India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Ashley Tullis telling Aziz Haniffa, a known US sympathizer that India over-reacted to the Devyani case, and shouldn't have applied reciprocity to US diplomutts...

India-US relations: 'The rupture is certainly real and quite tragic'

I have followed Aziz's reports on rediff from US and invariably it is always pro-US. And he fails to ask hard questions and leads Ashley on to what he wants said.

There is problem with Indian Muslim reporters excepting MJ Akbar, they seek out viewpoints to tar the majority in India.

BTW Ashley Tellis should stuff his nonsense.

Eg.
'The Khobragade affair has left bruised personal feelings on both sides.'

'The manner in which the younger cohort in the Indian Foreign Service was able to drive New Delhi's policy response to this problem -- as if India's national interest did not matter -- was simply startling.'

'Never before have I seen a diplomatic crisis in US-Indian relations, or for that matter a crisis involving India and any other country, driven by bureaucratic trade unionism, where the political leadership was simply missing in action.'
What about the US side using the BDS hooks to get DK raped in cusotdy and glibly stating they were following 'SOP" and later denying it realising the import of it?

And maybe the senior cadre has kowtowed too much to the US eg Nirupama Rao pursuing hher BRown Uty tenure to ignore the DK warning signals.

US relations with India went downhill when candidate Obama called Hillary Clinton D-Punjab and went on acruade on outsorucing even when its benefitting the US corporates. It foreshadowed the things to come.
Next was his speech at Beijing anointing them as masters of Asia!

So spare us the nonsense of equal=eqaul.

I can understand the compulsions that drive India to assert the necessity of reciprocity. But the issues of privileges and reciprocity can never simply a matter of equal treatment in a legal sense.The considerations offered by one country towards another's representatives are deeply linked to the quality of the relations that bind the two States.The reason American diplomats in India were offered, historically, great latitude in how they conducted their business was precisely because India valued the US as a special friend, going back to the early post-Independence era.I hope that whatever New Delhi does now does not end up undermining the prospects for the deeper partnership that both sides have tried to build for over a decade.
Yes, massa, whatever u say, massa! I thought this Tellis was a sensible guy, not a turd of such low caliber? The bugger seems to think he is in Pakistan.
For all the conciliatory remarks from both sides, the prosecutor's office while strongly noting that far from the charges being dropped -- as India demands -- has argued Dr Khobragade will have no grandfathered immunity in the criminal case against her and will be arrested if she returns to the US. That should not be surprising. As you well know, in the US, the legal process takes its own course. From what I understand, the office of the US Attorney for the Southern District of New York had offered Khobragade a plea bargain which she declined, as is her right to do so. Having made that choice, I am not sure that the case, which involves serious criminal charges of visa fraud, can simply be 'dropped' in the absence of justifiable reasons for doing so.
Well.. 16 tax cheats/visa fraudsters and their spouses waiting to share common cells with common criminals in Dilli. The Law Must Take Its Course!
Last edited by UlanBatori on 17 Feb 2014 23:22, edited 1 time in total.

Why didn't Aziz ask whether only India considered US a special friend, and US doesn't reciprocate ? :P

^^^ No slave questions the massa. its a part of this course: House-slave 101. Or in other words: 'Pet ka masla hai janaab'

Because Aziz is a "special gubo friend"? That article destroyed whatever thin veil of respectability remained for the US foreign policy establishment. Shows them up for what they are, even Tellis. Very disappointing. Of course I had no expectations of Aziz Haniffa, he is long known for what he is.

I am also surprised that Ashley is so brazen in saying that US is a special friend going back to post-Indian independence. Doesn't he remember anything of the "special things" that US did to India from 1965 till almost 10 years back? And he asserts that US is a special friend and reciprocity shouldn't be applied?

I am still scratching my brain to figure out what the US did above and beyond what was required to help India to get the "special treatment".
Last edited by putnanja on 17 Feb 2014 23:30, edited 1 time in total.

JNU school of thinking kills your right brain and makes you a foreign power worshipper.
A whole lot of Azizes are there and some even have Hindu names.

UB, It is said widely that Ombaba is a believer of adhereing to the strict letter of the law.

its largely eggregious abuse of the privileges granted by India which common Indian public is unaware that has riled the junior IFS cadre so much.
Tellis must be on the newly legalised stuff for him to suggest DK should take that plea bargain when she is not in the wrong.
As my astrologer friend says total shani phase.

All the stalwarts are being revealed to have warts onlee and stalling.

UBji,
No disrespect, but I am honestly surprised that many folks are discovering this now.

The US admin is structured like a corporation. Dissent is not allowed and is harshly punished. If you want your family to be fed and mortgage to be paid, you better parrot what the admin wants you to parrot. Elections give you a choice between a slightly liberal and slightly conservative candidate who fight about superficial issues. The bottomline is never touched. Even Ombaba could not change anything much in the US other than cosmetic changes.

That does not mean US is a total dictatorship, you CAN on your own volition, do things independently that conform the word view of the organization and you will be rewarded and protected from harm. In that light what the Mays did (both on and off Facebook) reflected the world view of the organization and hence they were not punished and protected instead. Same case with FBI helping David Abraham and indirectly the Bakis to conduct 26/11 killing some of their own citizens.

Fact is the US (as far as white america is concerned) is headed a one way street for the most part. The hispanic population may be able to change some of it, but until then the US is in a free-fall to a fully fascist police state.

Each side of the political spectrum keeps accusing the other of fascism and that is proof enough that they are infact just that. There is a book written by a right winger about how liberals are more fascist than conservatives (greener than green anyone :) ), it is an interesting read:
http://www.amazon.com/Liberal-Fascism-A ... 0767917189

putnanja wrote:I am also surprised that Ashley is so brazen in saying that US is a special friend going back to post-Indian independence. Doesn't he remember anything of the "special things" that US did to India from 1965 till almost 10 years back? And he asserts that US is a special friend and reciprocity shouldn't be applied?

I am still scratching my brain to figure out what the US did above and beyond what was required to help India to get the "special treatment".
I for one am glad that they denied us cryogenic technology. Thank you Unkil :)

putnanja wrote:I am also surprised that Ashley is so brazen in saying that US is a special friend going back to post-Indian independence. Doesn't he remember anything of the "special things" that US did to India from 1965 till almost 10 years back? And he asserts that US is a special friend and reciprocity shouldn't be applied?

saar, why this shock onlee saar?
Bechara deracinated Ashley is just sucking up to his gora masters to earn his daily bread onlee.
Being a brownie in a gora world, he has to be MUTU for his masters to throw him scraps.
member_28380

Post by member_28380 »

putnanja wrote:Ashley Tullis telling Aziz Haniffa, a known US sympathizer that India over-reacted to the Devyani case, and shouldn't have applied reciprocity to US diplomutts...

I have followed Aziz's reports on rediff from US and invariably it is always pro-US. And he fails to ask hard questions and leads Ashley on to what he wants said.
Trade unionism? :evil:

Yet another US propaganda piece. Hurt on both sides?! Humbug.

Is this the spin that we are going to hear in the coming weeks and months?! Probably.
member_28380

Post by member_28380 »

Except for some support during 1962 war US has done everything it can to dismantle and destroy India since 1947.

Turning point in history now, all Indian establishment should get out of the "natural ally" "largest democracies" nonsense...

VijayKM wrote: .....
Except for some support during 1962 war US has done everything it can to dismantle and destroy India since 1947.

Turning point in history now, all Indian establishment should get out of the "natural ally" "largest democracies" nonsense...

KS garu wrote that the US Military mission to monitor the few rundown jeeps and bazookas wanted to monitor the hardware all the way to its deployment to ensure it was not used against TSP. Mind you Sidney Griffin's "Crisis Games" written in 1964 shows the US doing joint war games with TSP on how to take Kashmir!

The sum total of the 'aid' in 1962 was ~$84 M and got stopped due to 1965 war sanctions.

Strike one against Tellis. We should put him in "not to be trusted" column after the second strike.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 18 Feb 2014 08:48, edited 2 times in total.

Lokesh: I smell some disinformation here. AH is known for doing hatchet jobs. Back in 2002, he did a really bad back-stabbing on IDRF's Dr. Vinod Prakash. Dr. Prakash thought he "knew" AH well, since they had been acquainted for many years. So he gave an interview in good faith. Baad mistake.

I don't know what AH's aim was here, but between AH and Tellis, I would put faith in Tellis any day, sorry to have to say that. For sure AH does not appear to have asked the obvious questions, like "could u pls explain onlee.."

I would NOT YET take Tellis' statements as what Tellis actually said/meant. Please note that I am not being an apologist for Tellis, just cautioning. Tellis, whatever else, is THE most "pro-India" South Asia expert and expert on nuclear policy in the establishment, and note that he is actually no more inside the establishment, he works for a Think Tank. Which means he puts his diapers on both legs at a time like any of us. His email address is probably on the Think Tank website. Why don't you email him, send a copy of the entire interview, and ask him flat out: "Hello Dr. Tellis, did you REALLY say and mean that Americans in India get special treatment because Americans are so special, not because Indians are gracious hosts? If so, then by extension, do you think you are super-special too, perhaps? Do you Foggy Bottomers go all around the world with that attitude? Just curious.." Go ahead, do it, what do you have to lose?

Some of you may not know that Tellis is India-born (or at least lived in India when he was young). I think he may have been grossly misinterpreted, the statements attributed to him sound pretty incredibly stoopeed, even for a Foggy Bottom graduate.

But the useful bit of information to come out is that the new crop of EyeEffEsses have some spirit, at least when their Fundamental Right to Chaprassis and Ayahs is endangered. That has to be good for India.

putnanja wrote:Ashley Tullis telling Aziz Haniffa, a known US sympathizer that India over-reacted to the Devyani case, and shouldn't have applied reciprocity to US diplomutts...

This part says it all...
India is singularly now bent on implementing reciprocity regarding US diplomats, which, many contend, can hardly alleviate any rapprochement.

That certainly appears to be the case. I can understand the compulsions that drive India to assert the necessity of reciprocity. But the issues of privileges and reciprocity can never simply a matter of equal treatment in a legal sense. (Unless it is in the good ol' USA one presumes) :roll:

The considerations offered by one country towards another's representatives are deeply linked to the quality of the relations that bind the two States.

The reason American diplomats in India were offered, historically, great latitude in how they conducted their business was precisely because India valued the US as a special friend, going back to the early post-Independence era. (Yes, so special that the US Government feels the need to grope one of the Deputy consul generals) :rotfl:

I hope that whatever New Delhi does now does not end up undermining the prospects for the deeper partnership that both sides have tried to build for over a decade.

At the end of the day, people like Tullis and Zakaria know who is paying for their daily roti. Let no one expect them to support India at the expense of Sher Khan, who has purchased their souls. Every opinion is nuanced to reflect the Khan's POV.

matrimc wrote:Strike one against tellis. We should put him in "nit to be trusted" column after the second strike.
We should have our own BR Blacklist and publicize it. This may get pickedup and snowball.

Why don't all you brave warriors write to him and tell him what you think?

shiv sahib, leaving aside the massan cops wrong move on dk (which needs to be taken to the level where a corresponding massan fee-male afsar needs similar treatment on a tit-tat policy, no matter what dharmic, karmic, or value system it depicts).. if you take our police culture, i'm at loss or in abyss when you say that our police culture is superlative to massan cop culture.

so, we have to measure our delivery to where it should hurt, and not counter hurt.

US refuses to talk China with India
m.timesofindia.com | Feb 17th 2014
NEW DELHI: Days before US secretary of state John Kerry touched down in Beijing for his renewed outreach to China, US officials traveled to China to hold high level discussions on South Asia.

There was nothing remarkable in this except for the fact that the US has refused to hold the East Asia dialogue with India for the past year. Through the East Asia dialogue, the US and India discussed issues relating to China and beyond, while India and South Asia are the subjects of discussion with China in the South Asia dialogue.

From mid-2013, sources said the US has been stalling all attempts to hold the East Asia dialogue. Indian officials have even offered to meet in a third country but the new assistant secretary of state Daniel Russell, who took over from Kurt Campbell, met them with stony silence. Many in the Indian system describe this as "strategic inattention" by the Obama administration. It is most strongly manifested in the lack of engagement about Asia. A dialogue on Central Asia has fallen by the wayside as has a dialogue on Africa. A trilateral between India, US and Afghanistan last met around four months ago while a newly-constituted dialogue between the two countries on West Asia has met once.

The US and India still have a trilateral discussion going with Japan. That too would have sunk were it not for the efforts of Japan and India to keep it afloat. Some in the US, looking for a way to kick-start relations with India, have toyed with the idea of a trilateral dialogue with China. But Beijing has torpedoed it, deeming it unworthy. But Beijing has not been averse to holding a trilateral with India and Russia on Afghanistan.

Washington sources said Russell was not as interested in the dialogue with India as his predecessor was. Campbell was credited with instituting what many felt was the most productive engagement between India and the US. This was driven, sources said, by the interest of former secretary of state Hillary Clinton to the India relationship. With her departure and Campbell's, the India file has no A-list supporter in the Obama cabinet. Washington sources said Obama was immersed in the domestic agenda, and secretary of state John Kerry in the Middle East despite last week's visit to China. With vice-president Joe Biden concentrating on the China relationship, it only leaves the US defence department taking an interest in India.

National security advisor Susan Rice, in her remarks to the Aspen Institute in Washington last week, said, "India is essential to America's broader engagement with Asia, where many of our national interests converge. We look forward to enhancing the ways that India's Look East policy and America's rebalance to Asia can be mutually reinforcing." With India entering election season and the US battling myriad issues elsewhere, such remarks risk turning into platitudes.

SaiK wrote:shiv sahib, leaving aside the massan cops wrong move on dk (which needs to be taken to the level where a corresponding massan fee-male afsar needs similar treatment on a tit-tat policy, no matter what dharmic, karmic, or value system it depicts).. if you take our police culture, i'm at loss or in abyss when you say that our police culture is superlative to massan cop culture.
Well SaiK that abyss has a name - sarchasm

I like the concept of tit-tat policy. Fits in well with the spread of Indo-European languages. Where US police go for the tits Indian police can be told to go for the "tat(te)". Male-female/up-down/yin-yang/tits-tatte etc Sorry. I can't help create that abyss - sometimes :D

This Indrani Bagchi women is a joker. Every article she writes has over-the-top sentences.

Ashley Tellis wrote:I can understand the compulsions that drive India to assert the necessity of reciprocity. But the issues of privileges and reciprocity can never simply a matter of equal treatment in a legal sense.The considerations offered by one country towards another's representatives are deeply linked to the quality of the relations that bind the two States.The reason American diplomats in India were offered, historically, great latitude in how they conducted their business was precisely because India valued the US as a special friend, going back to the early post-Independence era.I hope that whatever New Delhi does now does not end up undermining the prospects for the deeper partnership that both sides have tried to build for over a decade.
:roll: Seriously, and we hear preachings about 'morality' from this set of brazen idiots ! "Reciprocity can never be a matter of equal treatment in a legal sense". That's some joke....I'd like to hear that supreme legalist moron, Preet Bharara of Haarrvvard (or is it Yale?) opine on this latest piece of idiocy.

The US seems to have a rather 3rd World outlook when it comes to responsibility in global dealings. Perhaps India needs a policy of establishing strategic relationships only with responsible nations that fit our definition of "first world".

ArjunJi,

That is the crux of the issue. The "American exceptionalism" BS is embedded deep in the white psyche. At the pragmatic level, what he saying is loo, you guys need us more than we need you. and thats why these privileges are in place. In return, we will work to make you a "super power" (meaning a few soothing words from the pampered diplomats from time to time). It also precisely because of the princely treatment meted out to these by TSP, that they get good press visa vi India. To re-iterate the obvious, the one big positive to have come out of the DK is that US-India strategic relations were not worth the piece of paper they are written on, and any future Indian govt must look at raw interests and mutual give & take. Nothing more, nothing less.

The Ashley Tellis interview is indeed telling. Even today, after all the water has flown, US still thinks that India was petulant, it was peevish, you name it. And that crap about removing security barriers in Delhi. I wish one ndian diplomat will have the b@lls to come out and say (like Kalnwal SibalJi and others have) that how does it look to India when US makes even more egregious TSP appeasement policies that have a direct impact on India's security. If removing barricades shows India's so called lack of sensitivity after oh so poor mighty USA suffered a few hits in Bengaazi, how about US mollycoddling TSP terrorist leadership with billions of $s of military/economic aid while Hafeez Saeed, Dawood Ibrahim and other pigLeTs operate right under the nose of USA's TSPA munna? It makes my blood boil that US can be so arrogant, and India so pusillanimous.

nvishal wrote:This Indrani Bagchi women is a joker. Every article she writes has over-the-top sentences.
Overwhelming example of influence of Wren and Martin grammer. Indians pride themselves in composing complex and compound sentences. They can go toe to toe with any Oxbridge graduate. While in US due to the influx of large number of non-English speaking immigrants the emphasis is on simple sentences. There is a US Govt intiative on simple sentences. Check the US Census site.

Arjun, Arent we transferring expectations here?
Seriously, and we hear preachings about 'morality' from this set of brazen idiots
Another enduring Macaulayite myth is the 'fairness' of Anglo Saxons. This myth creeps up without our gnosis (secular and not religious meaning).

ramana wrote:Arjun, Arent we transferring expectations here?
Seriously, and we hear preachings about 'morality' from this set of brazen idiots
Another enduring Macaulayite myth is the 'fairness' of Anglo Saxons. This myth creeps up without our gnosis (secular and not religious meaning).
No, I don't agree. There was a time when India was regarded as foolishly sanctimonious and prone to moral posturing by the West. This was during the time of Nixon..Mostly under Nixon, Reagan and other Republican leadership the US did not have delusions of moral superiority - they knew they were simply executing on a strategy to further their own national interests and did not have any pretensions beyond that.

Lately, the scenario has flipped. It is the US now that suffers from pretensions of moral superiority and the rest of the world that is increasingly finding the attitude insufferable and laughable...I am referring to the cock-eyed policies in the name of 'human trafficking', LGBT, 'freedom of religion' and other moralistic ideals that emanates from GOTUS' behind every now and then. This particular moralist disease seems to be far more Democrat than Republican though...

What I am pointing to is that NOT only is this increasingly moralist idiocy from the US sanctimonious and condescending, it is also plain WRONG in its portrayal of America as striving to be more moral than the rest. Ashley Tellis and his breed merely provide the QED.

How much is this a result of the fall of Soviet Union? Recall Carter gave priamcy to Human Rights and the Helsinki agreement in 1977(?). Maybe they think this gave them the upper edge against FSU and are on a roll?

Excerpts from WSJ
>>John Elliott has worked as a foreign correspondent in India over three decades. His book, “Implosion: India’s Tryst With Reality” in which he examines the country’s vast promise as well as its failure often to deliver on that potential, is being launched Tuesday.

In this extract, Mr. Elliott explores the relationship between India and the U.S., including the impact of a recent diplomatic row between the two nations. He argues that the relationship is drifting because of a lack of care in both Washington and Delhi and that, contrary to what many think, the countries should properly be described as occasional partners but never allies.

Why the U.S. and India Aren’t Allies

India has learned that it can say ‘no’ to the US, for example, by not breaking relations with Iran or with Myanmar (before both regimes softened their stance in 2013 and 2012), and by voting against the US (and Israel) on Palestine’s status in the UN.

The US has learned – maybe with some surprise – that India is not prepared to become an obedient ally, and that it will not dutifully follow American wishes on foreign policy or on quickly opening up foreign investment regulations to hungry US companies.

Another show of India’s independence came in April 2011 on a billion-dollar multi-role combat aircraft fighter contract that the US had virtually assumed its companies would eventually win until India short-listed Dassault of France and Eurofighter, not Lockheed Martin or Boeing.

The US had, however, by mid- 2012 received defence orders approaching $9bn over the previous ten years, with almost another $10bn in the pipeline, which made defence the most active area of co-operation.

The positives were neatly listed by Hilary Clinton, then the US Secretary of State, at the end of talks in India in July 2011. ‘We have worked together for the important task of preventing cyber attacks on our respective infrastructures. We are talking about a new bilateral investment treaty that will build on the 20 per cent increase in trade we’ve seen just this last year. And we have watched as trade is increasingly flowing in both directions.

We have new initiatives linking students and businesses and communities, and one of my personal favourites is the Passport to India, a programme designed to bring more American students to study in India to match the great numbers of Indian students that come to America to study, because we want to create those bonds between our young people and our future leaders’.

Her talks on that visit also covered antiterrorism,economic ties, nuclear projects and defence co-operation.

An American foreign affairs specialist said in Delhi a year later: ‘We are better off if you are free and confident. Even if India annoys the US all the time, it’s still better to have a strong India… Even if we don’t get returns and the balance is in the red on nuclear contracts, Iran and the MRCA (the Indian fighter jet contract), it’s better we are aligned and work on our common world view’.

There are however sceptics about the relationship in India, as well as those in the US who strongly believe India should be more docile and subservient. There will always be headlines about differences.

Usually these will be on issues such as Iran and there is also concern in India about how determined the US is to support Asian countries against the sort of Chinese aggression seen in the East China Sea.

There will also be unexpected rows, as happened in December 2013 when US law officers suddenly arrested Devyani Khobragade, India’s 39-year-old deputy consul general in New York, just as she was dropping her daughter at school.

Accused of visa fraud over an Indian maid who had worked in her home, she was handcuffed, strip-searched, underwent DNA swabbing, and was held in a cell with others accused of crimes including drugs till she was released on $250,000 bail. [WSJ: Ms. Khobragade has denied wrongdoing.]

This led to a dispute over Khobragade’s diplomatic status and provoked a furious reaction from India, which cancelled various diplomatic privileges that the US enjoyed in India but did not give to India’s diplomats in America. Security barricades that blocked a road adjacent to the embassy in Delhi’s diplomatic area were dramatically removed. India’s foreign service officials were united in condemning the US, led by Sujatha Singh, India’s new foreign secretary, who had been in Washington for talks the day before the arrest and was apparently not consulted.

The sharp reaction – and media frenzy – in India flushed out a latent anti-America feeling born of resentment of the way the US threw its weight around. As Stephen Cohen of the Brookings

Institution in Washington was reported saying in the Financial Times, ‘we have created a myth that India is pro-America and that is not the case’.

ramana garu, I think they (the dems) are reading it as the doing of Carter but IMHO it was coincidental in that USSR had problems of its own and would have spontaneously fissioned give or take a few years. Carter made some moves and thought he (and his demos) started the disintegration of USSR.

As Stephen Cohen of the Brookings Institution in Washington was reported saying in the Financial Times, ‘we have created a myth that India is pro-America and that is not the case’.
I humbly put it to the gentle readers of BRF that this man is trying to sow seeds of division. No more proof is required to be sure that he kowtows to the Pakistanis.

Survey after survey finds that Indians are pro-america and Pakistanis are anti.

Quote from AmberG post:
India, which cancelled various diplomatic privileges that the US enjoyed in India but did not give to India’s diplomats in America
Finally someone who got it right. It has so far been "Indian retaliated by cancelling privileges etc". Hopefully others will learn too.

matrimc wrote:ramana garu, I think they (the dems) are reading it as the doing of Carter but IMHO it was coincidental in that USSR had problems of its own and would have spontaneously fissioned give or take a few years. Carter made some moves and thought he (and his demos) started the disintegration of USSR.
Yep! Gudbud-chov was on the way all by himself.

http://pjmedia.com/instapundit/184099/
AFETY WORRIES ABOUT DRUGS MADE IN INDIA, but here’s the buried lede: “The United States has become so dependent on Chinese imports, however, that the F.D.A. may not be able to do much about the Chinese refusal. The crucial ingredients for nearly all antibiotics, steroids and many other lifesaving drugs are now made exclusively in China.”
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Angana Chaterjii, that despicable commie ISI traitor was fired from a dubious institution called CIIS back at the end of 2011. Now she is apparently at the Haas school of business at UC Berkeley. The list of these worthies reads like a who's who of 'breaking India' forces, both here and in India.

I mean, for most people, being fired from an academic institute, especially a fly-by-night one like CIIS would end their career. Not so for these scumbags it looks like. Talk about infiltration.

http://nonprofit.haas.berkeley.edu/rese ... -bios.html

MurthyB wrote:Angana Chaterjii, that despicable commie ISI traitor was fired from a dubious institution called CIIS back at the end of 2011. Now she is apparently at the Haas school of business at UC Berkeley. The list of these worthies reads like a who's who of 'breaking India' forces, both here and in India.

I mean, for most people, being fired from an academic institute, especially a fly-by-night one like CIIS would end their career. Not so for these scumbags it looks like. Talk about infiltration.

http://nonprofit.haas.berkeley.edu/rese ... -bios.html
Harsh Mander, Teesta all are there - only one missing is Arundhoti, perhaps she will be invited as a visiting scholar. :lol:

That has to be the greatest collection of jerks all in one place. So much for UC Berkeley.

PS: Could it be that these people are securing their future for the next 4-8 years of an indoo admin in India? Basically get faculty pojitions and run off to California? Smart sleazeballs.

We gotta keep a tab on 'papers' on hyoooman rights abuses by house slaves from Bark-alley once the change of guard happens in 2014. They are going to shoot arrows on India sitting from the shoulders of unkil. One can smell the gungadeenitis-concentratis disease from this far away in icy cold weather of Montana.

Karan M wrote:That has to be the greatest collection of jerks all in one place. So much for UC Berkeley.

PS: Could it be that these people are securing their future for the next 4-8 years of an indoo admin in India? Basically get faculty pojitions and run off to California? Smart sleazeballs.
This gels in well with all that I have been hearing about the gradual decline of top US universities as temples of learning into cesspools of jealousies and plagiarism.

Oh I am sure excellence still exists in good measure, but decay has spread into areas that now retain a reputation only because of the past.