Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

kancha

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Post by kancha »

Singh wrote:armed forces and dependents might have some impact in cantonment towns like delhi west but otherwise too small.
Hmmm...Since there are over 12 lakh in the Indian military and even more including dependents, I was thinking they could make a big difference now that they are allowed to vote. Also, would they be more prone to vote for the BJP?
As per a recent report in Chindu, about 1Lac serving personnel have registered to vote in Punjab itself. Given the fact that they are a concentrated vote bank in cantonments, this WILL make a difference. posting from my mobile so cannot post the link. A Google search for 'Armed Forces as a Vote Bank' will take u there.
This is going to change a lot of things.

BJP Press Conference on alliance with Apna Dal in Uttar Pradesh

niran wrote:mainority people
Nice one! If no objections, I plan to use it

Singh wrote:armed forces and dependents might have some impact in cantonment towns like delhi west but otherwise too small.
kancha wrote:
Hmmm...Since there are over 12 lakh in the Indian military and even more including dependents, I was thinking they could make a big difference now that they are allowed to vote. Also, would they be more prone to vote for the BJP?
As per a recent report in Chindu, about 1Lac serving personnel have registered to vote in Punjab itself. Given the fact that they are a concentrated vote bank in cantonments, this WILL make a difference. posting from my mobile so cannot post the link. A Google search for 'Armed Forces as a Vote Bank' will take u there.
This is going to change a lot of things.
Gain for INC? :eek:
Armed Forces (despite being patriotic and professional) has a quite a large share of brown sahibs.
Don't bank too much on them.

Post by Sanjay »

niran, hope your hospital visit was ok.

How are things shaping up for the BJP in your neck of the woods ?

SandeepA wrote:[qudishaMay 22, 1971 - Buddha smiled and Buddh Purnima
I just have this nagging feeling that AAP backers may want to pull off a Ukraine on us and have him start off a 'revolution' just stop NM. Need to be ever more vigilant.
More i think of this, it wont happen that easily. Modi suppporting Crowd will be 100s of time bigger, "aggresive" and eager to convert AAP in Khaak. It will be all over in few hours and no one will even miss the tea over these Anarchist Terrorists. Now Miss Powel got Embowled, Uncle have tactically admitted Modi Victory over Maino and MainMow combo.

AAP is a distraction, the actual color revolution that is happening is the "Saffron Color Revolution" orchestrated by Modi and his team. The revolution is so huge and inclusive that people in it are not able to recognize they are part of the revolution.

ps: Looks like stones were pelted in the Nitish rally :-)

Santosh wrote:This is so stressful. Is BJP TDP alliance done deal? I hate to see a critical state like AP not on board with national level politics. 10 years of Cong has really screwed AP.
Don't worry saar, rising tide lifts all boats.

SRoy wrote: Gain for INC? :eek:
Armed Forces (despite being patriotic and professional) has a quite a large share of brown sahibs.
It's hard to say. Pension benefits are one thing, but poor pay, poor equipment and "mar jawan" sentiment will also have an impact. It may be an even wash where INC and BJP votes cancel each other.
In the US, officers vote Republican and enlisted vote Democratic. My personal guess is that in India we may see officers vote INC and JCOs vote BJP.

Supratik wrote:Where is the BPF in Assam? I don't see them loosing Kokrajhar.
BPF in Assam is in a bit of a mess. Sansuma Bwiswamuthiary (Kokrajhar MP from as long as I can remember) was denied ticket and he is kicking up a racket. He may contest as a rebel. In the meantime, BJP has supported U G Brahma of BPPF in return for ABSU/BPPF support in Mangaldoi, Barpeta and Tezpur. After Bodo-Bangladeshi riots, BPF has lost a bit of sheen. So, BPF may lose Kokrajhar if BPPF can get its act together. Does anyone know where Sabda Ram Rabha is these days? If BJP can funnel Rabha support to Brahma (in addition to their Bengali Hindu vote), they can ensure Brahma wins.
kancha

Post by kancha »

SRoy wrote: Gain for INC? :eek:
It's hard to say. Pension benefits are one thing, but poor pay, poor equipment and "mar jawan" sentiment will also have an impact. It may be an even wash where INC and BJP votes cancel each other.
In the US, officers vote Republican and enlisted vote Democratic. My personal guess is that in India we may see officers vote INC and JCOs vote BJP.
Mort, SRoy, can you elaborate a bit where you get this from?
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

No brainer. All these MOD scams benefit the officers who picker a good deal of money and makes the jawans at mercy end as they have to deal with sub-standard equipment in life threat situations! I have never seen a retired officer living in a small flat or house. They always seem to build grand houses which does not correlate to their salary. I also know a number of ex-officers who come to work for industry greeds for money rather than sewa!
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

I think that few days are left for polls to start. We should all spell out the magic figures we believe that NDA will reach so that we can compare at hind sight. I will go first. My take is that NDA will be close to 300.

subhamoy.das wrote:I think that few days are left for polls to start. We should all spell out the magic figures we believe that NDA will reach so that we can compare at hind sight. I will go first. My take is that NDA will be close to 300.
IMHO,NDA will get between 312-335 Seats in Parliament.

Bhajpa - 160-180 and NDA 210-230 yeh wave shev dont translate to votes yaar
kancha

Post by kancha »

subhamoy.das wrote:No brainer. All these MOD scams benefit the officers who picker a good deal of money and makes the jawans at mercy end as they have to deal with sub-standard equipment in life threat situations! I have never seen a retired officer living in a small flat or house. They always seem to build grand houses which does not correlate to their salary. I also know a number of ex-officers who come to work for industry greeds for money rather than sewa!
Wow! That's a pretty broad brush.

Less than 100. BJP will lose onree.

Lotus: 210-230.
kongis: 40-60.(even 40 seems a lot!)
aaptards: 1-5.
AkshayM

Post by AkshayM »

BJP/NDA: 248/298
Con/UPA: 51/112
AAP: 0
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

subhamoy.das wrote:I think that few days are left for polls to start. We should all spell out the magic figures we believe that NDA will reach so that we can compare at hind sight. I will go first. My take is that NDA will be close to 300.
BJP will be 272+ on its own and the NDA will go to at least 310.

my wish
Lotus 543
others 0

but in real world
Lotus++==353(NDA )
anjan

Post by anjan »

subhamoy.das wrote: I have never seen a retired officer living in a small flat or house. They always seem to build grand houses which does not correlate to their salary. I also know a number of ex-officers who come to work for industry greeds for money rather than sewa!
Quite an allegation there friend. Care to back it up? Would you like pictures of 2 bedroom flats in AWHOs across the country? I suppose in your opinion that's too good for those dumb folks too. Meh, they should be in slums instead.
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

BJP 205 (25 less than the best survey result, since some ppl will rest their mushy at home instead of going out to vote). NDA 240.

BJP 270+ on its own

Bjp will not cross 100

BJP will do 10% better than 1999. BJP ~ 200, NDA - depends on how many are needed for 272 and cost will be Rs. 15 crore per MP. NDA must come at any price.
bhargava

Post by bhargava »

TIFWIW

BJP will win two MPs - LKA & SS

kumar vishwas should be allowed nowhere near the BJP. he brings no value. probable double agent.

NDAs best bet to make up 272 if falling short is Biju and Mamata. sure they will demand their packages for the state level, and these states need it anyway, but they probably wont be out to pull the rug on any pretext at central level or play dirty politics. both have not attacked Namo personally - yet.

next best would be the mercurial JJ who tied up with the commies, then deftly broke the alliance next week. major ego issues might arise if her wishes are not placated though. best avoided if at all possible.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Singha wrote:NDAs best bet to make up 272 if falling short is Biju and Mamata. sure they will demand their packages for the state level, and these states need it anyway, but they probably wont be out to pull the rug on any pretext at central level or play dirty politics. both have not attacked Namo personally - yet.

next best would be the mercurial JJ who tied up with the commies, then deftly broke the alliance next week. major ego issues might arise if her wishes are not placated though. best avoided if at all possible.
If JJ wins 25 seats there is a good chance she might become Deputy PM in a BJP Govt. If you ahve noticed Modi and JJ do not attack each other that much.

she is like a H-bomb though . useful when in control. extremely dangerous when not. ideally Namo should NOT have to spend precious cycles placating and managing allies and becoming a single point of failure in the NDA. he has to revive the economy, clean various congi created messes AND deal with a looming drought this summer. any failure in drought relief will hurt the NDA politically. hawks are always circling.

Didi also has a huge ego, but may be better ally as she wants to rule WB with a iron fist and complete the dismantling and burning the commies down to the tap root level.

havent studied Bijuda much. "looks" like a reasonable man.

all three will have considerable number of MPs....perhaps around 50 in total. TDP is also there. so yeah NDA need not be too worried about finding numbers if they can get to 230 on their own.

i doubt jj will want to become a deputy anything. she is not the type to play second fiddle. why leave chennai where she is queen..

she is best avoided, but is probably the better choice of those outside NDA now, barring BJD and TDP (what is happening with that???)

compared to mayawati, mamta etc, JJ is better as at least she has some sort of connection at personal level with modi and might be more amicable if modi handles her properly.

Anantha wrote:
Singha wrote:NDAs best bet to make up 272 if falling short is Biju and Mamata. sure they will demand their packages for the state level, and these states need it anyway, but they probably wont be out to pull the rug on any pretext at central level or play dirty politics. both have not attacked Namo personally - yet.

If JJ wins 25 seats there is a good chance she might become Deputy PM in a BJP Govt. If you ahve noticed Modi and JJ do not attack each other that much.
she wont, unless she buys her way through, this time its going to be tough , expect AIADMK to win less than 20

:rotfl: touche
member_28397

Post by member_28397 »

BJP - 203
CON - 95
AAP - 3

NDA - 227

CONgress is still pretty solid.

BJP 270+ on its own

NDA 240 to 280

UPA 100 to 140

AAP 0 to 1

kancha wrote:
Mort, SRoy, can you elaborate a bit where you get this from?
From family members, friends still serving and retired. And from my own experience going by whatever kind of people I used to (and still) meet in the officers mess.

Mort,
Very true.
kancha

Post by kancha »

SRoy, How large would that sample that you have interacted with, be?
Last edited by kancha on 01 Apr 2014 10:38, edited 1 time in total.

^^Mort, SRoy : it might be true of your experience but is not true in my experience.