Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

kapilrdave

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Post by kapilrdave »

This insect told me that all new joinees of AAP in UP and UK are closet bjp. They will act accordingly when time comes. Also, all 5 UK seats are in the bag.

All these surveys which are predicting wins for the AAP outside of NCR and surrounding regions don't seem to specify exactly which seats they are expecting to win. Without this info the surveys don't seem credible. Yes, they will get some votes, probably enough to affect the result in in close fights. But winning an LS seat, with lakhs of voters is completely a different matter. Is there really such strong support in places like Bangalore and Mumbai? Also will fielding former deposit-loser-contestants like Meera Sanyal and Capt. Gopinath really pump their performance enough to get them across the finish line?

captain to go with congress

^^Good riddance to captain and his dramas. Anyway his voteshare falls with each poll. Seems his voters are fickle, so maybe they can be wooed away just as well.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Ok, so summary so far, remove one seat in B'lore, all 3 BJP contested seats in Mumbai, Trivandrum and Dehradun from the list of danger seats. Will do it shortly.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

BJP to announce 30 UP candidates soon

Lucknow, Feb 11 - The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has "almost finalised" names of 30 candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, a senior party leader said here Tuesday.

The names, which have been cleared by the party's national parliamentary board after due deliberations with the state unit, are likely to be announced by the end of February.

The first list of candidates includes names of BJP general secretary Varun Gandhi, former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kalyan Singh (Etah), Ramakant Yadav (Azamgarh), Hukum Singh (Kairana), Sanjeev Baliyan (Muzaffarnagar), Dharmendra Kashyap (Aonla), Rajendra Agarwal (Meerut) and Ram Shankar Katheria from Agra.

Varun Gandhi is likely to contest from the Sultanpur parliamentary constituency. He is currently an MP from Pilibhit. Gandhi is kicking off his campaign with a rally in Sultanpur Tuesday. Sources say that after finalising the list of the 30 candidates, the party has now set eyes on the remaining 50 seats.

"There is no confusion and winnability is a likelihood on these 30 seats. Now the focus will be on seats where we have fair chances of success and the last lists would be the tough ones," a senior BJP leader said. The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) is also closely monitoring the selection of candidates this time.

RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat has called a meeting of all zonal in-charges of the RSS at Varanasi Feb 15. The BJP has 10 MPs in the state in the outgoing Lok Sabha. The party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi's close aide Amit Shah has been appointed the in-charge of the party affairs in the state with an aim to win as many as 40 seats in Uttar Pradesh. IANS

http://www.lensonnews.com/lensonnews/1/ ... -soon.html

Any comments on the above names that are likely to contest, looks good to me with most of them likely to pull off a victory

muraliravi wrote:Ok, so summary so far, remove one seat in B'lore, all 3 BJP contested seats in Mumbai, Trivandrum and Dehradun from the list of danger seats. Will do it shortly.
You can also remove the Mangalore seat, MuraliRavi-ji.

6 congi mp from Andhra have been expelled.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

nageshks wrote:
muraliravi wrote:Ok, so summary so far, remove one seat in B'lore, all 3 BJP contested seats in Mumbai, Trivandrum and Dehradun from the list of danger seats. Will do it shortly.
You can also remove the Mangalore seat, MuraliRavi-ji.
Sure, Will do sir.

KKIndia ‏@KKIndia2020 48m

@chinmaykrvd @prasannavishy Sirs 2 Observations on all Local TN Media polls - BJP replacing DMK as main Oppn, Othrs(Dmdk,mdmk,pmk) lost grnd
KKIndia ‏@KKIndia2020 54m

@chinmaykrvd @prasannavishy PT TV Opinion Poll North TN 17% Prefer BJP getting 1 Seat
Two interesting tweets by KKIndia, based on several TV surveys by local Tamil channels. Also, all these are BJP only surveys. You can add MDMK (marginal in North TN), PMK (substantial in north TN) and IJK (not sure what they have in north TN) to this figure.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

5forty3 (aka praveen patil) is in Jharkhand doing the field survey (he just recently published Karnataka results Cong-BJP: 14-12)

He recently had a preamble post on Jharkhand (the guy is a good writer, I must say) describing the state, caste groups and electoral history and how important it is for Modi to win here.

He just tweeted yesterday: Nothing prepares you for the kind of support and hope that Namo evokes in godforsaken states like Jharkhand..still shaken!

Waiting for his results, looks like he will confirm the 12/14 sweep for BJP there
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Ok, so based on everyone's input removed certain seats and moved Mumbai to low risk side

here is the updated sheet with seats where AAP can damage BJP by cutting its votes (seats in red are the ones with high danger)

Except Delhi, Haryana, AAP will get below 5 seats.

But it will get 4 crore votes over above Haryana and Delhi, out of total 60 crore polled votes (total voters = 80 crore, and this time % voting is likely to be 75%)

Lets see whose votes they cut more.

IMO, they will now focus on middle class voters. Lower class will NOT vote because of water/electricity mess they created. But anti-corruption middle class will get swayed to "FIR on Mukeshbhai" type stunts, and the FACT that BJP-leaders are indeed pro-corruption.

The anti-corruption votes are gone from BJP. And they are NOT coming back to BJP now. So if nationalists want to reduce the long term damage to India, they should start working on creating pro-India anti-corruption movement. And most BJP-leaders' role in this movement should be zero from day to day end. BJP-leaders dont fit in anti-corruption jacket. If true anti-corruption laws come today, the best they will get is simple imprisonment of 6 months for being less corrupt. And so BJP-leaders will always oppose true anti-corruption laws.

muraliravi wrote:Ok, so based on everyone's input removed certain seats and moved Mumbai to low risk side

here is the updated sheet with seats where AAP can damage BJP by cutting its votes (seats in red are the ones with high danger)

Murali ji, You can remove Lucknow, Kanpur and probably Meerut too from the red list. Both Lucknow and Kanpur should be taken by BJP. As far as Meerut is concerned both BJP as well as BSP have a chance. Also Jamshedpur will be taken by Dr. Ajay Kumar (JVM ; Marandi's party). BJP/AAP/INC etc are not even in race here.

^^^mayrut from latest report
basapa=28% votes, sapa=26% votes
bhajapa=30% rest is between aap rld congress
with congress slated at 5-8% onree

BJP needs to do something that reduces the vote share of both BSP / SP.
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

Why is Pune consistently on that list? Do folks seriously think that AAP will win despite a strong base of NCP/CON on one side, BJP/Sena/RPI on the other hand, with MNS as the turd front (Remember Arun Bhatia types....)? IMHO Pune should be out of that list.

niran wrote:^^^mayrut from latest report
Sapa still gets 28% voteshare?

Guess we deserve the rulers we get!
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

niran wrote:^^^mayrut from latest report
Niran ji,

That is bad isnt it? I mean last time it was BJP 32, SP-25, BSP-25 and Cong 8%. So has nothing changed, in fact SP gains 3% and BJP loses 2% vote?

Whats going on sir
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

saumitra_j wrote:Why is Pune consistently on that list? Do folks seriously think that AAP will win despite a strong base of NCP/CON on one side, BJP/Sena/RPI on the other hand, with MNS as the turd front (Remember Arun Bhatia types....)? IMHO Pune should be out of that list.
Sir, the list is not those seats that AAP can win, the list is of those seats where AAP can cut BJP vote to make cong/upa win. If you still feel strongly that AAP cannot do any damage to BJP whatsoever ( or if BJP is anyway going to lose that seat AAP or no AAP), then please elucidate and I will remove it (your opinions are weighted more since you live in pune)

muraliravi wrote:
saumitra_j wrote:Why is Pune consistently on that list? Do folks seriously think that AAP will win despite a strong base of NCP/CON on one side, BJP/Sena/RPI on the other hand, with MNS as the turd front (Remember Arun Bhatia types....)? IMHO Pune should be out of that list.
Sir, the list is not those seats that AAP can win, the list is of those seats where AAP can cut BJP vote to make cong/upa win. If you still feel strongly that AAP cannot do any damage to BJP whatsoever ( or if BJP is anyway going to lose that seat AAP or no AAP), then please elucidate and I will remove it (your opinions are weighted more since you live in pune)
I feel, there is a significant amount of Non-Marathi middle class population in Pune, and they do not identify themselves with either MNS,SS,NCP. So for a lot of them, it IS an alternative, which is secular, speaks their language i.e. Hindi/English. Now I do not know whether they would have for BJP in absence of AAP in 2014, but most likely they did not even vote in 2009, but might vote and vote AAP since they are sick, tired and outraged at the State and Central government. Especially the not-core-Pune (in the eyes of Peth-resident-Punekars) - Aundhs, Wakads, etc.
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

Sir, Pune's voter base is different from Mumbai - unlike Mumbai, native Maharashtrians are still a majority despite the IT and other industry related migrations for the last few years. P eople who have made Pune their home in last 10 years come from all across the country so their voting patterns are not yet known. However, given that they are traditional IT Vity types who believe in growth and have most to lose in case of bad economy, I reckon that they would be natural NaMo supporters although some could still be AAP types given the appallingly low knowledge of issues facing the country.

In my observation, there are a few voting blocks based on religion/caste:
1. Brahmins and other "upper castes" traditionally vote for the BJP, especially those from the core city. Some of them even vote for the Hindu Mahasabha (Himani Sawarkar and gang...). In 2004, some even voted for the BSP as the candidate was the famous Brahmin builder D S Kulkarni.
2. Marathas traditionally vote for the NCP, given Sharad Pawar/Ajit Pawar having major influence in areas around Pune, especially Pimpri Chinchwad.
3. Non Maratha/OBC communities have been strong Shiv Sena/MNS supporters, albeit their votes get shared between the main parties as well.
4. Then you have the Dalits who would normally vote RPI or BSP
5. You also have the NAXal types, revolutionary type college kids - but a very small number and do not matter much electorally.
6. Finally you have the Muslims/Christians who traditionally vote CONgress.
Given this background, I find it hard to understand which of these voting blocks will the AAP tap. Given that Pune is no where like Delhi, middle class is hardly going to vote for AAP. Besides, Punekars are naturally skeptical about anything that gets described as the next best thing after the sliced bread (which is what AAPTards would like to call themselves), there is a lot of skepticism about AAP anyway. So the only people who would vote for the AAP are the Naxal types and the Muslims/Christians (provided they get a good candidate (Arun Bhatia types)....these folks would have never voted for BJP anyway. IMHO, the three biggest issues for the BJP would be: Getting a credible candidate, MNS cutting votes and most importantly a low voter turnout (in this respect, Pune is like Delhi) . AAP does not count in my opinion.
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

prahaar wrote: I feel, there is a significant amount of Non-Marathi middle class population in Pune, and they do not identify themselves with either MNS,SS,NCP. So for a lot of them, it IS an alternative, which is secular, speaks their language i.e. Hindi/English. Now I do not know whether they would have for BJP in absence of AAP in 2014, but most likely they did not even vote in 2009, but might vote and vote AAP since they are sick, tired and outraged at the State and Central government. Especially the not-core-Pune (in the eyes of Peth-resident-Punekars) - Aundhs, Wakads, etc.
Sir, like I explained, these are the IT Vity types or labour from UP/Bihar. I really do not think AAP will get much traction here. Besides that, Aundh/Wakad/ Pimpri Chinchwad areas are a direct fight between BJP/SS/RPI v/s NCP/CONgress with MNS having the potential to upset the calculations. IMHO, Pune, despite the IT/Vity stuff is still quite traditional unlike say Bangalore/South Mumbai where I find folks to be very westernized and willing to drink the AAP Koolaid
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

saumitra_j wrote:
prahaar wrote: I feel, there is a significant amount of Non-Marathi middle class population in Pune, and they do not identify themselves with either MNS,SS,NCP. So for a lot of them, it IS an alternative, which is secular, speaks their language i.e. Hindi/English. Now I do not know whether they would have for BJP in absence of AAP in 2014, but most likely they did not even vote in 2009, but might vote and vote AAP since they are sick, tired and outraged at the State and Central government. Especially the not-core-Pune (in the eyes of Peth-resident-Punekars) - Aundhs, Wakads, etc.
Sir, like I explained, these are the IT Vity types or labour from UP/Bihar. I really do not think AAP will get much traction here. Besides that, Aundh/Wakad/ Pimpri Chinchwad areas are a direct fight between BJP/SS/RPI v/s NCP/CONgress with MNS having the potential to upset the calculations. IMHO, Pune, despite the IT/Vity stuff is still quite traditional unlike say Bangalore/South Mumbai where I find folks to be very westernized and willing to drink the AAP Koolaid
Thank you for a detailed explanation. I will update the chart. The last news from sunday guardian was that MNS will not fight lok sabha elections. That was contradicted 4 days by a report in ET which said that they will put up candidates in 20 seats. My guess is that even if they were to put up candidates they will only do that in seats where SS is fighting and not where BJP contests (grape vine is that he has a deal with Modi). So who knows what will happen.

as per the fly on my wall, girish bapat will get ticket from pune, although anil shirole and prakash javdekar are trying hard. difficult for javdekar .poor guy was passed over for rajyasabha as well - his seat given to ramdas athavale. Pune will come to NDA this time. Kalmadi has screwed the name of congress enough. pimpri chinchvad comes in maval constituency. this one is funny because half of it is konkan and half of it is on desh. the konkan region votes saffron, while desh region votes NCP. shirur too will turn saffron. no one needs a astrologer to tell which way baramati will vote.. Although I am curious to see the effect of raju shetty in baramati.
prahaar wrote:I feel, there is a significant amount of Non-Marathi middle class population in Pune, and they do not identify themselves with either MNS,SS,NCP. So for a lot of them, it IS an alternative, which is secular, speaks their language i.e. Hindi/English. Now I do not know whether they would have for BJP in absence of AAP in 2014, but most likely they did not even vote in 2009, but might vote and vote AAP since they are sick, tired and outraged at the State and Central government. Especially the not-core-Pune (in the eyes of Peth-resident-Punekars) - Aundhs, Wakads, etc.
fear naat saar. I don't know bhy joo fiyar about aundh and wakads.. there are more sekoolars in camp and koregaon park. :P and in any case, for every wakad, there is a kothrud.. :D the core pune guys, especially ones form shanivar and sadashiv are major pain in mush, if you know what I mean. :D although, they will straighten up and vote lotus this time.

Mumbai will turn magnificently saffron this time (of course that does not mean all seats will go to lotus, but much better performance than last time - they will win back their traditional citadels which they lost in 2004 and 09). MNS drama not much a hit among mumbaikars todin. although media an khangress going extra mile to boost image of RT. It only means that whatever negotiations were on between NDA and MNS - they are over. MNS will help INC by cutting votes. Although I am not sure this time they can affect them that much. Except south bombay and bandra, rest 4 will return lotus/bow-arrow onlee. south bombay is speshiaal pilace bhere high and mighty of country live. if MNS does not play a factor here like it played last time, even south mumbai will come to NDA. bandra belongs to sekoolars with population nicely distributed between muslims, christians and yuppy yindus and proud yindus. except for pround yindus (who's vote was split last time), rest three have been voting for sunil dutt. now perhaps baba siddiqui will get congress ticket and win. if proud yindu/marathi vote does not split, then it will be fun.

I'm seeing a lot of chatter that in

1) In Tamil Nadu, an alliance of DMK, Congress, DMDK is forming.

DMK-16, Congress-9, DMDK-11, VCK, IUML, MMK, PK-1 each

2) BJP is coming in various regions of TN as stronger than DMK in the polls

It is possible, BJP could make this election between AIADMK+ vs BJP+, and push DMK+ to the margins.

Maybe it is morbid, but a lot of people in TN have been waiting for Dr. Artiste to - shall we say - move on. But I say it would be much sweeter for the Artiste to live to see the day when the DMK gets marginalized by the BJP. May he live to be a hundred in that case.

RajeshA wrote:I'm seeing a lot of chatter that in

It is possible, BJP could make this election between AIADMK+ vs BJP+, and push DMK+ to the margins.
It gave Karnataka last year. It is giving AP this month. Good if it wants to give TN also to INC.

gapten is going to dilli to visit MMS. rumors are strong that he will announce alliance.

stupid gapten. he's going to get a lot of money but if there is a modi wave, it will dump dmdk to below deposit levels and the party will decelerate faster than current rate.

Gus wrote:gapten is going to dilli to visit MMS. rumors are strong that he will announce alliance.

stupid gapten. he's going to get a lot of money but if there is a modi wave, it will dump dmdk to below deposit levels and the party will decelerate faster than current rate.
Gapten was most probably tunn from daaru the whole last year and missed out on the change in national mood and other political developments.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

ShyamSP wrote:
RajeshA wrote:I'm seeing a lot of chatter that in

It gave Karnataka last year. It is giving AP this month. Good if it wants to give TN also to INC.
Of your 3 allegations, only KA has any merit. In AP they are doing their best, they felt that giving telengana would be a good strategy for them to grow there, now of course they understand that if they help congis pass the bill, it will only help congis electorally, so they are trying their best to wriggle out. But in any event as long as TRS does not merge with congis, congis can hope only for 5-6 seats at best on their account even if T is given, to me thats no big deal at all. BJP can get TRS after elections. In TN your accusations have no ground at all. Just becos jaya has to win BJP cant abstain from contesting. If anything let her come for alliance with BJP. BJP has nothing to lose here. Congress will not win more than 1-2 seats in TN even if they move heaven. BJP can deal with all the other parties their after elections for post poll alliance, no big deal at all.

muraliravi wrote:Niran
That is bad isnt it? I mean last time it was BJP 32, SP-25, BSP-25 and Cong 8%. So has nothing changed, in fact SP gains 3% and BJP loses 2% vote?

Whats going on?
there edited out the mijtiks no ji or sir for me, me is a nobody unlike the Rishi and Muni over here.
to answer the question, tis a work in progress, two main reasons for the slow progress,
-Bhajapa cadres in Mayrut in fact all western UP have been slack and lazy this despite all the whacking from team Amit shah
-this time around Jat Neta Teakait janab has kept his options to his chest, Muslims(majority in 9 seats) are with AAp(ain't a typo) and MSY so called dayleets are with behenji (notice the khujli on NaMo's me too Dayleet in Kerala)
fikar not, Saar, tis a work in progress mohalla by mohalla booth by booth Bhajapa is working, Mahadev willing at least 9 out of 14 shall be in kitty.

niran wrote: Muslims(majority in 9 seats) are with AAp(ain't a typo) and MSY so called dayleets are with behenji (notice the khujli on NaMo's me too Dayleet in Kerala)
fikar not, Saar, tis a work in progress mohalla by mohalla booth by booth Bhajapa is working, Mahadev willing at least 9 out of 14 shall be in kitty.
Niran-ji,
Which 9 seats are Muslims majority in? I mean - they have more than 50% of the voters only in Rampur, I think, with Bijnor, Nagina, and Moradabad having Muslims in 40%s. Muzaffarnagar, Kairana, Saharanpur, Amroha, Bareilly, and Aonla have Muslims in 30%s, I should say. Maybe even places like Pilibhit, Balrampur and Bahraich. But are there 9 seats where Muslims are majority in? Or am I misunderstanding something in your post?

When you say Muslims are with AAP, do you mean leaders like Shafiq-ur-Rahman Barq, and Saleem Iqbal Sherwani?

Also, if you have any information, can you post what is happening in Budaun? This is an SP-BSP stronghold, which the BJP has never won, but I heard some strange things about it. Would be grateful to hear your input.

By the way, do you know if Santosh Kumar Gangwar is contesting from Bareilly?

Gus wrote:gapten is going to dilli to visit MMS. rumors are strong that he will announce alliance.

I don't think he is stupid. He knows that the party is going down the drain, and he has no chance of comebacks. So, why not make one last killing and keep most of the money?
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

nageshks wrote:
niran wrote: Muslims(majority in 9 seats) are with AAp(ain't a typo) and MSY so called dayleets are with behenji (notice the khujli on NaMo's me too Dayleet in Kerala)
Niran-ji,
Which 9 seats are Muslims majority in? I mean - they have more than 50% of the voters only in Rampur, I think, with Bijnor, Nagina, and Moradabad having Muslims in 40%s. Muzaffarnagar, Kairana, Saharanpur, Amroha, Bareilly, and Aonla have Muslims in 30%s, I should say. Maybe even places like Pilibhit, Balrampur and Bahraich. But are there 9 seats where Muslims are majority in? Or am I misunderstanding something in your post?

When you say Muslims are with AAP, do you mean leaders like Shafiq-ur-Rahman Barq, and Saleem Iqbal Sherwani?

Also, if you have any information, can you post what is happening in Budaun? This is an SP-BSP stronghold, which the BJP has never won, but I heard some strange things about it. Would be grateful to hear your input.

By the way, do you know if Santosh Kumar Gangwar is contesting from Bareilly?
yah, i think they are above 40% in rampur, moradabad and bijnor.

JP Nagar, sahranpur, muzzafarnagar, balrampur, bahraich, bareily and meerut are all between 30-40%. All other UP seats they are below 30%. what i am referring to is districts, not ls seats, but usually pretty close.

But you know much better than us the seat reorg that happened 6 years back and maybe con-sp colluded to create new seats which are deliberately M maj. by joining specific areas into a LS seat, please educate.

muraliravi wrote: yah, i think they are above 40% in rampur, moradabad and bijnor.

JP Nagar, sahranpur, muzzafarnagar, balrampur, bahraich, bareily and meerut are all between 30-40%. All other UP seats they are below 30%. what i am referring to is districts, not ls seats, but usually pretty close.

But you know much better than us the seat reorg that happened 6 years back and maybe con-sp colluded to create new seats which are deliberately M maj. by joining specific areas into a LS seat, please educate.
MuraliRavi-ji,
AFAIK, there are no LS seats in UP, Rampur apart, that have more than 50% Muslims. Even Rampur is borderline (estimates range from 48% to 53%).

Rampur Amroha modinagar(town center jats rest Muslims) deoband (97% Muslim) saharanpur( 60%) mayroot
(50%) the figures are from data collected by cadres not national census's and it is not that simple in mayroot
there 965 practicing vakeels who are musalman but they stanchly support NaMo the SME owners who needs bijjili most for their rojiroti support sapa(don't ask me why) the lowest order labor support NaMo ladies are equally divided into NaMo and behenji camp, yeah! There is no logic to this, then again who said this duniya is
logical hain ?

Meanwhile some congress mp has sprayed insecticide onto the faces of mpies 3 are hospitalized

niran wrote:Meanwhile some congress mp has sprayed insecticide onto the faces of mpies 3 are hospitalized
But media is reporting "pepper spray"

Pepper spray it is, sarry for the mijtik