nageshks wrote: If 10 years of relentless mainstream media propaganda could not damage NaMo, does anyone honestly believe that empathising with the Muzaffarnagar riot victims will do so? NaMo got where he is by being honest. He will get nowhere by being dishonest, or scared to talk to people of genuine issues.
Tell you what, Modi got where he is by giving good governance, not by building temples across Gujarat. That is his USP. I can bet you if his terms in GJ were like those of Mulayam or Lalu and he was a staunch Hindutvawadi PM candidate, he would not have received such unprecedented support in most of the nation.

nageshks wrote:
abhijitm wrote: why a BJP PM candidate should be explicit about hindutva? Isn't it assumed anyway? Why give media a reason to create doubt in people's mind? He is doing well so far. He must stay away from any "controversy" that the english media could perceive and extrapolate.
Last time, it was assumed about Vajpayee and did not materialise. The result was 10 years disenchantment for the BJP - no one would trust it. This time, if NaMo makes the same mistake, it will be curtains for the BJP. Its credibility will be completely gone and no one will volunteer for it except a few career politicians.
Who the hell cares about temple politics anymore? Get with the times. We need development and education reform. Keep temples and religious affairs out of the government net and let society take care of it.

archan wrote:I think NaMo is targeting first time voters and new converts (to BJP). By going soft on Hindutva, he may lose some votes, but the question would be, where would such a voter cast their vote if not or BJP? so their calculation is probably that they may lose some votes but stand to gain a lot more by focusing on development.
There are lots of people in India (Hindus) who couldn't care less if the temple is built or not. However they care about electricity, jobs, education for their kids..
Saar - it is not a question of voters, as I said, but of volunteers. With gaffes like this, you will demoralise the cadres, who are often hardcore Hindutva people - particularly in places like western UP or Assam, where the volunteers are literally putting their lives on the line by campaigning for the BJP openly. If NaMo does not even acknowledge the dead Jats (who constituted the bulk of the volunteers in western UP), why do you think they will be impressed with him? In 2004, the volunteers did not want Vajpayee back, even if the voters did. You saw the result in UP. Why do you think things will be any different from NaMo? Just because he is NaMo?
Last edited by Shanmukh on 02 Feb 2014 19:57, edited 1 time in total.

photo circa 1991. LKA filing nomination papers from amdavad. NM is with him. Look carefully and you can spot amitbhai shah also in the background. Not surprised NM and Amit shah go back that far....

P.S.
Yes, am hearing jats are disappointed with NM's speech. Am sure the feedback will go to amit shah, to nagpur and to NM. Let's see.

del after reading Atriji,abhijitmji
Last edited by svenkat on 02 Feb 2014 19:58, edited 2 times in total.

If Namo goes secular, BJP will die out in a few years. The Sangh will distance itself and once that umbilical cord is cut, BJP will whither away.

I think there is a vastly different level of connect that NM has with people than ABV had. Advani didn't have even a bit of that. I understand your point over volunteers.

devesh wrote:If Namo goes secular, BJP will die out in a few years. The Sangh will distance itself and once that umbilical cord is cut, BJP will whither away.
I don't think it has to be this extreme or that.
rohitv

Post by rohitv »

anmol wrote:
Modi govt faces flak for new BPL criteria
indiatoday.intoday.in | Feb 2nd 2014

The Narendra Modi government in Gujarat is facing attacks from the Congress and the CPI for a new definition of Below Poverty Line (BPL) category in the state.

According to a newspaper report, the state's Food and Civil Supplies Department has said in a circular that people who earned above Rs 11 a day in rural areas and Rs 17 a day in urban area in the state would not fall under the BPL category.

The circular said that only those earning less than Rs 324 per month in rural areas and Rs 501 per month in urban areas will be considered to be living below the poverty line, said the report.

The new BPL guidelines have apparently been uploaded on the department's website.

The Congress attacked the Modi government after the news broke since the Gujarat Chief Minister has been questioning the Planning Commission's move to put people earning Rs 32 in urban areas and Rs 26 in rural areas above the BPL category.

"Modi feels a person earning 11 per day is not poor and doesn't need any help. Would Rajnathji and Sushmaji pl react?" Congress leader Digvijaya Singh tweeted on Sunday.

However, BJP leader Giriraj Singh said the Gujarat government could not issue any such guideline. "It could be a website error."

CPI leader Gurudas Dasgupta said the new BPL criteria were "a mad decision."

"How can they come to this calculation? How can the man who is thinking to rule the country come to such conclusions?" he said.

http://deshgujarat.com/2014/02/02/on-bpl-critaria-row/

There are 21.00 lakh BPL families as per GOI criterion. For which GOI is giving us ration. But GOG, from its own sources, is giving the ration to 32.00 lakh families. Thus, we are reaching to the poorest of the poor on the one hand and also to those who are marginally better in terms of possession of assets.

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/384 ... rape.html/

modi was right to avoid directly speaking on riots. Hindu girl was gangraped yesterday by muslims. Meerut is tense. Situation very sensitive in Meerut as we speak. Gandhis and friends will go to any lengths to eliminate modi (politically or physically). One wrong statement from Modi will create a mangal-pandey like domino in India. Remember 1857 started a month or two before it was planned. It made all the difference in the end. Modi has to traverse this last lap very carefully and reach the 7rcr with strong majority. We can't afford another 1857 like outburst. This time it has to be systematic and sustained. Kudos to Modi and BJP for showing this acumen. The gangrape of Hindu girl just on the eve of Modi rally has dirty-politics written all over it. Meerut came on verge of muzaffarnagar 2.0 yesterday. Friends of Gandhis would have held modi responsible. It was moment just like that of Patna rally blasts which modi handled beautifully. Know that enemies of dharma would want us to commit 1857 like mistake again. We don't need a self-righteous chauri-chaura but we can definitely hold the line and await instructions from Narendrasaheb Peshwa to begin a systematic attack on congress-system. I refuse to fight when provoked. It was an IED which modi avoided while putting the point across. as far as possible fight should begin at time and place of our convenience. This is what marathas taught us.

nageshks wrote:Saar - it is not a question of voters, as I said, but of volunteers. With gaffes like this, you will make demoralise the cadres, who are often hardcore Hindutva people - particularly in places like western UP or Assam, where the volunteers are literally putting their lives on the line by campaigning for the BJP openly. If NaMo does not even acknowledge the dead Jats (who constituted the bulk of the volunteers in western UP), why do you think they will be impressed with him? In 2004, the volunteers did not want Vajpayee back, even if the voters did. You saw the result in UP. Why do you think things will be any different from NaMo? Just because he is NaMo?
Amit Shah is doing all what you are saying in UP. He is appointed by NaMo, represents NaMo and carrying out his ideology. No need for NaMo to explicitly state the obvious in public.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

nageshks wrote:
Dr. Praveen Patil @albatrossinfo

A BKU leader from Kithore (dominated by minorities); "If Modi's idea of reaching out to Jats is by invoking Chaudhry ji, then God help BJP!"
Expand
Dr. Praveen Patil @albatrossinfo

Just got this input from Meerut: "Jats were overwhelmingly in favor of BJP...are now cautiously optimistic"; #GenuineFeedback @narendramodi
Dr. Praveen Patil ‏@albatrossinfo 13m

This whole theory that even mentioning riots (read Muzaffarnagar) would make someone communal is self-defeating. End (no more tweets on this/
I expected this, and this is precisely what a hyper cautious BJP (if that is what NaMo is being) will get. If you don't even have the courge to talk of genuine problems to people, what can you expect from them? I don't buy the theory that being called communal will damage NaMo any. If anything, it will strengthen his credentials. If 10 years of relentless mainstream media propaganda could not damage NaMo, does anyone honestly believe that empathising with the Muzaffarnagar riot victims will do so? NaMo got where he is by being honest. He will get nowhere by being dishonest, or scared to talk to people of genuine issues.

The makeover of NaMo into a super-Vajpayee began a long time back - in October, IIRC, with the `toilets before temples' remark. Then came his forgetting the Pandits in Jammu. Now he forgets the agonies of the Jats in Meerut. I have observed this phenomenon in all BJP leaders. It seems to be a very generic Delhi disease.
I agree. I have been ever cautious since that remark. Not that I wont vote for him or not offer my best to BJP, but I have serious fears about Modi becoming another Vajpayee.
Edit: One point though. I follow Amit Shah on FB, and he still has the same Hindutva streak. So I hope he is spreading the Hindutva message in UP behind the rallies.
Last edited by kittoo on 02 Feb 2014 20:02, edited 1 time in total.

Atri ji, wrong analogy. Acknowledging the issue is not equivalent to jumping into battle. Sympathize with the Hindu victims is not 1857. Avoiding speaking about it....is like pouring salt on the cold dead bodies of the victims. If the core believers behind the BJP loose hope the ITvity "development" crowd will not save him. Speaking about Jihad is not jumping into a trap. By not speaking of it he is definitely getting into the Vajpayee trap.

I did not enjoy the speech except his attacks on Congress & mention of racism against NE but even then, the latter was not required at a rally in Meerut when there are other more pressing issues at hand like the riots & SP government's blatant appeasement. He should definitely have spoken about that. Meerut is a very very communally polarized city, and if you think the people in the crowd wanted NaMo to speak on development & economy, you're sadly mistaken. I know he can't and shouldn't say anything blatantly anti-muslim but he should have thundered against Mulayam's appeasement to Jehadis and drove his point home.

You prevent jihad through proper policing and intelligence, clean governance, and a comprehensive national effort to sustain development and reform in all areas of governance including health and education. He is no ABV. There is no comparison between the two. Despite all the "flaws" of the speech his popularity around the country including UP is only increasing. I have never seen so much enthusiasm in Indian politics. We don't need temple politics.

devesh wrote:Atri ji, wrong analogy. Acknowledging the issue is not equivalent to jumping into battle. Sympathize with the Hindu victims is not 1857. Avoiding speaking about it....is like pouring salt on the cold dead bodies of the victims. If the core believers behind the BJP loose hope the ITvity "development" crowd will not save him. Speaking about Jihad is not jumping into a trap.
+1, only.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Chandragupta wrote:I did not enjoy the speech except his attacks on Congress & mention of racism against NE but even then, the latter was not required at a rally in Meerut when there are other more pressing issues at hand like the riots & SP government's blatant appeasement. He should definitely have spoken about that. Meerut is a very very communally polarized city, and if you think the people in the crowd wanted NaMo to speak on development & economy, you're sadly mistaken. I know he can't and shouldn't say anything blatantly anti-muslim but he should have thundered against Mulayam's appeasement to Jehadis and drove his point home.
Yeah. When he can mention issue of Racism against NE people in a rally in Meerut, I cant for one second agree that avoiding Muzaffarnagar riots wasnt a conscious decision. I am cautiously optimistic, but if even he thinks that just mentioning the appeasement or riots is wrong, then I am not much enthused.
@RoyG above
This is not temple politics. Everything related to Hindus isnt temple politics. How would it have been temple politics if he had mentioned the riots or the appeasement? By this yardstick, no leader should say anything for Hindus as it will be temple politics. I personally see this going towards the same line as many fence-sitters use- development is the only thing required. That will remove all problems. No it wont. ABV thought so and failed. Thats not true. Ask from people who faced riots. Ask from BJP core cadres and supporters. Emotional issues are important too, very important.
Last edited by kittoo on 02 Feb 2014 20:19, edited 2 times in total.
Comer

Post by Comer »

I am glad that Modi is not going the way of slicing and dicing the voters based on their characteristics. His vision seems to be truly development for all and not just election speeches.
If BJP volunteers gets dejected and votes for Congress and AAP, yeah, that will teach him.

I thought I heard him mention Muzaffarnagar and that SP govt. was giving relief in a biased manner based on religion.

The air is so charged. Meerut is a ticking time bomb. The riots we saw are like the first few puffs that come out of a volcano before the eruption. Mentioning the riots at this stage would be a huge mistake.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Atriji
+1. Most Gurus here may already know, 1857 was planned in monsoon so that the Brits cannot move forces from one city to another quickly thru poor roads during rain. Somehow (Brits are suspected of moving this ahead), the fight started 2 months in advance and Indians lost (not by a big margin).We should avoid the current provocations now at any cost.
A massive riot may be in the works in UP and Bihar with the two Yadavs, Khujli and fake Gandis plotting together. It will be pinned on the communal Modi easily by our Desh Drohi Media. In general the young crowd that is the target of our vote may get disillusioned. Tough time for the Dharmics, the next 3 months.

Yes go ahead and dismiss Ayodhya contemptuously as "temple pilitics"....and the you wonder why Islam has taken over entire swathes of Indo-Gangetic plains. As long as we are deluded by "development without temple politics" we'll continue to loose land and people. We are underestimating the emotional pull of a strong ideology. Islam is just that. Hindus will only continue to retreat if the don't understand the emotions and commoditiz every sacrifice in terms of "development".

We expect too many things from him. I am sure he has info on many matters and carefully looking into issues he can raise. HE WAS GIVEN A PAPER JUST BEFORE THE HIS SPEACH. We do not know what it is. The Islamic + mafia attack on Hindu girl must be known to him. Mafia dying to have a riot following Modi rally in UP and so does entire establishment. He refused the bait. Just like Shivaji waiting for Afzal when Afzal killing Hindus in their thousands. Jats and others know what is in his mind and heart. I do not expect them to vote for SP/BSP/Ajit+mafia gang now. I am sure Amit Shah is doing his level best with Jat leaders. Invoking Chowdary Cheran Singh and BKS leader Thikayath who son is arrested (I am not sure of that) during riots is also done.

Modi sends very deep messages like little dogs die under car. We all know dogs are haram for Muslims and here we have a person comparing them indirectly to that. He also asked crowds if ladies are safe in SP rule etc. So not so dissopointing. Of Modi becoming Atal, I seriously doubt Atal wanted to win badly in 2004. I am sure Modi and BJP want to win in 2014 and will do every thing for that.

IN THE END ONE HAS TO BE VERY CAREFUL IN A RALLY OF LAKHS OF PEOPLE, THE FIRE LIT WILL NOT BE DIFFICULT TO STOP.

Let me make a prediction here about NaMo's Guwahati rally (on February 8 ). NaMo will not even mention the illegal immigrants making the lives of the Hindus miserable. He will not speak a word about the dead Bodos in the recent riots, or offer them a word of sympathy. He will just speak about his governance, jobs and employment.

modi govt draws flak for new BPL definition http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/modi ... 41292.html
According to a newspaper report, the state's Food and Civil Supplies Department has said in a circular that people who earned above Rs.11 a day in rural areas and Rs.17 a day in urban area in the state would not fall under the BPL category.
Last edited by IndraD on 02 Feb 2014 20:28, edited 1 time in total.

RoyG wrote:We don't need temple politics.
The issue is one of Jihad on Hindus including Rape-Jihad, and UP Govt.'s blatant support to Jihadis. What has that to do with "temple politics"?

NaMo can speak of Jihadists, and UP-Govt.'s Jihadi appeasement trying to provoke war between Hindus and peace-loving Muslims.

Pawar is now backing Modi according to timesnow.

devesh wrote:Atri ji, wrong analogy. Acknowledging the issue is not equivalent to jumping into battle. Sympathize with the Hindu victims is not 1857. Avoiding speaking about it....is like pouring salt on the cold dead bodies of the victims. If the core believers behind the BJP loose hope the ITvity "development" crowd will not save him. Speaking about Jihad is not jumping into a trap. By not speaking of it he is definitely getting into the Vajpayee trap.
Not talking is a good idea. It should be done quietly not showing of bahadur-giri or unnecessary bravado.

See the Maharashtra thing. Per news MNS is not standing in LS and what that means is BJP does not need to align with MNS and MNS does not cut votes. This is a boon beyond anybody can even think of. Now Raj has taken away the chances of UP+Bihar politician trying to rally against NaMo for being anti-UP/Bihar. No talk but all work done. . But that is how NaMo's team is trying to do things meticulously.

Let us now watch AP stuff and see if he wins his way or he fails. He is human and he will have his failures.

Regarding Meerut and not talking about Jats, there is no open alliance of Jats with BJP and any day Ajit Singh is yet to lose his seat. These things have to happen quietly. Openly talking about victims of riots means showing to "useless junk hindus" always waiting for AAP type opportunities elsewhere an pretext. You can do such things in a rally after elections are declared and alliances/candidates are settled. Not at this stage when a lot background maneuvering is occurring. Certain things are beyond that locale. A lot of jats are still happy with Congress under Hooda types and there is need to move towards BJP openly. It is same as Seemandhra elites doing lip service of BJP while they are still sitting prettily under Sonia.

Important thing is that not to give a platform of rallying points elsewhere. Sonia already did a mistake of jehar statement like she did maut-ka-saudagar. Let them stew their own downfall.

It seems Modi's emphasis on governance is becoming monotonous and people now want to hear something different. :)

The expectation that he has to become a soft Praveen Tagodia as soon as he enters Western UP is wrong expectation and a bad strategy. INC+Maya alliance is still looming above. No point in helping a polarized environment.

Comparing apples and oranges...internal coalition politicking vs public speeches of current issues.

Muppalla wrote:The expectation that he has to become a soft Praveen Tagodia as soon as he enters Western UP is wrong expectation and a bad strategy. INC+Maya alliance is still looming above. No point in helping a polarized environment.
Muppalla-ji, the Muslims are hell bent on stopping NaMo. They will already vote for the one who has the best chance to defeat the BJP - nothing is going to change that. All this polarised environment will only help BJP. If the Jats are feeling let down, then the BJP is going to be in trouble.

There may be others who speak about that. Kalyan Singh was direct today. So was Kathiyar. I have not seen what others said. I am sure almost all of them spoke in the same lines. Most of the core voters made up their mind. BJP workers know that fight is do are die condition. Gowhathi is difforent from Meerat. We have to wait and see. A lot may happen between now and then. I am sure Modi looks into feed back and improvements very actively. The fight is mainly for non committed voters who may be put off by any riot allegations. Mafia won huge in urban areas in 2009 and it has to be stopped this time.

UP politics are too complex and Temple issue was milked by BJP without doing anything for a decade. People are not going to line up and vote for BJP on Temple issue alone. Hindu vote has to won by both Temple and Development and also by deals made with local leaders of communities etc. Info I has to now there is going to be Hindu Muslim polarisation in a big time in UP. We know who will win this time.

By the way rally may be in Meerut but whole nation was present on TV and this was a address to the nation on a sunday after noon. Just like it is going to be on Feb 8th.

devesh wrote:Yes go ahead and dismiss Ayodhya contemptuously as "temple pilitics"....and the you wonder why Islam has taken over entire swathes of Indo-Gangetic plains. As long as we are deluded by "development without temple politics" we'll continue to loose land and people. We are underestimating the emotional pull of a strong ideology. Islam is just that. Hindus will only continue to retreat if the don't understand the emotions and commoditiz every sacrifice in terms of "development".
devesh garu, mahadev knows my allegiance to the cause of dharma. In shauchalay devalay issue, I had made my stand clear.

THE GANGRAPE OF HINDU GIRL WAS AN IED. It was not crime of passion. It was well timed conspiracy like godhra train burning with intention of prematurely diffusing a massive avalanche which is building and waiting to start. Godhra happened to sabotage parakram. this gangrape happened to sabotage BJP. The reason babri was taken down was because of dharmik PM in delhi. Reason Godhra was answered in kind was dharmik PM in delhi. there is no point is ordering the light-brigade to frontally attack entrenched artillery. our people will die in thousands, if the volcano erupts. things will be different from May, if modi is PM with strong majority. volcano can then be channelized to clean ganga valley (it will happen with or without the will of modi and modi, like PVNR, will have to see it through no matter how sekoolar he wants to become). Modi has only so much of ideological maneuverability now. Even if he wants to, he cannot veer away from cause of hindutva. while I do not oppose this protest, all I am seeing is system, like EIC, is poised to use all its might to crush hindus. It is waiting - countless signals given by establishment including by raulbaba.

hence I hold that it was wise of modi not to take this bait. he did speak of bahu-beti bachao and received loudest cheer from crowd. katiyar etc did speak of ram mandir. katiyar, kalyan singh etc always do.

I get the feeling that unless Jihad comes directly to our doorstep we are not willing to understand the pain of fellow Bharatiyas who have to feel it. We are like the dogs with a crooked tail. You can hold it and try to make it straight. But as soon as you let go, it curls up again. Meanwhile the holder of the tail has to embarrass himself or herself.

Edit: above is not meant for Atri ji. But a general observation about Hindus in general.
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

I agree with Atri and some of the other posters with similar views. Meerut is a powder keg with this IED having been set up a day before. With the resonance of his usual delivery, inclusion of the riots topic could have channeled the energy of the huge crowds into a direction that would have been difficult to control. And a riot today or tomorrow would have given the termites as well as their paid MSM all the fodder they need.

Amma joined left http://www.rediff.com/news/report/aiadm ... 140202.htm and jyan from paid media http://www.rediff.com/news/report/what- ... 140202.htm

A SEVEN JUDGE BENCH OF SUPREME COURT IS CONSIDARING HINDUTHWA ISSUE AND WHAT IS HINDUTHWA AFRESH. A NEW FRONT ON MODI??? I AM NOT SURE.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Devesh
By all means we need to check the growth of alien concepts like..... ( including Communism, Dutchism, Massaism etc). A speech by NM today/in the next two months may not be the best way to go. First thing is to capture power in Delhi and then dilute, roll back and finally eliminate/ assimilate the foreign concepts into Dharmic fold.
Today's speech where NM brought up 1857 and how Congis hides it, was what is required to get people together.

Lot of folks want NaMo to take the Jihadi bait and trip over. The Mafia wants him to do that badly, and some fellow BRFites are unwittingly asking for the same.

Some stalwarts that posts pages after pages on Islamism also asking NaMo to do that suicide. Sirs, please observe Islamist tactics very carefully. No politician with sympathies to Islamism will do that mistake. They leave to the Mullahs to raise war cries within the closed four walls of the mosques. Their political arms always have a plausible denial to claim.

What will we gain by NaMo talking about riots? MSM will go to town saying that BJP is triggering a communal polarization.

Last election in 2009, same area and same issue. Remember Varun Gandhi's speech? And what was the results. Those asking NaMo to take the bait, I'll request them to present the 2009 LS performance of BJP in Western UP after Varun Gandhi promised to have the hands chopped off of the molesters and rapists.

The position of the Jats is funny. All these years they have voted for Congress. Now they have their kids killed and raped, and all of a sudden they want BJP to create a media issue at the expense of BJP's all India prospects. I don't get comfortable feeling about these people towards larger cause of Hindu community. What they can and should expect from BJP need not to be shouted from an open rally, rather it has to be conveyed via door to door campaign. This is where RSS org come into picture. And the same should also be understood by BJP's workers on the field.

BJP has to educate its workers very carefully. A BJP PM cannot bear the burden Hindutva agenda. That will be a political suicide. What BJP should do is to ensure that the Hindu orgs get a level playing fields. They should be able to match arm for arm with Jihadis. Such measures include disbanding federal departments and orgs that were created with the sole purpose of harassing Hindus (NIA). Once there is no over hanging sword of partiality and unjust persecution VHP/BD are quite capable of keeping Jihadis in check.

The other folks in this thread that say temple issue is dead are equally wrong. It is an extremely important for Hindu consolidation, it cuts across all caste, linguistic and geographical fault lines within the Hindu society. It will be a tremendous boost for confidence and self respect.

Again, the trick here is to ensure the govt. only ensure that there is no legal barrier to a temple construction movement. This may require some arm twisting of the judiciary as some SC judges seem to hell bent on delaying the issue, when we thought that Hindus and Muslims masses alike were beginning getting on with the Allahabad HC judgement.

Muppalla wrote:The expectation that he has to become a soft Praveen Tagodia as soon as he enters Western UP is wrong expectation and a bad strategy. INC+Maya alliance is still looming above. No point in helping a polarized environment.
nageshks wrote: Muppalla-ji, the Muslims are hell bent on stopping NaMo. They will already vote for the one who has the best chance to defeat the BJP - nothing is going to change that. All this polarised environment will only help BJP. If the Jats are feeling let down, then the BJP is going to be in trouble.
It is not about Muslims and their votes. It is a fact that everyone who is non-BJP wants a polarized platform where the narrative in entire India is about secularism Vs communalism Vs hindutva. All it needs is giving that platform on a platter just before election declaration. Imagine a Yadav bahubali in the dirty backwaters of western UP who is double minded to stand for BJP Vs SP. He is seeing a wave for Modi but demographics of Yadav+Muslim looks good. But OBC swing is happening to BJP and he likes to be with BJP. In midst to thwart such a thingy SP is trying to polarize with Modi as polarizer. Getting this particular candidate is more important than bhadur-giri dikhawa.

You can't be penny wise and pound foolish.

To get him into loop the desperation is highest levels. Sonia made a maut-ka-saudagar type zehar statement. But is smart and he did not react the same way as he reacted to five year ago. Not that he changed, but at that time in the midst of elections and it is a localized Gujarat and there is no such platform that can defeat. Now he cannot afford to allow a platform that puts all the scams and governance to secondary over this crap.

Media waits for such a chance. See AAP that came second is shown as though they won India. As long as Modi does not talk about secularism unnecessarily his strategy works.