Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

prashanth

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Post by prashanth »

Pankaj ji is correct. Won't post data from online news media.

TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 6m

UP sees a surge of over 10% in voter turnout in the 5th phase of Lok Sabha elections. Registers 56% at the end of day's voting #India2014

543.in tweets
Anantkumar has improved his lead over NN. Very difficult for Congress to come back now in Bangalore South :)
In Jaipur Rural Olympic silver medalist is mauling Dynasty loyalist, C.P. Joshi... Rajasthan is again a one horse race..

TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 39s

Maharashtra records 57% voter turnout in 5th Phase of Lok Sabha Elections #India2014
Maharashtra average for 2009 > 50.5%
Last edited by pankajs on 17 Apr 2014 18:45, edited 1 time in total.

New Indian Express ‏@NewIndianXpress 2m

#JaswantSingh Accuses #Raje Govt of Misuing Machinery, Writes to EC - http://tnie.in/1nskT1k
Jassu mithaiwalla has conceded.

Post by Klaus »

Funny that my prediction of AAPtards carrying out booth capturing would come true! Evidently, the Pilbhit (UP) candidate has been caught doing so.

TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 7m

Odisha records 70% voter turnout till 6 pm #India2014
Orissa 2009 > 65.3%
http://www.indiavotes.com/pc/info?state=6&eid=15
Press Trust of India ‏@PTI_News 58s

Voter turnout in 3 seats of Chhattisgarh was 63.44 per cent and in 10 seats of MP 54.41 per cent.
NDTV ‏@ndtv 19s

Phenomenal increase in Jammu and Kashmir voter turnout, it was 45 per cent in 2009: Election Commission
Last edited by pankajs on 17 Apr 2014 18:54, edited 1 time in total.

Okay, saars-back from doing booth work for BJP in my booth (in Bangalore North). Got 62% voting in my booth (and mine is an upper middle class booth, but with a high percentage of ex mid-level Babus, so people do vote strongly for the BJP). On balance, I think BJP should get about 70% of the votes in my booth.

/* Rant Mode on */
I had not done booth work in nearly 12 years, so I had forgotten just how hard it is to get voters to the booth. Next time, I am tempted to invest in a horsewhip and/or a submachine gun. Bangalore probably leads the world in laziness. My booth fortunately had a good number of BJP volunteers (there were 15 of us), so we took turns getting out our personal cars to persuade people who had not voted to come out and vote. Most areas are about 5 minutes walking distance from the booth (for someone who can walk faster than an earthworm), and we offered to drive them to the booth in our own cars. Even so, response was tepid in some people. One bitch cursed me and my friends, saying that we were ruining her perfect afternoon with our insistence that she vote, when she would be rather watching TV instead. `ಯಾರು ಬಂದರೆ ತಾನೇ ಏನು ಮಾಡುತ್ತಾರೆ?' (No matter who comes, what will they do?), `ನಿನಗೇನು ಕಷ್ಟ ನಾನು vote ಮಾಡದೇ ಇದ್ದರೆ' (How does it trouble you if I do not vote?) were some of the typical responses I got, but in the end, I think our persistence paid off.
/* Rant Mode Off */

But people problems apart, BJP had a very nicely organised machinery. We all had worked on creating colour coded lists, BJP had arranged for water for voters, and food and drink for booth workers. We concentrated on getting all hard core voters to booths first. That was complete around 1600. After that, we concentrated on the marginals. In the end, all available hard core BJP voters voted, and we managed most of the marginals as well.

In my booth, the Congress had an equally impressive machinery (manned by a combination of hardcore Congress workers from outside the area, and a bunch of local peacefuls). I think they managed to get all hardcore Congress voters to vote as well (The Congress will get ~30% of the vote). JD(S) had only one representative inside the booth, and had no table outside. I will be surprised if JD(S) gets 10+ votes in my booth. AAP did not even put in an appearance in the booth at all.

NDTV ‏@ndtv 1m

54 per cent voter turnout in Madhya Pradesh, it was 46 per cent in 2009: Election Commission #Elections2014 http://www.ndtv.com/elections/live-blog ... 014-482300
Shuja-ul-Haq ‏@ShujaUH 6m

A neck and neck fight between Azad and BJP as both plains and hills voted in good and almost identical numbers #Udhmapur
turnout jumped by 15-20%

^NAgesh ji , I hope those you dragged to the booth pressed the Kamal button..

Is Chikkaballapur "match-fixed"? Will Kumaraswamy win helped by lotus? In exchange for help in Bangalore North?
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Report on calling voters in South Chennai, 2nd day:
*Another 20 people reached. All, I mean, all 20 promised to vote for BJP.
*4 out of 20 I reached were BJP karyakarthas!
*Mood ranges from euphoric to cautiously optimistic among the karyakarthas.
*Spoke to one worker quite close to L.Ganeshan. The earlier report that Thiruvanmiyur locality was neglected is false. There has already been a big meeting conducted during the very first days.
*Word on the street is that the Muslim orgs arm twisted Amma to spew venom against Modi. As the contest is triangular in most constituencies ( AIDMK vs DMK vs NDA), a few 1000 votes could decide the outcome. Thus Muslims hold the trump card apparently in many seats. Thus Amma's new found fury against NaMo.
*Will keep calling.
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Sara Lax said:
"Please ask the South Chennai BJP guys to come by K.K.Nagar side --- This is the area in which people of numerous apartments put special kolam/rangoli, sang bhajans & did arathi for the bust of Swami Vivekananda sitting in Chariot & getting pulled by Ramakrishna Mission members - as recent as in January 2014 during Swami Vivekananda's 150th Birth anniversary celebrations. Big number of middle class people to be wooed for & waiting to be pulled in on voting day in this area but apparently ADMK & AAP seem to be patrolling the roads with their Tata Magic & auto vehicles in these areas more often than BJP. BJP campaign has been rarely seen (was seen once, going around , playing a not-so-clear to hear "NaMo's Chennai speech in Hindi + Tamil Translation" track in their auto vehicle) in this area. But BJP's ad campaign in local FM radio stations though seems to have struck well among some people. The AAP guys seem to have picked up on Rajnikanth's hit Tamil film song tunes and replaced it with words from their propaganda material. ADMK guys have carpet bombed the area with their flyers last week itself and sent SMSs in name of their candidate for the Tamil New Year day celebrations."
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Sara Lax and others,

Just called the T Nagar BJP vice-president about this K.K Nagar. Nothing to worry there.

Gist of what I talked about:

*No permission to hold meeting inside KK Nagar for any party.

*Only private meetings in apartments and associations allowed. They are working on it. So far huge support for these apartment meetings. La.Ganeshan attends these apartment meetings personally.

*AAPTards are a joke in South Chennai. For all of South Chennai they have only one open Jeep. A nondescript candidate from the Muslim candidate has been pushed forth as a "Naam Ke Vasthe" candidate. No worries there.

*The fight is really between AIADMK and BJP. It is a tough bout but there is a fighting chance for La.Ganeshan.

*Most of the people who celebrated Swamy Vivekananda's birthday, the people who actually pulled the Rath are all in the BJP kitty. The BJP VP that I spoke with knows them personally. No not to worry.

NDTV ‏@ndtv 4m

68 per cent voter turnout in Karnataka, it was 59 per cent in 2009: Election Commission #Elections2014 Read More: http://www.ndtv.com/elections/live-blog ... 014-482300
Karnataka numbers keep improving.
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Oh, forgot to mention!

*The T Nagar BJP VP told me that they have a dedicated "LED Van" ( don't know what that is!) to play modified Rajini
songs which motors around all the localities. Response has been tremendous!

*Also they have a open van/ truck dedicated for street skits. They totally zero in on Modi's achievements. Good response so far on all street corners.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Frederic wrote:Oh, forgot to mention!

*The T Nagar BJP VP told me that they have a dedicated "LED Van" ( don't know what that is!) to play modified Rajini

*Also they have a open van/ truck dedicated for street skits. They totally zero in on Modi's achievements. Good response so far on all street corners.
I saw that LED van parked near my house- it is alrge LED screen on a van which runs videos.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Frederic wrote:Oh, forgot to mention!

Virugambakkam is an area in south chennai with decent BJP presence, please focus there to bring lazy bums out. I will ensure at least 25 votes for BJP from my area.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

New Indian Express ‏@NewIndianXpress 2m

#JaswantSingh Accuses #Raje Govt of Misuing Machinery, Writes to EC - http://tnie.in/1nskT1k
Jassu mithaiwalla has conceded.
Jassi, and MMJ can not even properly walk, they swing from side to side like drunkards, they have no shame, they do not want to concede space for leaders between the age group of 40-60 who have experience and dynamism.

Singha wrote:Traditionally a Puneite is known to have opinion on every thing in universe from string theory to ideal way of killing rats in gutters.

:rotfl: :((
I thought that's bong characteristic.

MR send india contact number pls.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

A whopping 18% jump in voter turnout in Pune, we cant ask for more. Atri ji, it is at 58%, i guess that should be comfort zone for shirole.
Last edited by muraliravi on 17 Apr 2014 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

fanne wrote:MR send india contact number pls.
will mail u

nageshks wrote:Okay, saars-back from doing booth work for BJP in my booth (in Bangalore North). Got 62% voting in my booth (and mine is an upper middle class booth, but with a high percentage of ex mid-level Babus, so people do vote strongly for the BJP). On balance, I think BJP should get about 70% of the votes in my booth.

/* Rant Mode on */
I had not done booth work in nearly 12 years, so I had forgotten just how hard it is to get voters to the booth. Next time, I am tempted to invest in a horsewhip and/or a submachine gun. Bangalore probably leads the world in laziness. My booth fortunately had a good number of BJP volunteers (there were 15 of us), so we took turns getting out our personal cars to persuade people who had not voted to come out and vote. Most areas are about 5 minutes walking distance from the booth (for someone who can walk faster than an earthworm), and we offered to drive them to the booth in our own cars. Even so, response was tepid in some people. One bitch cursed me and my friends, saying that we were ruining her perfect afternoon with our insistence that she vote, when she would be rather watching TV instead. `ಯಾರು ಬಂದರೆ ತಾನೇ ಏನು ಮಾಡುತ್ತಾರೆ?' (No matter who comes, what will they do?), `ನಿನಗೇನು ಕಷ್ಟ ನಾನು vote ಮಾಡದೇ ಇದ್ದರೆ' (How does it trouble you if I do not vote?) were some of the typical responses I got, but in the end, I think our persistence paid off.
/* Rant Mode Off */

But people problems apart, BJP had a very nicely organised machinery. We all had worked on creating colour coded lists, BJP had arranged for water for voters, and food and drink for booth workers. We concentrated on getting all hard core voters to booths first. That was complete around 1600. After that, we concentrated on the marginals. In the end, all available hard core BJP voters voted, and we managed most of the marginals as well.

In my booth, the Congress had an equally impressive machinery (manned by a combination of hardcore Congress workers from outside the area, and a bunch of local peacefuls). I think they managed to get all hardcore Congress voters to vote as well (The Congress will get ~30% of the vote). JD(S) had only one representative inside the booth, and had no table outside. I will be surprised if JD(S) gets 10+ votes in my booth. AAP did not even put in an appearance in the booth at all.
Great work Nagesh garu. All Telugus (techies and, esp., non-techies) who can make up good numbers in Bangalore were pretty much anxious to vote for BJP due to AP issue. Can you comment on it.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

So coming back to deportation, that is a zero-sum game - everybody loses. Instead, grow yourself so rich and powerful that the "mollas" in BD become your sirkari mollas. The next step is then to reduce arabic-ization and increase indic-ness. For all practical purposes - connect them to the Indic roots.

Of course Pakistan will be a festering boil. But the best way is to let it collapse on itself. You can ask Doc'ji on how boils are lanced and collapsed. He is already working on that.
Disha ji,

While i agree with the geopolitical aspect, bottom line is we should control bd, but not allow bangladeshis to stay here period. The fence must be sealed and those inside must be shown the door. If we dont do both, and if we improve economy in NE/Eastern India, in 20 years 1/2 of Bangladesh pop will be in India.

When i mean fence, I mean state of the art 2 layer 25 ft high concrete fence with damn good barbed pier type fence for riverine border. Basically the guy in bangladesh should not even dream of setting foot here. Anyway we can discuss this after elections. This is not the time.

Keep them in their country and lock them by having a deal with Burma. Then force them to convert to Hinduism/Buddhism by pure economics and a bunch of hindu preachers. But letting them stay here is not the solution.

Nageshks garu,

Perhaps time for two different (overtly disconnected) teams that need to work in cohesion.

Team A: Consists of 1 Auto with mike and two teams of 4-5 youth under the name of "Indians 4 Democracy". These Teams will ensure that all Cable TV services are shut down during poling times, the Auto goes chiding lazy indians to go vote and so on. The two teams of youth will go street by street and make them go vote in an orderly fashion and ensure 100% voting is conducted. These teams do not suggest any specific party/candidate but just ask the voters to go vote in national interests and national interests only.

Team B: Party team.

nageshks wrote:One bitch cursed me and my friends, saying that we were ruining her perfect afternoon with our insistence that she vote, when she would be rather watching TV instead.
Perhaps one should simply threaten the people in the neighborhoods that those who don't go out and vote, their cable connections would be cut. Laaton ke bhoot ...

That may be the only way to motivate the middle class.
SaraLax

Post by SaraLax »

Frederic wrote:Sara Lax and others,

Just called the T Nagar BJP vice-president about this K.K Nagar. Nothing to worry there.

Gist of what I talked about:

*No permission to hold meeting inside KK Nagar for any party.

*Only private meetings in apartments and associations allowed. They are working on it. So far huge support for these apartment meetings. La.Ganeshan attends these apartment meetings personally.

*AAPTards are a joke in South Chennai. For all of South Chennai they have only one open Jeep. A nondescript candidate from the Muslim candidate has been pushed forth as a "Naam Ke Vasthe" candidate. No worries there.

*The fight is really between AIADMK and BJP. It is a tough bout but there is a fighting chance for La.Ganeshan.

*Most of the people who celebrated Swamy Vivekananda's birthday, the people who actually pulled the Rath are all in the BJP kitty. The BJP VP that I spoke with knows them personally. No not to worry.
Fred - Thanks for your updates.

I am a bit curious - has the DMK fallen behind the BJP in South Chennai this time ?.
Until 2009, they used to win every time in this place and they lost only by ~ 30K votes last time. I used to get sick seeing them win the South Chennai LS seat every time. The current DMK candidate for South Chennai is the current North Chennai MP. He is apparently known among PSU bank employees because he was once a bank employee & was part of some bank union at some time and hence he seems to have the capability to pull the PSU bank employee middle class votes in some good numbers. In South Chennai - that is a good specialized section of vote to target.

BTW - Virugambakkam assembly seat is currently held by BJP's current ally - DMDK and it has lots of Film industry related people. It will be great if Captain can swing a good number of the film industry votes to the BJP side (has to happen above & beyond JJ's heavy hand reach for the same). If you can please reach the local BJP leaders, do indicate about this section of voters, their affinity for Captain and hence a potential target group that might work to get additional votes.

Several districts in MP are showing 70% turnout.

Post by Sanjay »

niran, realistically how are things looking in UP ?

I know the "modi wave" euphoria can sometimes cause us to lose sight of how tough that state is to win.

niran wrote:Good tidings
dharamendera yadav nephew of mulla yam suddenly developed severe aversion
to sapa cadres so much so that few has been slapped kicked for their efforts to placate
him, news is that bjp polled 43% votes sapa 27%

out of 21 till now bjp 19 rest 2.
Aap ke muh meh ghee shakaar. But this seems to good to be true.

Incredible if true. 5forty3 says NN has an edge over Anant Kumar in Chickpet and BTM areas of S.Bangalore. Chickpet is one of the oldest areas known for trader communities. BTM is the home of countless telugu-kannadigas. I would have expected them to vote for Anant Kumar in droves. Something somewhere is terribly wrong with that city. I agree Anant Kumar does not have a great image, but folks need to vote for Modi/BJP and not for the local candidate.

India TV is showing a report on Ajay Rai. They dug out a 11 yr police report prepared by Bihar Police (ex DGP) where he is named as an associate of the jailed Shahabuddin and some connection with Daud. Oh Congress...
UPDATE: ISI connection and illegal purchases of AK 47/56 guns also out. Interesting that Mr. Shahabuddin had night vision goggles and other cool equipment.

Ambar wrote:I agree Anant Kumar does not have a great image, but folks need to vote for Modi/BJP and not for the local candidate.
I posted and tweeted on this earlier.. BJP should be having more organized local presence than shouting from top! it does not structurally work unless the worker bees are ordained within strict instituionalized setup, that checks for corruptions, methods within the party itself. Just by party functioning, I should be able to tell how they will function to govern the nation.

I hope Modi converts this party as such if he gets the majority.

archan wrote:India TV is showing a report on Ajay Rai. They dug out a 11 yr police report prepared by Bihar Police (ex DGP) where he is named as an associate of the jailed Shahabuddin and some connection with Daud. Oh Congress...
and on Zee primetime ..
Zee News ‏@ZeeNews 18m

In 7 days two #BookBombs shook UPA Government. The PM enchained, but Sonia Gandhi remains mum. Why? Analysis on #DNA at 9pm @ZeeNews
I think the recent drama on skullcap, etc are to distract from the two #BookBombs. A revelation like Baru's should have been in the news cycle for 4-6 days.
Last edited by pankajs on 17 Apr 2014 20:40, edited 1 time in total.
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

SaiK and others,

At least in South Chennai, whoever I have spoken to, especially the Karyakarthas, are really hyped up. They ( overtly or subconsciously) attest this to one and only factor : TsuNamo.

With all due respect to La. Ganeshan ( who , if i recall correctly, was BJP TamilNadu president), he was almost a nonentity in TN politics.

This time, the tremendous groundswell that I see in South Chennai Karyakarthas is not so much for La.Ganeshan as it is for "PerunThalaivar" Modi.

As for Karnataka, it is a sad f**kup. The BJP when it was in power messed up the situation so badly that the people are still livid, especially about the power situation. This has been a royal scew-up. A mess like Yeduyurappa's reign will not be easy to forget and forgive.

SaiK wrote:
Ambar wrote:I agree Anant Kumar does not have a great image, but folks need to vote for Modi/BJP and not for the local candidate.
I posted and tweeted on this earlier.. BJP should be having more organized local presence than shouting from top! it does not structurally work unless the worker bees are ordained within strict instituionalized setup, that checks for corruptions, methods within the party itself. Just by party functioning, I should be able to tell how they will function to govern the nation.

I hope Modi converts this party as such if he gets the majority.
Saik, that's easier said than done. At the end of the day, BJP like all other political parties needs money and muscle to overcome their adversaries. In the last 10 years i have seen many a local goons,loansharks and hawaladars (hawala brokers) in my area jump from Congress to BJP. People are opportunistic by nature, and if they see they have a better chance of getting tickets or making money through BJP, then they will jump ships ideology of the party be damned.

Unfortunately this results in Anant Kumar like situations. Most people at the voting booth look at the local candidate and not the bigger picture. I don't see this trend changing anytime soon..atleast not in my lifetime.

bjp was nothing few months back, everyone is only modi, even my wife and MIL are curious about why he is so popular

BTM is also the home of countless infy/wipro employees. throw a stone in any direction and you will hit 2 before the stone stops rolling.
perhaps AAP/NN indocrination has reached in these portals?
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Ambar wrote:Incredible if true. 5forty3 says NN has an edge over Anant Kumar in Chickpet and BTM areas of S.Bangalore. Chickpet is one of the oldest areas known for trader communities. BTM is the home of countless telugu-kannadigas. I would have expected them to vote for Anant Kumar in droves. Something somewhere is terribly wrong with that city. I agree Anant Kumar does not have a great image, but folks need to vote for Modi/BJP and not for the local candidate.
One major mistake of BJP - doesnt reach out to the individual. My driver wanted a simple thing like a BPK ration card - He should have been helped and he would be a die hard BJP fan but it wanst carried out.promises made but broken but he fortunately agreed that if we have Cong in center it will be a disaster. One thing that JDS does is they take care of their constituents.I ahve seen it first hand.That needs to be emulated. Never take your constituents for granted and try to help every constituent family(at least one memebr of each family) in some tangible memorable way.That will come handy during elections in a more firm manner than all the electioneering rhetoric.
The battle for 2019 should be stated today not at election time.