Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

muraliravi

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Post by muraliravi »

nageshks wrote:
muraliravi wrote:CSDS-CNN-IBN think they are being very smart by deliberately not putting out seat projections in Jharkhand, i mean c'mon, with 40% vote share and the 2nd largest being just 1/2 of that, BJP will win at least 12/14. Its a grand slam.
They said their sample size was too small to make predictions. And same for Assam. Which is why I am not convinced that it is reflective of the ground tendencies.
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/poll-tracker ... 37-64.html

If you scroll down and look at Orissa, Sample size is 978 and Jharkhand it is 972. Population is similar in both states and anyway population is irrelevant beyond a particular number (i forget the exact number). So clearly if they can provide seats for orissa, they should for Jharkhand also. Daal mein kuch kala hai. Assam, I can understand, their sample size is 462. Hence the high numbers for congress. But how can I be so naive, how can CNN-IBN show that BJP with 40% will get 14/14.

In fact if you do a sample size calc, for jharkhand pop (32 mn, 22 mn voters), 972 is pretty good sample 99% confidence level with 4.1% confidence interval.

nageshks ji,

I share your dream. BJP should go all out to get Jats, Yadavs and Tribals everywhere.

Tribals should feel that BJP is their party of natural choice as BJP is the only party that heavily supports preservation of native culture and their betterment.

muraliravi wrote:http://exitopinionpollsindia.blogspot.c ... is-of.html

The guy is a core congressi, but never mind, his website is gold for number lovers.

If you look at that link, you will see that barring Chhattisgarh, CSDS was the best predictor in almost all other states for all parties.

muraliravi, Have we done a post-poll analysis of the various pre-poll surveys? how far were they from the actual results of the 4 state polls?
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

muraliravi wrote:http://exitopinionpollsindia.blogspot.c ... is-of.html

The guy is a core congressi, but never mind, his website is gold for number lovers.

If you look at that link, you will see that barring Chhattisgarh, CSDS was the best predictor in almost all other states for all parties.

muraliravi, Have we done a post-poll analysis of the various pre-poll surveys? how far were they from the actual results of the 4 state polls?
Ramana Sir,

The only agency that got all pre-polls correct was Today's Chanakya. Of the exit polls, Albatrossinflight (Pravin Patil, 5forty3.wordpress.com) got it on dot. Of the major TV surveys (which are all there in that link), CSDS was ok-ok/best, barring Chhattisgarh where they over estimated BJP. I would say mixed bag. But when i get time, I can do a comparison chart.

murlairavi garu,
In fact if you do a sample size calc, for jharkhand pop (32 mn, 22 mn voters), 972 is pretty good sample 99% confidence level with 4.1% confidence interval.
What std deviation are you using to get these tolerances and whence this data came? Just curious only?
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Hari Seldon wrote:murlairavi garu,
What std deviation are you using to get these tolerances and whence this data came? Just curious only?
Hari Sir,

Got data from http://ibnlive.in.com/news/poll-tracker ... 37-64.html

Scroll down you will see the data in italics under each state's table.

As for the calc, all i did was use the std. formula to calculate error margin (in this case I call it confidence interval), Assumed a Z factor of 2.58 (since i used 99% confidence level), n is 972 the sample size and P*(1-P) is max when p = 0.5, so even with the worst case, the error margin is .041 or 4.1%.

AK-420 = AAP is gaining because nationalists activists in RSS\BST refused to address problems like nuisance created by rampant drug-sale, commercial sex etc in middle class localities across Delhi and across India . SOLUTION : I request nationalists to focus on THE PROBLEM , and try to enact law-drafts that reduce the nuisance without waiting for BJP to come into power.

In whole Delhi-mess, paid-media is repeatedly projecting AK-420 as "AK alone is someone who is doing something", and paid-media is only criticizing his ways not intentions. The paid-media doesnt focus on the issue that AK-420 has no desire to reduce problem and that AK is only creating drama. Now middle class neighborhoods across India have problems like nuisance created to rampant liquor sale, drug sale and commercial sex. And it is FACT that BJP leaders and Congress leaders did NOTHING to reduce this mess. It is also a fact that Home Ministers across India such as Shinder ask Commissioners to collect hafta. And it is also a FACT that BJP-leaders and Congress-leaders did NOTHING to reduce the mess. It is also fact that Shinde has been sharing a portion of bribes he get with BJP leaders. AK-420 doesnt want to reduce the mess even by 1%. But inaction of BJP\Congress enables MNC-paid-mediamen to create a drama with AK-420 as hero.

The solution I propose is Right to recall, Jury System etc and is OST and I will post in other threads. The Jury System is peculiar. It will result into defacto zoning and legalization of drug sale and commercial sex !! Because across world, across time, when Jury or Panchayats were in-charge of punishing people for these crimes, the Juries and Panchayats never punished anyone for these "crimes" in their zones and punished criminals only outside the zones. This reduced nuisance to residents to zero. In case you guys have seen Chanakya serial, it shows same thing. There were dens where opium, bhaang, liquor, commercial sex etc was there. But rest of the town didnt have that nuisance.

But nationalist grassroots workers in Bharat Swabhiman Trust or RSS refused to publicize any law-drafts , not necessarily the ones I proposed, to reduce this mess. The activists said that they will confine to member-making, slogan shouting, rallying, wearing NaMo-mask etc etc. So now AK-420 did the drama against drug-sale and commercial-sex dens in middle class localities. And so he is gaining popularity in a large section of middle class voters across India.

AK-420's goals are to do what his sponsors want. And his sponsors want secession of JK, more Bangladeshi in Asam and across India, eventual succession of Asam from India, merger of Asam into Bangladesh, handing over all mineral mines to MNC-owners, wrecking of Indian maths\science education and christianization of India (see chap-20 of http://rahulmehta.com/301.htm ) . But it is FACT that nationalists activists in BST\RSS DO NOT want to reduce problems and only want to confine to slogan shouting. So now using paid-media, AK-420 stole the show.

The end goal of AK is not to get even 5 seats in Loksabha, but to steal away 5 crore middle class voters away from BJP. And these drama fetches him all the middle class voters who are rightly harassed by problems and inactions of nationalist activists.

=====

SOLUTION : the nationalists should start working on law-drafts to reduce the problems such as nuisance created drug-sale, commercial sex etc in residential areas. Widthwise, AK-420's hold will keep increasing.

===

More bad news

1) Maharashtra's Congress Govt reduces electricity rates by 20%. So across India, AK-420's reputation and vote-share will increase in middle class that "see, the change came because of AK-420" !!

(2) Jain got minority status. And BJP-leaders are supporting it !! This is truly a wake up call for all nationalists who still think that BJP leaders have a spine. (I am Jain, and I have OFFICIALLY opposed this minority status, and I am asking all Jains to order MPs via SMS to cancel this status)

(3) Doctors have been bribed to fudge report that Sunanda's death was NOT a murder. The activists lost the plot by opposing narco-test on Tharoor in public.
Last edited by Rahul Mehta on 21 Jan 2014 09:19, edited 1 time in total.

Altair wrote:Are you guys watching MSM, esp TimesNow. AAP is being suicided. Kejriwal is being targeted. Even the deplorable UndieTV is not far behind in AAP bashing.
Is this going into Phase2?
@arungiri 18h: Talked to a senior fellow jouno yday... he said instructions have come from the top.. intense anti-AAP campaign in media to start..
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

Rahul Mehta wrote: (3) Doctors have been bribed to fudge report that Sunanda's death was NOT a murder. The activists lost the plot by opposing narco-test on Tharoor in public.
Actually, that isn't quite true:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 127171.cms

MRV ‏@MRVChennai 13h
Is Cong propping AK & Anarchism based on larger game plan. Is this India's Tianamen moment? Next step emergency?
The idea is catching on. Sonia is going to threaten her own party through Kejriwal and postpone the elections. Once Kejriwal makes it to the capital demanding that Congress step down it doesn't matter if he was from SP, BSP, CPI, BJP, etc. Huge crowds are going to assemble either way and the Indian spring will start.

Rahul Mehta wrote: (2) Jain got minority status. And BJP-leaders are supporting it !! This is truly a wake up call for all nationalists who still think that BJP leaders have a spine. (I am Jain, and I have OFFICIALLY opposed this minority status, and I am asking all Jains to order MPs via SMS to cancel this status)
RM., why are you sad? Should you not be happy?

Anyway, maybe you really do not know about Jains and Jainism!

I am glad that Jains got minority status - that is the only religion founded in India that will now have a feeble chance to continue in future (the other minorities are xtians/muslims/parsis etc)*

And the above position I take it from a position of knowledge. How much do you know about Digambaras in South? Have you interacted with Jainas in Karnataka? Been to ancient (and some still operational) quarry mines in Tamil Nadu? If not, please take some time and do interact (it will take some 6 months of your life., but well worth it).

*Jainas and Buddhists are Indics. India has a moral duty to protect all of its indics. Ideally there should be no religion based reservations and only economic based affirmative actions., however given the current situation in India., Jains were getting crushed under the dual onslaught of xtian and islamic demagogues.

For example, several churches in Diu and Daman were built on Jain Temples - given the minority status, it is actually easier for a Jain to go back and start digging on xtian church lands to identify its own temples and all without Govt. interference. Several cases of Jain temples being plundered/pillaged (in modern times - as recently as in 2009) by people from Abrahamic religions used to go unchallenged. Now we will have a case of a larger minority oppressing a smaller minority - let us see how the courts react.

^^ Not to mention Jain schools will now get relief and exemption from the more egregious and intrusive RTE provisions....

And folks, in pursuit of artha, determined to switched religion just to be outside the RTE mandate will have an Indic option. If it cant be prevented better to another Indic dharma.
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

well to get out of RTE one college administration overnight converted in to peaceful community.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

I have a PAAP supporter as a co-worker in a IT org. Working on him. He was enamoured by the "courage" of AK few days ago but now slowly agreeing that AK should use the system to correct the problems and not break the system and that AK is in a great hurry

SBajwa wrote:
by VikramS
Got to know that Sunanda Pushkar came from a military family. Father and I think brother are Army men.
She was most likely part of RAW!! and this whole thing is a deal gone bad!!!!! tharoor and congress are the biggest "DESH DROHIs" you can find and need to be put away as soon as possible (democratic or other ways)
SBajwa ji, Not sure if you said it in jest or were seriously propounding a CT, but this whole episode of ST marrying SP and then she getting murdered by some professional does raise stink.
Does this mean that there are spokes within the spokes and like onions we just have layers and no core and every layer works assuming that it is the core, although we assign too much of genius to agencies like Ford foundations.

I am still surprised why her family is not in the news like all other victims demanding probe and throwing allegations.

VikasRaina wrote: SBajwa ji, Not sure if you said it in jest or were seriously propounding a CT, but this whole episode of ST marrying SP and then she getting murdered by some professional does raise stink.
Does this mean that there are spokes within the spokes and like onions we just have layers and no core and every layer works assuming that it is the core, although we assign too much of genius to agencies like Ford foundations.

I am still surprised why her family is not in the news like all other victims demanding probe and throwing allegations.
Was there a Pizza delivery guy who was spotted delivering Pizza to SP at around 4 PM? I saw a scrolling in some MSM news channels. This was caught on camera. Anyone remembers?
If so, Was this Pizza poisoned?

TOI says that as per docs "she did not die of an inadvertent drug overdose but by deliberate administration of drugs aimed to end life"

Altair wrote:
VikasRaina wrote: SBajwa ji, Not sure if you said it in jest or were seriously propounding a CT, but this whole episode of ST marrying SP and then she getting murdered by some professional does raise stink.

Was there a Pizza delivery guy who was spotted delivering Pizza to SP at around 4 PM? I saw a scrolling in some MSM news channels. This was caught on camera. Anyone remembers?
If so, Was this Pizza poisoned?
She ordered a Domino's while staying in a Leela suite? Really?

Did AIIMS Autopsy mention any type of food in stomach? Like Pizza or Garlic Bread type? Because I think she ordered some late lunch. This can be easily verified. What was her last meal?
I am sure I saw in the scrolling..

the autopsy doctor should above all details on her last meal. examining the viscera is part of any std autopsy I guess. if it was indeed pizza, then both the delivery boy should be on cctv and the used carton / phone call details should be able to trace the pizza parlor. if it was leela, their duty logs will say who cooked the pizza and who delivered it or atleast narrow it down to 5-10 people.

its been awfully quiet on her investigation front. maybe certain people visiting after the funeral was a coded signal not to investigate too much but let it be.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

So Kejri wanted honest Cops to join him in the #aapdrama.
So that when rapists and murderers have an open season, we need not ask the question "Where are the Cops?"
"They're at the dharna no, remember?"

Conclusion: Popular to the general impression that youth voted overwhelmingly for the AAP, our findings prove that this is not true. It seems the youth favoured the BJP. However, educated and white collar voters preferred the AAP, with the BJP in second place. However, surprisingly, areas where Internet penetration is high, preferred the BJP over the AAP.

Stone pelting on Delhi Police by AAPTards. Fecal matter to hit the fan!!

krishnan wrote:
Conclusion: Popular to the general impression that youth voted overwhelmingly for the AAP, our findings prove that this is not true. It seems the youth favoured the BJP. However, educated and white collar voters preferred the AAP, with the BJP in second place. However, surprisingly, areas where Internet penetration is high, preferred the BJP over the AAP.
This one is your link:
http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 140121.htm

Following is an earlier study of the same kind but not posted here:
http://www.epw.in/web-exclusives/aam-aa ... ystems.htm
A class profile of the voter base of the AAP party is also possible to locate geo-spatially. An intensity map of the constituencies based on the number of jhuggies (slum clusters) in them and matching them with the vote percentage of the AAP shows that constituencies with a high number of slum clusters invariably voted for the party (Figure 5). Except in two constituencies in south-east Delhi, where the BJP fielded candidates known for their work in the slum clusters and some areas in the minority concentrated North east district, the AAP did well almost in all the constituencies which had a high number of jhuggis.

That brings us to the question whether the general perception of the AAP as a middle class (right-of-centre support base as the economist Prabhat Patnaik puts it) is accurate. To a great extent, it is true that the primary activist base of the AAP is drawn from the middle class – from professionals, rights activists, teachers, and even students participating in higher education (as noted from anecdotal evidence and media reports). The reason why the AAP managed to tap a activist base from these segments had been due to extensive media coverage of its anti-corruption agitations, and the fact that the Indian media has of late catered to the interests and opinions of the middle class.

But that does not explain how the AAP could manage the support of the poor – primarily from the jhuggies – which feature a population largely characterised by those working in the informal sector (construction work, migrant labourers, domestic help, contract jobs and so on). Traditionally in these areas, it is the local patron (or the pradhan) who decides a number of things – welfare services, ration cards, water supply among others (See Jha et al 2007). The local patron is an important person, always sought to be cultivated by either of the two big parties and is invariably the “village head”, the caste patriarch who decides political support of a large section of his “clients”.

By embarking upon a campaign that sought to equate the lack of adequate services to the jhuggies to that of corruption – perceived by the poor as their everyday effort to effect a bargain for themselves – the AAP managed to circumvent the traditional patronage networks and reach out to the poor directly. Many a member of the working poor that this correspondent spoke to, in the run-up to the elections, were impressed with the rhetoric of the AAP to cleanse politics, and by that they didn’t mean an abstract drive against corruption or “decentralized democracy”, but the ability to do away with the culture of greasing palms and paying obeisance to local patriarchs. This reason for support goes beyond considerations of low cost of services, which the AAP promised the poor once they come to power and which is quoted as the main reason why the poor opted to vote for the AAP.

Adopting a canny symbolism – the choice for the name of the party (“the party of the common man”, its symbol, “the broom” and fielding candidates based on a mix of reputation as social activists or those who have a local presence – the AAP managed to swiftly overcome its newcomer disadvantages. And it managed to do so without taking recourse to particularism – “identity politics” based on caste, religion or “kulak” identities – but a discourse that appealed to a multi-class base.

Among the middle class, the professionals saw the need for a non-corrupt force as they have been unable to relate to “political society” created by the BJP and the Congress at one level, and have been dismayed with the crony capitalism engendered in the policies of the two parties favouring big business (See Maidul Islam's intuitive article on the AAP's middle class support base).

Sections from these classes formed the activist base of the party, even as support accrued from the aforementioned poor. In a sense, this is an uneasy coalition. While portions among the former would prefer the AAP to be a right-of-centre party that focuses on “good governance” – maintaining law and order, curb excessive government spending and deliver limited but effective public services to a "consumerised" society; the latter would seek the AAP to replace the parties that provides them limited goods and services, but allows them to live a more dignified life through savings, low inflation and better delivery of welfare services. If the AAP would want to retain the support of the latter, it has to go beyond a limited agenda that would satisfy the former and it will be easier said than done.

Thus far, the party has been coy in laying out an outright vision document that delineates its position in the political spectrum. It is indeed led by political strategists and leaders who include some with a history of being involved in “socialist” politics, social movements and even strains of Marxism-Leninist politics apart from Arvind Kejriwal himself, who represents the middle class activist base of the party. But it has avoided portraying itself even as a radical social democratic party, unwilling to let the contradictions between sections of its leadership and its activist base intensify into differences. Its support has been determined immediately not through any clear positioning on policy and ideological issues beyond political decentralization and “good governance”. This in a sense helped it electorally but they might not have such a luxury of "ambivalence" when in government.
I tend to see these surveys and studies as more of promotions tactics. Pitches for future strategies
Comer

Post by Comer »

Vijay Goel and Vijay Jolly type leaders and their actions will be the difference in victory and defeat for BJP. why for publicity sake interfere with an enemy making mistakes. its easy to guess how congress ran circles around BJP before NaMo came into picture

pankajs wrote:And folks, in pursuit of artha, determined to switched religion just to be outside the RTE mandate will have an Indic option. If it cant be prevented better to another Indic dharma.
This is a very good thing, saar. I think it should be welcomed. Infact, I say that all Indic communities should try for this minority tag. So, Shaivas, Vaishnavas, Shaaktheyas, ...etc should also ask for a minority status. It would be chanakyan way of ending the minority politics.

I think the first step should be to reject the definitions of Hindhuism provided by the present setup. So to do that, one has to simply depend on alternate identity based on sect or caste or region. Using this new identity, demand for special privileges(that are bestowed on non-indic creeds).

For example:
If muslims are allowed to marry 4 times, then Shaaktheyas should also be allowed to marry 4 times. Why should Shaaktheyas come under Hindhu marriage act?

If alimony is unlawful according to muslim beliefs, then Shaivas should also demand that alimony is unlawful according to their beliefs. Why should Shaivas come under Hindhu act?

If muslim women cannot inherit father's property, then Vaishnavas should also take the same stand. Why should Vaishnavas be ruled according to Hindhu inheritance law?

If muslim or christian charity and educational institutes get special benefits, then Vaishnava/Shaiva/Shaaktheya/...etc should also ask for these benefits.

This is what AAP is coming down to: from ABP's website:
Abhisar Sharma @abhisar_sharma

Spprtr of AAP grabbed abpReporter ratna shuklas neck sme grabbed her clothes. Slapped r cameraman bcause she ws talking 2 old man prblems
Retweeted by ABP News
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Abhijit Majumder ‏@abhijitmajumder
"Saari Delhi hamari hai, jo kaam karne aaye hai kar ke jayenge," Manish Sisodia apparently told AAP mob, after which it broke barricades

johneeG wrote:For example:
If muslims are allowed to marry 4 times, then Shaaktheyas should also be allowed to marry 4 times. Why should Shaaktheyas come under Hindhu marriage act?

If alimony is unlawful according to muslim beliefs, then Shaivas should also demand that alimony is unlawful according to their beliefs. Why should Shaivas come under Hindhu act?
I think this idea needs further thought processing. Different Hindu sects claiming Minority status. There are Risks associated but if there are advantages we can balance them.
That aside, johneeG, If you are married and come under Shaaktheyas and your SHQ visits this post, you are in trouble!! :P

If Re-Poll is ordered by the Lt.Gov in Delhi,
Will BJP gain majority and cross the mark?
Will AAP loose and by how many?
Will Congress Gain any and by How many?

I think its time we start thinking on this and take a research oriented tracking of how AAP,BJP are faring because of this #AAPDrama

Raghunath AS ‏@asraghunath 51s

Kejri fears forced Hooda to reduce the power tariff in Haryana. Since then Gurgaon is reeling under prolonged power outages.
-------------------------------------------------->>
Is that true? Anyone from Gurgaon?
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

^^^ Today, there was a two-hour power cut at my place in South Delhi, the first in three years.

well mashallah, welcome to india :)

SanjayC wrote:^^^ Today, there was a two-hour power cut at my place in South Delhi, the first in three years.
Power is needs for poor. Buy a desiel generator. :)

It is much more expensive to generate power from oil, about 3 times or so is what I read about one fine day on topic of power cut situation in AndhraPradesh/Tamilhnaadu.

Singha wrote:well mashallah, welcome to india :)

I think the first step should be to reject the definitions of Hindhuism provided by the present setup.
JohneeG when i was talking about this last year you were pretty much on the forefront cricitizing me for saying so. That is why that all Dharmic sampradayas remain united i keep calling for doing away with the Hindu definition and rallying under the Dharmic tag and various Dharmic sampradayas for the choosing. I mentioned it 2 years ago that many sects will break away. Sikhs, Buddhists, Jain have. Hare Krishna have in the USA and will too in India. Many here were arguing hard that HKs are not Hindu's etc..a pointless debate when you're losing out so badly. Vaishnavs and Sai Bhakts etc will all soon be registered separately till we understand and make a meta ethic template compatible with the various Sampradayic Dharmas. Only then we shall have a cohesive force that will stand up for every Dharmic sampradayas interests. Else divided we fall. This must happen prior 2019. BJP/ RSS/ VHP then may have to change tack a bit and rally under a Dharmic banner. That will be the right alternate platform to prevent further damage to the Dharmic sampradayas.
Last edited by harbans on 21 Jan 2014 18:12, edited 1 time in total.

Abracadabra! There you have it.
Sunanda Pushkar case: Husband Shashi Tharoor given a clean chit
Minister of State for Human Resource Development (HRD) Shashi Tharoor has been given a clean chit in his wife Sunanda Pushkar's death probe.

The autopsy report of Sunanda Pushkar was given to the Sub-Divisional Magistrate Alok Sharma by All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) stating drug overdose may have caused her death.

According to media reports, Delhi Police have said that Tharoor has been given a clean chit based on the testimony of a witness who saw Pushkar alive two hours after Tharoor had left the five-star hotel in Delhi where she found dead.