Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

kapilrdave wrote:Guys, I have a suggestion.

We need to plan out some way to convey our message directly to NM that his victory is majorly because of Hindutva consolidation. So he must address the Hindu concerns when in power. At least an honest attempt must be made even though it fails due to constitutional limitations. Also we want every scum at every level to be jailed. The message should be loud and clear. I know his handlers are reading this thread but we should convey this message directly to him somehow. Maybe bombard his twitter account. He also reads all the personal letters sent to him.
please to be clicking where it says kelik
kelik
there is a team working 24/7 each and every post is read and acted upon.

One of the biggest mistakes to make will be to think NaMo's victory (if he wins) is entirely due to hindutva. The man himself has gone lengths to explain his developmental politics to people and is asking them to vote for jobs and economy. Apart from a few pockets like UP I don't think many places are voting based on religion. It will be a grave mistake to go after hindutva issues right after assuming power. Modi was right when he said we need toilets before building temples. Yes he has to deliver on BJP's hindutva agenda but it has to be balanced and within whatever is possible constitutionally. IMO, JMT, whatever etc
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

+1 kapilrdave and niran. There should be no doubt in Modi's or his government mind that Hindu support is because Hindus are pissed not only because of lack of development but also appeasement politics and deteriorating security/law+order situation in the country. We need to use every madhyam to convey including SM and india272 to keep the pressure on.

fanne wrote:that interview was not to influence UP + Bihar (120 seats), if that happens it is a bonus, it is to influence the 6 Mumbai seats. With vote % diff between winning ans loosing candidate being less than 5%, and Migrant votes from these states being at least 20% in each seat, they become decisive.
Yes that too and wanted to point out that last elections as well MNS stole the seats for CongIs. If the migrant popln. go by "Oh MNS wants NaMo to win but has put his candidates, so we vote for him" and the rest of the popln. go "oh last time MNS did vote katua but did not do this time"., then they deserve such representatives!

Here is the thing which people miss. MNS makes money by being the spoilsport. Last elections they proved they will be spoil sports and wanted a greater rent control to not participate. This elections they were told to go take a hike. We will see if this gamble by BJP/NaMo has paid off or not.

Dilbu wrote:One of the biggest mistakes to make will be to think NaMo's victory (if he wins) is entirely due to hindutva. The man himself has gone lengths to explain his developmental politics to people and is asking them to vote for jobs and economy. Apart from a few pockets like UP I don't think many places are voting based on religion. It will be a grave mistake to go after hindutva issues right after assuming power. Modi was right when he said we need toilets before building temples. Yes he has to deliver on BJP's hindutva agenda but it has to be balanced and within whatever is possible constitutionally. IMO, JMT, whatever etc
+1. The pressure should not be on NaMo, but on sickulars. NaMo should be allowed to implement his "India First" pronto.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

If he protects Hindus from terrorist attacks and seculars and gives us investments and jobs that is good enough for now.

May be keep reminding how sultan of Saudi isn't perfectly secular - no declaration of first right to resources for example- that's one free/cheap way to get pseudo seculars pretend to be fair at 'internarional' :rotfl: stage. It is amazing how RMji gets here critiques for his views but the sultan of Saudi, and other such less than perfect seculars, get away with whatever. Context here is financing, bankrolling, MNCs and such that interfer directly with politics in India.

JohneeG and others:

IMHO no overt Hindutva is needed. If a NaMo Govt just stops the appeasement policies, and starts treating every faith as equal just as he promises to do, the Hindus would have won a great victory. On a level playing field, with law and order, security, good governance, and a level playing field, Hindus will do just fine.

Post by Klaus »

kapilrdave wrote: We need to plan out some way to convey our message directly to NM that his victory is majorly because of Hindutva consolidation. So he must address the Hindu concerns when in power. At least an honest attempt must be made even though it fails due to constitutional limitations. Also we want every scum at every level to be jailed. The message should be loud and clear. I know his handlers are reading this thread but we should convey this message directly to him somehow. Maybe bombard his twitter account. He also reads all the personal letters sent to him.

I'm sounding like Mehta saar, but post election I will subscribe to his solutions as well. I know MRji is also planning to launch such a site on similar lines. But the idea is to let NM know right from the first day of the office before he forms the cabinet and instructs his ministers. We must let him know what we want well in advance. For that we must start planning ASAP.
RM does have a Twitter account. You could try tweeting these issues to both NM & RM handles. Rest of BRF will pitch in with what's necessary.

I'm planning to allocate some of my liquid funds to push through a few law drafts by giving ads in Indian newspapers, I hope to make a start by end of 2014. Its the prospect of shedding the anonymity which has me perplexed though.

fanne ji, you're right of course. American political investments in India have been present for the larger portion of independent India's history, its only due to internet & SM that the world is aware in real-time. So the globalists do lose some of the 'shock & awe' & even the first-mover advantage.

Kakkaji wrote:JohneeG and others:

IMHO no overt Hindutva is needed. If a NaMo Govt just stops the appeasement policies, and starts treating every faith as equal just as he promises to do, the Hindus would have won a great victory. On a level playing field, with law and order, security, good governance, and a level playing field, Hindus will do just fine.
Its not about only needs, but aspirations. What I don't understand is some people seem to talk as if Hindhuthva and development cannot go hand in hand. I disagree with this view. People talk as if one cannot build Temples and do development at the same time. As if people have to choose between either temples or development...as if people have to choose either Hindhuthva or development. Such thinking, in my view is wrong. Unless one assumes that Hindhuthva is against development, there is no reason to be believe that Hindhuthva will stop development.

Anyway, most of the present so-called hardcore Hindhuthva agendas are actually about giving level-playing field:
removing art-370 will give level playing field in Kashmir for all Bhaarathiyas just like rest of Bhaarath.
uniform civil code will give level playing field in internal laws.
B-dheshi illegal immigration is a threat to national security.

The only item that is not about level playing field is Raam Janma Bhoomi. Even here, it was pain-stakingly proved that a temple was destroyed and a monument was built on it.(I am more inclined to believe that the temple itself was distorted into this monument by some changes). So, here also, its about justice and removing a symbol of phoren rule.

Another such item that I think of is: cow slaughter. But Modi has repeatedly said that this has many economic and social connections.

All other items are about level-playing field only. Anyway, can anyone show that Hindhuthva and development cannot go hand in hand? Does banning cow slaughter or building a temple stop development? If development is being hindered due to ban on cow slaughter or building temple, then I can understand all this development-vs-Hindhuthva debate. Otherwise, its a wrong debate because these are not mutually exclusive options.

Mitron!

Everything will be done when its time comes. The time now is for elections.

As long as Modi delivers his promise of good, clean & efficient governance, no one will blame him for doing a little extra.

It will be a bigger win against global Islam when Indian Muslims themselves vacate certain Hindu places of worship instead of Hindus taking what's rightfully thier thru force. It is very important to remember Islam, being religion of peace, allows many compromises by its followers for 'strategic' gains.

The energies have to be saved for a bigger Tripurasura Vadha!

For all talking about Hinduvta issues, shant...

The first step is to roll-back the damage caused by Sonia Patel.

That means religion based clauses in different acts to be diluted, and so on.

More important, the narrative in India has to become India centric. If NaMo can help establish those institutions and thought leaders who think like Indians first and not like Cocunuts projecting the white-man's burden on India.

One deconstruction which has to happen is this false secularism. Instead of behind the burkah, this debate has to be bought into the drawing room. Coupta did fire the first salvo when he stated what I (and others have been stating) That India is Secular because a majority of her people practice dharmic faiths. Coupta did not say dharmic faiths but just the majority. The next stage should be to openly describe the differences between the dharmic inclusiveness and the non-dharmic exclusiveness.

Another deconstruction which has to happen is of the record of the West. For some reason the impression in the mind of most 'liberal' Indians is of a West which is doodh ka dhula. The fact that West went to Hajj after consuming a hazar chooyas needs to be drilled in.

Next the left cabal needs to be utterly discredited. Whether hiding the political murders under CPIM (1400/year for 30 years) or giving the British a free pass on the Bengal famine (3M deaths) while shouting Nazi-Hitler at the drop of a hat (5M deaths). The complete lack of any Indic pride in their left narrative need to be exposed and discredited completely.

Assuming things go the way we want them to go, it is the time to first shore up the home-base....

Retweeted by AbkiBarModiSarkar
Rishi Bagree ‏@rishibagree 1h

A villager asks for drinking water. The deputy CM of the state offers him his own urine. He is still deputy CM - Ajit Pawar Democracy

Naorem Mohen ‏@laimacha 2m

In Manipur 2/2 seats for BJP and its allies. Inner seat - BJP, outer seat -NPF (NDA). Thank you NaMo wave

Narendra Modi stoops to conquer hearts

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... ote]KANPUR: BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi on Friday surprised many by literally stooping to conquer — he touched the feet of senior party leader Murli Manohar Joshi, who, after being turfed out of the Varanasi seat to make way for the Gujarat CM, has been sullen. Earlier this week, Joshi had said he did not see any Modi wave and that the wave was for BJP.

Facing criticism that Modi has been sidelining Brahmin leaders of UP, the BJP's PM pick is clearly aiming at an image make-over: he then offered the tallest chair on the stage, earmarked for him, to the veteran leader. Overriding Joshi's feeble objections, Modi then ensured the Brahmin leader occupied it.

Modi's attempt to indicate Joshi's high stature in the party despite his being the PM candidate made one member observe, "Many of us were surprised with Modi touching Joshi's feet. We never expected this. It was a rare scene. But this proves there is no leader like Modi in the party, taking everybody along."[/quote]

S Gurumurthy ‏@sgurumurthy 1h

“@bhatia_sumit EC shld Force politicians to declare their foreign trips in their affidavit with Ptocpy of passport of self & spouse”

pankajs wrote:Narendra Modi stoops to conquer hearts
But this proves there is no leader like Modi in the party, taking everybody along."
My man!!!

:D :D :D
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

pankajs wrote:Modi's attempt to indicate Joshi's high stature in the party despite his being the PM candidate made one member observe, "Many of us were surprised with Modi touching Joshi's feet. We never expected this. It was a rare scene. But this proves there is no leader like Modi in the party, taking everybody along."
Vajapeyi may have become PradhAnamantrI but Modi shows all signs of becoming a true ChakravartI. Let us hope....!!

Rahul M wrote:Naorem Mohen ‏@laimacha 2m

In Manipur 2/2 seats for BJP and its allies. Inner seat - BJP, outer seat -NPF (NDA). Thank you NaMo wave
Was just about to post this wonderful tweet!

BTW Rahul M saar,

which twitter handle do you use?

KKIndia ‏@KKIndia2020 1h
Final Vikatan Survey in TN.Sample 25000.BJP+29%,ADMK+26.4%,DMK+17.5%,Cong+9%

Rahul M wrote:Naorem Mohen ‏@laimacha 2m

Was just about to post this wonderful tweet!

BTW Rahul M saar,

which twitter handle do you use?
let that be a secret. ;) most BRFites are in my list though.

Rahul M wrote:let that be a secret. ;) most BRFites are in my list though.
#TheekHai :)

Misinterpreting a mandate is very dangerous to political longevity. It is easy to come to power in a wave of euphoria and get carried away, without understanding what primary desires of the electorate drove your ascendance to power. Making mistakes means those who voted for you quickly get rurned off and you lose heavily next time. Iff the BJP comes to power, it must not make this mistake.

The examples of misinterpreting a mandate are right here and now in UPA-2, who thought they had a mandate to give out freebies and spectacularly drove the economy into the ground. Another example - 1984. A party that won 405 odd out of 543 seats barely managed to survive a single term.

The BJPs erstwhile Hindutva plank has provided diminishing returns outside a narrow region, since the mid 1990s. Their latest popularity is driven by development economics and efficient administration, combined with a healthy disregard for appeasement politics. Do not saddle them with expectations beyond that now. If they come to power, their longevity depends on how well they manage these.

In this regard, Modi and Amit Shah have shown excellent political skill in finding a viable package for the electorate to grasp and support them on. They packaged these plans, and the electorate has shown much enthusiasm for their plans. Being voted into power is not a license to then ignore these and spend political capital elsewhere. One must never forget that.

If the electorate, who has shown a level of zeal for one candidate that most of the Gen X and Gen Y have never seen in Indian politics, bring them to power, then I hope they only focus on what they speak of - focus on development, economic empowerment of the individual, and lack of favoritism. As much as all sorts of past baggage issues may tug at the heartstrings, I hope they ignore them all for now; those are things that can be addressed with a consolidated support base that gives them the mandate to tackle them.

If half of the voters for BJP voted for it for Vikaas & Suraaj (development & governance) while the other half voted for it due to Hindutva, how can one say that the mandate for BJP is only for V&S?

This is again like saying the Hindutvavadi voters are only good for making sacrifice!

RajeshA wrote:If half of the voters for BJP voted for it for Vikaas & Suraaj (development & governance) while the other half voted for it due to Hindutva, how can one say that the mandate for BJP is only for V&S?

This is again like saying the Hindutvavadi voters are only good for making sacrifice!
Vikaas and Suraaj means Hindutva.

There you go. Defined for you!
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Report on third day of calling voters in South Chennai
*Spoke to another 20+ voters in South Chennai today.
*All, I mean without exception, said they would vote for BJP. I am sure some of them said yes BJP due to sheer politeness. But I could see
palpable enthusiasm for Modi. La. Ganeshan, I am sorry to say, does not come out as a very energetic candidate. There are
multiple reasons for this. Can't discuss this on an open forum.
*Spoke to a political analyst in TNagar, street level BJP worker with his own canvassing auto in Virugambakkam, BJP vice president for
Velachery. Throughout, the story is the same. There is a large Modi wave visible.
*Calling it a day today. Will call more people tomorrow and update.

^^ Moditva is stopping appeasement and giving us dharmics a level playing field. Period.

After that, we'll take it from there independent of gubmint influence or patronage. (we == dharmics).

Free our temples, gives us all the benefits the mainorities enjoy (e.g. in running edu institutions), stop illicit NGO activity and phoren funds for religious activity, slowly but surely cleanup academe and media of marxist and phoren influence respectively.

And declare India to be the spiritual home for Dharmic faiths the world over, and an automatic refuge for persecuted dharmic peoples everywhere.

Then see the results. BTW, all the above can be done in parallel to (and in fact, in support of) development and good governance. It needn't rock the NDA boat, it needn't give any phoren agents and brown sepoys any fresh ammunition.

We'll see.

P.S. Amit Shah on TV stating, crystal clearly, that BJP expects to win 18 of the 21 seats that have gone to polls thus far in UP. :)

No part of the current campaign has emphasized Hindutva in any manner. They've explicitly declined to use religion in this manner in campaigning, instead explicitly declining to use any such divisive language, thereby unifying a whole swathe of the Hindu voting base *and* anyone else who is attracted to development driven governance.

The primary players in this campaign are not Togadias, MMJs and Uma Bhartis, but Modi and Shah, two people who have explciitly avoided running a campaign like the ones of the past. Asserting that this is a vote for Hindutva and demanding that Modi satisfy every pet religious demand here and now, if elected, will be a very big mistake.

He doesn't owe his popularity to any such religious motif this time, but to avoiding all such talk and focusing on building a nationwide consolidated base of support on the back of development and good governance.

Added: Disha puts it very well - make modern Hindutva about appeasement-free self-empowered development, and the BJP will have a dominant decades-long national political base as people increasingly join the political economic paradigm that brought them their socio-economic progress. If people can talk about the 'Christian work ethic', this can easily be packaged as economic Hindutva.

An economically resurgent India can deploy more fund against anti-nationals of all hues and colors. A more calculated, measured but focused anti-national policy can be more lasting and effective than a muscular one. It will also create less ripples on the surface.

The first agenda should be to make and consolidate gains and make nationalistic parties (BJP or an alternative) the default party of the country. 60 years under congress has made us very venerable and there are still very powerful vested interests that desire status quo.
member_28352

Post by member_28352 »

Hindutva is very much there in this campaign. However it is assertive not aggressive. Just as Modi refused to apologize for Gujarat riots, BJP refused to accomodate sectarian Islamism or Isaism or merely the fact that almost all of the BJP's candidates are Hindu. In addition not talking of pandering to minorities and concentrating on what concerns Hindus more, viz Roti Kapda and Makaan is the assertive Hindutva of this election.
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

RajeshA wrote:If half of the voters for BJP voted for it for Vikaas & Suraaj (development & governance) while the other half voted for it due to Hindutva, how can one say that the mandate for BJP is only for V&S?

The damage done by deracination runs deep, even among those who think they are not deracinated. The tendency to pontificate with western-style logical constructs is an amusing trait of 'educated' Indians. There is still a good chance that the last Westerner will be an Indian.

It is ridiculous to imagine that 'Hindutva' doesn't encompass 'vikas' and 'sushasan'. Those who want to decouple the two fail to realize that the rising commitment to 'vikas' and 'sushasan' emerges from a proper understanding of 'dharma'. Neither is sustainable on its own, unless you want to imagine an India full of doubleCrossers, atheists, 'liberals', and a restive underclass of Moonshiners. This mandate, assuming it comes as expected, will be as much a repudiation of that scenario as it is a mandate for development and governance.

The mandates of the past have been wasted because they were too many 'technocrats' and 'economists' who have completely failed to deliver a prosperous and cohesive India despite the best 'phoren' education from places like Akshvardha, Kamboja, Hardvar, etc. Disconnection with dharma was the downfall of these pretenders.

Suraj wrote:No part of the current campaign has emphasized Hindutva in any manner. .
With due respect, the campaign in UP has a VERY strong underlying Hindutva theme -- just what was "revenge through ballot" -- choice of Kashi/prayers at Sankat Mochan/Vishwanath temple -- Amit Shah praying to Ram Lalla to start was about ?

Come on. The moment Amit Shah lands he goes and prays to Ram Lalla -- that is a as unambiguous message as any.

In bharat Hindus are not proud to be seculars. Many don't even know what that actually translates into their day to day life. But most of them are Hindu apologist. They don't even know what Hindutva is but still they are apologist. They hesitate to say "I am a proud hindu". Because the brainwashing has taken the root so much that the moment you say you are proud Hindu you are then associated with political cause. This will take long years to unlearn. Let me give you an example. After 26/11 one day in our office we request all team members to hold 2 min silent for those kiiled and martyrs. Then one of us gave a small talk about how we should boycott pakistani products and shops. One of my friend sitting next to me said in my ear "is he a RSS guy?". I was shocked. I said being patriotic is not a RSS copyright. After that at the lunch table we around 10-15 guys gathered. Some of them said "what was that talk all about?", "has he lost his mind?" "kya paka raha tha woh?" everybody laughed. These people, these young crowd in 20s, they are apologists. Is it their fault? No way. These young minds have been brainwashed. It will take huge efforts to unlearn this. And mind you I am just talking about being patriotic and openly stating that. Talk about openly saying "I am a proud hindu". In the world not chirstens, not muslims but only hindus are shy of publicly calling themselves Hindus. And mind you they don't even call themselves "secular". I have not come across a single hindu who proudly says "yes I am secular". They simply don't know what that means. But they surely been taught not to say "I am a proud hindu".

Now the twist. The same crowd of 10-15 people are now voting for BJP...or voting for Modi. Are they voting for hindutva? may be. Are they voting for development? may be too. Who knows what is there in their confused mind.

My appeal is, go slow on these people. Don't scare them away. 60 years of hindu-apologist brainwashing will take time to unlearn. Its a long game and be prepared to play that. Slow and steady.

Guys, we are 4 weeks away from poll results !!! We'll get enough and more time to discuss all of the above when the government comes into power. Why the hurry ?

Mods - this discussion does not seem appropriate at this time.
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

Suraj wrote:No part of the current campaign has emphasized Hindutva in any manner.
One can easily find these types of 'analytical' statements in NYT and other angrezi newspapers.

The best desi interpretation is perhaps "samajhne waale samajh gaye hain, .." Best to leave it at that and wait for the results.

Sanku wrote:With due respect, the campaign in UP has a VERY strong underlying Hindutva theme -- just what was "revenge through ballot" -- choice of Kashi/prayers at Sankat Mochan/Vishwanath temple -- Amit Shah praying to Ram Lalla to start was about ?
There's a substantial difference between the tone of their actions in 2014, and in any Hindutva-driven campaign from the 1990s. It isn't led by firebrands. It isn't focussed on addressing religious grievances.

Instead, it's a far more mature and astute campaign that appeals to the electorate's current needs at large, rather than those of a few. The proof of the effectiveness of the message is in the general excitement surrounding a single man. Further, those leading this campaign keep their Hindu belief overt and unapologetic, but importantly, personal, rather than make it the basis of their campaign.

I'm very thankful that Modi and Shah are running the campaign the way they are, and not like some here would like them to, and I hope he'll have an electoral mandate to do what he desires to do, and not what some here demand that he do.

I admire the intellectual sophistication of this campaign, and would hate to see it regress into the kind of blunt-force Hindutva campaigns of the 1990s. This one is a far more sophisticated package.

there will be enough time and scope to discuss interpretations of campaigns and what worked/did not work AFTER may 16. so pls focus and do not derail this thread for now.......army group belarus is at MINSK, far from warsaw and even farther from BERLIN

prepare lead formations for months of unrelenting heavy combat and Apr24 linkup with Army Group Ukraine under Marshal Konev and Red Army partisans west of Pripyat marshes.

-signed
Marshal Georgi Zhukov
cc: STAVKA, Gen Chuikov HQ, Gen Rokosowsky HQ
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Arjun wrote:Guys, we are 4 weeks away from poll results !!! We'll get enough and more time to discuss all of the above when the government comes into power. Why the hurry ?
Bhat to do, 5 din left for the next phase onlee :)
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

Aatish Taseer writes:
Mogambo in the Sacred City
The wait is over. The Congress Party has found a man to fight Modi from Benares.

it seems Kejri and family have been forced to leave Sankat Mochan temple guesthouse where he was lodged on request of head priest, due to protests by others at surge in political adda and activity there.

he has moved base to some colony near BHU.