Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

ChandraV wrote:
Real estate has appreciated much much more than inflation. If you purchased real estate in 2005, you would exit with a massive profit today, even after all the inflation etc.

I disagree about real estate crash though. Any clampdown on black money will be very gradual. The number of people who want new homes is immense. The demand for housing is unending. Villas for 2,3,5 crores are not the norm. A flat for between 50 lakh to 1 crore is the median. As long as the economy keeps growing, there will be no shortage of demand for houses. Real estate may eventually not be as profitable as it is today, the rate of return may approach bank FD interest rates, but I don't foresee a crash.
Real Estate appreciation is part of the general inflation. The reason real estate is so high in places like Bangalore is because there is a lot of cash floating around and people are itching to spend and invest. So they buy flats, houses in the hope of appreciation. This has worked out for the last decade, so more people jump on the bandwagon. This is normal. The question is why do people have so much money? Everyone I talk to in India say "arre sab ke paas paisa hai" ("everyone has a lot of money") :eek: . How is this the case? The only thing I think is that people don't pay taxes any more. IT people cannot get away but business waalas can and do. They end up with a lot of free cash flow and spend it on real estate. This keeps up the demand and prices stay in the bubble range. Poor IT people who can barely make it put all their savings into buying at these inflated rates which just adds to the frenzy.

Everything is pointing to a big crash in India in housing. We had a real estate crash in the US in 2007 and I remember finance gurus gloating that US "never" will have a real estate downturn. Housing prices will "never" go down because it never has. The last one was around 30 years ago and no one remembers. The situation now is that demand has gone down for buying houses but prices don't go down. Builders cannot sell and have to keep vacant houses and they have to pay loans too. It's a cluster waiting to happen.

builders pick up land banks at low rates and have good contacts with govt and banks to ensure they are too big to fail , so loans are rescheduled at soft terms. if any bigggie goes down, a couple of banks will go with them and so on. the initial seed capital comes from current projects and "investors" incl politicians and big business owners.

so even with low sales they have good staying power and seldom have to make distress sale. and if its distress, they wont go to retail sale, they will sell to a guy with even better staying power!

so unlike America, retail demand has little to do with their survival other than ofcourse at the end stage when retail sales open and profits are made to fund the next proj.

there is going to be no crash. sales slowed a while in 2008 and there was talk of "affordable housing". that concept flopped and its back to 75L-1cr for 3bhk as the core product now for ownership flats and 2bhk for rental flats.

all this talk of taxes and pvt schools is immaterial - look for the end result
- people in india are forced to pay out of pocket for pvt schools because the govt run schools are mostly all sub-par to really bad barring a few PSU/army schools KVs. even villagers are sending their kids to private and missionary schools where they can because atleast teachers show up and teach and the walls are not going to collapse one rainy day.
- people in amrika enjoy great roads, parks, electricity, hot water on the back of their taxes - here we pay extra for diesel gents, security guards, pvt parks & gyms & pools in apartments, geysers .... we cannot pay to get roads fixed though.

so whining about higher taxes is just not on. not when you get food dirt cheap relative to income and everything else also on deep discount with widest choice. and lets not come to petrol prices.

Guess we are going off-topic here.

due to reckless amt of churn and attrition in my office, we passed a new milestone today.

managers are not even aware if the problem case reported belongs to their own areas or not.

managing by bugcount and hand waving and has reached a new high.

KJoishy wrote:SRoy, who makes this 3 month law, is it the companies or the Indian Govt? If it is the company, then people should refuse offers and go to a company which allows something more reasonable. Here in the US, they can kick us out any time with no severance. But we can leave too if we want and don't have to give any notice. The market will decide this. If you sign a 3 month thing, they you have to follow it. Here we have non compete agreements, we have to follow those.

In jobs with high reward, there is high risk also. People in India have been babied and pampered for years with 25%+ bonus/raise with always someplace else to jump. Real world awaits. And MMS/Sonia are not to blame, just economics.
You're commenting about a situation you don't understand.

The x-month notice period post acceptance of resignation is as contained in the joining letter and instruction. This is not something one negotiates during the hiring process. And this is a general practice in India. Only the period varies from 1-month to higher.

Coming to firing part - I can bet that in none of these companies the people were simply told they're being let off and can go home. The HR would have got them sign resignation letter stating they're leaving of their own will; the implied threat is that getting the experience certificate and other credentials will be 'tough' if they create ruckus.

As for humiliation, they'll ask you first to come to a meeting room which is part of the reception area (and hence, outside of main works area), tell you that you're fired, take your identity card & access card, get you to pen the resignation letter and not allow you to go back to collect your stuff from your cubicle/work station. Either you'll be asked to come later to collect your stuff or someone will carry all that stuff outside and plonk it in front of you.

And I've seen all this happen in front of me in 2009-10 period.

It reached a level where if you're HR asked you for personal meeting, you dreaded the worst and checked which meeting room they'd booked.

No one objects to company's right to fire an employee (and that too in a downturn) but some manage this difficult task much better. And some did do it much better in the same period. For example, some companies looked for alternate placement of manpower in the organization, counseled the people who were fired, and one even arranged for a professional job search firm to work with each employee to see what options could be worked out.

To people talking about money in real estate, ask yourself this - How many big cities we have as compared to US of A? And consequently, how many real estate investment destination(s) we have?

Each city serves as a investment destination for a certain catchment area; in South India, the money will be pour into places like Bangalore, Chennai and Hyderabad from entire region because this is where development is centered. And hence, money making opportunity. Where do wealthy businessmen and families of Kerala put their money? Would Bangalore make better RE investment destination or Kochi/Trivandrum? You can repeat a similar exercise for all smaller Tier 2 cities in each of South Indian states. The 'investment' money gets funneled into these cities from across the region.

Coming to crash part - Crashes happen when there end user to investor ratio is skewed in favor of end user. Impact on the income of buyer directly impacts his purchasing power. For example, as per a 2008 study, a 10% increase in income level can lead to 4.52% increase in defaults.

In our case, black money or unaccounted cash for sophisticated, screws the entire relationship. For a simple reason that black money as no 'time value of money' concept. The choice is between putting the same under your mattress or getting a property in your name. It gives the owner immense holding power. And that is why Bangalore - which is still more end user driver - sees more slump in demand than Gurgaon - which is haven for investors from across the entire northern belt.

And as Singha explained so well, residential project is a self financing model. The key is to ensure that land has been bought donkey years back or during the phase when it was reasonable.

Look at this simple example-

(1) Land acquisition cost - INR 1 crore per acre - INR 229.57/sq.ft. FSI Cost - INR 114.78/sq.ft
Assume that FSI (Floor Space Index) is 2.0

(2) Current Land Price - INR 4 Crore per acre - INR 918/sq.ft. FSI Cost - 918/2 = INR 459/sq.ft (when project is marketed)

(3)Construction Cost - INR 2200 per sq.ft

(4) Margin - 30%

Selling Price - (2)+(3)+(4) = INR 3,457/sq.ft

Effective margin with land price appreciation - 330% :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

rohitvats wrote:The HR would have got them sign resignation letter stating they're leaving of their own will; the implied threat is that getting the experience certificate and other credentials will be 'tough' if they create ruckus.
During the last recession period (some where in 2008-2009), a manager in Vegetable Oil.Co had landed up in trouble. Her task was to force one person to resign, but that person did not budge. Every day, now and then he was called up on phone are asked to come to meeting rooms and be coerced to resign. Finally he gave a police compliant on harassment (Report).
It reached a level where if you're HR asked you for personal meeting, you dreaded the worst and checked which meeting room they'd booked.
Have undergone this some where in 2002. Again the .com had got busted and projects were becoming scarce. I got a call from the HR, for a one-on-one meeting. Gave a heads up to my friends (was a bachelor then) that I am soon landing back at home jobless. I found an apologetic HR sitting there. Her request was simple. A project is now in crisis, and can I goto Mumbai to take up some critical work? :lol:. I said Yes, then and there. And was in Mumbai for next 8-12 months, and it was a good enjoyable period.

To sum it up, I feel every IT employee should now recognize that things are certainly not going the way it used to be. Salary hikes and promotions etc. are now going to slow down. Soon a rat race should get started. After all these are all private companies where profit motive is the highest. So when it gets tough for these companies, dont expect any mercy from them to the employees. The true bania-ship would revealed then ;).

rohitvats wrote:Coming to firing part - I can bet that in none of these companies the people were simply told they're being let off and can go home. The HR would have got them sign resignation letter stating they're leaving of their own will; the implied threat is that getting the experience certificate and other credentials will be 'tough' if they create ruckus. .
i had a hard time getting a proper 'relieving letter' and my last month pay and my leave pay etc..and my pf is still pending..

and i did not even leave the company..i merely transferred.. :rotfl:

indian HR are the worst of the worst of the worst of the... horrible, good for nothing, utterly useless, common sense lacking, responsibility shirking bunch of aholes.

I could be "workforce optimized" today, 3 months on bench after I put in my papers, I was convinced and retained as I can front-end well with customers and am also still hands-on after these many years. Looks like that goodwill ran out and with economic scenario bleak I might be let go.

netz has been doing movements of late. in one BU they invested huge amt in a new platform , which is too early to market, so to my knowledge atleast 40-50 are being 'moved' to other BUs that are short-handed. another set from a aeging platform was already moved a few weeks back.
this is also the season where apart from flipkart/myntra/rivals in same space departures, people are also going for MS.
hiring is long frozen.
promos and hikes we can forget about this year given our past couple of qtrly results.

even basic stuff like notebooks and pens which used to be freely funded from central pool earlier, now each BU admin need to order in bulk and hand out, thus passing on cost to the BU bottomline and inviting greater scrutiny.

Theo_Fidel wrote:I have to say the majority of NRI or American types can not afford the lifestyle many upper/middle Indian families have these days. Saars, I can not afford it, though I'm not IT/VITY.

!,500-2,000 sqft condo apartment in tony area 5 km from city center, with car, private school for both kids, eating out/delivery $20 type food 2-3 times a week, 1-2-3 servants to do cooking/laundry/etc, regular festivals, travel every 2-3 months, shopping every month at N-Usman street, 1 kg of gold in locker, etc. I'm not sure Indians can afford this even. As pointed out even 10l annual salary is not enough for this.

KJo is right that major part of American income goes to taxes. All inclusive, fed, state, local, sales, property, payroll, tolls, etc. 44% IIRC. Free cash in your hand is very low.
I can't even afford to put my kids in private school!
Texas does not have any personal income taxes. its 17% fed only there.

pvt schools is must in india, since govt schools r bad.

eating out - prices are converging . in ncr, prices are approaching that of usa.

regular festivals are AWESOME :) Go india!

Travel / Shopping depends on money in pocket.

but yeah, life in the usa can get quite monotonous. india is awesum in this regard. never a dull moment. if you feel bored just go outside and take a walk around the block. :)

I think most of the NRI Posters commenting on Indian IT situation have third party information and not real ground situation. Here are some bullet points.

Mass firing is rare, it is mostly freeze on new hiring when things go south. You mass fire people in your bad days and no one will join you in your good days.
Salary jumps - If you are below 8 Years experience, you probably will get a jump of 40-50% on changing job but again depending upon your current salary. Hikes rarely now a days cross 20% (I am not getting any hike this Fiscal so practically I have to feed my family with the salary that I made in 2012) so don't be envious of us.
HR - What exactly HR does in iT company after recruiting, someone pls tell me
Notice Period - If you don't want to serve notice period, you have the option of paying the difference from your pocket and walk out on a week's notice plus you can add your vacation time into the notice period in most of the cases.
Real Estate - Like Doom of China, we have been hearing about RE crash in India but.......I still have cash in bank to buy Rs. 25 Lakh house in B'lore/NCR

The days of Chennai/Bengaluru domination are numbered. The smaller cities are growing faster and have cheaper land to expand into. I was truly impressed by the growth of Coimbatore, It is as big as Chennai was 20 years ago and growing much faster. Per my relative Coimbatore population including the Mettu belt is already approaching 2 million. It is almost half Mallu now. :) I can see a time in 20 years where it will be rivaling Chennai/Bengaluru. Yes even in IT, there are a surprising number of companies doing IT work there. It's cheaper and the cost of labor is lower. So outsourcing will happen from Chennai/Bengaluru to tier-2 cities.

Places like Coimbatore have good edcuational institutions too - PSG College for example is a very well known engg. college, right?

Notice periods are bought by the prospective employer if you are good and if they need you bad also notice periods are mostly a norm in the services sector where frankly speaking a college pass out with 1-2 years in industry is considered a suitable replacement for a chap with 6-8 year experienced guy (even if latter is actually good).

In the product side of things I have not seen notice period thingy yet.

On the salary and hike front reality is we have reached a saturation point if sorts when outsourcing was at it's peak any need to downsize was met by cutting jobs on the west , however with a very lopsided offshore model and literally no one left to fire in the west all future downsizing will happen in India and other offshore locations which have accumulated a lot of lard over past 5 years .

negi wrote:literally no one left to fire in the west
most IT has gone completely contractor model. couple of years ago i was in a project where almost everybody except the executives were contractors. in 200 people in the building maybe a dozen were full timers from client. the rest were a mix of contractors hired directly, their own preferred vendor and the project implementation consultants like us.

a HRish bideshi guy has been going around meeting our directors today. could be preparing cull lists.
Javee

Post by Javee »

Theo,
Not sure what/where you saw, IT is not happening in Covai. Pune and Covai was in the same level 10-15 years back. Pune did pick up but Covai has not picked up as it was supposed to. Other than CTS, no other IT biggies do any meaningful work. Of course the state govt started SEZ's in both Covai and Salem but it is still not functional. There are some smaller companies operating out of PSG's IT park, and KG has a big BPO, other than that it's meh.

What we need is SG promoting Covai, Madurai/T.Veli big time, but then amma is busy promoting theaters these days.

The days of Chennai/Bengaluru domination are numbered
Humare paas weather hai, life hai, style hai, history hai, talent hai, access hai, brand hai, ecosystem hai ! Kovai mein kya hai ?
Javee

Post by Javee »

^^^ water :P

well but the vaigai river seems to have gone dry despite that!
this was the river whose generated food surplus was responsible for supporting rise of the Cholas , an empire rivaling the Guptas and Mauryas in scope and influence.

Javee,

It is possible I over estimated it but I was visiting the SEZ area where there were large glass IT buildings marching down the road. Looked like 2-3 million sqft, packed with every company from HCL, Bosch, Mahindra, etc. Looked brand new to me with a solid 5,000 - 10,000 workers it looked like. City as a whole is growing very very fast.

Or maybe I’m easily impressed. :)
--------------------------

For Vina, Kovai mein cheap cheap hai, owr strike key bina Mallustan....
The real Bengaluru Kerala. :)

Coimbatore weather was every bit as good as Bengaluru. Less pollution and sweet Bhavani river water. Has the entire Kerala population to suck in.

BTW the Cholas were Kaveri river water and Pennar/Palar folks. The Vaiagai/Thamibarani was Pandya’s, often times Pandya and Chola were allies though they tussled quite often too.

coimbatore as a manufacturing hub, might easily attract the IT side of such cos like bosch, honeywell, auto majors etc. many of them have giant IT internal ops to run things worldwide.

but last weekend I was passing through bommasandra industrial estate in blr (near hosur) and I could see miles and miles of such chi chi light manufacturing industries too on the bommasandra-jigani link road. so blr is no pushover in brick n mortar manufacturing if we consider peenya-neelamagala belt , bommasandra, elec city, jigani, hosakote, bidadi, whitefield, HAL, BEL, BEML, harohalli...there are industrial areas on every major highway out of the city except to north devanhalli which is just starting up now. toyota , volvo, komatsu, ashok leyland(hosur) have plants around the city. food products, textiles, machine tools, electrical goods, plastic goods, chemicals, medicines, white goods, glass (st gobain), leather, furniture.......blr does produce lot of stuff.

I guess vina saar's throne is safe - for now :mrgreen:

we could use more rain though....its so dry and dusty its tough these days :((

Some time back during the good prosperous days a few years ago people were talking of Cochin-Coimbatore corridor with an IIT thrown in the middle in Palakkad. No such talks anymore.

There is this announcement of 20 new IIITs, wonder why they need a separate institute to train IT people. What is so special about IT compared to regular engineering.

some time back in NDA era there was maps and plans of the Kerala N-S expway that would have revolutionized the speed of transport and logistics there.
that is buried and gone now.
railways in kerala are also probably quite on slower side.

I booked tkts on rajdhani from blr -> delhi yesterday and looked at the expected avg speeds .... NR with its electrified lines and high density shatabdified corridors is way superior to SCR/SR even though the WDP4 diesels are no slouches in speed category. take a look
http://indiarailinfo.com/train/bangalor ... 32/136/748
http://indiarailinfo.com/train/hazrat-n ... 33/748/136
both ways NR is 10-15ks faster.

the avg speed over the 2300km journey with some <10 stops is 70 kmph. this is the premier trainset in the nation with priority at all places.

we need to get that up to around 100. but that means massive nationwide modification investments in infra...piecemeal upg can never help the avg on such long routes.

Cheen is already running 20 HSR rakes between Shanghai and Beijing alone - daily. and many tier2 places also have HSR like nanjing. they have laid a grid to connect all their major cities with HSR. shiver my brothers shiver..nobody has remotely this scale of HSR lines..entire europe probably has less.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... na.svg.png

another facet is 85% of the beijing-tianjin HSR is on viaducts. this is done to create HSR over uneven terrain and keep land acquisition costs low
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... %AB%99.jpg

Bade wrote:Some time back during the good prosperous days a few years ago people were talking of Cochin-Coimbatore corridor with an IIT thrown in the middle in Palakkad. No such talks anymore.

There is this announcement of 20 new IIITs, wonder why they need a separate institute to train IT people. What is so special about IT compared to regular engineering.
We need real engineers. Instead we produced code coolies who can only cut and paste someone else's work after renaming variables (some even forget to do that) and know nothing else. Unfortunately the days of easy money and easy jobs caused this glut.

SEZ thingy is all bullshit it has become a mousetrap of sorts where mofos from government just demarcate and allocate an area for SEZ and go back to sitting on their thumbs , road , water pipes kya in Chootiy@n ka baap banaega ?

Thanks to the ignorant idiots Bangalore is no longer a beautiful city it used to be the Krishna clan has disbursed land in name of SEZs as if it was their father's to give . Bagmane is such an eyesore in middle of a green patch I still wonder how did this land get classified as SEZ it seems to be too close to IA and DRDO , looks like a adarsh type case to me.

If Bagmane is closed and all companies moved out around ORR or even outside a lot of traffic and water problems will be resolved .

I think easy money and easy job availability depends upon where you are in total experience. Anyone with less than 10 years still can find better salaries and finding a job wont be a stretch.
Beyond that, life starts getting tougher and shelf life reduces.

Folks, what does the role of a "PMO" mean in India, especially in the Indian IT Majors (and colonels and brigs). Does this any way come close to the definition as seen in Wiki? In a few India based MNCs PMOs are generally more of office administrative staff. Checking for compliance, and resourcing needs etc. They don't interact with the clients/customers directly, neither do they take part in Project Mgmt activities like schedule and risk tracking etc. The "Project managers" & "Delivery Managers" do that.

In the Chipzilla's IT, there is PMO which is variously called Project / Program / Product Management office under a PMO charirperson or service owner (buzz word nowadays)

It will be full of stakeholders, super users, product / program / project managers

takes PLC decisions, reviews statuses, risks, plans etc

Also will have sessions for future looking technologies

NB: Chipzilla's IT will have a cut soon

bagmane1 used to be a series of low lying lakes. I think part of it was owned by drdo, part was under a farmer. now per my mice spies allegations, biggies clan convinced drdo they would give equivalent land outside city and took partA. the farmer was not very smart and wanted just a big house for himself - which still is there behind juniper office. I think he was also given some land to form his layout...2 streets worth of posh houses perhaps populated by known associates of the biggies. so that way partB was taken.
the rest is history......now i think close to 20,000 people work there...in my era 2006 it was more like 2000.

surajan das road is in such pathetic shape....back then it was a pleasant concreted road with green trees on both sides. it was dug up a year back and not repaired properly.

Congratulations to the folks at Flipkart. It's good to see Indian ecommerce, and hopefully social media sites, grow independently. With the current Rupee/$ rate, they needed a much higher turnover in Rupees to make it to the billion dollar mark than otherwise.
Flipkart, India's reply to Amazon, sees $1 bln sales
India's answer to US online giant Amazon, said Saturday its sales would cross the milestone $1 billion-mark this year, ahead of schedule, in the country's exploding e-commerce market.

Founded in 2007 by two ex-Amazon.com employees and university friends, Flipkart.com has become India's biggest shopping portal hit and has drawn backers such as New-York based venture capitalists Tiger Global Management LLC.

"In March 2011 we announced by 2015 we wanted to hit $1 billion" in sales when they stood at just $10 million, said founders Sanchin Bansal and Binny Bansal, who happen to share the same surname but are unrelated.

Now the privately held firm expects to hit $1 billion in sales "one year before our target" which means "we've grown 100 times in the last three years," the pair, who pool operational responsibilities, said in a statement.

The figures reinforce Flipkart's leadership position in the Indian e-retail market.

The founders, now both 32, said they were "happy and proud" at the progress of Flipkart in which they invested an initial $10,000.

The Bansals are seen as typical of the new risk-ready breed of entrepreneurs that has emerged in India amid years of fast economic growth, relying not on inherited wealth but their own-start up talents to launch businesses.

"E-merchandise retailing sales stood at $1.6 billion in 2013. By 2018, we think they will be $14 billion and in 2023 they will reach $60 billion," Saloni Nangia, president of leading consultancy Technopak Advisors, told AFP.

While there were already Indian online sellers, Flipkart helped sales take off by allowing customers to pay cash-on-delivery, a move Nangia calls a "game-changer".

An increasing number of Indians are going online but they are uncomfortable giving credit card details over the Internet. Others do not have a credit card and the Flipkart method allows them to place orders.

"This cash-on-delivery system helped consumers gain trust in online shopping -- they saw products arrive," Nangia said.
It's important to have homegrown sites running independently, in a world where western sites are clients of their nations' surveillance regimes.

on a smaller local scale, the online grocer bigbasket.com we use has a great UI and delivers promptly and accurately in 2.5 hr slots ususally on same say in weekdays.
and sometimes good discounts on stuff we used to haul back from supermarket.

I hope they don't sell out to western biggies like Amazon or anyone else. They need to grow into powerful local sellers and portals on their own account, dominating the Indian market.

“We have also seen some challenges in skill mismatches between the skills that clients need and what we have, which have led to slowdown in ramp-ups,” Shibulal said.
very strange statement from such a company

krishnan wrote:very strange statement from such a company
Hmm.. I don't find it strange 8). This could be similar to the points we discussed earlier in the thread. The skill mis-match could be on communication, and off course on technical front. Companies like Most Revered Co., and Vegetable Oil.Co now recruit from tier II cities where they get manpower at cheaper rates. And off course with reduced quality. Also what is happening is that due to various policies many senior/skilled people have moved out of such sweat-shops.

The client may be expecting smart young chaps who knows how to investigate and identify problems, and then provide solutions and clearly articulate the point. And Most Revered Co. instead may be having a very junior resource who has to be spoon fed the problem and then the solution, who can then punch in the code and would go bba..bba..bba. when asked questions.

PS: Two weeks back I met a Java/J2EE developer (2 years exp.), and he was whining. He has been assigned to write an SQL query which was to take out a set of 1000 employees, and find the details of their supervisor. Some one had provided him a query which takes on employee # as input, and gives the supervisor details. Now our man was crying that he would have to run the query 1000 times (once for each employee), and it is going to be a time consuming task. Had to explain him on joining queries and how to get the data much quickly. I had stopped writing SQL or Java programs around 6 years back. Our friend was not even interested in doing a self study to check if there is a quicker way to get data.

carmelaram eh? my neck of the woods...decathlon, bigbasket..hopefully with the railway flyover now complete, more big box outlets will come to sarjapur road.

Singha wrote:carmelaram eh? my neck of the woods...decathlon, bigbasket..hopefully with the railway flyover now complete, more big box outlets will come to sarjapur road.
Hmm.. I see more huge tipper trucks and national permit trucks on that road now (which also spills over to other side roads). So expecting traffic jams to happen soon there as well 8).

for us its the local grocery shop from whom we have been buying for almost 15-16 years now

Sachin wrote: PS: Two weeks back I met a Java/J2EE developer (2 years exp.), and he was whining. He has been assigned to write an SQL query which was to take out a set of 1000 employees, and find the details of their supervisor. Some one had provided him a query which takes on employee # as input, and gives the supervisor details. Now our man was crying that he would have to run the query 1000 times (once for each employee), and it is going to be a time consuming task. Had to explain him on joining queries and how to get the data much quickly. I had stopped writing SQL or Java programs around 6 years back. Our friend was not even interested in doing a self study to check if there is a quicker way to get data.
Product of easy job market for 15 years. These types will get weeded out now that Indian job market is seeing some sort of correction. He must be another cut-and-paste programmer. I've seen tons of those from TCS.