and with them, the silent supporters of such moves in the coastal plains). AP in its existing form allows everybody to fly under the radar and pretend all is well. of course, some might say, engineering a division of state is going too far (kind of like threatening to commit suicide if not done). and I'm inclined to agree with that. but the alternative is to let the status-quo continue in its current grotesque form where both the leading political fronts are essentially vacuum entities which want power for power's sake. without any ultimate end for which political power is just a means.
there are parallel trends since Op-Polo: dismantling of Islam-pasand Hindu-feudal coercive power, and, rise of BC's and OBC's in small businesses.
the former process will lead to one clear result in future: the unmasking of behind-the-scenes support (to the feudal-ashraf alliance) from coastal mercantiles who have always done a subtle dance of (what can we do? we are just businessmen who cannot control the backward masses in the interior; or "oh, that is not under out control; we simply do business with who ever is in power. that is just our job").
that section within the new Andhra (Seemandhra), which takes a clear stand against this unholy alliance, even if it must go against a section of its own "kith and kin", will lead the way to a new Ekashila. and this will not be easy. SA has its own penetration by EJ's. so, even SA will not reach that point until the EJ's unmask their own vision. my bet is that division will make EJ's and Ashrafs more open to colluding more brazenly. the current AP is truly a behemoth allowing too many cancers to run free. let's see how all these special interests react to the new reality. if they are feeling euphoric, that's really good. nothing could be better. let them come out from their hidey holes! that's exactly what is needed.
ultimately, T will need coastal support to once and for all end the Ashraf problem (not just in Telugu lands, but all of deccan). but this won't happen until the remnants of old powers once again unmask themselves. this is already happening. I'm probably repeating this for the 1000th time. those guys are dreaming of rebuilding their lost "empires". they are eager. and their excitement is palpable. they are not even making an effort to mask it. I smile internally. go ahead, you fools. jump into the frying pan!
I've said that Telangana politics itself will, in the short term, fracture along predictable factions. there will be an R vs V fight to see who is the new "king". but they won't go all out on each other. they have a very strong collaborative streak for centuries now. they don't mind the Ashraf as an ally. as in the past, they will ally with Ashrafs and make sure their domains are not impinged on. and the R's will always have the sympathetic ear of their brethren in the East and South. this is where Jagan and other powerful R's from Kosta will come in.
can't stress this factor enough. the one factor which aided the T-feudals in the past is gone now: their armed strongholds have been dismantled. and many have been forced to sell off land and convert real estate in countryside to liquid cash. this is not an exaggeration. since the 70's, entire clans have sold off literally vast swathes of rural land and moved to cities and towns.
you can call us T-vadis as many names as you want. but inadvertently, without even knowing it, we are igniting a process that will take the region out of the control of the old-feudals who allied with Islamics (and with them, the silent supporters of such moves in the coastal plains). AP in its existing form allows everybody to fly under the radar and pretend all is well. of course, some might say, engineering a division of state is going too far (kind of like threatening to commit suicide if not done). and I'm inclined to agree with that. but the alternative is to let the status-quo continue in its current grotesque form where both the leading political fronts are essentially vacuum entities which want power for power's sake. without any ultimate end for which political power is just a means.
there are parallel trends since Op-Polo: dismantling of Islam-pasand Hindu-feudal coercive power, and, rise of BC's and OBC's in small businesses.
the former process will lead to one clear result in future: the unmasking of behind-the-scenes support (to the feudal-ashraf alliance) from coastal mercantiles who have always done a subtle dance of (what can we do? we are just businessmen who cannot control the backward masses in the interior; or "oh, that is not under out control; we simply do business with who ever is in power. that is just our job").
that section within the new Andhra (Seemandhra), which takes a clear stand against this unholy alliance, even if it must go against a section of its own "kith and kin", will lead the way to a new Ekashila. and this will not be easy. SA has its own penetration by EJ's. so, even SA will not reach that point until the EJ's unmask their own vision. my bet is that division will make EJ's and Ashrafs more open to colluding more brazenly. the current AP is truly a behemoth allowing too many cancers to run free. let's see how all these special interests react to the new reality. if they are feeling euphoric, that's really good. nothing could be better. let them come out from their hidey holes! that's exactly what is needed.
ultimately, T will need coastal support to once and for all end the Ashraf problem (not just in Telugu lands, but all of deccan). but this won't happen until the remnants of old powers once again unmask themselves. this is already happening. I'm probably repeating this for the 1000th time. those guys are dreaming of rebuilding their lost "empires". they are eager. and their excitement is palpable. they are not even making an effort to mask it. I smile internally. go ahead, you fools. jump into the frying pan!

http://www.siasat.com/english/news/no-n ... es-leaders
No need of A.P. Formation Day any more- TRS Minorities leaders
he he, here's TRS again. anyway, so what about Telangana liberation day? is that also a "no-go", now?State Secretary of Minorities cell of TRS, Mr. Sufi Sultan Quadri and in charge of Yakutpura Assembly constituency alleged that Govt. of A.P. is spending crores of rupees on A.P. Formation Day Celebrations to be held on 1st November.
These leaders told that after the declaration of formation of separate Telagana State, there is no need for such celebrations. This amount could be sent to the flood victims.
అంత బతుకూ బతికి ఇంటి వెనకాల చచ్చినట్టు. They can beat 100 guys and cross rivers and streams in a jiffy in movies, but in real life they cannot even step up on a dingy properly. Most of the onlookers are laughing at him.

A challenge to Indian federalism
Our nation-builders were wise in drafting the Constitution to suit our requirements. More important, successive governments have wisely applied Article 3 in dealing with states. While prior consent of the state was not necessary under the Constitution, in practice every state has been formed with prior consent, in most cases after a detailed, impartial examination by an independent commission. Only in the case of Punjab, there was no legislature at the time of dividing the State in 1966. But there was a broad consensus among stakeholders and no opposition.
So far, Parliament and governments have acted with restraint and wisdom in dealing with boundary issues and formation of states. They rejected the notion that anything could be done to alter boundaries, provided it is not expressly prohibited by the Constitution. While prior consent of the state legislature is not mandatory, in practice care has been taken to obtain consent, or to act only on the express request of the state. The 1956 reorganisation was based on the fundamental principle of language; there was broad national consensus on the issue.
Articles 3 & 4 in their present form are enabling provisions empowering Parliament to act in an exceptional situation when national interest warrants it, or to settle marginal boundary disputes between states when they are recalcitrant and efforts to reconcile differences and arrive at a settlement fail. The framers of the Constitution did not intend to give Parliament arbitrary powers to redraw boundaries; nor did successive Parliaments and governments act unilaterally or arbitrarily without consent, broad consensus or negotiated settlement.
Even after 1987, in every case of state formation, the consent of the state legislature was obtained. The broader principle of federalism and the willing consent of constituent units and their people has been deemed to be necessary before a state is formed or a territory merged, unless overwhelming national interest demands action by Parliament. The procedure was observed in creating Jharkhand, Uttaranchal and Chhattisgarh in 2000.
The writer is president of the Lok Satta Party. He is at [email protected]Andhra Pradesh was formed with the prior consent of the Andhra State Legislature, and the Hyderabad State Legislature. When two popular movements for the state’s division were launched in the three regions — in Telangana in 1969-70, and in Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema in 1972-73 — the Union government encouraged all regions to arrive at a negotiated settlement. Corresponding constitutional provisions were put in place to safeguard the interests of all regions. An explicit and implicit compact was made by the Union with the people of Andhra Pradesh to the effect that the State would remain united. It is on this basis that people migrated on a large scale to the other regions and to the capital, Hyderabad, and built their lives, livelihoods and the State’s economy. In this backdrop, any redrawing of boundaries would need another agreement arrived at by the affected parties through patient negotiation. The Union has a seminal role in helping reconcile conflicting interests harmoniously. Parliament can act only on the basis of such an agreement, consensus and consent. Any other approach would be ham-handed, arbitrary and uneven, and run counter to the principles and practice of federalism as they have evolved under Indian conditions.
The way the President and Parliament handle the Andhra Pradesh issue will, in a fundamental sense, shape the future of the Union itself. This is a defining moment not for Andhra Pradesh alone, but for our federal Constitution and India itself.
If such an arbitrary decision becomes a precedent, any and every state could be divided or boundaries altered without consent, and without a negotiated settlement, that will effectively convert states into municipalities, and India into a unitary state. Neither the Constitution-makers nor nation-builders intended such an outcome. And India’s future will be in peril if such an effort is made to make the nation effectively unitary at this stage.
AP elections and predictions are all exercise in vague. If a final tally matches to one of the scores of predictions, that fella will say I said you so.
This is like a 20-20 match where you have to score 15 runs in the last over on a decent batting wicket with 5 wickets in hand and bowling is also decent.
The Tsunami of Modi will affect AP. No doubt about it. . Blaming AP people for not voting BJP is another lack of knowledge issue. Blaming Modi for not getting seats is another childish stuff. The BJP of AP is primarily useless leaders of just Telangana. They are like "amma pettadhu adukkonivvadhu" (mother doesn't feed us and also doesn't allow us to beg for food). They just did not play the way AP politics have to be played. Telling that we are party with a difference and hence cannot play like others. Yeah they are a party with difference. The only national party with more deposit losers. They are neither in a level where they can get 5% of total Telangana votes. They simple cannot even use Modi factor and win even one seat. However, they are too much apprehensive of their clout getting lost if they go with TDP or TRS. Some in BJP wants a deal with Jagan only and that is one of the reasons (not the only one though) for delay in alliance announcement.
Modi factor only comes when you combine with a party that has grass root level support. (YSRC, TDP or TRS). There is no one in AP who has guts to say even a word against Modi and that is what will finally decide the alliance. There are several things that can happen.
Pre-poll:
(1) BJP+TDP
(2) BJP+TDP+ TRS(Harish Rao faction) - Harish Rao will (no iffs and butts) split from TRS once Telangana forms. TRS is negotiating a merger with KTR (KCR's son) as CM of Telanagana. Once Telangana forms there will be super clarity and anti-TDP or anti-that won't work anywhere. Jagan's dent in Telangana is only congress's loss.
BJP going alone means a sure shot INC+TRS win. Even though it has 5% vote and most of it is in Telangana only. It has to chose a partner and then ride of positive factors.
BJP+YSRC as a pre-poll is not going to happen. He will clamor to join Modi once BJP gets 180+ at national level. BJP at that time could break his party.
In essence, AP (divided or united) will be part of NDA. But the state BJP should not be foolish and go alone. But important thing is they can wait until the elections are declared. There is no need to do anything in haste.

The Tsunami of Modi will affect AP. No doubt about it. . Blaming AP people for not voting BJP is another lack of knowledge issue. Blaming Modi for not getting seats is another childish stuff. The BJP of AP is primarily useless leaders of just Telangana. They are like "amma pettadhu adukkonivvadhu" (mother doesn't feed us and also doesn't allow us to beg for food). They just did not play the way AP politics have to be played. Telling that we are party with a difference and hence cannot play like others. Yeah they are a party with difference. The only national party with more deposit losers. They are neither in a level where they can get 5% of total Telangana votes. They simple cannot even use Modi factor and win even one seat. However, they are too much apprehensive of their clout getting lost if they go with TDP or TRS. Some in BJP wants a deal with Jagan only and that is one of the reasons (not the only one though) for delay in alliance announcement.
Modi factor only comes when you combine with a party that has grass root level support. (YSRC, TDP or TRS). There is no one in AP who has guts to say even a word against Modi and that is what will finally decide the alliance. There are several things that can happen.
Pre-poll:
(1) BJP+TDP
(2) BJP+TDP+ TRS(Harish Rao faction) - Harish Rao will (no iffs and butts) split from TRS once Telangana forms. TRS is negotiating a merger with KTR (KCR's son) as CM of Telanagana. Once Telangana forms there will be super clarity and anti-TDP or anti-that won't work anywhere. Jagan's dent in Telangana is only congress's loss.
BJP going alone means a sure shot INC+TRS win. Even though it has 5% vote and most of it is in Telangana only. It has to chose a partner and then ride of positive factors.
BJP+YSRC as a pre-poll is not going to happen. He will clamor to join Modi once BJP gets 180+ at national level. BJP at that time could break his party.
In essence, AP (divided or united) will be part of NDA. But the state BJP should not be foolish and go alone. But important thing is they can wait until the elections are declared. There is no need to do anything in haste.
1. Jagan is with mafia and a strong EJ fellow. He will not ally with Modi. Modi can of course blackmail him just like mafia.
2. BJP has dreams without money power, network, leadership and vote bank of any kind.
3. They don't give a damn about losing base for decades in 25 seats.
2. BJP has dreams without money power, network, leadership and vote bank of any kind.
Interview with JP on bifurcation. Recommended listening
Besides INC, TRS, and YSRC tango, INC is managing to Jagan to play "independently" to rope in BJP or in the preferable case third front. They want to spoil TDP alliance with BJP or Third front.
Mines are laid out it is up to BJP to see it and work accordingly. Unless BJP gets aggressive, they'll have net loss of seats in Southern states. Given they screwed themselves in Karnataka, Amma sweeping and TDP sweeping are only things they need to work on so combined they can reduce Congress count.
Modi's name is useless anyway in TN and AP. They should surrender and start preparations for campaigns so Congress can be reduced in the South.
Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajgopal made interesting observation, stronger TRS/Congress and stronger YSRC will lead to split. BJP controls the split aspect at present. Anything they can do to weaken the split makes TRS-INC-YSRC combine strength collapse.
INC doesn't hesitate to stab deep in enemy's body. If the enemy dies it is well and good. If the enemy gets wounded, they get a lot of time till the enemy recovers. BJP lacks the same capacity to inflict such damage.
Mines are laid out it is up to BJP to see it and work accordingly. Unless BJP gets aggressive, they'll have net loss of seats in Southern states. Given they screwed themselves in Karnataka, Amma sweeping and TDP sweeping are only things they need to work on so combined they can reduce Congress count.
Modi's name is useless anyway in TN and AP. They should surrender and start preparations for campaigns so Congress can be reduced in the South.
Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajgopal made interesting observation, stronger TRS/Congress and stronger YSRC will lead to split. BJP controls the split aspect at present. Anything they can do to weaken the split makes TRS-INC-YSRC combine strength collapse.
BJP follows Chanakya Neeti. INC follows Kutila Neeti. (Although Chanakya and Kautilya are same, the usage in Telugu gives different meaning and context. The first one refers to positive stratagems and tactics and second one refers to cunning and evil)Narayana Rao wrote:1. Jagan is with mafia and a strong EJ fellow. He will not ally with Modi. Modi can of course blackmail him just like mafia.
INC doesn't hesitate to stab deep in enemy's body. If the enemy dies it is well and good. If the enemy gets wounded, they get a lot of time till the enemy recovers. BJP lacks the same capacity to inflict such damage.
They have been conditioned by INC and MIM over many decades. Their thinking is nothing more than MIM Ghetto mindset and they are not showing any effort to grow out of it. For all the screwup they are doing they can't get more than 5% which is their original votebank anyway and they can't win no other place other than their traditional and "conditioned" places (upto total 10 MLA seats in 4-5 districts), which they can win regardless of TDP, Telangana issue, etc for which they wasted too much time and effort.Muppalla wrote:Blaming AP people for not voting BJP is another lack of knowledge issue. Blaming Modi for not getting seats is another childish stuff. The BJP of AP is primarily useless leaders of just Telangana. They are like "amma pettadhu adukkonivvadhu" (mother doesn't feed us and also doesn't allow us to beg for food). They just did not play the way AP politics have to be played. Telling that we are party with a difference and hence cannot play like others. Yeah they are a party with difference. The only national party with more deposit losers. They are neither in a level where they can get 5% of total Telangana votes. They simple cannot even use Modi factor and win even one seat. However, they are too much apprehensive of their clout getting lost if they go with TDP or TRS. Some in BJP wants a deal with Jagan only and that is one of the reasons (not the only one though) for delay in alliance announcement.
JP is painting a serious picture. Why is this?
Maybe because it serious and could unravel things if allowed to go to the limits.
I had said the decision by UPA smacks of Radcliffe Commission.
On a side note, I looked at the vote shares of the MIM in Hyderabad from 1998 and they always seem to get about 35-45% of the vote. Is it possible to defeat them at all? Can any party beat them in Hyderabad?
JP's biggest concern is that an extra-constitutional group, Congress party under Sonia Gandhi, changing the political structure of Indian Union without any consideration for a due process, people, state legislature assembly, parliament or even Constitution of India. If separation of AP happens in this manner, this group may try doing this elsewhere as and when it suits them and may result in dismemberment of India as there is no guarantee that all these divisions can end peacefully.
nageshks garu,nageshks wrote:On a side note, I looked at the vote shares of the MIM in Hyderabad from 1998 and they always seem to get about 35-45% of the vote. Is it possible to defeat them at all? Can any party beat them in Hyderabad?
Is it limited to old city? Also, what is the percentage of muslims in Hyderabad overall and old city? Unless there is an ironclad proof at the outset those figures look inflated.
It is Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency (the vote figures are from the Election Commission reports). Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency includes the following Assembly constituencies. Malakpet, Karwan, Goshamahal, Charminar, Chandrayangutta, Yakutpura, Bahadurpura.matrimc wrote:nageshks garu,nageshks wrote:On a side note, I looked at the vote shares of the MIM in Hyderabad from 1998 and they always seem to get about 35-45% of the vote. Is it possible to defeat them at all? Can any party beat them in Hyderabad?
Is it limited to old city? Also, what is the percentage of muslims in Hyderabad overall and old city? Unless there is an ironclad proof at the outset those figures look inflated.
I have no idea of the percentage of Muslims in the constituency.
syele garu,
Why nobody is challenging this "extra-constitutional group" (you are referring to NA, right?) in the supreme court? JP is from IAS cadre (is he Delhi or AP or MH cadre? no matter) and must be knowing knowledgeable people at secretary level (if he himself is not an expert) to take up the issue. By the way, my understanding is that his following is quite small and limited to just one small pocket Kukatpally in Cyberabad. Is that correct? If so, just rhetoric won't cut it for him to make Loksatta a state level party leave alone a smallish national party.
Mostly old city excepting Malakpet which has a large number of Hindus but it is the bridging area between the old and the new starting with Dilsukhnagar. So that figures.nageshks wrote:... Assembly constituencies. Malakpet, Karwan, Goshamahal, Charminar, Chandrayangutta, Yakutpura, Bahadurpura.
I have no idea of the percentage of Muslims in the constituency.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 30 Oct 2013 05:30, edited 1 time in total.
Thank you very much, Matrimc-ji, but I did manage to download it. (Therefore, I edited out the request for emailing me the document).matrimc wrote:nageshks ji, I will mail to ramana garu if he says OK. Does he know your email address?
nageshks wrote:On a side note, I looked at the vote shares of the MIM in Hyderabad from 1998 and they always seem to get about 35-45% of the vote. Is it possible to defeat them at all? Can any party beat them in Hyderabad?
There is no way after the delimitation that BJP can win HYD LS seat. 50+% of Muslim seat that is now. However, the LS seats of Malkajgiri, Chevella, Secunderabad and Zahirabad are very competitive. The point is that BJP has to soothe the voters from Non-Telangana region voters. The chances of winning these seats doubles if they go in alliance with TDP or YSRC or even TRS.
What is Kishan Reddy smoking? Why is he so intent on Telangana? And that too in such a charged situation. Does he have any personal stakes in the formation of Telangana?
http://www.allvoices.com/contributed-ne ... ming-polls
Yerneni Sita Devi, a two time MLA and former minister in TDP joins BJP.
http://news.webindia123.com/news/articl ... 69956.html
He and his friends has no objection regularly sit with naxals and TRS and watch abuses hurled at non local people for many year. Bjp going alone may not get anything. But he want to do it. I wonder why NM bothered to talk of NTR and asked TDP to join the fight against congress? Some of the bjp leaders come very bad in ap when you deal with them. Venkayya says division is being done in an uncivilized way etc. But K. Reddy do not say anything. No wonder bjp is a dog house in Ap.
Watching this double speak from the BJP leaves me with a bitter taste in my mouth. I am slowly beginning to get a feel for why BJP has never gotten anywhere in Andhra Pradesh. Andhra always puzzled me. The BJP should have been a natural fit in Andhra with its business friendly outlook, pro Hindu politics (NTR capitalised on it, after all), and a national presence (businesses would naturally benefit from being in a party that has a national presence). Andhra, by all rights, should have been another Gujarat. But if the BJP is such a confused house of cards, with a dozen leaders braying dissonantly at any given time, then I can see why the BJP is completely irrelevant in Andhra.Narayana Rao wrote:He and his friends has no objection regularly sit with naxals and TRS and watch abuses hurled at non local people for many year. Bjp going alone may not get anything. But he want to do it. I wonder why NM bothered to talk of NTR and asked TDP to join the fight against congress? Some of the bjp leaders come very bad in ap when you deal with them. Venkayya says division is being done in an uncivilized way etc. But K. Reddy do not say anything. No wonder bjp is a dog house in Ap.
Don't forget that Kishan Reddy got sponsorships from Gali brothers and late YSR in last 2 elections. Also BJP leaders invested too much on Telangana issue including protesting with TRS and hurling abuses at Seemandhra people as Narayana Rao put it. They engaged in destruction of statues of Telugu symbols and people.nageshks wrote:What is Kishan Reddy smoking? Why is he so intent on Telangana? And that too in such a charged situation. Does he have any personal stakes in the formation of Telangana?
Now backing out is humiliation and ego issue. BJP Winning be damned.
eh...what sponsorship from YSR and Gali brothers? where is this coming from? please also post some proof? at least, some random media report would be nice.
no, BJP did not take part in taking down of statues. another lie. another bitter rant.
no, they did not hurl abuses at SA people. really, you need to put a lid on that bitterness. for once, at least try to post a link or something.
no, BJP did not take part in taking down of statues. another lie. another bitter rant.
no, they did not hurl abuses at SA people. really, you need to put a lid on that bitterness. for once, at least try to post a link or something.
nageshks ji,
don't jump to conclusions based on what you hear from most people on this thread. there is a lot of frustration and bitterness right now, and people are taking it out on the only strawman they can find.
things are happening in Telangana BJP. BJP should, with careful consideration, bifurcate the existing AP BJP into Telangana and AP units, respectively. Kishan Reddy has his own ambitions, and rightfully so. his power should not be underestimated. although, he is nowhere close to what Alimineti Madhava Reddy eventually rose up to. he thinks he can rise to that level. I am doubtful. but he is ultimately a good guy.
talk to some of the SA folks in his constituency in Hyderabad. you'll be pleasantly surprised.
I won't comment on the new entry. her background is very interesting.
now, BJP's top priority is to quickly separate the 2 units. there are conversations going on, about how to do it, and who to bring in.
Kishan Reddy might also be feeling some pressure. probably why he might increase his rancor in favor of Telangana.
RSS is taking more interest now. they have direct line to Modi, on AP issues. their thinking is quite different from the current BJP State Unit. on division, RSS isn't really for or against it. they are ok with either consequence. but post-division, they might have different plans for the existing Telangana BJP leaders, including Kishan Reddy.
but nothing is decided yet. let's see what happens.
talk to some of the SA folks in his constituency in Hyderabad. you'll be pleasantly surprised.

I won't comment on the new entry. her background is very interesting.
now, BJP's top priority is to quickly separate the 2 units. there are conversations going on, about how to do it, and who to bring in.
Kishan Reddy might also be feeling some pressure. probably why he might increase his rancor in favor of Telangana.
RSS is taking more interest now. they have direct line to Modi, on AP issues. their thinking is quite different from the current BJP State Unit. on division, RSS isn't really for or against it. they are ok with either consequence. but post-division, they might have different plans for the existing Telangana BJP leaders, including Kishan Reddy.
but nothing is decided yet. let's see what happens.
Don't know what is happening in the Telangana BJP, but if TRS merges (or allies) with the Congress, I am very sure that the BJP will not even get back its deposit in any constituency in Telangana. If the BJP and TRS ally, the BJP will survive on TRS courtesy for a couple of terms (at the most) after which the TRS will kick the BJP to the curb, similar to Naidu. For supporting the Telangana Bill, the BJP will have got exactly what?devesh wrote:things are happening in Telangana BJP. BJP should, with careful consideration, bifurcate the existing AP BJP into Telangana and AP units, respectively. Kishan Reddy has his own ambitions, and rightfully so. his power should not be underestimated. although, he is nowhere close to what Alimineti Madhava Reddy eventually rose up to. he thinks he can rise to that level. I am doubtful. but he is ultimately a good guy.