Rama garu, you know me. Before posting I did a google search :-) I will leave it up to you :rotfl: to do the further research. Christians have been demanding similar subsidies too. A truly secular government should leave religious affairs to the religious body (all within the Constitution function)
Last edited by SwamyG on 08 Apr 2014 01:28, edited 1 time in total.

ramana wrote:Agnimitra, All over the West is trying to eat less meat and TOI fishes out one Austrian report to the contrary.
The TOI journos who fished that out must have been high on Fiakergulasch and some Vienniese grass.

Austria is moving towards vegetarianism big time and there is a backlash against vegetarianism since several of dishes which defines Austria itself will be endangered. Or is it that it puts their "nanny state" into disuse?

anmol wrote:
Sonugn wrote:A lot of bile and garbage on Al guardian site with respect to Modi. Modi to roll back gay rights, Modi to roll back women rights etc.
Here they are talking about Hitler youth:
Nationalist Banned by U.S. Likely to Lead Largest Democracy India
by Henry Austin, nbcnews.com
April 7th 2014 2:00 AM
- Sohel Uddin contributed to this report.
all the right words

nationalist, right wing, hitler, Castro (I kid you not :rotfl: )
Despite their political differences, as a young activist Mukhopadhyay said Modi showed a great admiration for the Cuban leader Fidel Castro.

“Even today, if you watch his stance when he speaks, he stands with his chest wide open, which he picked up from Castro,” he said. :rotfl:
“He’s a very efficient administrator, a very fine CEO for this country, but he would not be a good chairman,” he said.
whatever the **** that means :roll:

poor guys..forced to throw in some good words about him (qualified with the usual weasel words...but still). i am betting that if modi was not projected to win, there would be much more vitriol than this..

KJoishy wrote:Did ABV really increase Haj subsidy? :eek: Does not make sense... and I don't remember that. Though I do remember the "Hajpayee" reference.
I am all for increasing Haj subsidy - if availed only through AI !!!

Think deeper., it is very useful when elections come around.

what is AI saar?

Air India.

SwamyG wrote:
SanjayC wrote:Something is suspicious -- all malfunctioning EVMs in Assam are redirecting votes to either AGP or BJP, not a single one to Congress. How can this be, when Cong is ruling in both center and state? I think massive EVM rigging has been planned and these EVMs sending votes to competitors of Cong is just a Cong drama to pre-empt criticism when the results shock people.
An attempt to de-legitimize the landslide victory?
Whichever way the elections go, only congress will benefit from scandalizing making mountains out of these molehills where as the mountains where the EVMs are doing the opposite are made into mole hills if cannot be swept under the rug.

I am getting more and more suspicious of the harbingers of color revolutions. Luckily these people have very poor knowledge of India and are bound to fail utterly. This is not 17th century. A lot more people in India are better informed cutting across all social strata and India is not Ukrain nor even Egypt.

disha wrote:Austria is moving towards vegetarianism big time and there is a backlash against vegetarianism since several of dishes which defines Austria itself will be endangered. Or is it that it puts their "nanny state" into disuse?
It is very difficult to be a vegetarian in most Germanic countries including Switzerland and Austria.

johneeG wrote:Once one believes that 'magic' exists, then the question is who wields it? Is it the kongis, is it the local admin or is it the phoreners? Depending on who wields it, their intentions/objectives might be different.

If the kongis wield it, then their intention would be to increase the share of nth front & cut lotus.
If the local admin wields it, then the their intention will depend on who is locally powerful.
If the phoreners wield it, then...

...then, they may want to brew a revolution. How to brew up a revolution? Generally, the incumbent sarkaar is discredited and then there comes a person/group which claims to represent the common people. How to discredit the sarkaar? There are several ways. One such way is by raising questions on elections or method of obtaining power. Now, people's support to NaMo is clear. Any other result will raise eyebrows immediately. So, whats a better way? Allow NaMo to win and 1/2 yrs later, show that there was 'magic' i.e. the redux of Indira Priyadarshini's 75. Then, Fordriwal can take to streets.

Any which way, in the long run, this is not good. Better to go with manual way.

Also, just because there is a victory does not mean its all good. The first 1/2 yrs is the time for major house cleaning otherwise the reign itself may get cut short. If there is immediate house cleaning in the first 1/2 yrs, then that may ease the reign and ensure its longevity.
I think lotus will get 272 on its own and then after 1/2 yrs, there will be some phoren sting that there was 'magic', so there will be demand for another fresh mandate by Fordriwal.

As for subsidy:
only those who contribute have the right to take subsidy. Temples contribute huge amount of funds. So, Hindhu interests need to be subsidized and supported by the state because the state takes Hindhu money from the temples. Other religious institutions don't give any money to state, so those religious interests or pilgrimages must not be qualified for any subsidy. All phoren funding must be monitored and taxed heavily.

Those groups/institutions that are majorly funded by phoreners should be required by the law to register themselves as phoren-funded or phoren-agents.

Pilgrimages within the country need not be subsidized. Infrastructure needs to be build up to promote religious tourism inside the country. In the near abroad(i.e. in Bhaarathiya sub-continent), pilgrimages can be subsidized or helped by the state. In other places, subsidizing the pilgrimages is too costly and useless expenditure.

matrimc wrote:It is very difficult to be a vegetarian in most Germanic countries including Switzerland and Austria.
Indian concept of vegetarianism: eat vegetables.
Germanic concept of vegetarianism: poultry instead of red meat.

Added: the above was a joke by an ex-GHQ from Tyrol, but with an element of truth in it.

Agnimitra wrote:A day after Modi criticized Congress for its record exports of meat, especially beef, TOIlet comes up with this report:

Vegetarians are less healthy and have a lower quality of life than meat-eaters, scientists say
Even if we agree that Meat is good for scientists of S.TN, isn't it common sense that we should stop exporting meat and make it available to local brain-dead so they turn into scientists?

matrimc wrote:
disha wrote:Austria is moving towards vegetarianism big time and there is a backlash against vegetarianism since several of dishes which defines Austria itself will be endangered. Or is it that it puts their "nanny state" into disuse?
It is very difficult to be a vegetarian in most Germanic countries including Switzerland and Austria.

Precisely why quoting an Austrian report on disadvantages of vegetarianism is appeal to worng authority!

Is it not important to keep various cultures unadulterated? Austria can't go vegetables like India can, but whatever fruits and vegetables it can only it should consider as its main food /staple diet. It is important to keep the organic view of Earth in-tact in this global era of vegetarianism. Vegetables are getting genetically modified because of this over consumption of veggies by non-veg block countries.

India should focus on vegetarianism more than other countries. OTOH, my recent visit to Bangalore, I see for every veggie corner chit-chat bar, opposite to it, comes a McDonald fast food shop. This is like making India more germanic and austrianic or americanic. JMT... Modi sarkar should focus on what comes out of genuine Indic concepts, ways of life no matter veg or non-veg.

SaiK wrote:Is it not important to keep various cultures unadulterated?
Natural scatter-gather algo dictates process. Cultures have been kept isolated and "unadulterated" for a long time. Current iteration will necessitate "gather" phase, broadening each experience, balancing out the varnas in each culture and, in doing so, evolving as a whole. Nevertheless, each geographic "dwipa" will retain its keynote mode of living. Eventually different types of people from every civilization will also want to find the geographic location best suited to their own current individual iteration of development. Dharma works sans boundaries.

Identity and Learning: Worlds within worlds
SaiK wrote:India should focus on vegetarianism more than other countries. OTOH, my recent visit to Bangalore, I see for every veggie corner chit-chat bar, opposite to it, comes a McDonald fast food shop. This is like making India more germanic and austrianic or americanic. JMT... Modi sarkar should focus on what comes out of genuine Indic concepts, ways of life no matter veg or non-veg.
In terms of policy, Hindutva only needs to ensure that foreign ideas, attitudes and practices do not aggressively impinge on the Indic mind - but at the same time permit the Indic invidual to experiment with any foreign meme he/she chooses. So policy should facilitate an outward movement and empowerment of the national will (to take and give), rather than allow an exclusively donor or receptor relationship with the outside world.
Last edited by Agnimitra on 08 Apr 2014 02:39, edited 3 times in total.

Modi Aane wala hai!

Suraj wrote:Germanic concept of vegetarianism: poultry instead of red meat.
I used to eat cheese cake for lunch (I think it is called something like Khees Khueckhli - making it as phonetic as possible) for several months in a row. Initially everything was OK - no meat nothing - and as time went by I started finding small bits of red stuff which turned out to be Bacon. I think it was not intentional. What was happening is that they would have some general base to which they add spinach, pork etc. to make different varieties of Cheese Cakes. The base mix itself had the bacon bits already added into it. It would be very difficult for them to take it out.

Once I was at a restaurant near Interlaken and (I was not strictly veggie at that time) ordered some Liver Pate having heard that it is a Swiss delicacy. It was lunch time and the tables were outside. I could not eat after the first byte as it had very strong (and yucky as far as moi is concerned) smell. The people at the next table brought an Alsatian with them which was left to roam. That creature came to my table and started barking very loudly. I don't like - actually a little afraid due to an unfortunate incident in our family - dogs in general. The dog owners did not even pay attention to their dog. They were merrily enjoying their meal. I left the cafe post haste.

When NaMo becomes PM, will we finally see the birth of a completely Indic non-sekoolar rightish wing TV channel?
Enough of these bakwas equal equal islamic pandering secular trash we have now.

SaiK wrote:comes a McDonald fast food shop. This is like making India more germanic and austrianic or americanic.
Sausage links, Polish sausage, hot dogs (american style), or even McD Burgers taste quite good. But they have these harmful side effects on one's heart. That is how the world is kept in balance - people who do not choose wisely will get eliminated and the survivors dodge the Malthusian bullets.

gandharva wrote:Modi Aane wala hai!

this is what sonia replied
Bizarre @mediacrooks theory on my sabbatical.Hv taken a break in every elex since 2004 & returned well after results to avoid any conflict
Saral

Post by Saral »

This is a preliminary version of Rajiv's position on interfaith interactions.

http://www.speakingtree.in/spiritual-bl ... engagement
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

gandharva wrote:Modi Aane wala hai!

Baagja warna Gabbar aa jayega :mrgreen:

matrimc wrote:It is very difficult to be a vegetarian in most Germanic countries including Switzerland and Austria.
Indian concept of vegetarianism: eat vegetables.
Germanic concept of vegetarianism: poultry instead of red meat.

Added: the above was a joke by an ex-GHQ from Tyrol, but with an element of truth in it.
Vegetarianism is an increasing alternative lifestyle by people in Germany. Many vegetarian restaurants coming up. And vegetarianism does mean no meat AND no poultry. On fish, vegetarians may differ. Some eat, some don't.

IndraD wrote:this is what sonia replied
Bizarre @mediacrooks theory on my sabbatical.Hv taken a break in every elex since 2004 & returned well after results to avoid any conflict
Really? Why it is every 5 years and this is her third sabbatical then!? Hey then the entire team can take sabbatical correct? For ex. Barkha Dutt and Sarah Jacob and that Akashish lady?
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

I have a question:

Can NREGA funds be used for major infra upgrades such as solar/wind farms or smart city or high speed train infra etc. thus providing unemployment?

Will Modi's team look into such an idea?

On Times Now, it was amusing to see three or four Hindus bashing BJP, and the lone defender of Modi and BJP was a Muslim (M.J.Akbar).

matrimc wrote:people who do not choose wisely will get eliminated and the survivors dodge the Malthusian bullets.
that karma is not a digital switch from 0 to 1 or vice-versa... it would be struggle of genetic mutations that will go unexplained for centuries.. and then, we would have mahabharat / ramayan type story books for then kids, who consider modi vs. kangrez like battles like david vs. goliath! soon, american history and european history will have higher value points than indic ones as the stepping stone for that eventuality. bollywood should consider this as a real story for one of its own avatar type 3d comic story that reflects future realities.

okay.. reversing the clock now!... let us wake up or get destroyed soon. our culture has hit rock bottom on value points. if mcburger can't be challenged by idli-vadas and chats, then we are done!
Last edited by SaiK on 08 Apr 2014 04:03, edited 1 time in total.

ramana wrote: Precisely why quoting an Austrian report on disadvantages of vegetarianism is appeal to worng authority!
Hitler was Austrian. Hitler turned to vegetarianism towards his end. Possible connection? Modi has been called names before.

and i have called you names as well mr. gin. :)
Saral

Post by Saral »

A former Arsenal star is thought to have joined a band of ruthless Jihadi fighters waging war in Syria. The gun-toting fanatic is said to have grown up playing with Real Madrid galactico Cristiano Ronaldo. The militia man turned his back on a footballer's playboy lifestyle after becoming radicalised two years ago, it is claimed He is filmed wielding an AK47 and proclaiming holy war in two terror videos on an extremist website. Fellow jihadists say the fighter - who now calls himself Abu Issa Al-Andalusi - was brought up in Portugal before signing for the Gunners.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news ... z2yFG1Rqi3

Named himself after the scholar cited in the beginning of the BJP manifesto http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Said_Al-Andalusi
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

http://www.niticentral.com/2014/04/07/m ... 08432.html

Tide is turning. Looks more and more like the secularism peddlers (media morons, Psec politicians, distorians) will be out of work soon.

matrimc: moved reply to OT thread
Last edited by Yayavar on 08 Apr 2014 04:31, edited 1 time in total.

i can now see the drift from anti-dynasty to bacon bits.
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

Saral wrote:Named himself after the scholar cited in the beginning of the BJP manifesto http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Said_Al-Andalusi
Al-Andalusi would generally mean from Spain (Andalusia is the southern portion in modern Spain). It's doubtful the T even knows about Said Al-Andalusi.

Why are Muslims given any reservations? They are the ones who have done zulm on the Hindus for centuries through various sultanates. And stupid namard Hindus give them freebies. If they want reservations, they should convert back to Hinduism, proclaim the superiority of Lord Vishnu and Shiva and then beg for it.

^^really! is this the discourse you want to have?
shyamoo

Post by shyamoo »

Muslims were supposed to have ruled for a 1000 yrs. So, bhy phor reservation for them. Hain ji?

kJo has take 60 years of misrule to 1000 years of oppression.. there are somethings kJo, you and I can't erase. we have to only take forward with what we have.. correct the mistakes on the way, and if not possible just ignore them and focus on things that helps us move forward.

^^ did brahmins ever rule India?
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

viv wrote:^^really! is this the discourse you want to have?
He is telling the truth, if you cant digest it thats ur problem

muraliravi wrote:
viv wrote:^^really! is this the discourse you want to have?
He is telling the truth, if you cant digest it thats ur problem
nope! I and many know the truth of what happened but there is a form of discourse in the country that in Bharat/India in the current times. It is silly to use terms of namard, or suggest reconversion and generally form a 'they' against a large section of fellow citizens. One can object to subsidies or reservations without resorting to such rhetoric,
Last edited by Yayavar on 08 Apr 2014 05:45, edited 1 time in total.

Guys: a call for action. I have with me a huge list of numbers to call in Delhi prior to April 10th. Yes, it is cold calling & yes, it makes most people very uncomfortable. I had to talk myself into it several times & was very nervous prior to the first call. But once you make the first call, it gets quite easy

I have started calling today & there are volunteers I met, who have called 500 numbers in just the last week. I dont speak fluent Hindi and talk in English (which works most of the time) & with a smattering of Hindi.

The calling effort is to canvass for Modi and ask them to go vote for Lotus on that day.

Is anyone willing to volunteer their time to call? Hindi speakers & people originally/currently-living in the Delhi/NCR region would be a big plus. Others are also perfectly fine - your Hindi is unlikely to be worse than mine. Also, if you are comfortable in a different language & would like to volunteer to call a different state, that's fine too. Plz let me know.

If interested, just say yes here and I will share my email and list of numbers. Please put aside your inhibitions. I can give you a script and talking points. You can even enroll wife/SHQ/GHQ in this. We can do this for Bharat Mata

Admins/Mods: pardon the inconvenience. I will repeatedly post this because people might miss this post due to the fast moving thread. I will also cross post it in the Call-a-thon thread