Strict border control will be an integral part of the ministry I propose. I think we should not be a signatory to any of this asylum business. Tomorrow bangladeshi muslims from myanmar will claim they are persecuted there. So no asylum for anyone period (hindu/muslim). Moreover, it is very easy for a bangla muslim to claim he is a bangla hindu and get asylum here and then go to a mosque the next day.Supratik wrote:This should be done delicately. We should have a proper immigration department with policing powers (new law if needed). We should have proper laws for people seeking asylum e.g. those facing religious, economic, social, political oppression. Murali, if you forward the suggestions please include the above.nageshks wrote: MuraliRavi-ji,
Why don't you propose this for NaMo rally in Guwahati on India272? They are asking public for suggestions for points to be covered by NaMo.
I know there are much more pressing needs on the home front, but if we're talking of a wish-list of items for a potential Modi government, then there's something on the foreign front that might be worthwhile to pursue. The Scottish referendum for independence from the UK is coming up in August. A (hopefully) Modi government that takes over in April would have four months or so to offer sops and guarantees to an independent Scotland to make the breakaway more feasible.
It is said that not only does every father look to his son to fulfill the dreams that he never could in his lifetime, but also that every son looks up to his father to fulfill the dreams that he cannot yet fulfill until he grows up. This would be my dream for Papa Modi to fulfill, I guess.
We can make it selective for Bdesh and TSP. If you have strict border control they will require proper papers which will say whether person is named jadu or madhu which he cannot change upon entry into India. Basically to make it difficult to do any badmashi.
Persecution of Hindus in neighbouring states is a reality and we will be doing a disservice to the Hindu community by rejecting to give shelter to persecuted Hindus. Just because a few pissfools can go through doesn't mean that we should turn our back to the rest of the Hindu community living in our neighbourhood and the bangla muslim claiming to be a Hindu can be thrown back the very day he goes to the mosque. It's not like they would be given complete freedom to roam around as soon as they are allowed in India, an eye will be kept on them and only after some probation period should they be allowed to settle at a suitable place.muraliravi wrote:Strict border control will be an integral part of the ministry I propose. I think we should not be a signatory to any of this asylum business. Tomorrow bangladeshi muslims from myanmar will claim they are persecuted there. So no asylum for anyone period (hindu/muslim). Moreover, it is very easy for a bangla muslim to claim he is a bangla hindu and get asylum here and then go to a mosque the next day.
Giving shelter to persecuted Hindus is a good goal, but also has the effect of depleting the Hindu population in the persecuting country. It would be hard to do, but there's got to be a way of rebuilding the Hindu populations in BD/TSP back to the levels that existed just after partition. Like 10% to 15%. A vocal Hindu minority, which can keep a check on the Hinduphobic governments there, would also be a very desirable goal.
sudarshan wrote:Giving shelter to persecuted Hindus is a good goal, but also has the effect of depleting the Hindu population in the persecuting country. It would be hard to do, but there's got to be a way of rebuilding the Hindu populations in BD/TSP back to the levels that existed just after partition. Like 10% to 15%. A vocal Hindu minority, which can keep a check on the Hinduphobic governments there, would also be a very desirable goal.
Right now we do not have any control over TSP. So until something can be done we have to save the Rinkle Kumaris. We can do a lot with Bdesh but we haven't used the danda. Any asylum policy wrt Bdesh has to be done simultaneously with the danda.
In BD it can be done but TSP needs to be nooke detergent washed first and lost land claimed for that to happen. Also India needs to become an economic powerhouse in Asia before we get enough leverage to implement such plans.sudarshan wrote:Giving shelter to persecuted Hindus is a good goal, but also has the effect of depleting the Hindu population in the persecuting country. It would be hard to do, but there's got to be a way of rebuilding the Hindu populations in BD/TSP back to the levels that existed just after partition. Like 10% to 15%. A vocal Hindu minority, which can keep a check on the Hinduphobic governments there, would also be a very desirable goal.
Every place it needs to be done. The minute you start giving asylums to hindus, trust me you will see a sharp increase in population in india especially in border districts. For every 3 hindus, you will see one muslim enter. What we should not do is ensure that they become a vocal and strong minority there. I am completely against this concept that India has to give them citizenship. Our moral responsibility starts and ends in ensuring that they are not harassed. Nothing beyond that. WB and Assam are already heavily populated and so is India, why should we add another 10 million to our pop (even if they are hindus), i say none of our business. In fact reduce it by expelling the illegals in india. The minute you start this asylum stuff, there is no end to it. For 5 years you will have a BJP govt, after that what. Once these are signed its a pain to renege, you will see afghani women refugees, you will see shia refugees from pakistan, tamil x-tians from SL, do you want all this. The only thing that we can and should do is ensure our vital interests in our neighborhood, see if we can use the hindu community in Bangladesh and pakistan to our advantage. No refugess/asylum concept, period.Sagar G wrote:In BD it can be done but TSP needs to be nooke detergent washed first and lost land claimed for that to happen. Also India needs to become an economic powerhouse in Asia before we get enough leverage to implement such plans.sudarshan wrote:Giving shelter to persecuted Hindus is a good goal, but also has the effect of depleting the Hindu population in the persecuting country. It would be hard to do, but there's got to be a way of rebuilding the Hindu populations in BD/TSP back to the levels that existed just after partition. Like 10% to 15%. A vocal Hindu minority, which can keep a check on the Hinduphobic governments there, would also be a very desirable goal.
^^^ disagree with you there completely. It is our moral and dharmic responsibility to give refuge to all the Hindus all over the world whenever they are persecuted. Just lke the Jews are welcomed in Israel from anywhere in the world - Hindus should be welcome in India. the population reason doesn't really fly - a few millions doesn't even register in the grand scheme of things. We should certainly use our power and clout to make sure that Hindus/Indics (Includes Sikhs, Jains, Buddhists etc.) are not persecuted in their respective countries, but if they decide to come back to the land of their ancestors, we MUST give them a welcome.
Absolutely no, simply because it is extremely difficult for us to verify anything. You will find a million pakis calling themselves as ram and shyam (paki govt will issue them passports to that effect) and Indian govt will be foolish to give them refugee status. Oh yah, a few million does not figure in the scheme of things, which planet are you living in. I bet that the minute India starts this nonsense program of accepting so called hindu refugees, in a decade you will at least see 10 million new citizens apart from our natural pop. growth. In a decade India is expected to see 15% pop. growth which is 180 million of 1200 million. So you just make 180 to 190 and you think thats a rounding error. Who is going to pay for their expenses. If people who's dharmic responsibility is so deep that they cannot see the damage this will do India, please donate for their help and let them live better wherever they are. There are dozen south american countries which easily give people permanent residency status if you show constant funds in you bank account. So RSS/hindu brethen can help these people settle there. They can be relocated to african countries which are looking for investors. Ask them to live where they are, if they are not happy - help then financially, if they are persecuted then help them relocate to these low density countries which are asking for people and that way you can even setup temples there and propagate hinduism. India is way too populated for this asylum nonsense. Jews did what they did, because that was the only way they can sustain their country as a jewish state, we are not in that state at all.Abhijit wrote:^^^ disagree with you there completely. It is our moral and dharmic responsibility to give refuge to all the Hindus all over the world whenever they are persecuted. Just lke the Jews are welcomed in Israel from anywhere in the world - Hindus should be welcome in India. the population reason doesn't really fly - a few millions doesn't even register in the grand scheme of things. We should certainly use our power and clout to make sure that Hindus/Indics (Includes Sikhs, Jains, Buddhists etc.) are not persecuted in their respective countries, but if they decide to come back to the land of their ancestors, we MUST give them a welcome.
If beyond this you still feel that hindus should all be welcomed/relocated back to india, do me a favor. Ask the Namo govt to pass a resolution saying that all indian muslims will be relocated back to pakistan or b'desh. After than hindus are most welcome back.
I disagree, we as a Hindu majority nation cannot and must not turn our back to persecuted Hindus who want to settle down in India to escape persecution and I am not saying that take them in and let them go wherever they want, do a thorough check whether they are Hindus or not and if not throw them back. A few might still slip in but it's still a "few" imagine the good that we will cause to many persecuted Hindus. The government policies can be manipulated to give preference to Hindus and keep the other trouble makers out and if any refugee Hindu goes on to become "secular" throw that shit out as well. The official policy should be to deny asylum to anyone but the unofficial one should be to give the same to persecuted Hindus and all this needs to be done below the radar very stealthily. I am not asking this to be done in a showy flashy way. No refugess/asylum concept,period but Hindus are welcome.muraliravi wrote:Every place it needs to be done. The minute you start giving asylums to hindus, trust me you will see a sharp increase in population in india especially in border districts. For every 3 hindus, you will see one muslim enter. What we should not do is ensure that they become a vocal and strong minority there. I am completely against this concept that India has to give them citizenship. Our moral responsibility starts and ends in ensuring that they are not harassed. Nothing beyond that. WB and Assam are already heavily populated and so is India, why should we add another 10 million to our pop (even if they are hindus), i say none of our business. In fact reduce it by expelling the illegals in india. The minute you start this asylum stuff, there is no end to it. For 5 years you will have a BJP govt, after that what. Once these are signed its a pain to renege, you will see afghani women refugees, you will see shia refugees from pakistan, tamil x-tians from SL, do you want all this. The only thing that we can and should do is ensure our vital interests in our neighborhood, see if we can use the hindu community in Bangladesh and pakistan to our advantage. No refugess/asylum concept, period.
^^^, No No. Its either zero or 100 in this case. See history, every country that has allowed this concept has screwed itself in the end.
Well, anyway if the BJP govts ends up doing crap like this, I will for sure hire a good lawyer to screw this in court. There is no constitutional approval for this kind of nonsense on taxpayer money.
As i said in my previous post, they are welcome to do it, if they can send back all muslims to pakistan and bangladesh. This concept of bringing in and sending out people under the radar never works. India is too huge and you will find enuf bsf officers violating laws and taking bribes.
Make it transparent. Either say no asylum, or if you feel strongly, make it transparent. Say openly, we have come to population transfer agreement with pak/BD. All indian muslims will go to one of those 2 countries and all hindus from there will come here.
Well, anyway if the BJP govts ends up doing crap like this, I will for sure hire a good lawyer to screw this in court. There is no constitutional approval for this kind of nonsense on taxpayer money.
As i said in my previous post, they are welcome to do it, if they can send back all muslims to pakistan and bangladesh. This concept of bringing in and sending out people under the radar never works. India is too huge and you will find enuf bsf officers violating laws and taking bribes.
Make it transparent. Either say no asylum, or if you feel strongly, make it transparent. Say openly, we have come to population transfer agreement with pak/BD. All indian muslims will go to one of those 2 countries and all hindus from there will come here.
I was not talking about asylum. Thats a different issue altogether. We should think of something like privilege given to Nepalese but in a controlled manner thru work permit.
Some conditions like Background check and police clearance before issuing work permit. They have to file taxes in India for the income earned. Employer have to pay thru Bank. Work permit for duration of 2 or 3 yrs. Renewal will require obtaining police clearance from Indian police. This way we know who is coming and have a some kind of check as well as carrot of citizenship.
Again should been done for both Burma and Bangladesh.
Some conditions like Background check and police clearance before issuing work permit. They have to file taxes in India for the income earned. Employer have to pay thru Bank. Work permit for duration of 2 or 3 yrs. Renewal will require obtaining police clearance from Indian police. This way we know who is coming and have a some kind of check as well as carrot of citizenship.
I dont understand your heartburn for those hindus outside india, when I am clearly proving to you that despite all the checks and stuff you will do (india is not in a situation where you can just track people so easily, we wont be for another 30 years), for every 3 hindus you give work permit, you will end up giving at least 1 permit to a muslim. So they can come in and take a train anywhere (there is no way on earth you can monitor them to that extent, we are talking about a batch of 10 tourists). So for every 4 people you issue work permits (3 hindus and 1 muslim). You will increase india's population and also increase share of muslims.atamjeetsingh wrote:I was not talking about asylum. Thats a different issue altogether. We should think of something like privilege given to Nepalese but in a controlled manner thru work permit.
Chuck this whole nonsense, focus on our country and our growth, focus on expelling the illegals here. Focus on creating an intelligent strategy to convert our muslims and x-tians into hindus instead of creating loopholes which will be exploited for sure.
We in fact have about 1 lakh people in india from pak/bd/afg who have overstayed their visas (these are people who came legally) and we cant trace them.
Your thought process is in serious need of re-education. I will spend some time over the weekend making my case. This land has been Hindu for millenia - any Hindu should be welcomed here - it is quite easy to determine whether a person is Hindu or not - even if a few non-Hindus get in, that should not deter us from doing the right thing. think it over seriously.
I am inclined to agree with MuraliRavi-ji, here. Even in Israel, Right of Return is being abused,and plenty (still a small fraction of the total) of new `Jews' in Israel simply have bought their papers in former USSR (who is to say whether the man did or did not have a Jewish grandmother?). This has led to to complete disintegration of their political classes. Every new creed coming to Israel has set up its own socio-religious authorities, and then is fighting for state resources for its unviable plans.muraliravi wrote:^^^, No No. Its either zero or 100 in this case. See history, every country that has allowed this concept has screwed itself in the end.
MuraliRavi hit it on the head. Quite apart from the possible entry of Muslims, this program will be used by ISI, and all other intelligence agencies to infiltrate into India and cause mayhem. Even if the ordinary Abdul cannot buy papers to say he is a Hindu (and I don't see why he cannot), the ISI will be able to issue false papers to their agents. That will be a heaven sent opportunity for our secularists to blame the BJP policies for any attacks on India. So - no. We protect the Hindus in Pakistan and Bangladesh by hitting the countries where it hurts, but not by allowing the Hindus into India. Every attack on Hindus in Pakistan should be retaliated by destroying the border posts and sending back heads of terrorists to the Pakistani organisations.
There is another aspect to it. Whenever any country wanted to put the screws on Israel, they held Jews in the country hostage (see what they did to Chancellor Bruno Kreisky, and what was done by the Soviet bloc countries). If we show we are interested in Hindus in Pakistan or Bangladesh, we will be making the hostages, pawns in the game. We cannot protect them, but everytime they want something from us, they will hold Hindus hostage to make India negotiate.
We should, in fact, utilise the attack on Hindus in Bangladesh and expel the Bangladeshis en masse (and good thing too, that Khaleda Zia will likely come to power - we need not worry about the effect on relations). We cannot protect the Hindus in Bangladesh except by wielding the big stick. In fact, a sharp slap by expelling the Bangladeshi Muslims will likely have a sobering effect on the Bangladeshis.
Last edited by Shanmukh on 01 Feb 2014 00:12, edited 1 time in total.
What you call as hindu land stretches from Iran to Indonesia. They can live anywhere there, what gives them the rights to enter Current day India when they are not citizens of India. India is the last bastion for hindus, allowing a few (i am sure that few will be in excess of 25% of all the people you let in) non hindus is a huge deal. Next, you say it is quite easy to determine if a guy is a hindu or not, how on earth do you propose to do that (ask them to open their pants??)Abhijit wrote:Your thought process is in serious need of re-education. I will spend some time over the weekend making my case. This land has been Hindu for millenia - any Hindu should be welcomed here - it is quite easy to determine whether a person is Hindu or not - even if a few non-Hindus get in, that should not deter us from doing the right thing. think it over seriously.
well said, nagesh ji.nageshks wrote:I am inclined to agree with MuraliRavi-ji, here. Even in Israel, Right of Return is being abused,and plenty (still a small fraction of the total) of new `Jews' in Israel simply have bought their papers in former USSR (who is to say whether the man did or did not have a Jewish grandmother?). This has led to to complete disintegration of their political classes. Every new creed coming to Israel has set up its own socio-religious authorities, and then is fighting for state resources for its unviable plans.muraliravi wrote:^^^, No No. Its either zero or 100 in this case. See history, every country that has allowed this concept has screwed itself in the end.
MuraliRavi hit it on the head. Quite apart from the possible entry of Muslims, this program will be used by ISI, and all other intelligence agencies to infiltrate into India and cause mayhem. Even if the ordinary Abdul cannot buy papers to say he is a Hindu, the ISI will be able to issue false papers to their agents. That will be a heaven sent opportunity for our secularists to blame the BJP policies for any attacks on India. So - no. We protect the Hindus in Pakistan and Bangladesh by hitting the countries where it hurts, but not by allowing the Hindus into India. Every attack on Hindus in Pakistan should be retaliated by destroying the border posts and sending back heads of terrorists to the Pakistani organisations.
We should, in fact, utilise the attack on Hindus in Bangladesh and expel the Bangladeshis en masse (and good thing too, that Khaleda Zia will likely come to power - we need not worry about the effect on relations). We cannot protect the Hindus in Bangladesh except by wielding the big stick. In fact, a sharp slap by expelling the Bangladeshi Muslims will likely have a sobering effect on the Bangladeshis.
It's probably much more beneficial to focus on attracting the best and brightest of the Indian diaspora back with opportunities, instead of an Israel-like right of return policy. They *needed* people because they were a barren desert where the other side had a large population. That's not an imperative for us.
Agreed, and moreover the indian diaspora outside india anyway can return with the proof that they were born in india or to indian parents abroad. So no new policy is needed.Suraj wrote:It's probably much more beneficial to focus on attracting the best and brightest of the Indian diaspora back with opportunities, instead of an Israel-like right of return policy. They *needed* people because they were a barren desert where the other side had a large population. That's not an imperative for us.
I was talking about asylum more on a case-by-case basis, maybe a few tens or hundreds of high-profile cases each year to highlight the plight of Hindus in those lands. But work in parallel to resurrect the Hindu populations in TSP/BD - actually all over the world. No reason why the ethos of those countries can't be civilized to be accepting of Hindus.
If the talk is about general asylum to millions of Hindus every year, I'd say that was a strict no-no. Hindus need to spread around the world, not get into a ghetto mentality and stay concentrated in one place or country, simply because the people of other countries act bigoted and intolerant.
P.S.: This is also how the cunning western governments function. They grant asylum to high-profile "persecuted" X-tians, but in general, work on empowering X-tians in other lands, building up a tale of grievances and injustices, and pressurizing the governments of those lands to accede to X-tian demands.
If the talk is about general asylum to millions of Hindus every year, I'd say that was a strict no-no. Hindus need to spread around the world, not get into a ghetto mentality and stay concentrated in one place or country, simply because the people of other countries act bigoted and intolerant.
P.S.: This is also how the cunning western governments function. They grant asylum to high-profile "persecuted" X-tians, but in general, work on empowering X-tians in other lands, building up a tale of grievances and injustices, and pressurizing the governments of those lands to accede to X-tian demands.
Actually evenrohitv wrote:http://ibnlive.in.com/news/kejriwal-nam ... 37-64.html
List in this link doesnt have the name of NaMo and RaGa. Earlier NaMo was at the top followed by RaGa.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 83#slide20
doesn't have NM. Though the title conveniently adds his name.
It will be better if CHT are made independent country or forced to join with India. Then the whole of N-E India (the seven sister states) will have a port., and Hindus of Bangladesh can move to CHT.Every place it needs to be done. The minute you start giving asylums to hindus, trust me you will see a sharp increase in population in india especially in border districts. For every 3 hindus, you will see one muslim enter. What we should not do is ensure that they become a vocal and strong minority there. I am completely against this concept that India has to give them citizenship.
CHT (which were Hindu majority ) were given to nPakistan in 1947 by Nehru. This was the bigger strategic mistake than Kashmir to UN.
We got 1/5th of India landlocked to be reached only through a narrow Siliguri corridor., what were these politicos thinking in 1947.
Now! The seven sister states are behind the rest of India (economy wise) for this very reason.
How do you add suggestions at india272? I have browsed but couldnt find anything similar to a forum. There is a "forum" there but it seems more like letter writing?muraliravi wrote:Will do sir.nageshks wrote:MuraliRavi-ji,
Why don't you propose this for NaMo rally in Guwahati on India272? They are asking public for suggestions for points to be covered by NaMo.
You can go to the open forums (there is one for many relevant topics) and give your suggestions. There is an open forum for the Guwahati rally (and many other rallies), so I suggested MuraliRavi-ji add his suggestion to Guwahati rally topic.Shonu wrote: How do you add suggestions at india272? I have browsed but couldnt find anything similar to a forum. There is a "forum" there but it seems more like letter writing?
What is CHT, Bajwa saab?
This thread has crossed half a million views!!!
Chittagong Hill Tracts - had a Buddhist majority in 1947. Was given to Pak by Brits.sudarshan wrote:What is CHT, Bajwa saab?
!
CHT = Chittagong Hill Tracts (southeast Bangladesh). This area frustratingly prevents sea access from Tripura and Mizoram.sudarshan wrote:What is CHT, Bajwa saab?
Okay, got it now. I always thought it was the north of BD which was the problem. You know, the region that imposes the narrow corridor from the rest of India into the NE through Sikkim. Widening that corridor might be another imperative.
Both should have been annexed in 1971...but "should have been" is the never-ending story of Indian incompetence.sudarshan wrote:Okay, got it now. I always thought it was the north of BD which was the problem. You know, the region that imposes the narrow corridor from the rest of India into the NE through Sikkim. Widening that corridor might be another imperative.
Last edited by KLP Dubey on 01 Feb 2014 03:51, edited 1 time in total.
Investors put too much faith in a Modi turnround
http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/0/54414bd8 ... z2s0huxAgA
Narendra Modi, the most talked-about politician in a country where talking is a national sport, is a polarising figure. Lauded and vilified in equal measure, he is an authoritarian thug to some and India’s saviour-in-waiting to others. To his supporters, he is a man of integrity who can get things done. To his detractors, he will forever be tainted by association with the 2002 massacre of Muslims in Gujarat, where, as the state’s chief minister, he was accused – though he was later formally cleared – of standing by while hundreds of revenge killings took place.Manmohan Singh, the retiring (in both senses of the word) prime minister, summoned uncharacteristic venom when he pronounced that it would be “disastrous” if Mr Modi replaced him after general elections due to be concluded in May. Pankaj Mishra, a novelist and essayist, said Mr Modi was the “primary Indian exponent of capitalism with Chinese characteristics”. It was not meant as a compliment.
On the other side of the debate, Ratan Tata, one of India’s most respected businessmen, sees those “Chinese characteristics” – a willingness to take decisive action in the interests of economic growth – as one of his chief strengths. “One really has a sense of faith in Mr Modi that if he says it will be done, it will be done,” Mr Tata said.Foreign investors, too, are near euphoric at the prospect of a leader with a reputation for bulldozing through bureaucracy. After years of drift under the Congress-led coalition, they are pining for a government that can make decisions and stick to them. Even after the gyrations in emerging markets set off by the free-falling Argentine peso, Indian stocks are only marginally off record highs. That in spite of the fact that the economy is growing at less than 5 per cent, half its peak of only a few years ago. A Modi victory, it seems, has already been priced in.
This raises two questions, neither straightforward. The first is: will Mr Modi really become prime minister? The second is, assuming he does, can he do for India what he has allegedly done for Gujarat? Or are investors getting ahead of themselves?A Modi premiership is probably less of a certainty than many think, even if momentum is clearly on his side. Indian elections are notoriously hard to predict. Few guessed that the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata party – to which Mr Modi belongs – would be knocked from power in 2004, when India was thought to be at its most shiny. Nor in 2009 did many expect Congress to win 206 seats in the 543-seat Lok Sabha, the lower house of parliament, returning it to a second term. Indian elections are often more local than national – this in a country where “local” can mean Uttar Pradesh, a state with more than 200m people, or Bihar, whose chief minister, Nitish Kumar, is an erstwhile ally of the BJP who openly despises Mr Modi.
Mr Bhanu Mehta says that, for better or for worse, Mr Modi would be the first prime minister since independence in 1947 to achieve his position “solely on the basis of his own personality”. The son of a tea seller, he was born with a teaspoon in his mouth, not the silver spoon of the Nehru-Gandhi dynasty that has dominated Indian politics. His humble beginnings and outsider status would mark him out as a new kind of leader. They would not, of course, guarantee him success.
Parts of Bangladesh, Burma and SL should have been part of India a long time ago....missed opportunities.
^^Burma was part of the brit Indian empire and was hived off in only 1935 or so. Ceylon too was part of Brit-India. Why not did sardar Patel consider these two to be just another 2 more princely states and integrate them into the union, I sometimes wonder.... (I know, the hindsight expectations from the original iron man of India are now rivalled only by the foresighted ones on NM)...
That said, would love it if as PM sri NM could say that "Every Hindu, anywhere in the world, is culturally and spiritually (not legally, though) a citizen of India." (Thats another way of saying they're Indics).
Meanwhile, the first NM term IMHO will probably zoom by just in undoing and repairing the serious damage to national institutions and to national resources and treasury (e.g. the scorched earth policies I fully expect will come as the UPA prepares to demit office) that UPA will bequeath India with.
Its the second NaMo term, hopefully with a larger majority than before when the task of extending things further will have truly begun...
namo namaha... jai ho and jai hind....
That said, would love it if as PM sri NM could say that "Every Hindu, anywhere in the world, is culturally and spiritually (not legally, though) a citizen of India." (Thats another way of saying they're Indics).
Meanwhile, the first NM term IMHO will probably zoom by just in undoing and repairing the serious damage to national institutions and to national resources and treasury (e.g. the scorched earth policies I fully expect will come as the UPA prepares to demit office) that UPA will bequeath India with.
Its the second NaMo term, hopefully with a larger majority than before when the task of extending things further will have truly begun...
namo namaha... jai ho and jai hind....
Finally, much needed something of symbolic yet more-than-symbolic value....
Modi promises India its National War Memorial (Kanchan Gupta at Niticentral)
oh, read it all I say...Nothing can be more ironical than the fact that more than six-and-a-half decades after Independence from British colonial rule, India still honours its war heroes – soldiers who have sacrificed their lives in defence of their motherland – by placing wreathes at a memorial that was added on to a relic of the British Raj. The Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate in New Delhi was and remains an after-thought than a true National War Memorial to honour the memory of more than 20,000 soldiers who have died on duty. No less ironical is the fact that India Gate, an imposing monument on the central vista in the heart of the national capital, was built by our colonial rulers to honour Indian soldiers who died in World War I. Independent India’s rulers never thought it fit to erect a monument equally, if not more grand, to honour the memory of our soldiers, airmen and sailors who died since 1947.
Instead, the easy and lazy route was chosen to install the Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate. Wreaths are placed there in the most desultory manner. We perfunctorily salute the ‘Unknown Soldier’ but fail to remember the soldiers who died battling India’s enemies. Each of them had a name, a face, a regimental identity. All that, and more, is obliterated by our half-hearted gesture. What remains is a sense of bitterness among the loved ones left behind by our men in uniform.
It is not that there has never been a proposal for a National War Memorial. Indeed, this proposal has been made time and again but governments have dragged their feet. Even when an effort has been made to revive the proposal, there has been dogged resistance by the bureaucracy and the Delhi Urban Arts Commission which instinctively rejects anything that may alter the colonial vista as conceived and executed by Lutyens. A half-hearted political leadership has done little to overcome that resistance.
Patel, supposedly, was working with the template of the Mauryan Empire, which did not include Ceylon. Burma might be a different story. Don't take this seriously - just a conjecture.Hari Seldon wrote:^^Burma was part of the brit Indian empire and was hived off in only 1935 or so. Ceylon too was part of Brit-India. Why not did sardar Patel consider these two to be just another 2 more princely states and integrate them into the union, I sometimes wonder.... (I know, the hindsight expectations from the original iron man of India are now rivalled only by the foresighted ones on NM)...
That said, I have the sneaking suspicion that Patel ji is lurking around somewhere (in his next birth), ready to spring forth in service of the nation again and take care of unfinished business. I'd love to think that this was Modi, but Modi ji was born three months before Patel's death. Not that there couldn't have been some phased transfer of the spirit soul from one body to another....
Does anyone have much knowledge about any tier two leaders from Gujarat? Amit Shah aside, who are Modi's other trusted luitenents? I'm sure Modi will come to power at the centre and do good things for India however I don't see very much else from the BJP aside from Modi. Vajpayee relied on the likes of LKA, Mahajan, Jaswant and Yaswant to be his support act however post 2004 they dissapointed big time (granted in Mahajan's case we will never know what could have been).
Has NM ever written or spoken about his vision for future leaders of India and where to find them/how to nurture them?
Media is quite bitter over Modi not giving them any putta , in fact I have heard Anjana Om Kashyap and other sold out souls shouting at BJP walas on debate 'arre aapke modi sahab to media se baat tak nahi karte'
http://volunteer.india272.com/openforum ... endra-modinageshks wrote:You can go to the open forums (there is one for many relevant topics) and give your suggestions. There is an open forum for the Guwahati rally (and many other rallies), so I suggested MuraliRavi-ji add his suggestion to Guwahati rally topic.Shonu wrote: How do you add suggestions at india272? I have browsed but couldnt find anything similar to a forum. There is a "forum" there but it seems more like letter writing?
Shonu, you can register there and also post.
Nageshji, I was just about to register and post, but deja vu struck me. I did register in Advani for PM website in 2009 and posted in the forums and finally LKA did not make it. Maybe superstitious, but I dont want the same to happen to Namo. So i'll stay away