Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

negi wrote:Bangalore central is a chi chi place, they do not have nothing to worry whether it is INC/BJP/AAP they have enough to feed their 3 or more generations.
:evil:

Bangalore is new chichi place.. Pune is the traditional chi chi place where people have been thinking of themselves as baaps of einstein in almost every matter since days of peshwas. pathetic performance in Shirur, Pune, baramati and Maval seats.

Traditionally a Puneite is known to have opinion on every thing in universe from string theory to ideal way of killing rats in gutters. But when it comes to time of action, they prefer sleeping. No matter what, they have to sleep in afternoon. furthermore, many names in voter list were gone. That too contributed. Absolutely pathetic. I hope all my diatribes against Pune and western MH are now justified.

rest, of 15 seats have shown respectable voting. Kolhapur, sangli will be coming to BJP for the first time. Raju Shetty has pulled at least 6-7% of farmer votes away from NCP towards BJP. Happy to report about positive prospects of NDA in remaining 15 seats in MH. The citadel of NCP is now in serious threat.. :)

I am worried about abnormally high voter turnout in Bengal and east. whats up there? BDs showing their magic or what?
Last edited by Atri on 17 Apr 2014 17:34, edited 1 time in total.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

On UP, guys dont expect too much in this phase like the last one, i mean rampur and moradabad, bjp anyway had no chance. Nagina and badaun are sp dens, so straightaway 4 out. Keep realistic expectations
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

bhargava wrote:Made second trip to get my mom to vote ( BLR south). Quite a look..all the ROPers out in numbers asking to vote for Nandan..BJP booths were healthy with numbers on their own. On the way back saw quite a number of genteel bengaloorians coming out WITH families holding voter ID cards ( after the afternoon nap :lol: ). Hopefully numbers should go up.
This happens though I virtually got everyone I know out to vote - one thing is those who worked late at night yesterday will come out in the final phases but people have to motivate everyone they know- In my house everyone has voted so really no one to motivate though now !

It's doubtful BJP fans and certainly not the Modi fans that are going to enjoy a family picnic and decide not to vote. If voting %age is low, better chances are that secular voter fatigue is setting in. So no need of getting disappointed if the turn out is slightly low. Do remember those that like Modi and there are a few hundred million of them will come out and vote. But do keep exhorting folks to vote till the end.

Good tidings
dharamendera yadav nephew of mulla yam suddenly developed severe aversion
to sapa cadres so much so that few has been slapped kicked for their efforts to placate
him, news is that bjp polled 43% votes sapa 27%

out of 21 till now bjp 19 rest 2.

thing to note - 100% of the itivity crowd seen near polling booth were married and older types who had already purchased property and settled here. there was no sign of the huge nos of batchelor crowd not originally from blr, perhaps because they live in rented n shared acco/PG and have no proper addr proof that is acceptable to create a voter list entry, or perhaps they were not bothered at all.

I think it is still possible for even hostelites to get registered as voters, but the DCH spoilt brat crowd is least bothered to spend a hour gathering the right docs and then couriering it. kyo 100/- spend karna hai, lets head the nearest mall for the movie...pretty much all of these brats have atleast a 2 wheeler or scooty .

from delhi electoral officer site.
a) Proof of your residence ( such as driving license, passport, bank pass book, any postal letter received in your name on your address etc).

In case you are a student residing in a Hostel of your University / Institute or elsewhere (e.g. PG) etc., then please get a Declaration in the proforma at Annexure One (click here also)to Form 6. A scanned copy can also be uploaded.

even bank statements and phone bills are accepted.

Alok Bhatt ‏@alok_bhatt 1m

"@IBNLiveRealtime: Turnout at 5 pm in Karnataka was 56%; Bangalore North 45%; Bangalore Central 42%; Bangalore South 43% #Elections2014"
Sandeep Web ‏@SandeepWeb 1m

Mysore 65% per Suvarna

Traditionally a Puneite is known to have opinion on every thing in universe from string theory to ideal way of killing rats in gutters.

:rotfl: :((

Singha wrote:Traditionally a Puneite is known to have opinion on every thing in universe from string theory to ideal way of killing rats in gutters.

What is the source of the above? :mrgreen:
morem

Post by morem »

prahaar wrote:
Singha wrote:Traditionally a Puneite is known to have opinion on every thing in universe from string theory to ideal way of killing rats in gutters.

What is the source of the above? :mrgreen:
No offence sir , but please go to the peth area and try disagreeing with a shopkeeper :lol:

:(( :((

not kidding.. and it does not necessitate a Punekar to have an educational qualification or experience to have such opinion. Here, even a orderly and santri of Municipal Corporation's most useless department can give an "expert" opinion on fixing healthcare crisis of USA with more authority and seriousness than Ombaba himself. A kid in kindergarten and old man on chaupaal are all a pedestal higher than rest of mortals in remaining country when it comes to "intellectual discussions". There are pseudo-intellectuals in rest of country. In Pune, we have hyper-intellectuals (roughly translated as dedh-sayanaa in khadi boli). :evil:

Of course, when it comes to moving one's bum out of one's home to vote, there will be a barrage of "expert opinions" on how everything is useless onlee and how one needs to sleep in afternoon onlee.. :roll:
prahaar wrote:What is the source of the above? :mrgreen:
you have guessed the source right.. he's the inspiration.. but experience for everyone no.. after all, your's truly too is from that soil onlee. :P
Ashok Sarraff

Post by Ashok Sarraff »

Punekars proudly say, "Pune tithey kaay uNe," loosely meaning, in Pune, everything is perfect and readily available. Morons do not realize that the world has passed them by 30 years ago! One simple look at pubic transport, roads, power and water situation, police etc. will convince an outsider that the city is basically an overgrown Moradabad.

On the positive side, one also finds a number of hardworking, upright, and well meaning folks who are carefully preserving the traditional knowledge base.

Atri wrote:

:(( :((

not kidding.. and it does not necessitate a Punekar to have an educational qualification or experience to have such opinion. Here, even a orderly and santri of Municipal Corporation's most useless department can give an "expert" opinion on fixing healthcare crisis of USA with more authority and seriousness than Ombaba himself. A kid in kindergarten and old man on chaupaal are all a pedestal higher than rest of mortals in remaining country when it comes to "intellectual discussions". There are pseudo-intellectuals in rest of country. In Pune, we have hyper-intellectuals (roughly translated as dedh-sayanaa in khadi boli). :evil:

Of course, when it comes to moving one's bum out of one's home to vote, there will be a barrage of "expert opinions" on how everything is useless onlee and how one needs to sleep in afternoon onlee.. :roll:
A very disheartened to note the above. I used to think the above were specialty of the civilized class of commie zoo a.ka. Kolkata only.
Now Atriji is saying that I can no longer tot that badge of honour.

^^Atri garu, low turnout in Pune apart, what are the NDA chances there now, realistically? Is it INC or MNS there?
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

negi wrote:Bangalore central is a chi chi place, they do not have nothing to worry whether it is INC/BJP/AAP they have enough to feed their 3 or more generations.
Actually I only saw chi chi's voting in the booths that I saw and well am I a Chi chi ? (Though it seems that Chis his are wild with the fall of the country.)
Conversations with the elderl y in the park was some of hem voting for INC because of some appeasements in Gandhinagar area. One thing that BJP MLA's and MP's needs to do is to attend to needs and requests of their voters. I have seen Bangarappa in his hey days personally coming to the hospital to see his constituents that he referred for surgery - that brought him solid family unit support.

Sandeep Web ‏@SandeepWeb 1m

Udupi 70%

Hari Seldon wrote:^^Atri garu, low turnout in Pune apart, what are the NDA chances there now, realistically? Is it INC or MNS there?
BJP will scrape through.. thats my estimate from ground.. wafer thin margin.. it can go either way, to be realistic. We had done a solid ground work and Shirole was all set to win.. anything more than at least 55% and BJP was winning by landslide margin. now at least I am not that sure. I won't be saying this in open forums, but that is the case..

please check your names in list.. many traditional voters (there are many very good and uptight people in Pune, my diatribe aside) who've been voting for 35-40 years found their names missing from the list this time. Most of these were hardcore Hindumahasabha type guys from old-city and erandvane, shivajinagar, deccan area.. People are contemplating asking for reelection.

Post by Klaus »

52% in Pune, not too impressive. Belgaum in KA is 67%. Kolhapur is also relatively high due to spillover effects.

Atri ji, any info on turnouts in Nasik, Shirdi areas?

SRoy wrote:A very disheartened to note the above. I used to think the above were specialty of the civilized class of commie zoo a.ka. Kolkata only.
Now Atriji is saying that I can no longer tot that badge of honour.
Yes, kolkata's bhadralok are twins to Punekars.. ram milaai jodi, ek andha ek kodi..

Klaus wrote:52% in Pune, not too impressive. Belgaum in KA is 67%. Kolhapur is also relatively high due to spillover effects.

Atri ji, any info on turnouts in Nasik, Shirdi areas?
Shirdi difficult. Nashik will be voting on 24th..

Apart from Satara and baramati, other seats are difficult for NCP-INC this time. Bumper voting in favor of NDA in sugar heartland. very pleased.

SPattath wrote:Majority of the Bangalorean's who don't vote are outsiders and do not vote either here or in their home town's. They only crib about the income tax getting deducted from their salary and roads/traffic being bad.
Singha wrote:thing to note - 100% of the itivity crowd seen near polling booth were married and older types who had already purchased property and settled here. there was no sign of the huge nos of batchelor crowd not originally from blr, perhaps because they live in rented n shared acco/PG and have no proper addr proof that is acceptable to create a voter list entry, or perhaps they were not bothered at all.
From my experience most young IT serfs from outside do not bother to enroll themselves in Bangalore. So that cannot be the sole reason for the low turnout. BTW I was told that neither party was paying cash to slum dwellers in my area at least(Bangalore Rural/North) :wink: .

I saw the voter lists in some parts of my locality. I knew some people moved away years ago. But i saw them and their family names on that electoral list. I am sure they are voting elsewhere. That may be a reason why urban voting percentages may be registering less. I don't know exactly what system they employ, but i checked on many names that i knew were there 10 years ago and have shifted. Thus the %age will remain well below 100%. Rural areas it may be higher as the shifts are less. That is why it is more worrying to see North Bengal in high 80% voting than low urban %ages. Do check your building/ apartment/ society electoral roll lists on line and see how many such names are there.

http://www.indiavotes.com/pc/info?state=30&eid=15
Maharashtra 2009 turnout > 50.5%

Pune 2009 turnout > 40.7 %
Check the link for other places in MH.

I feel BJP and NDA might fall a little short below a comfort level? Knee shivering a little bit. Congress relying on the diverse and breaking forces. Times Now had about 5 news items, and all of them were negative on BJP. Nothing on Congress. And such negative reporting will impact last min voters.

Ayo onlee.
bhargava

Post by bhargava »

Local bulldog in my area was on bhaajpaa's side last time. I could see him making innumerable sorties in the area and urging yet-to-vote people to hurry and vote. This time, he has switched sides to cong..local paanwaala says truck load of monies has flown. No sign of him the whole day :D congis think they will benefit from lower voting %.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

abhik wrote:
SPattath wrote:Majority of the Bangalorean's who don't vote are outsiders and do not vote either here or in their home town's. They only crib about the income tax getting deducted from their salary and roads/traffic being bad.
Singha wrote:thing to note - 100% of the itivity crowd seen near polling booth were married and older types who had already purchased property and settled here. there was no sign of the huge nos of batchelor crowd not originally from blr, perhaps because they live in rented n shared acco/PG and have no proper addr proof that is acceptable to create a voter list entry, or perhaps they were not bothered at all.
From my experience most young IT serfs from outside do not bother to enroll themselves in Bangalore. So that cannot be the sole reason for the low turnout. BTW I was told that neither party was paying cash to slum dwellers in my area at least(Bangalore Rural/North) :wink: .
I dont think so. My driver pointed out gangs of women collected and made to sit in one area and he was cursing that these people are payed Rs 1000/day for this and to vote for INC.
prashanth

Post by prashanth »

Bangalore South - 47%
Bangalore Central - 34%
Bangalore North - 49%

Overall 65 % polling in KA
end of polls at 6 PM.

Source : Kannada Prabha online.
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

Atri Sir, as per the ec folks Pune had 56e% at close which i reckon would go up a little bit....

saumitra_j wrote:Atri Sir, as per the ec folks Pune had 56e% at close which i reckon would go up a little bit....

How was the voter list in ur area? Any mass-exclusions?

muraliravi wrote:On UP, guys dont expect too much in this phase like the last one, i mean rampur and moradabad, bjp anyway had no chance. Nagina and badaun are sp dens, so straightaway 4 out. Keep realistic expectations
BJP won Rampur in 1991.
gashish

Post by gashish »

Latur turnout >60% vs 55% in 2009. This is good sign.
Interacted with some people at the polling booth and later during the day as well...with good representation of the cross-section of the voters in typical M'wada towns..farmers, landless laborers, doctors, teachers, small entrepreneurs, students...NaMo has overwhelming support (>80% at least among the "biased" sample I talked to).
My projection, Latur is all set to send a lotus to NaMo. If it doesn't, I wud take a break from BRF for 1 month as "prayschith".. :mrgreen:

Inshallah, other M'wada constituencies will do so to.

NCP is trying its best to defeat Munde in Beed. 5 sitting NCP MLAs of Beed have camped in their respective assembly segments as booth managers. His nephew also recently defected to NCP. Sharad pawar held many "sabhas" in this district. However, Beed turnout seems to be lower than in 2009 (66%). So not clear how to read this yet. But for sure this is not going to be walk in the park for Munde.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

>> Bangalore Central - 34%

What is the percentage of peaceful votes there?

Very high. Should be 30% atleast
Last edited by sum on 17 Apr 2014 18:25, edited 1 time in total.

prashanth wrote:Bangalore South - 47%
Bangalore Central - 34%
Bangalore North - 49%

Overall 65 % polling in KA
end of polls at 6 PM.

Source : Kannada Prabha online.
http://ceokarnataka.kar.nic.in/UPDATE/index-polling.htm#
Bangalore North > 48.87 %
Bangalore Central > 51.47 %
Bangalore South > 51.32 %

Overall Karnataka number is from 5:00 pm so not sure is the PC data is till 5 pm or final.
Last edited by pankajs on 17 Apr 2014 18:27, edited 1 time in total.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

gandharva wrote:
muraliravi wrote:On UP, guys dont expect too much in this phase like the last one, i mean rampur and moradabad, bjp anyway had no chance. Nagina and badaun are sp dens, so straightaway 4 out. Keep realistic expectations
BJP won Rampur in 1991.
Sir, woh ek baar jitne se kya hota hai, as of now BJP has no chance there especially after the way delimitation has been done there. 50% secular vote and on top good pop of jatavs there.

TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 59s

Rajasthan witnesses a 9.89% surge in voter turnout. Records a total of 58% at the end of day's voting. #India2014
Ratnakar Sadasyula ‏@ScorpiusMaximus 5m

Karnataka sees voter turnout of 65 per cent #Elections2014, better than 2009.
Will have to wait for conformation. Ok here is HT
Hindustan Times ‏@htTweets 8m

#LSpolls | Voter turnout in Karnataka 64% overall, may be revised.
Last edited by pankajs on 17 Apr 2014 18:30, edited 1 time in total.
prashanth

Post by prashanth »

Apologies. That same source (Kannadaprabha) has revised the poll attendance percentages.

Bangalore South : 52 %
Bangalore Central : 52 %
Bangalore North : 51%

Overall polling % in KA is still 65.
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

Atri wrote: How was the voter list in ur area? Any mass-exclusions?
Voter list had problems and as usual, I found more upper cast names missing ... however i did not find any mass exclusions but more annoying ones where out of 8 people of a family, only 7 could vote. I was manning the booth in Someshwar wadi area but voted in Kothrud. I found the folks more enthusiastic and 56% seems way better than 40% of last time :)

Karnataka 2009 turnout > Turnout: 58.8%
http://www.indiavotes.com/pc/info?state=43&eid=15

So 5-6% jump compared to last LS GE2009.

TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 12m

High voter turnout in phase 3 of Lok Sabha Elections. Bihar registers 56% voter turnout, over 16% more than in 2009 #India2014
TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 1m

West Bengal records 80 percent voter turnout till 6pm #India2014
WB 2009 turnout > 81.5%
http://www.indiavotes.com/pc/info?state=9&eid=15
Last edited by pankajs on 17 Apr 2014 18:36, edited 1 time in total.