I heard one of our sales director cribbing, they are offering ASM services for free if the client agrees to make TCS the sole technology partner

+1.negi wrote:TCS is huge they have good people too who work on pretty neat stuff like indigenous MIL products (tactical commn systems for the IA) so it is ridiculous to use a wide brush and look down upon people just because they belong to a certain company.
Your email address please. I'll put in touch with somebody.Narayana Rao wrote:I want to create a web site. Who in India can provide a good and secure service like that. How to go about it? I am not interested in Infy at all and looking for a Indian company only. Any help gurus.
WARNING - I know almost nothing about software etc and basically a lawyer. So you need to spoon feed me like a baby.
Tend to agree with the comments. These days I generally "check" the hobbies/interests of my immediate managers and the folks in team. If they give a blank look (especially the superiors), then I know I am in for troubleSingha wrote:interesting article here , read the comments also.
My manager says that work life balance is about balancing personal life when in officeSachin wrote:Tend to agree with the comments. These days I generally "check" the hobbies/interests of my immediate managers and the folks in team. If they give a blank look (especially the superiors), then I know I am in for troubleSingha wrote:interesting article here , read the comments also..
Exactly! They were lucky to be at the right place at the right time and smart enough to exploit it. They were not innovators, they were good businessmen.viv wrote:nilekani/murty et al did not really innovate; but they did make money. Not sure why that qualifies them to be considered as thought leaders, be CM/PM/President and what-not.
Interesting read.Singha wrote:interesting article here , read the comments also.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/ ... ml?hpid=z3
KJoishy wrote:Interesting read.Singha wrote:interesting article here , read the comments also.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/ ... ml?hpid=z3
For some reason in India we have the mentality of not caring about our personal life, and take it to be a badge of honor to be in the office 24/7. I was talking to my cousin in BLR some years ago and he told me that I "wouldn't survive"in BLR because people worked so much and we spoiled (and lazy) people in the US would not be able to cope.
![]()
That mindset needs to change in India. Just last month, a coworker's former coworker (an Indian guy) who had been with this Japanese company in it's US location for 18 years got a heart attack and subsequent stroke and went into a coma. He was in that state for 4 weeks and died this past Saturday.
His coworker (I know another guy who worked with him) told me that the company killed him. They overloaded him with work and he just spent all his time doing it. Now he is dead leaving behind a wife and kids.
For a moment I read the bolded word as something else.KJoishy wrote:Oh... you know... Kunal was working all weekend to finish a presentation deck for the CEO... you know... CEO said he cannot go to the meeting without Kunal's deck".
ayyayyo...Raja Bose wrote:For a moment I read the bolded word as something else.KJoishy wrote:Oh... you know... Kunal was working all weekend to finish a presentation deck for the CEO... you know... CEO said he cannot go to the meeting without Kunal's deck".
That Indians spend lot of time in office chattingYogi_G wrote:It is a patent stereotype that people in the US do not put in extra hours and weekends are sacrosanct. Quite a bit of our folks who go there are smitten by the white man's bug and in getting over-MUTU peek spewing this like below,
1. Indians are not time conscious. Americans stick to time.
2. Indians are good at repetitive work.
3. Indians are stingy, play politics and are socially akward.
4. Indians buy only Honda and Toyota.
5. Indians do not call before coming home.
6. Indians are caste and colour conscious.
7. Indians are code coolies.
Apart from that, they also repeat the following white man's lines about other cultures.
1. Russian technology is inferior
2. Japanese learnt technology from America
3. Blacks are all gunmen
4. British civilized the world
Now if you believe all these stereotypes then Son, you need to get your head examined. Feel free to add to the list above.
Lest I forget,
Fischer is the greatest chess player of all time. How could I forget this one in the list above.
I don't doubt the story at all, but I seriously doubt how many managers or superior staff would have the balls to inform the Gora that they would NOT work on a week end, even if the Goras plan to work. Perhaps your company may have been an exceptionYogi_G wrote:The onsite folks would be very angry at this and during sprint planning meetings they would try to pile on stories but the folks and managers would have none of it and would only accept for a few. This went on very smoothly and still continues to do so long after I left the organization.
It pretty much boils to what I said earlier. That many of these folks (especially in IT) does not have a life outside the office. They may watch a match of cricket, but most of them don't even go for a morning walk !KJoishy wrote:You will rarely see any desi tell you he spent the weekend taking his son to the museum or playing soccer with him.
Innovation is not just about comping up with patents; they had an idea which they were able to successfully implement so that credit goes to them . Leave idea/innovation etc etc not being able to innovate is not a sin fck innovation for sake of innovation is not even needed. They were able to execute well Infy today is doing pretty ok if not well that itself is a praiseworthy achievement.viv wrote:nilekani/murty et al did not really innovate; but they did make money. Not sure why that qualifies them to be considered as thought leaders, be CM/PM/President and what-not.
+72There are plenty of ways the Indian IT industry ethos can improve, but an industry doesn't go from a ~$1 billion one to a ~$100 billion 2 decades without a significant number of people doing the right thing at the right time for a sustained period of time.
In 1996, I was working for a magazine and interviewed Devang Mehta, the president of NASSCOM (who died later due to a heart attack in Australia because of his grueling schedule). He used to tell me the kind of lobbying he used to do with the Government and how the babus used to laugh on his face. One top bureaucrat told him that Mehta was lobbying for extra privileges for an industry whose turn-over was then equal to the plastic bucket manufacturing industry of Faridabad!!Suraj wrote:If you told someone in 1994 that in 20 years these 'computer-wale' would be generating a $100 billion/year and dominating their industry, you'd be told to get rid of whatever you were smoking.
Martenullah, here's a true story.Marten wrote:FC Kohli and Dr Kanodia have been forgotten by the same industry that they built. All of these folks, including NRN and Premji are followers who did well using the same model.
Interestingly, i was going through a similar situation. My inputs (based on some website i visited sometime ago):Yogi_G wrote:Cleared a few rounds of technical grilling from a "product" company here. Now they want me to hand over my original education ceritificates once I accept their offer and collect it when I join. The reason they say for this is that they operate in a no-bench model and want to "ensure" the resource joins the organization. Funny thing is they are quite a well known company specializing in some specific domains. The HR person also boldly told me that many "directors" at "Executive" level have handed over their educational certificates and received an "acknowledgment" letter on doing so and collected the certificates upon joining.
I need some help in coming up with some choicest of "parliamentary" words in getting it across to them that they cant do this this in the 21st century in my "offer rejection" letter.
There is not much experience with Agile in my organization. It is learn as you go kind of situation.SRoy wrote: .
The negatives.
1. Architects have a minimal role. Unless there is some oversight mechanism, the end result will be an unmaintainable mess.