rohitvats wrote: If this is what BJP aspires to be or condone, then it will loose the plot faster than you can imagine. If anything, the local person values his personal space and freedom more than anything else.
For the first part.

One thing that is missed is this part:

1. BJP K'taka unit gets in Mutalik
2. Manohar Parrikar does not endorse it
3. There is a twitter outrage and Mutalik is dropped.

Indicates BJP is listening to the ground. Once in a while they might mis-read it or may over-reach their brief in their zeal or just make a stupid mistake., at least it is listening!!! Or is it listening only to twitter warriors since they are vocal minority?

Of course some can say why Sushma is not being listened to as well. It appears that Sushma does not have twitter warriors on her side.

Tell me which other party is listening?

And here is what I see as keyboard warriors have done so far

1. Put Tarun in Jail (yes, that was one high watermark for Twitterattis and I am glad I was there to see it, makes me feel like Forrest Gump)
2. Influence MSM, so much so that MSM has lost the plot whole-heartedly!!

And who brought in this change? Modi was one of the first mainstream politician to take to facebook and twitter. Basically use internet to establish a feedback mechanism!
It seems India needs to be saved from both - bleeding heart secular as well as those who try to explain and condone people like Muthalik.
I do not know where you got the idea that Muthalik is condoned here! If you mean in general by BJP allowing him., then

a. Allowing him into a party is condoning him? No. (Please read below)

b. If Muthalik has *not* changed his gunda-gardi ways., then is BJP endorsing his ways? Hope not. If BJP is really endorsing Mutalik kinds, then yes., it is sad but looks like there are "adharmists who are in our camp as well and how much of haalahal one can sustain?"

c. If Muthalik has changed his gunda-gardi ways and is looking for redemption (has to now reinvent himself as something bigger than goonda)., then is it possible to play tango with him?

A case in point, VHP Gujarat. The loony right got sidelined, just by GoG following a fairly balanced policy on implementing law and order.

IB alert of ‘human bomb’ threat to Modi
The Intelligence Bureau has issued a specific alert of a possible “human bomb” targeting a rally of BJP prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi.

According to sources, the IB alert says the attack may be on the lines of assassination of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi by the LTTE in 1991. The “highly specific” input states that while Modi won’t be shot at, a suicide bomber may target him disguised as a supporter. The alert does not specify the gender of the likely bomber.

The agencies suspect any assassination attempt would be most likely in Modi’s own constituencies of Varanasi and Vadodara.

A red alert concerning a threat to Modi was first issued after he was declared BJP’s PM candidate. Officers in at least three agencies, including the National Investigation Agency (NIA), have been working on specific phone intercepts picked up early August 2013, which have now been shaped into a credible intelligence input.

“The agencies are also working on messages picked up from social networking sites coinciding with poll announcements,” said a senior official.

Security agencies are tracking “floating” members of outfits like the Lashkar-e-Toiba and Indian Mujahideen (IM), and former cadres of SIMI. At least two cells are working on terrorists from splinter groups like the Hizbul Mujahideen.

The IB has issued inputs regarding the security protocol to several states, particularly Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and Maharashtra. “We are keeping a live channel open with these states,” confirmed a senior intelligence official.

While security protocols for some other candidates, including Rahul Gandhi and Arvind Kejriwal, are being worked out, the agencies have instructed at least two states to press in “maximum manpower” during Modi’s rallies.

The NIA also has provided leads picked up from interrogation of IM terrorist Yasin Bhatkal on a possible conspiracy to target Modi.

Modi will be travelling extensively. he should take care about the means of travel - most importantly the helicopters. he should make sure that helis are well oiled and serviced and operationally ready.

rohitvats wrote:And who is going to decide what is OK for a society and HOW will you enforce that point of view?
There are two points to be discussed here.

First of all society itself needs to decide what is OK or not at a societal level and even to state that everything is OK is okay! Point is no One person or group can abbrogate the right to decide or deride on what is OK for a society or not.

In that sense both bleeding heart liberals as well as ultra-right wing culture enforcers are wrong. Though they are well within rights to say 1. pub culture is okay and 2. pub culture is not okay., and they can come to a mutually agreeable terms on what a societal norm should be (that it is okay for an adult to go to pub but not for a kid below 21 years age).

And the second part is enforcement. Mutually agreed societal norms can be "enforced" by society in mutually agreeable terms - that is a self governing society and that is how some tribal societies function. And it is wrong to go and *enforce* your world view on those self governing societies! (there is a difference between "enforcement" and guiding them to a more humane outcome).
By beating up and thrashing people and that too women? Is that what you're defending here? It is not as if these people were creating trouble for anyone or nuisance or indulging in illegal activity? No one gets to tell me what to do with my life as long as I don't create problems for others.
The last sentence is an extrapolation into a personal space leading to outrage. Nobody is endorsing that somebody should tell you what you should do!

For the questions on what I am defending- here it is:

Everybody has equal right. Beating/Thrashing people is illegal. If you have done illegal things, you have to pay per law and after you have paid your legal dues, you have right to be treated equally.

A slightly different yardstick applies in case of politics. In case of politics, it is natural that you need to be examined thoroughly on your past and see if you can move beyond your past. And further you need to convince your voters that you have moved beyond your past and you can be trusted.

In a way that is what Modi has done except he did not commit anything illegal and was wrongly accused of committing illegal.
By your yardstick, even Khap-Panchayats are correct in their diktats against same-gotra marriage and ostracizing families. And families are correct in their acts of 'honor-killing'. After all, these acts of same gotra marriage or even inter-caste marriage upsets the 'culture' of the area.
There is a Khap thread where this were and can be discussed. Just a statement on the bold part, no - families are not correct in act of honor-killing. And for the underlined part - surprisingly I agree with Khaps (and within certain parameters)! Having stated that we can carry the rest in the Khap thread.
There is no place for sh1t-heads like him and those who use the argument of culture to perpetrate such nonsense. Who made them the 'thekedars' of society? Any organization or person doing any such activity in the name of religion or culture is nothing but a goon. Plain and simple.
My smaller point is

Unequal treatment or perception of unequal treatment leads to angst which leads to exploitation by mutalik types. How do you stop such thekedari? I have some opinions but that is that.

My larger point is

All the outrage against the thekedars is well and good. Where is the outrage on the suicide by the professor's wife and the chopping of breasts of the trafficked woman? Will lack of outrage lead to more angst and more thekedars?
And does anyone who oppose such idiots becomes a bleeding heart liberal? Did you see the fire-storm in Twitter against Muthalik's induction into BJP? And by those who have been vocal about BJP and NaMo? Or all these people also wrong in their assessment?
Short answer - No. Also the bleeding heart liberal comment was for the ultra-left liberal types who purposely missed the larger point.
At least BJP is more smart than people on this forum to read the ground pulse and reverse such an idiotic decision.
Yeah BJP in their zeal overstepped and fell apart in order to influence 2-3 seats without looking at the larger picture. Maybe Mutalik should have convened a press conference and said so sorry for his ways and he is ready to mend it and it could have been better.

However yours is also a wrong statement - since you do not have measuring tape for smartness. [Have to do :rotfl:, please do not take it personal]
Last edited by disha on 24 Mar 2014 03:28, edited 1 time in total.

Another urban Naxal found.
‘Sad’ if Modi becomes PM, Tigmanshu Dhulia says

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... ttarget=no

How AAP plans to defeat Modi
Apart from the local team already working in the Varanasi constituency, the party will also mobilise volunteers from across the country. According to Sanjeev Singh, AAP's convenor of the Poorvanchal zone in UP, over 150 volunteers from different states have already expressed their interest in joining his team in Varanasi to campaign for Kejriwal after the rally on March 25.

The party will also send some of its most efficient volunteers from Delhi after voting for its seven Lok Sabha seats is over on April 10. "Varanasi goes to poll in the last phase on May 12, which means the tried-and-tested cadre of Delhi will be free to help in the Varanasi campaign. We expect 400 to 500 of our volunteers from Delhi to move to the Varanasi seat after April 10," said AAP member Adarsh Shastri
the party is also sourcing help from Gujarat to campaign against its chief minister. "Kejriwal has been trying to expose Modi's claims on development in Gujarat. But when the people of Banaras hear the truth about Modi from Gujaratis themselves that will have a different impact," said Sanjeev Srivastav, secretary of AAP's Gujarat unit
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... pe=bycount

JE Menon wrote:Mutalik is out. The problem is not his point of view, but that he was prepared to engage in violence and break the law do to get it across. Probably because he could not convince the targets in any other way. In any case, he had ink thrown at him as well, a lighter taste of his own medicine I suppose.
:mrgreen: Since I have to respond to all BRadmins today-

Agree on the bolded part., a point to ponder - does Mutalik types serve a purpose to show a mirror to the society? In a way like your own immune system, tries to go around and thrash some "germs" - sometimes goes overboard and causes asthma/rheumatoid arthritis!

Do not we need our own Mutaliks then?

Bosted here coz it relates to die-nasty...

Arun Jaitley, Amarinder Singh in war of words over Sonia Gandhi

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/jait ... 50853.html

The offending Jaitley quote was, apparently:
Questioning Amarinder's remark about his being labelled as an "outsider" and "pseudo-Punjabi" in the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, Jaitley had asked on Saturday in his blog: "Will he be kind enough to tell me to which state in India does Mrs Sonia Gandhi belong to?"
:p

At which point, amrindar goes paki in a command(ing) performance..
Lashing out at the BJP's "chauvinistic and xenophobic rabble rousing" attempts to question Gandhi's origins, Amarinder said: "Every time you (BJP) have tried to rake up this issue you have badly lost."

Accusing Jaitley of lowering the level of debate, Amarinder said that his "newfound love for his Punjabi-roots was sheer opportunism".
:D...hey, where's the rofl icon?

Not good sign!. "Lotta" Shankaracharya objecting to the slogan, i hope fire gets extinguished early.
Ashwini stoops, Lalmuni firm
NALIN VERMA

Patna, March 23: The crisis in the BJP deepened today. Party nominee from Buxar, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, fell at Lalmuni Chaubey’s feet to coax him against contesting as an Independent but the latter was unmoved.

Ashwini reached Lalmuni’s house around 5am and wept uncontrollably. But the four-term septuagenarian MP from Buxar asserted: “Mere saath anyay hua hai, bardasht nahin karunga (Injustice has been meted out to me. I won’t tolerate it). I am not a liar. I will not give you (Ashwini) false hopes of changing my decision.”

Given Lalmuni’s standing as the party’s Brahmin face with nearly four decades of parliamentary and legislative experience, not to overlook the fact that he might damage the prospects of Ashwini, as well as Narendra Modi’s in neighbouring Varanasi, the BJP is all out to placate him.

Sushil Kumar Modi, BJP general secretary and Bihar in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan and senior RSS leaders met Lalmuni. But the angry Brahmin from Sahabad — dominated by Rajput descendents of Kuer Singh and traditional Kanyakubja and Saryupareen Brahmins — stuck to his guns. He questioned the “emerging order” in the BJP under Narendra Modi.

“The party’s founders — A.B. Vajpayee, L.K. Advani and Jaswant Singh — are still alive. As an old party activist, I feel ashamed to find present-day leaders not raising slogans in their favour. The founding fathers are missing from the party’s posters too. I am not going to take the party’s degeneration lying down,” he told The Telegraph.

Party sources said unlike Jaswant, opposed by Rajasthan chief minister Vasundhara Raje Scindia, a strong lobby of “old guards” from the upper castes back Lalmuni. C.P. Thakur and Giriraj Singh had, apparently, registered their opposition to the “emerging order” by playing truant at Narendra Modi’s Muzaffarpur rally.

Some leaders fear Lalmuni’s revolt was bigger than the blast at Modi’s Hunkar Rally last year. “The Lalmuni bomb might rip the party apart from within,” said a BJP leader on condition of anonymity.

Party insiders talked of a “growing division in the party on caste lines”. The Brahmin-Bhumihar lobby, the party’s core strength, supposedly “resents” the emergence of backward class leader Sushil Modi and the over-emphasis on Narendra Modi’s OBC roots.

“OBCs and EBCs will not shun their loyalty to entrenched backward class leaders like Nitish and Lalu Prasad overnight. But an over-emphasis on Modi’s OBC roots might create suspicion in the minds of upper caste leaders who left the Congress to join the BJP in the 1990s,” said a senior BJP strategist who fears “playing the backward class card might boomerang on the party”.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1140324/j ... y938KYzc38

^^ I still say, NM sould personally intervene to get Ashwini Cahubey his old bhagalpur seat and Lalmuni his buxar one. Shahnawaz can go contest from somewhere/anywhere else. Can be accommodated into RS if necessary.

gandharva wrote:Must Watch! Amit Shah is God's gift to India.

Admirable composure and responding with facts against a blatantly biased crowd. Incredible how biased and completely partisan the Indian press seems to be.

Blistering attack on Sonia. One might add very valid quesions coming from a family insider

How did Sonia Gandhi become so rich? Maneka Gandhi asks (TOI)
Accusing the UPA chairperson of indulging in large scale corruption, Maneka while addressing a public meeting on Thursday evening in Puranpur tehsil, under the Pilibhit parliamentary constituency, said, "Congress president jab videsh se shaadi hokar aayi thi to yahan ki janata ne unhe itna pyar aur dulaar diya. Lekin aaj videshi media ke anusaar woh duniya ki chathi amir mahila hain. Aakhir kaise?" (When she came to India as a newly-wed, Sonia Gandhi was showered with love and affection by the people of this country. But now, as per claims of the western media, she is the sixth richest woman in the world. How?)

Not stopping at that, Maneka asked, "Shaadi ke samay dahej mein kuch bhi saath nahi laayi thi, tab phir itna paisa kahan se aaya. Yeh hamari zindagi, hamare bahchon ke bhawishya se aaya hai. Jo paisa unke liye road, school , bijli ke liye tha, usi ko le liya." (She, Sonia, had brought nothing as dowry, so where did all this money come from? Perhaps by gobbling funds meant for schools, roads, power projects, and by robbing the future of our children.)

The barbs did not end there. Maneka went on to accuse the UPA government of financial bungling, which she said was "100 times more than that during the time of British rulers".

Meanwhile command performances flood in from the khangress camp...
As news of Maneka's vitriol spread, unhappy Congress leaders pounced on her. Congress candidate from Pilibhit Sanjay Kapoor said, "It is very unfortunate to hear such statements from a person of Maneka Gandhi's stature. She is talking about dahej in this age where it is considered a punishable offence. Soniaji stands out as an apostle of sacrifice who turned down the post of prime minister despite having the support of more than 300 MPs. On the other hand, both Maneka and her son Varun, have always indulged in divisive politics pitting Hindus against Muslims."

"Party sources claimed the top brass knew nothing about his induction, and tried to use the development to blacken the L.K. Advani camp, locked in a tussle with the current pro-Modi dispensation.

They claimed the “operation” had been planned by general secretary Ananth Kumar and his acolyte Prahlad Joshi, the state unit chief, in tandem with Advani and Sushma Swaraj to “discredit” Modi and show him up as a “Hindutva hardliner”.

“Just when Modi is trying hard to keep his focus on development and governance, this trio is putting spokes in the wheel. I swear Joshi would not have done this without Ananth’s blessings,” a Karnataka BJP source said."

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1140324/j ... y-B6aYzc38

Bji and other astro gurus is there any threat looming in NaMo's horoscope in the near future ?

Why I Joined BJP: M J Akbar

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/art ... aign=cppst

The answer, in a nutshell, is Modi.

Now, its possible MJA is a trojan - a naseer in sarfarosh mould. Time will tell. But the man has his uses, at this stage in the game anyway.

All these guys TBH are fairweather puppets joining the BJP for their own ends. Come one Gujarat type issue out of the blue, they'll revert to their true colors and start blaming one side alone. Sorry to be cynical, but seen too many of them already.
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

suryag wrote:Bji and other astro gurus is there any threat looming in NaMo's horoscope in the near future ?
He is traveling a lot that means Venus is ascendant, also because of Mercury (raising in summer) he has to watch for Gastroenteritis.
Remember Venus is associated with water as well. Venus is Kalathra karaka so a soul mater may be shadowing him.

I leave the rest to BJ ji
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

MJ Akbar has come a long way from the times of the magazine Sunday

disha wrote:Again

"pub culture" is an euphemism for a disruptive change in societal norms.

Examples of disruptive changes:

1. Women going to colleges and joining professional courses
2. Women joining professions outside of "traditional" care giver roles.
3. Higher purchasing power in youngsters < 25 years of age particularly women!
4. Birth control - empowers women! Leading to freer sex.

And all of the above are indic :-)
Modern? Yes.
Western? Recently.
'Indic'? How is it 'Indic'?

All the things mentioned by you are not viewed favorably by any Indic tradition, as far I know.

Pub culture is not new. Even women taking drugs, smoking, or drinking is/was prevalent in history. The difference is when such a culture is celebrated as 'enlightened'/'egalitarian' and when it is thrashed as 'crude'/'rustic'. My own grandma(and most of her friends) and grandpa, who is not even educated, drinks(does not smoke, though). But, my mom or dad don't smoke or drink. In our family, its kind of considered 'crude' behaviour to drink. A sort of rustic/rowdy thing to do.

This whole business of thinking that women are working for the first time in history is also nonsense. Many women have been working in history even as labourers. Again, it is the question of whether it was followed by high classes or low classes. Generally, women of low classes are used to working due to financial needs while women of higher classes don't need to work because they already have all their needs met. Of course, at even higher levels when power is involved, women and men competing for it is also not unknown.

So, I frankly fail to understand what is so different. The only thing that seems to be different is celebrating this as some kind of never seen before situation. All this thinking seems to be rooted in the belief that the humanity is developing from caveman civilization to better civilization(and the modern/western civilization represents the height of it). So, obviously, with a thinking like that, any thing that happens today would be considered better than what happened in the past.

But, strictly speaking it seems to me that the situation is getting worse for both genders. Both men and women are forced to fend for themselves with no one taking care of them. And both of them have to work for some corporation/sarkaar like slaves all their lives and even at the fag end of their lives, they are left with very little savings.

The glorification of 'career women' is useful for corporations because it gets them labour. More labour means less wages. This whole propaganda that somehow 'working women' represent the height of civilization seems wrong to me.

Its not even about choice really. Because the society does force its views on people directly or indirectly. Today, there is a lot of pressure on women to work regardless of whether they want to work or not. And even if they want to work, its mostly because they have been told repeatedly that having a career(i.e. kowtowing to your boss) is somehow more respectable than being a homemaker(i.e kowtowing to your family).

If one sits down and makes cost-benefit analysis, it seems like people have not really gained much except the perception of having gained a lot. The only thing that really seems to be the difference is technology.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

rohitvats wrote:So, Muthalik's goons attacking and thrashing girls in a pub is an example of INDIC forces? You think people like him represent Indian culture and thrashing people because they don't fall into your definition of Indic culture is OK? What next?
Some reports I read that time about the incident said the pub was apparently a place where impressionable Hindu teenage girls were being groomed (in compromising position) by their Muslim "boyfriends."

Hari Seldon wrote:^^ I still say, NM sould personally intervene to get Ashwini Cahubey his old bhagalpur seat and Lalmuni his buxar one. Shahnawaz can go contest from somewhere/anywhere else. Can be accommodated into RS if necessary.
Bhagalpur still has sizeable mainrority voters who voted in Sahnawaz in 2009, he will be alright here will collect plenty of votes
from all the shades of Tricolor. Chaubey janab will win from anywhere in Bihar and even from UP's Balia and Gazipur so all in all it is a good strategy.

suryag wrote:Bji and other astro gurus is there any threat looming in NaMo's horoscope in the near future ?
why do you think hororscope gonna have effect on NaMo? let me ask you this
did not Lord Shree Ram have enough mustard oil to offer to Shani? or there were no iron nainls from horses hoofs in whole of Bharat? Emperor Yudhishtir did not have any Pepal tree to offer Mustard oil in his whole kingdom? all of them were Karm yogi
so is NaMo, so we all should be, these Kundali Yoga dasha etc. etc. makes you akarmanaya(lazy and not fulling ones duty==adharmic==sinner)

Only Amit Shah to run Modi show

With four members of the BJP publicity sub-committee getting busy with their own elections, the party has entrusted Shah with overseeing the poll-related publicity.

Besides Shah, the panel included Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Ananth Kumar, Varun Gandhi and Sudhanshu Trivedi.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... 99602.aspx

Hari Seldon wrote:Why I Joined BJP: M J Akbar

The answer, in a nutshell, is Modi.

Now, its possible MJA is a trojan - a naseer in sarfarosh mould. Time will tell. But the man has his uses, at this stage in the game anyway.
MJA simply proves that a good lawyer can argue both sides of the same case. But behind all these fancy words, there seems to be simple political opportunism...like any common power-hungry politician despite all the pretensions of being an intellectual.

About MJA:
Did MJA write anything about Azad Maidan mob assault? Assam riots? Stopping of Kamal Hassan's movie?

Sometimes, what is not said conveys more than what is said...
A thought experiment on women being beaten by Muthalik's goons:
If Muthalik had raised women cadre and they had gone and beaten the drunkard women, then would there have been as much outrage as there was?

The experiment is to raise a question: what exactly is the outrage about?
a) Women being beaten?
b) Women being beaten by men?
c) Pub culture(i.e. drinking, smoking, dancing, drugging...etc) should be allowed and not be shunned?
d) Violence?
e) Violence by non-state forces?
f) Violence by anyone who claims to be Hindhuthva?

Hari Seldon wrote:^^ I still say, NM sould personally intervene to get Ashwini Cahubey his old bhagalpur seat and Lalmuni his buxar one. Shahnawaz can go contest from somewhere/anywhere else. Can be accommodated into RS if necessary.
Hari ji, Shahnawaj is the more deserving candidate for Bhagalpur. He has done more fieldwork in Bhagalpur than 90% of the MPs. I will give you an example of how involved Shahnawaj is in Bhagalpur. In marriage season, he does rounds of Bhagalpur and visits whichever wedding he can(without invitation) and congratulates the couple. The families involved are overwhelmed that the MP has visited them.

Bottomline is that he is accesible, is energetic and has done lot of work in field and for the people. He is not like one of those BJP's Rajya Sabha members permanently enconsed in Air conditioned rooms.

If BJP has even 50% of its MPs as involved in field as Shahnawaj is, it would do wonders for the party. This goes for anyother party. Leaders like Murli Manohar Joshi can learn from him.

So even though he is a muslim, I do admire him for his work. And it is better if he contests from Bhagalpur.

BJP veterans’ dissent is outcome of a plan to shore up Narendra Modi’s leadership

NEW DELHI: There's a Modi-related method behind making a few BJP elders mad. BJP seniors, from LK Advani to Jaswant Singh and a few in between, expressing their unhappiness has been generally interpreted as dissent going out of hand. But, as several BJP leaders ET spoke to said, the denial of tickets or seats of choice is a thought-out strategy — the aim is to create a unified command structure, avoiding multiplicity of power centres, before, during and, most crucially, after polls.

Read more at:

So even though he is a muslim, I do admire him for his work. And it is better if he contests from Bhagalpur.
IIRC a few years ago, he had kidnapped a Hindu girl. He was in Laloo's party. It was all over the news.

niran wrote:
Bhagalpur still has sizeable mainrority voters who voted in Sahnawaz in 2009, he will be alright here will collect plenty of votes
from all the shades of Tricolor. Chaubey janab will win from anywhere in Bihar and even from UP's Balia and Gazipur so all in all it is a good strategy.
If so, fine. However, my chaiwala tells of rumblings due to lalmuni chaubey's rebellion and standing as an independent in buxar. Sure, I attribute to pure mischief if not malice the dinosaur media's reports of a upper-caste (rajput-bhumihar) disenchantment in Bihar due to 'overprojection' of NM's OBC-ness and SuMo's OBC credentials but typically there's no smoke sans fire onlee.

Also, the udhampur seat has zimbly been gifted away, sad to say only. Sala jab every seat effing counts like no tomorrow - all the difference between 210 and 230 - how can not every seat get full consideration, ask I...

Paul wrote:
IIRC a few years ago, he had kidnapped a Hindu girl. He was in Laloo's party. It was all over the news.
He won in 98 or 99 by chance due to three way fight where two other candidates were Muslims.No body expected him to win.But he won and given the scarcity of Muslim MPs in BJP, ABV made him minister. "Shakal se Chor lagta hai".

Paul wrote:

Paul, you are mistaking Shahnawaz for someone else. Shahnawaj has never been in Laloo's party. He is married to a Hindu lady yes. But he is definitely not the criminal type. Far from it.

149 Moby Thesaurus words for "rustic":
Arcadian, Bauer, Spartan, agrarian, agrestic, agricultural,
agriculturalist, agriculturist, agrologist, agronomist,
apple knocker, artless, ascetic, austere, awkward, backwoods,
backwoodsman, bald, bare, boor, boorish, bucolic, bumpkin,
campestral, candid, clod, cloddish, clodhopper, clown,
coffee-planter, collective farm worker, common, commonplace,
countrified, country, country bumpkin, country cousin, countryman,
countrywoman, crofter, cropper, crude, cultivator, direct,
dirt farmer, dry, dry farmer, dull, exurbanite, farm, farm laborer,
farmer, farmhand, frank, gawky, gentleman farmer, granger,
greenhorn, grower, guileless, harvester, harvestman, haymaker,
hayseed, hick, hillbilly, homely, homespun, husbandman, ingenuous,
jay, kibbutznik, kolkhoznik, kulak, lean, looby, lout, loutish,
lowland, lumpen, matter-of-fact, mossback, mountaineer, muzhik,
naive, natural, neat, oaf, oafish, open, outland, pastoral,
peasant, peasant holder, picker, plain, plain-speaking,
plain-spoken, planter, plodding, plowboy, plowman, prosaic,
prosing, prosy, provincial, pure, raiser, rancher, ranchman,
reaper, redneck, ridge runner, rough, rube, rural, severe,
sharecropper, simple, simple-speaking, sober, sower, spare, stark,
straightforward, suburbanite, tea-planter, tenant farmer, tiller,
tree farmer, truck farmer, unadorned, unaffected, uncomplicated,
uncultivated, uncultured, ungainly, unimaginative, unmannerly,
unpoetical, unpolished, unrefined, unsophisticated, unvarnished,
upland, woodsy, yap, yeoman, yokel

The above list does not include "rowdy". I would take "unsophisticated" and "plain-speaking" leaders like Modi any day over the sophistry laden Kejriwal or "sophisticated" Mani Iyer.

matrimc wrote: "sophisticated" Mani Iyer.
:eek: :eek:
Iyer janab sophisticated?!?!?! methinks will have to redefine the word.
most rotten person you will ever meet rotten from the core to the all the body openings.

"Sophistication" has "sophistry" as its etymological root.

sophistry
n 1: a deliberately invalid argument displaying ingenuity in
reasoning in the hope of deceiving someone [syn: sophism,
sophistry, sophistication]

152 Moby Thesaurus words for "sophistry":
Italian hand, acuteness, aesthetics, ambiguity, argument,
argument by analogy, argumentum ad baculum,
argumentum ad captandum, argumentum ad hominem, art, artfulness,
artifice, astuteness, axiology, bad case, begging the question,
cageyness, callidity, canniness, casuistry, circular argument,
claptrap, cleverness, college of Laputa,
corruption, cosmology,
craft, craftiness, crossed fingers, crowd-pleasing argument,
cunning, cunningness, deception, deceptiveness, deduction,
deductive reasoning, delusion, demonstration, discourse,
discourse of reason, discursive reason, disingenuousness,
emptiness
, empty words, epistemology, equivocation, ethics,
fallacy, fine Italian hand, finesse, first philosophy,
formal fallacy, foxiness, gamesmanship, gnosiology, guile,
hollow mockery, hollowness, hysteron proteron, induction,
inductive reasoning, ingeniousness, insidiousness,
insincere argument, insincerity
, inventiveness, jesuitry, logic,
logical fallacy, logical thought, material fallacy,
mental philosophy, mere rhetoric, metaphysics, misdirection,
misguidance, misinformation, misinstruction, misknowledge,
misleading, misteaching, mockery
, moonshine, moral philosophy,
mystification, non sequitur, obfuscation, obscurantism,
obscuration, one-upmanship, ontology, paralogism, perversion,
petitio principii, phenomenology, philosophastry,
philosophic doctrine, philosophic system, philosophic theory,
philosophical inquiry, philosophical speculation, philosophism,
philosophy, proof, pseudosyllogism, ratiocination, rationalism,
rationality, rationalization, rationalizing, readiness, reason,
reasonableness, reasoning, resourcefulness, satanic cunning,
school of philosophy, school of thought, science of being,
sharpness, shiftiness, shrewdness, slipperiness, slyness,
sneakiness
, solecism, sophism, specious reasoning, speciousness,
spuriousness, stealth, stealthiness
, subtilty, subtleness,
subtlety, suppleness, sweet reason, tergiversation,
theory of beauty, theory of knowledge, tongue in cheek, trickiness,
uncandidness, uncandor, unfrankness
, value theory, verbal fallacy,
wariness, weak point, wiles, wiliness, wit

gandharva wrote: "Shakal se Chor lagta hai".
Kindly explain your comment. For who was it and what are your reasons behind commenting on his face looking like a thief.
Another question, what do people get by bringing down the standards of posts on BRF. Should these people be considered good members who have only good of the forum in mind?

Did anyone watch this show? Was it so blatant?
Dr. Praveen Patil @5Forty3

#ShameOnAmirKhan He brings in Sonia's NAC chief Aruna Roy in the final segment of an anti-corruption show! Amir trusts only UPA & Sonia G!
Expand

22h

#ShameOnAmirKhan After praising every corrupt Congress govt, now says no single leader (read Modi) has a solution for India's problems
Expand

22h

After Rajasthan (previous Gehlot govt.) and AP, now Amir chooses Kerala (another Congress ruled state) to praise to the sky! #ShamOnAmirKhan
Expand

22h

#ShameOnAmirKhan for doing a show on corruption scams and not even mentioning 2G, CWG, Coalgate and million others scams of UPA!
Expand

22h

News TV debates don't have any impact on voters, but Amir Khan show effects voters. #ShameOnAmirKhan for blatantly promoting Congress!

SanjayC

>>Some reports I read that time about the incident said the pub was apparently a place where impressionable Hindu teenage girls were being groomed (in compromising position) by their Muslim "boyfriends."

Any links? Would be interesting to read. Please post them as quickly as you can. :)

Disha,

Whether we need more Muthaliks is endlessly debatable, much as we debate whether we need viruses (or whatever the metaphor was). But that we have them is self-evident. The question is whether we want them. That can only be determined based on existing law, social norms, and social negotiation through public debate and the medium of elections such as they are.

This is the only reasonably representative and reliable way of determining whether some norm which Muthalik and his thugs advocate is wanted by society. Let him campaign and win if he wishes. Apparently the BJP themselves don't want this man, whom I consider a borderline psycopath, in their ranks, which is wise. Do you know how many women in today's India (especially young ones) the BJP will lose if they bring this fellow in? Well I don't think anybody does. And the leadership is not taking any chances, not at this late date. Fortunately, they handled it in timely fashion and well.

darshhan wrote: Hari ji, Shahnawaj is the more deserving candidate for Bhagalpur. He has done more fieldwork in Bhagalpur than 90% of the MPs. I will give you an example of how involved Shahnawaj is in Bhagalpur. In marriage season, he does rounds of Bhagalpur and visits whichever wedding he can(without invitation) and congratulates the couple. The families involved are overwhelmed that the MP has visited them.

Bottomline is that he is accesible, is energetic and has done lot of work in field and for the people. He is not like one of those BJP's Rajya Sabha members permanently enconsed in Air conditioned rooms.

If BJP has even 50% of its MPs as involved in field as Shahnawaj is, it would do wonders for the party. This goes for anyother party. Leaders like Murli Manohar Joshi can learn from him.

Main takleef against Shahnawaz is that he is an outsider to Bhagalpur. He is a native of Supaul, and lives there, but contests from safe Bhagalpur than fight the odds in Supaul, or as he did a couple of times in the past, Kishanganj. I am against giving safe seats to anyone. If Shahnawaz wants to be a BJP leader, he should fight his way up from his native Supaul or Kishanganj, rather than cadge on Bhagalpur.

Disha ji

Muthaliks are essential. This one was rogue, blew his cover And is a junk bond. There are several better muthaliks in BD. In fact we now need a strong BD network in kerala and TN to protect Hindus. The BD and Durga Vahini network of ganga valley also needs to be recalibrated and updated for second generation of impending threats.

nageshks wrote:
darshhan wrote: Hari ji, Shahnawaj is the more deserving candidate for Bhagalpur. He has done more fieldwork in Bhagalpur than 90% of the MPs. I will give you an example of how involved Shahnawaj is in Bhagalpur. In marriage season, he does rounds of Bhagalpur and visits whichever wedding he can(without invitation) and congratulates the couple. The families involved are overwhelmed that the MP has visited them.

Main takleef against Shahnawaz is that he is an outsider to Bhagalpur. He is a native of Supaul, and lives there, but contests from safe Bhagalpur than fight the odds in Supaul, or as he did a couple of times in the past, Kishanganj. I am against giving safe seats to anyone. If Shahnawaz wants to be a BJP leader, he should fight his way up from his native Supaul or Kishanganj, rather than cadge on Bhagalpur.
Nageshji, While RSS is strong in bhagalpur, by no means it is a safe seat for BJP. There is a tough fight between BJP and RJD with BJP having a slight edge. And as of now Shahnawaz is fairly well respected in Bhagalpur and he has earned it. He is no longer an outsider.