AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections
Re: AP Politics and runup to 2014 General elections
Any comments from AP watchers on this list?
Virupaksha wrote:Shyam SP,
somebody had to play the bad cop in the tdp-bjp negotiations. without that, cbn would have rolled bjp on to the mat.
Remember, even now tdp is the bigger partner in telangana. Without such a bad cop, the situation of 1995-99 where bjp was in a upswing but cbn absorbed it would have repeated.
true words. BJP did not yield. and TDP was forced to concede the new reality. if BJP had been like this in 1998, they could have been somewhere else in all of AP by now.
Yannam Srinivas Reddy from Mahbubnagar is also a good bet.
what about the MP list? is that out? I'm assuming Muralidhar Rao will contest for an MP seat.
MP List
Karimanagar Ch. Vidyasagar Rao
Nizamabad E. Lakshminarayana
Medak Chagendla Narendra Nath
Secunderabad Bandaru. Dattatreya
Hyderabad Dr. Bhagawanth Rao
Mahaboobnagar Nagam Janardhan Reddy
Bhongir Indrasen Reddy
Warangal (SC) Dr. Ramagalla Parameswar
Karimanagar Ch. Vidyasagar Rao
Nizamabad E. Lakshminarayana
Medak Chagendla Narendra Nath
Secunderabad Bandaru. Dattatreya
Hyderabad Dr. Bhagawanth Rao
Mahaboobnagar Nagam Janardhan Reddy
Bhongir Indrasen Reddy
Warangal (SC) Dr. Ramagalla Parameswar
TDP announced its second list of candidates. Malkajgiri LS as expected given to money bag Malla Reddy. Well deserved and loyal Revanth reddy who was the right candidate is banished to his remote constituency as MLA again. How can you criticize Jagan and YSRCP when you also sell tickets for money ? Revanth Reddy was one of the very few T-vadis who has fan following among AP folks and 'settlers'. Many of urban TDP supporters are saying that they will now vote for JP of Loksatta in Malkajgiri.Hope this will not backfire on TDP.
They should have included Lok Satta in the alliance. It would have given a fillip to the anti corruption credentials of the BJP. Longer term, BJP and Lok Satta are more natural allies. Lok Satta would also have been a good watch dog against corruption in the alliance.
At least for Telangana, BJP has today brought out the lists (3 of them) with the name of all 47 candidates for Assembly Elections. Hope they all got their B-Forms.
By fielding Malla Reddy, CBN wants to make sure JP wins.
I don't understand the logic. Vote split might make INC to win assuming TRS doesn't put strong candidate. It is best JP merges his Loksatta party into TDP or BJP or limit himself to MLA seat Kukatpalli that comes under Malkajgiri MP constituency.Krishna_V wrote:By fielding Malla Reddy, CBN wants to make sure JP wins.
JP would have been better candidate if BJP agreed to it.
Malla Reddy is better candidate too who brings money and better promotions than Revanth Reddy who seems to be stuck in Rebel attitude with bad comments he made on Seemandhra people.
A anecdote from a family member
A "vy es aar cee p" spokesman had come down to my friend's house a couple of days ago. He proposed a deal to my friend's father(A): "Each vote from your family is equivalent to 20k. On top of that, we would give you 56 lakh if you guys convert to our religion."
Mr. A bluntly rejected and bashed the guy telling him not to appear in their vicinity.
^^ Why not convert take money give it to VHP/RSS or sponsor some Hindu/jain kids go study outside Bharat who can't get admission in medical or engineer due to few %s less?
Reconvert back through shuddhikaran.

^ its not as simple as you say.
Majority Indians converted to Islam with this logic in thier times. Later they became Pakis.
Some people did the same in to Christianity, excusing being part of power structure to rule India by Indians, and now they became Termite kingdom.
Once you start justifying to be someone else for material wealth, then you are accepting defeat that you cannot achieve same wealth & opportunities as you are.
Majority Indians converted to Islam with this logic in thier times. Later they became Pakis.
Some people did the same in to Christianity, excusing being part of power structure to rule India by Indians, and now they became Termite kingdom.
Once you start justifying to be someone else for material wealth, then you are accepting defeat that you cannot achieve same wealth & opportunities as you are.
I agree. accepting money will automatically bring you into their network and exert great social pressure to show your newfound faith and loyalty.
converts must always display greater faith and fealty to their new overlords to "fit in"...same reason why MUTUs come down very hard on their old culture. not just show fealty but actively spit upon what is left behind.
while you might resist it to your death to some extent, your kids and their kids will not.
your faith will pass away with you thats for sure.
converts must always display greater faith and fealty to their new overlords to "fit in"...same reason why MUTUs come down very hard on their old culture. not just show fealty but actively spit upon what is left behind.
while you might resist it to your death to some extent, your kids and their kids will not.
This is one this I am disappointed. Chevella is equally a good seat for TDP. Revanth does not want JP but okay with anyone. The original plan was JP for Malkajgiri and Malla Reddy for Chevella (the rural parts are strong Reddy areas). Instead they gave Chevella to Devendra Goud's son. I am not confident he can pull off but there are several votes he will automatically get in this constituency. To assuage Revanth's feelings of not having an Pure-Andhrite (JP) from Malkajgiri they gave to Malla Reddy. Now Malkajgiri is a mind boggling 14 lac voter constituency with crazy hippy crowd who can vote to JP.Rony wrote:TDP announced its second list of candidates. Malkajgiri LS as expected given to money bag Malla Reddy. Well deserved and loyal Revanth reddy who was the right candidate is banished to his remote constituency as MLA again. How can you criticize Jagan and YSRCP when you also sell tickets for money ? Revanth Reddy was one of the very few T-vadis who has fan following among AP folks and 'settlers'. Many of urban TDP supporters are saying that they will now vote for JP of Loksatta in Malkajgiri.Hope this will not backfire on TDP.
Regarding JP, I agree with ShyamSP and he should have been forced to join TDP or BJP and gave him the seat there. Now the votes will split between five (TDP, JP, INC, YSRC, TRS). The main fight could be between TDP, TRS,JP. Dinesh reddy (YSRC) or Sarve (INC) will not pull much.
RamaY wrote:^ its not as simple as you say.
The problem is the remaining Hindus wont accept them back.
Islam made sure converts cant go back by having them eat beef and other repugnant to orthodox Hindus. And when the folks wanted to come back its the OH that stop them. Over centuries they have become entrenched.
Our taxi driver said in 2006 that new converts to Christian religion refuse or throw prasadam from Tirupati while Ajlaf Muslims accept it.
He felt Muslims can be handled but not Christians as they have double chips on their shoulders: backing of West and identity assertion.
How strong is JP and why does he have to contest against TDP-BJP if he is serious about Congress Mukth Bharat (CBM)? Why cant he be sent to Rajya Sabha after the elections?
What Singha sir said is already happening, the second generation is somewhere in between, but the third generation is totally may be living in western value system, while the person maybe living in a samll village in India. Their names to culture meme all then revolves around a alien system!!
CBN mishandling of seat distribution is the one of the main reasons for his defeat in 2004. I seriously wonder if he is stealing defeat from the jaws of victory this time also in many critical seats. Over smartness, shortsightedness always his problem.
He reached a stage wherein he never learns anything from his past mistakes. Why talk secular talk now after being allied with BJP??? But for EJ threat of Jagan, CBN now deserves little support from anyone.
Kishen Reddy is again contesting as MLA from Amberpet. It would be interesting if he wins this time. Last time he won because of YSR.
Raja Singh (rising star of Old city Hyderabad BJP) has been given MLA ticket this time. He is contesting from Goshamahal from old city of Hyderabad. He is sure to give a tough fight to MIM.
Interesting thing is approx 50% of MLA tickets has been given to Reddy's. If BJP needs to have toehold in Telangana, the best bet is give more representation to BC/OBCs.
Raja Singh (rising star of Old city Hyderabad BJP) has been given MLA ticket this time. He is contesting from Goshamahal from old city of Hyderabad. He is sure to give a tough fight to MIM.
Interesting thing is approx 50% of MLA tickets has been given to Reddy's. If BJP needs to have toehold in Telangana, the best bet is give more representation to BC/OBCs.
A. Narendra has passed away per twitter.
He was personally a good man.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aelay_Narendra
His niece is quite well nown to us.
He was personally a good man.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aelay_Narendra
His niece is quite well nown to us.
Kishan Reddy may lose this time. Non Telangana votes may not vote for BJP in assembly elections.
While I understand the need to get these people back there are other dimensions in play Ramanaji.ramana wrote:RamaY wrote:^ its not as simple as you say.
The problem is the remaining Hindus wont accept them back.
Islam made sure converts cant go back by having them eat beef and other repugnant to orthodox Hindus. And when the folks wanted to come back its the OH that stop them. Over centuries they have become entrenched.
Our taxi driver said in 2006 that new converts to Christian religion refuse or throw prasadam from Tirupati while Ajlaf Muslims accept it.
He felt Muslims can be handled but not Christians as they have double chips on their shoulders: backing of West and identity assertion.
What is the guarantee that these players do the same again next time another opportunity shows up is the rationale.
Like Devesh ji once said, it is helpful to be paranoid when we are under War-Constitution. This can change to peaceful-constitution if and only if we are in a Hindu Rashtra, which is not the reality now.
from the past 2 years Revanth was working in Malkajgiri with CBNs blessing. Local TDP cadre is with Revanth and CBN knows this. Malla Reddy was never in the picture till couple of weeks back and there is no way local TDP is going to vote for him. I believe this move is just to make sure a percentage of TDP votes are transfered to JP. I dont see any reason why Revanth is not given ticket. JP will not win without TDP and BJP support.
dont know why CBN wants to support JP and if there is any understanding between TDP-BJP-LS.
with Uppal going to BJP, only winning chance for Devender son is maheswaram or chevella. Indra Reddy family has strong backing in Chevella but Devender goud has good presence too and with krishniah help if they can manage BC votes they have 50-50 Chances. Kartik reddy and Vijayender goud are useless anyway
dont know why CBN wants to support JP and if there is any understanding between TDP-BJP-LS.
with Uppal going to BJP, only winning chance for Devender son is maheswaram or chevella. Indra Reddy family has strong backing in Chevella but Devender goud has good presence too and with krishniah help if they can manage BC votes they have 50-50 Chances. Kartik reddy and Vijayender goud are useless anyway
AP herald or another gossip site was saying that Indra Reddy family was having some arrangement with Goud family to go easy as they want their son to win in Chevella.
Looks like TRS and CONgis are putting up weak candidates against each other's strong candidates. any one can confirm?
RamaY wrote:^ its not as simple as you say.
RamaY ji, Singha ji thanks for your clarity and depth.Singha wrote:I agree. accepting money will automatically bring you into their network and exert great social pressure to show your newfound faith and loyalty.
But good I shared this here, last year I had visited a cousin after long time and she had a christian name maid. Maybe 20-22 years of age. I was asking my cousin what she thinks of BJP and how she converted. My cousin said "I am confused if she is really a christian or not as one day when this maid had slipped from stairs she had cried 'hai allah'." Now last month my cousin met me again and she told me, "you know she was a bangladeshi muslim, but when they come to India they take monetary support from church convert use the money and go back to their faith later......"
So shallowly I had thought maybe Hindus can also use this trick to bleed EJ money. Sadly didn't have the depth of seeing things like you.
In Chevella, this time there is a very strong TRS candidate. He is grand son of Ranga Reddy against whom the RangaReddy dist. is named after. Fight will be between TRS & TDP.Muppalla wrote:
This is one this I am disappointed. Chevella is equally a good seat for TDP. Revanth does not want JP but okay with anyone. The original plan was JP for Malkajgiri and Malla Reddy for Chevella (the rural parts are strong Reddy areas). Instead they gave Chevella to Devendra Goud's son. I am not confident he can pull off but there are several votes he will automatically get in this constituency. To assuage Revanth's feelings of not having an Pure-Andhrite (JP) from Malkajgiri they gave to Malla Reddy. Now Malkajgiri is a mind boggling 14 lac voter constituency with crazy hippy crowd who can vote to JP.
I always find it curious that one group is assigned much greater cohesion than the other.
"Muslims make you eat beef but Hindus will not accept you back when you do"
"Christians have missionary zeal and compel everyone to prove their allegiance which is monitored closely"
"Muslims and Christians vote en bloc"
"Hindus are not united and don't vote en bloc"
There's more than just an element of a self-fulfilling prophecy in these set of statements. On one hand, people fervently wish for the opposite, i.e. a consolidated Hindu response. On the other hand, they concede the argument at the outset. This amounts to an absurd "we are defensive onlee. why are they all attacking us onlee ?" posture. Anyone whose position in such circumstances is to be a shirking violet deserves every misfortune that befalls him for lacking the spine to take on their opponent.
Thankfully, the current election seems to be much different from such memes. It must be realized that voting in bloc is an entirely controllable entity, not controlled by religion but political calculation. It's just as possible to have a consolidated Muslim vote combine with a splintered Hindu vote to pick a secular regime, as for a largely consolidated Hindu vote compel a panicked indecisive split in the Muslim vote.
"Muslims make you eat beef but Hindus will not accept you back when you do"
"Christians have missionary zeal and compel everyone to prove their allegiance which is monitored closely"
"Muslims and Christians vote en bloc"
"Hindus are not united and don't vote en bloc"
There's more than just an element of a self-fulfilling prophecy in these set of statements. On one hand, people fervently wish for the opposite, i.e. a consolidated Hindu response. On the other hand, they concede the argument at the outset. This amounts to an absurd "we are defensive onlee. why are they all attacking us onlee ?" posture. Anyone whose position in such circumstances is to be a shirking violet deserves every misfortune that befalls him for lacking the spine to take on their opponent.
Thankfully, the current election seems to be much different from such memes. It must be realized that voting in bloc is an entirely controllable entity, not controlled by religion but political calculation. It's just as possible to have a consolidated Muslim vote combine with a splintered Hindu vote to pick a secular regime, as for a largely consolidated Hindu vote compel a panicked indecisive split in the Muslim vote.
imho, hindus don't vote en bloc because they don't qualify for a religious status equivalent to muslims or christians. however, if that status changes from this elections or gets to somewhere 2/3rd majority on that basis, then we would be seeing polarization not just for within India, but world over. it would be too much for the western religions to handle such a bloc!
EC may disqualify BJP leader from Medak, Andhra Pradesh
For the first time in the state, a Lok Sabha candidate may face disqualification even before campaigning can commence. Sources in the Election Commission of India said Chagandla Narendranath, the likely BJP candidate from Medak Lok Sabha constituency, is probing a serious model code violation by him.
If given the BJP ticket, Narendranath will take on TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao from Medak.
The EC will take a decision on his candidature as the reports it received from the district and state level officials indicated that there was a violation of code. On March 25, Narendranath was arrested by the Medak (Rural) police in this connection.
EC already fixed quite a few seats here and there against BJP.
Published on Apr 10, 2014
By C.R. Gowri Shanker
Kishan Reddy gives in to Rajnath Singh order: Deccan Chronicle
By C.R. Gowri Shanker
Kishan Reddy gives in to Rajnath Singh order: Deccan Chronicle
Hyderabad: A sulking Telangana BJP president G. Kishan Reddy, relented and filed his nomination from the Amberpet Assembly constituency in the city on Wednesday.
Mr Reddy reportedly got a call from BJP national president Mr Rajnath Singh to file his nomination for Amberpet, which he currently represents. He will take on senior Congress leader V. Hanumantha Rao among others.
“I was not against the alliance with the Telugu Desam, but I wanted a better deal keeping in view the party’s growing strength in the region and the demand from party men,” Mr Kishan Reddy said after filing his nomination.
He was not only upset about the alliance with the TD, and differences over seat-sharing, but he also wanted the Secunderabad LS seat ticket, which went to old-timer Bandaru Dattatreya.
A miffed Mr Kishan Reddy announced that he would stay put in the party and campaign for the party nominees, but he would not contest for either the Assembly or Lok Sabha.
After getting the order from the party’s top boss, he filed his papers just before nominations closed.
“I will definitely win the seat again in view of my commitment to the constituency and full backing of people,” he said.
Mr Kishan Reddy became an MLA from Himayathnagar in 2004 and from Amberpet in 2009.
Meanwhile, BJP aspirants had some tense moments as the announcement of candidates was delayed till late last night and B forms were issued this morning. The Telangana BJP’s 47 Assembly and eight Lok Sabha nominees took the B forms this morning and rushed to their constituencies.
Paging Andhra & other Telugu speaking folks: I have a list of 7000 first-time & youth voter list from Secunderabad. It was sent by the BJP IT Cell in Hyderabad. We are dividing this list into blocks & calling people to vote for Modi. As always, we have more numbers than we can handle.
There are coordinators for Andhra in the GIBV group. Coordination meetings start today - first call happens at 9 PM Houston time tonight (9th April).
Please say "yes" if you would be willing to call. Thanks in advance.
We have 2 BRF volunteers already: RamaY & James B
There are coordinators for Andhra in the GIBV group. Coordination meetings start today - first call happens at 9 PM Houston time tonight (9th April).
Please say "yes" if you would be willing to call. Thanks in advance.
We have 2 BRF volunteers already: RamaY & James B
It would be poetic justice if EC rejects his form!
Lobng time ago I had said one failing of Indinas is they never give up even after fight is over. Here is prime example of that tendency.
Alliance has been formed with great objections from him in larger interests of national elections. Here he is doing his best even after that by poking spanners in the wheel.
How did he become a leader?
Lobng time ago I had said one failing of Indinas is they never give up even after fight is over. Here is prime example of that tendency.
Alliance has been formed with great objections from him in larger interests of national elections. Here he is doing his best even after that by poking spanners in the wheel.
How did he become a leader?
One youtube I remember seeing in which he sings peans to PM Singh. I am not sure the voter base other than in Kukatpally. I think some hagiography is going on WRT JP.ramana wrote:How strong is JP and why does he have to contest against TDP-BJP if he is serious about Congress Mukth Bharat (CBM)? Why cant he be sent to Rajya Sabha after the elections?
https://twitter.com/RakiTweets/status/4 ... 9504323584matrimc wrote:One youtube I remember seeing in which he sings peans to PM Singh. I am not sure the voter base other than in Kukatpally. I think some hagiography is going on WRT JP.ramana wrote:How strong is JP and why does he have to contest against TDP-BJP if he is serious about Congress Mukth Bharat (CBM)? Why cant he be sent to Rajya Sabha after the elections?
http://t.co/6AHVJ01luY
Last edited by gandharva on 10 Apr 2014 04:51, edited 1 time in total.
Someone posted a news item that says JP is with NDA.
I think Malkajgiri is gamed to split AAPTard vote. Muppalagaru whadduyu say?
ok, we have EC clearing field for KCR. what do the controllers know about Medak that we don't?
Kishan Reddy's time is ticking at this rate. I'm not quite sure what his conflict is at this point.
EC is clearing a lot of folks like Raja in TN.
I thought JP had some voters in Banglore.
The tweet posted above says that JP declares support to NDA.
Which is a good thing unlike Chikan Reddy griping after the alliance is formed.
Wish EC takes care of his forms to teach him a lesson!
I thought JP had some voters in Banglore.
The tweet posted above says that JP declares support to NDA.
Which is a good thing unlike Chikan Reddy griping after the alliance is formed.
Wish EC takes care of his forms to teach him a lesson!