muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

KJoishy wrote:NaMo is pretty weak in English, not that it makes him a bad leader for India. I think he should stick to Hindi in his interviews. That fumble looked pretty bad, I have no clue what was going on there.
well, he was speaking to a japanese

I don't get the fumble, maybe he was thinking of ways to explain things to a foreigner and get him to understand.

In any case, he should be upfront in his Hindu identity. In my experience, I openly say I am a Hindu when I meet goras and the topic comes up. Same with Muslims, I don't say Indian/Brahmin/South Asian etc.
People respect you more if you are open and proud of what you are.

That's why Pakis are rofloled at all over the world. They hate themselves.
Last edited by KJo on 05 Feb 2014 08:29, edited 1 time in total.

Something which was well known but i think Sushma's name shouldn't be there.

muraliravi wrote:Roughly around 0:39 should give you ample proof that we better keep a careful watch on Namo after he become PM and stop him from going astray. I am not sounding paranoid, just giving a warning bell. Why the fumbling boss, why avoid the hindu word with so much desperation
I think his aim was to try and position what are essentially Hindu values as "Indian" values...that is a good strategy to adopt if you are looking to universalize your philosophy and set of values.

HAF and Rajiv Malhotra would be very unhappy with that "positioning".

One thing about TN that is strange is that neither Modi nor JJ have spoken against each other or their parties. JJ is predisposed to having an authoritative and strong central government. They are cut from the same fabric. Modi has blasted all regional parties when he was in a state. He did not speak against JJ in Trichy, but that was long ago. Madras rally should be keenly watched.
Last edited by SwamyG on 05 Feb 2014 09:52, edited 1 time in total.

SwamyG wrote:HAF and Rajiv Malhotra would be very unhappy with that "positioning".
Don't know about HAF, but not so sure about Rajiv....I am not unhappy with the positioning. In fact, it gels well with everything that I have personally been pushing for on the religion threads in the past.

muraliravi wrote:Namo in 2007

Watch around 20:00, how beautifully he explains how hinduism is vastly superior to any other religion.

Namo in 2012 - secularized

Roughly around 0:39 should give you ample proof that we better keep a careful watch on Namo after he become PM and stop him from going astray. I am not sounding paranoid, just giving a warning bell. Why the fumbling boss, why avoid the hindu word with so much desperation
You guys just nitpick everything. He's trying to win an election. You cant do that with Shakha politics. Just make it to the chair with an overwhelming majority and fix up the structural defects of administration, education and economics. The rest will follow.

RoyG wrote: You guys just nitpick everything. He's trying to win an election. You cant do that with Shakha politics. Just make it to the chair with an overwhelming majority and fix up the structural defects of administration, education and economics. The rest will follow.
This is what my BJP contacts said yesterday about Meerut rally - that they don't want minorities to get into `Stop Modi at any cost' mode. However, the caution may not work. Most Muslims are in `Stop NaMo at any cost' mode already. Apparently, the RSS is working full time behind the scenes with Hindutva. We shall see soon what NaMo does. I am eagerly waiting to see what he will say in Bengal and Assam.

^^ Above is a very delicate balance. We consider muslims as one en-bloc., that is very wrong. There are fissures within the minority votes waiting to be exploited and exploited it must be. If for that reason, one has to be less shrill and more circumspect - so be it.

This "whiter than white" syndrome must be given a burial. Think it this way, Modi is self serving politician and goes from one issue to another. However he has demonstrated that he can deliver on what he promises. So are you going to go by the former and ignore the later? Or go by the later acknowledging the former? At the end of the day, given what we have, he is the best - so go with it.

disha wrote:^^ Above is a very delicate balance. We consider muslims as one en-bloc., that is very wrong. There are fissures within the minority votes waiting to be exploited and exploited it must be. If for that reason, one has to be less shrill and more circumspect - so be it.

This "whiter than white" syndrome must be given a burial. Think it this way, Modi is self serving politician and goes from one issue to another. However he has demonstrated that he can deliver on what he promises. So are you going to go by the former and ignore the later? Or go by the later acknowledging the former? At the end of the day, given what we have, he is the best - so go with it.
Disha-ji,
NaMo is the best choice we have. No doubt about that part. He is head and shoulders better than the competition. He will be very good for the economy too. But it remains to be seen where exactly his politics take him.

And regarding the above interview - I have watched it several times - here is what my take away

1. NaMo is translating his ideas in Hindi into English before answering. Put it this way - he is thinking Hindi/Sanskrit and translating into English real time. Because he is good at it, we do not see the interruption until that particular moment.

2. NaMo is great giving public speeches and is only good on one-on-one. The reason is he is thinking faster than he can speak and further he is thinking at several levels to convey a message. This is tough, so just give Modi a break here.

Now based on that 2 sec of "waffling" we are to judge Modi - then who is shallow? Us or he?
Last edited by disha on 05 Feb 2014 10:17, edited 1 time in total.

nageshks wrote:
Disha-ji,
NaMo is the best choice we have. No doubt about that part. He is head and shoulders better than the competition. He will be very good for the economy too. But it remains to be seen where exactly his politics take him.
Nageshks'ji - as the saying goes - hope for the best and prepare for the worst. In this case it is not that dire though., it is just that we are letting our expectations get ahead of ourselves.

disha wrote:^^ Above is a very delicate balance. We consider muslims as one en-bloc., that is very wrong. There are fissures within the minority votes waiting to be exploited and exploited it must be. If for that reason, one has to be less shrill and more circumspect - so be it.

As British widened Caste fissures, we need to use that method to widen fissures among IMs.

I request NaMo to do this:
1. Minority status to only to Shias and other sects and exclude bullies and well offs like Sunnis.
2. In future, give preferential treatment to Shias and to Dargahs (hated by Sunnis and Ahle-Hadees) in managing Wakf properties.
3. Modify column of Caste with Caste/Sect.
1. If we cannot stop subsidies to Haj, give subsidies to Shias for Karbala pilgrimage (Shias will not get Haj subsidy, but Karbala subsidy).

nageshks wrote:But it remains to be seen where exactly his politics take him.
With all due respect, we know exactly where his politics will take him. I had predicted on this very thread that soon enough even NaMo will not be Hinduvadi enough. Yet again, I can come back and say "I told you so"

This is inevitable situation of where we are. This does not mean that NaMo is a sell out, any more than Advani, SS, ABV etc were sell outs.

The boundaries are being pushed carefully -- at this point of time we are fighting a desperate rearguard action -- make no mistake, it would be nothing short of a miracle to come and stablize and take the polity back by 20 years in terms of removing the venom of religious identity based politics of rice-bowl conversions, Saudi money funded jihad and US driven Macualism.

Narendra Modi's pitch for co-operatives rattles UP sugar barons

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/art ... aign=cppst
Abhijit

Post by Abhijit »

Overt Hindutva is a special astra in today's Indian political milieu. The astra can hurt the enemy but could also boomrang. If it needs to be used at all, it should be in the last 1 month prior to elections. That is when the congi bakasur will be unable to do much about it even if BJP wields it in that period. And NaMo should not wield that astra in this kurukshetra. That astra should be used by other maharathis of BJP.

It's a sign, I tell ya!!!......Presenting Namo tea....

RajeshA wrote:Published on Feb 04, 2014
By Milan Vaishnav, Ila Patnaik
Q&A: Will India’s Economy Surge After the General Election?: Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

US Think Tanks are rediscovering faith and power of prayer! Some JNU types trying to motivate business that a Third Front would be better than Modi!
Why do they care about Indian economy when they dont want to trade with India.

They are very much attracted to Chinese products. Let them talk about China

kmkraoind wrote:...
1. If we cannot stop subsidies to Haj, give subsidies to Shias for Karbala pilgrimage (Shias will not get Haj subsidy, but Karbala subsidy).
Picking on the above, one can use the subsidy to Karbala as an influence into Iran/Iraq politics. And of course, Haj subsidies should be quadrupled on the election days.

Look at the iconography on the stage at which namo will speak in kolkata's brigade ground.... Bengal's rich history and contribution well represented....

Would love to go to a NM rally and hear the man speak live... can tell my kids and grandkids yrs later that hey I was there on that historic day when.... :)

Folks, some pics and images from the coming kolkata rally to buildup the mood, eh?

Aha... boats on the hoogly flying the banner proudly... this is more of a spiritual renaissance than a political rally for the besieged Hindu community in Bengal, since lotus won't win WB anyway.

IMO, WB does need a dose of yindutva delivered by NM subtly if required... WB's jihadists and mamtadi who so depends on them are anyway not going to support lotus, so why shy away? Raise the BD issue and the communal tension issue, I say. Say that political violence under left in WB killed far more people than that in the rest of India put together since Independence....

rumor is varun gandhi will share the dias with namo in kolkata. Varun has been focusing on bengal bigtime this campaign (is he the prabhari for WB or something?)

Who is between gurudev and Swamiji in the banner?

couple others like ramakrishna paramhansa (vivekananda's guruji) and revolutionaries like aurobindo ghosh would be nice.
bagha jatin(jatindranath mukherjee) too. bengal has no lack of good people.
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

RoyG wrote:
muraliravi wrote:Namo in 2007

Watch around 20:00, how beautifully he explains how hinduism is vastly superior to any other religion.

Namo in 2012 - secularized

Roughly around 0:39 should give you ample proof that we better keep a careful watch on Namo after he become PM and stop him from going astray. I am not sounding paranoid, just giving a warning bell. Why the fumbling boss, why avoid the hindu word with so much desperation
You guys just nitpick everything. He's trying to win an election. You cant do that with Shakha politics. Just make it to the chair with an overwhelming majority and fix up the structural defects of administration, education and economics. The rest will follow.
I think you guys have misunderstood a lot of things. First, "hinduism" is relatively new. It is the dharmic/vedic culture that is what needs protection, not "hinduism". Secondly, great souls like vivekananda, sri aurobindo & ram krishna paramahamsa who NM idiolises are beyond hinduism (just see the pic hari ji has posted) and other denominations. The yogic path is different from hinduism but the same as the dharmic path. Notice that after his fumbling, he says "Bharat". While everyone would like to call the himalayan yogis "hindus", they would not call themselves that, yet they are the foundation of our dharma.

There is a reason why he was not admitted into the RamaKrishna Mutt early on. This "scientific" & "statistical" thinking cannot explain certain things and must not be used. There are some things in life where faith trumps all others. Those who can see have already said what needs to be said. NM is not like the rest of the pack.
rohitv

Post by rohitv »

Twitter reporting big crowd in Kolkata for the NaMo Rally.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Fully 'communal' speech by Tapan Sikdar before NM arrives.
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

svenkat wrote:Who is between gurudev and Swamiji in the banner?
Nazrul Islam...

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 715918.cms

so much kujili , wonder why they dont do a article on sonia or pappu's personal life , NaMo's wife accepts they parted ways on good terms mutually , still people have problems

krishnan wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 715918.cms

so much kujili , wonder why they dont do a article on sonia or pappu's personal life , NaMo's wife accepts they parted ways on good terms mutually , still people have problems
Did TimesNow/Arnab raise this issue?

Some subtleties needed - Shahnawaz Hussain should practice saying Kolkata instead of Kalkatta. And Rajnath Singh, can he not speak for a change? :roll:

archan wrote:Some subtleties needed - Shahnawaz Hussain should practice saying Kolkata instead of Kalkatta. And Rajnath Singh, can he not speak for a change? :roll:
Let him say Kalkatta, a lot of voters in Kalkatta are pukka biharis like he is.

Why else is he being asked to speak ? He wasnt speaking in other places, was he ?

^ he did well (SHahnawaz) and I see his value there. All I am saying is he can refine his oratory skills a bit. I see good potential in him.

RNS: "Kalkta" was once called the "joy of city" :roll: again, put half the work into your speeches as much as NM does. I mean, why should it be a one man show.
rohitv

Post by rohitv »

archan wrote: RNS: "Kalkta" was once called the "joy of city" :roll: again, put half the work into your speeches as much as NM does. I mean, why should it be a one man show.
Rani ki Jhansi moment :D

Amit Srivastava ‏@AmiSri 8m

Akhilesh Yadav govt has cut the power supply in my area only to stop people from listening to @narendramodi #NaMoInKolkata unusual timing!

archan wrote:^ he did well (SHahnawaz) and I see his value there. All I am saying is he can refine his oratory skills a bit. I see good potential in him.

RNS: "Kalkta" was once called the "joy of city" :roll: again, put half the work into your speeches as much as NM does. I mean, why should it be a one man show.
maybe started getting stage fear after seeing the big crowd

Retweeted by Mamtaニガム
Tathagata Roy ‏@tathagata2 3h

Sabotaging has started. Vidyasagar Setu & Central Ave have been blocked for vehicles bearing rally attendees-without notice,without reason

Bharat mein abhi pradhan mantri kaun hai? "Yum" (M) :lol:

I almost thought, he called MMS a Yum(raaj).

NM is on now..
This is what I was waiting for. NM making an attempt at Bangla. :)
Unexpected support in Bengal..

He has not mentioned Bangladeshi infiltration till now, it's all development. Hope he does.

Coal is near you but there is no electricity here. Why: