In the meanwhile Nancy aunty kicked out as US ambassador. Seems to have "wrongly" advised uncle. Uncle is preparing for NM
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

The dynasty period is a good material for a tweet. Please spread it wide with corrected dates

vic wrote:Roman Empire was 2000 years
Yep, Roman and Chinese empires were not included(among many other).

It seems
Roman Empire: 40 BCE-400CE -> 450 yrs.
Eastern Roman Empire(Byzantium Empire): 400-620 -> 220 yrs.

If both are clubbed together:
Roman Empire: 40BCE-620CE -> 660yrs.

Before 40 BCE, it seems Rome was more of a kingdom than empire, of course, the categorizations of empire/kingdom are subjective and can vary from person to person.
X-posting from here

Narayana Rao wrote:In the meanwhile Nancy aunty kicked out as US ambassador. Seems to have "wrongly" advised uncle. Uncle is preparing for NM
Maybe she was trying to pull a Ukraine-style stunt using AAP & the AAP-leaders were feeding her wrong information about their prospects

I was searching to see if there are any "ringback tones" (or "caller tunes" as they are called in India) about Modi. For those who dont know, "caller tunes" are the tune that someone calling your number will hear, instead of the "rring, rring" tune. Caller Tunes are popular in India. Many of my friends have it setup.

There is indeed such a caller tune - it is the "Modi Aane Wala Hai" song sung by Udit Narayan. The song's video is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsRfuSzJ44c

In India, Dial 509090 or SMS MODI to 509090 to activate 'Modi Aane Wala Hai' Caller Tune (Airtel/Vodafone)

Please spread the word about it to people you know. Anyone calling them will hear the tune - subliminal messaging

Romans were republic and then an empire and then broke into two parts and byzantine can be argued both as distinct and a successor empire than a "roman empire" and then there was the germanic holy roman empire which as the joke goes was neither holy, nor roman and not much of an empire either. :lol:

if you apply the std for considering all the eastern and western offshoots and kids of the roman empire as one, then sure the guptas, mauryas, vijayanagara, cholas, cheras, pallavas, kakatiyas, nayaks, marathas are also one empire and based on the same cultural genes and family of indic gods and concepts.

even bahadur shah zafar whose writ ran between fatehpuri masjid to lal quilla was a son of the soil and product of the same empire onlee.

Prem Kumar wrote:X-posting an update on the calling efforts from the US to campaign for Modi

Update on call-a-thon progress:

a) 1200 GIBV volunteers in the US
b) 600 in Houston
c) 11000 calls to India
d) 30000 people reached
e) The goal is to reach 5 Million people before end of elections!
f) At least 14 people from Houston are leaving for India (some have left already) to campaign

We had a volunteer get-together this Saturday. Packed house - 200 odd people. Modi T-shirts were selling like hot-cakes. One gentleman wrote a $1000 check for a T-shirt :D

On Sunday's Holi event, 950 cups of chai were served!

nice. I'm from h town. didn't know that this. was happening.
where ? baps swaminarayana temple ?

Roman Empire was 2000 years?!?!?!

where is this nonsense coming from? Vic bhai, are you feeling okay?

The Severan Dynasty: 193-235 was the last truly "imperial" period, as we understand it today.

after 235 CE, for 50 continuous years, this so called "empire" was plagued by almost near-continuous civil war. then the 4th century saw the rise of Christianity to prolong the "empire" just for a little bit more. but the West and East had already broken by then.

so, the "empire" as it is understood today (one single unified entity waging war under the command of one single State apparatus) ceased to exist in 235 CE.

in all, it lasted from Augustus winning Civil War in 27 BC to 235 CE.

what I will accept is the continuity of the "Roman" vision. so right upto the point where territorial and political expansion kept on growing under the Republican phase (even including Julius Caesar), and then the Civil War which Augustus won, then all the way in the 3rd century: where the imperialists once again found Christianity to prolong the imperial base.

I think it was simply a case of Rome being the only power at that time in the Mediterranean with the resources to muster large armies. once the North Europeans get into the game, even Christianity can't save the "Empire" for long.
Last edited by devesh on 01 Apr 2014 09:38, edited 1 time in total.

mahadevbhu wrote: nice. I'm from h town. didn't know that this. was happening.
where ? baps swaminarayana temple ?
India House on Saturday. Let me know if you'd like to volunteer. We have our weekly chai pe charcha meeting tomorrow (in a different location)

right now, have taken up a job in India, so not there . Am volunteering directly here in NCR and at 11 Ashoka rd.

I will not post more on Roman Empire to prevent derailment if thread, but pls read when Byzantine Empire was formally dissolved.

Somebody inform Shri Sub Swamy that PC is giving character certificates.

You need a character to have flaws .. what if your have no character at all .. seems to me Chidu has no flaws because he is Characterless wonlee.

its funny to watch khan saheb tie its shoelaces in a knot and attempt to ballet dance trying to ingratiate itself and clear the decks for a better relationship with a potential namo regime.

the man has said nothing and shown no interest in a visa, yet all their world is commenting why he would get a visa.

I have a feeling he has some talents like "The Mule" ..a mentalic who has the ability to reach into the minds of others and "adjust" their emotions, individually or en masse, using this capability to conscript individuals to his cause. to some extent all charismatic mass leaders have that inborn talent...but namo behind those thick glasses seems to spread a lotta fear :)
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Narayana Rao wrote:I think we have to purchase Madhu aunty book on NM. Seems to be quite good one with detailed interviews, research etc.
If you are talking about Modinama book then don't bother. It is useless. Deliberate misinformation. The victory was of brave hindus. Not NM's.

kapil: What was the misinformation in that book?
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Misinformation that it was Hindu orgs that were forcing the communal trouble and that NM removed them to ensure the peace. Misinformation that NM created an indiscriminate environment that ensured muslims prosper and do away with violence - indirectly saying it was the poverty enforced by previous governments on muslims which led to communal violence. Both of these are utter lies designed to attract secular crowd. Madhu is a known secular and she has been used by NM to good effect. She has interviewed only muslims of Guj. Even a police officer who was involved in riot control who was interviewed is a muslim. Why would they say anything good about VHP and BD? All this is fair in politics but it is certainly not the coolaid that hindus should consume. The truth is rather bitter.

Truth is that Hindu orgs were necessary to counter small squirmishes that were keep happening in every hindu festivals provoked by muslims. Gujarat has a long history of riots. It was the orgs like VHP and BD who ensured safety of Hindus all this while. What happened post godhra was unproportional response by Hindus as a whole community, followed by finincial boycott by Hindus of muslim owned shops. Almost all muslim shops were dependent on Hindu buying. Soon enough they towed to the line and there is peace ever since. It was a war in literal form and it was won by the Hindus. It is a myth that muslim get 'misguided' because of poverty. It has nothing to do with financial condition and development. Mohammad Atta stayed and trained in US for quite some time before he attacked there. Didn't he see the development there? What about saudis? More money will only mean more resources for them to spread their doctrine. Nothing more.

When B ji say that mythical concept of 'ahimsa' is neither good for hindus nor it is indic, he means it. It takes first hand experience of the violence committed by other religions to realize that. Ask any hindu of muzzaffarnagar, he would be happy that it happened and feel safe for at least next 5-7 years. There is no peaceful alternative to war.
Comer

Post by Comer »

So much hope on the shoulders of one man.

http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... s-answers/
These students, coming from faraway places to stay in one-room rented accommodation in Sasaram to prepare for competitive examinations, have created an opportunity out of adversity. With lights going off at crucial hours in the evening, they gather at the railway station under the lampposts to quiz.

What better place to prepare for the Railway Board exams than a real railway platform? Those aspiring for banking and SSC jobs also make it to the platform. They don’t seem to grudge their MP or MLA for these power outages any more. They believe it’s going to change.

“Yes, power has been a huge problem not just here but in villages also. People keep batteries to recharge the mobile. We have droughts. Modi is talking about all this. Not just us, the country needs a change. The UPA got 10 years. He (Modi) needs a chance now,” says 22-year-old post-graduate Pushpendra Kumar, who is aspiring for the job of a railway assistant driver.

Ask about Rahul Gandhi and his group starts grinning. “This time for Modi. Has Meira Kumar sent you?” asks one of them.
Imagine how many villages, towns and cities are teeming with such aspirational people. Hope people of India were this focused on Election day.
On the other hand
But Meira Kumar and other contestants have their own solutions as they aggressively woo different castes.

If Paswans who constitute about 5 per cent of the electorate are likely to vote for the BJP candidate, Meira would get the other 5 per cent non-Paswan SC votes. If Rajputs are going determinedly for Modi’s candidate, Meira has Muslims and Yadavs as also a large chunk of Brahmins.

when the expectations are so high it is easy to get disappointed after the election. After all it will take some time to correct the mess.

Disappointment, if any , should come only after 15 years as it takes no time to destroy something but takes ages to rebuild it.

all these "so much for one man" just speaks so loud about our culture and society.. we just can't have a set of modies club. that is more disappointment for me than singletons losing or winning. pathetic i would say.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

^^ Well at least we have Modi now. It has been 6 decades since we saw a real national hero. So much so that we have had to make do with tendulkars, bachchans, khans...

IMO Modi has already achieved 80% of what was needed by focusing the national mind and mood on what needs to be done. The rest is execution.
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

Narendra Modi arrives late for Bareilly rally, says he was delayed by New Delhi airport authorities
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-na ... es-1974194
Narendra Modi, who was to arrive in Bareilly for a rally early on Tuesday morning, was delayed at New Delhi Airport after aviation authorities did not permit his helicopter to take off.

Modi finally arrived nearly 2 hours late to the rally.

Modi, while addressing the gathering, said, “I apologise to you for arriving late as you had to sit in this heat. But this delay was not because of me. At the Delhi airport I sat from 9.30 am onwards, but our helicopter was not being given the permission to fly.”

He added that he has always tried to see to it that “nobody is inconvenienced because of him.

"But I am pained that you had to face this blistering sun,” he added.

"You are doing this penance in this heat, I assure you that I will never let this effort go waste," he told the gathering.
Comer

Post by Comer »

Every system is seeded by one man. The organisations grow from it. NaMo is the guy who hopefully do it in India. If he succeeds we wouldn't have to depend on one man again. Every country goes through this cycle. Just because we are at the start of one doesn't call for self flagellation.

modi should plan ahead for delays.. it is all part of management. know your env and setup first. no complains till he has total control.

plan the delays, and show the world how he can manage.

in amrikha kan land that ij bhy all service komponies give a window like between 9-12 anytime we will come for install or service.

learn the hard way team modi.

I remember going to watch Rajiv Gandhi visit Mysore in 1989. Then Devegowda in 1996 :eek:. I wish I was there to watch NaMo speak.

Last edited by KJo on 01 Apr 2014 17:07, edited 1 time in total.
member_28468

Post by member_28468 »

Dear sir i am from muzaffarnagar and you are 100%right it is war

I have no idea how he keeps up his schedule of relentless travel, spartan food and 3 public meetings a day. most of us would be long dead from that kind of tempo. and at each public meeting he speaks with the same energy and hypnotism.
I can barely make myself read 5 ppt slides in a small room.

http://www.niticentral.com/2014/04/01/r ... 05958.html

Modi interview to Madhu Kishwar has given 1% burn to paid media, those from medicine will understand what I am talking about he he :D
here is reference to 1% burn. http://helid.digicollection.org/documen ... /p201a.gif

singha, there is a reason why you and I do what we are doing, and what modi is doing what he has chartered himself for. his life charter is different, and i would bet you would do the same as modi does or better if you believe in the right policies, governance model. these are hardly anything that needs super duper intelligence. abilty and capability are entirely different aspects pertaining to each field. modi is not a newbie. btw, i don't give up to ground realities and ignore the actualities. and also remember, indic ground realities are hard core corruption, wrongful setup, misguidance and evil opponents (citizens who behave like cat on the wall with asbolutely no principles nor value basis path driven).

PC should contest from Hyderabad. Language no issue only character.

Singha wrote:I have no idea how he keeps up his schedule of relentless travel, spartan food and 3 public meetings a day. most of us would be long dead from that kind of tempo. and at each public meeting he speaks with the same energy and hypnotism.
I can barely make myself read 5 ppt slides in a small room.
in modern times i have not seen any other politician work so hard. Obama's schedule became hectic after his first debate disaster but modi is miles ahead in terms of the effort and hours he has put into this election.

and it is very nauseating to hear "he just wants to be PM" from cong as though that is all he does...sitting and wanting to be pm. :evil:

ramana wrote:PC should contest from Hyderabad. Language no issue only character.
why doesnt he stand somewhere in chennai

This is equivalent of our first War of Independence. Let's do our best, or we will be unable to face the questions from our future generations. These elections are history changing moment.

the question is do we still know what independence mean?

SaiK wrote:all these "so much for one man" just speaks so loud about our culture and society.. we just can't have a set of modies club. that is more disappointment for me than singletons losing or winning. pathetic i would say.
Well, its not one man though it looks like that. There is what could be termed as Team Modi. People who are or become as dedicated to work and perform as Modi is. There is no dearth of such people . Only they were sidelined and there are plenty of forgotten places. Gujarat did far better under Namo with same set of people and congis have now gone to those forgotten places. Same thing would happen on ALL India Scale. That is what these comfort seeker renters fear most.

kapil:
There are two aspects:
=> The need for Hindu Orgs
=> Their role in the riots and how Modi dealt with them.

Perhaps the Hindu Orgs were cut down because of the 'disproportionate' response. The fact is that Tagodia et. al. are no fans of Modi.