Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

RoyG wrote:I believe we should legalize narcotics. We won't be able to stop the influx into our country especially if people have more money in their pockets. Legalize, tax, and permit people to produce with a license.
How about legalizing murder, rape, pedophilia, ....etc? Infact, why not just legalize everything? Legalize, tax, and permit people to 'produce' with a license. As long as the state can earn tax, people should be allowed to do anything and everything.

There is a movie called 'Purge'.
In an America wracked by crime and overcrowded prisons, the government has sanctioned an annual 12-hour period in which any and all criminal activity-including murder-becomes legal. The police can't be called. Hospitals suspend help. It's one night when the citizenry regulates itself without thought of punishment.

Those things that erode the society in the long term must be banned because regardless of their impact in the short term, they wreck the society and thereby the country and state in the long term. Narcotics creates long term defects in a society. Smoking, alcohol, prostitution and gambling can be enabled in particular zones and banned in all other places. This allows regulation through taxing. This also allows the conditions of prostitutes to be improved and stemming the tide of human trafficking. But, its important not to glorify or celebrate smoking, alcohol, prostitution, gambling or drugs. Because a society that glorifies or celebrates such things will soon start venerating it and becomes addicted to it which will wreck the society. Its important that the society looks down upon narcotics, alcohol, prostitution and gambling. This allows people to stay away from such things. And only few people will turn towards them.

Similarly, its important to control p*rn... both soft and hard. If people want sex, they should have it. Watching it while others perform is really pathetic(unless it is for educational purpose). And its important to use marriage as the framework within which the sex is allowed.

Most important thing is that the state does not get addicted to the tax money coming from narcotics, alcohol, prostitution, or gambling.

Those zones where such things are allowed should be kept completely out of the city limits. Most important of all is to have leaders who themselves are not addicted to narcotics, alcohol, prostitution or gambling. Because Yatha Raja, thatha praja.

Narcotics and p*rn should be strictly banned.

Any society that wishes to stay for long has to preserve its family system which means it has to preserve its marriage system.

johneeG garu you made a big mistake by feeding the troll, now we would have to bear more rants from the troll.

Sagar G wrote:johneeG garu you made a big mistake by feeding the troll, now we would have to bear more rants from the troll.
You and johneeG have some twisted idea of reality. I don't understand how legalization of prostitution or drugs will destroy the family. If anything legalizing these two things will make them safer because they can be regulated and it would drop the price making it economically difficult for terrorist and underworld groups to make money. Those who are addicted to them can get help without fear of the law and most of all we don't have to throw money down a black hole combating these things. We can instead throw the money on skills development, healthcare, social security, and other programs which help keep families intact. Regulate through licenses and tax. As far as po*n is concerned gl banning it. Perhaps you should also try banning alcohol, greasy foods, cigarettes, etc...Utterly ridiculous :roll:
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

^^ Legalisation of things like drugs might look good on paper - like communism. Problem is, it won't work practically. As you yourself have said, underworld can't make money if its legal. Are you saying that the underworld will pack up and go home? Of course not, they will either find a way to make more addicts or make harder and harder drugs. As far as "can get help without fear of law" is concerned, that can already happen - it does not require legalisation of drugs. In the US there is AA, there is also help for drug addicts etc - same in the UK. All this without drugs being legal. Concerning your last sentence "Perhaps you should also try banning alcohol, greasy foods, cigarettes, etc...Utterly ridiculous " the UK is sort of moving toward this. There has been talk of "fat tax" (aka big mac tax) and "sugar tax" among other things. Did you know that in the UK, you cannot see a SINGLE advertisement wrt cigarettes? Not on TV, Newspapers, or EVEN THE STANDS THAT HOLD THEM in shops! In fact, they have banned smoking in every public place, every taxi, every workplace (even pubs) that now smokers have to stand several feet away from the building its almost embarrassing. The number of "new smokers" has been falling in the west, most "new smokers" are in developing countries like india and africa. Any idea why?? So what you might think "ridiculous" is already happening in the west.

Anyway, check this out guys:

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-s ... eststories

Notice anything different? HIS TOPI is missing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Looks like he is becoming less and less "aam admi" everyday!
Last edited by JohnTitor on 20 Jan 2014 00:03, edited 1 time in total.
biswas

Post by biswas »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChA03mNuelA

Piyush Goyal vs Meera Sanyal vs Sam Pitroda

Sagar G wrote:johneeG garu you made a big mistake by feeding the troll, now we would have to bear more rants from the troll.
:) nah, saar. I don't think he is a troll. But, I think he is a bit immature and is unable to understand the full implications of certain things. He seems to think that cash is the solution to everything. Anyway, he seems to support certain things because he(or people known to him) do it. Its like,"I smoke, so I support smoking" kind. I think this is a mistaken thinking. Personally, even if I smoke, I would still say that smoking is bad and should not be encouraged.
RoyG wrote:
You and johneeG have some twisted idea of reality. I don't understand how legalization of prostitution or drugs will destroy the family. If anything legalizing these two things will make them safer because they can be regulated and it would drop the price making it economically difficult for terrorist and underworld groups to make money. Those who are addicted to them can get help without fear of the law and most of all we don't have to throw money down a black hole combating these things. We can instead throw the money on skills development, healthcare, social security, and other programs which help keep families intact. Regulate through licenses and tax. As far as po*n is concerned gl banning it. Perhaps you should also try banning alcohol, greasy foods, cigarettes, etc...Utterly ridiculous :roll:
As soon as you have a 'law', you will have two things: 'legal' and 'illegal'. So, having a 'law' means having certain activities that will be 'illegal'. The reality of the world is that 'illegal' activities cannot be stopped completely. Now, you are arguing that because 'illegal' activities cannot be stopped, lets legalize the 'illegal' activities.

This argument will apply to all 'illegal' activities. So, by that logic, one should simply legalize everything. Why throw money down a black hole combating things? Those who are addicted(or enjoy) will do it anyway and if they don't want to, they can get help. So, legalize everything. A sort of legal anarchy.

BTW, stopping narcotics or p*rn is not really difficult if the source of these activities is stemmed. This is same as terrorism. Can terrorism be stopped? If not, should it be legalized and taxed? Yes, terrorism can be stopped if its funding is stopped. It can be stopped if its ideology is neutralized and support structure is taken out. The same applies to narcotics and p*rn.

You say that narcotics and p*rn should be legalized because they fund mafia or terrorism. Earlier, the same argument was used for alcohol. Now, its used for gambling, narcotics and p*rn. If these are legalized, then the mafia/terrorists will find some other activity to fund themselves. What will you do then? Will you legalize that? Where will this ultimately end? The only way is for you to legalize everything so that nothing can be black marketed.

I'll give you an analogy:
X wants to protect a temple from a raid by the jihadhis. X stations a battalion of soldiers in the temple. Then, he turns the temple into a mini fort. He has to employ many servants and cooks to cater to the needs of the soldiers. After sometime, a brothel is established near the place which the soldiers visit regularly. The money generated from the temple is diverted for the needs of soldiers because they are seen as the prime priority. Soon, the regular pooja activity in the temple is stalled. After sometime, since the pooja has stopped anyway, the murthi/idol of the God/Goddess is put outside, so that the place could be used completely as the fort. Once the idol moves out, the brothel moves into the fort. Soon a new small temple comes up for the idol outside the fort, while the fort(erstwhile temple) becomes a full fledged fort with proper garrison.

When the jihadhis finally come to attack the temple, they see that there is a fort instead of a temple. They see a small temple outside the fort. They desecrate it and leave. The people of the fort are happy that the jihadhis did not attack them. Tell me, did the people save the temple or not?

Your idea is also similar. The state may end up with more money due to taxes in the short run due to such policies. But, the society will be lost and it will be devoured by some other civilization or it will implode. One of the first people who will get addicted to all these sorts of things are the very poor and super rich. The very poor would want to escape the reality and the super rich can do whatever they want. Both will take to these sort of things. Similarly, young people will be vulnerable to these things. And when they get addicted to bad habits in young age, it becomes difficult for them to get rid of it, even if they want to. Then, these bad habits affect their life in various ways(i.e. negative influence on their social and financial situation) and may even lead them towards suicides.

Its common knowledge that alcohol, narcotics,...etc increase criminal activity. When a person is under the influence of such things, he is not in his own control and is likely to commit any activities including crimes. These things can also ruin people economically and make them debt ridden which in turn will increase criminal activity due to desperate financial situation.

All the taxes collected on such activities will not be used for any long term benefits. Infact, if the taxes are collected by the state on such activities, its in the state's interest to see to it that these activities flourish. So, if the state earns huge taxes on prostitution, then the state itself will directly or indirectly facilitate prostitution and human trafficking. The same applies to narcotics, p*rn, alcohol, gambling, or even slavery.

Its very difficult to get rid of a bad habit, once one is addicted to it. This applies to any habit, but is particularly true about bad habits. Prevention is the better than cure.

Drugs should be banned, no two ways about it, but what about natural stuff like marijuana? Bhaang is freely distributed during our festivals. Chemical intoxicants should be banned & strictly so but marijuana/bhaang can be regulated & taxed. Prostitution is a tough nut. We all know it will exist down the covers. I used to believe that prostitution should be legalized so that the sex workers can at least be saved from hounding they recieve from the law enforcement agencies. I do not hold that view anymore, but then in a closed society like ours, where will the sexually charged males relieve themselves? Either you ensure that the opposite sexes mingles freely from a young age, making it more like the western construct or you ensure teenagers have other things to do to calm their raging hormones. Similarly, alcohol consumption can be heavily regulated & age limits properly ensured. Banning alcohol/smoking is too much.
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

Please.. stay on topic.. Has anyone noticed ashutosh is starting to become the AAP sanjay jha?

Chandragupta wrote:Drugs should be banned, no two ways about it, but what about natural stuff like marijuana? Bhaang is freely distributed during our festivals. Chemical intoxicants should be banned & strictly so but marijuana/bhaang can be regulated & taxed. Prostitution is a tough nut. We all know it will exist down the covers. I used to believe that prostitution should be legalized so that the sex workers can at least be saved from hounding they recieve from the law enforcement agencies. I do not hold that view anymore, but then in a closed society like ours, where will the sexually charged males relieve themselves? Either you ensure that the opposite sexes mingles freely from a young age, making it more like the western construct or you ensure teenagers have other things to do to calm their raging hormones. Similarly, alcohol consumption can be heavily regulated & age limits properly ensured. Banning alcohol/smoking is too much.
Sorry for the OT post, but since members have wasted space.
Recalling from a GD in 24th SSB where a lawyer took the lead as the opening participant explaining us newbies...prostitution is legal in India...but solicitation and trafficking are illegal. Funny to see how this misconception still persists.

how many see this as psy op for aap? Listen to the dialogues and note goondas with bhagwa on harassing Taboo pls.

This choreographed nautanki on TV will unfortunately rain more votes for sAAP.
This guy is digging into anger on police and is going to use it for political gain.

IndraD wrote:
how many see this as psy op for aap? Listen to the dialogues and note goondas with bhagwa on harassing Taboo pls.

IndraD ji,
One comment by me on this a while back in Movies thread.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1576360
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Lilo wrote:
This guy is digging into anger on police and is going to use it for political gain.
Media (especially ELM) has done many such interviews of anti bjp forces, kuch nahi hoga, relax

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... 74670.aspx

ak refuses security after IM threat, may not sit on dharna from tomorrow

http://www.hindustantimes.com/specials/ ... 74741.aspx

Binny to fast

full speech of modi from 1.57
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

muraliravi wrote:
Lilo wrote:
Media (especially ELM) has done many such interviews of anti bjp forces, kuch nahi hoga, relax
U guys have to understand the naivety of Indians: BA degree people and MTech people. They are all same.

AK is IIT guy. He is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo smart. He is soooooooooooooooooooooo honest. He is soooooooooooo good.

I had to literally show people Ford Foundation, CIA articles. They hear all the statements from Prashant Bhushan but can't connect dots. I hope I made enough changes. But the helplessness of Indian situation makes Indians believe anything.

AK and his gang along with the help of PAIDMEDIA have done a great service to SONIA. I wonder how many people have been conned by this demonic forces.

RMji is right. There is a sinister plan behind this. SONIA and gang can't plan this well. Our PAIDMEDIA, AAP, AK, Yadav are all working in tandem with SONIA/RAHUL lock-in-step. Definitely helped by entities who are very very great modellers who are getting input from India.

AK is a front man. They will play all the tricks. If not, AK might be terminated.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

vivek.rao wrote:
U guys have to understand the naivety of Indians: BA degree people and MTech people. They are all same.

AK is IIT guy. He is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo smart. He is soooooooooooooooooooooo honest. He is soooooooooooo good.

I had to literally show people Ford Foundation, CIA articles. They hear all the statements from Prashant Bhushan but can't connect dots. I hope I made enough changes. But the helplessness of Indian situation makes Indians believe anything.

AK and his gang along with the help of PAIDMEDIA have done a great service to SONIA. I wonder how many people have been conned by this demonic forces.

RMji is right. There is a sinister plan behind this. SONIA and gang can't plan this well. Our PAIDMEDIA, AAP, AK, Yadav are all working in tandem with SONIA/RAHUL lock-in-step. Definitely helped by entities who are very very great modellers who are getting input from India.

AK is a front man. They will play all the tricks. If not, AK might be terminated.
After hearing Modi's speech today and if you cannot figure out which type of vote he is targeting and the fact that those voters who Namo is targeting (or has already captured) can never never ever be breached by AK/Sonia types, I cannot help you any further. Please get out of this syndrome/miscalculation called : educated middle class (metro based) votes for BJP, they are bjp's mainstay in indian politics concept, it was probably never true and if it was ever, it does not hold true anymore. Namo is a different league, he has changed BJP's vote base and strategy considerably to even discuss it here.
Last edited by muraliravi on 20 Jan 2014 03:12, edited 1 time in total.

Ak to sit on dharna tomorrow with MLAs , may try to gherao North Block, massive police bandobast in place, many roads closed
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

Sunanda's son Shiv performs last rites, Shashi Tharoor tried to put his arm around Shiv twice and both times Shiv moves away. http://fb.me/3dUp1N4Dk
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

muraliravi wrote:
vivek.rao wrote:

After hearing Modi's speech today and if you cannot figure out which type of vote he is targeting and the fact that those voters who Namo is targeting (or has already captured) can never never ever be breached by AK/Sonia types, I cannot help you any further. Please get out of this syndrome/miscalculation called : educated middle class (metro based) votes for BJP, they are bjp's mainstay in indian politics concept, it was probably never true and if it was ever, it does not hold true anymore. Namo is a different league, he has changed BJP's vote base and strategy considerably to even discuss it here.
+108!

If anyone asks why India doesn't progress it's because of the sheer number of pessimistic people. Just look at this very forum. You can whine and cry all you want, what will happen in the end will happen. Even with all the feel good factor, BJP lost 2004 - you can come up with whatever reason you want, but it was meant to be so it happened. So there is no need to worry either way. That being the case, people should stop dhoti shivering and do what you can to help. If you can't help, just be and let those who will do their job. The constant whining is neither here nor there.

Yeah yeah, we all know what happened during prohibition in the US. Gangs and terror groups ran a riot just like they are doing now in the US, Central and South America, etc. The US throws more money at the problem every year and intercepts a pathetic amount of drugs. Obviously you have to draw a line somewhere which should be murder, trafficking of people, etc. Outright banning most things just wont work this day and age. You want to ban p*rn, go ahead. Every teen in India will find a way around the firewall and beat off. Look at Pakistan - those maggots are banned from looking at women in some places and they bang goats instead which is probably many more times unhygienic. Today, I can go to any city, town, village and somebody will know where to get drugs. Please tell me what the number one source of money to terror groups comes from now days. Petrodollars and drugs.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

muraliravi wrote:
vivek.rao wrote:

No no. U got me wrong!

Modi speech was great. He sets an agenda for India. But he still speaks in Hindi and can't reach millions in India. Not many people even watched the speech. They get sound bites which are edited and processed by PAIDMEDIA.

My sister who is well educated and Modi supporter singing praises of AK. I was aghast. I had to show what is he really. But how many such people are conned by AK is big concern for me.

I hope you are right. 2009 stunned me

Kinda OTish but maybe relevant coz of policy implications for a future NM govt...

Colorado has legalized pot consumption for *recreational* purposes (medicinal purposes is legal in 18 other states).

All eyes are on CO now. If they pull it off, the trend could spread. Uruguay legalized pot too.Portugal similarly, afew yrs ago. Portugal's experience is heartening - the % of hardcore addicts dropped 50% and those fearing that pot is a 'gateway' drug to harder stuff were also proved wrong (so far, just been 3 yrs now, mind you). However, Amsterdam seems to be cutting down on their coffee shops even though there's no evidence Holland has become a haven for zombie potheads...

Interesting stuff all. But the US's attitude is key. They could gain a lot by freeing hajaar people jailed for the nonviolent crime of potsmoking and save their prison & policing systems from further (and IMO, unnecessary) strain. We'll see how this pans out but I'm confident that things are moving towards more open-ness, outta-the-closet and quasi-legal status for soft drugs all over the world - whether such happens in this decade or the next.

JMTPs and my last on this.

What did anmol do?

Hari Seldon wrote:Kinda OTish but maybe relevant coz of policy implications for a future NM govt...

Colorado has legalized pot consumption for *recreational* purposes (medicinal purposes is legal in 18 other states).

All eyes are on CO now. If they pull it off, the trend could spread. Uruguay legalized pot too.Portugal similarly, afew yrs ago. Portugal's experience is heartening - the % of hardcore addicts dropped 50% and those fearing that pot is a 'gateway' drug to harder stuff were also proved wrong (so far, just been 3 yrs now, mind you). However, Amsterdam seems to be cutting down on their coffee shops even though there's no evidence Holland has become a haven for zombie potheads...

Interesting stuff all. But the US's attitude is key. They could gain a lot by freeing hajaar people jailed for the nonviolent crime of potsmoking and save their prison & policing systems from further (and IMO, unnecessary) strain. We'll see how this pans out but I'm confident that things are moving towards more open-ness, outta-the-closet and quasi-legal status for soft drugs all over the world - whether such happens in this decade or the next.

JMTPs and my last on this.
OT anyone brfite willing to invest in colorado ? :evil: big money in there..
bhargava

Post by bhargava »

Something good might be happening in Haryana

This in itself might be a good thing. Couple this with this excerpt from MJ Akbar's article Nine weapons? Rahul needs a tenth: Luck
The thin veil of protection draped around Rahul is fiction. The Congress campaign for 2014 will be around him, visually and thematically. A teaser has already been floated, starring Rahul Gandhi’s nine weapons against corruption, plus three extra free gas cylinders for those within the middle class who remain unimpressed. This is where Modi gets lucky. Congress has chosen its weakest flank from which to launch its counter-offensive. All Modi has to do to blunt the nine weapons is mention Robert Vadra
News gets lot more sweeter :D

I think Salman Khan handled Rahul Kanwal well with the political questions: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/video/salm ... 38671.html

One of the celebrities, if there are others, to openly ask why should Modi have to apologize for Gujarat riots if he is not guilty. Salman did play safe on other political questions, clearly a politician in the making.

SwamyG wrote:What did anmol do?

Please visit Indo-US thread from page 200 and read up.

Short answer he was primarily responsible for getting India a two for one.

ramana garu: Thanks, I did follow that thread / KT case for a while, I saw some of his initial posts, and then later tumblr images. After that I did not track the dhaaga, and hence did not know that he was the source of those images. Wow.
Comer

Post by Comer »

I think Delhi people haven't seen Karunanidhi, hence all this love for Kejriwal. Kejriwal is a Karunanidhi with IIT education.

This pic is a keeper. Even after losing 4% of vote Cong won in 2009. Thanks to AAP (PrajaRajyam).

http://5forty3.wordpress.com/2014/01/20 ... ed-polity/

gandharva wrote:This pic is a keeper. Even after losing 4% of vote Cong won in 2009. Thanks to AAP (PrajaRajyam).

http://5forty3.wordpress.com/2014/01/20 ... ed-polity/
Actually, what it clearly reveals is that the loser is the party that loses more votes to the AAP. Congress lost 4% but TDP lost 15%.

gandharva ji, that was fairly a good survey. Once the state crosses into thirdweek of feb, they have to do one more survey. But Dr.Patil and Chinmay did a very good job.
member_28352

Post by member_28352 »

Sooner rather than later there is going to a crowds in front of Rashtrapati Bhavan, Lok Sabha, North Block, South Block singing revolution all led up the garden path by Farziwal and his CIA masters. Question then is what way will it end? Will Farziwal become leader as is the example of numerous colour revolutions (Romania/Czech/Philippines) or will it result in a failed colour revolution (as in Tiananmen Square). The objectives of the anti national forces seems to be
a. Stop Modi at all costs. Use AAP/PAAP/INC. AAP is now being exposed for the hooligans that they are. However they are anarchists and guerilla fighters. The rest of the nation is aghast/appalled at their behaviour. However their boorish behaviour will get them the votes and seats in Delhi (my prediction is that they will win 5/7 in Delhi and 0 outside Delhi). In other news Kejriwal's profile is being raised to make him a credible leader. He is now openly against the DP and wants to provoke a reaction to get attention/raise his profile in the international media. As soon as lathis are rained on the pAAPpis, WaPo/NYT will say Indian police lathicharge anti corruption protesters. Khujliwal will then be given the halo of an Aung Sung Syu Ki. The other motive could be that he wants to be out of office to fight LS elections at the bidding of his masters.
b. Even if the above conspiracy does not work, create a volatile law and order situation to be able to postpone elections. This will be done across the country. All the ROI on the $$$$ that have been pumped into the NGO's will be extracted by getting these guys to sit on dharnas etc. This is a very dangerous state that could lead to a Tiananmen square kind of situation. Note that the INC would prefer this as they would get to stay in power longer than what they should. Later (2/3 yrs) down the line elections could be held.
Question for BJP is what can be done to immediately hold elections.
Last edited by member_28352 on 20 Jan 2014 09:06, edited 3 times in total.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

In 2004 there was no strong mass leader from BJP. AVB was ailing and nearing 80. Advani was projected in 2009 and did not inspire much confidence and was old. Sonia was young at that time and projecte her self as the new MRS. INDIRA GANDI, another strong leader. So the pattern in national election is clear - vote for a strong and bold leader who can take bold decisions and take challenges by the horn. And in that front, NAMO has no contender and his image is only going to get bigger and culminate in a huge victory in 2014. Just focus on this aspect. No campaing with 500k budget can change this as it takes time to build this image.

subhamoy.das wrote:In 2004 there was no strong mass leader from BJP. AVB was ailing and nearing 80. Advani was projected in 2009 and did not inspire much confidence and was old. Sonia was young at that time and projecte her self as the new MRS. INDIRA GANDI, another strong leader. So the pattern in national election is clear - vote for a strong and bold leader who can take bold decisions and take challenges by the horn. And in that front, NAMO has no contender and his image is only going to get bigger and culminate in a huge victory in 2014. Just focus on this aspect. No campaing with 500k budget can change this as it takes time to build this image.
2009 UPA had the benefit of GDP growth rates due to NDA policies.
Comer

Post by Comer »

@iamnarendranath (a.Journalist with Times Of India)
Somnath Bharti-'Main Arun Jaitley ke muhn par thokna chahta hun,unhe public dauda kar maregi,Cong-BJP mein dalal log hain to main kya karon'
What is with this guy?