Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 21 Apr 2014

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
RCase

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 21 Apr

Post by RCase »

Shankk wrote: Successful completion of KKHighway will also solve the so called core issue between India and Pakistan. Karakoram will then become India's jugular vein...after all Cashmere is a disputed land. :roll:
I guess India's Jaguar planes should be able to take of the 'jaguar vein' in 'disputed' land.

Thank you, Shiv-ji. Appreciate your detailed post. Makes sense. I am with you in hoping for an independent Balochistan along with independent Sindh that co-exist with soverign state of Pashtunistan and Al Bunjab.

While I understand and concede the primary of oil transport for China, from purely Balochi standpoint, a port is important to develop the region (not claiming that Pakis had that intention). Companies like Posco want captive ports in Orissa, rather than send the iron ores to Calcutta or Vizag and then ship them to S.Korea or wherever. For metal ores to be exported out of Balochistan, directly shipping them via a nearby Gwadar port will be more economical and quicker than sending it by road to Karachi, and then ship it out.

A well functioning port in Gwadar with Balochi control (and not Chinese captive port) is important for Balochistan to survive as an independent country. Now is not the time. When Balochistan gets sufficient political and moral support from international community for their freedom struggle in the near future, they should also raise the issue of ownership of Balochi port. Pakis had no business giving away ownership of Gwadar port without concurrence of Balochis. A captive port in Gwadar is not in the interest of Balochis. Its ownership and administrative control should be with Balochis.

19 year girl ganged rape for submitting application against police to CM Punjab Mian Shahbaz Sharif. Doctors recovered same application from her private parts

LAHORE: A 19-year old girl (S) is in critical condition in Jinnah Hospital Lahore with multiple vaginal injuries where she was reportedly admitted by Rescue 1122 staff that recovered her in unconscious condition from Quad-i-Azam Industrial Area Township. She claims she was brutally raped by 5 persons including two policemen because she submitted an application to Chief Minister Punjab Mian Shahbaz Sharif against alleged culprits who ganged raped her earlier and policemen who were harassing her. “Culprits are so powerful that main stream media is avoiding to highlight this case”, claimed people in hospital.

According to hospital sources, doctors recovered same application from her vagina because culprits after raping her put that same application inside her body.

According to her, she was raped in Industrial area sometime back and police did not take any action against culprits. She submitted an application against policemen and culprits to Chief Minister Punjab and went back to Karachi from where she belonged. Some days back she got telephone call from Lahore police and was directed to reach Lahore because of inquiry was started on her application. She reached Lahore and was in contact with police officials on phone. When she came out of Kalma Chowk metro station, she was abducted by 5 alleged rappers :roll: who took her to Defence Area and raped her brutally and then put her application that she submitted against them inside her private parts and threw her in Township Industrial area.

Hospital sources say her private parts are in mutilation condition.

Such incidents took place in India also including case where a girl was raped inside a bus and then she succumbed to her injuries in hospital. The whole civil society of India came out of streets against such brutality. However this has become a routine in Pakistan and there is no response coming from civil society, non-government organisations and even media that is busy in other issue.

http://www.dnd.com.pk/19-year-girl-gang ... ate-parts/

shiv wrote:There is only one stated reason for the creation of BOTH the Gwadar port and the Karakoram highway link - and that is ostensibly for the shipment of oil from the Persian Gulf to China so that the long sea lanes to China that can possibly be choked by India or the USA are bypassed. Pakistan is complicit in raising the fear among Chinese of India and the USA conspiring to cut off Chinese sea lanes. Fine, it is their prerogative to "sell" Gwadar to the Chinese as any good business person might want to do.
There is an oil boom in the United States, in places where there are no existing pipelines. In 2008, the railways in the US originated just 9500 tank loads of oil; in 2013, it was around 400,000 - a 40-fold increase. But railway transport is showing huge problems. I doubt that road transport is any better an answer to transport crude oil.

So, IMO, the Karakoram highway is meant to be a logistics line, for China to be able to send military supplies to Pakistan. A fragile line, no doubt; but in a conflict with Pakistan, would India escalate the conflict by attacking Chinese convoys on the road?

Also, in line with our previous discussion, while materially, the Karakoram highway may not amount to much, there is the psychological dimension to be considered. False confidence is the other side of the coin of false fears. The highway is a sign of Chinese commitment to Pakistan.

I don't know whether the Karakoram highway should be coupled with the Gwadar port.

PS: put a huge oil refinery at Gwadar and transport refined products by road to China in an emergency is much more plausible.

shivji had referred to the monty python victory as hezblah victory IIRC.
BTW I was thinking that We as a country and a civilization are similarly victorious by mere existing. Even if they hate us so much we still exist and they can do nothing about it. By continuous growth and development we out-develop them and thereby force them to concede that we are better. Articles showing us in this kind of light (aka towels) in their mainstream english media are nowadays seen a lot. They are generally given a nazar-battu of a few snide comments (probably under duress or fear of establishment) towards us, but the general tone and tenor of the articles is praising us.
What would really hurt the establishment would be acceptance by common people of this difference aka hegemony in the eyes of the establishment. Perhaps we can help this through social media or other means. This especially if it happens in the vernacular sections of their media would infuriate them to no end.
I think these crackdowns on channels, newspapers and journalists is in part due to these kind of articles.
jrjrao

Post by jrjrao »

FWIW. This Paki retd. Lt Col, who very likely served in the ISI, states plainly that those two foolish gun toters dispatched by Raymond Davis were in fact ISI employees (as suspected by all at the time). Not sure if the Pakis have admitted so previously.

Let ISI be ISI
Muhammad Ali Ehsan
http://pakobserver.net/detailnews.asp?id=243262
ISI works ...under a single mission statement that reads – ‘take the war to the enemy’.
When Ramond Davis shot the two ISI employees Muhammad Fahim and Faizan Haider he represented the CIA’s ‘un attributable force’ that made its way inside Pakistan without the formal vetting of their credentials by the ISI.

India treated Nawaz like a schoolboy - DAWN

Your own army treated him worse.
Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf chairman Imran Khan on Monday said that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was treated like a schoolboy in India, DawnNews reported.

Speaking to media representatives outside the Parliament House in the federal capital, Khan said that by not meeting representatives of the Hurriyat Conference in New Delhi, the prime minister had struck a bargain on Kashmir.

Khan questioned that if the premier could meet lead and cement traders in New Delhi, why couldn't he hold a meeting with those representing the Hurriyat Conference.

anupmisra wrote:In the land of the vibrant press and freedom of speech, more reminders of who really is the boss. Masked men attack Jang’s resident editor in Multan.
“They called me an agent of India and Jews, and a traitor,” he added.
That is ISI propagandu.
Greenest greens attack journos because they are agents of lesser greens.

http://forbesindia.com/article/checkin/ ... ws/37896/1
The Zee network has crossed the border to cherry-pick successful Pakistani TV soaps for its Indian audiences.

In its newest channel, called Zindagi, to be launched on June 23, Zee is sourcing from Pakistan content that, it believes, will click with the local viewers.

Its No Joke By The Faithbuffonsatan

DekhoNoMoneyComic survey: 13-year war on terror cost $102.5 billion :lol:
ISLAMABAD: The country pays a heavy price in terms of the economy, security and national resources to address the war on terror and emerging security challenges, according to the Economic Survey of Pakistan.Losses sustained by the country due to the war on terrorism in the outgoing fiscal year stood at $6.7 billion losses – $3.3 billion or one-third less than the previous fiscal year, highlighting a gradual recovery.The fiscal year 2013-14 was the third consecutive year when there was a reduction in losses over the preceding year as shown by the survey.This year’s losses also pushed the total cost of the 13-year war above $102.5 billion, approximately two times more than the government’s proposed total budget of Rs3.9 trillion for fiscal year 2014-15.The Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) government has added a chapter on impact of war in Afghanistan and ensuing terrorism on Pakistan’s economy.The chapter briefly describes the direct and indirect losses that the country has sustained so far due to the war on terrorism, which began in 2001 after the 9/11 terrorist attacks.The US embassy in Pakistan has long been opposing Pakistan’s decision to publish the cost of terrorism, according to officials privy to the discussions.The cost has been worked out by an inter-ministerial committee, having representation of Ministries of Finance, Interior, Foreign Affairs, Commerce and Inter-Provincial Coordination

Pakistan has lost $1 trillion due to the world not giving Pakistan $1 trillion.

quote "What was new to me was the idea that the Pakistan Army considers it as a victory if it lives to fight another day."

We here on BR have been saying this from last 15 years "Give Peace a Chance DESTROY nPakistan"

http://www.dawn.com/news/1110131
MOSCOW: Russia has lifted its embargo on arms supplies to Pakistan and is holding talks on supplying Islamabad with combat helicopters, the head of state-owned Rostec, Sergei Chemezov, said Monday, the ITAR-TASS news agency reported.

“Such a decision has been taken. We are holding talks on supplying the helicopters,” Chemezov said, adding that the negotiations were about Russian Mi-35 Hind attack helicopters.

Russia has long been the largest supplier of arms to India, which is the world's top arms buyer.

partha wrote:http://forbesindia.com/article/checkin/ ... ws/37896/1
The Zee network has crossed the border to cherry-pick successful Pakistani TV soaps for its Indian audiences.

In its newest channel, called Zindagi, to be launched on June 23, Zee is sourcing from Pakistan content that, it believes, will click with the local viewers.
Punit Goenka, managing director and CEO, spoke to dna on his plans for the new channel and the group.

Q) How will you differentiate Zindagi in the crowded GEC (general entertainment channel) space? Does it run the risk of cannibalising Zee's existing entertainment channel?

A)It may lead to fragmentation of viewership, which is the reality given the consumer need for choice and variety. Audiences will want differentiated content. Hence it is better to fragment than to get fragmented.Secondly, while the existing GECs are in the traditional line, we are trying to divert a progressive mindset here. Today's women are not just looking at traditional dramas, work-life balance is going to be the next big thing for them. This content lends itself very well to this audience set. It's unique because it's fresh, and different from current content that you see on GECs. We believe it will have its own USP and create premium mass audience, which will be a new category.

Q) Is this channel with Pakistani content? Are you looking at going beyond boundaries?

Absolutely! So while the first set of content is coming from Pakistan, we will be sourcing content from countries like Egypt, Turkey :roll: and even Latin America. The reason why we have identified these markets is that the content made there is adaptable for the India market culturally. :evil: Today, we are sourcing content and the future is in producing this content- buying ideas, buying stories from these markets and producing them either locally or within those markets where setting is much better and conducive.

Q) Are you looking at co-producing content abroad?

Yes of course. It has already kicked off. We have commissioned 12 tele films—6 produced in India and Pakistan each. We are also talking to production houses for co-producing shows based on successful novels which will takeoff by the year end or early next year.

Q) What is the kind of GEC market share you are looking at?

A significant share. It is difficult to put a number. With Zindagi, our share of the market should expand. You asked earlier if the new channel would cannibalise the existing channel... I hope it does because cannibalising also extends to other channels as well. So it is not losing consumers from Zee TV to Zindagi, but gaining ones from the others to Zindagi.

Q) Will you also have Indian content on Zindagi?

What we promise is an alternate viewing experience. So whether it is produced in Pakistan or Dubai or India, it doesn't matter. The USP is going to be the acclaimed writers and their way of telling a story. Rather than going to sets, we have real locations. We will give the people a new feel of content.

Q) Are all the rights owned by the Zee group or is there co-ownership on these rights?

We would prefer to own the rights, but we are open for co-production as well, as long as the territories of rights are demarcated. For instance, if we co-produce in Pakistan, we would give the Pakistan rights to them and keep the rest of the world with ourselves.

Q) What are the marketing initiatives for the new channel?

The differentiating factor in our marketing is going to be our digital strategy. From the simple point of questioning the need for moving from traditional GEC will be the USP. Unlike other GECs that target the Hindi-speaking markets, Zindagi will target Hyderabad, Bangalore and Chennai as well. Hence, the marketing plan will include these markets as well as the core that is the Hindi-speaking belt.

To create a brand that will target the 'premium mass' sensibility, we partnered with 'Dunning Penny Jones' of London to create brand identities – logo, on-air and off-air packaging. The channel has been packaged in a bright, vibrant, lively feel to give viewers an enhanced viewing experience.

Q) Will you look at Pakistan as a market if it is opened up?

As of today, Indian companies are not allowed to operate in Pakistan. But if and when the regulations change, we are open to operate in Pakistan. We operate in 170 countries already, so why not Pakistan?

http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-ze ... gi-1989576

schinnas wrote:Shiv-ji, Peregrine-ji:
Regarding Chipanda's interest in Gwadar - do enlighten me (sincere ask - not rhetorical!). Is there any reason to think KKHighway and all the publicly promised heaven of 5 star hotels, ityadi to Pakis is everything? Given the supposedly rich natural resources in Balochistan, does it make sense for Chipanda to first secure an efficient captive port before securing exclusiving mining rights in Balochistan. If they can make mining operations work in unstable Afghanistan, why would Baloch be any difficult, especially if they have a fully controlled port close-by?

That aside, time will tell how successful KKHighway rebuilding project is going to be. My guess is we will know the answer is lot less than 20 years.
shiv wrote:There is only one stated reason for the creation of BOTH the Gwadar port and the Karakoram highway link - and that is ostensibly for the shipment of oil from the Persian Gulf to China so that the long sea lanes to China that can possibly be choked by India or the USA are bypassed. Pakistan is complicit in raising the fear among Chinese of India and the USA conspiring to cut off Chinese sea lanes. Fine, it is their prerogative to "sell" Gwadar to the Chinese as any good business person might want to do.
Shiv Ji :

There are two Issues.

1. The Chinese have not “begged” the Crapistanis for the Port of Gwadar. It is the Crapistanis who “BEGGED THE CHINESE” to take over Gwadar.

The Crapistanis “discontinued” the Port of Singapore’s agreement to operate Gwadar on the pretext that PSA could not bring international Shipping especially the Container Trade to Gwadar.

A Port Operator does not bring “Business” to a Port by way of attracting “Shipping”

Business come to a Port by the “Hinterland” it serves.

The Ports of Hamburg, Rotterdam and Antwerp in Europe (by way of River Transport to the West European Hinterland) and Kandla & Mundra by way of Road & Rail Transport (Kandla was built to counter the Loss of Karachi to Punjab, Rajasthan and UP and Mundra has joined in the fray) to its Hinterland in Northern and Central India has make the Crapistanis dream up the Port of Gwadar. Gwadar will only succeed if its Hinterland of Balochistan is Developed. I am not holding my breath for Gwadar as I am not sure that Balochistan will provide the Trade to Gwadar similar to that is provided by Northern and possibly Central India to Kandla and Mundra.

The Pakistanis have touted Gwadar as the Port to serve the CARs and China.

This view is negated by my Post of 01 Jun 2014 15:02 in respect of the CARa and my Post of 02 Jun 2014 03:56 in respect of China in General and Xinjiang in Particular.

2. I now refer to a portion of your Post of 02 Jun 2014 08:49 quoted above i.e. “There is only one stated….…..might want to do”.

To avoid the “choking of the Malacca Straits by India and Japan the Chinese have built the Deep Water Port of Kyaukpyu. This Port is about 60 Miles South East of the Port of Sitwe (Old name Akyab). It will cater to the 300,000 Tons Oil Tankers built by the Chinese for the Iranians and these ships are used for Oil Cargoes from Iran to China – the Oil is in the form of Repayment by the Iranians to the Chinese for acquiring the 20 Very Large Oil Tankers,

The Natural Gas Pipe Line from Kyaukpyu to South China – I think it is to Kunming – is in operation and the Oil Pipe Line is about to be completed.

As such – IMHO - the Chinese DO NOT NEED GWADAR for Trade. It may be a very useful Chinese Naval Base – part of the Chinese Necklace of Pearls around India.

In ending the Chinese Railways are "Standard Guage" and Pakrail is on Broad Guage.

SBajwa wrote:"What was new to me was the idea that the Pakistan Army considers it as a victory if it lives to fight another day."
Akin to a common beggar surviving the cold night and hunger to live and beg for another day will also call it a victory.
RCase

Post by RCase »

Jhujar wrote: DekhoNoMoneyComic survey: 13-year war on terror cost $102.5 billion :lol:
OK. Now I get it. It PAYS to be non-state actors. How well are they paid, you may ask?
According to GoP, they had to shell out $102.5 B, which obviously the rest of the world must compensate! :rotfl:

Lilo wrote:
Punit Goenka, managing director and CEO, spoke to dna on his plans for the new channel and the group.

Q) Is this channel with Pakistani content? Are you looking at going beyond boundaries?

Absolutely! So while the first set of content is coming from Pakistan, we will be sourcing content from countries like Egypt, Turkey :roll: and even Latin America. The reason why we have identified these markets is that the content made there is adaptable for the India market culturally. :evil: Today, we are sourcing content and the future is in producing this content- buying ideas, buying stories from these markets and producing them either locally or within those markets where setting is much better and conducive.

http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-ze ... gi-1989576
Seems to me a thinly camouflaged way, by adding Latin America, of Mr. Punit Goenka saying that Zee TV will be doing a Two nation Theory and be launching a separate channel targeting adherents of the Mohammadden religion perhaps because :wink: Mohammadden TV programmes cannot co-exist side by side with culturally polluting Hindu Kaafir programmes replete with Bindi wearing actresses :lol: .

Feeling no particular cultural affinity with Pakistan, Egypt or Turkey that is any way more than cultural affinity with Somalia, Eritrea, or Djibouti, I am curious to know if I am somehow an anomaly and it is indeed the case that the majority of Non Mohammadden Indian’s do indeed have some sort of feeling of greater cultural affinity with Pakistan, Egypt or Turkey :?:

There was a journalist, M.S.M. Sharma, who was stationed in Karachi during Independence and the Partition, working for the Daily Gazette. He fled Karachi in January of 1948. After returning to India, he became editor of Bihar's newspaper, The Searchlight. He wrote a book "Peeps into Pakistan" with a foreword by Sir C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar, and Introduction by Shri N. Chandraskehar Aiyar (retd. Judge of the Supreme Court of India), published in August 1954. He writes:
On my return to India from Pakistan in 1948, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel of beloved memory suggested that I should write a volume of my experiences in Pakistan in a reminiscent vein. But the "Iron Dictator" qualified his command with a grave warning. It was that not until the last vestige of bitterness had subsided I should take up my pen. I flatter myself I am not temperamental. But it took me more than thirty months to expel every trace of bitterness that had taken possession of my soul as a result of my experiences of the early days of Pakistan.
Sharma tells us that when the Daily Gazette took up the cause of violence against Hindus, he began to receive threatening letters from the "Pakistan Terrorist Society", he believed headquartered at the Dawn and sponsored by the Pakistani Secretariat. (The scan I'm reading is a bit blurred on some pages, so I'm guessing a bit). But "Pakistan" and "Terrorism" came into association from the very birth of that country.

Peregrine wrote: 1. The Chinese have not “begged” the Crapistanis for the Port of Gwadar. It is the Crapistanis who “BEGGED THE CHINESE” to take over Gwadar.
A related comment. If a man marries a clap infested whore, his judgement needs to be questioned as well. Chinese judgement too is suspect and I would say this talk of things being done by China for "friendship and goodwill" is balderdash - just an echandee preserving face saving attempt by a nation that really did marry a clap infested whore, Pakistan.
Manu

Post by Manu »

Anujan wrote:Pakistan has lost $1 trillion due to the world not giving Pakistan $1 trillion.
:D :lol: :rotfl: :P :mrgreen:

A_Gupta wrote: But "Pakistan" and "Terrorism" came into association from the very birth of that country.
Of course. TSP is waging a jihad against us since its birth, as most of us here in BRf know since long.

Sajjan Jindal's Tea Party for Nawaz Sharif draws flak in Pakistan
It's a tea party which has attracted little or no attention in India but has dominated the media discourse in Pakistan. The party in question was hosted by steel baron Sajjan Jindal hosted at his residence in honour of the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nawaz Sharif, during his visit to India.

The Pakistan PM dropped in for tea on May 27, some time after the meeting with his Indian counterpart Narendra Modi.

Imran Khan, the former cricketer and chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, on Sunday criticized Sharif for having time to spare for Jindal during his visit to India, while not finding time for leaders of the All party Hurriyat Conference, a grouping of separatist-mined Kashmiri leaders, who had sought an appointment with him.

The tea-party may have been part of a strategy by Indian steelmakers to pitch for support from the Pakistan government for a project in Afghanistan that could serve as a lifeline for steelmakers in India who are eager to secure supplies of iron ore, according to industry officials.

AFISCO or Afghan Iron and Steel Consortium, a group led by state owned SAIL along with JSW, JSPL and Monnet Ispat are keen to obtain from Pakistan right of way to transport iron ore by ..

Securing the right of way through Pakistan will hold the key to the commercial viability of the ore concessions in Afghanistan obtained by the Indian steelmakers. Seshagiri Rao, JSW's joint managing director confirmed that the Indian steelmakers are keen to obtain permission to transport ore from Afghanistan across Pakistan to ports in India.

"Our interests are in Afghanistan. We have an MoU with the government of Afghanistan for mining iron ore," Rao said.

"It is still early days, but if the project is to be successful then obtaining approval for the right of way from Pakistan is critical. The alternate route for the Hajijak iron ore is to transport iron-ore to Russia, and then bring it back to India. This would make the project unviable," another source in the know added.

Rao agreed that the Russia route to bring iron-ore would be prohibitively expensive, and therefore "unworkable."

As per the agreement with the Afghan government, Afisco has to build a 2-million tonne steel plant in Afghanistan to be allowed the right to export iron ore from Hajijak mountains. The ferrous content of the ore is said to be in the high sixties, which is considered to be high quality.

The terms on the quantum of iron ore that can be exported is still being worked out with the Afghan government, Rao said.

The flak from Imran Khan for alleged proximity with Indian businessmen has gained some traction as the Sharif Group, one of the largest industrial conglomerates in the neighbouring country, has substantial interests in steel making.

Rao of JSW denied that his group has any plans to set up either a power or steel plant in Pakistan.

On page 3 of the highlights of Conomic Sureway, the biggest Freudian slip.
Pakistan Bureau of Statistics released quarterly growth rate for the first time during the current fiscal year. Pakistan has shared its methodology for preparation of quarterly economic figures with international financial institutions like IMF. They have expressed complete satisfaction over the mythology.

Pentagon inquiry in 2010 found Bergdahl walked away from unit, report claims
After weeks of intensive searching, the military decided against making an extraordinary effort to rescue Bergdahl, especially after it became clear he was being held in Pakistan under the supervision of the Haqqani network, a Taliban ally with links to Pakistani's intelligence service.
Ashok Sarraff

Post by Ashok Sarraff »

SSridhar wrote: Of course. TSP is waging a jihad against us since its birth, as most of us here in BRf know since long.
I would take it further, Malsi has been waging jihad against us for long. TSP is only it's current organ. There'll be no permanent solution till Masli is cured.

Altaf bhai arrested in london on money laundering charges- pak tribune
Pakistan MQM leader held in London- BBC
Police in London have arrested the leader of Pakistan's MQM party, Altaf Hussain, on suspicion of money-laundering, his party says. Officers are searching a residential address in north-west London, where a 60-year-old man was detained. Mr Hussain has lived in the UK since 1991, saying his life would be at risk if he returned to Pakistan. Police in Karachi, Pakistan's largest city, which the MQM controls, have been put on alert amid reports of violence. The British and Pakistan authorities have in the past expressed concerned that any arrest of Altaf Hussain could lead to violent protests in Karachi. Shootings have been reported from some parts of the city, which BBC correspondents say is tense. Traffic jams are reported in Karachi and other cities in Sindh province as businesses start to close and people head home fearing violence. Security is being tightened around the British mission in the city, which has been closed temporarily, and other buildings. The city has been wracked by violence - much of it politically motivated.
Last edited by K Mehta on 03 Jun 2014 17:12, edited 2 times in total.

Buses torched in Karachi upon Altaf bhai's arrest, Straits Times
Angry protesters in Pakistan's port city of Karachi on Tuesday torched buses, rickshaws and a car following reports that MQM party Altaf Hussain had been arrested in London, officials said.

At least six buses, five auto-rickshaws and one car were destroyed, they said.

Ex-PM Rental Raja, Shaukat Tareen arrested in rental power plant case
ISLAMABAD: An accountability court in Islamabad indicted former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and 11 others on Tuesday in the rental power project case, DawnNews reported.
Former finance minister Shaukat Tareen, former federal secretaries Ismail Qureshi and Shahid Rafi were also among those indicted in the case of alleged corruption in the Sahuwal and Piranghaib rental power projects.
Today’s indictment came about when accountability court judge Muhammad Bashir dismissed pleas filed by Tareen and Qureshi requested that their names be dropped from the case.
Not only did the court dismiss their pleas, the two were also among those indicted in the case.
Subsequently, the court adjourned the hearing to June 20 and directed NAB to provide evidence and witnesses against the indicted.
NAB has been investigating 12 RPPs cases in which nine firms reportedly received more than Rs22 billion as mobilisation advance from the government to commission the projects, but most of them were accused of failing to set up plants.
The bureau has already recovered Rs13 billion in the case.
Graft cases: Arrest warrants issued for Ex-PM Yousaf Raza Gilani, Amin Fahim-Pak tribune
KARACHI:
An anti-corruption court on Monday issued non-bailable arrest warrants for former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani and former commerce minister Amin Fahim for their alleged involvement in seven cases relating to a multi-billion trade subsidy scam.
Gilani, who served as prime minister from 2008 to 2012, along with ex-commerce minister Makhdoom Amin Fahim, allegedly granted billions of rupees in subsidies to bogus trading companies.
During Monday’s hearing, the court issued arrest warrants for former premier Gilani, the then commerce minister Fahim and several officials of the Trade Development Authority of Pakistan (TDAP) after the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) submitted its final charge sheet in the cases.
Both Gilani and Fahim, stalwarts of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), were declared absconders in all seven cases by the court.
The judge of the special federal anti-corruption court-I, Mohammad Azeem, accepted the final charge sheets for hearing and issued NBWs for the absconders and directed law enforcing authorities to produce them before the court till June 17.
The FIA has charged the PPP leaders with the same offence which it had mentioned in the 11 charge-sheets submitted earlier before the court.
The first charge sheet was submitted on May 29 and subsequently the court had issued warrants for nine suspects, including Gilani and Fahim, in cases pertaining to the subsidy scam.
According to the final charge sheets, filed in seven cases against the veteran PPP leaders the investigation body projected the misappropriated amount at Rs96,086,622, Rs11,968,834, Rs19,608,620, Rs14, 432,244, Rs12,900,114, Rs11,824,580 and Rs17,960,061, respectively.
Besides the PPP duo, former deputy secretary to prime minister’s secretariat, Mohammad Zubair, Farhan Junejo, Faisal Siddique, Maher Haroon Rasheed, Mian Tariq, Zafar Hussain, Noman Siddiqui, Syed Mohibullah Shah and others were also declared absconders in the charge sheets.
The suspects have been booked for their alleged involvement in approving and disbursing fraudulent trade subsidies amounting to billions of rupees to several fake companies through fictitious claims and backdated cheques.
According to court officials, several cases related to the trade subsidy scam against former chairman, ex-chief executive and other senior TDAP officials are pending before the court.

It's quite strange that 1-3 abduls on the ground almost always get shaheedised whenever a PAF plane crashes. This is the 3rd such incident, which I remember in which someone on ground died too.

SSridhar wrote:Buses torched in Karachi upon Altaf bhai's arrest, Straits Times
Angry protesters in Pakistan's port city of Karachi on Tuesday torched buses, rickshaws and a car following reports that MQM party Altaf Hussain had been arrested in London, officials said.

At least six buses, five auto-rickshaws and one car were destroyed, they said.
KFC still intact though? Standards are dropping.
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

jamwal wrote:It's quite strange that 1-3 abduls on the ground almost always get shaheedised whenever a PAF plane crashes. This is the 3rd such incident, which I remember in which someone on ground died too.

..maybe it was a kamikaze mission and not a crash. :twisted:

-M
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

K Mehta wrote:Ex-PM Rental Raja, Shaukat Tareen arrested in rental power plant case
ISLAMABAD: An accountability court in Islamabad indicted former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and 11 others on Tuesday in the rental power project case, DawnNews reported.
Former finance minister Shaukat Tareen, former federal secretaries Ismail Qureshi and Shahid Rafi were also among those indicted in the case of alleged corruption in the Sahuwal and Piranghaib rental power projects.
Today’s indictment came about when accountability court judge Muhammad Bashir dismissed pleas filed by Tareen and Qureshi requested that their names be dropped from the case.
Not only did the court dismiss their pleas, the two were also among those indicted in the case.
Subsequently, the court adjourned the hearing to June 20 and directed NAB to provide evidence and witnesses against the indicted.
NAB has been investigating 12 RPPs cases in which nine firms reportedly received more than Rs22 billion as mobilisation advance from the government to commission the projects, but most of them were accused of failing to set up plants.
The bureau has already recovered Rs13 billion in the case.
Graft cases: Arrest warrants issued for Ex-PM Yousaf Raza Gilani, Amin Fahim-Pak tribune
KARACHI:
An anti-corruption court on Monday issued non-bailable arrest warrants for former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani and former commerce minister Amin Fahim for their alleged involvement in seven cases relating to a multi-billion trade subsidy scam.
Gilani, who served as prime minister from 2008 to 2012, along with ex-commerce minister Makhdoom Amin Fahim, allegedly granted billions of rupees in subsidies to bogus trading companies.
During Monday’s hearing, the court issued arrest warrants for former premier Gilani, the then commerce minister Fahim and several officials of the Trade Development Authority of Pakistan (TDAP) after the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) submitted its final charge sheet in the cases.
Both Gilani and Fahim, stalwarts of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), were declared absconders in all seven cases by the court.
The judge of the special federal anti-corruption court-I, Mohammad Azeem, accepted the final charge sheets for hearing and issued NBWs for the absconders and directed law enforcing authorities to produce them before the court till June 17.
The FIA has charged the PPP leaders with the same offence which it had mentioned in the 11 charge-sheets submitted earlier before the court.
The first charge sheet was submitted on May 29 and subsequently the court had issued warrants for nine suspects, including Gilani and Fahim, in cases pertaining to the subsidy scam.
According to the final charge sheets, filed in seven cases against the veteran PPP leaders the investigation body projected the misappropriated amount at Rs96,086,622, Rs11,968,834, Rs19,608,620, Rs14, 432,244, Rs12,900,114, Rs11,824,580 and Rs17,960,061, respectively.
Besides the PPP duo, former deputy secretary to prime minister’s secretariat, Mohammad Zubair, Farhan Junejo, Faisal Siddique, Maher Haroon Rasheed, Mian Tariq, Zafar Hussain, Noman Siddiqui, Syed Mohibullah Shah and others were also declared absconders in the charge sheets.
The suspects have been booked for their alleged involvement in approving and disbursing fraudulent trade subsidies amounting to billions of rupees to several fake companies through fictitious claims and backdated cheques.
According to court officials, several cases related to the trade subsidy scam against former chairman, ex-chief executive and other senior TDAP officials are pending before the court.

so when are they changing their name to Mohamed and claim blasphemy..

-M

Toll in Kurram Agency blast rises to eight
KURRAM AGENCY: An explosion took place in Khomta area of Kurram Agency that killed eight persons and injured several others on Tuesday morning, Geo News reported.

PAKISTAN FEDERAL BUDGET 2014-2015 – BUDGET IN BRIEF

TABLE 15 : MILITARY PENSIONS : Pak Rs 163.375

TABLE 18 :
DEFENCE AFFAIRS AND SERVICES : Pak Rs 700.148 Billion

TOTAL MILITARY BUDGET : Pak Rs. 863.517 Billion

@US$ 1 = Pak Rs 98.6224 Equals US$ 8.756 BILLION

Last edited by Peregrine on 04 Jun 2014 00:03, edited 3 times in total.

A_Gupta wrote: But "Pakistan" and "Terrorism" came into association from the very birth of that country.
Of course. TSP is waging a jihad against us since its birth, as most of us here in BRf know since long.
There is a distinction to be drawn, perhaps subtle, between us recognizing Pakis as terrorists and Pakis terming themselves as terrorists.

jrjrao wrote:FWIW. This Paki retd. Lt Col, who very likely served in the ISI, states plainly that those two foolish gun toters dispatched by Raymond Davis were in fact ISI employees (as suspected by all at the time). Not sure if the Pakis have admitted so previously.

Let ISI be ISI
Muhammad Ali Ehsan
http://pakobserver.net/detailnews.asp?id=243262
ISI works ...under a single mission statement that reads – ‘take the war to the enemy’.
When Ramond Davis shot the two ISI employees Muhammad Fahim and Faizan Haider he represented the CIA’s ‘un attributable force’ that made its way inside Pakistan without the formal vetting of their credentials by the ISI.

This post should be archived as its open admission of the ISI in the Raymond Davis case which even US has not highlighted.
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

Greener Jihadis showing brotherly love to less green uniformed jihadis.

Klick Heare

Warning : Graphic Content

altaf hussein arrested in UK for "money laundering". unrest in kraachi.