India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

sivab wrote:and US DoS got scared of the fight they started and chickened out by giving her immunity.
and urgently extracted assets as they knew the game was up.

It looks like the Indian Foreign Office was looking for a fight and that exactly what they got.
Yup, and the SD and US Federal Cavalry rode in to the rescue just like General Custer did.

duplicate removed
Last edited by Amber G. on 28 Jan 2014 03:31, edited 3 times in total.

Sorry if posted already.. some tidbits:

Q/A ...
...There is a visa fraud case... but it was Sangeeta who committed the fraud. “Who applied for visa? Sangeeta. Who signed the visa application? Sangeeta. Who went to the US embassy and took an oath saying that everything on the visa application is true? Sangeeta. Who was interviewed by the US consulate? Sangeeta. Then, if there was a visa fraud, who committed the visa fraud?” ?????
The Theories ...
...A Pakistani woman called Maggie Fauzia encouraged Sangeeta to go against Devyani. “She brainwashed Sangeeta by planting the idea that she could permanently reside in the US, instead of working for Devyani for a few years, and all that needed to be done was make a false allegation against Devyani. One fine day Sangeeta just disappeared,” .....
Also from the same source..
Though Devyani informed the police about her missing and even the Indian government stepped in because Sangeeta was holding a diplomatic passport (which would become invalid the day she stopped working for Devyani), she could not be located. “At least four correspondences from the government of India were not entertained in the US,” said Khobragade.

Then one day, Devyani received a call from Sangeeta's attorney and a law firm called Access Immigration, asking her to come for a face-to-face negotiation. Devyani and other consulate officers went and gave Sangeeta a flight ticket to return to India, which she refused to accept. Khobragade said Sangeeta demanded $10,000 during the negotiation and Devyani's help in getting immigration. “That showed her mental preparedness,” he said.

Khobragade said he was shocked when he heard about Devyani's arrest. “I was surprised because I have also been a magistrate for several years. How could Devyani get arrested on visa fraud charges when it wasn't Devyani who had applied for the visa,” he said. He called Access Immigration when he visited the US, asking to talk to Sangeeta, but was told the firm was no longer handling her case.

Later, he said, the US government suggested that lawyers from the two sides discuss the issue. “We decided to give it a chance. But the proposal showed the motive—they would dump the visa fraud charges, but we must accept the smaller charge of less payment. There would be some fine by the court and then we would make the payment to Sangeeta of around $100,000. It means that somebody has invested in Sangeeta and wanted to recover the money from Devyani,” he said. “If there was a visa fraud, why did they agree to drop the charge?”

Khobragade said he had been paying Sangeeta's salary to her family in India. “I have proof that we spent more than Rs.60,000 a month on her. She had said that since she was going to the US, she wanted a document that stated that her husband would get Rs.30,000 a month. All that money was being paid by cheque, on the first of every month into her account by me. Besides, Devyani was paying her $1,000 per month. Altogether we paid $1,600-$1,700 to Sangeeta a month,” he said. “Which NRI pays so much?”

Incidentally, the complaint against Devyani submitted to the US department of justice by the Diplomatic Security Services says that in the visa application form submitted on October 15, 2012, Devyani had stated that she would be paying Sangeeta around $4,500 a month.

Not too long before she was arrested, Devyani was the centre of attraction at the Maharashtra Tourism's gala Diwali celebration at Times Square in New York City. “She played a prominent role at the programme,” said Khobragade. “Even [Maharashtra PWD Minister] Chhagan Bhujbal was all praises for her efforts.” Then the controversy derailed her life. Now back in India, she seemed to have moved on from it.
Link:Daughter’s defence

So where is the Paki door keeper referred to earlier? Maybe he got SR in touch with this Fauzia woman?

So there is a Paki link now. Am sure it will lead eventually to a Khalistani link.
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

What happened to the totally unofficial American School thing, hain ji?

This is not it, sorry.
These were the only ones I could find - viewtopic.php?p=1565211#p1565211
viewtopic.php?p=1564196#p1564196
There was a pretty detailed list of charges.

As for what ramana said:
US-based Sikh rights group to hold Justice Rally supporting Sangeeta Richard
IP Singh, TNN Dec 29, 2013, 09.24PM IST

US Organizations Support Domestic Help Richard Against Diplomat Khobragade
The National Coalition of South Asian Organizations (NCSO), a network of community-based organizations
South Asian Americans Leading Together (SAALT)
The signatories to the NCSO statement are Adhikaar for Human Rights, Andolan, Apna Ghar, ASHA for Women, Chaya, Chhaya CDC, Coney Island Avenue Project, Council of Peoples Organization, Counselors Helping (South) Asian/Indians, Daya, Desis Rising Up and Moving, Hamdard Center, Indo-American Center, Khadijah's Caravan, MAI Family Services, Maitri, Manavi, Narika, Raksha, Saathi of Rochester, Sahara of South Florida, Sakhi for South Asian Women, Sapna NYC, Satrang, SEVA- Desis Vote!, Shakti Peer Group, Sikh American Legal Defense & Education Fund (SALDEF), Sneha, South Asian Americans Leading Together (SAALT), South Asian American Policy and Research Institute, South Asian Council for Social Services, South Asian Health Initiative, South Asian Mental Health Awareness in Jersey, South Asian Network, South Asian Progressive Action Collective, South Asian Public Health Association, South Asian Youth Action, The Sikh Coalition, Trikone NW, Turning Point and UNITED SIKHS.
(Prior known entities bold-faced)

My prediction is
(a) Just like Custer in his Last Stand, PB and his merry bunch of cavity-searchers will stick to their mijjiles.
(b) The court will not dismiss the charges, but schedule the next event/motion whatever.
(c) The answer to "what happened with the AES thing" may start rolling...
(d) Tsunamis of articles condemning the Indian "over-reaction" and "pettiness" will come out....

and THEN maybe
(e) The charges will be quietly dropped....
Anything else would be just way too sensible, and Public Attorneys and Foggy Bottoms have a reputation to protect. The same thinking that got us into Vietnam, the Bay of Pigs, Cuba embargoes, support for Anastasio Somoza in Nicaragua until the bitter end, the Contras, support to Saddam in the Iran-Iraq war, Iraq WMD 2003, support for the Paki genocide in East Pakistan 1969-71... the case of the two innocent desis with the Box Cutters.... support for Musharraf from 1999 to 2010... and thousands of cases where the innocent were hounded to death...

Although the judge in the desis' case eventually delivered a scathing blast against the Feds and expressed deep shame as an American for how they were tortured, here is what the Prosecutor Einsteinhad to say:
"I don't think anyone would say the government acted unreasonably," said U.S. Attorney James Comey, whose office prosecuted their cases.
A conscience is a disqualification for these positions.

UlanBatori wrote:This is not it, sorry.

As for what ramana said:

The National Coalition of South Asian Organizations (NCSO), a network of community-based organizations
The signatories to the NCSO statement are Adhikaar for Human Rights, Andolan, Apna Ghar, ASHA for Women, Chaya, Chhaya CDC, Coney Island Avenue Project, Council of Peoples Organization, Counselors Helping (South) Asian/Indians, Daya, Desis Rising Up and Moving, Hamdard Center, Indo-American Center, Khadijah's Caravan, MAI Family Services, Maitri, Manavi, Narika, Raksha, Saathi of Rochester, Sahara of South Florida, Sakhi for South Asian Women, Sapna NYC, Satrang, SEVA- Desis Vote!, Shakti Peer Group, Sikh American Legal Defense & Education Fund (SALDEF), Sneha, South Asian Americans Leading Together (SAALT), South Asian American Policy and Research Institute, South Asian Council for Social Services, South Asian Health Initiative, South Asian Mental Health Awareness in Jersey, South Asian Network, South Asian Progressive Action Collective, South Asian Public Health Association, South Asian Youth Action, The Sikh Coalition, Trikone NW, Turning Point and UNITED SIKHS.
pragmatism and response to general call to arms in some case, name-lending only in others, real issues with some.

The interesting thing is that all those wimmins' organizations don't see what this case implies: it is blatant extortion of working women. The victim in this case had a daughter 3 years old, and another approaching 1 year - she HAD to go back to work, family leave long over. So had to make a choice: either take the desk job in Dilli/Mumbai where relatives could look after the kids, (or maybe there is no close relative qualified - there is no mention of DK's mom). Or find a nanny whom she could take to NYC.

The Feds are claiming that she should pay another $100,000 PLUS whatever was paid to the nanny - for a year of basically sitting around most of the time. IOW, over $150K / yr for a nanny, PLUS free food, medical insurance and a 24th floor luxury accommodations and transportation in Manhattan.

And these people think that is VICTORY for the rights of working women? Awesome.

Sent by an ABCD kid!
India is like a 55 year old man who has gone through its highs and lows. It has crossed the teenage of 19 when it ruled the world under Samudra Gupta types and also put the world under its brutal sword. It realized that sword/gun has no longevity after it lost couple centuries. It went for trade and civilization. When it got back its self rule, it is trying to not make the same mistakes. USA and other teen aged powers take this as India’s weakness. India just watches the teenage adrenaline of USA when if puts all of its moles in Indian institutions. It laughs that USA when it thinks it has control over most of India. When USA thought it can get things by threatening India in the form of Devayani, India’s vast experience as a 55 year old in diplomacy has shown USA its aukaat. One Sonia or one Nuke Deal via Manmohan or a C-130 deal is not the end. India knows how to buy Rafale, and pass liability law and also know how to dismiss few embassy staff after getting back Devayani. It is a new lesson that US has to learn and deal with.

UlanBatori wrote:The interesting thing is that all those wimmins' org.....
Calls to arms are in black/white. No if/and/or/buts. Representation is required.

matrimc wrote:
sivab wrote:and US DoS got scared of the fight they started and chickened out by giving her immunity.
and urgently extracted assets as they knew the game was up.
Not necessarily, , more and more it looks like espionage gone wrong. And if that is so then rest assured MIL/FIL and others of their ilk are fair game and being watched. We are yet to hear last of it.

Everything is RAA agint onlee. All penetrated. SD, PB's office, Safe Horizon, Access Immigration, Babbar Khalsa, AEC. Even Paco may be itching and scratching... :rotfl:

UlanBatori wrote:Everything is RAA agint onlee. All penetrated. SD, PB's office, Safe Horizon, Access Immigration, Babbar Khalsa, AEC. Even Paco may be itching and scratching... :rotfl:
if you wont come to my dinner party, i wont come to yours. and what is more my neighbors third cousin will close their pool to your kids. most of the time, the third cousin just needs to have a pool, you may not even have kids.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

Shreeman,

Can you point me to the broad generalization? I only see the narrow one.

Now you can't even see that. Take self declared EJ whine to appropriate thread pls if any - JE Menon

UlanBatori wrote:This is not it, sorry.

As for what ramana said:

And, just so that it is not forgotten by any lurker, Bot or peeping Tom who reads this. if its "South Asian" is has a Pakistan connection. And before any WKK lurker says "So what?" let me say "Yes. Pakistan only means death and terrorism for India even if you think they are nice people in America and that Indians in India are stupid.

All these "South Asian" entities are biased and looking to be critical of India in some way, and if you think it's me that's biased against them, you're so damn right. And there's bugger all that you can do about me and my ilk.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

UlanBatori wrote:Everything is RAA agint onlee. All penetrated. SD, PB's office, Safe Horizon, Access Immigration, Babbar Khalsa, AEC. Even Paco may be itching and scratching... :rotfl:
It would be interesting if she starts to send the letters from the US to India at 10:10.

TSJones wrote: It looks like the Indian Foreign Office was looking for a fight and that exactly what they got.
Oh poor innocent protein-fat filled Americans. They were not expecting this from the caste riddled slavers. The Indian Foreign office started the fight - "We didn't start the fire. We simply fought back. For freedom and Liberty." That is exactly why there is a separate thread dedicated to such heartwarming stories.

Anand K wrote:What happened to the totally unofficial American School thing, hain ji?
That will be cooked slowly. Apart from the US embassy in Delhi, the US has consulates in other cities and the saabs and mem saabs there will now be sorting out exactly what their own diplomatic immunity status might be.

The US had fuked up relations with many nations in the past and has never actually been a particularly loyal friend for India. But IMO it is better that way - and it is better for Indians to understand what they are dealing with, when they deal with the US. I think there are a few other countries that have a similar rough and tumble relationship with the US and these include Russia and China.

The US of course is much more wary about dealing with Russia - but there has been some impunity in dealing with China - the bombing of the Chinese consulate during the Bosnia action and the Wang Wei Orion incident. The US tends to deal with Russia via proxies - and US deals with India is also via proxies or The non NATO ally Proxytute.

TSJones wrote: It looks like the Indian Foreign Office was looking for a fight and that exactly what they got.
Oh poor innocent protein-fat filled Americans. They were not expecting this from the caste riddled slavers. The Indian Foreign office started the fight - "We didn't start the fire. We simply fought back. For freedom and Liberty." That is exactly why there is a separate thread dedicated to such heartwarming stories.
The game is not over yet I would duely note. Although I admit both sides could just drop it but who knows? Like I said before nobody much cares on the US side. Only the jingos on this forum do.

Anand K wrote:What happened to the totally unofficial American School thing, hain ji?
That will be cooked slowly. Apart from the US embassy in Delhi, the US has consulates in other cities and the saabs and mem saabs there will now be sorting out exactly what their own diplomatic immunity status might be.

The US had fuked up relations with many nations in the past and has never actually been a particularly loyal friend for India. But IMO it is better that way - and it is better for Indians to understand what they are dealing with, when they deal with the US. I think there are a few other countries that have a similar rough and tumble relationship with the US and these include Russia and China.

The US of course is much more wary about dealing with Russia - but there has been some impunity in dealing with China - the bombing of the Chinese consulate during the Bosnia action and the Wang Wei Orion incident. The US tends to deal with Russia via proxies - and US deals with India is also via proxies or The non NATO ally Proxytute.
I suppose the AES could be shut down. It will be a pain for the American parents at the US embassy otherwise life will go on. The employees at the embassy will adjust.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

^^TSJ
nobody much cares on the US side
Yep, May be that is why they are doing damage control, by stroking the ego of Indian reporters, so that they will continue to write in favor of the Americans.
Namaste - Washington press club goes desi

Shows how India is not even on their minds ever...

TSJones wrote:The employees at the embassy will adjust
After being stripped and cavity searched by Delhi's finest with bratwurst like fingers, and spending a few days with the "General Prison Population of Delhi" in the Tihar jail. I look forward to reading the howls of sanctimonious outrage and the patronizing Op-Eds from New York Times and Wash. Post . That will even out the score for sure and we can get back to regular programming.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

India fifth largest target of us spying programme

Yep, no one in US cares about India at all...

TSJones wrote:The employees at the embassy will adjust.
Excellent. That is the way it should be.

I will add two unrelated pigeon droppings, they are geographically and tangentially relevant onlee. There is this shall we called "artist". He is not in the mold of what you typically think of "artists". Not someone "small", shall we say. So much so, that random higher than DK class babudom ends up being his psuedo-shishyas in least expected places. Without him knowing. This forum has surprised me by having a couple of fanatics.
  • Once, he held a "meeting". The local babudom made time -- whole half day -- and showed up. The local "students" showed. But the local "organization" saw this as a threat. I don't recall the exact number, but I think 6? other people came. Not even the ones with "free passes". The top of the line babudom was there, looking puzzled.

The other time, he offered a "meeting" to an "organization" out of goodness of his heart. The place overflowed, nothing like in the "organization's" history ever before. Not only did they not think twice about thanking him, they wanted dinner afterwards from him! We couldn't oblige simply for space reasons.
This is both in the GMT+ areas. There is nothing political/economical/anything about this, absolutely nothing that one could find an "angle" in. Definitely back to the cave, now. Not coming out again, not even if you ask me.

I work in a large media/advertising firm. Interestingly, today, someone was having a bit of an issue setting up an election-related video, so I took a look at it. While I was debugging the issue, I played it back and guess what? It makes allegations that a particular candidate's former company was a lobbyist for Pakistan a few years ago, when a certain dictator was in charge!

The fact that someone would bring that fact up to smear the opposing party candidate is huge, because it shows that a larger percentage of the US population is now aware of Pakistani perfidy.

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming....
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

rgsrini wrote:India fifth largest target of us spying programme

Yep, no one in US cares about India at all...
The US sees India as a future competitor and enemy. It's time we too treated it the same. Going weak in the knees at the mention of a US trip or green card should stop.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

TSJones wrote:The game is not over yet I would duely note. Although I admit both sides could just drop it but who knows? Like I said before nobody much cares on the US side. Only the jingos on this forum do.
Once some US diplomats conducting visa and tax fraud at US embassy school land in Tihar Jail, people in US will learn to care pretty fast. When these diplomats come out of Tihar, most would have got TB.

SanjayC wrote:
TSJones wrote:The game is not over yet I would duely note. Although I admit both sides could just drop it but who knows? Like I said before nobody much cares on the US side. Only the jingos on this forum do.
Once some US diplomats conducting visa and tax fraud at US embassy school land in Tihar Jail, people in US will learn to care pretty fast. When these diplomats come out of Tihar, most would have got TB.

Recently, heard of stomach TB. Maybe these amreki turds get TB of other specific body parts in Tihar?? :wink:

Was looking at all the positive news from Amir Khan in the other dhaga. Something caught my eye - more positive news which belongs here. The super cop Jakie Neal, 40 years old, chased down a 19 year old girl, handcuffed her and raped her in the back of a police car.

And he got arrested and was out on bail for a princely some of $20,000. The Deputy Counsul General of India - then Acting Counsul General - of India gets picked up on dubious visa fraud charges and is "processed" with custodial rape and then released on $250,000 bail.

I wonder if Jakie bhaiya also got his cavity searched during "processing"?

But of course not he's not as dangerous as a woman diplomat from India, right? These bloody veggie eaters and cow worshippers keep dangerous weapons in, erhm, them cavitiies which endanger the lives of simpleminded Amir Khan cops who are doing a thankless job which allows them to fondle their prisoners. It's for the safety of all concerned as "Chacha Tom" Preet Bharara thundered.

I'm sure TSJ will sally in with a wisecrack comment sometime very soon.
member_28352

Post by member_28352 »

^^^Sir, you can bet your last dollar that the US will try to foist this cop's perversions on some bogus satanic/wiccan/pagan cult that required him to rape to be accepted as a full member. This is par for the course. Beef eating Christian police officers are not sexual predators and do not rape. Period. This truly belongs to the Positive News thread.

I don't know if folks here will agree with me. But going through all the mountain of evidence dug up by members (I must say this dhaga feels like BRF of old) here, I'm increasingly coming to the conclusion that SR was lured into a scam after getting to Amir Khan.

Look at what we have so far:

1) This letter, which she wrote just after getting there. If we assume that there's no code language in the letter, it seems she was very happy with the family and was at the "starry-eyed wonder" stage most Desis suffer from when they first go abroad, especially those who have less contact with the outside world.

2) The new "actors" that are coming into the picture - the Pakistani doorman, that Paki woman named by UK etc.

I can't find the link but somebody posted an article from Sunday Mail (UK) on DK. There was link on the page, which took me to a news item that covered a statement from SR's lawyer. In that link there was a video which had a street shot of this lawyer lady walking on the streets with a file in her hand. Interestingly a tall guy who is definitely from the looks either North Indian or Pakistani accompanied her. They were talking to each other and then in the actual interview this lawyer was wearing the same clothes and had the same file and so both clips were taken on the same day. So three “South Asians” in the picture so far.

3) SR initially demanded $10,000 but in the settlement offered by PB there was, if I recall correctly, a token fine of $1 offered if DK admitted guilt. However, UK says that the deal also involved paying SR $100,000, a ten times mark up on SR’s initial demand. The old man is a smart cookie. I think he's got it right when he said some folks had invested a lot on SR and the case. Like all ambulance chasers they want to be paid.

If DK had settled and paid $100,000, I'm doubtful just how much SR would have got in hand, I suspect not more than the $10K initial offer. A point to note here is that, if I remember correctly, the initial $10K demand was made when a different agency was representing SR. Later this agency said they no longer represent SR.

If you look at it DK appeared an easy target. Married to a US citizen every one automatically assumed that she would be hankering for a Green Card (unfortunately some folks here also said this), even though at no point have I seen a statement which quotes DK or her family saying this.

[Note: In fact DK made the point of issuing a statement that both her children were born in India and thus did not have automatic US citizenship. And even if they were born in the US they wouldn't get US citizenship on account of the fact that DK holds a diplomatic passport.]

The precedence was there for these ambulance chasing shark lawyers. Prabhu Dayal paid up - he never disclosed the amount but I suspect it would be in the same ballpark. Shanti Gurung has a $5 million dollar settlement awarded to her by a Judge. In fact Safe Haven has even got some local lawyer trying to go through courts to collect that in Delhi.

So what went wrong in the plan? I think the Mays overplayed the hand by ex filtrating the family and the initial charge of human trafficking. And of course the criminal case and the strip and cavity search.

Plus one thing I suspect these bozos did not factor in is that India is in election mode and so even if it wants this government can't bend over backwards to the US.

The other more nebulous point, IMO, is the timing. Since it was December, most top honchos in SD were away on holiday and so the fort was in charge of a bunch of stupid SD babus and they allowed the whole thing to spin out of control.

The interesting point is that lawyer lady (SR’s lawyer) was lamenting the fact that the "diplomatic fiasco" had overtaken the charge. The poor woman looked about to cry due the fact that there's very little chance she'll get a dime out of this and not only that this option for future scams will be closed forever.

In the end the greed and stupidity of SR got her and her family in a royal mess. I wonder if she even thinks what her family will be doing once the dust settles and she doesn't get a dime. Her husband reportedly lost his job, because he's an alcoholic. Her daughter is 20 and she was in college here and would probably had gotten a decent job once she passed out. Now what is she going to do in great Amir Khan? Continue her college education? Or will she follow Mummy's footsteps and become a nanny? Or even worse will she take to the streets? Life can be very harsh if you don't have money in NYC. And what about the son, who's supposed to be 19? What is his future going to be? Carrier mule in one of the street gangs? A ripe target for being tazered?

I still think SR is much a victim as DK, the only difference is that it serves the former right to be between the rock and hard place. No wonder her MIL seems to hate her so much.

She will ghost write a book, sir and the mutus will read it like bible.

Ok I don't think this was posted before. The British papers seem to be going after Amir Khan more aggressively than Indian papers.

From here

Virupaksha wrote:She will ghost write a book, sir and the mutus will read it like bible.
Boss,

Only winners write books, not losers. At the present point of time I don't see any scenario in which SR will emerge as a "winner".

Once Amir Khan and Desh strike a deal which they will given the fact that Amir Khan is in a right royal mess, having to withdraw from Afghanistan without a deal with Kazari this year. What we are seeing now is a standoff to see who blinks first. The time is in India's favour. All this government has to do is to keep the confrontation live till May when elections will kick in. Unfortunately Amir Khan does not have the luxury of time.

SR will be dropped like a hot potato the moment her backers realise that the sh!t has hit the ceiling.

OK got it. See the video in this link. The guy appears within the first 10 seconds walking with SR's lawyer.

TSJones wrote: The game is not over yet I would duely note. Although I admit both sides could just drop it but who knows? Like I said before nobody much cares on the US side. Only the jingos on this forum do.
That is a precise observation of reality as you see it.

The "game" never gets over. Jingos get worked up only when they are exposed to parts of the game and create perturbations which may or may not make any difference to anyone.

amit wrote: a video which had a street shot of this lawyer lady walking on the streets with a file in her hand. Interestingly a tall guy who is definitely from the looks either North Indian or Pakistani accompanied her. They were talking to each other and then in the actual interview this lawyer was wearing the same clothes and had the same file and so both clips were taken on the same day. So three “South Asians” in the picture so far.
This guy?