India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Would it be worth India's while to suspend the Indo/US Extradition Treaty?

>>How is the NSA, even if he is former IFS, allowed to take calls from abroad? Kerry should have called Khurshid PERIOD. NSA should know his roles and responsibilites and should have told Kerry to call Khurshid. He has no locus standi in this issue.

Khurshid refused to entertain Kerry's call, and then it was passed onto NSA.

People in India are not aware of the due process of Law followed in US, especially with regard to Strip Search and Body cavity searches. Here are some examples of the same from US. Be advised, pictures may hurt your sensibilities unless you are a frequent flyer in Massan and used to TSA.This will give some ideas as to why it is offensive and why Devayani broke down multiple times but tried to maintain her dignity thinking of representing India. Shame on Congress and their pro-genies.

http://bjsunoriginalthoughts.blogspot.i ... -from.html

https://www.aclu.org/womens-rights/mich ... y-searches
https://www.aclu.org/prisoners-rights-w ... rrectional

And quite an issue in USA. One member suggested that devayani sue New York PD/US Marshals etc. Here is the precedent for this.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/t ... -1.1390230

http://rt.com/usa/texas-troopers-cavity-search-709/

http://www.insideedition.com/headlines/ ... ch-by-cops

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... -1.1414668

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/2 ... -1.1297749

habal wrote:>>How is the NSA, even if he is former IFS, allowed to take calls from abroad? Kerry should have called Khurshid PERIOD. NSA should know his roles and responsibilites and should have told Kerry to call Khurshid. He has no locus standi in this issue.

Khurshid refused to entertain Kerry's call, and then it was passed onto NSA.
I think he did try to call Khurshid but could not get him, tried to get MMS but was put through to SSM who simply acted as a messenger.

ramana, why should we close Hyderabad consulate? Mubai will be more appropriate. But it will only inconvenience our businesses.

I think we should
1. expel heads of 4 consulates
2. Charge $100K as maid-surcharge for accrediting all consulate and diplomatic staff from US
3. Finger print and strip-search all US consulate and diplomatic staff and family members when they enter the country.

Plus I think we should ask VFS and other visa processing companies to inform authorities details of every single person making applications for US visa.

And perhaps, on their next visit to India, Preet Bharara's family should be offered chai/biscuit before introducing to our standard procedures of custodial examination.

krisna wrote:
a_bharat wrote: I think I missed this bit. Who gave what medal to the army chief?

legion of merit

http://photogallery.outlookindia.com/de ... pgid=82522
from wiki
The following Indians were previously awarded this medal. Any reason to suspect ulterior motives?

General Rajendrasinhji Jadeja Indian Army 1946
Field Marshal OBE Kodandera Madappa Cariappa Indian Army 1950
General Satyawant Mallana Srinagesh Indian Army 1955
Admiral Jal Cursetji Indian Navy 1978

Good find chaanakya
Last edited by JTull on 19 Dec 2013 22:58, edited 1 time in total.

What is the US trying to achieve?

1) Lately there has been a thaw in US-Iran relations. New President Rouhani has opened talks with the US to rollback their nuclear weapon program (what an idiot, did he learn nothing from Libya?) in exchange for a lifting of sanctions.

When US and Iran are very hostile, India can balance relations between them by supporting one or the other. When Iran-US relations warm, India loses this leverage. Coincidence that US decides to push India around in public just as the new Iranian President is opening up to US overtures?

2) Then there is the Bangladesh situation. The US, apart from agreeing to limit Indian influence in post-2014 Afghanistan, seems also to have promised its Paki Munna that it will endeavour to return Bangladesh to the Pakistani sphere of influence. What we're seeing in BD in these last months is essentially a US-backed color-revolution to replace the (relatively) pro-India Awami League Govt of Sheikh Hasina with the rabidly jihadi coalition of BNP and Jamaat-e-Islami.

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... government
The main show had a sideshow to it — one involving the US and Indian ambassadors. Local media reports have been agog with rumours of a no-holds barred spat between the two diplomats during a breakfast meeting, following which the US envoy Dan Mozena, flew to Delhi for consultations with Indian officials. On his return to Dhaka, media reports quoting US embassy sources suggested, "India and the US were on the same page in Bangladesh." Upset with these reports, the Indian high commission and the ministry of external affairs reacted furiously. Quoting unnamed Indian diplomats, the local media reported that India and the US were "not on the same page".

Privately, Indian diplomats told journalists that Mozena was "behaving like a standing committee member of the BNP". They say he is "doing everything to bring back the BNP to power" and Khaleda is ever so determined to bring down the Hasina government through violent street protests increasingly orchestrated by the radical Jamaat-e-Islami with US encouragement.

And when media reports surfaced over India and the US being on the same page, Indian diplomats saw it as an American move to drive a wedge between India and its best friend in Dhaka, the Awami League, whose government has delivered on India's security and connectivity concerns like no government in Dhaka has ever done. India has good reasons to feel beholden to the Hasina government, though the diplomats are not oblivious to the anti-incumbency she faces. But if Washington has a choice in Dhaka, how can it deny India having a right to its own choice of a friend?

The US feels a BNP-led government will serve its strategic interests and may help it stop Chinese inroads into the country. India has reservations about the BNP after trying to unsuccessfully court it during Khaleda's 2001-06 tenure. For Delhi, the real worry is Jamaat-e-Islami and Hefazat-e-Islam.

Delhi has good reasons to fear such a dispensation as likely to be inimical to its security. India feels the US is overlooking the spectre of a revival of Islamic radicalism Bangladesh experienced when Khaleda was last in power and thus weakening the focus of the war against terror.

But the most important element in the US-India spat in Dhaka was an unnamed Indian diplomat describing the Chinese stand on the emerging political crisis in Bangladesh as "constructive". Chinese ambassador Li Jun has been more vocal than any of his predecessors. In recent weeks, he has thrice issued statements on Bangladesh's political crisis, asking "wisdom to prevail over violence" and even suggesting China was trying to mediate in the crisis through "our friends in both the parties".

China is keen to go ahead with its plans to build a deep sea port in Sonadia off the Chittagong coast. For the first time, Indian diplomats are not worried about another 'pearl in the string'. They believe Sonadia can help India access its northeast better and the whole project can fit into the Bangladesh-China-India-Myanmar plan to develop connectivity for increased trade, investment and commerce.

As Bangladesh slides into a violent imbroglio, India appears nervous over the future of its east and northeast which are afflicted by violent statehood movements and insurgencies. It cannot afford a hostile government in Dhaka. This, in a way, revives the pre-1971 scenario where a similar situation forced India to back the Bengali insurrection and militarily intervene in East Pakistan, braving threats of a US naval intervention.

The only difference now is that befriending China to balance off the US and vice versa is a realistic option for India. Delhi appears keen to demonstrate it is nobody's surrogate and retains the option to balance off the US with China by what it does in Bangladesh in the days ahead.
3) And finally, there is the fact that Sujatha Singh once again renewed India's request for David Headley's extradition, and was once again rebuffed.
Last edited by Rudradev on 19 Dec 2013 23:04, edited 1 time in total.

devesh wrote:if Bharara goes down in flames, it will be an important lesson that NRI's won't forget anytime soon. don't put yourself in a position where you become the used con***.

most of all, don't put yourself in that position against your own roots. because ultimately if you loose them, you have nobody.
I was listening to someone called Prof Ganguly from USA ( on TV channel) and Lord Meghnath Desai ( knopwn culprit) and few other well established NRIs on Tv Debate and surprisingly they tried to defend USG action citing same logic which was shown on this very forum by negligible few.

The foremost question in minds of Desis is that

Are NRIs mostly turncoats barring few notable exceptions or such behaviours are exception( I would like to think so)? Whether this Jaichandi blood runs deep in our veins? or do they want to aggrandize themselves to Amirkhan establishment or not run afoul of them?? How do they ever earn the trust of natives if they continue to behave in jaichandi manner??

Democrates have employed largest number of Indian-Amricans and NRIs are quite successful there yet during their reign India has had to face serious difficulties almost derailing ties.

chaanakya wrote: Many esteemed brfites thought it is a modern slavery issue, perks for ifs or that they deserved, that she lied , visa fraud, perjury blah blah. But surely when facts emerged slowly they have become quietened. If they posted in support I could have understood their learning process. But I am sure they are waiting for storm to pass as it shall inevitably.

I don't count myself among one of esteemed brfites, and let us for a moment assume that DK has been "framed" and there are wheels within wheels in this case but at the end of the day whatever she did, there is documentary proof of that.

The only way she can get out of it is by proving in the court that she was forced to sign the papers that she would pay $9+ /hr instead of the $3 /hr (which of course reeks of exploitation and modern day slavery ) she intended to pay.

JTull wrote:ramana, why should we close Hyderabad consulate? Mubai will be more appropriate. But it will only inconvenience our businesses.

I think we should
1. expel heads of 4 consulates
2. Charge $100K as maid-surcharge for accrediting all consulate and diplomatic staff from US
3. Finger print and strip-search all US consulate and diplomatic staff and family members when they enter the country.

Plus I think we should ask VFS and other visa processing companies to inform authorities details of every single person making applications for US visa.

And perhaps, on their next visit to India, Preet Bharara's family should be offered chai/biscuit before introducing to our standard procedures of custodial examination.
I think this would be an overreaction and result in our diplos in the US being expelled.

All visas applications are reviewed by consular/chancery staff. Much more effective would be strict reciprocity on privileges for diplos.

There is enough on US Embassy staff in ND to put the hammer down. Timing is key so that any action is not seen as a retaliation rather as a case that stands on its own. Then put on the gloves :)

Another ct floating around that this was orchestrated by folks with an eye to Indian elections and to justify defense deals

Rudraji,

You have reasoned your POV very well, respect!

I am still not sure. I think its a collective gaffe by people in FoggyBottom, Bharara and NYPD all co-ordinated by Safe Horizons.

Safe Horizons could be a CIA front end as well. Since the CIA would be really interested in trafficked persons and the channels used to traffic them. In such a case you would be 100% correct. Maid and Bharara are gonna be thrown out like used condoms once their utility is over.

Sid Varadarajan, the US citizen, says the following in an FB post
Varadarajan says that the entire issue could have been resolved peacefully had the Indian state and US State department worked together to de-escalate the situation.
So, it is *both* US & India's responsibility that Devyani was cavity searched. Just like it is *both* India & Pakistan's responsibility to reduce cross border terror. Wah-wah! Subramaniam Swamy was correct in hounding this mofo on charges that the Chief Editor of an Indian newspaper cannot be a foreigner.
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

This might have a Bangladeshi angle. Looks like Secretary Sujatha Singh made our displeasure known in no uncertain terms to the Foggy Bottom during her recent visit about the massan antics with the Bangladeshi mass murderers of 1971 notoriety. There is a theory circulating on the net that the DK custodial rape is the massan retaliation for the "strong language" used by Sujatha Singh.
A quick search on Google chacha gives the following link among many:

http://www.thefinancialexpress-bd.com/2013/12/18/9447

Quoting from the above article:

There is now enough evidence to suggest that the US State department cleared the arrest of Indian deputy consul in New York Devyani Khobragade on visa fraud charges when Indian foreign secretary Sujatha Singh was in Washington, according to a news agency.
"There were several contentious issues that Sujatha Singh raised with the US officials and Bangladesh topped our list of differences. We have reasons to believe the State Department cleared Devyani's arrest to send us a strong message so that we buckle down" said a senior official of the Indian ministry of external affairs.
But he was not willing to be named. The official said the US is very upset with India's position on Bangladesh. "The differences are well known and there is no need for a repeat, but when Sujatha Singh made India's position loud and clear, the Americans were less than amused" he said, adding "Perhaps they tried sending us a strong message. Now the whole nation has approved of the strong message we are sending back to Washington, that we will not take it lying down" he said.
India Tuesday hit back at the United States with a series of counter-measures against US diplomats based in India, after Indian deputy consul general Devyani Khobragade sent an email back home saying he was deeply humiliated by the US authorities

pankajs wrote:8.45 pm: End of VIP era for US diplomats, families in Indian airports New Delhi: US diplomats and their families in India will not be able to avail special treatment at airports from tonight when the deadline expires for surrendering their special passes, as part of the government's retaliatory action against the treatment meted out to diplomat Devyani Khobragade in New York.

Read more at: http://www.firstpost.com/world/devyani- ... ef_article
This will make them eligible for experiencing TSA type intrusive & pleasing inspection at the airports in India.

Now with uncle humiliating India-- even a weak player can get angry beyond a certain tipping point.

If India ( I mean congress mukth Bharat becomes a reality) gets really angry- needs to see if something different will be done.

I sincerely hope India does get really angry(to put in mildly)--
options-

american specific laws only-
1) all americans including diplomats need to sign the form beofre entering India- will be subject to Indian laws if their conduct are beyond their offical santined duties. If they refuse- send them back till someone signs it.
2) all americans if ever got doing something different from their official duty will be subjected to the custodial rape as sanctioned by US laws only.( we can give some concessions)
3) keep them in Indian jails with no fans or acs, with the regular criminals-- as is normally done for other local criminals.
4) every 2 years the PM should sign a form and presnet in Indian parliament sansad that GOTUS does not permit illegal activities on India. If found to be doing it-- then he and secretary of state are banned from entering India.

Some can be symbolic particularly the last one but it sure hurts the etch and endee of the arrogant americans --- but this will be duly noted by other nations who can frame american specific laws in their own countries.

But for all these -- we need GOI who has a strong sense of Indian identity. :((
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Rudradev ji,

You beat me to the punch on the Bangladeshi angle. Bravo.

Also in Sumit Ganguly (guide Uneven Cohen) is another expert cast in 'maximum accomodionist' mode.
What the two dont realise is the USMS did not follow their own guidleines which exempted non violent suspects.

It was delibrate action to humilate the nation.

Sandhya Jain gets it right in her op-ed.

Why is the fact that the maid had two rooms in the NY downtown apatment and food not being brrought up. This is way above any minimum wage. Even Bharara would agree work to get two rooms and free food to do light sundry chores.

So India interfered with a Bangladesh spring plan of the US?

RD ji,
When the outcomes are gamed , wonder what is the outcome when our lame duck govt uses this opportunity to conduct nuke tests. I am still waiting for a big wig in Indian political spectrum to mouth the N word.(not Nig**r, but Nuclear test).
May be some pahalwan types like mullahyam ji can do the rare favor for his country.
Real Communists would have been useful against the imperialists in this situation like how the SFI types have moved against the Massa consulate in Kolkata. But alas ! We have Sitaram Yechury types guiding them from the top (the types when no one is looking shamelessly petitions Imperialist Massa establishment just to pulldown a local "fascist" political opponent aka Modi).

Few posters like Philip etal too have zeroed onto this ultimate muh Tod jawab for Massa State Department - I.e reviving our Nuke testing cycle. Wonder when will a leader too express the same intent publicly to precipitate the required.

BTW what of our another anti-imperialist this time in the Congress mold - Mr. Mani Shankar Aiyyer ?
Is he also now a tamed mouse (like Yechury) when it comes to Massa interests ?
Afaik he was chucked out of petroleum ministry in 2006 as supposedly he was not too amenable to status quo of Massa controlled energy networks, and was hobnobbing with Eyeran,Cheen , Russia etc to link up with alternative supply networks beyond the pale of Massa control. What a fall to his current state !

At least he can make good by showing his usefulness now by talking about the Nuclear option ?

May be I'll just read M K Bhadrakumar in Al-Hundi to give a shot to my BP.

Dipanker wrote:
chaanakya wrote: Many esteemed brfites thought it is a modern slavery issue, perks for ifs or that they deserved, that she lied , visa fraud, perjury blah blah. But surely when facts emerged slowly they have become quietened. If they posted in support I could have understood their learning process. But I am sure they are waiting for storm to pass as it shall inevitably.

I don't count myself among one of esteemed brfites, and let us for a moment assume that DK has been "framed" and there are wheels within wheels in this case but at the end of the day whatever she did, there is documentary proof of that.

The only way she can get out of it is by proving in the court that she was forced to sign the papers that she would pay $9+ /hr instead of the $3 /hr (which of course reeks of exploitation and modern day slavery ) she intended to pay.
recent revelations indicate that the issue is not wage related and that is concocted to hide something more sinister. As DK sister pointed out Maid was getting more than her due and was being treated well.
http://www.indiatvnews.com/news/india/l ... 31671.html

Frederic

Post by Frederic »

BTW, I have been scanning the news outlets for any reactions from the AK-47 guy. Nary a squeek. Anybody has any pointers to Kujliwal's reaction to this sordid custodial rape of DK? He was very active during the Nirbhaya case as I recall.

chanakya, for some NRI's who are citizens of other country their loyalty is solely to their current country, not to their ethnicity. we should have no expectation or illusion in that regard. also, for heaven's sake I have no idea why and how 'lard' desai is an expert on every Indian issue that he needs to be there on every panel discussion.

@deepankar, unless you suffer from a very serious comprehension problem please read the last few pages of this thread and educate yourself.
I am not going to otherwise counter the content of your frankly ridiculous post but if you continue to repeat the same nonsense without bothering to read the many rebuttals, you will be warned for thread derailment.

@Frederic, not here.

Very good point about B'desh Rudradev. I am tweeting this. You should too.

ramana wrote:So India interfered with a Bangladesh spring plan of the US?
Ramana ji,
This has been floating in the Radar (aka media) for a while. Wonder what's Massa's special interest in a place like BD (apart from its ordinary interest to keep screwing India). Is it for its China containment game in longterm ?

ramana wrote:So India interfered with a Bangladesh spring plan of the US?
Yes, a Color Revolution with Dan Mozena (US Amb Dhaka) in charge. India refused to go along or be arm-twisted, even refuting a misleading news-story planted by the US in BD media. Maybe there is some spine to Salman Khurshid after all (or at least, to the Babus who pilot the MEA under him).

Historically speaking it goes way further back than "Springs" and "Color Revolutions". US strategic doctrine has ALWAYS demanded that Bangladesh be an East Pakistan onlee, in order to re-establish "balance" in South Asia. That is why they armed and facilitated Yahya Khan's genocidal suppression of Bangladesh; that is why they supported Mujib' assassination and eventual replacement by Zia-ur-Rehman in 1975; that is why they supported Gen Ershad's (Zia-of-the-East) takeover in 1982; and that is why they are now supporting the rise of BNP, which is in bed with the genocidal Islamist Jama'tis, rather than Awami League, which hangs them.

This is what they do in India's own bloody armpit. And then they complain if India tries to sign a trade deal of any kind with Iran.
Last edited by Rudradev on 19 Dec 2013 23:31, edited 1 time in total.
GeorgeWelch

Post by GeorgeWelch »

ramana wrote:5) Custodial rape of diplomats claiming standard procedure is not acceptable.
It was a strip search, not a cavity seach.

A strip search is not rape.

An interesting overview of how Americans view the matter:
<del>
It's apparent that a lot of the issues being raised here don't even register with Americans.

americans being abusive to non-americans while completely misunderstanding the issue is usual behaviour and *not* interesting.
kindly do not post links to some 2 bit redneck forum.
Last edited by Rahul M on 19 Dec 2013 23:35, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited

^^Georgeji,

As far as Indian penal law what was done was Rape.

<del>
really ? is this the place to discuss domestic politics ?
Last edited by Rahul M on 19 Dec 2013 23:36, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited

GeorgeWelch wrote:
ramana wrote:5) Custodial rape of diplomats claiming standard procedure is not acceptable.

<del>

It's apparent that a lot of the issues being raised here don't even register with Americans.
Devayani email is quite clear about this. It was Strip Search Body cavity search and DNA swabbing. Imaging she would have been photographed like a convict holding name and age on a slate with both front and side profile.

Here is the text of her email
I am so grateful for all the outpouring of unequivocal support and backing that has been available to me from the fraternity. I take comfort in the confidence that this invaluable support will also be translated into strong and swift action, to ensure the safety of me and my children, as also to preserve the dignity of our service which is unquestionably under siege.

While I was going through it, although I must admit that I broke down many times as the indignities of repeated handcuffing, stripping and cavity searches, swabbing, hold up with common criminals and drug addicts were all being imposed upon me despite my incessant assertions of immunity, I got the strength to regain composure and remain dignified thinking that I must represent all of my colleagues and my country with confidence and pride. I feel I can continue to do so thanks to this strong and prolific support.

I cannot say more now but will later, I did feel the deep need to thank you all so much.

Devyani

http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/dev ... story.html
I would believe her rather than that Lawyer Bharara or any American suggesting otherwise.

And yes it will be rape even by Australian laws.
Last edited by Rahul M on 19 Dec 2013 23:41, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: quoted link deleted
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

As per USMS:
According to the body searches protocols, there are four types of searches that the USMS is authorised to conduct: pat-down search, in-custody search, strip-search and digital cavity search. Of these the USMS and other sources have indicated that the strip-search was performed on Ms. Khobragade.
Yes, looking into your inners and inspecting devoid of respect is alright. One has to feel, only then it is rape.
Last edited by member_22872 on 19 Dec 2013 23:39, edited 1 time in total.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

GeorgeWelch wrote:

<del>
]

If this is what Americans think of Indians, its time to reconsider every aspect of this "strategic" relationship. Thanks, though, for pointing us to your favorite hangout.

Worse case is due to everything being "online and instant" with PetaBytes of storage will cause her biometric record to be with the US for ever.

A forced digital cavity search is the same as forced penetration == rape in Indian Penal Law. Our own Sher Bahadur Tejpal is looking at a long prison sentence for the same offense.
Last edited by member_22733 on 19 Dec 2013 23:42, edited 1 time in total.

Am re-posting this link because this thread moves so fast. Please read this for a complete chronology of events.

Its very clear that this was a cold & calculated action by the U.S State Department. A mere apology wouldnt suffice. US must be made to pay:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/in ... ident.html

Digital means high tech elctroinc or finger digits?

George You think I dont understand US processes? :)

My line hits were it hurts.

In the aftermath of 9/11 the whole country lost its mind and allowed unlawful search and seizure and indignities on humans.

Four US SC judges disagreed with the majority, of one, opinion and made similar comments as we are making here.

If the US can claim jurisdiction in cases on '84 riots, can't a case be filed against the US marshalls for rape of dk? :)

Last edited by Prasad on 19 Dec 2013 23:51, edited 1 time in total.

Rudradev wrote:What is the US trying to achieve?

1) Lately there has been a thaw in US-Iran relations. New President Rouhani has opened talks with the US to rollback their nuclear weapon program (what an idiot, did he learn nothing from Libya?) in exchange for a lifting of sanctions.

When US and Iran are very hostile, India can balance relations between them by supporting one or the other. When Iran-US relations warm, India loses this leverage. Coincidence that US decides to push India around in public just as the new Iranian President is opening up to US overtures?....
I expressed similar feeling when an emasculated Iran was coopted in the so called US-Iran thaw in West Asia thread.
Iran should have at least nominally achieved nuclear status (like how noko did) and then made a bargain with the Devil. India's interests too would have been well served then - as Massa now couldn't aim for total control of Iran in longterm and Iranian independence in ME would have remained a continued thorn to the Saudi-Massa energy axis and would have insured our(along with other upstarts like China,SL,South America etc) energy supply chain.

prasad, exactly what I was thinking about. it is a clear case of custodial rape as per our laws. the marshal(s) concerned, and supervisors up the chain to DOJ should all be charged and tried in absentia.

the actions of this bharara guy has grounds for conspiracy.