g.sarkar wrote:ramana wrote:I think GOI stance is the arrest is illegal in the first place, so where for the plea bargain?
Ramanaji,
There are a few points I would like to mention:
In US to get a speedy trial, plea bargain is done. This is the rule not the exception. If you do not accept, and go for a jury trial, the book is thrown at you. I have seen people accepting a 10 year term because the alternative would have been a life term if convicted by a jury. In the case of Dr K, it is the question of keeping cool. This is easy to say than done. She had trouble with one strip search. If convicted and forced to do time even for a short time, she will go through the process everyday. Believe me, I could not stand being sentenced in prison, when I have spent 22 years there as staff. You can not blame her if she loses her nerve and accepts a guilty plea.
2. Unless very sure of being found innocent, lawyers will often recommend that accused go for plea and avoid the harsh sentence.
3. In BR I am hearing people say that Preet Bharwa is finished. How so? We under estimate him at our peril. He has his admirers. I just heard him speak about the Banks culpability in the ponzi scheme (JP Morgan and the Madof thing) on the NPR. He sounded very up beat.
4. US understands only one type of dand. That is Artha Dand. India should threaten to cancel large billion dollar contracts and see the reaction. On the other hand, I am worried about the loss of the the GE engines for he Tejas if we go that rout.
We should force a Trial and bring out all evidence by process of discovery. Trial is only dis-advantageous to poor people but in this case, we can hire battery of lawyers and force every last bit of evidence in Court. As the issue of interpretation of Vienna Convention is in dispute, we can force US to disclose its protocol stand all over the world & force it into evidence. On every minor issue we can appeal, causing more embarrassment to USA
We should drag it for
many years, and
plea bargain is possible till the last minute.
The biggest hit to USA would be to
simultaneouly ask for early hearing from Supreme Court (in India) in Bhopal Gas Tragedy case which has been re-opened. If we can sacrifice 500 soldiers in Kargil then we can discomfort one diplomat, and it is not a big issue.
Ah yes!!!! It is still pending!!
Lest we forget :-
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bhopal_disaster
The Bhopal disaster, also referred to as the Bhopal gas tragedy, was a gas leak incident in India, considered the world's worst industrial disaster.[1] It occurred on the night of 2–3 December 1984 at the Union Carbide India Limited (UCIL) pesticide plant in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. Over 500,000 people were exposed to methyl isocyanate gas and other chemicals. The toxic substance made its way in and around the shanty towns located near the plant.[2] Estimates vary on the death toll. The official immediate death toll was 2,259. The government of Madhya Pradesh confirmed a total of 3,787 deaths related to the gas release.[3] Others estimate 8,000 died within two weeks and another 8,000 or more have since died from gas-related diseases.[4][5][6] A government affidavit in 2006 stated the leak caused 558,125 injuries including 38,478 temporary partial injuries and approximately 3,900 severely and permanently disabling injuries.[7]
http://articles.economictimes.indiatime ... -chemicals
NEW DELHI: US-based Union Carbide Corporation (UCC) has filed a petition in the Supreme Court demanding early hearing on the government's curative petition in the Bhopal gas disaster case, saying delays are being used to besmirch the reputation of its parent firm, Dow Chemicals.
http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... reme-court
The petition had been admitted by the apex court three years ago, on December 3, 2010. Not a single hearing has taken place since then.
In 1989, the Supreme Court had approved a settlement between the government and Union Carbide that gave Rs 713 crore ($470 million) as compensation to victims estimated at 3,000 dead and over 1 lakh injured. In the following 24 years the number of dead has grown to nearly 20,000 and number of those suffering disabilities to a staggering 5 lakh. The effect of the poisonous gases was becoming clearer as time passed. The compensation needed to be given to many times more than the original number counted. Under pressure from the harried survivors, the government moved the Supreme Court to review its order authorizing the settlement of 1989, so that a better compensation could be given to all the survivors and kin of dead.
Perhaps
the government is purposely allowing the matter to drag on, speculates N D Jaiprakash, activist and a petitioner in several of the key Bhopal cases. "But if that's the case, why is the Supreme Court not pulling them up and getting on with the case?" he asks.
http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/supre ... ase-436589
And the urgency shown by Supreme Court in other cases:-
An Indian doctor in
America has been awarded a record compensation of nearly
six crores by the Supreme Court for a case of medical negligence that resulted in his wife's death.
http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 116_1.html
Munna at play
US Ambassador David Mulford is also reported to be urging the Government of India to “drop its claims against Dow” in a cable sent on September 18, 2007. In reply, the NGOs have alleged, Ahluwalia assures the Ambassador that the Government of India does not hold Dow responsible for the cleanup but is unable to withdraw its claims against Dow because of “active and vocal” NGOs. According to the cable, the NGOs further alleged, Ahluwalia then advised the Ambassador to discuss the issue of Dow Chemical’s Bhopal liabilities with Finance Minister Chidambaram.
http://groundreport.com/bhopal-gas-trag ... e-us-role/
Later, even at the time of settling the compensation for the victims of the disaster the US Administration was reported to have pressurized the Indian government to accept a far lesser amount of only $470 million than the $3 billion that it had claimed.
The UCC lawyers reportedly went to the Supreme Court from the residence of the Prime Minister for the settlement that was arrived at in camera in the Chief Justice’s chamber.
Even much later in 2007, the US Ambassador pressed the Government of India to drop its claims against Dow Chemicals, the new owners of the UCC. The US even threatened to link investments in India to the country’s stand on Dow Chemicals. After all, The Dow is one of the largest corporations in the US and such entities are the movers and shakers of its Administration which literally eats out of their hands.
For pushing an unproven UCC technology in a developing country and then bailing out its progenitor from its responsibilities in regard to the massive disaster (caused by its own acts of omissions and commissions) makes the US Administration as much culpable as the UCC and the UCIL. The then Indian government displayed just no spine for standing up to the US even for the sake of its own huge number of suffering people.
Looks like there were massive pay-offs. Moynihan, the then US Ambassador, later went on record saying that the Congress party took money from the US. A senior lawyer and MP, Ram Jethmalani’s allegation in 2010 that Congress got paid by the UCC has not been denied so far. One cannot really put it past the Congress, the party that was in power through the 1980s both in Delhi and in Bhopal, as it has had a record of receiving funds from abroad.