Publisihed on Dec 02, 2013
By Swaminathan S Anklesaria Aiyar
There’s a Narendra Modi effect, but not a Narendra Modi wave: Economic Times
The third hurdle — resistance to Modi from potential BJP allies — remains significant. In Bihar, Nitish Kumar's JDU has broken decisively with the BJP, arguing that Modi is completely unacceptable. Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal is also strongly opposed. Orissa's Naveen Patnaik dislikes Modi, but has not ruled out a post-electoral alliance. However, Jayalalithaa in Tamil Nadu and Jagan Mohan Reddy in Andhra Pradesh will happily join hands with Modi.

Everything depends on how many seats the BJP gets. For all their claims to high principles, regional parties are opportunists wanting a share of power in New Delhi. If the BJP wins 160 seats in 2014, Modi may not garner enough allies to become prime minister. But if the BJP wins 200 seats, Modi's road to the top will be clear. For this, he needs a strong Modi electoral effect.

Will the state elections reveal the size of the Modi effect? Not really. High inflation and corruption have savaged the Congress image, giving the BJP an edge that owes nothing to Modi. If the party wins in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh , chief ministers Chouhan and Raman Singh will say they deserve credit for the victory, not Modi. The size of the Modi effect will remain hotly contested. We will know the truth only in 2014.
Congressis and their "neutrals" trying to reject the presence of a NaMo wave! They know they would lose the State Assembly elections and don't want BJP to project the wins as a Modi wave.

@KapilSibal Sir, believe me i really love your show, Comedy nights with Kapil.
same person

If you look at Guj national highways, airports etc there is a clear evidence of discrimination against Gujarat ...not to mention ports,metro projects,gas pipeline connections don't get centre approval...in spite of this Gujarat succeeds ...once Modi goes to centre expect Guj to do even better...

improvement's I have observed..

1)electricity is always 24x7..
2) water supply
3) business approvals
4)efforts to improve roads and public transport....Surat and Ahmedabad have succeeded more than baroda and Jamnagar...in Baroda efforts are there but quality of new fly overs has a lot to be desired..not to mention haphazard construction of roads...
5)law and order was always good..but is visibly better..very few incidences of domestic theft in big cities...very low incidence of violent crime.. Gun shot and stab injury patients are very rare in Gujarat hospitals compared to other Indian states...the stats would be amongst the best in the world...

anyway they need to legalise alcohol and if possible casinos ..would bring billions in revenue...

you can never legalize either of them, it is bound to spill over.

krishnan wrote:you can never legalize either of them, it is bound to spill over.
+108. And the Govts start depending on just liquor money which then funds the 'schemes for poor'. Liquor, gambling & prostitution... very easy for the whole society to go kaput in very short time. One of the major problems in AP is the liquor(this angle generally not probed much). It was CBN who legalized liquor sales and now the same guy is fighting against it.

Sridhar K wrote: Apologies for the typos and grammatical errors
Thanks. Good to know the on the ground perspective. Would you stay in Gujarat or would be prefer in TN, work and family commitments notwithstanding?

johneeG wrote:
krishnan wrote:you can never legalize either of them, it is bound to spill over.
+108. And the Govts start depending on just liquor money which then funds the 'schemes for poor'. Liquor, gambling & prostitution... very easy for the whole society to go kaput in very short time. One of the major problems in AP is the liquor(this angle generally not probed much). It was CBN who legalized liquor sales and now the same guy is fighting against it.
Liquor is also a huge problem in MH. I can see the ill effects even in big cities like Pune, rural areas may be affected in a more severe manner. For some reason Modi has not taken up this topic, since this has not been a big debating in Gujarat (at least in the political arena). I hope he raises this issue which causes lot of problem to women and children.

yeah, and what TN govt did was stupid , they are running companies when they should be running the economy properly.

BTW from building establishments in farm fields to marsh lands, chennai has hit a new low, using ponds, lakes to build buildings, they are building one near my house, they dumped sand in it and built 2 multi story apprtment

^^ when doing my dwija education in Pravara Nagar, we could see the gaavkari day labourers drink 1 bottle of santra bottoms up and then walk non stop for 10 odd miles to get home from their place of work. Now tell me whose fault is it that these poor people are in this situation. Vikhe Patil has made millions in money. Heck his grandson has a swedish wife and he gets exchange students from Sweden and Japan to stay for over 6 months to an year to study tropical medicine. He can do a lot more but the problem is with daru and paisa, he gets voted in every time. Its his fiefdom anyway.

What would happen to the common gaavkari if his daily dose of moonshine -Santra- becomes illegal? Will he even go to work?

Narayana Rao wrote:Venkayya was close to Kamma TDP and did nothing to make bjp powerful. She was very close to mafia queen for long. One surprice was HeR SUDDEN REMOVAL FROM SPOKESMAN POSITION. IS HER TRY GANG MAY BE A REASON. She was fighting TRS gang till now and find change difficult.
Hmmmm so she's the Luca Brazi sent by Donna Corleone.

Netaji's relatives with Narendra Modi during the Gujarat CM's visit to Kolkata in April.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>No one can ignore sufferings of the Kashmiri Pandits for so many years. We remain committed to working towards justice for the community.</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status ... ">December 2, 2013</a></blockquote>
<script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

panduranghari wrote:
Sridhar K wrote: Apologies for the typos and grammatical errors
Thanks. Good to know the on the ground perspective. Would you stay in Gujarat or would be prefer in TN, work and family commitments notwithstanding?
Culturally, I am more attuned to TN and won't make the shift. However, since the question is on the livability of both states, it looks like Gujarat is much better administered than TN. TN Governance/administration is based on commercial benefits to the ruling party, Guj seems to be on holistic development. Case in point is that in Chennai, they clean the roads by collecting the dust/sand on the road as they are able to collect so much sand that is sold back for construction. Feel that TN has missed out on the agri front and conversion of farm, marsh land into real estate is in full swing.

Of course, it is based on my little experience of spending a week in Guj travelling after 13 years when I spent an year in Jamnagar.

Apologies for the OT but guess it does contrast the different types of Governance in play in India.
bhargava

Post by bhargava »

bhargava wrote:Image
Die cast for
Amit Shah as Gruha Mantri
Gen. V.K.Singh as Raksha Mantri
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

kapilrdave wrote:
ashish raval wrote:The southern states had a head start in terms of education and overall discipline, I believe, while Gujarati's mostly interacted with Arab and African oddballs which never really led to much mental discipline.
Not sure I understand the bolded part. Can you explain it more?
What I meant to say is "chalta hai" "Jugad" type attitude, I generally find people from southern India a bit more meticulous because they have stricter upbringing than Gujarati household as per what I have observed living for a year in Bangalore and having many friends here and back home. Some Gujarati's esp. in my father's generation had a bit of "chalta hai" attitude post Independence, which is certainly changing, albeit slowly.

Hari Seldon wrote:Amitbhai shah in kolkata targeting TMC misrule...:)
Holy Moly! What a crowd!

Goota give the AAPtards some points for creativity... :)

Altair wrote:
bhargava wrote:Image
Die cast for
Amit Shah as Gruha Mantri
Gen. V.K.Singh as Raksha Mantri
Why do you give heart attacks to a lot?
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

So I guess twiterrati pressure worked. But it would have nice if he had mentioned it during the speech.

Shinde rules out probe into Gujarat snoopgate controversy
NEW DELHI: Union home minister Sushilkumar Shinde has ruled out a probe into the Gujarat snoopgate controversy, saying that the Centre has no jurisdiction in the matter. However, senior ministry officials indicated that a report may be sought from the state government, now that President Pranab Mukherjee has forwarded a women's groups' petition, seeking a probe into the episode, to the home ministry.

Shinde on Monday clarified his statement that the alleged misuse of Gujarat state machinery in snoopgate would be probed, saying that the powers in this regard had been delegated to the state government. "The Union home ministry has no jurisdiction in the matter," he stated.

According to home ministry sources, the phone of the woman allegedly snooped upon by the Gujarat police at the behest of then home minister Amit Shah, was a Gujarat number. As per the Indian Telegraph Act rules, it is for the state home secretary to authorize interception of a number registered in that state. This applies even when the number is used in other jurisdictions or, in other words, is on roaming.

"The Union home secretary only authorizes interception where the phone number belongs to Union territory or the person under surveillance uses multiple phones across jurisdictions," said a home ministry official.

According to sources, the Gujarat police may only cite its ongoing inquiry into the snooping case, in the event of home ministry seeking a report.

Incidentally, Congress general secretary Digvijaya Singh has questioned the Gujarat government probe into snoopgate, saying that it was like the accused deciding who will investigate and sit in judgment.

Who so much fuss about mentioning pundits in the speech? Giving ammunition to the Congress so late in the game is counterproductive. You have a state full of lazy and increasingly radicalized Muslims and you want them to vote for you. Why in the hell would you mention pundits? He has made a tactical move by leaving them out and instead directing all their focus and anger towards their leaders who have done nothing for the state. Meanwhile, he has started the debate on 370 in the rest of the country. If you manage to get the entire country on your side wrt to 370 everything else will fall into place on its own. The second 370 is removed all these separatists and their perverted ideology will be finished for good.

I wonder why relatives of the Netaji were meeting him. cat would be among JLN gang & associated historians if namo could unearth and publicize some dark deeds of the early congis on the netaji front.

^^ Would assume that by now 3/4th of the IB staff would be full time on NaMo, infiltrating all his inner circles instead of chasing IM and assorted scum

IBNLIVE

New Delhi: Actor arrested in Kerala for laughing at the speech of a youth congress leader, however he was later released as the case was withdrawn. The Alappuzha Arthungal police had arrested actor Anoop Chandran on charges of disrupting the meeting of Youth Congress On Friday.

The police state that Anoop, a resident of the area interrupted the speech in a drunken state and this led to a tiff between him and the youth congress workers.
The actor was later arrested based on the complaint by the youth Congress. Annop was taken to Medical college hospital Alappuzha on the complaint that he was manhandled by the youth congress workers. Both these complaints were withdrawn on Saturday morning.

Actor arrested for laughing during Youth Congress leader's speech
Anoop has acted in about 40 Malayalam movies and has donned the role of a comedian in majority of the movies.

The actor refuted the allegation and said that he was not drunk at the time of the incident. He said, "When the speaker said that MGNREGA (Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employement Gurantee ACT) is one of the greatest initiatives, I burst out laughing, this had create the trouble." :oops:

Anoop feels that he should not have behaved in such a manner as it was a party meeting. "I laughed as this initiative was not being done constructively. There has been huge demand from people to extent the project for agricultural activities but that is not yet being done," he added.

Anoop has acted in about 40 Malayalam movies and has donned the role of a comedian in majority of the movies.

#‎LooteriBahu‬

muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

RoyG wrote:Who so much fuss about mentioning pundits in the speech? Giving ammunition to the Congress so late in the game is counterproductive. You have a state full of lazy and increasingly radicalized Muslims and you want them to vote for you. Why in the hell would you mention pundits? He has made a tactical move by leaving them out and instead directing all their focus and anger towards their leaders who have done nothing for the state. Meanwhile, he has started the debate on 370 in the rest of the country. If you manage to get the entire country on your side wrt to 370 everything else will fall into place on its own. The second 370 is removed all these separatists and their perverted ideology will be finished for good.
Saar ji, please get some history on this. BJP has won the 2 seats in Jammu in the past, has never even got the deposit in the 4 seats in the valley. Hindus are in majority in both seats in jammu. The muslims that you are talking about never voted for bjp and will never vote. The pandits have voted for bjp in the past and have also voted congress. Modi was foolish in not mentioning them. Did you see pandits in the rally or did you see skull caps? I am not sure my eye sight did not fail me. If modi ever thought that sunni muslims of J&K will vote for him, he has already lost the plot.

muraliravi wrote:
RoyG wrote:Who so much fuss about mentioning pundits in the speech? Giving ammunition to the Congress so late in the game is counterproductive. You have a state full of lazy and increasingly radicalized Muslims and you want them to vote for you. Why in the hell would you mention pundits? He has made a tactical move by leaving them out and instead directing all their focus and anger towards their leaders who have done nothing for the state. Meanwhile, he has started the debate on 370 in the rest of the country. If you manage to get the entire country on your side wrt to 370 everything else will fall into place on its own. The second 370 is removed all these separatists and their perverted ideology will be finished for good.
Saar ji, please get some history on this. BJP has won the 2 seats in Jammu in the past, has never even got the deposit in the 4 seats in the valley. Hindus are in majority in both seats in jammu. The muslims that you are talking about never voted for bjp and will never vote. The pandits have voted for bjp in the past and have also voted congress. Modi was foolish in not mentioning them. Did you see pandits in the rally or did you see skull caps? I am not sure my eye sight did not fail me. If modi ever thought that sunni muslims of J&K will vote for him, he has already lost the plot.
MuraliRavi-ji,
Just one small nit. There are 3 seats in the valley, 2 in Jammu and 1 in Ladakh. The three seats of the valley are indeed a lost cause for the BJP, but the Ladakh seat has about 55% Buddhists, and some more Hindus and Sikhs. This seat is indeed winnable for the BJP (usually polarisation is Muslim vs non Muslim).
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

What I don't understand is that why did NM chose this particular time for this speech. He specially went to Jammu to deliver this speech when election related news is at peak from delhi and RJ. Right after completing the speech he went back again to delhi for another speech. His thoughts for A370 would not receive that much coverage in media. Does it have anything to do with delhi election that I can't see?

If we continue Art 370, it must be in conjunction with strictly dividing Ladhak/Leh, Jammu, Valley.

Muppala Garu
I am only posting spoilers for the movie still in post-production. When the actual movie is released it will be a revolution. No pun intended.

Gossip guru site is brought down by GOI.

NMs comments on Art370 was projected on all channels. I think abrogation of Art370 is automatically going to solve the KP issue.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

nageshks wrote:
MuraliRavi-ji,
Just one small nit. There are 3 seats in the valley, 2 in Jammu and 1 in Ladakh. The three seats of the valley are indeed a lost cause for the BJP, but the Ladakh seat has about 55% Buddhists, and some more Hindus and Sikhs. This seat is indeed winnable for the BJP (usually polarisation is Muslim vs non Muslim).
Nagesh ji,

Thank you for the details. Lets hope they make the 3 seats. My whole grouse is that Namo was batting for communities like Shias who may vote for him (25% chance), but damn it the pandits and other hindu communities who took the pain of making his rally and success and who are BJP's natural friends, end up looking like fools when they were hoping he would say something. Anyway, I am sure he has that issue in his heart and has now expressed it in public domain. At the end of the day, if he does come to power, these words will mean nothing, what will matter is if 370 is removed and J&K is a state where not just KP's, but even a guy from Andaman can go and settle down.

Supratik wrote:NMs comments on Art370 was projected on all channels. I think abrogation of Art370 is automatically going to solve the KP issue.
This is what I feel will happen. Even if the muslims of the valley dont vote for you, you can at least deny your competitor the political space as well. knocking congress out of as many as seats as possible is critical. Pundits will vote for Modi either way. Gaining power abolishing 370 is the solution to islamism and the kashmir problem. IMO, he is doing the right thing. Get the Shias and Gujjars on your side and gain ground in Jammu.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

:rotfl: More and more courage from our leaders. Naidu takes a shot at the head of the MAFIA

N Chandrababu Naidu ‏@ncbn 3h
Congratulations to Sonia Gandhi on being declared richer than Queen of England. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/2 ... _hp_ref=tw
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

RoyG wrote: This is what I feel will happen. Even if the muslims of the valley dont vote for you, you can at least deny your competitor the political space as well. knocking congress out of as many as seats as possible is critical. Pundits will vote for Modi either way. Gaining power abolishing 370 is the solution to islamism and the kashmir problem. IMO, he is doing the right thing. Get the Shias and Gujjars on your side and gain ground in Jammu.
Where did you get this from??? They have voted several times in past for congress as recently even in 2009. This is the kind of assumption that ruined in BJP in many places. Modi himself realized this after his speech and hence the tweet.

Many Pandits were pretty high on the bandwagon of Kashmiriyat and special status at least in the initial years of independence.

those were the heady days of Nehru primacy. things have gone downhill since. especially, post-Indira, dynasty seems to have lost attachment with the region.
Guderian

Post by Guderian »

My reading of MB's politics is that she is not entirely opposed to Namo's rise to PMship and when time comes she will actually facilitate his rise, indirectly, just as she facilitated PM's rise to Rashtrapati. MB is constrained by the 25% minority vote. However remember that in Jangipur bye election it was the BJP that come second even though TMC had contested the elections, all helped by tacit voting for the BJP by TMC cadres. Expect the BJP to get 5-7 seats in WB in the next election, especially in minority dominated constituencies, all helped by TMC's tacit voting. My prediction is that TMC may get upto 30 seats in WB, followed by 6 for BJP, 4 for CPM and perhaps 2 for INC. In addition irrespective of whoever comes to power MB may decide to stay in opposition. This is actually helpful for NM as there is no left left to support congress. Net result MB keeps her minority votebank and NM gets to be PM.