India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Let us not be silly ... give him a break...
After all he just got a position as a CEO of some company called Microsoft.. it is not, as if, he is running for the purest of the pure award from some self-identified deshbhakts. :roll:

I don't give a hoot if he mentions India or not but the way the hype was created in Indian English media about his Indian connections , i guessed the same media will whine when (expectedly) he won't reciprocate in the same manner. My post was from that angle. I have no issues with him but with our media who are hyping this and are going to the extent of interviewing his childhood friends, teachers and what not.

Rony wrote:I don't give a hoot if he mentions India or not but the way the hype was created in Indian English media about his Indian connections , i guessed the same media will whine when (expectedly) he won't reciprocate in the same manner. My post was from that angle. I have no issues with him but with our media who are hyping this and are going to the extent of interviewing his childhood friends, teachers and what not.
He will still be a g-d d-mn, free booting, captialist, take no prisoners pirate or he won't be in charge of Microsoft for long. I guarantee that. Delendum est Apple and Google!

Krittika wrote:
PB might be smart and embedded in political machinery (he has to be to get that job) but word is he is only a mediocre prosecutor
Agree that PB is smart. Valedictorian, top in his class, Harvard, Yale . graduating with .summa cum laude, ("with highest honor")..
But "mediocre persecutor"?by which "word".. (I would like to see that source)
Really????

By virtually 100% of the sources, he is described as outstanding. His conviction rate is virtual 100% (an unprecedented thing) in all high-profile cases (Hope DK's case bring it down). Among other things, he was honored with Man of the year by India Abroad, has been on cover of Time, (counted in top 100 most influencer people in the world)... even in a short time, he is compared with greatest..

With all due respect one looses all credibility when one makes a statement like
PB is well aware that he has not prosecuted any high--profile criminals and has gone after people on petty offenses.

Huh???

His office has prosecuted several international terrorists, and secured life sentences for many high profile ones like Faisal Shazad, the Times Square Bomber...Other name associated with PB is Khalid Shah Mahoomad ..

... Suggest, even a little background checking (using even wiki) will help. Suggest, check out any typical background material, say http://india.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/06/ ... t-bharara/ to get some background before commenting..

The above article, for example, starts with intro: "As the United States attorney for the Southern District of New York, Preet Bharara has prosecuted high-profile political corruption and terrorism cases. But he’s best known for going after some of the world’s biggest hedge funds in his pursuit of corporate criminals..."

But I don't have to give a link, check out yourself..

Hope this helps.

Hardly his fault or problem. Its our desi MSM's problem...hyping it up as if its an achievement for India. Nadella is a US citizen hence an American, not an Indian. And WTH is there an expectation for him to give a shout out to his country of birth - is he running for election or ambassadorship?

UlanBatori wrote:See this Obama appointment
I think an excellent choice.
Dr.Georges C. Benjamin, executive director of the American Public Health Association.. says:

Dr. Vivek Murthy Should Be Our Next Surgeon General

Is the Indian Conjulate located in South Manhattan, or is there some other reason PB got this case?

Raja Bose wrote:
Hardly his fault or problem. Its our desi MSM's problem...hyping it up as if its an achievement for India. Nadella is a US citizen hence an American, not an Indian. And WTH is there an expectation for him to give a shout out to his country of birth - is he running for election or ambassadorship?
Exactly! He has no obligation to do so. Everytime I see desi MSM fawn on any desi/NRI/Indian origin dude doing good in pardes, I cringe. Its like a disease of inferiority and we need to get validated of our self-worth by some external entity and a desi guy achieving high position abroad automatically validates the self-worth and boosts confidence.

I think Chidanand Rajghatta has got it right when he says this:
And so while the Indian media went to town with the kind of shrill hysteria over an "Indian success story" that makes many expats cringe (one media maven called it the "the cliched need to trot out the 'rise of India-born executives in tech land' stories,"), the American press was decidedly skeptical about Nadella's rise, making only a marginal reference to his ethnicity. Much of the debate centered on whether a Microsoft insider was capable of taking the company on a different trajectory, expressed in headlines that invariably ended with a question mark.
More here:
http://m.timesofindia.com/tech/tech-new ... 914774.cms
Last edited by member_22733 on 06 Feb 2014 02:38, edited 1 time in total.

UlanBatori wrote:Is the Indian Conjulate located in South Manhattan, or is there some other reason PB got this case?
UBji - I know you know this, so assuming you are not pulling our leg, let me answer the obvious...

PB is US federal Attorney for south NEW YORK (as in state of NY).. many of the states in US have only one attorney. New York is a big state, so it has 4 "districts". (Jorjiya, for example is also big, but not as big as NY so it has 3 districts, middle, north and south).. (The office for southern district of NY happens to be in Manhattan)

(After DC, probably, Southern District NY is the most politically powerful DOJ position..employing hundreds of attorneys working under PB. There are about 90 or so districts in the whole US )
Last edited by Amber G. on 06 Feb 2014 02:37, edited 1 time in total.

Amber G. wrote:Huh???

His office has prosecuted several international terrorists, and secured life sentences for many high profile ones like Faisal Shazad, the Times Square Bomber...Other name associated with PB is Khalid Shah Mahoomad ..
KSM, shezad etc don't have lobby or constituency or vested interests backing them etc. they are probably the easiest to prosecute.

How many wall street people he has gone after for the financial meltdown of 08? or is that not his office's jurisdiction?

AmberG ji: you meant Khalid sheikh Mohammed?

Gus wrote:
Amber G. wrote:Huh???

KSM, shezad etc don't have lobby or constituency or vested interests backing them etc. they are probably the easiest to prosecute.

How many wall street people he has gone after for the financial meltdown of 08? or is that not his office's jurisdiction?
About 60+

You may just check out for yourself for example:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preet_Bhar ... cial_fraud
or this Time magazine cover and stories inside..

Quite possibly the Wall Street companies are registered in Delaware and the crimes may not have been committed in s. Ny.
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

Raja Bose wrote:
I agree. Stupid Indian media making much about it. There is another idiot named Chidanand Rajghatta who writes long articles about such people.

Nadella (BTW sounds like a female version of Mexican "Nada", which means "zero/nothing" :D ) is a American, and is by no means an Indian. If he gets a CEO job at Microsoft, it should get little more than a footnote in the Indian media....unless they don't have anything else to write about.

^^^ Gus, you are on the right track. The question I ask when any colored person gets elevated to a position of administrative power is this:

What has he done to to work against the privileged folks? i.e. to do justice to the position one has to be objective, and in America being objective means to work actively against the inherent biases of the system and weaken any entrenched interests. So anyone who is swearing on oath to be objective HAS to work against the privileged. In law enforcement and courts its usually white privilege. In case of an NYC Federal DA, there are two privileges he has to go against: (1) white privilege (2) rich boys club membership privilege.

I am too lazy to pull out his stats (maybe i should), but I am willing to bet that he will not be around for too long if he challenges the above two privileges. The fact that he is called successful by a predominantly white media means he has conformed to the power structure that was there before him and has not crossed any red lines yet. I am willing to bet he will not cross them, again... without any proof.

Let's look at this closely:

From 2009 to 2012 (and ongoing), Bharara's office oversaw the Galleon Group insider trading investigation against Raj Rajaratnam, Rajat Gupta, Anil Kumar and 60+ others. Rajaratnam was convicted at trial on 14 counts related to insider trading.[23] Bharara is said to have "reaffirmed his office’s leading role in pursuing corporate crime with this landmark insider trading case, which relied on aggressive prosecutorial methods and unprecedented tactics."[24] Bharara has often spoken publicly [25] and written an op-ed about the culture surrounding corporate crime and its effect on market confidence and business risk.[26]

Bharara’s office worked together with Irving Picard, the trustee overseeing the recovery of funds from Bernard Madoff's Ponzi scheme, to secure a $7.2 billion settlement with the estate of Jeffry Picower. The amount, equivalent to the total amount Picower withdrew from his account with Madoff before the scheme collapsed, is the largest forfeiture in U.S. history.[27] The money will be used to compensate victims of Madoff’s fraud.

Almost as soon as he took office, Bharara began investigating the role of Madoff's primary banker, JPMorgan Chase, in the fraud.[28] On January 7, 2014; Bharara announced that his office and JPMorgan had reached a deferred prosecution agreement that called for JPMorgan to forfeit $1.7 billion--the largest forfeiture ever demanded from a bank in American history--to settle charges that it and its predecessors violated the Bank Secrecy Act by failing to alert authorities about Madoff's actions. Bharara said that his office had amassed evidence that JPMorgan had failed to exercise even rudimentary oversight over Madoff's banking activities. The government will use the money to help make Madoff's victims whole. Bharara's office filed a two-count criminal information charging JPMorgan with felony violations of the Bank Secrecy Act, but those charges will be dismissed in two years provided that Chase reforms its anti-money laundering procedures and cooperates with the government in its investigation. [29][30][31][32]

His office is also handling the criminal prosecutions of several employees at Madoff’s firm and their associates. The investigation remains ongoing.
The first bolded part says he has convicted sauth-asian category quite well. Not surprised by that. Second bolded part is a bold step, he went after JP Morgan, but rich boy network got the charges dismissed with some compromise. The former sauth-assians would have forced Bharara to do the same if they were insiders of rich-white-boy network, but they were not.

Also note that Madoff was a white collar thief who ended up outright stealing from the old-white-rich boy club and people heavily connected to that network. They were not going to leave him alone anyway. JPMorgan Chase was also punished indirectly by this network.

Now before someone accuses me of forgetting my tin-foil-hat let me clarify what i mean by rich-white-boy club/network. Its those people in the US who are so blinded by greed that their relationship with the public of the USofA has become nothing but predatory. This includes people who sold houses to folks who could not afford it and then sold of their loans (basically junk bonds at that time) as AAA rated MBS bonds causing the housing crash. This includes people who used an obscure law in Delaware about usury and interest to start predatory lending with high interest credit cards. Why are these people still free, while harmless victimless crime like insider trading gets you into prison?
Last edited by member_22733 on 06 Feb 2014 02:58, edited 1 time in total.

With a name like KLPD aap Nadella naam ka mazak uda rahen hain ji :lol:
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

matrimc wrote:With a name like KLPD aap Nadella is Masai uda rahen hain ji :lol:
Agar aap soch rahe hain ki KLPD mera asli naam hai, to aap hi bataiye mazaak kiska udaana chahiye sahib ? :rotfl:

Amber G. wrote:Wrt:
Shreeman wrote: [url=http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1589431]<snip> <....>[/url
Shreeman - No need for tension sirji, TINLA. :-o
Thread readers please to humor, ignore beyond topic legalese. regular programming below.

Amber G, more of the system once functioned and parts may still be functional. But the rug has been replaced without the occupants realizing it. If you are aware of the process, then you must realize that the strength of any civil trial rests on discovery. Or obvious facts. Now cultural sensitivities apart, obvious facts are absent in the cheer haran . And I dont like saying that. But no set of peers is going to see that as anything more than weird circumstances beyond the understanding of people involved, low level functionaries "doing their jobs", and nothing really untoward happenning. Sorry, but in the land of naked train riders and naked flash mobs, burka is not a basic right. That leaves you with discovery. Tthis might be a revelation, the bigger the institution the worse the truthfulness. You may think perjury is a big word, or obstruction will do blah. There is no way to force discovery. If facts actually exist. And none of this matters in practice. The people you think should be worried really wont have any insights to discover as far as I can tell in depositions either. The civil process is useless here. I am probably really incompetent, but even most obvious facts will not line up for what can at most be a large financial reward. In the worst possible scenario, they just print more money. How can fear of "law" even enter this process? Burka restricts grand revelations, but relevant information is handy elsewhere in recent discussion showing the "too big to lose" mentality. Any PACER search should provide rewards.

Matrimc ka udayen :mrgreen:

Lokeshji - It might be good if you actually read what's happening, instead of just saying anything.. which I am sure you can easily check.. Just one example..
LokeshC wrote:...

The first bolded part says he has convicted sauth-asian category quite well. Not surprised by that. Second bolded part is a bold step, he went after JP Morgan, but rich boy network got the charges dismissed <snip>
You may just check some recent headlines ... all naming Bharara's name... (Please do read them)
JPMorgan, Morgan Stanley fined $1.8 bn for concealing pre-crisis mortgage risk
Morgan Stanley has agreed to pay $1.25 billion to the US government, and JPMorgan has been fined $614 million as a penalty for concealing the full risk associated with mortgage securities.

“JPMorgan Chase put profits ahead of responsibility by recklessly churning out thousands of defective mortgage loans, failing to inform the government of known problems with those loans and leaving the government to cover the losses when the loans defaulted,” as the New York Times quotes Preet Bharara, the United States Attorney in Manhattan.
<snip>”
Or:
JPMorgan, as an institution, failed and failed miserably: Bharara

or:
J.P. Morgan to Pay $614 Million for Submitting False Mortgage Claims

These sources are Wall Street Journal etc.. and all RECENT news... so I am sure you are up-to-date...
If as you claim "rich boy network (JP MOrgan) got the charges dismissed" why all these fines?

Anyway last from me regarding this, If you are really interested you can get all this yourself.

Hope this helps.

Amber G. wrote:About 60+

I checked.

It is ZERO wall st people involved in 08 crisis.

settling by paying a mutually agreed fine is not prosecution.

how many people went to jail? zero.

Gus, it's worth asking: were there jailable offenses? Millions of us would have LIKED to see many of those go to jail, but, did anyone go to jail for, say, deciding to prop up the govt of Diem in South Vietnam? Giving false images (from 1990) as "evidence of WMD" to the SoS to present b4 the UN, leading to the invasion of Iraq? Propping up Musharraf instead of bombing the **** out of Pakistan post 9/11, leading to over 200,000 deaths in Afghanistan, and so many in India?
How many Wall Street stock speculators went to jail in 1929-30? Maybe it is just very very tough to get prosecution going against the ppl who "caused" the 2008 recession. My neighbor lost his home. I watched that happen, there was nothing I could do - he was forced out by an ARM that kept rising, rising, above 13%, he could not get refinancing, his own mortgage business, where he was finding loans to give to minority ppl, failed because those who promised to make money available just folded their wallets... and next thing u know, mortgage rates are under 3%. Where is the fairness? But how do you put powerful ppl in jail when you can't nail them on anything? These were scams developed by the most powerful law firms in the world. They don't get paid those $$$$/hr to do stupid things and leave evidence lying around. No wiretaps, nothing.

Also, what is important to people is not that some guy or gal spend some time in jail, but how to get out of debt and climb back up. For this what is needed is agreement by the banks etc to change their procedures, and pay $$$ (not that I believe that it will get to the people who need it any time soon or ever).

The "criminals" here are corporate officers. Fundamentally, what they did was to serve the interests of their corporations (which of course just happen to pay them obscene salaries and bonuses). So again, it is important to get these mindless, conscienceless corporate entities to change their procedures in how they deal with their millions of customers. Putting the officers in jail and bringing down the entire corporation, does nothing except in Khmer Rouge or Maoist culture, hain?

So these "settlements" may be the best that anyone can get done, and maybe PB has been very persistent, and keeps forcing more settlements. I don't like this answer either, but maybe that is the truth? How many London bankers are in jail? Irish? Icelandic? French? Spanish? Cypriot? Even Greek? Those countries were actually driven down to ruin, hey? Why don't we call their prosecutors all incompetent, sold-out? Could it be because PB is desi????
Last edited by UlanBatori on 06 Feb 2014 06:04, edited 1 time in total.

Just to re-iterate what others have said, and what I have said before, I could care 2 hoots whether this Nadella guy wants to hide his Indian ethnicity or tout it, what matters is the stupid DDM going berserk, and the impression it gives whites. It is precisely this craving for white attention that has an adverse impact on US India relations that honchos like Strobe Talbott can make an outrageous, racist, condescending assertion that if India did this, this, and that post Pokhran-II, India will be "rewarded" with a US Presidential visit. Or the disgusting child-like lollipop that Bush and Co threw at India that they will make India a "super power" after making TSP a MUNNA post 9/11 ignoring its terrorism against India.

UBji and Amberji,

I am not arguing against PB because he is desi. I am saying no US prosecutor has really succeeded against the entrenched power structure. Generally to get to such places, conformance to existing power structures are a must. PB is no different... which was the point I was trying to make.

EDIT: The key point being: conformance. This is an area with a lot of invisible red lines. Its like a mine-field to navigate. PB has been successful in it, but that only means he knows where the red lines are and has respected them so far. This usually goes against the oath of being "objective" in implementation of law.

Generalization below:
Another issue with a colored officer in the position of power is the issue of being aware of ones ethnicity and the resulting "othering" phenomenon happening with the larger society. They become hyperaware of the consequences if they step out of bounds of what is expected of them. So in order to prove themselves, they will usually be strictly conformist and would punish one of "their own" more harshly than anyone else to send a message that they belong with the larger society and not with the "othered" ethnicity. This is when one approaches MUTU boundary.
Last edited by member_22733 on 06 Feb 2014 04:32, edited 1 time in total.

LokeshCJi,

you are absolutely right. AmberJi can pull a link here and there to show PB's so called going after Wall St, but remember the financial meltdown in 2008 was colossal. How many big-wig honcho thieves has PB gone after?

UlanBatori wrote:Gus, it's worth asking: ...Could it be because PB is desi????
no. i am not unfair on PB. it is only fair to question the claim "he's tough on high profile criminal".

high profile maybe, but still patsies not tied to the entrenched power structure.

Gus wrote:
Amber G. wrote:About 60+

I checked.

It is ZERO wall st people involved in 08 crisis.

settling by paying a mutually agreed fine is not prosecution.

how many people went to jail? zero.
Whatever you say boss.. why let the facts interfere with the narrative...

I think 77+ (from the last count by Fortune Magizne) wall st people is NOT Zero.. :roll:
(This is just the number of people CONVICTED for inside trading, per Fortune magazine)

Right - setting a "mutually agreed fine" is not prosecution, JPM out of its own good heart agreed to that fine.. PB's office has nothing to do with it... wonder how all those news outlets were fooled? :roll:
(BTW, JPMorgan's $1.7 billion- is the largest forfeiture ever demanded from a bank in American history--to settle the charges)

Guess..insider trading is not to be counted as involved in wall street crimes.. :roll:

And how about Michael Steinberg (of SAC).. whose conviction was the top news (till DK obscured it).. ..wonder why did he fainted after guilty verdict was read if he is not going to go to jail..(for something like 20+ years or so) ??? :roll:

(Of course, # people in jail for other crimes (eg organized crime, terror etc), sent by PB's office, is quite remarkable according to most of the people who keep such records... The number is certainly not zero) :roll:

so, that's still zero wall st people for 08 financial meltdown.
member_28434

Post by member_28434 »

@Amber G

You are mistaken.

1. Michael Steinberg, like Martoma, was relatively minor.

The real bad guy at SAC was its chief, Steve Cohen, who wasn't even charged. Fines are small change to huge hedge-funds, which have raked in multiple billions over the years.

2. Insider trading itself was marginal to the main crimes behind the financial collapse. And many economists do not consider it a crime. The SEC itself has gone back and forth about it.

Meanwhile, what happened to Weill, Rubin, Paulson, Dimon, Blankfein, Cohn and many many others?

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/14/busin ... d=all&_r=0

3. Gupta was a patsy and Bharara's conduct in that case was unprofessional and unscrupulous.
Blankfein, Cohn and others' misdeeds were ignored.

http://www.canadianhedgewatch.com/conte ... l/?id=6817
http://nymag.com/news/business/wallstre ... ndex2.html
http://www.salon.com/2012/02/08/preet_b ... ll_street/

Firstpost had a good piece also.

Also check http://www.mindbodypolitic. Google Rajat Gupta and read the details of the trial.

4. Bharara in other cases is known to be a BO stooge and not competent.

http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/2630421/posts

"The investigation is being led by Obama's stooge U.S. attorney Preet Bharara who bungled the Ahmed Khalfan Ghailani embassy bombing trial in NYC. He is also the U.S. attorney that Obama assigned to "try" KSM in NYC."

Faisal is a patsy (warning - "conspiracy theorists" below - but they link to your so-reputable major media, so they aren't making this stuff up. You can double check the facts yourself.

http://forum.prisonplanet.com/index.php?topic=169411.80

Go read the details of the trial.

Read other sources besides wikipedia. Read the anti-state or libertarian writers on what has happened in Federal prosecutions and the kinds of corruption that is prevalent.

5. Time magazine is an establishment propaganda tool, like Pravda for the USSR. Appearance on the cover is enough proof that Bharara is a stooge for the elite crowd.

Think how they gave Obama a Nobel Peace Prize before he did anything and then he started using drones. The Peace Prize was a way to deflect criticism and elevate him in advance.

Same thing here.

6. Please research Operation Mockingbird, supposedly discontinued, actually active, about CIA control of major and minor media. Alex Constantine has a good blog about mind-control (far left in political orientation; quite informative and credible).

Check out the book, "White-Out" about media propaganda.

See also -

http://carlbernstein.com/magazine_cia_and_media.php
There are many other books on the subject.

Whatever is in the major media is carefully framed. Omission, emphasis, distortion - these are the key techniques.

Even these sources are mainstream sources and are themselves full of propaganda/disinfo.
So if they too concur that Bharara is not doing the job, the truth has got to be worse.

My research has shown me he is a designated "fixer."

You must really research the subject, not just accept what some major media outlet says.
All the Western outlets are owned by just 6 or so companies, and they are known to each other.
Pulling strings and creating propaganda is as easy as pie for them.
Last edited by member_28434 on 06 Feb 2014 06:26, edited 1 time in total.
member_28434

Post by member_28434 »

@Amber G

Re, Bank of America.
Someone must be thrown to the wolves, right?
What's happening is more like interbank cannibalism, with Bharara using the tool of the law to selectively enforce it against political targets.
That is why Dinesh D'Souza went down.
It is very naive to take all this at face-value.
Last edited by member_28434 on 06 Feb 2014 06:23, edited 1 time in total.
member_28380

Post by member_28380 »

CRamS wrote:LokeshCJi,

you are absolutely right. AmberJi can pull a link here and there to show PB's so called going after Wall St, but remember the financial meltdown in 2008 was colossal. How many big-wig honcho thieves has PB gone after?
Very true. PB is a publicity whore, a cheap shot. Just picking (mostly) low hanging fruits for publicity. And theatrical grand standing to get media attention every time. Insider trading is bad, but criminal bankers who committed much much bigger crimes have not been touched.

http://washingtonexaminer.com/indian-bo ... le/2542343

Many of his other actions are viewed as hypocritical.

http://reason.com/blog/2013/12/03/think ... ould-accom

The case against Dinesh D'Souza is also outrageous...very politically motivated, vindictive prosecution. Payback for his anti-Obama movie. His prosecution of DD should dispel any notion PB is some sort of high-minded individual. It is irrelevant what one thinks of DD being a christian fundamentalist.
member_28380

Post by member_28380 »

http://www.bizpacreview.com/2014/01/30/ ... r-up-97538

Famed liberal Harvard Law School professor Alan Dershowitz joined other legal experts in slamming the Obama administration for targeting conservative filmmaker Dinesh D’Souza for campaign finance law violations.

“This is clearly a case of selective prosecution for one of the most common things done during elections, which is to get people to raise money for you,” Dershowitz told Newsmax. “If they went after everyone who did this, there would be no room in jails for murderers.”
member_28380

Post by member_28380 »

Krittika wrote:@Amber G

Re, Bank of America.
Some must be thrown to the wolves, right?
It is more like interbank cannibalism, with Bharara using the tool of the law to selectively enforce it against political targets.
That is why Dinesh D'Souza went down.
It is very naive to take all this at face-value.

One of the commenters below the news item on DD's arrest in WSJ said it the best:

You would think this type of thing happens in the third world. Not in the US.
member_28434

Post by member_28434 »

Ulan Bator says
How many London bankers are in jail? Irish? Icelandic? French? Spanish? Cypriot? Even Greek? Those countries were actually driven down to ruin, hey? Why don't we call their prosecutors all incompetent, sold-out? Could it be because PB is desi????

No. It is because Bharara was put on Time magazine cover, as proof that the US is about law and justice and will fix the criminals in their system, unlike third-world banana republics.

The French, Spanish, Cypriots etc are not trying to be global sheriffs and they are not running 24.7 propaganda about their superior justice systems.

The US is.

Plus, the establishment media is using the fact that PB is desi to the full hilt to force desi idiots to swallow what he does to them as pure unadulterated US justice.

The whole thing is a charade.

That's why to call PB out is perfectly correct.

There are plenty of other desi lawyers in the US, so we don't need to get our desi hackles up when the mascot of the establishment is exposed as a tool.

There are other desis who are much better lawyers than PB. But because he is praised in the Western media, are we supposed to now feel very flattered and accept him as somehow irreproachably pure in his intentions?

I think not.
member_28434

Post by member_28434 »

Anyway, from his lifestyle, Bharara doesn't seem very desi. He himself said he had several marriage ceremonies - Hindu, Sikh, and Jewish, and the Jewish ceremony was the most important.
It shows he doesn't identify with Indian culture predominantly.
He was born in the US, is intermarried with Americans and that's fine.

What's not fine is that actual Indians still consider him as someone whom they should defend at all costs, just because of his ethnic origin.
Last edited by member_28434 on 06 Feb 2014 06:12, edited 1 time in total.
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

Krittika wrote: 4. Bharara in other cases is known to be a BO stooge and not competent.
Think how they gave Obama a Nobel Peace Prize before he did anything and then he started using drones. The Peace Prize was a way to deflect criticism and elevate him in advance.
Ombaba is a totally incompetent, leftist, socialist, freebie/freeloader/huckster who reminds me of similar Africans like Nkrumah and Kenyatta who put their countries firmly on a downhill spiral. Now Ombaba has for some reason a penchant for appointing poorly-chosen Americans of Indian origin to important positions in the government. I often see Africans/blacks in USA gravitate towards Indians due to some kind of expectation/feeling of "brotherhood"....maybe Ombaba has the same mentality.

He appointed one Arun Majumdar as director of ARPA-E. Majumdar is an excellent academic but totally failed to create any impact of ARPA-E, which is now just a sink for public money to fund boondoggle research projects with no returns on the horizon.

Ombaba appointed one Subra Suresh as director of NSF. Again a good academic but failed to have any impact at NSF. Trotted out some new programs with fancy acronyms but delivered no measurable value except false "job creation" numbers from federal handouts.

One Hollywood buffoon named Kalpen Modi (yes, the "Harold and Kumar" guy) was appointed as a public engagement director in white house. :lol: Less said about this guy the better.

Another chap named Rajiv Shah was made head of USAID, which is little more than a CIA front organization to interfere in the policies of foreign countries.

Of course, he is also associated with Preet Bharara, about whom much has been written already here.

Basically, all the above "Indian-origin" guys have become mixed up with Ombaba's socialist world-domination dream. Instead of wasting their time falling into Ombaba's company they could have come to India like Raghuram Rajan and done some real work. The Indian media needs to stop treating these guys (and also some of the Indian-origin poltoos like Bobby Gaw'bless Jindal and Redneck Kaur Haley) as some kind of Indian success stories. These ex-Indian people have basically been taken for a ride either by American socialists or rednecks (not hard to do since Indians are all too ready to fall for this kind of stuff), and these people have no identification with Indian values or civilization.

^^^^ Re. above, the best test of a man is an actual task. You want to find out who he is, find a constituent and get his office somethung to do. Easy-peasy. 2 cents. ianal, dont quote this one.

Well.. great discussion, lots of facts and logic, thanks.
The French, Spanish, Cypriots etc are not trying to be global sheriffs and they are not running 24.7 propaganda about their superior justice systems. The US is. Plus, the establishment media is using the fact that PB is desi to the full hilt to force desi idiots to swallow what he does to them as pure unadulterated US justice. The whole thing is a charade. That's why to call PB out is perfectly correct.
Er.. but none of that is PB's fault, is it? All he does is, when the authorites say:
Bite, Preet, Bite!!
He goes after the person pointed out, with all the thoughtfulness of a dobermann. Now you are blasting him for not biting enough bankers etc. He goes after postmen and weak turd-worlders and working mothers, because they are easier to catch than the BMWs and the coyotes.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 06 Feb 2014 06:16, edited 1 time in total.

Wrt Rajat Gupta when that issue was in the news. In this forum too there were discussions. There were a bunch of opinion pieces in Indian MSM ... in all conclusion was on the lines of he being made an example of after being the seat warmer at GSachs during the rougher phase of Financial crisis.

Through such showtrials by "crusader of Justice" the one and only DA PBman, the action herrow (hollywood will be in a decade churning sequels after sequels on his exploits - PBman 1, PBman 2 etc :lol: ) the real culprits were allowed to resume the usual business , dissipating public anger against those who caused the Financial crisis through stunts like occupy wallstreet.

Even on this DK issue I posted below recently on Rajat Gupta et al
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1565081

Amber G ji,
Falling for gimmicks like Time mag cover and google doodles ... seriously ?
member_28434

Post by member_28434 »

@Ulan Bator

Er.. but none of that is PB's fault, is it? All he does is, when the authorites say:
Nobody said it was his fault. I referred to them, because you referenced them.